Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ziggysego on June 30, 2007, 04:43:12 PM

Title: Car on fire crashes into airport
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2007, 04:43:12 PM
QuoteA car on fire has been driven at the main terminal building at Glasgow Airport, police have confirmed.

Eyewitnesses have described a Jeep Cherokee being driven at speed towards the building with flames coming out from underneath.

They have also described seeing two Asian men, one of whom was on fire, who had been in the car.

The airport has been evacuated and all flights suspended following the incident at 1515 BST.

One eyewitness said: "I heard the sound of a car's wheels spinning and smoke coming out.

"I saw a Jeep Cherokee apparently as if it was trying to get right through the doors into the terminal building.

"There were flames coming out from underneath then some men appeared from in amongst the flames.

"The police ran over and the people started fighting with the police. I then heard what sounded like an explosion."

Eye-witness Richard Gray told BBC News 24: "A green Jeep was in the middle of the doorway burning.

"There was an Asian guy who was pulled out of the car by two police officers, who he was trying to fight off. They've got him on the ground.

"The car didn't actually explode. There were a few pops and bangs which presumably was the petrol."

Two men, one of whom was reported to be badly burned, were seen being led away in handcuffs.

Sourced BBCi: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/6257194.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/6257194.stm)

Jesus, sounds like a terrorist attack. Probably born out of the frustration of the failed attacked Thursday night / Friday morning.

Title: Re: Car on fire crashes into airport
Post by: Bogball XV on June 30, 2007, 06:35:39 PM
They must have been pretty damned frustrated - what a shit effort.
Why did they need 2 people in the jeep??  Would taking 2 jeeps not have been better??
Post by: muppet on June 30, 2007, 06:51:39 PM
QuoteJesus, sounds like a terrorist attack.

Some terrorist attack, thankfully some of these countries' education systems aren't quite the best.  ::)

Watch out for " Britain's dumbest terrorists " next year.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on June 30, 2007, 07:01:57 PM
They picked the wrong city to attack...it seems a couple of Weegie passengers started kicking sh*t out of the guy who got out of the car before the police got on the scene ;D ;D
Lucky enough escape I think, if they had managed to get the car right through the terminal building wall it would have exploded in the main hall where hundreds of people would have been.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 30, 2007, 10:12:07 PM
Aye I heard that as well - the locals got the boy and gave him a right kicking! The other idiot came out of the car lit up like the Shankill on the 11th night!!  :D  Too good for the fcukers
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2007, 10:13:47 PM
Could be some pissed off smokers, protesting about the smoking ban coming in tomorrow.
Post by: Square Ball on June 30, 2007, 10:19:28 PM
may have been a third bloke who is still in the car, a bit cooked if he is, also the hospital that one of the blokes is in is on alert due to the possibility of a bomb thought to be a belt round one of them, could be explosives
Post by: Balboa on June 30, 2007, 10:22:09 PM
Watch out lads you dont say anything that could be deemed racist as the moderators will kick you to the kerb as part of their ongoing crusade to save the world......
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 30, 2007, 10:34:19 PM
It seems one of them kept shouting "Alan Alan Alan" who is this Alan & whats his problem with air travel?
Post by: Square Ball on June 30, 2007, 10:37:56 PM
In Glasgow, was it Alan Stubbs?  :P
Post by: ziggysego on June 30, 2007, 10:44:30 PM
I thought it was Alan B'stard.

I heard on the grapevine he was mighty pissed that Gordon got the top job on Wednesday.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 30, 2007, 11:26:43 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on June 30, 2007, 10:34:19 PM
It seems one of them kept shouting "Alan Alan Alan" who is this Alan & whats his problem with air travel?

:D :D :D :D :D
Post by: Tonto on July 01, 2007, 01:12:29 AM
The Queen has now been arrested for it. ::)
Post by: ziggysego on July 01, 2007, 01:19:27 AM
Quote from: Tonto on July 01, 2007, 01:12:29 AM
The Queen has now been arrested for it. ::)

Didn't know Julian Simmons still works at the airport ;)
Post by: Bogball XV on July 01, 2007, 01:21:49 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 30, 2007, 10:13:47 PM
Could be some pissed off smokers, protesting about the smoking ban coming in tomorrow.
Nah, that's been in scotland for a good year now.
Post by: Square Ball on July 01, 2007, 01:26:39 AM
wish to fech Julian was there and was the third man,
Post by: ludermor on July 01, 2007, 10:33:48 AM
Quote from: Square Ball on July 01, 2007, 01:26:39 AM
wish to felch Julian was there and was the third man,

Didnt know you were that way inclined Square Ball
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on July 01, 2007, 03:54:35 PM
Moneybags Woodward has said Nor-thorn Ironland is now on high alert, just like 'the rest of the United Kingdom'. I thought it was safer here than anywhere else since our wee troubles wrapped up.
Post by: Hardy on July 01, 2007, 07:59:01 PM
Alan is great.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 01, 2007, 09:24:11 PM
Alan A ta bar, enjoys a pint!
Post by: GweylTah on July 01, 2007, 09:32:47 PM
An Islamist Extremist is doing lengthy time in Belfast for terrorism as we speak.

Shannon Airport has been used pretty extensively by the US / 'Allied'  forces since since the strikes against the Taleban in Afghanistan and then the Iraq War.

I'd say we're all in this we like it or not - so much for 'our' neutrality, we can forget about immunity, especially as if London is regarded as being pretty secure, Ireland could well be seen as a soft target.  In these islands, we probably all seem the same to them.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 01, 2007, 09:39:04 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 01, 2007, 09:32:47 PM
An Islamist Extremist is doing lengthy time in Belfast for terrorism as we speak.

Shannon Airport has been used pretty extensively by the US / 'Allied'  forces since since the strikes against the Taleban in Afghanistan and then the Iraq War.

I'd say we're all in this we like it or not - so much for 'our' neutrality, we can forget about immunity, especially as if London is regarded as being pretty secure, Ireland could well be seen as a soft target.  In these islands, we probably all seem the same to them.

Nah, sure didn't you hear, Martin McGuinness got a letter of congratulation from the Iranian ambassador.
Gerry being invited over to the Middle-East by the Palestinians.

You keep putting up your Israeli flags and we'll keep putting up our Palastinian ones!  ;)
Post by: Evil Genius on July 02, 2007, 12:55:47 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 01, 2007, 09:56:24 PM
Things havent changed much in the North, they still lock people up for nothing.

Hardly. It costs a fortune to lock people up. You have to feed them for a start. Sometimes.  ::)

Post by: GweylTah on July 02, 2007, 11:41:50 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 02, 2007, 05:15:33 AM
I think the Prison Service allow about £1.30 a day per prisoner for food. The prison dogs are allowed about £7 per day for food. Shows were their priorities lie. Being in prison is meant to be your punishment, they are not meant to punish you on top of that.

Interesting figures. Source?

Thanks, chuck.
Post by: GweylTah on July 02, 2007, 12:03:22 PM
I might take a look over a sandwich, but I suspect you are telling porkies again Mr 5Times.
Post by: The Real SlimShady on July 02, 2007, 12:29:37 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 02, 2007, 12:07:19 PM
Point number 1, my sisters next door neighbour is an ex dog handler in the prison service.
Point number 2, I have suffered the prison diet on more than 1 occassion.

that figures, being a liverpool fan and all!  :D
Title: Terror Driver named
Post by: An Fear Rua on July 02, 2007, 02:26:32 PM
Stathclyde Police havd released the name of one of the two men  detained at Glasgow airport on Saturday after the attempted attack. 24 year Old Sinj Maajeep, from Paisley was arrested at the scene, and later transferred to the Royal Alexandra Hospital, in Paisley. Mr Mageep severe burns and remains in a critical condition, and remains under armed police guard.
Post by: GweylTah on July 02, 2007, 02:27:42 PM
The latest Home Office figures available, which are for the financial year 2004-05, show that the average cost of prison meals were was follows:

breakfast 37.5p; lunch 73.8p; dinner 73.8p.

The lunch figure is almost exactly double that of the cost of providing a school meal (the 37p school lunch figure prompted the government to pledge to spend an extra £280m on school meals as part of its 2005 election manifesto.

There are no figures for prison or police dogs.  You could  do a Freedom of Information request if you liked?
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 02, 2007, 02:38:15 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 30, 2007, 10:12:07 PM
Aye I heard that as well - the locals got the boy and gave him a right kicking! The other idiot came out of the car lit up like the Shankill on the 11th night!!  :D  Too good for the fcukers

Here is John Smeaton, the baggage attendant who rather than fleeing the scene decided to batter one of the would be bombers ;D ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_mTpr7iDT4
Post by: full back on July 02, 2007, 02:40:41 PM
I see that one of the boys who were in the jeep was a doctor in a local hospital, who came over from Jordan a few years back
Post by: haveaharp on July 02, 2007, 02:46:01 PM
Just what is the mission and purpose of these twats. Is it a protest against whats happening in Palestine, Iraq and Afghanistan or is it as some people fear their way of persuading us that we would all be better off worshipping Mohammed, kneeling on an aul mat 5 times a day,and blowing ourselves up for the craic. All to get 40 virgins when we go to heaven.Any views?
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 02, 2007, 02:48:57 PM
Presumably their mission wasnt to get set on fire from head to toe and be beaten up by some Glasgow neds, without managing to kill anybody :P
Post by: haveaharp on July 02, 2007, 02:52:47 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 02, 2007, 02:48:57 PM
Presumably their mission wasnt to get set on fire from head to toe and be beaten up by some Glasgow neds, without managing to kill anybody :P

:D In all seriousness though, if that one in London had have gone off there could have been hundreds of casualties. I fail to see what it achieves apart from a further division in society and an increased alienation of Islam
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 02, 2007, 03:00:37 PM
Quote from: haveaharp on July 02, 2007, 02:52:47 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 02, 2007, 02:48:57 PM

:D In all seriousness though, if that one in London had have gone off there could have been hundreds of casualties. I fail to see what it achieves apart from a further division in society and an increased alienation of Islam

To be honest if they had got that jeep right through the airport doors they could have killed hundreds in Glasgow too. Ultimately these people dont see to care about any "alienation of Islam", theyre just out to cause maximum death and destruction. Nor they do bother about attacking military or government targets, the more casualties the better. And unfortunately its impossible to prevent all these attacks, there will be more and more over the next few years.

And John Smeaton wont always be there to save the day...he was on ITN news as well with this message of defiance "This is Glasgow, and we'll no accept this. You try this and we'll set aboot ye!"
Post by: An Fear Rua on July 02, 2007, 03:02:36 PM
Isnt it 70 virgins they are promised? There will be a different sort of virginity lost when Sinj gets out of hospital and into his prison issued!
Post by: haveaharp on July 02, 2007, 03:05:21 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on July 02, 2007, 03:02:36 PM
Isnt it 70 virgins they are promised? There will be a different sort of virginity lost when Sinj gets out of hospital and into his prison issued!

Would that be Sinj Majeep? 8)
Post by: An Fear Rua on July 02, 2007, 03:14:16 PM
Thank you!!  ;D
Post by: armaghniac on July 02, 2007, 03:21:18 PM
it seems that some of those involved in this plot are medical doctors, which is a perversion of the profession devoted to saving lives.
Post by: Mentalman on July 02, 2007, 03:26:52 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 02, 2007, 03:00:37 PM
Ultimately these people dont see to care about any "alienation of Islam", theyre just out to cause maximum death and destruction. Nor they do bother about attacking military or government targets, the more casualties the better. And unfortunately its impossible to prevent all these attacks, there will be more and more over the next few years.

These guys, or at least their political masters, want Islam alienated. They want harsh laws, crackdowns, curtailment of civil liberties. They need civil government to alienate the section of the community they appeal to, in this case Islamists, in order polarize opinion and increase their recruitment opportunities, tacit support and money raising potential. If there is no backlash, no targeting of Muslims, no harsh or unfair crackdown on Muslims by the organs of the state, these attacks will not have served their purpose. The targeting of high profile civilian targets, particularly transport and financial hubs, also serves the purpose of creating disproportionate fear and distrust in society, as well as the economic knock effects associated. Additionally it suits their m.o., in that they are not capable of going toe to toe in a conventional war, to use this asymmetric warfare. It's basic terrorism 101.
Post by: bailestil on July 02, 2007, 05:24:59 PM
In a world of people living in fear of terroism, one man stood tall and tackled it real way. by "getting a kick at him"

http://www.johnsmeaton.com/

Why not buy him a pint!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 02, 2007, 06:26:20 PM
Quote from: An Fear Rua on July 02, 2007, 03:02:36 PM

It might have been a Ryanair S-Bming and they only provide 40 Virgins, you collect the other 30 on reaching your correct destination.
Post by: An Fear Rua on July 02, 2007, 08:11:04 PM
(http://www2.b3ta.com/host/creative/19645/1183295825/72virgins.JPG)
Post by: maddog on July 03, 2007, 10:07:42 AM
I see at the train station this morning the cops are armed with machine guns. Everyone bought a ticket today.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 03, 2007, 11:04:27 PM
Quote from: bailestil on July 02, 2007, 05:24:59 PM
In a world of people living in fear of terroism, one man stood tall and tackled it real way. by "getting a kick at him"

Why not buy him a pint!

Great to see that whilst Sinj Majeep and Mustafa Skingraft didnt get their 70 virgins good old John Smeaton got his 1000 pints

http://johnsmeaton.com/?page_id=5
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 03, 2007, 11:10:44 PM
Quote from: Lamh Dhearg Alba on July 03, 2007, 11:04:27 PM
Quote from: bailestil on July 02, 2007, 05:24:59 PM

Why not buy him a pint!

Great to see that whilst Sinj Majeep and Mustafa Skingraft didnt get their 70 virgins good old John Smeaton got his 1000 pints

http://johnsmeaton.com/?page_id=5

He probably get all of Mustafa Skingrafts Virgins when they see who the real man is.

(http://l.yimg.com/www.flickr.com/images/spaceball.gif)
Post by: Chrisowc on July 03, 2007, 11:25:03 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 02, 2007, 05:15:33 AM
I think the Prison Service allow about £1.30 a day per prisoner for food. The prison dogs are allowed about £7 per day for food. Shows were their priorities lie. Being in prison is meant to be your punishment, they are not meant to punish you on top of that.

Why don't they just feed the prisoners to the dogs?  It would save a fortune.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 03, 2007, 11:28:09 PM
Prison is alot better than alot better life than alot of these types gave their victums   >:(

Put them in chain gangs, build the Dublin Metro, The Western Rail Corridor & the National Road Network for peanuts  8)
Post by: Chrisowc on July 04, 2007, 10:51:24 AM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on July 01, 2007, 09:56:24 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on July 01, 2007, 09:32:47 PM

That wouldnt be the Jaybe Ofrasio who got locked up because he had a similar email address to a member of Al-Qaida? The man had worked for years in The Royal and posed not threat to anyone, but they still kept him locked up. Things havent changed much in the North, they still lock people up for nothing.

From today's Times

An al-Qaeda leader in Iraq boasted before last week's failed bombings in London and Glasgow that his group was planning to attack British targets and that "those who cure you will kill you", The Times has learnt.
Title: I knew Kafeel Ahmed but I’m glad he didn’t know me
Post by: Donagh on July 06, 2007, 08:38:42 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6276072.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/northern_ireland/6276072.stm)