Cork v Tipperary - 2025 All Ireland Final
Starting this for the final. What do people reckon? I get Tipp are improving with each passing match and they are Tipp so have huge confidence and will fully believe they can beat Cork, but from what I have seen so far it could be a bit of one sided final.
Cork battered them by 15 points in Munster (Cork 4-27 Tipperary 0-24) and based on what I saw in the semi finals I find it hard to give Tipp any chance in the final.
What do other think?
What an 'ALI' Ireland final?
It's only oul hurley stuff!
Cork by 10-15.
There is a hurling section for this!
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 08, 2025, 10:11:55 PMThere is a hurling section for this!
While there is a dedicated section for hurling the page is
GAA Discussion
The place for GAA related discussion
So it's ok to have the final topic on here, some of the bogballers might not agree though
All-Ireland Final Ticket Breakdown:
59,212 - County Allocations
10,528 - Premium & Corporate
2,594 - Season Tickets
2,358 - Term Tickets
1,666 - Schools
1,250 - Sponsors
820 - Staff & Sub committees
800 - Ard Chomhairle & GAA Presidents
480 - Overseas
380 - Provinces
258 - Press
240 - Third Level
228 - National Referee Panel
212 - Rounders/Handball
200 - Croke Park Residents
188 - Mini Games
148 - Matchday Teams
140 - Camogie
100 - Ladies Football
74 - TV & Radio
70 - Jubilee Team
60 - Sport Ireland
82,006 - Total
Figures from 2025 GAA Annual Report.
Cork alone probably had as many as that county allocation number at the semi final.
Quote from: Blowitupref on July 08, 2025, 10:29:56 PMAll-Ireland Final Ticket Breakdown:
2,594 - Season Tickets
2,358 - Term Tickets
1,666 - Schools
1,250 - Sponsors
480 - Overseas
380 - Provinces
258 - Press
240 - Third Level
212 - Rounders/Handball
188 - Mini Games
148 - Matchday Teams
140 - Camogie
100 - Ladies Football
74 - TV & Radio
70 - Jubilee Team
60 - Sport Ireland
82,006 - Total
Cork alone probably had as many as that county allocation number at the semi final.
I will take DJs jubilee ticket, doubt he will be there ;D
It's a miracle I get tickets at all!!
Will be missing it this year unfortunately, away on hols ffs!
First time in many years to miss
From RTE.
QuoteHurling fans are set to be disappointed as the demand for All-Ireland hurling final tickets once again is set to outweigh supply.
Tipperary face Cork for the first time in an All-Ireland hurling final at Croke Park on Sunday.
Cork GAA have issued a statement acknowledging the huge demand for tickets and thanking their local clubs for playing a crucial part in distributing their allocation.
Cork GAA Chief Executive Kevin O'Donovan described it as a "bittersweet time" for hurling fans.
Speaking to RTÉ's News At One, he said: "It's a bittersweet time for us here, all looking forward to Sunday, but understanding there's a lot of heartbreak along the way for our supporters too."
"In terms of the numbers, we would have 60,000 at the All-Ireland semi-final. Our allocation for the final is closer to 20,000, so you can imagine it's a case of the loaves and fishes then."
Mr O'Donovan said Cork would have liked to have received a higher allocation of tickets, but acknowledged that the All-Ireland final is a national occasion.
"I suppose if you look at the 80,000 ballpark figure at an All-Ireland final, let's say Cork get 20,000, Tipperary get 20,000, another 20,000 are for central distribution by Croke Park and roughly 20,000 go to the other counties.
"I think it's important to recognise that All-Ireland final day is a national occasion. It's for every boy and girl in the country, it's not confined to Cork and Tipperary.
"I do understand there's the national element that An Cumann Lúthchleas Gael have to adhere to as well. It's not a simple matter of just distributing every ticket to the two participating counties," he added.
Mr O'Donovan said he had never seen such demand for All-Ireland tickets.
"This is a new era for us, Tipperary have a very short famine. We have a 20-year famine. You have a massive backlog of people trying to get to that elusive All-Ireland final and be there, if we were lucky enough to cross the finishing line.
"What we've seen this year and it's really come about over the last 12 months, is a youth movement, a whole generation of people who have never seen Cork win, and they're absolutely drawing on tickets now.
"For our previous games, we've had eight consecutive sellout fixtures. That generation are just cleaning up tickets. Anything goes on public sale, they gobble them up.
"Unfortunately, there's no public sale this time, so they're left a little bit shortchanged and we regret that," he said.
Mr O'Donovan said that plans are in place for fans who are not lucky enough to get their hands on a ticket for Sunday's final, but reiterated that all tickets from Cork had been distributed.
"We're delighted with the support. We'll have a fanzone with 20,000 more spectators on the field in SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoímh on Sunday. We're doing our best to be informative and honest, and help as many people as possible get there.
"With e-ticketing now and with the processes before, it would take four weeks to distribute All-Ireland final tickets. Now all that's done within a week, and our clubs have distributed theirs, and we've distributed ours. So I think it's fair on our voluntary officials now to let it lie.
"Maybe a ticket will return from another county and somebody might be lucky with a cousin living elsewhere. But in terms of the official distribution channels of ours, they're all simply closed at this point,"
Quote from: Saffrongael on July 08, 2025, 10:34:24 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on July 08, 2025, 10:29:56 PMAll-Ireland Final Ticket Breakdown:
2,594 - Season Tickets
2,358 - Term Tickets
1,666 - Schools
1,250 - Sponsors
480 - Overseas
380 - Provinces
258 - Press
240 - Third Level
212 - Rounders/Handball
188 - Mini Games
148 - Matchday Teams
140 - Camogie
100 - Ladies Football
74 - TV & Radio
70 - Jubilee Team
60 - Sport Ireland
82,006 - Total
I will take DJs jubilee ticket, doubt he will be there ;D
And I'll take Brian Cody's who's unwilling to occupy the same pitch as Henry Shefflin.
Senior hurling clubs in Cork are getting 24 seating and 20 terrace tickets.
Reduces as you go down the grades to 4 and 10 for the lowest Junior level.
I've in two minds on this.
In a way I think the tickets should just go to the 2 counties and fill their allocation needs first.
Then on the other hand, it's good that they go to clubs from all over Ireland and gives a chance for people from them counties to attend an All-Ireland Final.
Some clubs use their tickets for a £10 fund-raiser, which is good for their club also. A handy fundraiser.
Quote from: marty34 on July 15, 2025, 09:09:02 PMI've in two minds on this.
In a way I think the tickets should just go to the 2 counties and fill their allocation needs first.
Then on the other hand, it's good that they go to clubs from all over Ireland and gives a chance for people from them counties to attend an All-Ireland Final.
Some clubs use their tickets for a £10 fund-raiser, which is good for their club also. A handy fundraiser.
Conor McManus talking about how he could get a hurling final ticket but wouldn't go as not wanting to take it off a Cork or Tipp fan.
I think McManus is well deserving of going to the All-Ireland final for all he's put into the GAA.
Wouldn't begrudge anyone from Monaghan the opportunity of going to a football or hurling All-Ireland final. Every GAA fan should experience an All-Ireland final at least once and just because you're from a county that only gets there once in a blue moon shouldn't stop you.
Went to Hurling All Ireland once having never been to a single club or county Hurling game in my life. Didnt feel remotely bad but it was premium level.
If you want a ticket badly enough you'll get one usually.
Quote from: DaleCooper on July 16, 2025, 01:55:32 AMWent to Hurling All Ireland once having never been to a single club or county Hurling game in my life. Didnt feel remotely bad but it was premium level.
Not always a given, the Limerick Galway final a few years ago was the hardest one I can remember to get a ticket. I'm away this year so won't be going, but normally would be hearing of the odd ticket available, non to be had this year..
Think the game will be a lot closer than what the Cork supporters think it will be.. Cork would need to be going full on for 70 plus minutes if they want to break that 20 year duck
Quote from: DaleCooper on July 16, 2025, 01:55:32 AMWent to Hurling All Ireland once having never been to a single club or county Hurling game in my life. Didnt feel remotely bad but it was premium level.
I'd say 5 of the last 7 non-Covid hurling finals have had tickets going on general sale on Ticketmaster in the few days before the final.
The 2022 football final also saw tickets go on general sale in Ticketmaster.
With 200,000 hurling fans in Cork and Tipp back from the dead there won't be any public sale.
Cork could probably sell this out on their own. I'd love a ticket but wouldn't feel right getting one.
Must be some scramble for tickets in Cork, I've had multiple emails asking for tickets or looking to swap hurling tickets for football tickets.
If Cork don't win this Id be amazed. Tipp are there by default almost. Galway are adrift, Kilkenny just lacking the quality that's needed. I know Tipp will be up for it because it's Cork and the final but I can see them fading early enough.
Quote from: thejuice on July 16, 2025, 06:53:54 PMIf Cork don't win this Id be amazed. Tipp are there by default almost. Galway are adrift, Kilkenny just lacking the quality that's needed. I know Tipp will be up for it because it's Cork and the final but I can see them fading early enough.
Would agree with this strongly.
The worry for Cork is that if goals don't come early on, I could see them getting very nervous.
That was one of the worst kk teams in years and tipp still lucky to beat them. Maybe they have it in them to step it up but they will need to step it up a lot.
Cork complacency and nerves could play a part as has been said.
Cork CB got 17,000 tickets plus 3,000 season ticket holders.
Their so called "superfan" with the big Up Cork hat obviously is not a ST holder as he's blabbering about not having a ticket.
Predictably SF TD Gould weighing in saying the GAA need to change their allocation system. The 19 or 20 other Cork TDs will no doubt follow his lead.
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2025, 11:11:00 AMCork CB got 17,000 tickets plus 3,000 season ticket holders.
A bit surprised that there's only 3,000 season ticket holders in Cork for the hurling given the amount of clubs and the population there and how little competiton there is in the hurling championship generally.
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2025, 11:11:00 AMTheir so called "superfan" with the big Up Cork hat obviously is not a ST holder as he's blabbering about not having a ticket.
Utter gobshite behaviour.
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2025, 11:11:00 AMPredictably SF TD Gould weighing in saying the GAA need to change their allocation system. The 19 or 20 other Cork TDs will no doubt follow his lead.
I mean he can call for anything he wants but he's just wasting his breath.
Probably just wanted to get his name in the paper.
Quote from: twohands!!! on July 18, 2025, 11:52:06 AMQuote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2025, 11:11:00 AMCork CB got 17,000 tickets plus 3,000 season ticket holders.
A bit surprised that there's only 3,000 season ticket holders in Cork for the hurling given the amount of clubs and the population there and how little competiton there is in the hurling championship generally.
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2025, 11:11:00 AMTheir so called "superfan" with the big Up Cork hat obviously is not a ST holder as he's blabbering about not having a ticket.
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2025, 11:11:00 AMPredictably SF TD Gould weighing in saying the GAA need to change their allocation system. The 19 or 20 other Cork TDs will no doubt follow his lead.
Season tickets are capped at 3000 I think or is it3500?
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 18, 2025, 11:56:52 AMQuote from: twohands!!! on July 18, 2025, 11:52:06 AMQuote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2025, 11:11:00 AMCork CB got 17,000 tickets plus 3,000 season ticket holders.
Season tickets are capped at 3000 I think or is it3500?
I thought the cap was 5,000 ?
I think it was capped at 3,500 before COVID.
Was probably cut since then?
If I had a ticket for a final that did not involve my own county I wouldn't feel remotely guilty about going. An All Ireland final does not belong exclusively to the competing counties.
There will be a scramble for tickets by supporters who wouldn't be near the game if it wasn't a final. I spend most of my non working life either coaching in my club, bringing my children to their games and training, volunteering in my club or going to support my club and county.
If I was lucky enough to get a ticket then I'd be using it, gladly.
I wouldn't pay €100 to see 2 other teams playing.
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2025, 04:39:25 PMI wouldn't pay €100 to see 2 other teams playing.
That's the end of you and All Irelands then... 8)
Quote from: The Bearded One on July 18, 2025, 04:14:35 PMIf I had a ticket for a final that did not involve my own county I wouldn't feel remotely guilty about going. An All Ireland final does not belong exclusively to the competing counties.
There will be a scramble for tickets by supporters who wouldn't be near the game if it wasn't a final. I spend most of my non working life either coaching in my club, bringing my children to their games and training, volunteering in my club or going to support my club and county.
If I was lucky enough to get a ticket then I'd be using it, gladly.
Yeah that's true too. I do know of someone that would be a big Armagh fan who would go to games, do plenty round the club but didn't get a ticket last year though, but the vast majority of people I know got sorted one way or another.
All roads lead to Cork judging by the predictions online. That will all help feed Tipp who will be love been written off. I think they will turn up in a big game and give their best display of the year...whether it will be enough to beat such a powerful Cork team is the question. Hopefully they give us a great final, I still think Cork will do it but the closer we get to throw in Tipp, and how they usually produce when it really matters on the big stage, ha ve me thinking I should not rule them out.
If Tipp can stifle the Cork goal threat then they are in with a good shout.
Quote from: Rossfan on July 18, 2025, 04:39:25 PMI wouldn't pay €100 to see 2 other teams playing.
Wouldn't be paying 100 for either final. Cork will handy tomorrow. Tipp fill the underpants at sight of a Cork jersey.
Cork 3-31
Tipp 3-22
BBC coverage good enough, this was very good. Reminded me of Aragorn getting Anduril reforged
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/videos/c70rdrzw22eo
Cork with their best scoring patch so far. 25 minutes played Cork 0-12 Tipp 0-8.
Half time Cork 1-16 Tipperary 0-13. Cork goal with the last score of the half. Tipp goal disallowed before the break for a square ball.
Game over.
Patrick Horgan finally gets his deserved All Ireland medal.
G Donal Cusack just shouts down the mike, brutal!
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 20, 2025, 04:30:31 PMG Donal Cusack just shouts down the mike, brutal!
A dose!
I actually think cork are hard done by on that penalty. McGrath clearly holds Downeys arm and pulls him down with him to win the penalty.
Cork full bck better letting him go there. Downey didn't need to be putting his arm in there, made it easy for McGrath.
Quote from: trileacman on July 20, 2025, 04:50:46 PMI actually think cork are hard done by on that penalty. McGrath clearly holds Downeys arm and pulls him down with him to win the penalty.
Thought that as well.
What was the keeper at, brutal!
Game over! What an implosion from Cork, 3-10 to a point in the 2nd half.
Cork 1 score in the second half with 10 minutes left and dont look like getting another one
Cork monster favourites past 2 finals and come a cropped. Cant even compare them to Mayo as they were mostly underdogs!
Quote from: thejuice on July 16, 2025, 06:53:54 PMIf Cork don't win this Id be amazed. Tipp are there by default almost. Galway are adrift, Kilkenny just lacking the quality that's needed. I know Tipp will be up for it because it's Cork and the final but I can see them fading early enough.
This only in reverse
Tipperary are a hardy team.
Laughing my arse off here! Cork administrators used all their pull to get the tickets but they are now all sick in Croker.
If anyone bet on that spread then they'd have a handsome payout.
That was bizarre.
Tipp could do nothing wrong second half. It was like the Offaly 5 minutes in 1994, just over 35 minutes
Two Cork points in 35 minutes. Where would you ever have seen that?
Mad, Ted.
Here comes the Jarlath show
Is anyone else absolutely delighted to see Cork get beaten?
And I'm not even a hurling man.
Too much arrogance.
Some comeback!
Look at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.
Did he mention Cork?
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.
Ah Jaysus, that's harsh!
I like Jarlath.
No kick at all in Cork, if you cant bring it on the biggest day there's no excuse. No leadership, tactics didnt seem to adapt.
Reminder how important tradition can be , Tipp hit a load of wides but kept plugging away. Well deserved winners
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on July 20, 2025, 05:17:28 PMIs anyone else absolutely delighted to see Cork get beaten?
And I'm not even a hurling man.
Too much arrogance.
Yes
Nothing wrong with his speech. Emphasises what the GAA is about. No better day to say that sort of thing than on All Ireland final day. Tipp have waited 6 years, I'm sure they didn't mind waiting another 2 minutes
Croke Park empty. Cork had soaked up all the floating tickets. And Tipp although delighted have won Liam 6 years ago.
This is a bad loss in nature for Cork and could have ripple affects.
When was the last time a team only scored 2 points in a half of senior championship hurling?
Cork ain't going to stop hurling neither will Kilkenny or Limerick
Anyone thinking that Tipp are on a role will be disappointed as they also dip badly after wins, Limerick will adjust, Cork will process their worst game of the year (many years) and Kilkenny will again ask questions
Dublin Limerick was game of the year though the Munster final and the last 39 minutes of the All Ireland final will have their thoughts on that.
Hurling rubbish this year 🤣
Onto the main dish next week
Quote from: dec on July 20, 2025, 05:43:57 PMWhen was the last time a team only scored 2 points in a half of senior championship hurling?
GUBU
Must be a while ago
Tipperary 30 scores from 47 shots
Cork 19 scores from 35 shots.
2nd half
Tipperary 17 scores from 25 shots.
Cork 2 scores from 13 shots
Quote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 05:20:25 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.
Ah Jaysus, that's harsh!
I like Jarlath.
He's a bollix.
"Today is the icing not the cake. You are the cake". ::)
Treats every speech like it's a graveside oration.
Quote from: trileacman on July 20, 2025, 05:54:05 PMQuote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 05:20:25 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.
Ah Jaysus, that's harsh!
I like Jarlath.
He's a bollix.
A good speech by Jarlath. Congrats Tipp.
Quote from: dec on July 20, 2025, 05:43:57 PMWhen was the last time a team only scored 2 points in a half of senior championship hurling?
First time to happen in All-Ireland final since 2004 when Kilkenny also scored just 0-2 2nd half.
Armagh people defending Burns at all cost, I'm so shocked.
First half of the speech was awful, second half was great.
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2025, 05:45:07 PMCork ain't going to stop hurling neither will Kilkenny or Limerick
Anyone thinking that Tipp are on a role will be disappointed as they also dip badly after wins,
Tipp haven't won back to back in over sixty years. Never get over the one in a row etc. However they're undeniably a coming force with two minors and an U20 in the last few years.
Kilkenny on the other hand haven't won a minor title in over ten years and have one U21 title since 2008, when TJ was playing.
Quote from: trileacman on July 20, 2025, 05:54:05 PMQuote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 05:20:25 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.
Ah Jaysus, that's harsh!
I like Jarlath.
He's a bollix.
Well it was the AI Hurling Final. :)
It's hard to see how Cork recover from that. I know Tipp put them in their place but the 2nd collapse was incredible. Tipp hit a lot of silly wides first half and Cork got a goal before half time but it masked their issues. 2 points in the 2nd half is beyond belief
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2025, 05:45:07 PMAnyone thinking that Tipp are on a role will be disappointed as they also dip badly after wins.
Main talk/thoughts on Tipperary should be how they managed to go from a group stage exit without winning a game last year to that today winning All-Ireland final by 15 points against a strong favourite who gave them a trimming in Munster and the league this year.
Good tribute to Dillion Quirke in the after match speech.
Can Tipp do a Limerick is really what people will say, and all the underage success (look at how Galway did fit many years) doesn't necessarily mean longevity
Be interesting to see though as the talent is there and as much as Cork arrogance is mentioned Tipp also have that in spades..
Back to the drawing board for the rest and the target is clearly on Tipp for next year
I noticed DJ wasn't lined out with the Kilkenny jubilee team today. Probably a wise decision
Quote from: gallsman on July 20, 2025, 06:11:45 PMArmagh people defending Burns at all cost, I'm so shocked.
First half of the speech was awful, second half was great.
not just armagh ones. I think he talks too much
So the second half score was 3-14 to 0-2 to Tipp, surely one of the most one sided halfs in either code at an All Ireland final, does anyone know of similar margins?
Some of those Mayo Kerry football games would have been very one sided.
(very) unfortunately antrim tipp in 89 maybe close to that too.
Quote from: Joeythelips on Today at 08:57:47 AMSo the second half score was 3-14 to 0-2 to Tipp, surely one of the most one sided halfs in either code at an All Ireland final, does anyone know of similar margins?
KK only scored 2pts in a half in the early 2000's.
But at that time, the games were very low scoring so it's all relative.
A complete collapse by Cork in 2nd half.
As I said last night, the worst thing that happened to Cork was getting that goal right on half time. They thought it was over and Hoggie then missed a relatively handy free at start of 2nd half, it gave Tipp the belief to drive on and get a few scores.
I thought that, for long spells in the1st half, that Tipp were the better team but their shooting let them down. Needed just 1 more pass to get them closer to goal to make it an easier shot.
Tipp won all the 50/50 balls in 2nd half. Totally dominated and used the ball well. Plus they got the goals.
They also carried the ball better in the second half and took that extra pass (which they didn't do in the first half). Some shooting in the second hlf.
Strange we can say that Tipp played unreal AND Cork collapsed. Usually it's one or the other but seldom both.
Cahill played O'Mara as 'sweeper' and he got on some ball. But his main role was not to let O'Mahony etc. run through the middle. I'd say Cahill and Bevans would have been delighted privately with the 1st half performance - especially with only conceding that late goal. Cork never had their normal goal threat and were blunt as a result.
But it was Tipp's day. A masterclass by them and their management. I didn't realise that Herrity is on one of their main coaches and not a goalkeeping coach. Good man to have in there.
Where do Cork go now? Horgan, Harnedy and Lehane? Will they be back - great servants to Cork.
Remember Meath batin the daylights out of Kerry in 2001 Semi Final and then getting hammered by Galway in the second half of the Final?
A brilliant hurling final gets half a page, 5 from the back page, of the Belfast Telegraph.
Quote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 06:20:14 PMQuote from: trileacman on July 20, 2025, 05:54:05 PMQuote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 05:20:25 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.
Ah Jaysus, that's harsh!
I like Jarlath.
He's a bollix.
Well it was the AI Hurling Final. :)
Have to agree with Tony here.
I used have a different opinion of him and was glad to see him get the top job, but has a serious case of power going to his head imo.
Quote from: AustinPowers on July 20, 2025, 10:30:23 PMI noticed DJ wasn't lined out with the Kilkenny jubilee team today. Probably a wise decision
It would have taken some nerve for him to show his face at that. Did they call his name even?
Quote from: marty34 on Today at 09:16:55 AMQuote from: Joeythelips on Today at 08:57:47 AMSo the second half score was 3-14 to 0-2 to Tipp, surely one of the most one sided halfs in either code at an All Ireland final, does anyone know of similar margins?
KK only scored 2pts in a half in the early 2000's.
But at that time, the games were very low scoring so it's all relative.
A complete collapse by Cork in 2nd half.
As I said last night, the worst thing that happened to Cork was getting that goal right on half time. They thought it was over and Hoggie then missed a relatively handy free at start of 2nd half, it gave Tipp the belief to drive on and get a few scores.
I thought that, for long spells in the1st half, that Tipp were the better team but their shooting let them down. Needed just 1 more pass to get them closer to goal to make it an easier shot.
Tipp won all the 50/50 balls in 2nd half. Totally dominated and used the ball well. Plus they got the goals.
They also carried the ball better in the second half and took that extra pass (which they didn't do in the first half). Some shooting in the second hlf.
Strange we can say that Tipp played unreal AND Cork collapsed. Usually it's one or the other but seldom both.
Cahill played O'Mara as 'sweeper' and he got on some ball. But his main role was not to let O'Mahony etc. run through the middle. I'd say Cahill and Bevans would have been delighted privately with the 1st half performance - especially with only conceding that late goal. Cork never had their normal goal threat and were blunt as a result.
But it was Tipp's day. A masterclass by them and their management. I didn't realise that Herrity is on one of their main coaches and not a goalkeeping coach. Good man to have in there.
Where do Cork go now? Horgan, Harnedy and Lehane? Will they be back - great servants to Cork.
That sums it up really. The sending off was the final nail in the coffin - and I did think it was harsh tbh. The full back was having his arm held, but technically I suppose he did foul.
Tipp were relentless in that 2nd half and Cork were shell shocked.
Always had a soft spot for Cork, but hard to beat an underdog story.
The full back was a red waiting to happen half the day. He wasn't focusing on the ball at all and was just at the man the whole time. Several times he could have cleared a breaking ball but instead turned away from his man to block him from getting the ball. He really should have been subbed. Robert was on a yellow too but was playing too well to be taken off.
Towards the end Alan Connolly had an effort prior to being taken off and it was as half hearted an effort as you would see an AI final - it just wreaked of I don't want to be here. That kind of seemed to be the general attitude but tbf that was very late.
Tipp had one of those days second half where everything just went over.
Quote from: tbrick18 on Today at 09:59:23 AMQuote from: AustinPowers on July 20, 2025, 10:30:23 PMI noticed DJ wasn't lined out with the Kilkenny jubilee team today. Probably a wise decision
It would have taken some nerve for him to show his face at that. Did they call his name even?
Not sure. The pundits were talking when the team was introduced to the crowd.
Quote from: tbrick18 on Today at 09:59:23 AMQuote from: AustinPowers on July 20, 2025, 10:30:23 PMI noticed DJ wasn't lined out with the Kilkenny jubilee team today. Probably a wise decision
Yeah they called his name, there were a few whistles but nothing too hectic. Called Cody's name and James McGarry too who was also absent, family members no longer allowed to stand in.
That jubilee team part of All Ireland day has been very much demeaned. Used to be at half-time in the senior game now well before it with most of the stadium empty. Where I was sitting was very hard to hear the sound system lower Hogan stand. Was a great part of the day but now something the GAA just want to get out of the way. Is a pity as these men filled the stadium for them 25 years ago.
Otherwise was a fantastic occasion and brilliant game.. skill level just increases every year.
Cork were so poor at keeping it away from the sweeper all day. I was saying this to a Tipp man and he reckoned the fact Cork were up 6 at the break meant it could be said Cahill got it wrong, BUT their shooting was awful at times and if they tagged on the scores it'd be much tighter.
All day the Tipp forwards were in front and down the other end their backs drove out and got in front of their men. I mean every 60/40 in the second half was won by Tipp.
I am sure Noel McGrath was due on, but the fact he came on straioght after Horgan was off was another psychological blow. Delighted he got his point too.
Quote from: Orior on July 20, 2025, 06:04:56 PMQuote from: trileacman on July 20, 2025, 05:54:05 PMQuote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 05:20:25 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.
Ah Jaysus, that's harsh!
I like Jarlath.
He's a bollix.
It's way too much at this stage , I warmed to it at first but it's too much , hand the cup to the captain with a little few words , not everything has to be like something out of the Michael Collins movie ffs get over yourself Jarlath
Quote from: larryin89 on Today at 10:52:43 AMQuote from: Orior on July 20, 2025, 06:04:56 PMQuote from: trileacman on July 20, 2025, 05:54:05 PMQuote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 05:20:25 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.
Ah Jaysus, that's harsh!
I like Jarlath.
He's a bollix.
It's way too much at this stage , I warmed to it at first but it's too much , hand the cup to the captain with a little few words , not everything has to be like something out of the Michael Collins movie ffs get over yourself Jarlath
I think Maher thought Jarlath had finished his speech at 1 point and he was ready to accept the cup but Jarlath put his arm across a bit as if to say to Maher, I'm not finshed my speech yet....lol.
Too much. Needs to tone it down a bit.
Quote from: Truthsayer on Today at 10:39:32 AMThat jubilee team part of All Ireland day has been very much demeaned. Used to be at half-time in the senior game now well before it with most of the stadium empty. Where I was sitting was very hard to hear the sound system lower Hogan stand. Was a great part of the day but now something the GAA just want to get out of the way. Is a pity as these men filled the stadium for them 25 years ago.
Otherwise was a fantastic occasion and brilliant game.. skill level just increases every year.
I don't remember it being at half time, it used to be between the minor final and the Senior final IIRC.
And for those lads bemoaning the lack of a minor game, I used to get into the stadium for the minor game and the crowd was paltry even on a few occasions the minors were playing with their seniors on later that day and that's for a few counties.
Quote from: johnnycool on Today at 10:57:57 AMQuote from: Truthsayer on Today at 10:39:32 AMThat jubilee team part of All Ireland day has been very much demeaned. Used to be at half-time in the senior game now well before it with most of the stadium empty. Where I was sitting was very hard to hear the sound system lower Hogan stand. Was a great part of the day but now something the GAA just want to get out of the way. Is a pity as these men filled the stadium for them 25 years ago.
I don't remember it being at half time, it used to be between the minor final and the Senior final IIRC.
And for those lads bemoaning the lack of a minor game, I used to get into the stadium for the minor game and the crowd was paltry even on a few occasions the minors were playing with their seniors on later that day and that's for a few counties.
Ok. Maybe ure right. I certainly remember there was a big crowd in the stadium when the Jubilee team was introduced.. maybe because they came in to see the minor game first (or at least most of it).
I'd definitely have the minor game back in Croke Park with the senior final... the nonsense they put on now. Some lad firing t-shirts into the crowd and trying to engage supporters to cheer...
QuoteQuoteQuoteThat jubilee team part of All Ireland day has been very much demeaned. Used to be at half-time in the senior game now well before it with most of the stadium empty. Where I was sitting was very hard to hear the sound system lower Hogan stand. Was a great part of the day but now something the GAA just want to get out of the way. Is a pity as these men filled the stadium for them 25 years ago.
Ok. Maybe ure right. I certainly remember there was a big crowd in the stadium when the Jubilee team was introduced.. maybe because they came in to see the minor game first (or at least most of it).
I'd definitely have the minor game back in Croke Park with the senior final... the nonsense they put on now. Some lad firing t-shirts into the crowd and trying to engage supporters to cheer...
Jaysus, we could have another Maud Flanders on our hands with that craic
Quote from: AustinPowers on Today at 11:40:38 AMQuoteQuoteQuoteThat jubilee team part of All Ireland day has been very much demeaned. Used to be at half-time in the senior game now well before it with most of the stadium empty. Where I was sitting was very hard to hear the sound system lower Hogan stand. Was a great part of the day but now something the GAA just want to get out of the way. Is a pity as these men filled the stadium for them 25 years ago.
Ive no idea who Maud Flanders is so not sure if you're a fan of that circus or not?
Restore the minor final and spare us that nonsense.
Poor Maud...
Flanders went through a rough period after
OH Yeah!
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 01:43:39 PMPoor Maud...
Flanders went through a rough period after
OH Yeah!
I'll pray for her 🙏
QuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteThat jubilee team part of All Ireland day has been very much demeaned. Used to be at half-time in the senior game now well before it with most of the stadium empty. Where I was sitting was very hard to hear the sound system lower Hogan stand. Was a great part of the day but now something the GAA just want to get out of the way. Is a pity as these men filled the stadium for them 25 years ago.
Ive no idea who Maud Flanders is so not sure if you're a fan of that circus or not?
Here you go , ya philistine :D
Quote from: AustinPowers on Today at 03:01:21 PMQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteQuoteThat jubilee team part of All Ireland day has been very much demeaned. Used to be at half-time in the senior game now well before it with most of the stadium empty. Where I was sitting was very hard to hear the sound system lower Hogan stand. Was a great part of the day but now something the GAA just want to get out of the way. Is a pity as these men filled the stadium for them 25 years ago.
Here you go , ya philistine :D
That is so tragic. Is that back of the Hogan Stand? 🙏
Old Nelly stand..
Quote from: marty34 on Today at 10:57:40 AMQuote from: larryin89 on Today at 10:52:43 AMQuote from: Orior on July 20, 2025, 06:04:56 PMQuote from: trileacman on July 20, 2025, 05:54:05 PMQuote from: J70 on July 20, 2025, 05:20:25 PMQuote from: Tony Baloney on July 20, 2025, 05:18:37 PMLook at me, look at me. If Burns was chocolate he'd eat himself in one bite.
Ah Jaysus, that's harsh!
I like Jarlath.
He's a bollix.
I think Maher thought Jarlath had finished his speech at 1 point and he was ready to accept the cup but Jarlath put his arm across a bit as if to say to Maher, I'm not finshed my speech yet....lol.
Too much. Needs to tone it down a bit.
Yeah - it was pretty painful stuff by Burns - someone in his position shouldn't be giving off the vibe of "i've got the mic so everyone must listen to what I say" especially when all he was coming out with was pointless waffle.
Fair play to Josh Rock tonight, wearing his Tipp kit at the darts.