GAA Discussion => Hurling Discussion => Topic started by: Boards on May 26, 2025, 05:40:12 PM

Poll
Question: Should Munster be made 6 teams like leinster if kerry ever win the Joe Mcdonagh Cup and allow Kerry to ask to be relegated if they are getting bad beatings
Option 1: Yes votes: 14
Option 2: No votes: 2
Title: Munster Championship
Post by: Boards on May 26, 2025, 05:40:12 PM
The current format of a playoff is unfair on kerry leinster is 6 teams so why not make munster 6 teams if kerry win
Title: Re: Munster Championship
Post by: johnnycool on May 27, 2025, 09:11:19 AM
Quote from: Boards on May 26, 2025, 05:40:12 PMThe current format of a playoff is unfair on kerry leinster is 6 teams so why not make munster 6 teams if kerry win

Have Kerry ever asked to get into Munster and if so, have they been refused?
Post by: mouview on May 27, 2025, 02:55:19 PM
Including Kerry would surely then mean introducing relegation for someone, and that would usually be Kerry who would most often be the whipping boys.
Post by: Riseagain on May 27, 2025, 10:12:11 PM
Quote from: mouview on May 27, 2025, 02:55:19 PMIncluding Kerry would surely then mean introducing relegation for someone, and that would usually be Kerry who would most often be the whipping boys.
It would make sense but the munster teams would never agree to that we see how they managed to get a playoff against the winner
Post by: johnnycool on May 28, 2025, 08:25:03 AM
Howl on lads, what issue are you trying to resolve considering Kerry have just got relegated out of the Joe McDonagh Cup?

Post by: Riseagain on May 28, 2025, 09:37:47 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 28, 2025, 08:25:03 AMHowl on lads, what issue are you trying to resolve considering Kerry have just got relegated out of the Joe McDonagh Cup?

Yes they were relegated but from 2020 to 2022 they were in the final three years in a row yes they may have gone back a bit but thats bound to happen sometimes when you have a small pool of players.
Post by: johnnycool on May 28, 2025, 09:46:29 AM
Quote from: Riseagain on May 28, 2025, 09:37:47 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 28, 2025, 08:25:03 AMHowl on lads, what issue are you trying to resolve considering Kerry have just got relegated out of the Joe McDonagh Cup?

Yes they were relegated but from 2020 to 2022 they were in the final three years in a row yes they may have gone back a bit but thats bound to happen sometimes when you have a small pool of players.

So back to my original point, what issue are you trying to resolve?
Post by: mouview on May 28, 2025, 10:09:53 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 28, 2025, 09:46:29 AM

It's in answer to the original question; if you include Kerry, will they be there in perpetuity or must there be relegation, a-la Leinster?
Post by: johnnycool on May 28, 2025, 12:09:37 PM
Quote from: mouview on May 28, 2025, 10:09:53 AM

It's in answer to the original question; if you include Kerry, will they be there in perpetuity or must there be relegation, a-la Leinster?

Then that takes me back to the other question I asked, have Kerry asked to be allowed into the Munster championship and if so, have they been refused.

Is the OP trying to solve an issue that doesn't exist?
Post by: Riseagain on May 28, 2025, 11:14:44 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on May 28, 2025, 12:09:37 PM

Then that takes me back to the other question I asked, have Kerry asked to be allowed into the Munster championship and if so, have they been refused.

Is the OP trying to solve an issue that doesn't exist?

When the Joe Mcdonagh Cup was created the munster teams managed to have a playoff between the joe mc winners and bottom of munster
Post by: Riseagain on May 28, 2025, 11:16:51 PM

There shoukd bd a playoff between bottom munster and Leinster.
Post by: didlyi on May 29, 2025, 08:03:39 PM
The price of going to the Munster Final has gone through the roof and for some reason is more expensice than the football final and the Leinster hurling Final. Anyways the GAA say the money is needed to fund projects in the Munster region. Does that meaan the hurling people of Munster anre funding projects in Kerry who do so little to promote hurling?
Post by: Riseagain on May 31, 2025, 10:36:39 AM
Quote from: didlyi on May 29, 2025, 08:03:39 PMThe price of going to the Munster Final has gone through the roof and for some reason is more expensice than the football final and the Leinster hurling Final. Anyways the GAA say the money is needed to fund projects in the Munster region. Does that meaan the hurling people of Munster anre funding projects in Kerry who do so little to promote hurling?
I know its gotten dearer but people are willing to pay well above this for soccer and rugby and dont complain but the gaa gets dragged theough the dirt. Its an amateur organisation and we can see where the money goes to supporting the development and promotion of gaa.
Post by: didlyi on May 31, 2025, 02:44:19 PM
Quote from: Riseagain on May 31, 2025, 10:36:39 AM
Quote from: didlyi on May 29, 2025, 08:03:39 PMThe price of going to the Munster Final has gone through the roof and for some reason is more expensice than the football final and the Leinster hurling Final. Anyways the GAA say the money is needed to fund projects in the Munster region. Does that meaan the hurling people of Munster anre funding projects in Kerry who do so little to promote hurling?
I know its gotten dearer but people are willing to pay well above this for soccer and rugby and dont complain but the gaa gets dragged theough the dirt. Its an amateur organisation and we can see where the money goes to supporting the development and promotion of gaa.

I take your point. Though the Munster hurling championship raises a huge amount of revenue year in year out for the Munster council in comparison to any other province, you wonder how well our Hurling lovers in Kerry do out of it. It doesnt strike me that a lot of money is being pumpoed into Kerry Hurling and Kerry being a county in Musnter must be doing OK out of the MHC.
Post by: johnnycool on June 02, 2025, 08:06:39 AM
Quote from: didlyi on May 31, 2025, 02:44:19 PM
Quote from: Riseagain on May 31, 2025, 10:36:39 AM

I take your point. Though the Munster hurling championship raises a huge amount of revenue year in year out for the Munster council in comparison to any other province, you wonder how well our Hurling lovers in Kerry do out of it. It doesnt strike me that a lot of money is being pumpoed into Kerry Hurling and Kerry being a county in Musnter must be doing OK out of the MHC.

If you don't ask, you don't get.

Munster would be no different to Ulster in that you need to apply for funding through the correct channels.

Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on June 07, 2025, 06:28:35 PM
Low enough scoring game this.

Setup for a 3rd quarter blitz from limerick?
Post by: Blowitupref on June 07, 2025, 06:30:06 PM
28 mins played  limerick 1-8 Cork 1-11.  Half time Limerick 1-10 Cork 1-14
Post by: red hander on June 07, 2025, 06:30:26 PM
Enjoyable game.
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on June 07, 2025, 06:38:58 PM
Bust up at HT....3 suspensions incoming for Armagh
Post by: tonto1888 on June 07, 2025, 06:39:03 PM
Good game. Cork should have had a couple frees there
Post by: Truthsayer on June 07, 2025, 06:43:23 PM
Ref give Cork forwards nothing... Limerick good at the dark arts and Kiely going at the ref  :D .. cute hure knows the ref is riding Cork!
Post by: Capt Pat on June 07, 2025, 06:48:51 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 07, 2025, 06:28:35 PMLow enough scoring game this.

Setup for a 3rd quarter blitz from limerick?

It looks like it. They will have a strong breeze too. The flags behind the goal at the back of the terrace indicate a strong breeze.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 07, 2025, 06:50:48 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on June 07, 2025, 06:43:23 PMRef give Cork forwards nothing... Limerick good at the dark arts and Kiely going at the ref  :D .. cute hure knows the ref is riding Cork!

Used to like Kiely but definitely have went off him this last while.
Post by: Truthsayer on June 07, 2025, 06:56:33 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 07, 2025, 06:50:48 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on June 07, 2025, 06:43:23 PMRef give Cork forwards nothing... Limerick good at the dark arts and Kiely going at the ref  :D .. cute hure knows the ref is riding Cork!

Used to like Kiely but definitely have went off him this last while.
Hard to warm to
Post by: tonto1888 on June 07, 2025, 07:08:22 PM
Controversial
Post by: imtommygunn on June 07, 2025, 07:09:35 PM
What do cork have to do to get a free here.
Post by: Truthsayer on June 07, 2025, 07:11:00 PM
As I was saying.. ref totally doing the Cork forwards. Atrocious
Post by: imtommygunn on June 07, 2025, 07:13:55 PM
In fairness to him there is some needle in this game so not easy to referee but he's possibly letting too much go that is leading to this.
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on June 07, 2025, 07:16:32 PM
Is it me or is this game not that high of quality?

Seriously intense and physical which may be the reason why though.
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on June 07, 2025, 07:19:50 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 07, 2025, 07:16:32 PMIs it me or is this game not that high of quality?

Hasn't been a classic so far.
Post by: Saffron_sam20 on June 07, 2025, 07:22:42 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on June 07, 2025, 07:19:50 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 07, 2025, 07:16:32 PMIs it me or is this game not that high of quality?

Ah come on lads it's been cracking, we've been brainwashed to think high scoring is what it's all about, this has been class intensity and all go. Can't take your eyes off it
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on June 07, 2025, 07:24:23 PM
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on June 07, 2025, 07:22:42 PM

Ah come on lads it's been cracking, we've been brainwashed to think high scoring is what it's all about, this has been class intensity and all go. Can't take your eyes off it

Great watch but alot of mistakes is what I'm saying.

Very intense and physical
Post by: Saffron_sam20 on June 07, 2025, 07:25:49 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 07, 2025, 07:24:23 PM

I actually prefer watching this than just a score every 30 secs, I love the intensity and physicality. Though ref has missed a lot I actually think it's adding to it
Post by: Blowitupref on June 07, 2025, 07:36:23 PM
FT Limerick 2-19 Cork 1-22 extra time coming up.
Post by: Capt Pat on June 07, 2025, 07:38:32 PM
O Donovan of Limerick messed up at the end there. If Cork go on to win he will regret that miss.
Post by: Truthsayer on June 07, 2025, 07:43:53 PM
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on June 07, 2025, 07:25:49 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on June 07, 2025, 07:24:23 PM

I actually prefer watching this than just a score every 30 secs, I love the intensity and physicality. Though ref has missed a lot I actually think it's adding to it
Enthralling stuff... ref has been dreadful tho.. I don't think he's added to it as all
Post by: lenny on June 07, 2025, 07:46:20 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 07, 2025, 07:09:35 PMWhat do cork have to do to get a free here.

Terrible match. Refereeing has been so inconsistent
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on June 07, 2025, 07:46:23 PM
Hopefully limerick pull through Donal Og be hard stood if they win
Post by: marty34 on June 07, 2025, 07:47:56 PM
Ahh, great stuff lad.  Game has had everything.

2 teams just going at it. Intense stuff.

All about good decision making now in extra-time.
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on June 07, 2025, 07:53:47 PM
Wild long break
Post by: Truthsayer on June 07, 2025, 08:00:19 PM
Quote from: lenny on June 07, 2025, 07:46:20 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on June 07, 2025, 07:09:35 PMWhat do cork have to do to get a free here.

Terrible match. Refereeing has been so inconsistent
Brilliant match! Ref not so good tho... not easy refereed I suppose
Post by: imtommygunn on June 07, 2025, 08:07:43 PM
Limerick forwards work harder than cork's when they don't have the ball. No cork man gets out easy - limerick get more space.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on June 07, 2025, 08:09:06 PM
I'm not buying no frees means a game is flowing.
If backs can pull and drag a forward and stop chances it's hardly good.
Post by: Sportacus on June 07, 2025, 08:10:18 PM
Great entertainment, but you have to laugh at the ref(s) completely ignoring the rule book.
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on June 07, 2025, 08:18:51 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on June 07, 2025, 08:10:18 PMGreat entertainment, but you have to laugh at the ref(s) completely ignoring the rule book.

Yeah as football person I'd be absolutely infuriated at the complete disregard for the rule book 😅

Although football needs to allow more physicality similar to what we seen in Derry v Galway
Post by: imtommygunn on June 07, 2025, 08:27:20 PM
That free out at the end was never a free out...

Some entertainment.
Post by: dec on June 07, 2025, 08:27:26 PM
Brave long minute that
Post by: Blowitupref on June 07, 2025, 08:28:13 PM
Penalties to find a winner would prefer another period of extra time
Post by: Truthsayer on June 07, 2025, 08:29:19 PM
Disgraceful way to decide a Munster hurling final..  yer woman trying to hype it up.. I suppose she has to... #soccer
Post by: EoinW on June 07, 2025, 08:31:21 PM
Penalties in hurling?  They might still be taking them Monday!

I don't know why the GAA is so mentally challenged that they can't make a championship schedule which allows time for replays.
Post by: Saffron_sam20 on June 07, 2025, 08:37:07 PM
Quote from: EoinW on June 07, 2025, 08:31:21 PMPenalties in hurling?  They might still be taking them Monday!

I don't know why the GAA is so mentally challenged that they can't make a championship schedule which allows time for replays.
Hold that thought
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 07, 2025, 08:44:44 PM
Penalties in hurling are shite. Especially after a game like that. Limerick will be kicking themselves. Can they meet in the All Ireland final?
Post by: Truthsayer on June 07, 2025, 08:52:10 PM
Incredible game and scenes. Delighted to see Cork win. Penalties not the way to go. Cork into AI semi-final. Could be a trilogy this fixture... 🏆
Post by: EoinW on June 07, 2025, 08:55:41 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on June 07, 2025, 08:52:10 PMIncredible game and scenes. Delighted to see Cork win. Penalties not the way to go. Cork into AI semi-final. Could be a trilogy this fixture... 🏆

Reminded me of the 2013 field invasion.  Except it was all green that day.  Nice to see Cork fans rewarded for their loyalty.
Post by: From the Bunker on June 07, 2025, 09:11:31 PM
Quote from: dec on June 07, 2025, 08:27:26 PMBrave long minute that

A minute is a minute. Max you can add onto that is a minute. 3 minutes was a disgrace.

Good to see Cork win but.....
Post by: rodney trotter on June 07, 2025, 11:11:39 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on June 07, 2025, 09:11:31 PM
Quote from: dec on June 07, 2025, 08:27:26 PMBrave long minute that

A minute is a minute. Max you can add onto that is a minute. 3 minutes was a disgrace.

Good to see Cork win but.....

I've seen it in football too, refs playing way over time to get a draw. Probaly why the hooter was brought into the football.
Post by: didlyi on June 07, 2025, 11:29:19 PM
Quote from: Sportacus on June 07, 2025, 08:10:18 PMGreat entertainment, but you have to laugh at the ref(s) completely ignoring the rule book.

Yes. Im saying ot for years. You cant continue to ignore the rule book to keep a game flowing. Its shortsigthed and doesnt pay off in the long term. Tonight game was brilliant at times but amost ruined by the a ref doing his best to let it flow.
Post by: highorlow on June 08, 2025, 12:05:58 AM
N 10 city
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 08, 2025, 01:25:49 AM
The ref was Milltown row2 like today  ;)

(https://scontent.fdub3-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/503806268_1128679492624279_2938729768278869482_n.jpg?_nc_cat=1&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=833d8c&_nc_ohc=OADUiiD4UkwQ7kNvwFWwe8i&_nc_oc=Admpnh1wRzcuZUU4e0PR0CdRuporVPzyF42Yq8IteVevGkvLVsuevIw26I9twe6UHLU&_nc_zt=23&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub3-2.fna&_nc_gid=BVmE55fdUgqyPcuf1ppLKw&oh=00_AfNAmHUYLYIhtp-XFGyr9xgOMgJqvFCbp7oN-rZO4ipYmg&oe=684AB894)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 08, 2025, 10:12:28 AM
So only got to watch it now as o was out, phoned turned off, well second half and extra time. Enthralling game and and while there were plenty misses in the game by both it allowed it to be close and give us (supporters) a great watch.

The ref it seems from some on here (footballers) didn't have a good game? For me he allowed the game to develop without pulling up for frees at every tackle, he did it for both btw.. I didn't see him favouring either team, so as long as you are consistent at not giving frees for both then the teams won't be looking for them..

Wasn't too many complaints from players or commentators during it..

Ref's getting injured during a game is very rare though lol!!

But it great that they had a ref of top quality to step in..

This game just means Limerick have to beat one team more to get to the semi final. Losing Munster will hurt but in the grand scheme of things Liam is the prize..

There will be some sore bodies today
Post by: rodney trotter on June 08, 2025, 11:06:52 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 08, 2025, 10:12:28 AMSo only got to watch it now as o was out, phoned turned off, well second half and extra time. Enthralling game and and while there were plenty misses in the game by both it allowed it to be close and give us (supporters) a great watch.

The ref it seems from some on here (footballers) didn't have a good game? For me he allowed the game to develop without pulling up for frees at every tackle, he did it for both btw.. I didn't see him favouring either team, so as long as you are consistent at not giving frees for both then the teams won't be looking for them..

This game just means Limerick have to beat one team more to get to the semi final. Losing Munster will hurt but in the grand scheme of things Liam is the prize..

He played over 3 minutes at the end of normal time. 1 minute was added, there was no need to play that long with no breaks in play. The limerick players questioned it when he blew up normal time
Post by: Truthsayer on June 08, 2025, 11:13:06 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 08, 2025, 10:12:28 AMSo only got to watch it now as o was out, phoned turned off, well second half and extra time. Enthralling game and and while there were plenty misses in the game by both it allowed it to be close and give us (supporters) a great watch.

Must be a lot of football fans among the Cork supporters and management. As a member of a hurling and football club, I thought there were blatant fouls on Cork forwards he didn't give. Having said that I felt sorry for him when he went down with cramp.. and was a very hard match to ref.
Post by: fullback2023 on June 08, 2025, 12:12:16 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on June 08, 2025, 11:06:52 AM

He played over 3 minutes at the end of normal time. 1 minute was added, there was no need to play that long with no breaks in play. The limerick players questioned it when he blew up normal time
It was at the end of extra time, when the clock hit 90:00 the play had already been stopped for a free, Cian Lynch was down with a blood injury and Limerick made a sub (Lynch actually tried to go down again on his way off to waste more time), by the time Gillane took the free it was 91:14. Free then given against Peter Casey for overcarrying at 91:51, that didn't get taken until 92:22 and Quaid spilled it for a 65 at 92:29. The 65 wasn't taken until 93:40 because Limerick brought Lynch back in then were messing around trying to get Diarmaid Byrnes back on for penalties and took Lynch straight back off, the 65 went over at 93:44 then he blew at 93:55 before the puckout could be taken.

So while he played nearly 4 minutes, the ball was actually only in play for around a minute, mainly due to Limerick injuries and substitutions. The only time he could have blown was while the 65 was waiting to be taken if he included the time taken by Fitzgibbon going back to take the free as playing time but there would have been absolute uproar if he ended the game with Cork waiting on a 65 to level it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 08, 2025, 02:12:42 PM
Well that settles it. Hate time wasters. Always stop MY watch, and that's the only one that matters.

As for the fouls, while he didn't blow much he was in my view, fair enough, once I seen what he wasn't giving at the start then I knew what to expect
Post by: johnnycool on June 08, 2025, 06:40:55 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on June 08, 2025, 11:13:06 AM

Must be a lot of football fans among the Cork supporters and management. As a member of a hurling and football club, I thought there were blatant fouls on Cork forwards he didn't give. Having said that I felt sorry for him when he went down with cramp.. and was a very hard match to ref.

There was a lot of pulling and dragging by both sets of defenders, I'd prefer it was refereed out of the game but hey ho, I'm in the minority it seems.
Ref was consistent and both teams can point to numerous instances where they were denied legitimate frees.

Well done to Cork, they made it a dog of a game, disrupted Limerick who were below par but Cork were the reason for a lot of it.

After today's Leinster final I'd be surprised if we don't get the trilogy in 6 weeks time  .
Post by: thewobbler on June 09, 2025, 08:49:38 AM
Quote from: EoinW on June 07, 2025, 08:31:21 PMPenalties in hurling?  They might still be taking them Monday!

As I've posted multiple times per summer since forever:

Once you adapt your mindset so that only winners have earned the right  progress in a championship format, then penalties becomes much easier to accept.

For example: neither side was just quite good enough to win on Saturday. So neither side deserved to progress. It's not a narrative you hear much after close games. But it's the truth.

The competition format though requires someone must go through (to the semis), and this time Cork can count their blessings. They won what is effectively a high energy coin toss.

Limerick not getting there is due to the fact that they weren't - on this occasion - good enough to win. Not because of a penalties lottery.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 09, 2025, 08:56:53 AM
It won't matter, its one less game for one, as both will get to the semi finals anyway and avoid each other, should they qualify, till the final, if they don't then that will be down to how Tipp and Kilkenny progress, I don't see them up at that level yet, Kilkenny were impressive at times but that's as poor current a Galway team at Championship level I've seen for a long time, hard to gauge, Kilkenny should/could have beaten Clare last year but a different Clare team came out in the second half..
Post by: EoinW on June 09, 2025, 12:01:27 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 09, 2025, 08:49:38 AM

Once you adapt your mindset so that only winners have earned the right  progress in a championship format, then penalties becomes much easier to accept.

For example: neither side was just quite good enough to win on Saturday. So neither side deserved to progress. It's not a narrative you hear much after close games. But it's the truth.

The competition format though requires someone must go through (to the semis), and this time Cork can count their blessings. They won what is effectively a high energy coin toss.

Limerick not getting there is due to the fact that they weren't - on this occasion - good enough to win. Not because of a penalties lottery.

That's a negative assessment but quite true.  Neither side were good enough to win.  My next thought: let them try to prove themselves worthy next weekend.  I don't see what's so awful about 40,000(and a larger tv audience) getting together in Cork for a replay.
Post by: thewobbler on June 09, 2025, 12:47:00 PM
Well if senior intercounty hurling was a game played in complete isolation of the club game, and played in complete isolation of the scheduling needs of intercounty football, camogie and LGFA, you'd be absolutely right.

But it's not a sport played in isolation.
Post by: johnnycool on June 09, 2025, 01:19:53 PM
Quote from: EoinW on June 09, 2025, 12:01:27 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 09, 2025, 08:49:38 AM

That's a negative assessment but quite true.  Neither side were good enough to win.  My next thought: let them try to prove themselves worthy next weekend.  I don't see what's so awful about 40,000(and a larger tv audience) getting together in Cork for a replay.

As Wobbler points out, the losing of the game isn't the end, but go through either way so penalties after 90 minutes of hurling is about right.

Another game in 7 days would mean the losers would be out three weeks in a row and leave them bolloxed for the quarter final.

It is what it is.
Post by: EoinW on June 10, 2025, 12:02:55 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 09, 2025, 12:47:00 PMWell if senior intercounty hurling was a game played in complete isolation of the club game, and played in complete isolation of the scheduling needs of intercounty football, camogie and LGFA, you'd be absolutely right.

But it's not a sport played in isolation.

This is quite true.  I'd be the first to admit that I'm ignorant about club hurling issues and scheduling.  You can't expect a foreigner to follow everything.

The questions to ask: in Ireland, isn't the inter county championships the most important thing?  If yes, then isn't getting it absolutely right the most important thing?
Post by: EoinW on June 10, 2025, 12:11:02 PM

As Wobbler points out, the losing of the game isn't the end, but go through either way so penalties after 90 minutes of hurling is about right.

Another game in 7 days would mean the losers would be out three weeks in a row and leave them bolloxed for the quarter final.

It is what it is.

Yes it is what it is and we have to accept reality and make the best of it.

Two points:

1) It's a bit disingenuous to pretend no harm is done when any of the upcoming championship games could also be decided by penalties.  Both teams do not advance in that situation.

2) How important are the provincial championships?  Maybe it's time to get rid of them - also in football?

I'm a traditionalist, however the initial idea was four provincial champs advancing to the AI semi final.  That's never really worked in hurling.  Not sure it works that well in football either.  Like Kerry dominating a hurling province.
Post by: johnnycool on June 10, 2025, 03:00:35 PM

It is what it is.
Quote from: EoinW on June 10, 2025, 12:11:02 PMYes it is what it is and we have to accept reality and make the best of it.

Two points:

1) It's a bit disingenuous to pretend no harm is done when any of the upcoming championship games could also be decided by penalties.  Both teams do not advance in that situation.

2) How important are the provincial championships?  Maybe it's time to get rid of them - also in football?

I'm a traditionalist, however the initial idea was four provincial champs advancing to the AI semi final.  That's never really worked in hurling.  Not sure it works that well in football either.  Like Kerry dominating a hurling province.

The point was originally about the Munster final and no one was kicked out of the competition and that stands.

As for the other games left in the championship, this weekend qualifiers, quarter finals and semi-finals are all "winner on the day" with only the AI final able to go to a replay after extra time when the replay will be "winner on the day". All teams are fully aware of that from the get go.

There are teams who win World Cups, Champions league finals when the game goes to penalties and no one bats an eyelid.

It's pretty new in GAA terms and something we need to get used to.

Post by: EoinW on June 10, 2025, 09:57:18 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 10, 2025, 03:00:35 PMAs Wobbler points out, the losing of the game isn't the end, but go through either way so penalties after 90 minutes of hurling is about right.

It is what it is.
Quote from: EoinW on June 10, 2025, 12:11:02 PMYes it is what it is and we have to accept reality and make the best of it.

Two points:

The point was originally about the Munster final and no one was kicked out of the competition and that stands.

As for the other games left in the championship, this weekend qualifiers, quarter finals and semi-finals are all "winner on the day" with only the AI final able to go to a replay after extra time when the replay will be "winner on the day". All teams are fully aware of that from the get go.

There are teams who win World Cups, Champions league finals when the game goes to penalties and no one bats an eyelid.

It's pretty new in GAA terms and something we need to get used to.

No one bats an eyelid?  Seriously?  I stopped watching the World Cup 30 years ago when the 1994 final was decided by penalties.

What you're saying is: no one in authority bats an eyelid.  In other words: obedient people get used to doing anything Authority wants.  Never mind standards, traditions nor fair play.

Sorry for rocking the boat.  21st century sporting standards suck because there aren't any.  Whatever feels right, makes money or appears popular on any given day is all that counts.  Liberalism at it's worst!
Post by: thewobbler on June 10, 2025, 11:22:06 PM
EoinW you're going to find yourself lost in a conundrum here here.

The decision to shelve replays in county championships has not been fuelled by money, but by time. And by time, I mean by giving time back to the purest version of the sport: club championships.

Intercounty is the showcase. But it's not the most important thing. This should be applauded.
Post by: johnnycool on June 11, 2025, 10:26:55 AM
Evidently for you the County game is the be all and end all and that's fine, but for a lot of us involved with clubs up and down the country the split season is a godsend and guess what, the intercounty players are also on for the split season as they can plan their lives around it with a degree of certainty.

If anything traditionally the Munster championship was straight knock out as was the entire intercounty championships, do we revert back to that?
And it also can't be about money as the Munster Council have lost out on a huge payday if there was a replay down in Cork!
I understand your dislike for the penalty shootout, not overly keen on it myself, but it's for the greater good unless you're a lazy journalist.

If there's a bit of fine tuning to have the AI the later in July, I could live with that but we can't be going back to AI's in September which in turn push club hurling even further into the depths of winter and into the following year.

Post by: EoinW on June 11, 2025, 11:39:19 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on June 10, 2025, 11:22:06 PMEoinW you're going to find yourself lost in a conundrum here here.

The decision to shelve replays in county championships has not been fuelled by money, but by time. And by time, I mean by giving time back to the purest version of the sport: club championships.

Intercounty is the showcase. But it's not the most important thing. This should be applauded.

Excellent point!

However the All Irelands ran to September(with replayed drawn games) for over 100 years.  Haven't the GAA created the time constraint themselves with their invention of the group stage and hurling's provincial round robins?

The use of penalties seems a half assed approach to solve a problem of their own making.  Seriously, they couldn't do better than that?

regardless of reasons, it's still a shame to decide contests on penalties.  Couldn't there be a better alternative?

For instance, in the case of a draw, the team with the better record coming into the contest - Limerick finishing first - gets the nod.  Same in football, give a slight advantage to provincial champions.

Anything would be better than penalties, which are a coin toss and a terrible pressure cooker to put the players in.
Post by: EoinW on June 11, 2025, 11:46:58 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 11, 2025, 10:26:55 AMEvidently for you the County game is the be all and end all and that's fine, but for a lot of us involved with clubs up and down the country the split season is a godsend and guess what, the intercounty players are also on for the split season as they can plan their lives around it with a degree of certainty.

If anything traditionally the Munster championship was straight knock out as was the entire intercounty championships, do we revert back to that?
And it also can't be about money as the Munster Council have lost out on a huge payday if there was a replay down in Cork!
I understand your dislike for the penalty shootout, not overly keen on it myself, but it's for the greater good unless you're a lazy journalist.

If there's a bit of fine tuning to have the AI the later in July, I could live with that but we can't be going back to AI's in September which in turn push club hurling even further into the depths of winter and into the following year.

The argument for a split season and finding the time for club games is something I can respect.  Therefore I can accept July championship finals.

However the GAA has chosen to congest the May-June schedule.  Admittedly I love the extra games in hurling - footballs's group stage strikes me as redundant(just to give Dublin 3 extra games?) - however this isn't rocket science.  Surely they could have devised a competition that did not require penalties.  Seems like a lazy decision: let's just copy soccer.

Or I'm a dinosaur lost in the 21st century and need to be quiet.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 11, 2025, 01:37:29 PM
Those within the Munster council, who have higher interests than us non Munster lads, have drawn this up with the ok from the county delegates to have a finish on the day final.. Everyone obviously involved with this knew that it could happen, and accepted the decision on the day..

Given what happened would they vote for that again? Maybe not, who knows but I find the biggest amount of people complaining with the split seasons would be county team (mainly) followers and journo's.. Its taken a bitta time to get used to the early finals but they work now, the 1% of the players can rejoin the 99% of the playing members and get prepared to get stuck into their neighbours  ;)

Love the club championships right through to their conclusion, TG4 have brought these small parishes to your living room and the faces on those clubmen in the stand and on the pitch really do it for me
Post by: seafoid on June 11, 2025, 07:09:24 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on June 11, 2025, 10:26:55 AMEvidently for you the County game is the be all and end all and that's fine, but for a lot of us involved with clubs up and down the country the split season is a godsend and guess what, the intercounty players are also on for the split season as they can plan their lives around it with a degree of certainty.

There could be a 4 week break in hurling and football in July to start club games and the all Ireland series to start in August.
Post by: johnnycool on June 12, 2025, 10:13:58 AM
Quote from: seafoid on June 11, 2025, 07:09:24 PM

There could be a 4 week break in hurling and football in July to start club games and the all Ireland series to start in August.

That doesn't make any sense.

What will the intercounty managers do during that 4 weeks? They'll train the bejaysus out of their panels and not let them near their clubs.

Post by: Franko on June 13, 2025, 04:04:24 PM
Quote from: seafoid on June 11, 2025, 07:09:24 PM

Lol - you clearly haven't thought this through