GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Redgreenery on June 24, 2007, 06:31:10 PM

Title: Mayo v Cavan
Post by: Redgreenery on June 24, 2007, 06:31:10 PM
Interesting as the 2 teams played last week in a challange with Cavan prevailing, none the less this is a big game, I'd expect Mayo to prevail and its an extra that the game is in Castlebar. Mayo should be fired up a bit more for the qualifiers as i'd expect and progress.
Title: Re: Mayo v Cavan
Post by: prewtna on June 24, 2007, 06:36:24 PM
ah ya if we are to take ourselves seriously at all we should be beating cavan any day of the week.
this temporary exile will be home for good on friday and looking forward to seeing mayo again in the flesh.
not looking forward to starting back into training tho. :-[ 
Post by: mannix on June 24, 2007, 06:47:52 PM
Welcome home pnewtna, I think Mayo will beat cavan and if not then its no harm done, we are not at the races at all if we cannot get by them.Mayo will be at home according to the draw and castlebar is the home venue so thats a bonus too.When will it be played?
Post by: Redgreenery on June 24, 2007, 06:56:20 PM
Quote from: mannix on June 24, 2007, 06:47:52 PM
Welcome home pnewtna, I think Mayo will beat cavan and if not then its no harm done, we are not at the races at all if we cannot get by them.Mayo will be at home according to the draw and castlebar is the home venue so thats a bonus too.When will it be played?
It'll be played on the weekend of the 7/8 of July dates and times will be announced tomorrow.
If Mayo dont win this it'll be really bad for them and very disappointing for us supporters! Expecting them to win and well prepared for the rest of the qualifiers and on from there too. Hope there will be a change in the teams too, Jimmy Nallen and mabye K O Neill are just not up to it really anymore.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 24, 2007, 08:54:26 PM
Castlebar away was the one i hoped we would avoid,  ::)
to be honest i think we will be lucky to come out with a 5 point beating,
The Cavan scene,with Overweight/unfit players and players fu*king off to the US has made me give up any hope of acheiveing anything this year.
That said il still probably travel to Castlebar.I never learn it seems.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 24, 2007, 08:58:05 PM
Quote from: CC1 on June 24, 2007, 08:56:12 PM
Hope you Mayo lads give us a good beating. It will hopefully teach our county board to have the championship a bit earlier on next year.

we must be the only county in Ireland that doesnt start their championship until the end of July  ::)

Cavan Football is a complete and utter shambles from top to bottom
Post by: mannix on June 24, 2007, 09:33:53 PM
Luckily Mayo will not buy into the poor state of cavan football after the recent challenge defeat.Its a win or die game for a few mayo players careers and they realise that I am certain.
Post by: J70 on June 24, 2007, 09:38:58 PM
Quote from: mannix on June 24, 2007, 09:33:53 PM
Luckily Mayo will not buy into the poor state of cavan football after the recent challenge defeat.Its a win or die game for a few mayo players careers and they realise that I am certain.

The Donegal players bought into it two years ago after Cavan's 21 point drubbing at the hand of Tyrone (as did the Cavan support, who didn't bother to show up in Breffni), and proceeded to let Cavan go ten points up before they knew what hit them. They would have turned it around except for late penalty miss, but they went out of the championship with no one to blame but themselves.
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 24, 2007, 11:27:35 PM
Mayo will probably win but I wouldn't buy into anyone thinking they'll get it handy. On the basis of the Galway game, who didn't excel themselves in Carrick today, Mayo can be quite ordinary and it beggars belief that someone as well prepared as Johnno normally is, is still foostering about with full back and centre half positions etc.

Mayo's All-Ireland final pedigree and experience, plus smattering of classy players, will carry them through against a Cavan side over which there's lots of question marks, ability and morale-wise. Pluses for Cavan might be that Mayo are still weakened at midfield through unfortunate circumstances, while if we use Lyng positively instead of an auxiliary defender as against Down, he might exploit a weakness at no 6 especially if Nallen plays there as I think he's past his best. I hope we stick a big man in ful-forward as well so we can vary the attack.

Our defence will let us down in the heel of the hunt though, so Mayo by three for me.

Home advantage is something Cavan could have done with but sure we can't even win a race to be first out of a hat ::)
Post by: From the Bunker on June 24, 2007, 11:41:29 PM
Johno will be happy! Home draw and a team that is annually underachieving! Cavan have such a strong tradition but have been in the wilderness for forthy years. It beggers belief that they have been so ordinary for so long! Mayo by 3-5 points, but after a hard struggle and some lessons learned. That said if Cavan are up for it they have nothing to lose and a Moderate scalp there for the taking!
Post by: Davitt Man on June 25, 2007, 08:19:14 AM
Quote from: prewtna on June 24, 2007, 06:36:24 PM

Junior game saturday evening, you will be around for that i take!!
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on June 25, 2007, 09:20:35 AM
Not a bad draw at all, we avoided the big hitters for another round at least. Cavan seem to be in a bit of disarray with the lads feckin off to the states etc which is good news for us. They did beat us handily enough in a challenge though and we ourselves are no world-beaters at the minute, hopefully that will be enough of a reminder not to be complacent. We can't afford to be too cocky at the moment, get in, get the job done and try and get the show on the road again
Post by: rosnarun on June 25, 2007, 09:29:00 AM
It should be a cracker of a match. Cavan mayo matches usuallly are . they are two of the best to watch footballing counties in the country and neither are carrying much baggage about each other but have a lot to prove this year to themselves.
O'mahoney will hardly survive the winter should may lose after all his bull time he stood up and delivered. he has taken all-irelnd finalist asnd made them look a very poor team.
Mayo by 1 if we're lucky
Post by: Msgr. Horan on June 25, 2007, 09:58:34 AM
I think both sides will be happy enough with this draw, if for no other reason then it could have been alot worse. Home advantage is key and that might swing it Cavans way. Cavan will be far from overawed by mayo having giving us quiet a trimming in that challenge two weeks ago, we scored 1-1 in the last few minutes to make the scoreline somewhat respectable. Mayo will have had seven weeks to recover from the shambles in salthill, Martin Carney reckons we are hitting form, hard to tell, we'll see.
The chopping and changing in the central positions for Mayo dosent leave me confident, BJP was up around the full forward line against cavan, T mort and Brady in the half back line. I have no problem with experimenting especially when the first product isnt working, but it is a bit worrying all this change so late in the year.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 25, 2007, 10:03:44 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 25, 2007, 09:29:00 AM
It should be a cracker of a match. Cavan mayo matches usuallly are . they are two of the best to watch footballing counties in the country and neither are carrying much baggage about each other but have a lot to prove this year to themselves.
O'mahoney will hardly survive the winter should may lose after all his bull time he stood up and delivered. he has taken all-irelnd finalist asnd made them look a very poor team.
Mayo by 1 if we're lucky

The game in Hyde Park two years ago was one of the worst games of the year.  Cavan are capable of putting in a big performance and winning this but thats only if everyone hits form at the same time.  Cavan will go into this with nothing to lose but mayo should have to much for them.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on June 25, 2007, 10:09:40 AM
You're right there Msgr, it is a bit worrynig to be trying out new lads at this time of year, at the same time it's good to see they are looking for new answers. How many Mayo managers have we seen in the past stick to the old formula when it was clear change was needed, all in all I'm glad to hear they are trying new things out, make something positive out of the Galway game. As a few analysts have said, the management team would have been shot if they had discarded the old boys and we lost, they had to stick with them at the time. Now we know the new blood, well the ones that might actually improve the team, have to be tried. I still think that Galway game will turn out to be a blessing in disguise in the long run.
As for the game itself, I'm not expecting a cracker, remember '05? shocking game altogether. Hopefully we'll have enough in us to win by a few points and get the confidence up again
Post by: Tubberman on June 25, 2007, 10:18:03 AM
QuoteIt should be a cracker of a match. Cavan mayo matches usuallly are . they are two of the best to watch footballing counties in the country and neither are carrying much baggage about each other but have a lot to prove this year to themselves.
Mayo by 1 if we're lucky

My god rosnarun, you're in quare form lately!  :D
How could you think this will be a cracker after 05 - worst game of the year. And both teams have been poor so far this year.
John O'Mahony is on a 3 year term, and will not be gone by winter, regardless of the result. You seem to have caught the disease a lot of Mayo supporters had a few years ago - completely over-reacting based on one result. If we win, we're on the way to Sam, if we lose, sack the manager.
Get a bit of realism!   
Post by: EastMayoHerald on June 25, 2007, 10:37:22 AM
Lads

Do you not think Mayo have already given up on this year?  Trying new players in all the challenge games would suggest we are doing nothing but team building.

I have always thought Trev Mort belongs in the half back line but Ger Brady?

In fairness to JOM it is ok trying guys out in the league but you only get the real picture in a Championship match.  We will have to put with it for the next two years I am afraid.
Post by: the ship on June 25, 2007, 10:44:33 AM
cavan to win and give the rest of the country a break from mayo god help us
Post by: Davitt Man on June 25, 2007, 11:41:04 AM
It should be a cracker of a match. Cavan mayo matches usuallly are .

You taking the piss, were you in the hyde a few years ago when these 2 played it was the worst game of football i ever saw, terrible stuff altogether, i can see the same happening in 2 weeks time, mayo winning pulling up, the game will be over as a contest with 20mins to go id say, a bit like the dublin offaly game yesterday
Post by: Barney on June 25, 2007, 11:55:26 AM
To be honest I don't see any reason for over-confidence.

We should win if we are any good - but are we? The Galway game was a real eye-open to our deficiencies. The most disappointing thing of the season is that we have left it so late to make changes that needed to be made and were sticking out like a sore thumb.

EMH, I don't think anyone has given up on 07, but the aim is probably to go as far as possible and integrate some of the u21s of the last few years into the panel. A noble aim for the league I would have thought.

Home advantage is the big thing here for me. If it was up in Cavan you would have to be worried.
Post by: Davitt Man on June 25, 2007, 12:09:59 PM
Quote from: Barney on June 25, 2007, 11:55:26 AM
To be honest I don't see any reason for over-confidence.

We should win if we are any good - but are we?

I agree, how good are we? but in fairness watching cavan they look a shambles, 3 players gone to the states, players not fit, morale in the camp obviously low. Mayo will win, cavan are poor
Post by: prewtna on June 25, 2007, 12:22:45 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on June 25, 2007, 08:19:14 AM

ya jaysus straight back into it!  :P

tho i think it woud be a bit presumtuous of me to tog out for this one! training sunday aswell???
Post by: Davitt Man on June 25, 2007, 01:44:14 PM
Quote from: prewtna on June 25, 2007, 12:22:45 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on June 25, 2007, 08:19:14 AM

ya jaysus straight back into it!  :P

tho i think it woud be a bit presumtuous of me to tog out for this one! training sunday aswell???

Dont worry you will be getting the call friday night from the gaffer and they will have you togged straight away
Post by: rosnarun on June 25, 2007, 01:59:30 PM
i had wiped hyde park from the memory but i remeber a few league games on in particular in ballinrobe about 4? years ago as entertaining a game as you'd ever see full of good cleasn football cavan hammering in goals and mayo still winning . whatr more could you ask for ?
Post by: rosnarun on June 25, 2007, 02:05:54 PM
QuoteJohn O'Mahony is on a 3 year term
;D :D ;D :D ;D :D >:(

And they are always served out esp by sitting TD's.
Post by: Redgreenery on June 25, 2007, 02:31:04 PM
Question for ye about Pat Harte, is he suspended for this match from the red card in the Galway game??
Post by: EastMayoHerald on June 25, 2007, 02:37:20 PM
Anyone know anything about challenge against Cork.
Post by: Redgreenery on June 25, 2007, 02:38:03 PM
Quote from: EastMayoHerald on June 25, 2007, 02:37:20 PM
Yeah heard Mayo won it by 2 points.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on June 25, 2007, 02:47:58 PM
Quote from: Redgreenery on June 25, 2007, 02:38:03 PM
Quote from: EastMayoHerald on June 25, 2007, 02:37:20 PM
Yeah heard Mayo won it by 2 points.
It seems they played really well. Lads, some of the Cavan are in the states at the moment and it seems from a couple of lads at work that the whole county set up in Cavan is in a shambles. If this current managment set up in Mayo can not turn things around in 7 weeks we may as well all take up fishing or something...Mayo by 6.
Post by: Tubberman on June 25, 2007, 02:53:14 PM
McGaritty came on in the second half which is a big boost.
David Kilcullen played CHB apparently, with Liam O'Malley at FB.
As An Gaeilgoir said, if we can't beat Cavan in the state they seem to be in, we're as well to give it up altogether.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on June 25, 2007, 03:04:43 PM
The game is set for Castlebar on Saturday 7th at 2.30. Why so early?
Post by: Redgreenery on June 25, 2007, 03:06:24 PM
Game fixed for Saturday July 7th at 7pm in Castlebar.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 25, 2007, 03:07:46 PM
with Johnstone, Gunner and Cahill gone from the scene

id expect the team to be something like

1.James Reily
2.Chesty or Dermot Sheridan???
3.Michael Hannon
4.Keith Fannin
5.Anthony Forde
6.Jonathon Crowe
7.Ronan Flanagan
8.McCabe
9.Nicholas Walsh
10.Ray Cullivan
11.Mark McKeever
12.Sean Brady
13.Larry Reily/Cian Mackey
14.Jason Reily
15.Gerard Pierson
Post by: Tubberman on June 25, 2007, 03:13:07 PM
2.30 in some places, 7pm on hoganstand.
I'm going with 2.30! Not sure why it's so early. Same with Westmeath v Longford - maybe they plan to show one of them live. 
Post by: Redgreenery on June 25, 2007, 03:15:53 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 25, 2007, 03:13:07 PM
2.30 in some places, 7pm on hoganstand.
I'm going with 2.30! Not sure why it's so early. Same with Westmeath v Longford - maybe they plan to show one of them live. 

On gaa.ie its down for 7 pm on Saturday so id go with that.

All bar 3 matches are fixed for that time including Westmeath and longford game.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 25, 2007, 03:45:08 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 25, 2007, 03:07:46 PM
with Johnstone, Gunner and Cahill gone from the scene

id expect the team to be something like

1.James Reily
2.Chesty or Dermot Sheridan???
3.Michael Hannon
4.Keith Fannin
5.Anthony Forde
6.Jonathon Crowe
7.Ronan Flanagan
8.McCabe
9.Nicholas Walsh
10.Ray Cullivan
11.Mark McKeever
12.Sean Brady
13.Larry Reily/Cian Mackey
14.Jason Reily
15.Gerard Pierson

Them 3 would be doing well to get their place on that team anyway.  Johnston has been poor most games this year, gunner hasn't been the same either and Fannin is better than Cahill anyway.
Post by: Blue06 on June 25, 2007, 03:48:31 PM
What about Lyng BH man.  I'd have him at 13
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 25, 2007, 03:50:26 PM
christ forgot Lyng  :o what an idiot i am
Yep Lyng at 13 for me as well.
Post by: Blue06 on June 25, 2007, 03:57:32 PM
Them 3 would be doing well to get their place on that team anyway.  Johnston has been poor most games this year, gunner hasn't been the same either and Fannin is better than Cahill anyway

Agree with you Cavan4ever on Johnston & Gunner.  However Cahill is a better defender than Fannin,  Fannin is a better footballer though but doesn't defend well. 
Post by: SuperDooperCooper on June 25, 2007, 04:05:43 PM
Ye Mayo boys must be pleased with this draw.
As an outsider looking in Mayo still haven't nailed down the central positions which must be a worry.
Still Cavan haven't come on anything in the last 2 years and ye shouls have beat them out the gate two years ago.
Handy Mayo win especially since ye are at home.
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 25, 2007, 04:17:36 PM
I'd pop McKeever back into the half-back line and move Flanagan to corner forward, put Lyng on the '40 and instruct him to try and conduct the attack instead of working back as a sweeper like in Newry.

We saw what he's like when asked to tackle ::)
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on June 25, 2007, 04:38:49 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 25, 2007, 02:53:14 PM
As An Gaeilgoir said, if we can't beat Cavan in the state they seem to be in, we're as well to give it up altogether.

That's great news about McGarrity, will be great to have him back on board, you don't realise how important a player is until they are missing!! Delighted to hear Kilcullen is being given a go at CHB, he's still very young and learning his trade and maybe it's a bit soon for him but he's a great prospect for the future. Even if we do sort out CHB though, the full-back line is still a big worry, looking at Maxwell against Galway yesterday, it's safe to say Liam O'Malley would have been bothered by his height aswell!!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 25, 2007, 04:42:34 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 25, 2007, 04:17:36 PM
I'd pop McKeever back into the half-back line and move Flanagan to corner forward, put Lyng on the '40 and instruct him to try and conduct the attack instead of working back as a sweeper like in Newry.

We saw what he's like when asked to tackle ::)

thats the team i expect to see, if i were picking it would be different alright

would like to see a Forde,Crowe,McKeever half back line,

Cunningham,Lyng,Sean Brady half forward line,

Pierson and Flanagan in the corners,
Cullivan as targetman.

Post by: Msgr. Horan on June 25, 2007, 05:01:22 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on June 25, 2007, 02:53:14 PM
And before any Cavan men get annoyed I dont think thats any disrespect to them, mayo are a team that were in the AIF last year and based on that fact and the fact that the Messiah has returned as manager feel (rightly or wrongly), that we should be challenging for the last 4 anyway. The point is if we cant beat Cavan who seem to be struggeling then we are obviously well wrong in that assumption and so have no business being at the business end of the championship. Its hard to say that without sounding like a cocky bunch of Rossies.
Anyone know who was playing in the forwards? I hear Masters and Nickey Murphy were out for Cork so thats only half a team they had out then ;D
Post by: mannix on June 25, 2007, 06:11:36 PM
Monsignor horan hit the nail on the head there.Mayo have every right to feel like we can beat cavan, we were in 2 of the last 3 allirelands and very strong in the league and cavan are a bottomfeeder at the moment getting beaten by waterford and co.
If Mayo cannot beat a team in the lower divisions we may as well take up baking or crochet and leave the football for the men.
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 25, 2007, 06:22:55 PM
Quote from: mannix on June 25, 2007, 06:11:36 PM
Monsignor horan hit the nail on the head there.Mayo have every right to feel like we can beat cavan, we were in 2 of the last 3 allirelands and very strong in the league and cavan are a bottomfeeder at the moment getting beaten by waterford and co.
If Mayo cannot beat a team in the lower divisions we may as well take up baking or crochet and leave the football for the men.

That's a fair enough assessment from where I'm sitting anyway. But if there's one thing the last few years have taught me it's to be more positive ahead of a Cavan game that nobody expects us to win than ahead of a game we're expected to win. It's the psychology of our players to perform best when they know they can afford to lose and not be pilloried for it. Still Mayo by 3 though.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on June 25, 2007, 07:01:37 PM
Its been a long time since so many sensible comments were made on a thread. Refreshing.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 25, 2007, 07:39:04 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 25, 2007, 06:22:55 PM
Quote from: mannix on June 25, 2007, 06:11:36 PM

That's a fair enough assessment from where I'm sitting anyway. But if there's one thing the last few years have taught me it's to be more positive ahead of a Cavan game that nobody expects us to win than ahead of a game we're expected to win. It's the psychology of our players to perform best when they know they can afford to lose and not be pilloried for it. Still Mayo by 3 though.

Yes cavanmaniac, and in my case it's a case of being negative ahead of games where Mayo are expected to canter through, well the ones I expect them to canter through because they lose them. I think Cavan will put it up to Mayo though, we still are unsettled at some central positions. I still think we will win by around 5/6 points and will be shouting our heads off about how great we were again... Still the players have some anount of convincing to do in my eyes.
Post by: Barney on June 25, 2007, 08:08:51 PM
Great to hear Ronan McGarrity made his comeback against Cork at the weekend.

I don't think he will have any huge impact for 2007 and his loss is huge. But the positives are improved health and the chance to see him involved in 2008.

I do agree that we deserve to be favourites but people that are thrilled at us beating Cork in a challenge ignore the fact that we lost to Cavan two weeks ago! Remember our backs are at sea and Cavan have some pacy forwards and a poacher in Jason Reilly that could put us under major pressure.

As I said before Castlebar could be the crucial factor here - maybe the last championship match in McHale Park for 2 years even though we are due home advantage against all Connacht teams next year.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on June 26, 2007, 09:15:23 AM
Quote from: Barney on June 25, 2007, 08:08:51 PM
I do agree that we deserve to be favourites but people that are thrilled at us beating Cork in a challenge ignore the fact that we lost to Cavan two weeks ago!

Good man Barney, keep focusing on the positive whatever you do.  ;D

Quote from: Barney on June 25, 2007, 08:08:51 PM
As I said before Castlebar could be the crucial factor here - maybe the last championship match in McHale Park for 2 years even though we are due home advantage against all Connacht teams next year.

Sorry Barney, you have me there - how could it be the last game at Castlebar for two years if Mayo have home advantage in the Championship? I hope things haven't got so bad that Mayo will be bet before they even kick a ball?
Post by: stephenite on June 26, 2007, 09:17:53 AM
Castlebar is due for planned redevelopment so I'd guess that this is what Barney maybe referring to .

Great news to hear Ronan is back involved
Post by: MacDanger on June 26, 2007, 05:08:59 PM
Great to hear McG is back.......Could well struggle this year though so wouldn't expect a huge amount from him.

Quotemabye K O Neill are just not up to it really anymore.

Only 9 months ago people were moaning about why was he taken off in the AIF and now he's finished..........Not certain if he's worth a starting spot but well worth his place on the panel. With ball in hand he's by far and away our ball-playing forward (after McD obviously).

I'd say there'll be 3-4 changes to personnel and aother 3-4 positional changes.

Luckily we're at home and Cavan seem to be at a real low point. We aren't great either but hopefully we can win by a couple and I'd like to see us drawn against Armagh/Donegal in the next round to see if we're any good - if not, we might as well be out before reaching Croker.,,,,,,,,,
Post by: mylestheslasher on June 26, 2007, 06:45:10 PM
The question I ask myself as a Cavan man about this game is how could it possibly come to pass that Cavan could win. I believe that there is a chance, but the odds are long. It would require the following things to happen....

- Mayo have better players than Cavan so I believe if there would need to be an element of compacency present in the Mayo squad.
- There is a doubt whether some of the Mayo players have grown a little long in the tooth. I am not so sure but Cavan would need it to be true.
- Cavans management would need to spring something unsuspecting on Mayo - for me it is a ball winner at FF. Ray Cullivan perhaps.
- The whole Cavan team would need to play at the top of their game.
- But most importantly is the issue of camp morale. It has either been strengthened by the leaving of 3 "traitors" and the lambasting of these players by Keoghan + the challenge game win over Mayo a few weeks ago or it is the shambles reported often of players out on the beer etc etc.

In summary Cavan would need a lot of things to fall into place for them to win so you'd have to go for mayo by 4-5 points really.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on June 26, 2007, 10:58:58 PM
It should be a cracker of a match. Cavan mayo matches usuallly are .

Jaysus Ros u have a short memory, I was wishing they'd throw both teams out of the championship 2 years ago above in hyde, worst match ever
Post by: cavan4ever on June 27, 2007, 08:13:07 AM
Quote from: mylestheslasher on June 26, 2007, 06:45:10 PM
The question I ask myself as a Cavan man about this game is how could it possibly come to pass that Cavan could win. I believe that there is a chance, but the odds are long. It would require the following things to happen....

- Mayo have better players than Cavan so I believe if there would need to be an element of compacency present in the Mayo squad.
- There is a doubt whether some of the Mayo players have grown a little long in the tooth. I am not so sure but Cavan would need it to be true.
- Cavans management would need to spring something unsuspecting on Mayo - for me it is a ball winner at FF. Ray Cullivan perhaps.
- The whole Cavan team would need to play at the top of their game.
- But most importantly is the issue of camp morale. It has either been strengthened by the leaving of 3 "traitors" and the lambasting of these players by Keoghan + the challenge game win over Mayo a few weeks ago or it is the shambles reported often of players out on the beer etc etc.

In summary Cavan would need a lot of things to fall into place for them to win so you'd have to go for mayo by 4-5 points really.

Having seen Cavan against Fermanagh last nite i don't think Mayo have much to worry about.  The score was Cavan 0-13 Fermanagh 1-9 although some people had it that Cavan had it as a draw . 
Post by: rosnarun on June 27, 2007, 10:25:34 AM
QuoteThe score was Cavan 0-13 Fermanagh 1-9 although some people had it that Cavan had it as a draw . 

think of points as pennies or cent no problem keeping track than .

way too much mealy mouthed 'ah sure were no good cute hoorism going on here time to up the ante :P
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 27, 2007, 11:02:40 AM
Er...but we're not. :(

Taken apart by the Rossies at Croker who have subsequently done nothing.
Beaten by Down who have subsequently done practically nothing.
Three players fecked off to USA
Low numbers at training
Lads on the beer

Mayo have their problems but I'd gladly swap ours for theirs.
Post by: Uladh on June 27, 2007, 11:27:20 AM

I think the cavan lads are doing themselves a disservice here. Before the draw i thought mayo would be a good outcome for ye. Beating a strong Mayo team a couple of weeks ago, albeit in a challenge, should remove the players doubts in their capacity to do it again, which is half the battle. mayo are expected to win and in the recent past they haven't coped too well in that situation. Given their poor form, their mindsets could be cautious because of the backlash waiting if they were to get turned over.

Added to that, although decent players you haven't lost any starters to the usa. i thought you were the better team in newry until lyng's sending off and would have won the game. who knows, if that had happened you could be preparing for an ulster final now. cavan have always been capable of playing to their potential when least expected.
Post by: Denn Forever on June 27, 2007, 01:13:54 PM
I was pleased when I saw when we drew.  I think that we could win this if only for badness sake.  In the words of Cop. Jones, "they don't like it up em".  Although Mayo should win (two AI finals in last few years but again that should give us hope!), it is a marvellous excuse to go west young men.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on June 29, 2007, 04:06:37 PM
Well lads and lassies, it's only a week or so away now. With the current injuries and comebacks situation, anyone willing to have a stab at a starting 15? We've heard talk of challenge games and different selections, but will he really chance young Kilcullen at CHB the next day? anythings possible but it would be a bold move. Looks like McD is out but McGarrity will hopefully get a few minutes near the end, would be great to see him back after the last few months he has had. With the reports from the recent challenge matches I find it nearly impossible to pick the 15 for next day, feel like I would be second guessing the mgt team, expecting a couple of surprises to be thrown in though.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 29, 2007, 04:08:26 PM
The more i think about it,
ve come to the conclusion.
we are going to bate the sh**te out of Mayo and steal their women aswell over in Castlebar.
Post by: ludermor on June 29, 2007, 04:35:30 PM
Denn
How is the pub in crosskeys doing that was bought by the achill woman
Had a full day session in hairy neds on the last bank holiday sunday. some spot
Post by: cavanmaniac on June 29, 2007, 04:47:18 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 29, 2007, 04:08:26 PM
we are going to bate the sh**te out of Mayo and steal their women aswell over in Castlebar.

If forced to choose one over the other, I'd take the women. We'd get further with the Mayo women than we would in the qualifiers like.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 29, 2007, 04:48:25 PM

We'd get further with the Mayo women than we would in the qualifiers like.

;D  ;D  ;D  ;D
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 29, 2007, 04:53:17 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 29, 2007, 04:47:18 PM

If forced to choose one over the other, I'd take the women. We'd get further with the Mayo women than we would in the qualifiers like.

Sure we putting our womens team out to play ye, so they might not be up for it after the match.
Post by: cavan4ever on June 29, 2007, 05:08:02 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on June 29, 2007, 04:53:17 PM
Quote from: cavanmaniac on June 29, 2007, 04:47:18 PM

I though mcdonald was injured!
Sure we putting our womens team out to play ye, so they might not be up for it after the match.
Post by: smelly fairy on June 30, 2007, 10:23:15 AM
You trying to say something about Mayo women Ballyhaise man?   :o
Post by: westmayo on June 30, 2007, 12:53:12 PM
I hear the Dubs are down in the Breaffy Sports Hotel this weekend anyone hear anything on maybe a Mayo v Dublin challenge game.
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 30, 2007, 04:25:54 PM
Quote from: smelly fairy on June 30, 2007, 10:23:15 AM
You trying to say something about Mayo women Ballyhaise man?   :o

Yeh they are lovely,Coppers and Barcode wouldnt be the same without them.
Post by: mannix on June 30, 2007, 05:56:15 PM
Doubt Mayo will play any more challengs games, especially against the bigger names.Mayo women are nice but cavan have their own share of fine yokes too.Very adventurous, to say the least!
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 02, 2007, 12:44:09 AM
Oirthear Mhaigh Eo, not going to attempt a starting XV. I'll leave that to Johnno and the management cos I'm bound to get it wrong! Anyway, I don't see any reason why we should be afraid of Cavan, ok they beat us in a challenge but I never really read too much into those games anyway. Will McGarrity start I wonder? I doubt it but anything is possible I suppose.
Post by: Denn Forever on July 02, 2007, 05:19:03 PM
Any word on the team yet?  I think we could do it if things have settled down in the camp.  What are the odds like for a Cavan win?
Post by: Barney on July 02, 2007, 05:26:50 PM
Mayo had six very influential players last year - Higgins, McGarrity, Harte, McDonald, Dillon and Mortimer.

As well as our existing problems we are now without four of these and Dillon is in poor form. In the world of Mayo football nothing is straightforward and if we are not focused we will lose
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on July 02, 2007, 05:49:39 PM
I'd have to agree Barney. If the players are anywhere near as complacent as alot of the fans are we could be in big trouble on Saturday. I know Cavan are no-world beaters and have their problems, but at the moment the exact same could be said for us, so the lads need to get the heads right and show the Galway game was just a blip (yes another one  ;D). If they show the right attitude we should have enough about us to see us into the next round.
Post by: rosnarun on July 02, 2007, 09:33:37 PM
missing players is never an excuse  its gonna happen at some stage of a year and some are going to dissapear every year through age and what ever. I think barney you being a little sub jective in you names eg how was Heaney not influential or k oneill? add to that the full return of D brady and T mortimer a better goalie in omalley and the maturing of andy moran and Liam omalley and I dont think were are in any worse ahape inn the player dept than we were last year
now as for manager thats another story :o
Post by: highorlow on July 02, 2007, 09:38:49 PM
K O'Malley; injured?
L O'Malley,
D Heaney,
P Gardiner;
E Devenney,
K Higgins, injured
BJ Padden;
J Nallen
P Harte;
G Brady,
T Mortimer,
A Dillon
C Mortimer
K O'Neill,
A Moran
D Brady  
A Higgins  
C McDonald
T Howley
A O'Malley , injured?
D.Kilcullen
J.Kilcullen
P.Hanley
MacGarrity
D.Clarke
Kilcoyne
Campbell
Conroy
Team Likely to be from this, i've left a few out alright:

I'd say Johnno will Gamble, Maybe something like this might wake up a few lads

D.Clarke:

Backs:
O'Malley
Heaney
Devenney
T.Mort
D.Kilcullen
Gardiner
Harte
D.Brady
A.Dillion
P.Hanley
K.O'Neill
A.Moran
A.O'Malley / C.MacDonald
C.Mortimer / Kilcoyne

Post by: Farrandeelin on July 02, 2007, 11:06:02 PM
Will J Kilcullen start again this year I wonder? He was alright during the league I thought. Anyways, it's always interesting before naming a team but this time it seems more interesting than any. That's because the filouting about by the management putting backs forward and forwards back in the last few friendlies. Still though Barney, I think the players will come out on Saturday evening and go for it. They have to, nothing else will suffice and they know it as much as we don.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 02, 2007, 11:15:49 PM
What kinda support ya reckon will be there on Saturday, absolutly no buzz around the place @ all, its like a non-event, very un-Mayolike, maybe thats a good thing, will there by 15K?
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 02, 2007, 11:23:49 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 02, 2007, 11:15:49 PM
What kinda support ya reckon will be there on Saturday, absolutly no buzz around the place @ all, its like a non-event, very un-Mayolike, maybe thats a good thing, will there by 15K?

True Sam, but it is only the first round of the backdoor and we were hammered by Galway in the last competitive outing. I'd say they will do well to get 15K, then again there might be a change of heart with many supporters and end up going afterall. Depends on the weather really I'd say.
Post by: The Bottom Brick on July 02, 2007, 11:35:01 PM
I heard a rumour that Kilcullen left the panel after not being brought on in some challenge...

Any truth in this?
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on July 03, 2007, 09:11:24 AM
Quote from: The Bottom Brick on July 02, 2007, 11:35:01 PM
I heard a rumour that Kilcullen left the panel after not being brought on in some challenge...

Any truth in this?

Can't say I heard anything about that, last I heard he was going really well in training as is the younger brother. The other Ballagh lad drafted in, Pearse Hanley, is going very well too by all accounts so we could see him at some stage but I doubt at centre forward, he's a long way off having the strength for a central position yet, maybe coming on as a sub will have to do him for now.  I'd say 15k attendance could be accurate enough alright, although after being left on the sidelines like we have for 7 weeks I know alot of people that are dying for this game, Salthill was so long ago it feels like the feckin season is only starting now. How about the Cavan heads, are many heading west for the game do you reckon?
Post by: cavan4ever on July 03, 2007, 09:25:21 AM
I don't know to many that are going other than a few lads that are going for the session and staying over.  Im heading to a stag so can't go.  I can see a very small Cavan crowd at it.
Post by: Barney on July 03, 2007, 09:47:53 AM
Reckon 7k/8k max. Alot of people disillusioned and need convincing that the team are serious about this.
Post by: cavan4ever on July 03, 2007, 09:49:30 AM
The Cavan team are staying down aswell so i can't see them winning cos if they win they won't be able to drink and that wouldn't do.  ::)
Post by: mannix on July 03, 2007, 09:50:28 AM
Would a turkey go to the christmas dinner if he had a choice?
I seen j kilcullen playing up close, he is a big strong fella and is also fearless in tackling which should give some of our other backs something to copy.Cavan will travel in about a couple hundred because this should be a onesided contest if Mayo have any balls at all.Cavan done well in their league but they were playing carlow, waterford and the like so its hard to imagine them living with an alert division 1a side.I recall them drawing tyrone and getting sliced in the replay a while back ( i stand open to correction ).There is a gulf in class that no pep talking can cover.
Mayo    2 15
Cavan      10
Post by: Barney on July 03, 2007, 09:51:45 AM
Quotehow was Heaney not influential or k oneill? add to that the full return of D brady and T mortimer a better goalie in omalley and the maturing of andy moran and Liam omalley and I dont think were are in any worse ahape inn the player dept than we were last year

Ros I take your point about Heaney and O'Neill but some very influential players are missing.

This year Brady has not shown much because of injury. Trevor is a big addition if on form but has been disappointing.

Not sure if O'Malley is better than Clarke. Certainly the latters kick-outs are better and may have helped in Salthill. Think Clarke will get the nod on Sat. We need to tie this position once and for all. Messing over the last 3 years has meant that we have sapped the confidence of some top-class goalies and are in a position where they are underperforming.

Moran has come on an awful lot but can't say that I am impressed with Liam O'Malley who was ball-watching for two goals in Salthill and always looks like he could be roasted by a good corner-forward in my view.
Post by: Barney on July 03, 2007, 10:44:00 AM
From the Mayo News

QuoteMAYO manager John O'Mahony believes that attitude will be the key to deciding how his team perform in next Saturday's All-Ireland SFC qualifier against Cavan in Castlebar.
"Saturday is about Mayo's performance," he told The Mayo News last night. "You can look at Cavan too much, there's no point in looking at them if you don't go out and perform yourself. If the attitude isn't right you will come up short. That's the clear challenge."
Another significant challenge will be the seven-week gap that has elapsed since the Connacht Championship defeat to Galway. O'Mahony believes his squad have done everything they can to be ready.
"The lads have worked hard and we have done the best we can," he said. "But we won't know until the ball is thrown in where we are at. We've given lads the chance to prove themselves and that was the purpose of an A v B game we had on Saturday last too, to give players their final chance to prove what they can do."
The Mayo manager enjoyed success in the qualifier system six years ago with Galway, when he led the team to the All-Ireland title. He believes that a change in mindset was the single biggest factor in turning that season around.
"What changed in 2001 was attitude," he revealed. "Everyone took responsibility for their own area. We made what were seen as radical changes and everyone put their shoulder to the wheel. The only way out is to work extremely hard."
On the injury front, Keith Higgins is definitely out with a broken bone in his hand while O'Mahony rates Ciarán McDonald as being 'probably out' with a hamstring injury.
"Ciarán is getting treatment and doing a bit of jogging but the problem is time. It was two weeks ago that he picked up that injury and recovering from a hamstring (pull) in that space of time is not really possible. The game is probably coming a bit too soon."
Enda Devenney is also a major doubt with a viral infection while David Kilcullen is hoping to recover from a knock picked up in training last week. However, Austin O'Malley and Aidan Campbell have recovered from injury and are in contention for starting places.
"I'm looking forward to it," O'Mahony said when asked about next Saturday's match. "The situation in the past was that when you lost championship you were out and you weren't able to put it right for a year.
"Defeat is always a traumatic event for any GAA player but whichever team comes out from that the best will be key. Now what we have is a chance to show that what happened in Pearse Stadium was not a true reflection of our ability."
Post by: intoDwest on July 04, 2007, 12:21:23 PM
any news on the line up? God help us is G. Brady lines up at center half back. Has anyone god odds on the handicap betting for this match??
Post by: Barney on July 04, 2007, 12:41:40 PM
Some clues from the Western:

QuoteYoung blood an option for Mayo admits John
By: Anthony Hennigan

WHILE it'll make a change to watch Mayo play championship football in McHale Park against non-Connacht opposition when the green and red embark on their All-Ireland qualifier voyage on Saturday evening next, the experience is sure to prove just as novel for the players - some more than others - judging by the comments of manager John O'Mahony, when speaking to the Western People yesterday (Monday).

With seven weeks having passed since the team exited the race for Provincial honours against Galway, Mayo will attempt to get their All-Ireland bid back on track with victory over Donal Keogan's Cavan - and O'Mahony has offered his strongest hint yet that now could be the time to introduce some fresh, young blood into the side.

With Keith Higgins already ruled out due to a wrist injury and Enda Devenney "probably out of contention" having not trained for the past week because of a viral infection, at least two changes to the side that started the Salthill clash are guaranteed - with one or two other changes possible also. Ciaran McDonald, a second half sub against Galway, remains doubtful due to hamstring trouble.

"We haven't sat down to pick it (the team) yet but there will be changes," said the Ballaghaderreen clubman.

"We will do it without upsetting our chances. The wrong thing to do would be to blood nine or ten new players so that won't happen but there will be, by neccesity, some changes and some of those changes will probably involve some of the younger guys. Whether we see them from the start or not, I would imagine we will be seeing them as the game goes on," he continued.

U-21 All-Ireland winners in 2006, Aidan Kilcoyne, Trevor Howley and Aidan Campbell have been involved with the senior panel for most of the year and all three are thought to be pushing hard for places in Saturday's team, with Howley the expected replacement for corner-back Keith Higgins. However, in recent weeks, David Kilcullen and Tom Cunniffe, other members of that successful U-21 squad, along with the promising Pearse Hanley, have also begun to feature in O'Mahony's plans.

"I suppose the injuries happened soon enough for us to adjust in the sense that we have had to play a couple of challenge games without Keith (Higgins). It would be worse if something like that happened on the Wednesday night the week of the match so we're not complaining about it," admitted the double All-Ireland winner with Galway.

In Devenney's expected absence, it's thought that Trevor Mortimer will be switched from the half-forward line to right wing-back.

The news of Ronan McGarrity's return to full health and fitness comes as a massive boost to the squad and the manager will no doubt be hoping that the midfielder's presence among the players could inspire great things from his colleagues. Without defining just how much of a part the Ballina man could yet play in Saturday's encounter, O'Mahony made it clear that the 2004 All-Star nominee certainly features in his plans.

"Ronan has worked exceptionally hard to get back to where he is. We have had a lot of set backs with injuries but Ronan has been one of the real pluses in the sense that even while he was receiving his treatment, he was in the gym doing some work.

Immediately after he finished his treatment he was back doing individual training sessions and over the last couple of weeks he has done the full training session and actually played 20 minutes against Cork in a challenge. We'll be assessing what role Ronan plays but he definitely will have a role to play in the game at the weekend," confirmed Johno.

Cavan manager Donal Keogan has been forced to plan for this match without three key players, all of whom were involved in the drawn and replayed Ulster championship ties against Down but who have since opted to play club football in Chicago for the summer months. The departures of Seanie Johnston, Paul Brady and Martin Cahill attracted much publicity, not least for the less than complimentary remarks made towards the trio by Keogan himself, however, O'Mahony refuses to read too much into the controversy and says that he'll be expecting nothing less than a tough battle from the Breffni men. If anything, he agrees, the squad may have gelled even more.

"They played us in the challenge and beat us without those players," he points out, reflecting on Cavan's recent 2-11 to 1-11 success over his team.

"There's no doubt that Cavan have a proud tradition, a proud record and they're never easily put away and I think a lot of this talk about how we've got an easy draw or a decent draw is wide of the mark.

"I keep saying it but I know myself from over the years; the team that reacts better to their own situation of the defeat and tries to bounce back mentally is the team that will do better and that's the key to it. I don't think any of the managers around the country will know until 10 or 15 minutes into the games the next day how their players are reacting to it.

"Home venue is of course a help and I'm happy the way our lads have responded and with the commitment they've put in over the last few weeks but the real test is when the ball is thrown in," he concluded.

Post by: IolarCoisCuain on July 04, 2007, 01:01:57 PM
Quote from: intoDwest on July 04, 2007, 12:21:23 PM
any news on the line up? God help us is G. Brady lines up at center half back. Has anyone god odds on the handicap betting for this match??

Ladbrokes have priced the game at Mayo 11/10, Cavan 13/2 and the draw at 18/1. So translating that into a handicap you're looking at Mayo by five or six points at the very least. Which, with the greatest respect to our Cavan friends, is probably about right.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 04, 2007, 01:03:10 PM
I can't help reading between the lines and seeing a complacency in what is being said in that interview in the western. I mean would the line "blooding young players" appear in this article if Mayo were playing Donegal or Armagh?? For Cavan it is an excellent sign to see the Mayo manager talking like this - unless, of course, he is double bluffing.

I think this is a very interesting game. I think Hannon will stop Mortimer ion the FF line. I would imagine that Mayo backs will have the beating of the Cavan forwards. For me then it is going to come down to who wins most possesion in the middle and which team has the best free taker. I see Rory gallagher scored 8 points in a club game last w'end, 7 from frees. Could he possibly start? Who would be considered the Mayo free taker and how good is he?
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 04, 2007, 01:10:30 PM
Conor Mortimer is the Mayo dead ball man and apart from the odd casual lapse when he's trying too hard to look 'cool', he's generally pretty good.

'Our' Rory is a bit of a choker if v Roscommon at Croker is anything to judge by but he can put in the odd big display and probably will start for the frees if nothing else - in general play he'll be passing the buck and generally hiding.

I've said it already but Cavan have a tendency to play well when not labouring under expectation - i.e. when they know they won't be bollocked if they lose and will get a nice hug and a backslap for another moral victory that everyone will say was "unlucky" - so I think we'll give Mayo a fright. The westerners aren't so good but the truth is we're not even as good as that. That said, Mayo complacency is misplaced and might bite them yet too.
Post by: mannix on July 04, 2007, 04:15:25 PM
Doubt you will see much complacency from mayo, they are mad to get going and competition for jerseys is very strong from what I hear close to the setup.Liam MChale is very misguided in what he says about this panel playing above themselves, did armagh too play above themselves?
The loss to galway 7 weeks back is history and they are no further ahead of us at this time in the race.If thats all that can be used against Mayo with regards to this championship its a lightweight argument.A derby game is always strange, do you think cork are 1 goal (a single score away from kerry), I believe more like 4 - 7 points off them.Likewise dublin meath, meath won the first game if we were to be fair but they are nowhere near the dubs in class.
Anyway this is my last post until the game is over.Good luck to cavan, decent folk and a clean brand of football if not exactly a kerry of the game.
Post by: westmayo on July 04, 2007, 04:21:25 PM
Does anyone have any idea when the Mayo team will be announced it's usually about two days before the game, so maybe this evening will be interesting to see will JOM stick with the old relliables or give some of the younger lads a run out.
Post by: cavan4ever on July 04, 2007, 04:29:29 PM
Quote from: westmayo on July 04, 2007, 04:21:25 PM
Does anyone have any idea when the Mayo team will be announced it's usually about two days before the game, so maybe this evening will be interesting to see will JOM stick with the old relliables or give some of the younger lads a run out.

This is why we might have a chance with talk of giving young lads a run out mayo must be c**k sure there gonna win.  I expect them to win myself but if they get complacent they could get a shock.
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 04, 2007, 04:47:55 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on July 04, 2007, 04:29:29 PM

This is why we might have a chance with talk of giving young lads a run out mayo must be c**k sure there gonna win.  I expect them to win myself but if they get complacent they could get a shock.

Its not that we are been complaceent cavan4ever its just with the injuries to Ciaran Mc,Keith Higgins, Ronan Mc Garrity and the suspension of pat harte we have no choice but to try out new players
Post by: criostlinn on July 04, 2007, 05:07:05 PM

Yep, Team to be named tonight all right, should be interesting. As long as David Brady starts Im not to bothered. Finally make some serious money on this Mayo team.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 04, 2007, 05:19:52 PM
Legendary Mayo "over confidence" is rampant on this thread. You should beat Cavan lads, but that doesn't mean you will. We've rattled better teams than Mayo over the past few years and if we can get a foothold in the middle I think you might be back here on Monday calling for O Mahonys head on a plate. Anyway, for what its worth I don't think Mayo have any chance of winning sam - that boat has sailed i'm afraid.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 04, 2007, 05:51:33 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 04, 2007, 04:47:55 PM
Quote from: cavan4ever on July 04, 2007, 04:29:29 PM

Its not that we are been complaceent cavan4ever its just with the injuries to Ciaran Mc,Keith Higgins, Ronan Mc Garrity and the suspension of pat harte we have no choice but to try out new players
I dont think it has anything to do with us been complacent. A lot of people forget that we won the u-21 last year so we would be well within our rights to replace some of the older players with our most recent crop of all Ireland winners. Its not complecency or dis-respectful to Cavan to blood some of these players. Anyway the vast majority of this new blood have played in the league games.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 04, 2007, 06:53:05 PM
2006 U-21 Champions
2005 Minor Runners Up
2004 U-21 Runners Up

So there is plenty of underage talent to be tapped, don't take it as an insult or over confidence if the younger lads are brought in, they are proven quality, now they need to show @ Inter-County Senior Level.
Post by: prewtna on July 04, 2007, 10:29:59 PM
never mind all this business of picking mayo teams, injuries and suspensions.... what about castlebar on saturday night?! reckon it will be mental. an expectant mayo crowd will probably turn out in numbers and then meander up the town after the game finishes.

just found out this evenin we've got a feckin East Mayo Junior exclusive match at 12 sunday morning. kind of kills saturday night, but sure what can ya do! (shows the level im operating at these days!!!)

Post by: highking on July 04, 2007, 10:35:33 PM
Mayo Team just released. Lots of talking points. David Kilcullen at CHB. Did anyone see that coming?

David Clarke, Aidan Higgins, Liam O'Malley, Trevor Howley, Peadar Gardiner (Capt), David Kilcullen, Trevor Mortimer, David Heaney, David Brady, Billy Joe Padden, Pierce Hanley, Alan Dillon, Conor Mortimer, Barry Moran, Andy Moran.
Post by: AMayoSheep on July 04, 2007, 11:13:54 PM
Would have liked to see trevor at half back and am disappointed that O'Neill is droped....jesus get Padden off the team-i dont rate him at least O'Neill would offer us some bit of extra class up in the forwards!!

Also not too sure about Moran at full forward,think he'd be better in one of the corners.
Post by: The Bottom Brick on July 04, 2007, 11:14:21 PM
QuoteDavid Clarke, Aidan Higgins, Liam O'Malley, Trevor Howley, Peadar Gardiner (Capt), David Kilcullen, Trevor Mortimer, David Heaney, David Brady, Billy Joe Padden, Pierce Hanley, Alan Dillon, Conor Mortimer, Barry Moran, Andy Moran.

f**k me on paper that team will eat us alive

However, for the reasons stated above, I reckon lump on Cavan for the handicap
Post by: highorlow on July 04, 2007, 11:22:47 PM
QuoteDavid Kilcullen at CHB. Did anyone see that coming?

yes ;)

QuoteD.Clarke:

Backs:
O'Malley
Heaney
Devenney
T.Mort
D.Kilcullen
Gardiner
Harte
D.Brady
A.Dillion
P.Hanley
K.O'Neill
A.Moran
A.O'Malley / C.MacDonald
C.Mortimer / Kilcoyne

Post by: blast05 on July 04, 2007, 11:52:21 PM
Kevin O'Neill, Austie, Ger Brady ...... none of them too 'happy campers' i would say
Post by: Bod Mor on July 05, 2007, 12:24:39 AM
It's great to see Hanley in the strting line up. Alot of people here were saying it may be too early for him, no it won't. Get him in there in the thick of things as soon as possible is what I say. He's playing great stuff for Ballagh all year and now is his time too shine in the Green and Red. If he is to be the new shining light of Mayo football then he must get used of the big time sooner rather than later, did Kerry hang around when Gooch came on the scene or did Cork hang around when Masters came along?

It will be interesting to see where Barry Moran lines out, he's played half forward before for Mayo. I don't think he'll be included at full forward. I reckon the forwards will line out like this:

Dillon,Barry Moran and Andy Moran on the 40 with Mortimer and Hanley on the full forward line with Billie Joe at full forward swapping every now and then with Hanley probably. There is plenty room for maneuvering there and with O'Neill,McDonald,Kilcoyne,Campbell,Brady eile and Austie to be sprung from the bench the boys who are strting know well the'll have to make an impression from the start.

We can't judge that half back line until we see them in action and Liam O'Malley back at full back is another interesting spectacle.
Roll on Saturday, I'd love to see this match in the flesh to see how the new look Mayo get on.
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 05, 2007, 01:46:03 AM
Maybe we will see the ball going in high and quickly to the full forward line with Mortimer looking for a quick pass from Moran. Works well for Cork and Kerry.
Post by: Davitt Man on July 05, 2007, 08:01:03 AM
I cant believe what i am seeing in front of me, that team is the strangest mayo team i have seen picked for a c\ship match ever!! Unbelievable
Post by: Davitt Man on July 05, 2007, 08:04:42 AM
Quote from: blast05 on July 04, 2007, 11:52:21 PM
Kevin O'Neill, Austie, Ger Brady ...... none of them too 'happy campers' i would say
Killer must be sickened as well, is he ever going to start a game for Mayo!!
Post by: Barney on July 05, 2007, 08:12:20 AM
Unbelievable and bizarre is what has to be said about the Mayo team.

For whatever reason the major surgery required after the AI was not carried out. No point in discussing the reasons now. We are where we are. I know many of the u21s have been training all year with the senior team and are on weights programmes. Its just disappointing that they did not get to shine in the league.

The Galway game called for radical surgery - 7 personnel changes, 4 positional changes, 2 debutants, and at least 7 of the team under 25, 3 were u21 this year. I may be hasty but it seems that JOM has drawn the curtain on the careers of James Nallen and Kevin O'Neill. The aim this season is clearly not to win Sam but build towards an assault on the championship in 2/3 time. That is sensible. As Liam McHale said in the Western this week we have over-achieved.

If you look at those that were dropped - Devenney, Nallen, O'Neill, and Brady especially they can have no arguements.

The failure to recognise Peadar Gardiner's weaknesses could cost us yet. I think he should have gone, and it is a decision that has had to be made for a long-time.

To the Cavan posters it is not about Mayo being complacent and making changes, but more looking at our bigger picture. Ye could take us with such an experimental line-up.

When you add in McGarrity, Higgins and Harte we are building a nice panel of players to take over when the elder lemons retire. Now lets find some backs. As well as the prospects of Campbell, Cafferkey and Cunniffe. Good times may be ahead.

Finally, what's the story with Aidan Kilcoyne? JOM doesn't seem to be a big fan.
Post by: Davitt Man on July 05, 2007, 08:24:19 AM
Quote from: Barney on July 05, 2007, 08:12:20 AM

I may be hasty but it seems that JOM has drawn the curtain on the careers of James Nallen and Kevin O'Neill.

The failure to recognise Peadar Gardiner's weaknesses could cost us yet. I think he should have gone, and it is a decision that has had to be made for a long-time.

I said after the Galway that Johnno will prob let the older lads play themselves off the team like, Nallen, Chucky, Brady, McDonald, Heaney, but brady heaney and McD still have something left. Nallen actually was one of our best players in the league final but was poor against Galway and so was oneill so they have no complaints.

As for gardner getting found out, what about putting Trev Mort at 5, thats crazy, he cant tackle to save his life and his ball distribution is terrible, you need good ball players in the half back line, Dev was terrible with the ball too

I dunno this team is bizarre to say the least, this is the kind of team that should have been picked for an FBD league game or NFL game not a c\ship game, this shows Johnno's eye was completely off the ball with that feckin election!
Post by: Barney on July 05, 2007, 08:32:06 AM
Agree about Trevor. Two yellows could be picked up quite easily!!
Post by: StoneWall on July 05, 2007, 09:24:59 AM
The problem of not having a full back capable of dealing with high ball still persists three championship campaigns later!

Should beat Cavan but that's as good as it will get.

Anyone know where I can get odds on Trevor Mortimer being sent off?
Post by: cavan4ever on July 05, 2007, 09:29:27 AM
Quote from: StoneWall on July 05, 2007, 09:24:59 AM
The problem of not having a full back capable of dealing with high ball still persists three championship campaigns later!

Where have i heard that before.
Post by: criostlinn on July 05, 2007, 09:34:30 AM
Some serious changes in that line up lads. So much for using the league to build for the championship. Half the team either didnt play in the league or are named in a position they didnt play in the league. I have to say most of the changes or needed but I dont understand why they havent been done earlier in the year. In regards to Trevor, he'll be missed from the forward line but I definiatly think he'll be a great addition to the half back line. The backs have been missing a bit of agression over the years, but now with Aiden Higgens, Trevor Mortimer, and David Killcullen its starting to look a bit tougher. Wouldnt mind seeing Howley in there as we'll. Cant really understand how he doesnt get more games.
Post by: Davitt Man on July 05, 2007, 09:56:44 AM
Quote from: criostlinn on July 05, 2007, 09:34:30 AM
Wouldnt mind seeing Howley in there as we'll. Cant really understand how he doesnt get more games.

David Clarke, Aidan Higgins, Liam O'Malley, Trevor Howley
Post by: AbbeySider on July 05, 2007, 09:58:16 AM
A strange team indeed !  Shocked  Shocked  Shocked
No Chucky, Ger Brady or James Nallen.... or Austey

I cant see Barry Moran starting in at full-forward. Anybody who watched him in last years All-Ireland will know from watching him that he was way out of position.

(any high balls that were pumped in on top of him; he ran at them like a kick out and the ball floated over his head. He wasnt used to the flight of the ball at FF. Natural mid-fielder)

I have a sneeking feeling that the team will be changed around on the day. I can see Barry Moran playing much deeper helping around mid-field. It could look more like this:

D Clarke;

A Higgins,   L O'Malley,    T Howley;

P Gardiner(C),    D Kilcullen,    Trevor Mortimer;

D Heaney,
       D Brady;        B Moran,

BJ Padden,    P Hanley,    A Dillon;

C Mortimer,    A Moran.

Barry Moran playing around the middle,would allow Heaney to pick up breaks and go forward. It would also allow Trev Mortimor or Gardiner to go forward and when they did Heaney would drop back for cover.

Its just a theory. I could be wrong.
Post by: blast05 on July 05, 2007, 10:04:20 AM
QuoteIn regards to Trevor, he'll be missed from the forward line but I definiatly think he'll be a great addition to the half back line. The backs have been missing a bit of agression over the years, but now with Aiden Higgens, Trevor Mortimer, and David Killcullen its starting to look a bit tougher

Agree 100%.
The biggest single impact a half back or half forward line can have in a game is hovering up breaking ball and these boys strike me as a bunch that will throw their bodies on the line every single time and will win way over their share of the hard ball
Post by: Davitt Man on July 05, 2007, 10:05:35 AM
Austy picked up an injury a few weeks ago so this game came to soon for him. Is K O'Malley injured as well?
Post by: rosnarun on July 05, 2007, 10:55:00 AM
this is where johnno  starts to earn his 'expenses' . I was mildly critical of the way he basicly send a clone of mickey morans team out the last 2 games and they played much worse than they ever did under MM (bar sept of course). but now he has laid his ball on the line and if it works it'll be a sign of a very good manager who knows his squad and has an indepenndat enough mind to make the hard and unusual choices.
If it doesnt work , he will be outed as a manager seriously out of touch clutching at straws.
But at least this time he making an effort and these are the type of team managers live or die by
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 05, 2007, 12:17:36 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 05, 2007, 10:55:00 AM
this is where johnno  starts to earn his 'expenses' . I was mildly critical of the way he basicly send a clone of mickey morans team out the last 2 games and they played much worse than they ever did under MM (bar sept of course). but now he has laid his ball on the line and if it works it'll be a sign of a very good manager who knows his squad and has an indepenndat enough mind to make the hard and unusual choices.
If it doesnt work , he will be outed as a manager seriously out of touch clutching at straws.
But at least this time he making an effort and these are the type of team managers live or die by
I think that this team is the future of Mayo football. As i have said previously the managment set up is what every Mayo fan wanted and we have to trust their selection,it has been a long time since surgery as major as this was carried out on a Mayo team, I am glad Galway beat us in Salthill becuase our weaknesses were finally outed and serious callls had to be made. As regards next Satuday, i think we will see a hungry and focused Mayo team,No doubt there will be positional changes from the selected team and dare i say maybe a personell change before throw in. This should be a very intresting game on Saturday. I cant wait.
Post by: rosnarun on July 05, 2007, 12:37:02 PM
but what the thinking behind these changes . Is it as simple as boot it into the big man?. as an inside forward moran will really miss Mcdonald . I hate to think they are just going to rain big balls down on top of him and whip him off then after 20 mins if it doesn't work. as much as anything it was qualit ball often diagonal that made donaghy which his mobility and strenght made use of. but this would be such a depature form mayo previous style . id be a bit worried . Last time i saw mayo try that was in a game with donegal with fegal kelly as full forward . it was a diasater and had it been a championships match it would have won an allstar for  the full back. whats cavans like?
hope Franco o mahoney has it worked out a bit better
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 05, 2007, 12:41:00 PM
I just noticed is that really meant to say David Kilcullen from the U-21's rather than James? Took a few takes to notice.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 05, 2007, 12:51:54 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 05, 2007, 12:37:02 PM
but what the thinking behind these changes . Is it as simple as boot it into the big man?. as an inside forward moran will really miss Mcdonald . I hate to think they are just going to rain big balls down on top of him and whip him off then after 20 mins if it doesn't work. as much as anything it was qualit ball often diagonal that made donaghy which his mobility and strenght made use of. but this would be such a depature form mayo previous style . id be a bit worried . Last time i saw mayo try that was in a game with donegal with fegal kelly as full forward . it was a diasater and had it been a championships match it would have won an allstar for  the full back. whats cavans like?
hope Franco o mahoney has it worked out a bit better
We must be the only county in Ireland who worries about "our style" of football. What style would this be? freezing on the big day? under achieving for the past 56 years, losing 20 odd AI finals in twenty odd years. These young lads who have been drafted into the team are the first crop of winners of an AI in years,i never once saw them lump the ball into the full forward line last year at u-21 level and this lumping balls into the full foward has never been used as far as i know by any of the managment team as long as they have ben involved in GAA. Finally if it came down to retaining our "style of football" or closing the deal after 56 years in September...no contest really.
Post by: rosnarun on July 05, 2007, 12:58:42 PM
whats the point after 56 years of giving in and play a foreign style when mayo win our next all-ireland I want it to be said we did it our way other wise we may as well go 'recruit' the best non mayo platers in the country if not to play them just to insure they are not playing against us change out jerseys to Blue and call ours selves chelsea scum
Post by: Davitt Man on July 05, 2007, 01:07:45 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 05, 2007, 12:37:02 PM
Last time i saw mayo try that was in a game with donegal with fegal kelly as full forward . it was a diasater and had it been a championships match it would have won an allstar for  the full back.
How many times did we try McHale at full forward, it never worked!!
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on July 05, 2007, 01:23:08 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on July 05, 2007, 12:51:54 PM
We must be the only county in Ireland who worries about "our style" of football. What style would this be? freezing on the big day? under achieving for the past 56 years, losing 20 odd AI finals in twenty odd years. These young lads who have been drafted into the team are the first crop of winners of an AI in years,i never once saw them lump the ball into the full forward line last year at u-21 level and this lumping balls into the full foward has never been used as far as i know by any of the managment team as long as they have ben involved in GAA. Finally if it came down to retaining our "style of football" or closing the deal after 56 years in September...no contest really.

spot on An Gaeilgoir, winning is everything. Ideally we will win playing nice football, but that is a distant second behind making sure we win. Kerry win playing good stuff, but they have had to change their style to win. If this is the first step towards us doing the same, I'll be happy with that. It's a very exciting team named, some class young talent will be on show. I hope Kilcullen and Hanley perform close to the best of their abilities, if they do we could see 2 future stars in the making. Trevor and B Moran will be worth watching too, looking forward to seeing how they get on.
Despite what some Cavan people may think about us being complacent and trying "young blood", this is a strong team and very much the future of Mayo football. Strange time to be trying it yes, but it had to be done. It's a brave move and hopefully one that works out.
Post by: blast05 on July 05, 2007, 01:34:50 PM
I'm well puzzled. What is this style of football we are talking about anyway ? Short hand passing game running the length of the pitch ? versus long diagonal balls into a focal point player at full forward as per Armagh and Kerry ? Are some Mayo posters trying to take some moral higher ground here in some sort of dillusional belief that Mayo have this 'lovely brand of football' ? and the likes of Armagh and Tyrone are at Satans right hand for having their half backs track right back the field ?

Painful stuff, embarrassing indeed.
Post by: criostlinn on July 05, 2007, 01:36:26 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on July 05, 2007, 09:56:44 AM
Quote from: criostlinn on July 05, 2007, 09:34:30 AM
Wouldnt mind seeing Howley in there as we'll. Cant really understand how he doesnt get more games.

David Clarke, Aidan Higgins, Liam O'Malley, Trevor Howley

Cheers davitt man, missed that the first time round. Must have been the shock early in the morning. Im happy to see these changes all round. If barry moran stays full forward at least it gives the outfield players more options to aim at. How many times have we seen ball going to the full forwards from men under pressure out the pitch that they are never going to win. I think this gives a better chance of quick ball in that someone can win in front of goal  
Post by: cavan4ever on July 05, 2007, 01:57:00 PM
Very little cavan posting's on this and not much talk off it around the county either.  I'd reckon there will only be a couple of 100 cavan supporters at the game.
Post by: rosnarun on July 05, 2007, 01:59:59 PM
If you havent seen a style of fooball that has taken mayo to countless finals in all grade in the last 20 years or so im afraid i cant be of much help. yes mayo when pplaying at theeir best do play a 'lovely brand of football' and to choke and give that up for a passing whim because it worked for kerry last year would be stupid in the extreme . before that were were supposed to send out a team resembling cavemen with toothaches to copy armagh,
we need to better at what we do best not ape others
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2007, 02:01:24 PM
For what it is worth here is my stab at the Cavan team....

James Reilly
Michael Hannon (should be able to deal with mortimor)
Dermot Shierdan (championship debut)
Keith Fannin
Mark Mckeever (best in half back line)
Jonathon Crowe (inexperienced but impressive so far this year)
Martin Reilly (inexperienced but doing well in recent challenges)
Dermot McCabe (another big game required)
Nicholas Walsh (time to step up and be counted)
Ray Cullivan (our best prospect, great league but didn't perform against Down - this could be his chance)
Michael Lyng (if fit our best player imo)
Anthony Forde (need him here to provide a scoring threat)
Gerald Pierson (our best forward but has been poor this yr, need him back at his best)
Sean Brady (playing well this year and is strong in the air)
Larry (lets hope good Larry turns up)

Decent bench with Ronan Flanagan, Rory Gallagher, Jason Reilly, Michael Brennan.

Full Back as usual is where the big doubt is. Half back line is inexperienced but is the best we have.

I don't know much about some of the Mayo players except that there are many new inexperienced players just like Cavan. If Cavan can get in hard and early and harass Mayo, sowing some doubts in the Mayo players, I think we could pull it off.
Post by: Tubberman on July 05, 2007, 02:07:18 PM
Anyone else think Johnno sacraficed the Galway game as a means of showing that it is time for change?
Bit of a conspiracy theory I know but the disaster show in Salthill has provided him with the justification to radically change the team.
Looking forward to seeing Kilcullen and Hanley especially. Is it too much to put him in at CHF in his first senior game though?
This team has definitely made Saturday's game a lot more interesting - can't wait now!  :)
Post by: Hollow Man on July 05, 2007, 02:08:49 PM
cavan will be something along these lines ;)

1   James Reilly   
2   Michael Hannon   
3   Dermot Sheridan   
4   Keith Fannin   
5   Ronan Flanagan   
6   Jonathon Crowe   
7   Martin Reilly   
8   Dermot McCabe   
9   Nicholas Walsh   
10   Raymond Cullivan   
11   Anthony Forde   
12   Mark McKeever   
13   Jason O'Reilly   
14   Sean Brady   
15   Gerald Pearson   

with brady and cullivan switching and gallagher and lyng in reserve

wouldnt be surprised if jason didnt start either he's meant to be struggling with a hamstring
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 05, 2007, 02:22:34 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 05, 2007, 02:07:18 PM
Anyone else think Johnno sacraficed the Galway game as a means of showing that it is time for change?
Bit of a conspiracy theory I know but the disaster show in Salthill has provided him with the justification to radically change the team.
Looking forward to seeing Kilcullen and Hanley especially. Is it too much to put him in at CHF in his first senior game though?
This team has definitely made Saturday's game a lot more interesting - can't wait now!  :)

I don't think so Tuberman for e.g if Ciaran Mc,Ronan Mc Garrity and Keith Higgins were fit and pat harte was not suspended do you think he would have picked the team that he has now picked,I think he was left with very little option and his hand was forced, its sink or swim time now.What i can't understand is why did he not play hanley and kilcullen during the league campaign to give them some experience .If mayo lose and they shouldn't he can say he is building for the future when in fact it is a very experienced team apart from Hanley and kilcullen who are playing in 2 pivotal positions.
Post by: Davitt Man on July 05, 2007, 02:50:39 PM
when was the last time the number 6 & 11 c\ship jerseys were handed to an 18yr old and 19 yr old who havent even played a league game between them. It has never happened in any other county, really bizarre decision, i cant fahom it at all
Post by: Blue06 on July 05, 2007, 03:02:08 PM
From hoganstand

Cavan boss reshuffles pack

05 July 2007

Cavan boss Donal Keoghan has been forced into making a hoard of changes for Saturday's All-Ireland SFC qualifier with Mayo in Castlebar and has made five changes in all to the team that was ousted out of the Ulster championship by Down.

The well documented absence of Seàn Johnstone, Paul Bray and Martin Cahill has forced Keoghan into reshuffling his pack but he has made two further personnel changes as well.

The defence sees three changes with Dermot Sheridan and Keith Fannin come into the full-back line, while Martin Reilly is drafted in at wing back.

Nicholas Walsh lines out at midfield and Raymond Cullivan comes in at wing forward. Anthony Forde makes the switch from centre back to centre-forward in the absence of the suspended Michael Lyng.

The Cavan side to face Mayo is as follows - J Reilly; M Hannon, D Sheridan, K Fannin; R Flanagan, J Crowe, M Reilly; D McCabe, N Walsh; R Cullivan, A Forde, M McKeever; J O'Reilly, S Brady, G Pearson.

Why is Lyng suspended? Two yellows doesn't normally merit a suspension?

Post by: cavan4ever on July 05, 2007, 03:16:27 PM
He isn't suspended sure he isn't half fit.
Post by: rosnarun on July 05, 2007, 03:30:27 PM
the new look mayo team really has added spice to this match. and I will appaud franco if he has got it right. remember how heaney started his mayo career midfield V kerry in an All Ireland semi.. its very definetly the major surgery a lot of people were calling for. the spine of the team is completley chaged apart from midfied which now looks ancient. what replacements there now? nallen or will it call for a huge rearrangement whe brady starts coughing up blood, whosever it is

on a side note
One player im disapponted for is Marty mcnicholas . I think he a bit special and a great leader
Post by: Cavanfan on July 05, 2007, 03:38:33 PM
Lyng isn't suspended! ;) Cavan4ever, how do u know he isn't half fit? From what I hear he has been working serious hard on the fitness levels in the last few weeks! Not sure how the leg is tho!

And are u sure that is the cavan team?? Sure jayo is strugglin with injury isn't he??
Post by: cavan4ever on July 05, 2007, 03:43:01 PM
In the Fermangh game Lyng came on after 12 mins for Jason and then didn't come out for second half because of hamstring injury.  I dunno who has been telling you he has been working really hard because i  was told last friday that he has been doing "f**k all training the last while and isn't fit"   
Post by: Cavanfan on July 05, 2007, 03:52:38 PM
This is what I heard anyway!  I think he was only meant to take part in some of that game, did ok wen he came on. Anyway I'm sure the plan is to keep him in reserve. Hope Sherdian can do the business he's been playing well in challenges and training.

Post by: blast05 on July 05, 2007, 04:07:56 PM
QuoteIf you havent seen a style of fooball that has taken mayo to countless finals in all grade in the last 20 years or so im afraid i cant be of much help. yes mayo when pplaying at theeir best do play a 'lovely brand of football' and to choke and give that up for a passing whim because it worked for kerry last year would be stupid in the extreme . before that were were supposed to send out a team resembling cavemen with toothaches to copy armagh,

Define the style for me.
Carrying the ball the length of the field with numerous handpasses and too many lads without enough competence to kick 50 yards foot passes ?
Whats so wonderful about this that would make you prefer to not win the All-Ireland this year if the only way we could do it was by kicking long diagonal ball to a full forward line for example ?

The phrase about Mayo playing 'lovely football' or being a 'nice team' is an insult ffs. Its the type of comment you only hear from a media not being strong enough to say "you were shite and embarrassing when you played Kerry last September" or hear from Kerry players after 2004 or 2006 who are trying to be humble and gracious in victory.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 05, 2007, 04:09:49 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 05, 2007, 03:30:27 PM
the new look mayo team really has added spice to this match. and I will appaud franco if he has got it right. remember how heaney started his mayo career midfield V kerry in an All Ireland semi.. its very definetly the major surgery a lot of people were calling for. the spine of the team is completley chaged apart from midfied which now looks ancient. what replacements there now? nallen or will it call for a huge rearrangement whe brady starts coughing up blood, whosever it is

on a side note
One player im disapponted for is Marty mcnicholas . I think he a bit special and a great leader
Marty has been tried by several Mayo managers now and has never come up to the mark, there are a few lads on that squad who have rarely come up to the mark and its more than time the sweeping  brush was brought in.
I gather from the name you call JOM that you arent his biggest fan,who should be there then?
How could we have continued on with players in central positions who have simply too many miles on the clock or with players who were not up to county football standard?
Its about time we wised up and took on win at all costs attitude,maybe this is the begining of this sea change...long may it continue.
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 05, 2007, 04:12:28 PM
Quote from: blast05 on July 05, 2007, 04:07:56 PM
QuoteIf you havent seen a style of fooball that has taken mayo to countless finals in all grade in the last 20 years or so im afraid i cant be of much help. yes mayo when pplaying at theeir best do play a 'lovely brand of football' and to choke and give that up for a passing whim because it worked for kerry last year would be stupid in the extreme . before that were were supposed to send out a team resembling cavemen with toothaches to copy armagh,

Define the style for me.
Carrying the ball the length of the field with numerous handpasses and too many lads without enough competence to kick 50 yards foot passes ?
Whats so wonderful about this that would make you prefer to not win the All-Ireland this year if the only way we could do it was by kicking long diagonal ball to a full forward line for example ?

The phrase about Mayo playing 'lovely football' or being a 'nice team' is an insult ffs. Its the type of comment you only hear from a media not being strong enough to say "you were shite and embarrassing when you played Kerry last September" or hear from Kerry players after 2004 or 2006 who are trying to be humble and gracious in victory.

Spot on Blast
Post by: the Deel Rover on July 05, 2007, 04:30:08 PM
lads as i have said before its nearly the same players who have played the last 3 or 4 years bar kilcullen and Hanley who are making their debuts,but if john o' mahony is such a good manager why did he not try these players out during the league. when Galway won the all ireland in 2001 through the back door he did not give championship debuts to number 6 and number 11 he had a settled team,thats what worries me why did he not play them against Galway at least he would know then whether they were up for it, there is a big step up from under 21's to seniors.
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 05, 2007, 04:51:12 PM
Quote from: Blue06 on July 05, 2007, 03:02:08 PM
The Cavan side to face Mayo is as follows - J Reilly; M Hannon, D Sheridan, K Fannin; R Flanagan, J Crowe, M Reilly; D McCabe, N Walsh; R Cullivan, A Forde, M McKeever; J O'Reilly, S Brady, G Pearson.

Well, I don't think there's much I'd necessarily change there to be honest. I might swap Flanagan with McKeever as, like the other poster above, I don't really see what McKeever has ever offered as a forward, he's better used busting on to breaks in the half back line and breaking through. I suppose it'll be swaps and mix and match there in the middle eight anyway. Forde could always drop back and Flanagan move forward if needed as well.

Delighted Ciaran Galligan isn't there he's a f**king shaper.

Really interested in how Sheridan does because we badly need to discover a full back, if we do the season might not have been a total disaster.

Sean Brady in full forward line will bring a bit of intelligence and team play to this area of the field, we've suffered too much from big egos in here in the past not willing to pass the ball and preferring to shoot from angles you'd have to squint at to see. Brady has a bit of a catch, decent shooting and an eye for a pass when a pass is called for. I just hope he gets the service in to him and doesn't have to be moved out the field before long to cover inadequacies elsewhere.

I hope we have a some way fit Mulvey on the bench to put on the edge of the square as dropping a few bombs in was something we left far too late to do against Down.

Best we can get here is probably a good display, a narrow defeat and hopefully some of the newer guys nailing down key positions. Although given we'll be written off and Mayo have a few new faces themselves, I'm not totally discounting the possibility of a win but the chances are slim.
Post by: highking on July 05, 2007, 04:52:40 PM
Johnno is very crafty. He didnt change the mayo team that much in the run up to the Galway game/election so as not to rock the boat in the county. If he did surgery on the team and it failed - the county would have turned against him and he wouldnt get elected. Now that he is elected and with an easy backdoor game, he can make the changes he probably wanted to do originally but couldnt afford to risk. Crafty indeed. Even if Mayo do get bet by Cavan, he still has the safety net of a Dail seat and also has the comfort of a three year deal with the county board to get it right for next year.
Post by: rosnarun on July 05, 2007, 05:28:29 PM
why should playing good clean football in the spirit of the game be seen as an insult . Im sure kerry were genuinly gracious to play a team wh didnt triy  in inflict GBH on them every time they got the ball. thats UFC Puke  not football as i recognise it.
AND As for all this chat about major surgery being required for the team is just cowards talk . Get behind the team that is there not a fantasy squad of 6'6 agile plaer with great hand who alway point from 60 yards that exist only in your head. winter is long enough to bladder on about such things .
Im very excited about seeing hanley moran and kilcullen being given a chance in central roles as i think they can add alot to the team and its a real challange of Franco's managerial judgement, but buts great that he has grabbed the bull by the horns and is fianlly getting on with shaping his team. Dont worry wheter or not they plyed in the league its now that matters we will have to Presume hes putting out the right team untill we see otherwise or not for ourselves saturday.
in defence of Marty he has be riddled with injuries over the last few year and last time i saw him play for mayo he was best plaer on the field and ive never seen let mayo down . but its johnnos call FOR NOW
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on July 05, 2007, 05:59:49 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on July 05, 2007, 04:30:08 PM
lads as i have said before its nearly the same players who have played the last 3 or 4 years bar kilcullen and Hanley who are making their debuts,but if john o' mahony is such a good manager why did he not try these players out during the league. when Galway won the all ireland in 2001 through the back door he did not give championship debuts to number 6 and number 11 he had a settled team,thats what worries me why did he not play them against Galway at least he would know then whether they were up for it, there is a big step up from under 21's to seniors.

I believe Johnno would have been eaten alive if he had tried this for the Galway game. He went with some of the tried and trusted players,we all saw it didn't work, now he has a free reign to try some young lads out. I agree some of this should have been done in the league, but you would be well suprised how much Kilcullen and Hanley have bulked up since January, they are much more ready for senior football now. I'm delighted he is trying some new players out, better late than never. It's no slight on Cavan, but they are our first opponents since the sham in Salthill and that's who we happen to be trying the players out on. It is a risk and good luck to Cavan if they can exploit us using younger lads in central positions, hopefully the lads will be able to hold their own. I have my doubts about Hanley starting at CHF but I'd say Kilcullen will line out as selected. Johnno re-jigged the team a fair bit in 2001 after Galway lost to Ross and it worked, same again please!!
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 05, 2007, 07:59:18 PM
Highking says "Now that he is elected and with an easy backdoor game, he can make the changes he probably wanted to do originally but couldnt afford to risk". Is that not over confidence?
Post by: highking on July 05, 2007, 11:32:03 PM

QuoteHighking says "Now that he is elected and with an easy backdoor game, he can make the changes he probably wanted to do originally but couldnt afford to risk". Is that not over confidence?

Havent heard much about Cavan recently apart from the players leaving for the states. It was perceived in Mayo that Cavan at home was the best draw possible for Johnno. However, if Cavan beat Mayo, they will be doing us a favour and not have us traipsing up to Dublin until September... If we cant beat Cavan then we may aswell get back to the club football...
Post by: Barney on July 06, 2007, 08:08:16 AM
Quotean easy backdoor game

Quit the crap. It is not an easy game. I think we will win but if it was Breffni Park I would not be jumping up and down with confidence.

How many of ye complacent types have actually seen Cavan play? I saw the Down game on television and I read what the Cavan lads here say but what the hell do we know about them. On any given day in the championship a team can produce an inspirational display i.e. Mayo v Dublin last year, which is above their true worth. Tomorrow may be Cavan's moment.

We are no world beaters and our history against ordinary teams is patchy at best when the heat is on.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 06, 2007, 09:28:56 AM
Well said barney. There is no doubt that player for player, Mayo have more talent (even though the gap might not be as big as some might think). Other factors such as confidence, tactics, complacency, team spirit and being up for it will play a big part in any match. I think in recent years Mayo have been punching above their weight which is a good thing. Cavan have not played to what I believe is their potential in quite a while. Some of our best players have done almost nothing this year - McKeever, Pierson and Forde to name a few. McKeever, on his game, would make any team in Ireland. Pierson hasn't got back to the level he was at before doing his cruciate. I think Cavan people are hopeful that we could get going again, one win against a upper tier team is what Cavan badly need and it would be such a boost to football in the county.
Post by: CavanCola on July 06, 2007, 11:53:15 AM
Here's hoping for a good competive game of football with a narrow Cavan win ;D. Making the long journey down there myself. Something that no one has really mentioned here is that it may be the last outing for alot of the old Cavan guard. That in itself should be motivation enough for alot of them to play out of their Skins. Everything to play for yet lads. Like the look of the team that has been picked given whats being going on in the past couple of weeks. Larry to come on in the second half and notch a few over as well. Come on the blues!
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 06, 2007, 01:51:44 PM
I also agree with Barney's assessmant that it will not be an easy game. Championship games never are (at least with Mayo involved anyway). Added to the fact that we have a very small full-back line, an experimental half-back line and a new centre forward this will not be easy. I still, like all Mayo posters think we will win it though. Home advantage is telling me that we will. If the Mayo midfield can finally get a foothold in a game of 70 mins we should do it and Heaney and Brady should be up to the standard to do that.
Post by: cavan4ever on July 06, 2007, 04:22:13 PM
Quote from: CavanCola on July 06, 2007, 11:53:15 AM
Here's hoping for a good competive game of football with a narrow Cavan win ;D. Making the long journey down there myself. Something that no one has really mentioned here is that it may be the last outing for alot of the old Cavan guard. That in itself should be motivation enough for alot of them to play out of their Skins. Everything to play for yet lads. Like the look of the team that has been picked given whats being going on in the past couple of weeks. Larry to come on in the second half and notch a few over as well. Come on the blues!

I doubt if that will happen, any word on his injury a shoulder injury takes a lot of time to recover.
Post by: cavan4ever on July 06, 2007, 04:41:45 PM
O'Reilly injury opens door for Gallagher

Jason Reilly
06 July 2007

Although named in Donal Keogan's starting line-up for Saturday evening's clash with Mayo in Castlebar, Cavan's Jason O'Reilly is struggling with a hamstring injury and is unlikely to figure with the vacancy likely to be filled by former Fermanagh star Rory Gallagher.

Keogan has already consigned himself to the fact that O'Reilly will be unable to start and Gallagher would be the ideal replacement to make his championship debut for the Breffni County.

''We will have a look at Jason tomorrow and we are hoping that he will be able to play some part in the game,'' Keogan said.

O'Reilly will be a loss to the Cavan side as he has constantly been one of their top scorers over the past couple of years and Keogan believes that they will have to improve on the scoreboard to trouble Mayo.

''We only scored 11 points in the replay against Down and 11 points doesn't win any game. You can't go 23 minutes without scoring. We need to inject more hunger into the forward line,'' Keogan stated.

Could this Imposter decide to play instead of hiding for a change.  If he does decide he wants to play it could have a major impact on the result.
Post by: Bomber2312 on July 06, 2007, 05:49:16 PM
to put it simply, Mayo play with two many forwards, too many attack minded players. the move to bring B moran in is a good one, i dont think he'll play at 14, more likely to play wing forward like bergin used to for galway, i presume Billy Joe will play at ten, this gives us four options around the middle of the field, also gives us the option to pack up a bit in defence. Hanley will prob play at full forward with the mort, with Dillion and A Moran playing deeper, the formation will look more like 3-3-4-2-2 than the tradtional 3-3-2-3-3.  This is Mayo's only chance to succeed, our defenders are not great, so we must come up with another system, making it more difficult for other teams to score.

If mayo do play the orthodox way, the defense will get torn to shred, Kilcullen will be left exposed by his wing backs, neglecting there duties racing up the field which is the most out dated tactic in football it not only leaves you vulnerable to counter attack but takes up vital space for the forwards. I do think Mayo can go far in the championship and with everyone back fit Mayo are a formiddable side. BUt it must be clear, if our defense is not up to it, we'll get no where.

Quick question for those in the know, why hasnt James Kilcullen been given a run at Mid-field?
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 06, 2007, 06:33:27 PM
Bomber2312 I may be wrong but I think James is injured.
Post by: Denn Forever on July 07, 2007, 09:08:52 PM
Well done Mayo. 1-19 suggests that you have a potent attack.  But 3 goals conceeded.  Is there some problems in goal as some posters suggested earlier.
Post by: Bomber2312 on July 07, 2007, 09:13:17 PM
Nope three point blank efforts nothing any keeper could do!
Problem lies in full back line and/or lack of a half back line
Post by: mannix on July 07, 2007, 09:31:13 PM
well done mayo.hope we get a few more games this year.sounds like a few new names have shaken the order in the camp. how tall is barry moran?
lots of points but I think goals would make life a lot easier in mayos quest for glory, anyway, well done to all concerned.
Cavan looked ok too but lack the overall plan to beat a mayo team with vast knowledge of top flight stuff.3 goals against screams out to tyrone and co that high ball is the way to go,hopefully this is a one off but our fullback line is still dodgy and will need massive help from out the field.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on July 07, 2007, 09:42:01 PM
Thought Pierce Hanley, Andy Moran, Trev & Conor Mortiomer, & Alan Dillon all did well.

Personally I think the Barry Moran experiement worked, but had a big argument with one of the lads after who thought he was usless, ok I don't know how we could have agreed on all of the above and such division about Barry, who do you reckon is right. I thought he touched a few nice balls into incoming players, esp. if Conor had finished that one that Barry knocked down to him. Also Barry scored our goal. Though pierce Hanley showed his class.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 07, 2007, 10:09:47 PM
Barry Moran effective in an akward way? caused levels of caos and troule. Still not the best under the high ball, but not a bad debut in the Full forward position, for a young (inexperienced) lad. McGarrity understandably looked a small bit off the pace and we had a ups and downs in the full back line. Cavan did alot of huffing and puffing but lacked the killer instinct points wise. McCabe was a powerhouse in Midfield and controled it. Mayos main positive was Pierce Hanley, bar the usual reliables. Here's to the next round!
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 07, 2007, 10:16:21 PM
Quote from: Fishead_Sam on July 07, 2007, 09:42:01 PM
Thought Pierce Hanley, Andy Moran, Trev & Conor Mortiomer, & Alan Dillon all did well.

Personally I think the Barry Moran experiement worked, but had a big argument with one of the lads after who thought he was usless, ok I don't know how we could have agreed on all of the above and such division about Barry, who do you reckon is right. I thought he touched a few nice balls into incoming players, esp. if Conor had finished that one that Barry knocked down to him. Also Barry scored our goal. Though pierce Hanley showed his class.

Just back from Match. Will post more detail when I have a chance to reflect. Just want to pull you up on one thing. Conor Mortimor did nothing today but kick a load of frees from in front of the posts (mostly soft frees from a poor ref imo). When the game was over he kicked one good point from play. Michael Hannon had him in his pocket most of the game. And what is the story with him holding out his arms for applause after kicking a 21m free over the bar from in front of the posts. Seems like he is more interested in his own glory than the teams.

Well done to Mayo anyhow, the best team won and best of luck in the remainder of the championship.
Post by: Barney on July 08, 2007, 08:48:40 AM
Mort scored 3 or 4 points from play. Won't argue with that any day of the week.

Nice to be back to winning ways but Cavan were one of the worst outfits I have seen play championship football in Castlebar. If the majority of Aidan Higgins (very disappointing -  I thought he would do a job for us in the corner), Liam O'Malley, Peadar Gardiner and Billie Joe start when we meet any kind of half decent opposition it will be curtains.

Alan Dillon was my man of the match.

Hanley very encouraging, as was our general forward play.

Just disappointed to have conceded 3 soft goals.
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 08, 2007, 11:08:19 AM
Another dissapointing exit again for us. Very depressing, especially when you consider that we won midfield easy enough and still created f**k all. We weren't helped by an extremely fussy ref who penalised any sort of attempt to tackle. I think Mayo got 5 frees in front of the posts in the 1st half which were not frees - maybe this ref should take up a non contact sport like basketball or something. Here are my ratings for Cavan anyhow....

Miller - Good kick but was again sleepy under one high ball when he should of cleaned all out of his way, the ball bobbled past the post.
Fannin - Got roasted by Andy Moran
Chesty - started FB, switched out to CB as Crowe had a tough time. Did ok - nothing more.
Hannon - As I said earlier, gave mortimor nothing. When the game was over mortimor started playing. Very Good.
Flanangan - Lost the ball in the tackle numerous occassions, most of which resulted in points the other end.
Crowe - Not athletic enough to deal with pacy runners down the middle, more suited to a wing role. Subbed after 20 mins.
Martin Reilly - Did quite well. May have a future in this position.
McCabe - Awesome. lorded midfield and forced multiple switches on Mayo team to stop him  - none of which worked. Scored a penalty and put in a beautiful ball for jasons goal. Tired near the end as expected when we were chasing the game so went in FF and caused more chaos and set up gallaghers 3rd goal.
Walsh - Very poor. Lost loads of possesion in the tackle. Kicked some brutal balls in. Hard to believe this guy was once a skillful player.
Ray Cullivan - Got a lovely point and did well in 1st half. Was taken off, Can only presume he was injured.
Forde - Showed well in 1st half but faded badly in the 2nd
McKeever - shite. 2nd half he wasn't within a mile of his man. Lost ball in the tackle. A poor season and a poor captain.
Pearson - scored the 1st point then started shooting from stuipid positions and landing them in the keepers hands. Subbed at half time. Maybe he should have been given 5/10 more minutes as he was winning ball.
Sean Brady - Won anything that went in to him. Pity he doesn't have the pace to get away from his man and score.
Larry - started well and won frees and possesion but tired badly in 2nd half and was subbed.

subs -

Dermot shierdan - went in at FB and had a stormer. He gave big barry moran nothing when he went in on him. One for the future I reckon.
Cian mackey - I've said it once and I'll say it again. This lad is no county footballer. Too light, no intelligence & Contributed zero.
Lyng - Got on the ball but wasn't fit enough to get away from his man.
Jason - Took his goal very well but that was really all he did. Obviously struggling with that Hamstring injury.
Gallagher - scored a goal but his brutal shooting was punihsed by 3 Mayo points on counter attacks.

Mayo are a mediocre team and we are worse. 5 players that played yesterday were not fit enough to play county football. How can we be training since Novemeber and blathering on about the great player commitment and then run completely out of steam after 45 minutes? In the 1st half Mayo hardly made a score for themselves - it all came from stupid Cavan mistakes (Mckeever waiting for a sideline ball to come instead of going into it, Flanagan bringing the ball into contact and losing it twice) and from very soft frees from the ref. When Mayo did have possesion they were patient and careful with their passes we were rushing around and very wasteful. The amount of ball we had turned over was unbelievable.

I hope this season thought our management something and that they learn from it next year.

As for Mayo. Well of all the pretenders for sam, mayo must be the weakest. They are extremely poor in the FB line and not much good in the midfield. The Armaghs and Tyrones will not have too much problem with  their FF line either. They do have a game plan and are well organised. They also know how to move the ball on well when they get it but their search for sam is going to yield nothing this year I fear.
Post by: anglocelt39 on July 08, 2007, 11:22:19 AM
Quote from: Barney on July 08, 2007, 08:48:40 AM
Mort scored 3 or 4 points from play. Won't argue with that any day of the week.

Nice to be back to winning ways but Cavan were one of the worst outfits I have seen play championship football in Castlebar. If the majority of Aidan Higgins (very disappointing -  I thought he would do a job for us in the corner), Liam O'Malley, Peadar Gardiner and Billie Joe start when we meet any kind of half decent opposition it will be curtains.

Alan Dillon was my man of the match.

Hanley very encouraging, as was our general forward play.

Just disappointed to have conceded 3 soft goals.

Christ Barney as a Cavan Man that is one seriously depressing prognosis because, by definition, Castlebar as a venu has seen some bloody brutal championship performances over the years. Myles-thanks for the Cavan perspective. There is something seriously amiss with Cavan football when we cannot put 15 players on the park that show a semblance of being physically fit and at the same time we are listening to all this spin/shite about committment to training/top class backroom teams etc. I will return to this in a bit more detail next week before taking the depressingly early winter break. Next year's league has the potential to be very challenging.
Post by: Bomber2312 on July 08, 2007, 01:44:10 PM
as been said before, crazy system to be off for seven weeks and have two in two but at least we've progressed past Cavan.

Couple of things really, disappointing to conceed goals, 3 bad goals!
to sort it out i'd drop billy joe in front of full back line, for two reasons really, (1) We're vulnerable to high ball billy joe should be told that he must get to every breaking ball (2) with our half backs so attacking it gives us greater protection,

the other problem is midfield, Mayo scored 1-19 and got roasted for long periods at midfield! I dont think the Barry Moran experiment was overy effective but it cant be discounted on one showing. We need more bulk more options around the middle. My team for next weekend would be:

1. Clarke -- done ok v cavan, hopefully can get back to best form
2. L O'Malley -- poor v cavan, time to step up
3. J Kilcullen -- most sucessful of solutions so far, help under high ball (P Navin anyone?)
4. Howley -- had a good game, same again please
10. Billy Joe -- as stated above just in between the lines, to sweep up whatever may come
5. Heaney -- certainly cant be gardiner
6. Killcullen -- worth another look, how did people rate his performance?
7. T Mort -- played well, no place for him and Gardiner in the one half back line
8. D Brady -- must be better
9. P Harte -- would love to have seen Kilcullen here but Harte gets nod for me
15. B Moran -- another option around the middle
11.  Hanley -- done well on debut, will prob be inconsistant
12. Dillion -- another good game, one off the left boot we havent seem before
13. C Mort -- needs to show more from play
14. A Moran -- prob Mayo's best player can do it all

Now whilst this team does remove B Moran from full forward, he can always be moved if we've a dominance at mid field.
we can rely on the likes of Cunniffe, Gardiner, HIggins, Nallen, McGArrity, O'Malley, KIlcoyne, O'Neill from the bench

No reason why 11-14 cant rack up 15 points, whilst greater numbers should ensure more stifling defense. Is it better to win 15 to 10 or 1-20 to 3-7? thats what we have to decide, i'd prefer to keep the other team down to 10 points than us rack up 1-20
Post by: blast05 on July 08, 2007, 09:31:08 PM
Quote11.  Hanley -- done well on debut, will prob be inconsistant

Thats an intriguing comment !! How can you reckon he will be inconsistant. I thought he made an excellent - was always willing to come looking for hard ball. He should be left at No. 11 even if MacD is fit.

I thought Barry Moran was effective at ff - he may not have won much clean ball but his presence under high ball caused panic in the Cavan defense, in the manner for example in which Donaghy caused panic in the Cork defense under a high ball v Cork last week at the start of the 2nd half when Gooch got his goal - Donaghy didn't even touch the ball - it was his mere presence. I counted 4 clear cut goal chances that all stemmed from long ball into Moran - thats a good enough stat for me.

I didn't think McCabe dominated Brady as much as others might suggest. They were level enough in the first half imho but for the first 10 minutes of the 2nd half, McCabe got well on top and thus it was a fair call to withdraw Brady at that stage.

Full back line is the problem though, we're fooling ourselves if we think we can do anything with the line as it stands now. My team for the next day for what its worth:

Clarke
O'Malley
Nallen .... well who else ?
Howley (presuming Higgins still not fit)
Gardiner (was only taken off i presume cos of yellow and 2nd tick)
Heaney
Mort
Brady
Harte
Padden (playing a lot between full and half back lines as suggested)
Hanley
Dillon
Mort
Moran
Moran

I don't know what to do with MacD if he is fit. Yesterday we scored equally from a running game, from ball kicked to the half forward line (think Dillon and Hanley) & played on from these and from long ball into Moran. If Macd come back to No. 11 we revert to 1 dimension. There is no point playing him at No. 10 as he will only drift to the centre and if is then my back line needs to be revisited.
Post by: WJP11 on July 08, 2007, 10:04:58 PM
For a Mayo-centric view of the match yesterday evening, see http://www.mayogaablog.blogspot.com/ (http://www.mayogaablog.blogspot.com/).
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 08, 2007, 10:58:58 PM
i wonder could the author of that blog have trashed Cavan anymore,

was it not possible to add any more likeminded words to descrive Cavan i wonder.  ::)
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 09, 2007, 12:09:28 AM
I'm curious reading the various analyses of the game. I wasn't there but it seems we more than broke even round the middle and had Mayo's full back line in a welter of problems for the entire match, yet we score seven points only, and ten times in total, as against 20 times by our opponents?

It seems our expectations of giving Mayo a game of it before surrendering held true anyway.

Pleased to hear Sheridan did well, perhaps if nothing else this lame enough championship campaign has at least yielded a decent full back option. Fingers crossed Lyng and Rabbitte will be much fitter come next spring and others like Sean Brady, Hannon, Flanagan, Cullivan, Crowe, Martin Reilly continue to develop. Dunno where Cunningham from Swad disappeared to after such a promising start but hopefully he'll get another chance.

I wonder will McCabe, Forde, Jason and Larry pitch in again for next year? I think Dermot and Anthony have another year left in the tank but it's time for Jason and Larry to leave the stage or else accept cameo roles - and they'd hardly even bother breaking sweat in training if they thought that's all they'd be getting.

Hopefully the SFC at home will unearth some big men with a bit of ability. Have we totally given up on the likes of John Tierney and Paddy Brady from Gowna, I won't even mention Crowe from Lacken as it pains me to think about what he might bring to the side.

All in all, Keoghan and Grimley better get busy, and would want to think twice about carrying shirkers on the panel next year who clearly don't want to do the training or look after themselves away from the pitch. As ever, my real disappointment in this season were the abject performances of the minors and U21s.
Post by: highorlow on July 09, 2007, 12:26:19 AM
Quotei wonder could the author of that blog have trashed Cavan anymore,

was it not possible to add any more likeminded words to descrive Cavan i wonder

Ballyhaiseman, as a Mayo supporter with Cavan connections my apoligies go out to ye for whomever this guy is.

I'm sure he will learn a bit more modesty, humbleness and graciousness towards our fellow GAA opponents for the next time.

It's not as if we have much to boast about over the last 30 odd years.

I for one won't be reading his b...sh.t again!
Post by: mylestheslasher on July 09, 2007, 09:18:36 AM
Maniac - It was a strange match. We lost it because of silly mistakes when we had possesion. We did not have the teamwork and know how to use the ball efficiently. Instead we brought it into contact and it was turned over or we'd pass over and back across the middle allowing Mayo to filter back before kicking the ball stright to them. Contrast that to when Mayo intercepted our terrible attempts, they'd hare up the field with any number of runners on their shoulders. Its funny cos teams like Waterford and Tipp gave us more problems in midfield than Mayo did on Saturday. Our forwards, when they did win possesion, are totally unable to work the ball into a decent scoring position. Instead they either kick it away, lose it in the tackle or shoot from stupid positions. This has been a growing trend over the past years. Maybe we just don't have the required skill level or maybe we don't have enough "big time" experience to keep calm heads on the big day. I tell you one thing though, we are in for worse times when McCabe hangs up his boots cos he was the best player on  the pitch yesterday and without out him we wouldn't have got half the scores we got.
Post by: rosnarun on July 09, 2007, 09:49:51 AM
I would read nothing into Satursday game/ I dont think it matters which 15 mayo players went out they would have beaten cavan. despite Mccabe being Head and shoulders the best player on the pitch .
Clarke still looks vunerable from the high ball and lang kick outs are poor but hes very inventive from short ones. omalley probaly a better bet.
the fullback line still seem contet with allowing the opposition to get the ball and then tackle you cant argue too much with 0-7 points (how many from play?) but against better teams this could be deadly.
Although T mortimer was quiet good he wasnt as synamic as usual we could do with a lttle motre spark from him. kilcullen was awfuls but maybe worth another   shot and gardiner never got a chance to get into it thought  HB is by far heaneys best poition.
Good as it was tosee Mcgarrity back it could well have cost mayo the game as he looked no where near ready to play his timing, positioning ect was well awary . but maybe long term when we won it was for the best.brady wasnt much better. we need hartes drive back there. Frwards were the real starts 1-19 will win nearly any game and again C Mortimer showed he probably the best free taker in the country and not bad from play either. People need to accept that Just Scoring 0-7  is all a forward is required to do. Dillion back to his best too  while andy moran grows and grows. I was nt as impressd with hanley as most people as i thought he did a lot of head down running and was bottled up a few time. a CHF need to have more strings to his bow.. maybe a move to the wing? as he is an undoubted talent. BJP has been so messed about this year he seems to have forgotten how to play atall/ Barry did OK in what he did but he need to become stronger on the ball. and show better for mid field.
over an imoressive performance form but most of the old problems still not solved
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 09, 2007, 11:26:49 AM
Quote from: highorlow on July 09, 2007, 12:26:19 AM
Quotei wonder could the author of that blog have trashed Cavan anymore,

was it not possible to add any more likeminded words to descrive Cavan i wonder

Ballyhaiseman, as a Mayo supporter with Cavan connections my apoligies go out to ye for whomever this guy is.

I'm sure he will learn a bit more modesty, humbleness and graciousness towards our fellow GAA opponents for the next time.

It's not as if we have much to boast about over the last 30 odd years.

I for one won't be reading his b...sh.t again!

i kno we arent great,but jaysus yer man was making us out to be Kilkennyesque.  :D

Post by: Bomber2312 on July 09, 2007, 01:17:45 PM
Wat i ment was he''l prob be inconsistant because of his youth and in experience, we can hardly rely on someone so young and his off days should not be looked at in an overly critical manner
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on July 09, 2007, 01:22:12 PM
delighted to see Ronan McGarrity back in action i must say.
Best of luck to ye Mayo lads,i hope for gods sake yous will finally win Sam this year,although ye will have to improve alot,and hopefully ye dont have to play Kerry  :-[
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on July 09, 2007, 01:22:36 PM
Quote from: Bomber2312 on July 09, 2007, 01:17:45 PM
Wat i ment was he''l prob be inconsistant because of his youth and in experience, we can hardly rely on someone so young and his off days should not be looked at in an overly critical manner
Well he is either good enough to handle the pressure at centre half forward of he is not. When Gooch arrived on the scene in Kerry he was thrown in at the deep end and look at the results now. There is more to the modern footballer in todays game than just footballing ability. Peirce showed ability and confidence in his first game that i have seen in any Mayo footballer for a long time. Long may it continue and hopefully we will find one or two more like him.
Post by: Bomber2312 on July 09, 2007, 01:32:00 PM
You cant say either he is good enough or not when the lad is onle 18. Thats a serious amount of pressure for a young lad to handle, it may take him two or three years to be consistantly good, thats way ahead of the learing curve too as he'll still only be twenty.

ON the first day of a job they dont expect you to operate at full effeciency do they?
Post by: From the Bunker on July 09, 2007, 05:28:08 PM
Yeah, think its better to be put in the deep end early. If you get over it, it becomes more natural and the build up of (anticipation and fear) waiting the couple of years is gone! The biggest problem with any team/player is to nuture fear.