GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: J70 on July 08, 2007, 05:59:28 PM

Title: Westmeath v Donegal
Post by: J70 on July 08, 2007, 05:59:28 PM
Tough draw for Donegal. Westmeath aren't easily beaten in Mullingar, and Donegal may be selecting from a weakened group again (there were five championship debuts last night!). We'll do well to come out of this with a win.
Title: Re: Westmeath v Donegal
Post by: orangeman on July 08, 2007, 10:11:40 PM
In my opinion Donegal will kick on and win this comfortably - they're a quality side.
Post by: J70 on July 08, 2007, 10:19:30 PM
...who are missing important players.

If we can get a grip at midfield, and if Karl Lacey can do the job on Dessie Dolan, we've a chance.
Post by: aodhruadh on July 08, 2007, 10:34:34 PM
tricky draw but could have been a lot worse

After three less than impressive showings, they are still in the Championship, and if they could start playing with confidence again, who knows what's possible.

If Donegal get through this one, will McFadden be available for the next round?
Post by: J70 on July 08, 2007, 10:47:56 PM
He played last week for St Michael's which means his suspension started last Sunday at the earliest. Four weeks minimum, assuming that's what he got, means he won't be available until the quarter-finals, at the earliest.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 09, 2007, 12:18:47 AM
Donegal peaked early this year, and are presently running on reserve. If they have any aspirations they should take care of a volitile WM outfit! Like Mayo, Galway, Cork and possibly Dublin they have a level of quality but you just expect them to implode when they meet a half quality team and questions are asked!
Post by: Maroon Heaven on July 09, 2007, 12:36:54 PM
Great Result on Sat by Iarmhi, looked a whole new team compared to First Longford game. Dashings of hunger throughout the park which went missing at Peace stadium.

Donegal will be a tough match but we have faced similar quality opposition at similar times in qualifying and done very well. Glad we stayed away from our bogey teams of Meath & Derry.

Post by: J70 on July 09, 2007, 01:07:18 PM
According to the Donegal News, if the match is played on Sunday, Colm McFadden will be back as his one month suspension will be up. I thought county suspensions applied to club games?
Post by: aodhruadh on July 09, 2007, 01:27:22 PM
So did I... not only that, I've seen nowhere in any media report outlining what suspension he got, and furthermore whether that suspension would be extended after his sending off in the Club Championship.

Only for the fact he didnt play on Sat evening I'd wonder if he was suspended at all.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 09, 2007, 01:43:24 PM
Is the match definately on Sunday, am heading down and was hoping for a Saturday throw-in, would have been able to go to the Ulster final on Sunday then!
Post by: Mentalman on July 09, 2007, 05:31:22 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 09, 2007, 01:43:24 PM
Is the match definately on Sunday, am heading down and was hoping for a Saturday throw-in, would have been able to go to the Ulster final on Sunday then!

From Hoganstand:

Qualifier, Murphy and Rackard fixtures
09 July 2007

The fixtures for the second round of football qualifers, the semi-finals of the Tommy Murphy Cup and quarter-finals of the Nicky Rackard Cup have been announced, as well as the line up for the knockout stages of the MHC.

Fixtures for Saturday 14 July

All-Ireland SFC Qualifers - Round 2

Derry v Mayo, Celtic Park, Derry 3.30pm

Westmeath v Donegal, Cusack Park, Mullingar  7pm

Kildare v Louth, Newbridge 7pm               

Meath v Fermanagh, Navan 7pm               

Tommy Murphy Cup semi-finals

Clare v Antrim, Ennis, 7.00

Wicklow v Waterford, Aughrim, 7.00

The draw for the Nicky Rackard Cup quarter finals was also made today. The quarter finals, to be played next Saturday, will see Roscommon play Monaghan, Louth play Warwickshire, Armagh against Tyrone and Donegal against Longford.

The draw for the quarter and semi-finals of the ESB All-Ireland MHC was also made today (dates and times to be confirmed). In the quarter-finals Antrim will play Kilkenny and Cork will play Galway. The semi-final pairings are Tipperary v Antrim or Kilkenny and Dublin v Cork or Galway.

Post by: MrC on July 10, 2007, 09:09:30 AM
Anyone got good directions to Cusack Park for anyone heading from Donegal?
Post by: rosnarun on July 10, 2007, 10:45:50 AM
far as i know county suspensions only apply to club if its for over a month suspension. thats the way it was acouple of years bck anyway
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 10, 2007, 04:05:52 PM
QuoteDonegal will be a tough match but we have faced similar quality opposition at similar times in qualifying and done very well. Glad we stayed away from our bogey teams of Meath & Derry.

Wouldn't have minded a home draw against Eastmeath at all, bit of momentum behind us now and getting that monkey off our backs could bring God knows what. Glad we avoided Derry though after what we did to them in the league, they showed on Sunday that they're not a bad aul team when they put their minds to it. Would have liked to have avoided Donegal as well but could have been worse, could have been Mayo, at least we're at home. An aul weekend away wouldn't have been too bad but if we have any aspirations of progressing a home draw is crucial. Donegal will give us an excellent barometer of where this team is at. We competed well in the league apart from the Louth match and were unlucky to emerge second best in the tight finishes.

Quote from: MrC on July 10, 2007, 09:09:30 AMAnyone got good directions to Cusack Park for anyone heading from Donegal?

Come in the Delvin Road from the bypass, pass by St. Lomans Hospital on your right hand side and then take the fourth road (I think) into the housing estate on your right. Springfield (the housing estate) is working class but should be grand, maybe park near the main road if you're bring the Beamer... Keep going straight until the end of the road and turn left. This should bring you to a cul de sac and at the end you should see a tunnel under the canal. (Aim for the A in Acueduct on the map below). Ditch the car wherever looks safe enough, take the tunnel and you're right outside the ground. Maybe Shamrock Shore can verify these directions as he used them on Saturday with no complications or hassle.
Else you could come in via Robinstown and park in Dunnes. Just be prepared to spend all night getting out of the God forsaken place after...

(http://www.courts.ie/offices.nsf/0/F03C2ED12C2F13AD80256F31005DEF2F/$file/mullingar.gif?openelement)

(http://www.courts.ie/offices.nsf/0/AD1C2FA961B3227A80256F31005E3944/$file/mullingarcloseup.gif?openelement)
Post by: navaniarmhi on July 10, 2007, 08:51:34 PM
Match brought forward to 5pm.....same as last week. Probably on the advice of the Gardai again. This means that the hurling (Westmeath v. Kerry in the Christy Ring) will be at 3pm. Rough on Donegal boys who will now have to leave home or work that much earlier...might make them less anxious to come. The huge Kerry support, of course, will have to book into the Greville for the Friday evening.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 08:58:05 PM
How far is Mullingar from Carlow town and is it handy to get there from Carlow??
Post by: aodhruadh on July 10, 2007, 11:10:38 PM
Whats going on with the throw in time... 7pm, then 5pm, then 7pm again?

From BBC "The throw-in time for Donegal's All-Ireland football qualifier against Westmeath in Mullingar on Saturday has reverted to its original 1900BST slot."

Also they claim "Adrian Sweeney has returned to the Donegal squad after missing last weekend's qualifier win over Leitrim."
Rumours of his retirement were greatly exaggerated then.

Im guessing:

Durcan,
McCready, McGee, Lacey,
McConigley, Monaghan, Dunnion
Gallagher, Cassidy,
Murphy, Hegarty, Toye
McMenimen, Bradley, Kavanagh

but depends on Dunnion, Bonner, Roper, Sweeney fitness I suppose.
Post by: J70 on July 11, 2007, 02:35:35 AM
Is Devenney definitely out? According to his interview in the Donegal News, he came off with cramp.

We cannot afford to be without both himself AND McFadden.
Post by: MrC on July 11, 2007, 07:54:33 AM
Devenney came off with cramp. Should be okay for the weekend. And I believe 'Eddie' is back too...!!! BTW, was talking to a Donegal Co.Board Official last night in town and he said that the throw in time was still 7? Can anyone confirm for sure what teh story is?
Post by: aodhruadh on July 11, 2007, 08:13:40 AM
Good news if BD is fit.

bookies making Donegal very slight favourites.

BTW who gets home advantage in the next round - is it the losing provincial finalists, or first team out of the hat?
Post by: taung on July 11, 2007, 08:16:42 AM
Well, the official fixture list states the match is on at 7pm;

http://www.gaa.ie/page/this_weeks_fixtures.html
Post by: Mentalman on July 11, 2007, 10:54:44 AM
Quote from: taung on July 11, 2007, 08:16:42 AM
Well, the official fixture list states the match is on at 7pm;

http://www.gaa.ie/page/this_weeks_fixtures.html

Lot of confusion. RTE say 17:00:

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/401-01.html (http://www.rte.ie/aertel/401-01.html)

I think this may be correct because Westmeath hurlers are due out against Kerry at 15:00:

http://www.rte.ie/aertel/402-03.html (http://www.rte.ie/aertel/402-03.html)
Post by: Mentalman on July 11, 2007, 10:59:04 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 08:58:05 PM
How far is Mullingar from Carlow town and is it handy to get there from Carlow??

Using this baby, dead handy:
http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/routes/ (http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/routes/)

Says:

Time: 1 hr 35 min
Total Distance (Km): 106.87 (miles): 66.40

Post by: MrC on July 11, 2007, 11:07:21 AM
GAME IS DEFINITELY AT 7.00PM.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 11, 2007, 11:38:13 AM
Quote from: Mentalman on July 11, 2007, 10:59:04 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 10, 2007, 08:58:05 PM

Using this baby, dead handy:
http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/routes/ (http://www.aaroadwatch.ie/routes/)

Says:

Time: 1 hr 35 min
Total Distance (Km): 106.87 (miles): 66.40

Go raibh maith agat Mentalman. That sitte is excellent.

MrC you seem very sure of the time, how do you know for definate??
Post by: Mentalman on July 11, 2007, 12:14:54 PM
QuoteWestmeath-Donegal clash brought forward
10 July 2007

This Saturday's All-Ireland second round qualifier clash between Westmeath and Donegal at Cusack Park, Mullingar, has been brought forward by two hours with the new throw-in time now 5pm.

All the other ties remain at the originally fixed times with Derry and Mayo locking horns at 3.30 at Celtic Park, Meath and Fermanagh meeting in Navan at 7pm and Kildare welcoming Louth to Newbridge at 7pm.

http://www.hoganstand.com/Westmeath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=80237 (http://www.hoganstand.com/Westmeath/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=80237)
Post by: AN other on July 11, 2007, 12:23:49 PM
Quote from: MrC on July 11, 2007, 11:07:21 AM
GAME IS DEFINITELY AT 7.00PM.

Aye, I think Donegal should definitely take it that the game is on at 7..... ;)
Post by: MrC on July 11, 2007, 01:10:44 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 11, 2007, 11:38:13 AMMrC you seem very sure of the time, how do you know for definate??

Was talking to a Co.Board official there. It's definitely at 7. He said that there was a mix-up in communication which was why the press-releases went out - obviously the ones carried by the BBC and Hoganstand,
Post by: MrC on July 11, 2007, 01:16:58 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/6285334.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/northern_ireland/gaelic_games/6285334.stm)
Post by: Mentalman on July 11, 2007, 05:47:03 PM
Qualifier time changes
11 July 2007

Saturday's All-Ireland second round qualifier clash between Westmeath and Donegal at Cusack Park, Mullingar, has reverted back to its original throw in time of 7pm while the Offaly and Dublin All-Ireland SHC qualifier in Tullamore now has a 3pm start time.

The game in Mullingar was moved forward to a 5pm throw in yesterday but Croke Park have reverted back to the original start time of 7pm, with the Westmeath-Kerry Christy Ring Cup game preceding it at 5pm.

The Offaly Dublin hurling game moves forward from 7pm to 3pm.

Additionally, the Meath-Down Christy Ring Cup game now throws in at 5pm, while the Tommy Murphy Cup semi-final between Clare and Antrim has a 2pm start time.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=80274 (http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=80274)

MrC, the man with the inside track!
Post by: navaniarmhi on July 12, 2007, 10:41:00 AM
they're certainly doing their best to confuse lads.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 13, 2007, 01:51:24 AM
Can I take it that the match is defo at 7pm as its going to be a bollix getting there at the best of times and arriving at the wrong time would really piss me off!  ;)
Post by: Mentalman on July 13, 2007, 09:51:54 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 13, 2007, 01:51:24 AM
Can I take it that the match is defo at 7pm as its going to be a bollix getting there at the best of times and arriving at the wrong time would really piss me off!  ;)

7 it is, 5 of you fancy some hurling ;)

Title: Re: Westmeath v Donegal - Team News
Post by: Mentalman on July 13, 2007, 12:00:38 PM
QuoteWestmeath unchanged for Donegal visit
13 July 2007

Westmeath manager Tomas O Flatharta has named an identical side to the one that easily accounted for Longford last Saturday, for his side's clash with Donegal at Cusack Park, Mullingar on Saturday evening.

Westmeath - G Connaughton; F Boyle, D O'Donoghue, J Keane; D Healy, M Ennis, G Glennon; D Duffy, M Flanagan; F Wilson, J Smyth, Denis Glennon; A Mangan, G Dolan, D Dolan.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=80388
Post by: Billys Boots on July 13, 2007, 12:21:50 PM
More inaccuracies from Hogan Stand, it should have read "Tomas O Flatharta has named an identical side to the one Longford didn't bother contesting last Saturday".  :P
Post by: J70 on July 13, 2007, 01:09:44 PM
Donegal are same as last week except that Niall McCready comes in for Paddy McConigley. Still no sign of Dunnion, Bonner or Adrian Sweeney. McFadden is still suspended.

Paul Durcan                               Na Ceithre Máistrí 
Neil Mc Gee                              Gaoth Dobhair       
Paddy Campbell                        Naomh Conall         
Karl Lacey                                 Na Ceithre Máistrí
Frank Mc Glynn                         Gleann Fhinne         
Barry Monaghan                        Na Ceithre Máistrí 
Niall Mc Cready                        Aodh Ruadh B/S
Neil Gallagher                            Gleann tSúilí
Kevin Cassidy                            Gaoth Dobhair       
Ryan Bradley                             Buncrannaigh
Michael Hegarty                        Cill  Chartha
Rory Kavanagh                          Naomh Adhamhnáin           
Kevin Mc Menamin                   An Tearmain
Micheal Murphy                        Gleann tSúilí
Brendan Devenney                    Naomh Adhamhnáin
Post by: AN other on July 13, 2007, 01:50:20 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on July 13, 2007, 12:00:38 PM
13 July 2007

Westmeath manager Tomas O Flatharta has named an identical side to the one that easily accounted for Longford last Saturday, for his side’s clash with Donegal at Cusack Park, Mullingar on Saturday evening.

Westmeath - G Connaughton; F Boyle, D O’Donoghue, J Keane; D Healy, M Ennis, G Glennon; D Duffy, M Flanagan; F Wilson, J Smyth, Denis Glennon; A Mangan, G Dolan, D Dolan.

No great surprises there. Would have been a nice surprise if Connellan was given a chance ahead of Mangan mind. Mangan has been a good servant over the years though, so I won't begrudge him his place, lets just hope he can hit some form tomorrow.
Important that we have Healy's experience and pace. Hopefully he's fully fit. The only place I heard tell of his injury was during the five seconds the match was featured on The Sunday Game last Sunday night, and they showed a clip of who i thought to be John Smyth getting treatment when talking about it, was he ever actually injured at all I wonder?...
I'm happy enough that Duffy gets the nod ahead of O'Shaughnessey again, assuming that O'Shaughnessey ain't fully fit yet. If Duffy and Flanagan can repeat their performances we're in with a shot.

Post by: Mentalman on July 13, 2007, 01:59:50 PM
Quote from: AN other on July 13, 2007, 01:50:20 PM
13 July 2007

Westmeath manager Tomas O Flatharta has named an identical side to the one that easily accounted for Longford last Saturday, for his side's clash with Donegal at Cusack Park, Mullingar on Saturday evening.

Westmeath - G Connaughton; F Boyle, D O'Donoghue, J Keane; D Healy, M Ennis, G Glennon; D Duffy, M Flanagan; F Wilson, J Smyth, Denis Glennon; A Mangan, G Dolan, D Dolan.

No great surprises there. Would have been a nice surprise if Connellan was given a chance ahead of Mangan mind. Mangan has been a good servant over the years though, so I won't begrudge him his place, lets just hope he can hit some form tomorrow.
Important that we have Healy's experience and pace. Hopefully he's fully fit. The only place I heard tell of his injury was during the five seconds the match was featured on The Sunday Game last Sunday night, and they showed a clip of who i thought to be John Smyth getting treatment when talking about it, was he ever actually injured at all I wonder?...
I'm happy enough that Duffy gets the nod ahead of O'Shaughnessey again, assuming that O'Shaughnessey ain't fully fit yet. If Duffy and Flanagan can repeat their performances we're in with a shot.

Yep, on the coverage it wasn't Heals getting the treatment. However he didn't seem to take part in the post match warm down, he was walking behind the others with O'Flatharta and as far as I recall his leg was strapped?

Agree, as predicted, Mangan gets the place, and an unchanged team.
Post by: AN other on July 13, 2007, 02:06:25 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on July 13, 2007, 01:59:50 PM
Quote from: AN other on July 13, 2007, 01:50:20 PM
13 July 2007

yep, on the coverage it wasn't Heals getting the treatment. However he didn't seem to take part in the post match warm down, he was walking behind the others with O'Flatharta and as far as I recal his leg was strapped?

We'll give them the benefit of the doubt so...and hopefully Healy's injury doesn't hinder him against Donegal. Himself and Keane haven't been quite at full tilt yet, hopefully they can find their extra gear tomorrow.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 13, 2007, 04:19:25 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 13, 2007, 12:21:50 PM
More inaccuracies from Hogan Stand, it should have read "Tomas O Flatharta has named an identical side to the one Longford didn't bother contesting last Saturday".  :P

That's because they weren't given a chance to contest, lightening doesn't strike twice Billy...  ;)

Delighted to see Heals named, hopefully he's fully fit and won't give Devenny a sniff who'd in my eyes will be Donegals danger man, cramp or no cramp. Big ask for all the starting 15, for those who played well the challenge is to show the same form and more importantly commitment and the challenge to the others is to up their game and in Buddas case, to actually show up this weekend. Want to see more from Nachie and Willo and Duffy this week. Expect nothing other than a tight tough game, I'll be very surprised if it's a mismatch like last week.
Post by: navaniarmhi on July 14, 2007, 03:49:45 PM
Nice one....

The Irish Times today has the throw-in at 5pm.
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2007, 07:05:00 PM
Ciaran Bonner starts in place of Michael Hegarty. Wins a first minute penalty. Michael Murphy misses.

Murphy point for Donegal, Mangan for Westmeath. Point apiece after four minutes. Good start.
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2007, 07:08:54 PM
Kavanagh and Dolan with good scores.

2 apiece.

Wilson, then Devenney.

3 apiece.

Apparently some good scores all around.

Donegal with a missed penalty and three wides. Westmeath with one.

Keeper pulls off a good save from McMenamin - Michael Murphy knocks the rebound over the bar.

4 - 3 to Donegal
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2007, 07:39:09 PM
Coming up to half-time

Westmeath 0-5 Donegal 0-9
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2007, 07:59:13 PM
Glennon for Westmeath

9-7 to Donegal

Devenney free

10-7

Healy off for Westmeath

McMenamin free

11-7

McMenamin misses a free from in front of the goal. :-[

Bonner off for blood treatment after a knock to his face. Hope he's ok.

Connaughton with a point-blank save from Devenney.

Donegal totally on top but not putting Westmeath away. Haven't scored from play in the second half.

Just as I say that.... Brendan Devenney goal!!! ;D  1-11 to 0-7

Adrian Sweeney on for Woppa

Kavanagh fists it over after a good pass from Sweeney 1-12 to 0-7

Another from Kavanagh  1-13 to 0-7

Penalty for Westmeath - Martin McHugh disagrees vehemently. Says it was sympathy award! Ref sends off Ciaran Bonner for a second yellow in the subsequent argy-bargy.

Gary Dolan hits it wide! ;D

Dessie Dolan with a free - their first score for 30 minutes. 1-13 to 0-8, 2 minutes to go (+stoppage time)

Eamon McGee and McConigley on for Campbell and McGlynn. Paddy had a good game tonight apparently.

Michael Doherty on for Devenney.

Niall McCready second yellow. Donegal down to 13 men.

Westmeath with goal with the last kick.
Post by: J70 on July 14, 2007, 08:38:15 PM
Final score 1-13 to 1-8

Good performance from Donegal. The ship has been steadied. Not many teams will win as easily in Mullingar.
Post by: ONeill on July 14, 2007, 08:52:24 PM
Dread meeting Donegal again. They owe us one.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 14, 2007, 09:08:52 PM
Hmm

Shall I comment......our should I stay quiet cos I have feck all to shout about myself.

Oh heck

:'(
Post by: aodhruadh on July 14, 2007, 10:25:26 PM
The roller coaster season continues, this time on the up.

Are we away again in the next round or first team out of the hat get home adv? Preference would be for Laois or Monaghan as they wont have much time to recover for a qualifer game assuming the games tomorrow go with form. Def want to avoid Cork (esp away)

Hopefully have todays squad available for the next day, plus Dunnion, Roper, McFadden, Hegarty, etc
Post by: Hound on July 15, 2007, 07:14:59 AM
Quote from: aodhruadh on July 14, 2007, 10:25:26 PM
Are we away again in the next round or first team out of the hat get home adv? Preference would be for Laois or Monaghan as they wont have much time to recover for a qualifer game assuming the games tomorrow go with form. Def want to avoid Cork (esp away)
First out of the hat means nothing for the next round (two different hats). Presumably that means games will be in neutral venues or in Croker.
Post by: The Voice Of Reason on July 15, 2007, 09:01:42 PM
Finally looks like we've got the show back on the road ... our best performance since the Kerry match in the league
Post by: AN other on July 16, 2007, 02:05:46 PM
Westmeath have had a big problem with consistency this year, the games the past two weekends just about summed up the season, with us producing a brilliant performance against Longford, and not turning up for the majority of the match against Donegal. Few of the players came anywhere near the standard they produced against Longford, with Denis Glennon perhaps the only Westmeath player to do himself justice, along with the ever reliable Gary Connaughton, possibly the best keeper in the country.
The amount of enforced errors to give the ball away, in the second half especially, was criminal. Midfield never got into it at all, and the half forward line was completely absent apart from Dolan's decent spell towards the end of the first half.
Flanagan was terrible after a brilliant outing against Longford, and showed why he isn't and never was one of the top players in the country. His inconsistency has been the story of his career.
The best of luck to Donegal who were the undoubted deserving winners, but their wide count and score must be a bit of a worry considering their near total domination.
Back to the drawing board for Westmeath, who are likely to part with Healy and Flanagan at least, although Healy could do a job for another year or two if he had the desire and enthusiasm.

Post by: Mentalman on July 16, 2007, 02:26:53 PM
Well, what can you say? First off congrats to Donegal, and thanks for not making it a lot worse than it was! Donegal could easily, no exaggeration, have registered twice what they put on the score board. Even at that, a last minute goal took the mean look off the score, which in fact was one hell of a deserved beating.

Unlike last week, when it was easier to pick out bad performances, this week it was easier to pick out the good performance, singular. Davie Duffy gave it his all, but was fighting a lone battle in midfield, I actually felt sorry for the lad, and he was banjaxed by the middle of the second half. And that's it. End of for Westmeath.

Denis Glennon seemed to have one of those games where he was getting on his own nerves, doesn't seem to be able to recover from a personal bad start. The fact that two Donegal boys ended up getting the line over incidents with him isn't a good omen for them for future matches against better opposition, that was a bit stupid against a beaten side. I wouldn't mind only their full back line had done a great job on Dessie, getting out in front, therefore depriving him of the chance to draw fouls, frees and ticks for his men, number 4 roasted him. Gary Dolan...why? Him and Mangan. You just can't go into championship matches with 2 out of your 3 front men contributing nothing from play, not even movement. That was some penalty effort. Incidentally the penalty we got was the softest ever, but next in line must have been Donegal's. Flan was back to the Martin we saw in the first Longford game. Should have been switched inside earlier, but then again when the best you can do is bring on another player to midfield who's hardly trained in Shaugho, well you are up against it. Most everybody else was just anonymous, rather than just terrible. Disappointing, but I had the same feeling about that match on Saturday as I did about the qualifier against Fermanagh a few years back. Although at the start we showed flashes of good play, it was all haphazard, whereas Donegal had a game plan, and individuals had their orders and stuck to them. You'd want to get the free taking sorted before the next day though! BTW great fans I have to say, good to see so many travelled, best of luck in the next round.

* Forgot to mention Connaughton, some saves in there, helped keep the score down!
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 16, 2007, 03:14:07 PM
Well that's it till Jan but we could have at least gone out with some sort of effort instead of a whisper. Out muscled as per the Dublin game last year and Louth in the league this year, this issue still hasn't been addresed. A lot of the players looked to be carrying heavy legs out there with Nachie probably the case in point. Usually buzzing all around the field but has been quiet in the championship. Healy was a big loss and probably won't be back next year. It's a long aul drive from Galway for training etc and had to be begged to come back this year apparently. Had manys the fine day in the maroon and white. May or may not see Flan again, depends on injuries/ lack of I suppose. He certainly shouldn't have been left at midfield for so long and it was criminal not to put him in to full forward and launch high balls in to him. When we did it was too little, too late. Gary Dolan, well he wasn't a full forward when he came into the team in 2003 and he still isn't, needs to lose the arse, as does O'Donoghue. Budda blows either hot or cold and usually it's sub zero. Scored one point and gave away two, would have been better off starting with 14.

Looked like we might give Donegal a run for their money in the first half playing against a slight wind but loosing Heals and the goal knocked us for 6. Heads dropped (as did the Donegal free takers) and the game was as good as over. Donegal ruled midfield with Cassidy catching everything and built their win from there. Duffy tried to compete but as has been said, was fighting a lone battle. Donegal will need to improve for the next day, hope they go far, were well represented on and off the field (including that lunatic with the pipes, gave Gary Connaughton a good run for geeing up the crowd).

If we're not careful we're gonna end up back in the bad old days. I think it's time for a change in management, we don't have a massive draw and certainly can't afford to be chasing players away to other counties etc. Dessie Dolan Senior or Sean Boylan would be my choices, in that order due to ongoing drug testing  :P. 2007 was a strange old year for the Lakers, accounted well for Laois, Derry and Down in the league and came out the wrong side in tight finishes against Galway, Kildare and Armagh. Championship was a bit like Budda on match day, blitzed Longford for a game and a half and didn't bother to come out for the other game and a half. Not sure what 2008 will bring but not overly optimistic at the moment, we live in hope...
Post by: orangeman on July 16, 2007, 03:18:10 PM
Donegal should progress to the 1/4 finals - Monaghan played magnificently but it will be hard to raise the game for Donegal again.
Post by: Iarmhí Abú on July 16, 2007, 06:48:20 PM
Congrats to Donegal.  Good side who played well at times.  They might be a little worried however at the length of time it took to put us away despite owning midfield. Healy was a massive loss and the goal came from a terrible error. If those two incidents didn't occur then things might have been a bit hairier for DL although you could never see us winning it.

Gary Connaughton - best goalkeeper in the country.  No question!

Time for a new manager. The last championship game we won was against Laois on July 24, 2004, all others have been back door.  Too many players not involved with county set-up.

Damian Healy - we won't see him again.  A wonderful footballer and a tremendous athlete.  He battled to the end and never knew when he was beaten.  One of the gang including Rory, Mitch, Gerry, Spanner, etc who dragged Westmeath football off it's knees.  He started off by losing two Leinster U21 finals but eventually finished up with a pair of Div 2 medals, a few Interprovincial medals and the Flanagan Cup to top it off. A Westmeath legend and a gentleman.  Thanks for the memories Heals.
Post by: AN other on July 16, 2007, 07:54:30 PM
Quote from: Iarmhí Abú on July 16, 2007, 06:48:20 PM
and the Flanagan Cup to top it off.

I presume you mean the Delaney Cup as he never came close to winning the Flanagan Cup! Well said though, can't imagine you'd find many people with a knowledge of Westmeath football to disagree with any of that. It's only a shame he never got that all-star.
Post by: J70 on July 16, 2007, 09:56:09 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on July 16, 2007, 02:26:53 PM
I wouldn't mind only their full back line had done a great job on Dessie, getting out in front, therefore depriving him of the chance to draw fouls, frees and ticks for his men, number 4 roasted him.

Take a bow (AGAIN!) Karl Lacey!
Title: AN OTHER
Post by: Iarmhí Abú on July 19, 2007, 08:34:25 PM
AN OTHER You're right.  Meant the Delaney Cup.  Was thinking of Martin Flan at the time. Heals got the Intermediate Championship about twice I think (1995 and a few years ago too). It's at times like this as we see heroes retire that the full value of 2004's campaign emerges.  The one glaring pity was that Ger Heavin wasn't around at the time.

Heals and Connaughton were unlucky not to get All Stars but there was a limit to what we could get that year and Dessie and JK were the marquee names.
Post by: Goin Down on July 19, 2007, 09:28:27 PM
Pity I was hoping Westmeath would come close but sure someone else will just have to do the job of knocking out Donegal.