GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: J70 on June 24, 2007, 06:32:08 PM

Title: Leitrim V Donegal
Post by: J70 on June 24, 2007, 06:32:08 PM
First ever championship meeting. League meetings have been scarce enough in recent years too, although if I remember correctly there was a draw last season?

Presumably this will be in Carrick-on-Shannon. Leitrim looked well up for the game today and got some nice scores, so Donegal would not want to go out with the wrong attitude, especially after last week's hammering. That Maxwell fella especially looks a good player.

Should be a bit of craic around Ballyshannon and Bundoran over the next week or two!
Title: Re: Leitrim V Donegal
Post by: 45GoneShort on June 24, 2007, 08:42:48 PM
It'll definitely be in Carrick on Saturday week as the Connacht Final is on Sunday week.  Should be a good game with a big crowd just like in Ballyshannon last year for the draw in the league.  What is the status with the two/three lads who were sent off in the Tyrone game are they suspended???? Leitrim have never won a qualifier game but home advantage is going to be massive.
Post by: J70 on June 24, 2007, 09:05:25 PM
McFadden will be absent for this game at least. McMenamin got two yellows, so, unless he gets the line playing for Termon in the meantime, he'll be available, and will presumably start in the full-forward line with Devenney.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 25, 2007, 10:49:50 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 24, 2007, 09:05:25 PM
McFadden will be absent for this game at least. McMenamin got two yellows, so, unless he gets the line playing for Termon in the meantime, he'll be available, and will presumably start in the full-forward line with Devenney.

Would have thought that McFadden would be looking at a couple of matches suspension?

As for the Lietrim match not sure if it's a blessing or a curse...!  ???
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2007, 02:13:37 AM
Barry Dunnion will be out for about a month after a hernia operation. Big blow for us.

Gives McIvor an opportunity to move Cassidy back to the wing, if he wants to change things at midfield, although who he would bring in is the question. Stephen McDermott, after all the promise of '03, just hasn't done it at county level in the last few years. Maybe Ciaran Bonner would be worth a shot - himself and Neil Gallagher often play midfield together for their club. Christy Toye will be available as he's over the chicken pox, so he could take Bonner's place. McIvor may also leave things as they are and start with Eamon McGee at left wing-back again, but that middle eight was a disaster against Tyrone.

Could be a very difficult game for us without McFadden and Dunnion and possibly Hegarty.
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2007, 02:15:26 AM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 25, 2007, 10:49:50 AM
Quote from: J70 on June 24, 2007, 09:05:25 PM

Would have thought that McFadden would be looking at a couple of matches suspension?

When is McFadden's case up? He'll get at least a month, which will probably be at least two matches, if we beat Leitrim.
Post by: aodhruadh on June 27, 2007, 07:31:20 AM
I also heard a rumour that Devenney is not in good shape, no idea if its true.

Certainly wont be easy v Leitrim. McFadden must feel like a right tulip.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 27, 2007, 10:42:24 AM
Still can't understand what was going through McFaddens head at the time!
Post by: pairc sean on June 27, 2007, 10:45:14 AM
Yeah - he's going to be a huge loss for you guys, especially as I think we'd have had problems coping with him in the air - we have an excellent full back line, but height wouldn't be their strongest point.

We've never won a game in the qualifiers, but that has to change someday! Also, I don't think Leitrim would have the same mental hang up about Donegal as they would have about the colour of the Galway or Mayo jersies for some reason....

It'll be a very interesting game, no doubt about it
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2007, 05:35:19 PM
Quote from: aodhruadh on June 27, 2007, 07:31:20 AM
I also heard a rumour that Devenney is not in good shape, no idea if its true.

He played for Eunan's against Glenties at the weekend.
Post by: J70 on June 27, 2007, 05:56:44 PM
The second legs of the club championship ties are on this Saturday evening. Let's hope all the boys make it through, but the odds are that probably at least one or two are going to pick up knocks, which we don't need with Dunnion and McFadden definitely out.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 27, 2007, 06:59:08 PM
I'm going to stick €20 on Leitrim to pull it off. I reckon if they keep the score very low then they can win a battle of wills, but if it becomes a shooting match they could be in trouble.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 27, 2007, 11:01:02 PM
Quote from: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 27, 2007, 10:42:24 AM
Still can't understand what was going through McFaddens head at the time!

Humiliation!  ;)
Post by: J70 on June 29, 2007, 01:29:51 PM
McIver would prefer a different club championship format
28 June 2007

Ahead of their All-Ireland Qualifier against Leitrim on Saturday, 7th of July in Carrick-on-Shannon, Donegal team-manager Brian McIver didn't sound at all convinced that his players would benefit from their club championship programme.

"We had club championship last week-end and we have club championship action again this week-end,'' he added.

"This means that Donegal players who were involved in the Tyrone Ulster SFC semi-final will be involved in their fourth championship on the trot when they take on Leitrim.''

McIver revealed that he hasn't met his county players since their defeat by Tyrone in Clones.

Like Derry boss, Paddy Crozier the Donegal team-manager will have just one week to prepare for their first round Qualifier game.

When it was put to him that this wasn't very good preparation for such an important match, he replied: "Your could say that.''

When it was suggested that he would prefer a different club championship format in Donegal he answered: "There is little doubt about that, but I can make little comment until I go through official channels.''
________________________________________________________________________________

McIvor hasn't met the players since the Tyrone disaster! That isn't exactly promising! They'll have basically two sessions to talk that over and prepare for Leitrim, assuming everyone gets through this weekend ok.
Post by: J70 on July 02, 2007, 11:54:40 PM
There'll be a few uneasy exchanges at Donegal training this week! Ciaran Bonner is probably out of the Leitrim game after getting a broken nose courtesy of Colm McFadden in the Glenswilly v St Michael's match at the weekend. Brendan Devenney and Paddy Campbell got booked for having a go at each other in the Eunan's v Glenties game as well! (Devenney scored 1-6 though)

Looks like Christy Toye is very doubtful too, as he's still not fully over the chickenpox. Roper didn't play for Aodh Rua at the weekend either.

So it looks like we're definitely going to be missing Dunnion, Bonner, McFadden and probably Toye and Roper. Apparently Michael Hegarty will be fit. Interestingly, Shane Bradley, after spending years playing for Harps, has been invited to train with the county team once again.
Post by: aodhruadh on July 03, 2007, 08:05:05 AM
Christ on a bike... McIvor needs to send McFadden on an Anger Management course

Whats the deal with his suspension anyway - I haven't heard a thing ?

And if the squad havent been meeting up, you'd wonder about the focus, about whether theyve analysed what went wrong in the Tyrone game, and god forbid, whether any of them have been back on the lager again.

If we can scrape past Leitrim ,get a decent draw then maybe some focus will return but right now its not looking great.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on July 03, 2007, 10:34:38 AM
Seemingly Hegarty took a knock at the weekend and the knees swollen up!!!

Our pre-match build-up is starting to resemble that of Tyrone!!
Post by: J70 on July 04, 2007, 04:46:50 PM
According to the BBC, you can now add Devenney to the list of doubtful starters! All of the starting forwards, apart from Rory Kavanagh, are now doubtful or definitely out, along with Dunnion.

These things are always hyped up a wee bit, but its still not looking too good. I'm racking my brains to come up with a forward six if all these lads don't make it - this is the best I can come up with:

Full forwards: Michael Doherty, Kevin McMenamin, Rory Kavanagh
Half-forwards: Stephen McDermott, Adrian Sweeney, Ryan Bradley
Post by: 45GoneShort on July 04, 2007, 10:56:19 PM
Don't know what to make of all these stories coming out of Donegal regarding injuries and players discontent regarding lack of rest before Leitrim game - personally i smell some bullshit.  As for ourselves we are injury free same team more than likely will line out with Kennedy pushing Prior hard for his place - but can't see Prior being dropped with daddy on the line.  It'll be a close game like the Galway game but yet again with Donegal like Galway having more class to call on from the sideline.
Post by: J70 on July 04, 2007, 11:22:21 PM
I certainly hope there has been be a bit of exaggeration. What we do know is that Colm McFadden and Ciaran Bonner, normally two definite starters, are out for sure, Barry Dunnion had a hernia op last week, Roper missed Aodh Rua's weekend game, and Christy Toye has barely been fit to raise a gallop in club games when introduced as a sub over the past two weekends. I'd be more hopeful that the Devenney and Hegarty knocks are not too serious.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on July 05, 2007, 12:33:42 PM
45GoneShort agree with you on this one, Donegal trying to pull the wool over our eyes (and they have enough of it on the hills  :) !)

Surprised at them for making a fuss over a few changes, I predict a few on our own side after the last game.  Don't forget while Donegal claim injuries our own manager has not been well and was in hosiptal for a few days after the Galway game.  Can't make matters easy  , anyway we'll know more later tonight as the team will be announced via the LeitrimGAA website at 9pm. 
Post by: J70 on July 05, 2007, 01:17:14 PM
"Making a fuss over a few changes"!!!

We're not Kerry for christ's sake! We're going to be missing potentially five of our regular starting forward six, as well as Barry Dunnion, a highly important player. Some are easier replaced than others, but we have no stand-ins of the calibre of Dunnion, Devenney and McFadden. Even Bonner, Toye and Hegarty will be replaced by arguably lesser players, although the latter two haven't been playing to their highest standards of late.
Post by: AhFeckRef on July 05, 2007, 01:20:55 PM
Yeah BigJohnBrowne. Think there could be a few changes on the Leitrim side too. Interesting that the team selection is delayed till this eve.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on July 05, 2007, 02:26:13 PM
Reported to be a training session tonight so that's probably why.  From past experience DD is not the quickest to release teams much to the detriment of the players as the team news tends to be 'last minute news' rather than garnering a few days of comment over his selection etc.  9pm awaits..............
Post by: 45GoneShort on July 05, 2007, 09:21:54 PM
1 Noel Gill
2 Dermot Reynolds
3 Michael McGuinness
4 Barry McWeeney
5 Ciaran Kennedy
6 John McKeon
7 Shane Foley
8 Gary McCloskey
9 Michael Duignan
10 Colin Regan
11 Michael Foley
12 Declan Maxwell
13 Donal Brennan
14 Fintan McBrien
15 Ciaran Duignan

Great to see Kennedy getting a chance after nearly 3 years of trying - finally Dessie and co. have seen the light in regard to Prior.  Would of liked to see mcbrien being used as an impact sub but he was the only sub to make an impact against galway.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on July 06, 2007, 11:50:02 AM
Delighted to see a few changes, thought there might be one or two coming.  I hope starting F Mc B won't go against us as he is usually a very effective impact sub.  Lots of rumours from Donegal along with their 'poorr injured us' syndrome, still expect them to have a 'this is a nusiance game, we're going further..' attitude.

Weather conditions not great for tomorrow.
Post by: orangeman on July 06, 2007, 11:58:21 AM
Donegal will emerge as real All Ireland contenders !
Post by: pairc sean on July 06, 2007, 12:49:57 PM
Very disappointed that Glancy isn't included - I think outside of Maxwell he's still the best forward in the county. Granted he struggled against Galway, but I think he could have caused the Donegal defence a few problems if he was included.

Apart from the, can't really argue with the team. Kennedy deserves his start ahead of Prior, but it is still an area of the defence that worries me
Post by: magpie seanie on July 06, 2007, 01:05:33 PM
QuoteKennedy deserves his start ahead of Prior, but it is still an area of the defence that worries me

Yeah, your half back line was brutal against Galway.
Post by: J70 on July 06, 2007, 01:15:30 PM
Donegal side:

Paul Durcan                                        Na Ceithre Máistrí     
Neil Mc Gee                                       Gaoth Dobhair           
Paddy Campbell                                 Naomh Conall
Karl Lacey                                          Na Ceithre Máistrí
Frank Mc Glynn                                  Gleann Fhinne
Barry Monaghan                                 Na Ceithre Máistrí     
Paddy Mc Conigley                            Gaeil Fhanáda
Neil Gallagher                                     Gleann tSúilí
Kevin Cassidy                                    Gaoth Dobhair           
Micheal Murphy                                 Gleann tSúilí
Michael Hegarty                                 Cill  Chartha
Rory Kavanagh                                   Naomh Adhamhnáin 
Kevin Mc Menamin                            An Tearmain
Ryan Bradley                                      Buncrannaigh
Brendan Devenney                             Naomh Adhamhnáin

Championship debut for young Michael Murphy. First start for McMenamin. (I'm not sure if Ryan Bradley or Frank McGlynn have started championship games before either).

Not our strongest lineup by a long stretch. Let's hope the boys are up for it - this one has me very nervous.
Post by: pairc sean on July 06, 2007, 04:30:28 PM
Seanie - best of luck on Sunday; will be over there to lend a shout for ye!
Post by: Rois on July 06, 2007, 04:56:49 PM
Will be down to watch the match tomorrow - first time watching Leitrim for me and looking fwd to it. 
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 06, 2007, 05:05:18 PM
Quote from: Rois on July 06, 2007, 04:56:49 PM
Will be down to watch the match tomorrow - first time watching Leitrim for me and looking fwd to it. 

Leitrim crowd are great craic and friendly bunch, Carrick a smashing down, youll like it (maybe - they a hardy bunch to beat @ home)
Post by: J70 on July 06, 2007, 08:49:30 PM
I see RTE are tipping Leitrim to put us out of our misery.

More of that please! We're always better with something to prove.
Post by: J70 on July 07, 2007, 06:47:16 PM
Donegal apparently lining out as named!

Post by: J70 on July 07, 2007, 07:03:49 PM
Apparently Adrian Sweeney isn't in Carrick-on-Shannon tonight.
Post by: J70 on July 07, 2007, 07:45:18 PM
Half-time - Donegal lead by 1-5 to 0-6

We're lucky to be still in the match. Karl Lacey kept us in it almost single-handedly at times. We're getting hammered at midfield, but the changes in the forwards, leaving just Devenney and McMenamin inside and moving Kavanagh and Bradley more towards midfield have worked in the last ten minutes. The swap of Paddy Campbell and Neil McGee has dampened some of Maxwell's influence too.

Leitrim lost Colin Regan, who was having a great game and causing Donegal huge problems. Throw in the penalty miss, which was immediately followed by 1-1 for Donegal and the game has changed very quickly.

We need to seriously up it for the second half.
Post by: J70 on July 07, 2007, 08:48:16 PM
1-11 apiece at the end of normal time. Looked like Donegal would hold out, but a spilled high ball was hammered home in the seventh minute of stoppage time. Donegal can have no complaints - we started appallingly and hit eleven wides, many of them very poor, to Leitrim's two, when we should have pulled away.

We have to play extra time without the injured Devenney too. This could go either way.
Post by: J70 on July 07, 2007, 09:29:11 PM
Final score 1-16 to 1-14

Not a great performance, but the lads dug deep and ground it out in the end. The concerns about midfield and the half-backs remain, while Paddy Campbell may find it hard to keep his place given Neil McGee's performance when switched onto Maxwell. We'd want to avoid the bigger guns for another week if possible to allow some of the bruises and injuries to heal, as today's performance would not be good enough.

Turning point definitely the period in the second quarter where McIvor made the switches and Durcan's penalty save was immediately followed by a goal and a point for Donegal. At 1-6 to 0-4 to Leitrim, it would probably have been game over.
Post by: J70 on July 07, 2007, 09:42:50 PM
McIvor just said on the radio that he not heard from Adrian Sweeney and couldn't comment on his absence!
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 07, 2007, 09:48:47 PM
Now ya believe us on the right side of the Shannon that Leitirm pure hardto beat. They some battlers.
Post by: 45GoneShort on July 07, 2007, 10:13:31 PM
Just in from the game - after having tens minutes to calm down after the referees display.  Same old story for us we didn't beat ourselves - the referee beat us the number of times maxwell caught ball and was fouled was unreal but no frees!!! I'm not one for giving out about referees but its very hard to take.  This is crushing result for Leitrim players who despite the amateurish/lazy pundits in the national media are a good team who in the last six years haven't got that bit of luck in a game you need to win.  Great display against the National League Championships.  I don't want to hear Donegal people coming on saying they played bad because if it was a bigger county you were playing you'd say you were lucky.  The fact is you cleaned us out at midfield and we had our half forward line playing far too deep resulting in us loosing numerous balls in build up play. 
Post by: J70 on July 07, 2007, 10:42:34 PM
I wasn't at the game, so I cannot really comment on Kinneavy's treatment of Maxwell. According to the Highland commentary, Neil McGee had a good game on him after the switch, although they did comment on one or two fouls he got away with, including what looked like a lift off the ground, if I remember correctly. There seemed to be a few fouls let go up the other end too however, but again, I'm reliant on radio commentary. And given that some, including RTE, were tipping Leitrim to win this, I wouldn't think that people have been disrespecting Leitrim.They also received praise all around after the Galway game. People seem to think they're a good side, but a bit lacking in forwards. On Highland Radio, Martin McHugh was saying that your full-back line is one of the, if not the, best full-back lines in the country. As to your comment about Donegal people's excuses, from what I was listening to, we were awful for the first 25 minutes, when Karl Lacey almost single-handedly kept us in it. The couple of minutes involving the penalty miss and the Donegal 1-1 were the decisive minutes of the game, in that had Leitrim scored the penalty and we hadn't broke for those two scores, you probably would have won. There is no question that we were lucky to be ahead at half-time, but had Devenney taken his chance it could have been more. I am disappointed that we didn't push on after half-time and finish out the game, however. That does not bode well for possible meetings against better teams. If you think that is disrespectful, I think you're fooling yourself. Leitrim have to earn the right to be considered a top-level side, as do we, because despite the league win, on current form, missing players or no missing players, we are nowhere close.
Post by: Barney on July 08, 2007, 09:05:59 AM
QuoteI'm not one for giving out about referees

BUT

QuoteSame old story for us we didn't beat ourselves - the referee beat us

Seriously though I feel very sorry for Leitrim. Everybody gets a scare in Carrick and they deserve a big name scalp for their efforts over the last few years but its hard to keep coming back from these knocks.
Post by: aodhruadh on July 08, 2007, 09:35:22 AM
What a relief. The Championship season stumbles on... hopefully the performances improve from here...

Draw will be interesting - Id like to see us avoid Armagh, Mayo and Meath. If we can past next weekend (with tired legs) then a few bigger names should be back for the last 12 of the all ireland.

Rumour is that Sweeney missed the game due to a delayed flight from the US - though a more plausible reason would be that he didnt get named in the line up despite the forwards being decimated by injury.

Fair play to them for digging it out in Extra Time.
Post by: Rois on July 08, 2007, 05:00:27 PM
Quote from: 45GoneShort on July 07, 2007, 10:13:31 PM
we didn't beat ourselves - the referee beat us  

Great atmosphere, I love being a neutral at these matches and was actually rooting for Leitrim, despite hearing that a few Ulster teams had been knocked out before this match was over.
However, I disagree with the complaints about the referee - he did very little wrong over the course of the match.  I know Leitrim were irate about him and can't really understand why.  In fact, the most questionable decision would have been the penalty that Leitrim were awarded - probably karma that it wasn't scored.

Donegal didn't seem to have improved much from the Tyrone match - dropped the ball a lot in the opening stages and there were some terrible passages from them.  However, they hung in there and live to "stumble" on.
Post by: Bogball XV on July 08, 2007, 11:36:10 PM
What was with the Leitrim shirts?  Have they got an away strip?
Post by: J70 on July 09, 2007, 12:02:28 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on July 08, 2007, 11:36:10 PM
What was with the Leitrim shirts?  Have they got an away strip?

According to the radio coverage, the teams wore provincial shirts.
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on July 09, 2007, 01:19:12 AM
my understanding is that Leitrim were to wear the White & blue of Connacht and Donegal the Ulster colours.  Donegal seemed to have taken exception to this and ended up in wearing a 'selective' mix that very closely resembled their normal colours. And yes I know that they wore 'Ulster' jersies but their gear was questionable.

Referee hopefully will not get a game of this level again if proper assessing is carried out.  He was not up to scratch and that was the opinion of all who had a chat with were in Carrick, Donegal supporters included.  Too old, too far away from the action and seemed to ignore calls from his linesmen & umpire - not acceptable in 2007 standards.

Any way, we lost that's it, we've pre-warned another team yet again of their weaknesses and we've set them up for further progress as they galvanise their problems just like all the others.

When will we get out of this f###g  rut.

Next Championship game is New York 2008.

Post by: Rois on July 09, 2007, 08:15:30 AM
Quote from: BigJohnBrowne on July 09, 2007, 01:19:12 AM
Referee hopefully will not get a game of this level again if proper assessing is carried out. 

"Proper assessing" was carried out, and had you been objectively watching, over the course of the game he didn't make that many mistakes.  I have no love for that particular ref, but he didn't do as badly as is being suggested by a number of the Leitrim posters here.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2007, 08:16:37 AM
QuoteReferee hopefully will not get a game of this level again if proper assessing is carried out.  He was not up to scratch and that was the opinion of all who had a chat with were in Carrick, Donegal supporters included.  Too old, too far away from the action and seemed to ignore calls from his linesmen & umpire - not acceptable in 2007 standards.

I see my old friend Gerry Kennevy (spell) is continuing to annoy folk.

Worst ref ever!
Post by: Billys Boots on July 09, 2007, 10:21:11 AM
Quote"Proper assessing" was carried out

Ah c'mon Rois, if it was really proper assessment Gerry Kinneavy (or whatever he's calling himself now) would have been relieved of his duties long, long ago.  I've never seen a referee with his ability to really wind up the players on the field with his 'interpretation' of what's happening - and that alone should be enough to ensure he never gets a whistle again.  I could go on, but my point is, if the 'assessment' gives him a clean bill of health each time out, then the assessment standards/criteria are as lacking as he is.
Post by: Rois on July 09, 2007, 11:28:55 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 09, 2007, 10:21:11 AM
Quote"Proper assessing" was carried out

Ah c'mon Rois, if it was really proper assessment Gerry Kinneavy (or whatever he's calling himself now) would have been relieved of his duties long, long ago.  ...  I could go on, but my point is, if the 'assessment' gives him a clean bill of health each time out, then the assessment standards/criteria are as lacking as he is.

But surely you're not advocating that prior performances are used to judge the current one by the assessor?    That would be prejudicial, especially if he'd acted on constructive criticism from prior assessments and improved his performance.  The whole basis of assessments should be objectivity.  There is a new person at the head of assessing in Croke Park so changes are ongoing. 
I just wanted to make the point that the performance of Kinneavy on Sat night was not as bad as some Leitrim fans are suggesting.  As I said, I'm no fan of his. 
Post by: pairc sean on July 09, 2007, 11:29:21 AM
I think criticising Referees generally is a waste of time, BUT, Mr K was just awful. From Mc Gee went on to Maxwell, there were at least 5 occasions when Maxwell tried to put up two hands but couldn't as one of them was being held. A blind dog could have seen it. Not alone that, but on one occasion when Maxwell was in possession, he was pushed over so blatantly it beggared belief that a free wasn't given. IMHO, it was no penalty either - another awful decision.

Likewise, the amount of times that Michael Mc Guinness fouled Devenney at the other end of the pitch was incredible and Mr K kept pulling Devenney for overcarrying!! I think his days at this level may be numbered and I wouldn't imagine his assessment will make for pretty reading...

Elsewhere, I though Karl Lacey and Kevin Mc Mennamin were Donegal's standout players. For Leitrim, the 3 lads who misfired against Galway - Prior, C Duignan and James Glancy - were all excellent and repaid us in spades after poor performances the last day; it's a great trait to see in young fellas.

Overall, a terrific game. Terrific atmosphere, terrific colour, some excellent football and buckets of excitement, not to mention a great night in Carrick afterwards (depsite the defeat). Hope the Donegal's enjoyed their visit down to us.

Our day is coming....
Post by: BigJohnBrowne on July 09, 2007, 11:58:00 AM
Well said Pairc Sean, I concur with the above and I'm also thrilled that Sligeach have made the break through - it's some comfort to see the underdogs breaking the mould.  Leitrim in 2008. 
Post by: Billys Boots on July 09, 2007, 01:39:12 PM
QuoteBut surely you're not advocating that prior performances are used to judge the current one by the assessor?

I'm not Rois, you're right - I'm wondering how he continues to get through the assessment process without being called ashore.  I'm saying that his continued appointment to important games undermines the credibility of the assessment process.  Didn't see Saturday's game btw.
Post by: Rois on July 09, 2007, 01:48:56 PM
I know what you're saying Billy but in all fairness, it was a qualifier game, not an All Ireland final.  It would be easy to continue to condemn the man for past games but on Sat as a neutral observer, he wasn't that bad, no one won or lost based on his decisions, and I'd say that he'll continue to get mid-tier games based on that performance.
Post by: Billys Boots on July 09, 2007, 04:34:44 PM
It should be Junior B schoolboys' football in South Roscommon.
Post by: AhFeckRef on July 09, 2007, 05:40:37 PM
 :(

More or less agree with Pairc Sean and BigJohn. Ref standard was poor. Think all sides agreed on that. Thought Leitrim bench were a little slow to shore up the wing when Regan was taken off injured. Donegal appeared to exploit it a few times for crutial scores.

I have to wonder about this current Leitrim setup. Over the last two games I witnessed some moments of sheer brilliance from almost every player on the field. Some of the scores from the forwards were top drawer and inspirational. Some of the defending was text book. The work rate was unbelievable. However a lot of these were just moments. A sort of glance at what they are capabale of if given the correct circumstances.

If we look back over the last year there was some classic displays. Offaly, Carlow and Roscommon in the League, The Monaghan league game was another great display but just fell short.  There appears to be strength in depth in this panel and county that's not getting tapped. A half fit Shane Canning could come on Saturday evening and make some inspirational catches and bursts forward. Why wasn't he introduced during the Galway game? Why isn't he at peak fitness, on top of his game as was evident in  last years county final?

There are some great young forwards out around the county who don't appear to be making the breakthrough onto the panel. Why is that?

While there have been great improvements over the last three years, I think it's time for a change at the top. Just like in the early 90's I think now is the time for an inspired management change. Somebody who can take things that step further. Somebody who can instill absolute self belief into this Leitrim team, because at the end of the day that killer instinct appears to be missing. I'm talking about that complete lack of respect Sligo showed for Galway yesterday. Sure they missed frees as Leitrim did when playing them, but their players simply were not willing to lose that game!!

I walked out of Pairc Sean on Saturday evening absolutely dejected, hoarse and weary but I'm sure that's nothing to what the panel felt! However I'm absolutely sure that our day will come. Just have to look at Sligo... Sure there the same standard as us!!

Believe! ;)
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2007, 09:18:58 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2007, 08:16:37 AM

I see my old friend Gerry Kennevy (spell) is continuing to annoy folk.

Worst ref ever!
No he's not THAT  accolade belongs to that nice man Seamus nice man Prior  >:( >:( >:( >:( The nice Laythrum nice  man
Post by: AhFeckRef on July 09, 2007, 09:34:44 PM
QuoteNo he's not THAT  accolade belongs to that nice man Seamus nice man Prior  Angry Angry Angry Angry The nice Laythrum nice  man

Jaysus Rossfan, your holding an awful grudge there. How long ago was that... Let it go.

See Mir Kennevey(sp??) is moonlighting in Galway these days. Is he a Ros man or a Galway man.. Who'll claim him?
Post by: Rossfan on July 09, 2007, 09:40:27 PM
He's Galway ó dhúchas and has now returned to them.
That effin Prior robbed us blind in Tuam 1998 because the world and it's effin mother wanted that nice Galway team to win the All Ireland.
Than along came John maroon eyes Bannon to make sure no Derryman could tackle them to get them through the All Ireland Semi.
Grudges - your damn right -no one in this County will ever forgive either of them two nice men. >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(
Post by: AhFeckRef on July 09, 2007, 09:49:28 PM
Sure didn't ye get your Connacht title in 01. ;)  or what chip have ye on your shoulder about that one.