GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Blowitupref on March 31, 2025, 01:20:04 PM

Title: Connacht senior football championship 2025
Post by: Blowitupref on March 31, 2025, 01:20:04 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GnmzFJjXUAEoyhW?format=jpg&name=4096x4096)

Three games this weekend.

On Saturday
London v Roscommon, McGovern Park, Ruislip, 2:30pm

On Sunday
New York v Galway, Gaelic Park, 8pm Irish time
Mayo v Sligo,Machale Park, 3.30pm

The matches in London and New York will be streamed live on GAA+

Semi finals
April 20th Galway/New York v Roscommon/London at 4pm in Pearse Stadium
April 19th Leitrim v Mayo/Sligo  4:30pm in Markievicz Park/ Carrick on Shannon.

Final  4th May at 4pm

Galway going for 4 Connacht titles in a row something they haven't done since the 60s which was that Great Galway team that won three All Ireland titles in a row. 
Title: Re: Connacht senior football championship 2025
Post by: SLIGONIAN on March 31, 2025, 05:18:44 PM
Championship week is upon us. Mayo v Sligo in Castlebar. I have mixed feelings on our chances tbh. Kerry curtailed Mayo's pace well today but I don't see Sligo doing as good a job. They run a lot of forward attacks through Hession coming out of defence and they use McLaughlins pace to break lines and create space. They don't really have any markee great footballers anymore, its all about athleticism and pace with Mayo nowadays. O Shea causes us problems, McGuinness usually isn't able to handle him. He will need help as I haven't seen us stop his physicality before. The space in front of the FB lines needs to be covered somewhat. Ruane too is a danger from midfield. Ryan O Donoghue who had a quiet enough game yesterday will take a lot of watching. I don't know if McNamara or Lyons can handle him tbh especially if he gets good ball. If we can put Mayo under pressure you have a chance but I honestly don't know if we will. We've beaten there u20s last 3 years and that should count for something in terms of belief but Mayo have hammered us recently at senior so there is mentality damage there. Mayo will not respect Sligo so they will push forward a lot more than yesterday and push the gain line, if we are clever we can funnel their speed into traps.

For us Cummins being injured recently concerns me as I don't see him being 100% and he already lacks pace, great going forward but he will leave the full backs exposed and he won't mark his man. They'll start him even on one leg which I don't agree with but I hope he is fully fit.

We need Mulligan and O Connor to get some sort of parity in midfield. This Sligo team should be built on winning breaks and short kick outs. Mayo's forwards are very good at pressing and tackling defenders coming out of defence. We need to be careful but confident enough to pass it forward. I'd say Spillane and Hession will battle it out, hopefully we can have him to do some defending. Murphy can definitely do damage to those Mayo backs but will struggle to find separation, Mayo rotated 3 on Clifford all day and limited him well enough in fairness. For me we need Lally to find form, we need a confident Lally firing on all cylinders, winning ball and running at Mayo. If he can't find form he probably won't start. Hoping McLoughlin for us can find separation and be in scoring positions. I expect a big game from Towey, Mullen and Cox for us. Eddie needs to back himself if O Shea goes in FF and play on the front foot. I really hope the Sligo players exude the body language of belief and trust in themselves and not of fear.

Championship is different and any weaknesses will be exposed. I have a fair idea of ours but we will see for ourselves on Sunday. Its a great test for all involved, hopefully we can rise up to meet it. And if we have a lead late on lads, hopefully we keep the ball moving but have cover behind the ball too. We need to watch the momentum swings too. I wish going into this I trusted Management to get the tactics, match ups and team selection right but Sunday is a chance to build that trust and the people of Sligo who are ambitious and who are not happy with mediocrity or morale victories are owed a hell of lot better than the last 10 years at senior and deserve a big statement senior win. If McEntee and Keane are so bloody good after 5 and 7 years, then now is the time to show us. You've had enough time. All the best to Sligo players and management.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 04, 2025, 09:33:03 AM
Galway starting 15 & subs vs New York for Sunday.

1. Conor Flaherty (Claregalway)
2. Jonathan McGrath (Caherlistrane)
3. Seán Fitzgerald (CLG Bhearna)
4. Jack Glynn (Claregalway)
5. Kieran Molloy (CorofinGAA)
6. Seán Kelly - Capt (Mhaigh Cuilinn)
7. Cian Hernon (CLG Bhearna)
8. Matthew Tierney (Oughterard)
9. John Maher (Salthill Knocknacarra)
10. Matthew Thompson (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
11. Cillian McDaid (Monivea/Abbey)
12. Daniel O'Flaherty (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
13. Brian Mannion (Tuam Stars)
14. Robert Finnerty (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
15. Finnian Ó Laoí (An Spidéal)

Subs
16. Connor Gleeson (Dunmore MacHales)
17. Seán Ó Maoilchiaráin (CLG Oileáin Árann)
18. Billy Mannion (Mountbellew Moylough)
19. Jack O'Neill (St. James)
20. Diarmuid Kilcommins (Annaghdown)
21. Paul Conroy (St. James')
22. Céin D'Arcy (Boden)
23. Liam Ó Conghaile (An Spidéal)
24. Cathal Sweeney (Salthill/Knocknacarra)
25. Patrick Egan (Corofin)
26. Sam O'Neill (St. James')

Comer,Shane Walsh,McHugh,Silke,John Daly,Heaney among those sitting out this game.

Roscommon team to play London.

Conor Carroll (Oranmore-Maree)
Pearse Frost (St Brigids)
John McManus (Roscommon Gaels)
David Murray (Padraig Pearses)
Ruaidhri Fallon (St Brigids)
Colm Neary (Strokestown)
Dylan Ruane (Michael Glaveys)
Eddie Nolan (St Brigids)
Keith Doyle (St Dominics)
Ultan Harney (Clann na nGael)
Enda Smith (Boyle)
Ben O'Carroll (St Brigids)
Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleachs)
Cian McKeon (Boyle)
Ciarain Murtagh (St Faithleachs)

Subs

Aaron Brady (Elphin)
Niall Higgins (Navan)
Ronan Daly (Padraig Pearses)
Shane Killoran (Elphin)
Declan Kenny (Padraig Pearses)
Conor Hand (St Brigids)
Shane Cunnane (St Brigids)
Cathal Heneghan (Michael Glaveys
Senan Lambe (Roscommon Gaels)
Conor Cox (Éire Óg)
Donie Smith (Boyle)

Mayo team to play Sligo on Sunday.

Colm Reape Knockmore
Jack Coyne Ballyhaunis
Donnacha McHugh Castlebar Mitchels
Enda Hession Garrymore
Sam Callinan Ballina Stephenites
David McBrien Ballaghaderreen
Stephen Coen Hollymount Carramore
Jack Carney Kilmeena
Matthew Ruane Breaffy
Davitt Neary Breaffy
Darren McHale Knockmore
Jordan Flynn Crossmolina Deel Rovers
Aidan O'Shea Breaffy
Frank Irwin Ballina Stephenites
Ryan O'Donoghue Béal an Mhuirthead

SUBS:

16. Adrian Phillips Ballyhaunis
17. Conor Reid Moy Davitts
18. Diarmuid O'Connor Ballintubber
19. Dylan Thornton Ballina Stephenites
20. Eoghan McLaughlin Westport
21. Fergal Boland Aghamore
22. Fenton Kelly Davitts
23. Niall Coggins Crossmolina Deel Rovers
24. Paul Towey Charlestown Sarsfields
25. Sean Morahan Castlebar Mitchels
26. Shairorze Akram Ballaghaderreen

Sligo team

Daniel Lyons – Shamrock Gaels
Evan Lyons – Shamrock Gaels
Eddie McGuinness – Tubbercurry
Paul McNamara – St. John's
Brian Cox – Calry St. Joseph's
Nathan Mullen – Coolaney Mullinabreena
Luke Towey – St. Molaise Gaels
Canice Mulligan – St. Pat's
Paddy O'Connor – Kilmacud Crokes Dublin
Ross Doherty – Coolera Strandhill
David Quinn – Shamrock Gaels
Alan Reilly – Curry
Alan McLoughlin – St. Molaise Gaels
Niall Murphy – Coolera Strandhill
Pat Spillane – St. Jude's Dublin
Post by: twohands!!! on April 04, 2025, 02:13:15 PM
Strong looking Galway squad especially when you see the lads being rested.
Rossies should have enough for London but that 2nd half display against Monaghan was very unconnvincing. I definitely felt watching it that once the Monaghan goal went in Roscommon as a team pretty much said (right, forget this lark. We have a championship game next week) Similarly it's hard to know what to make of Mayo's performance - they didn't look overly bothered in the Kerry game - I wouldn't be surprised if come Sunday evening the general consensus is that they were targeting the championship. Have a soft spot for Sligo so would like to see them going well. Only the start of April and Championship is upon us - like a lot of others still not rightly used to it.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 05, 2025, 07:25:13 PM
Routine 2-26 to 0-13 win for Roscommon over in London this afternoon. 12 different scorers and Ben O'Carroll coming into form a bonus
Post by: highorlow on April 06, 2025, 06:29:18 PM
Mayo for Sam
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 06, 2025, 07:22:52 PM
Match Mayo never looked like losing as Sligo kept plugging away but conceding 2-17 at home to a team while decent they didn't get out of div 3 shows how much improving Mayo needs if they have plans to win Connacht.
Post by: Rossfan on April 06, 2025, 08:19:51 PM
If Galway are planning for bigger things it could leave  Ros and Rhubarbs fighting for Nestor.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 06, 2025, 08:44:40 PM
Competitive first half from New York.  New York 0-12 Galway 1-12.
Post by: galwayman on April 06, 2025, 08:56:44 PM
Shite Galway performance in the first half.
Few lads who got starts shown to most likely not be up to this level (a Mannion & O'Laoi for example).
Hope John Maher is okay.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 06, 2025, 09:19:49 PM
Quote from: galwayman on April 06, 2025, 08:56:44 PMShite Galway performance in the first half.
Few lads who got starts shown to most likely not be up to this level (a Mannion & O'Laoi for example).
Hope John Maher is okay.

Maher would be a big loss.
Galway very unimpressive in the first half.
New York look to have run out of puff a bit in the 2nd half.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 06, 2025, 09:43:24 PM
All too easy for Galway 2nd half. FT New York 0-20 Galway 3-28
Post by: SLIGONIAN on April 06, 2025, 10:57:18 PM
There were a lot of positives and learnings to take from today game for Sligo but like Galway last year, Mayo were there for the taking today and we can't just keep getting close and losing indefinitely especially when teams aren't at their best. We have to find the ambition to wining. As mentally strong as we showed Mayo upped it when needed to keep us at arms length, its just a pity Spillane didn't bury his goal chance as I felt closer proximity on the score earlier could have spooked Mayo and sparked us. The late score just came too late and inside the arc but how we let O Shea win that last kickout when we were favorites to win it.

Winning kickouts is our main issue. We are smaller but shouldn't that mean sharper to win breaks. We need to find a way to win Kickouts. Effectively you are asking a natural HB and forward to play Midfield which we don't really have any other options right now.

Towey, Lally, Murphy, McLoughlin, Spillane all showed very well at various stages. Look there were a few out of their depth but fair play to all. Fair play to Lally especially who seemed to struggle throughout the league, he showed serious courage there today. He never stopped pushing the gainline. I liked the energy of the subs.

Especially after early openness the defence did well to settle and create turnovers. As a unit they did a lot of good stuff although Mayo got their scores much easier than us.

Management had us well prepared and team are playing for them but given this trend throughout the year why the early season poorness? If we could address that there would be very little criticism. I liked Aaron Kernans interview after the game, you could tell he was disappointed more than proud and that's how it should be.

On to the Tailtean cup now which for me we have to win outright. We are good enough and we have to start winning big games against top 20 teams. It is a good starting point that we are competitive in Connacht at senior again but we need to be more ruthless.

Watching Roscommon and Galway both were well below par in the 1st half of both matches but I doubt they will go down to that level again v better opposition.
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2025, 09:09:07 AM
3 results as expected, 2 routine wins and Sligo save face.
Not much excitement around.

Apart from Longford v Wicklow not much excitement any where else either.
15k in Ballybofey, 9k in Castlebar.
Was there 15k in total at the other 7 games?

Anyway on the Easter weekend.
Ros might put it up to Galway while Carrick might make some money if the Rhubarb army bothers to turn up for a turkey shoot.

Post by: Cortoon on April 07, 2025, 12:13:31 PM
John Maher's injury is annoying because of the surface they're expected to play on in New York.
Galway will still have plenty to spare over Roscommon the next day.
Post by: weareros on April 07, 2025, 12:34:45 PM
Quote from: Cortoon on April 07, 2025, 12:13:31 PMJohn Maher's injury is annoying because of the surface they're expected to play on in New York.

Joyce says it doesn't look too serious. Great hardworking player, would be a big loss. Those 4G surfaces always risk injuries, but that said, it's the same type of surface that John Prenty expects the Connacht teams to play on, in his dome before it blew away in the storm, right before the league - till the GAA called a halt on the FBD and preliminary competitions. Even then Padraic Joyce did not like risking his best players and was starting to play B teams in the FBD.
Post by: mouview on April 08, 2025, 03:50:19 PM
Quote from: Cortoon on April 07, 2025, 12:13:31 PMJohn Maher's injury is annoying because of the surface they're expected to play on in New York.

Wouldn't be so blase about that outcome. The way Galway finished the league (last 3 games), you'd fear for them against any Div. I or II opposition. In spite of having a lot of good players on the team , they're not defending at all well and conceding scores far too easily. PJ just doesn't seem to have gotten the balance in the team right at all yet.
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on April 15, 2025, 12:09:40 PM
Leitrim are 80/1 to beat Mayo this weekend.

Is that a record in a one off game?
Post by: Rossfan on April 15, 2025, 12:25:43 PM
"Its all the new rules' fault"
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 15, 2025, 01:25:03 PM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on April 15, 2025, 12:09:40 PMLeitrim are 80/1 to beat Mayo this weekend.

Is that a record in a one off game?

New York and London had similar odds over the years but probably the longest odds for Leitrim to win a home Connacht championship game. They were 40/1 to win some of their home Div 3 games and were well beaten.  Record margin defeat in Connacht for Leitrim is I think by 24 points to Mayo and with the new rules with scores coming much easier now that could well be surpassed this Saturday.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 17, 2025, 09:19:54 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GowzGfDXQAIph-_?format=jpg&name=medium)
Post by: joemamas on April 17, 2025, 09:35:44 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 17, 2025, 09:19:54 PM(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GowzGfDXQAIph-_?format=jpg&name=medium)

one could argue (with Shane Walsh) it is one of the strongest squads in Ireland.
personally wouldnt be surprised if neither Maher nor McDaid don't start, as Maher injured his ankle, and McDaid had to go off with some injury or other 10 or 15 mins from end.
As for both of the guys who came on to replace them, it would be an understatement to say they were not lacking in size.
Post by: galwayman on April 17, 2025, 09:38:34 PM
What is the issue with Shane?
Wouldn't be surprised if there are a few changes before throw in.
 No idea how O'Laoi has managed to get into that team given his performances in the league and against New York.
Post by: Duine Eile on April 17, 2025, 09:41:10 PM
Quote from: galwayman on April 17, 2025, 09:38:34 PMWhat is the issue with Shane?
Wouldn't be surprised if there are a few changes before throw in.
 No idea how O'Laoi has managed to get into that team given his performances in the league and against New York.

All the players on the bench along with the stand by players are a better option than O Laoi at this stage, I can't understand how he's keeping his place.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 17, 2025, 10:51:22 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on April 17, 2025, 09:19:54 PM(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GowzGfDXQAIph-_?format=jpg&name=medium)

Apart from Walsh,Comer probably Galways strongest team and remains to be seen how many minutes Comer get as his injury is looked to be managed better this year than last.

Roscommon line out published

Conor Carroll - Oranmore?Maree
Ronan Daly -  Padraig Pearses  David Murray - Padraig Pearses  Niall Higgins -  Navan O'Mahaony's
Ruaidhri Fallon -  St Brigids  Brian Stack - St Brigids     Colm Neary - Strokestown
Eddie Nolan - St Brigids   Shane Cunnane - St Brigids
Ultan Harney - Clann na nGael Enda Smith - Boyle  Ciarain Murtagh - St Faithleachs
Diarmuid Murtagh - St Faithleachs  Ben O'Carroll - St Brigids  Cian McKeon - Boyle

Subs
Aaron Brady - Elphin
Senan Lambe - Roscommon Gaels
Dylan Ruane - Michael Glaveys
John McManus - Roscommon Gaels
Pearse Frost - St Brigids
Keith Doyle - St Dominics
Daire Cregg - Boyle
Donie Smith - Boyle
Shane Killoran - Elphin
Conor Cox - Éire Óg
Conor Hand - St Brigids
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 18, 2025, 03:24:12 PM
Galway v Roscommon should be interesting game on Sunday hopefully the weather doesn't ruin the contest which is pot luck in April in Salthill if it's a good day weather wise.

Before then Mayo have named unchanged team to face Leitrim tomorrow.  200 appearance for Aidan O'Shea.

Colm Reape; Jack Coyne, Donnacha McHuygh, Enda Hession; Sam Callinan, David McBrien, Stephen Coen; Jack Carney, Matthew Ruane; Davitt Neary, Darren McHale, Fenton Kelly; Aidan O'Shea, Dylan Thornton, Ryan O'Donoghue.

Subs: Adrian Phillips, Conor Reid, Diarmuid O'Connor, Eoghan McLaughlin, Eoin O'Donoghue, Fergal Boland, Frank Irwin, Jordan Flynn, Niall Coggins, Paul Towey, Shairoze Akram.

Leitrim team
Daire O'Shea; Kieran Clancy, Donal Casey, Eanna McNamara; James Rooney, Mark Diffley, Jack Foley; Barry McNulty, Cillian McGloin; Jack Flynn, Keith Keegan, Paul Honeyman; Darren Cox, Riordan O'Rourke, Tom Prior.

Subs: Brian Cull, Ryan Bohan, Tm Hughes, David Feeney, Conall McGovern, Shane FInn, Keelan McHugh, Jack Rowley, Paddy Keane, Ben Guckian, Joe McGloin
Post by: Rossfan on April 18, 2025, 04:25:22 PM
We travel in hope but not much expectations.
Hopefully a decent performance and see where that takes us.
Hopefully poor oul Laythrum on their new pitch don't get humiliated too much.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 19, 2025, 04:50:56 PM
After 20 minutes in Pairc Sean.  Leitrim 0-5 Mayo 0-4.    Leitrim 0-6 Mayo 0-6 after 30 minutes.

Half time Leitrim 0-7 Mayo 0-8.  Well done to Leitrim gave it all in that 1st half probably deserved to lead had more chances than Mayo.

45 mins played Leitrim 0-10 Mayo 0-11.

Best spell in the game for Mayo as they now lead 0-15 to 0-10 with 18 minutes to play.

3 minutes left  Leitrim 0-13 Mayo: 0-18

Full time Leitrim 0-13 Mayo 0-20.   Credit to Leitrim for such a competitive 70 minute performance against Div 1 finalist.
Post by: meathie on April 19, 2025, 05:38:53 PM
Still close in this. I'm sure Mayo will start to pull away from here but point in it at the min
Post by: imtommygunn on April 19, 2025, 05:53:06 PM
This is a very conflicting game. You want the underdog to win but you wouldn't want to see poacher validated...
Post by: Rossfan on April 19, 2025, 06:34:38 PM
Respectability restored to Laythrums.
Th'others coming in to the Final under the radar.
Post by: Tubberman on April 19, 2025, 07:56:28 PM
under the radar suggests McStay is some conniving tactical genius who's fooling everyone until he unveils his masterplan when it's least expected.
I hope you're right, because if the team are playing to the gameplan mgmt have given them, they'd want to take a bottle of whiskey and a revolver...
Post by: ck on April 20, 2025, 07:38:35 AM
Awesome performance by Leitrim. Could have won it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 20, 2025, 08:03:10 AM
Quote from: ck on April 20, 2025, 07:38:35 AMAwesome performance by Leitrim. Could have won it.

Couldn't field in the league and put in a performance like that. Crazy
Post by: larryin89 on April 20, 2025, 09:10:35 AM
Very hard to just accept you're not good enough anymore , walking out of carrick yesterday it hit me at last (about three yrs behind normal people ) , we just don't have the players . I'm sure they are all trying their best though . Whoever wins the Galway / ros game today should go on to lift the Nestor cup in castlebar in two weeks time .

Mayo management not covering themselves in glory either , their total lack of enthusiasm to adopt to the new rules like every other football team in the country is bizarre . They point blank refuse to attack at speed or let the ball do the work by kicking long , of course there will be some plays where the old style of lateral ponderous boring dross is neeeded but our bucks are being coached to do it as often as was in the old rules which is completely futile to making gains or taking advantage
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 20, 2025, 04:10:39 PM
Commentator not know advantage is as long as it takes. I thought the Galway keeper brought down u ros man there for a penalty. Ref when bck to initial advantage. If u fouled during advantage should that not overrule the initial foul. Ref chickened out on penalty either way.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 20, 2025, 04:18:17 PM
Galway keeper wouldn't rush himself.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on April 20, 2025, 04:21:11 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 20, 2025, 04:10:39 PMCommentator not know advantage is as long as it takes. I thought the Galway keeper brought down u ros man there for a penalty. Ref when bck to initial advantage. If u fouled during advantage should that not overrule the initial foul. Ref chickened out on penalty either way.

Only a foul if the ref calls it ;)
Post by: Blowitupref on April 20, 2025, 04:44:32 PM
Probably should have been a Roscommon penalty. 0-4 each after 20 minutes nothing between the sides then Galway took over with the help of a lucky enough goal and three two pointers 1-12 to 0-7 at the break.
Post by: larryin89 on April 20, 2025, 04:45:12 PM
Galway looking very comfortable so far , very good side , ourselves and ros look a level below tbh .

On a side note has Joyce got a free pass to shout and roar at officials constantly?
Post by: Chimley on April 20, 2025, 05:13:20 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 20, 2025, 04:45:12 PMGalway looking very comfortable so far , very good side , ourselves and ros look a level below tbh .

On a side note has Joyce got a free pass to shout and roar at officials constantly?

Just not too sure about the 80's pornstache look.
Post by: Tubberman on April 20, 2025, 05:19:20 PM
Hurson very harsh on Ros from what I've seen. some very soft frees for Galway and some fairly obvious fouls against them not given, including penalty.
Galway still look fairly comfortable though
Post by: Blowitupref on April 20, 2025, 05:47:04 PM
Disappointing non competitive contest in Pearse Stadium Galway remain on course for 4 Connacht titles in a row

Post by: galwayman on April 20, 2025, 05:55:17 PM
Professional performance from our lads.
A very meek Roscommon showing though.
Very different challenge awaits in Castlebar. Anything you get from there you earn it!
Mayo don't do meek when they play Galway that's for sure
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on April 20, 2025, 05:57:33 PM
Roscommon flatter to deceive again
Post by: rodney trotter on April 20, 2025, 06:08:05 PM
Roscommon look to be going backwards under Davy Burke. Lucky enough to be promoted in Div 2.
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on April 20, 2025, 06:23:07 PM
That match was some borefest after what we saw in Ennis beforehand.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 20, 2025, 06:45:46 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 20, 2025, 06:08:05 PMRoscommon look to be going backwards under Davy Burke. Lucky enough to be promoted in Div 2.

Year one he had Mark McHugh to help out and without him since Burke has been showed up as clueless on how to set up a team defensively.  Roscommon performance today similar to Cavan v Tyrone a boring contest that was pretty won by half time.

I still won't be surprised if Mayo raise their performance for the final and do ambush on Galway.
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on April 20, 2025, 06:57:13 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 20, 2025, 06:45:46 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 20, 2025, 06:08:05 PMRoscommon look to be going backwards under Davy Burke. Lucky enough to be promoted in Div 2.

Year one he had Mark McHugh to help out and without him since Burke has been showed up as clueless on how to set up a team defensively.  Roscommon performance today similar to Cavan v Tyrone a boring contest that was pretty won by half time.

I still won't be surprised if Mayo raise their performance for the final and do ambush on Galway.

Wouldn't surprise me at all if Mayo beat Galway. They'll have at least one or two big performances in them this year.
Post by: seafoid on April 20, 2025, 07:02:57 PM
Hard luck to the neighbours. This is a very good Galway team. It won't always be the case.
Post by: galwayman on April 20, 2025, 07:28:37 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on April 20, 2025, 06:45:46 PM

It's never an ambush though.
When have Galway ever had it their own way in a championship game in Castlebar?
When these two play each other - often times the weaker team "on paper" raise their game.
Roscommon weren't at the races today.
A Galway forward line without Walsh and Comer will struggle to beat the stronger teams. I would class Mayo in Castlebar as one of the stronger teams.
It's arguably a bigger game for Mayo than Galway as this management team haven't won Connacht. In fact Rochford has never won Connacht before either as a manager or selector.
It couldn't be set up better for them. Home advantage. Underdogs. Walsh probably won't play. Comer will be on the bench most likely.
Galway won't want to lose obviously but as others have said I wouldn't be one iota surprised if Mayo win it.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 20, 2025, 07:31:13 PM
Galway got a strong team. Alot of size, scoring power and a good defence. I still be concerned about their keeper. I think they stronger looking than other contenders  at the minute.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on April 20, 2025, 08:06:07 PM
Galway were the best team in Ireland last year. Beat themselves in the final. They deserve to win one with these players.
Post by: Rossfan on April 20, 2025, 09:34:54 PM
Been a while since we flattered!
Post by: Duine Eile on April 20, 2025, 10:19:44 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 20, 2025, 07:31:13 PMGalway got a strong team. Alot of size, scoring power and a good defence. I still be concerned about their keeper. I think they stronger looking good than other contenders  at the minute.

Good win today, thought playing Liam Silke so far forward worked really well, he was everywhere. I've had my concerns about Gleeson in the past but in fairness to him he's so much steadier than he was, he's really improved.
Post by: moysider on April 21, 2025, 12:22:43 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 20, 2025, 09:10:35 AMVery hard to just accept you're not good enough anymore , walking out of carrick yesterday it hit me at last (about three yrs behind normal people ) , we just don't have the players . I'm sure they are all trying their best though . Whoever wins the Galway / ros game today should go on to lift the Nestor cup in castlebar in two weeks time .

Mayo management not covering themselves in glory either , their total lack of enthusiasm to adopt to the new rules like every other football team in the country is bizarre . They point blank refuse to attack at speed or let the ball do the work by kicking long , of course there will be some plays where the old style of lateral ponderous boring dross is neeeded but our bucks are being coached to do it as often as was in the old rules which is completely futile to making gains or taking advantage

I was there as well. Not enough players are good enough but when they were, we managed to fcku it up anyway. Poor coaching/ management has always been issue with us and still is.
The poor attendance yesterday and for some time now is a reflection on how we have lost our way. Rochfordball is redundant and never really was relevant. It didn't work in the old rules and can't work in the new rules. But they persist.
Younger players are going backwards.
No younger player has come on this year. Some have a few nice cameos and then go into their shell.
We look like we are over coached in a shtie game plan. It's unwatchable.
The attendances don't lie.
Post by: ck on April 21, 2025, 02:56:24 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 20, 2025, 09:34:54 PMBeen a while since we flattered!

You boys had a good first year under Davy but have gone backways since. You have the players, particularly the forwards but just have not progressed this year at all. Beating Div.2 opposition is no barometer. You have to be beating some of the Top 8/10 and Rossies just can't seem to go there.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 21, 2025, 04:01:35 PM
Would Roscommon not be classed in the top 10.
Post by: fearbrags on April 21, 2025, 04:24:14 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on April 21, 2025, 04:01:35 PMWould Roscommon not be classed in the top 10.

Well if the top 10  it would be number 10 , and I dont think we are even number 10 at this stage, Over  the past decade we had great players ie Dalys Smiths and Murtaghs and a few others  and but they are now on the  wrong side of 30 , so we need some of the younger players to kick on , but that hasnt really happened yet   
Post by: Rossfan on April 21, 2025, 07:16:15 PM
We'll do well to make the Sam cut in 2027 as there will be no Smiths, Murtaghs or Dalys by then.
We'll make it next year as we'll be in D1.
The above mentioned lads were in their youthful prime when we won Connachts in 2017 and 2019. Even then we couldn't compete at National level shipping some awful Quarter Final hammerings.

The 2020s have in the main been disappointing at Senior while remaining between 9th and 12th in the unofficial pecking order.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 21, 2025, 07:43:55 PM
I'd say it's a long time since odds was like this for MacHale Park Connacht final between Galway and Mayo. What must be Taking into account is that Galway have already beaten Mayo by 10 points in MacHale Park this year and Mayo less than convincing in win against Sligo and Leitrim. 

Mayo 11/4   Galway 1/5

Kevin McStay as manager has won a Connacht title before with similar odds with Roscommon in 2017.
Post by: joemamas on April 21, 2025, 07:58:24 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 21, 2025, 12:22:43 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 20, 2025, 09:10:35 AMVery hard to just accept you're not good enough anymore , walking out of carrick yesterday it hit me at last (about three yrs behind normal people ) , we just don't have the players . I'm sure they are all trying their best though . Whoever wins the Galway / ros game today should go on to lift the Nestor cup in castlebar in two weeks time .

I was there as well. Not enough players are good enough but when they were, we managed to fcku it up anyway. Poor coaching/ management has always been issue with us and still is.
The poor attendance yesterday and for some time now is a reflection on how we have lost our way. Rochfordball is redundant and never really was relevant. It didn't work in the old rules and can't work in the new rules. But they persist.
No younger player has come on this year. Some have a few nice cameos and then go into their shell.

Nice to hear from some legacy Mayo bloggers, as this site which was always a go one on a Monday following a game about five years ago, unfortunately it has been polluted by WUM and is now one that I avoid for the most part.
I began the year a bit more hopeful than most, especially after 2024, when we "lost/got robbed" V Galway, drew with Dublin and lost to Derry on penalties. Very small margins.
I respect Kevin McStay, he is a genuine Mayo man at heart, who knows what would have happened if he had got the job seven or eight years ago.
The reality is that this is a very different team, every county (other than Dublin or Maybe Kerry) have to go through the transition stage, the Mayo county boards pathetic efforts, to put in place inept underage managers over the past ten years, has left us in a deep hole talent wise.
Kevin McStay really has no option but to attempt to try new players, however having said that some of the selections seem puzzling at best. Totally agree with Rochfords imprint on it, hold on to possession for as long as possible, and dont kick it, because if you do you will be replaced, simple as. Go back and look a the contrasting styles of Mayo and Kerry attacking in the league final, clear as day. As for the cameos going back into their shell, they are promptly put into said shell. I wan to try to avoid using names as I genuinely believe that the effort these lads are putting in is incredible, but there are at least one or two constant starters that IMO are just not up to county standards, particularly in todays game. One sub that came on and scored two points V leitrim and was involved in a few more scores, did not even figure V Sligo (last three minutes), it is the same for every game, play twenty minutes, how can you have a settled strategy, when you dont have any remotely like a settled selection.
I will also be in Castlebar, in two weeks, God willing. If Mayo don't pull a performance out of their arse, they could easily be beaten by six or more. Make no mistake PJ and co screwed up royally in last years final, picking two if not three half fit players. Fast forward to 2025, they just seem to have a far stronger and more physical panel.
Maybe they might return the favor of yesteryear and have a player sent off.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 21, 2025, 08:02:23 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 21, 2025, 07:16:15 PMWe'll do well to make the Sam cut in 2027 as there will be no Smiths, Murtaghs or Dalys by then.
We'll make it next year as we'll be in D1.
The above mentioned lads were in their youthful prime when we won Connachts in 2017 and 2019. Even then we couldn't compete at National level shipping some awful Quarter Final hammerings.

The 2020s have in the main been disappointing at Senior while remaining between 9th and 12th in the unofficial pecking order.

No Daly's yesterday and were missed.  Enda Smith and Diarmuid Murtagh just turned 30 are you expecting both to have retired by age 32?  Paul Conroy footballer of the year and one of the stand out players yesterday will turn 36 next month.

The odds on Mayo for the final are very much ambush territory.
Post by: Rossfan on April 21, 2025, 08:46:23 PM
If you're in your early 30s on a team with no obvious game plan and "ad hocing" from game to game and you've 10 years service......
Post by: galwayman on April 21, 2025, 09:48:54 PM
I genuinely can't see on what planet Mayo are 11/4 odds at home to Galway.
Struggling to see the basis for those odds. What's the basis for it? Mayo being unconvincing against Leitrim (no win situation) and us being clinical against a very poor Roscommon team?
Bizarre. Walsh isn't fit. Comer isn't properly fit either and likely to be on the bench. Which means in theory we should struggle for scores.
Completely 50-50 game for me
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on April 21, 2025, 09:58:07 PM
When Galway footballers start believing the hype, they get picked off.
There's a lot of overconfidence there at the moment I think.
Post by: galwayman on April 21, 2025, 10:14:32 PM
Quote from: Cyril Farrell fan on April 21, 2025, 09:58:07 PMWhen Galway footballers start believing the hype, they get picked off.

Overconfidence from who?
Zero evidence of any over confidence in that camp.
Post by: SouthOfThe Bann on April 21, 2025, 11:27:16 PM
Quote from: Cyril Farrell fan on April 21, 2025, 09:58:07 PMWhen Galway footballers start believing the hype, they get picked off.

Are you South Galway men begrudging your fellow County men?
Post by: Manning18 on April 21, 2025, 11:49:52 PM
Quote from: galwayman on April 21, 2025, 09:48:54 PMI genuinely can't see on what planet Mayo are 11/4 odds at home to Galway.
Struggling to see the basis for those odds. What's the basis for it? Mayo being unconvincing against Leitrim (no win situation) and us being clinical against a very poor Roscommon team?
Bizarre. Walsh isn't fit. Comer isn't properly fit either and likely to be on the bench. Which means in theory we should struggle for scores.
Completely 50-50 game for me

People are getting way overexcited about a throwaway outright market that was probably revised in error. They haven't even the match itself priced up yet

Boylesports have the game at 1/2 Galway and 2/1 Mayo which is about correct. GAA is a priority for boyles. In about 20000 priorities for $40bn company Flutter (Paddy power) it's about 19900 on the list
Post by: stephenite on April 22, 2025, 02:20:52 AM
Quote from: joemamas on April 21, 2025, 07:58:24 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 21, 2025, 12:22:43 AM

Nice to hear from some legacy Mayo bloggers, as this site which was always a go one on a Monday following a game about five years ago, unfortunately it has been polluted by WUM and is now one that I avoid for the most part.
I began the year a bit more hopeful than most, especially after 2024, when we "lost/got robbed" V Galway, drew with Dublin and lost to Derry on penalties. Very small margins.
I respect Kevin McStay, he is a genuine Mayo man at heart, who knows what would have happened if he had got the job seven or eight years ago.
The reality is that this is a very different team, every county (other than Dublin or Maybe Kerry) have to go through the transition stage, the Mayo county boards pathetic efforts, to put in place inept underage managers over the past ten years, has left us in a deep hole talent wise.
Kevin McStay really has no option but to attempt to try new players, however having said that some of the selections seem puzzling at best. Totally agree with Rochfords imprint on it, hold on to possession for as long as possible, and dont kick it, because if you do you will be replaced, simple as. Go back and look a the contrasting styles of Mayo and Kerry attacking in the league final, clear as day. As for the cameos going back into their shell, they are promptly put into said shell. I wan to try to avoid using names as I genuinely believe that the effort these lads are putting in is incredible, but there are at least one or two constant starters that IMO are just not up to county standards, particularly in todays game. One sub that came on and scored two points V leitrim and was involved in a few more scores, did not even figure V Sligo (last three minutes), it is the same for every game, play twenty minutes, how can you have a settled strategy, when you dont have any remotely like a settled selection.
I will also be in Castlebar, in two weeks, God willing. If Mayo don't pull a performance out of their arse, they could easily be beaten by six or more. Make no mistake PJ and co screwed up royally in last years final, picking two if not three half fit players. Fast forward to 2025, they just seem to have a far stronger and more physical panel.
Maybe they might return the favor of yesteryear and have a player sent off.

Nice to see 2 of the old school legends are still with us
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on April 22, 2025, 10:02:53 AM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on April 21, 2025, 11:27:16 PM

I'm not begrudging anyone. I'm from a hurling area, but would always back the footballers.
There is a pattern over the years. Once lads start to enjoy the trappings of being a Galway footballer, strutting around like posers, enjoying the attention, then it's a sign there's trouble on the way.

That's as much a problem in Galway hurling too. A whiff of stardom and the foot is off the gas.
If only we had a bunch of dull and boring lads like Kilkenny.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on April 22, 2025, 10:35:59 AM
Not buying it, Galway got a very strong team. Mayo make it close as its in Castlebar but they haven't got the forwards. I take them to beat Donegal ,Kerry or Armagh. Dublin even though nobody gives them a chance,still Dublin and could clip them in Croke park if they met.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on April 22, 2025, 03:39:17 PM
The lads on the Football Pod were rightly praising all the weapons and styles of play Galway can use. As they said too, of course Joyce will say they can't rely on two men (ie Walsh & Comer) but down the line no team can do without lads like that.

But, in the meantime if they can win and other lads are stepping up that's a huge boost. Castlebar is a factor but Mayo are just not at Galway's level yet.

IF they do get the two lads fit and firing they will take some stopping.
Post by: joemamas on April 22, 2025, 04:30:33 PM
Quote from: Cyril Farrell fan on April 22, 2025, 10:02:53 AM
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on April 21, 2025, 11:27:16 PM

I'm not begrudging anyone. I'm from a hurling area, but would always back the footballers.
There is a pattern over the years. Once lads start to enjoy the trappings of being a Galway footballer, strutting around like posers, enjoying the attention, then it's a sign there's trouble on the way.

That's as much a problem in Galway hurling too. A whiff of stardom and the foot is off the gas.
If only we had a bunch of dull and boring lads like Kilkenny.

Please please go away you two, I mean you idiot.
you are not fooling anybody except yourself.
Grow up and stop trying to ruin a thread.
Once again Mods, congrats
Post by: Rossfan on April 22, 2025, 05:23:07 PM
Ros made Galway favourites for the AI in 2012 by an inept display, lack of game plan, lack of fitness etc.
We did the same last Sunday.
Post by: galwayman on April 22, 2025, 06:02:27 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 22, 2025, 05:23:07 PMRos made Galway favourites for the AI in 2012 by an inept display, lack of game plan, lack of fitness etc.

Was at that game in 2012.Conroy played full forward that day from memory.
We were far from All Ireland favourites after it though. We weren't at that level at the time.
Post by: seafoid on April 22, 2025, 10:20:23 PM
Quote from: galwayman on April 22, 2025, 06:02:27 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 22, 2025, 05:23:07 PMRos made Galway favourites for the AI in 2012 by an inept display, lack of game plan, lack of fitness etc.

Was at that game in 2012.Conroy played full forward that day from memory.
We were far from All Ireland favourites after it though. We weren't at that level at the time.
Post 2008 for a decade was a bad time for Galway football.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 24, 2025, 04:54:12 PM
Connacht final tickets went on sale today the prices

€35.00 for the covered stand.   Seating uncovered €30.00
Post by: Cortoon on April 28, 2025, 01:39:50 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 24, 2025, 04:54:12 PMConnacht final tickets went on sale today the prices

Only unreserved left now.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 28, 2025, 03:35:20 PM
Quote from: Cortoon on April 28, 2025, 01:39:50 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 24, 2025, 04:54:12 PMConnacht final tickets went on sale today the prices

Good portion of the covered stand are season ticket holders.

Be interesting to see what sort of challenge Mayo bring to Machale park on Sunday. The Connacht Final was decided on fine margins last year in Salthill and the odds on Mayo to win this time means they need no extra motivation.
Post by: joemamas on April 28, 2025, 03:54:53 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 28, 2025, 03:35:20 PM

Be interesting to see what sort of challenge Mayo bring to Machale park on Sunday. The Connacht Final was decided on fine margins last year in Salthill and the odds on Mayo to win this time means they need no extra motivation.

I am afraid odds are one thing, reality of having a very unsettled line out and a potentially weaker squad at the moment is a totally different kettle of fish.
I am heading to it, but I am very concerned it could be 6pts or more loss. I am hoping I will be so wrong on this call.
If Joyce decides not to risk Walsh and Comer, then that equals things up considerably.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 28, 2025, 04:12:27 PM
Quote from: joemamas on April 28, 2025, 03:54:53 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 28, 2025, 03:35:20 PM

€35.00 for the covered stand.  Seating uncovered €30.00

I am afraid odds are one thing, reality of having a very unsettled line out and a potentially weaker squad at the moment is a totally different kettle of fish.
I am heading to it, but I am very concerned it could be 6pts or more loss. I am hoping I will be so wrong on this call.
If Joyce decides not to risk Walsh and Comer, then that equals things up considerably.

Even if they start I can't imagine Comer, Walsh will be up to speed after their injury lay off.

If McStay and his management gets the team to break even on kick-outs and get match ups right it should be another fine margin contest. 
Post by: larryin89 on April 29, 2025, 01:11:49 PM
During the league there were glimpses of what I thought was steady improvement for what we might bring to championship (2nd half Armagh, most of the Kerry game ) but I'm afraid it's just been wishful thinking , two games in and we've shown nothing to resemble a plan/tactic to match Galway . It is with hope rather than expectation one will travel to this one with and a niggling fear it could be a thumping , we simply don't have the quality Galway do at the moment . Only hope is we can develop some of our exciting 20s players in the next window of players coming through , 2027 we could have a team to compete again .

In saying all that it's a poor mayo man that won't raise his game at the sight of the maroon jersey in castlebar giving it all their notions of grandeur.
Post by: Rossfan on April 29, 2025, 01:34:32 PM
Ye're in the perfect place for an ambush.
Only thing is Galway probably gone past being ambushed these days.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 01, 2025, 10:20:56 PM
No Comer or Shane Walsh named on the Galway 26 for this Sunday's Connacht final. Peter Cooke back and among the subs.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Gp5D9FGXgAAr3Rs?format=jpg&name=small)
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 01, 2025, 10:51:37 PM
Hard to win any championship game without your two best forwards. Especially a local derby. Although it shows the hard work that's been put into the squad in recent years that it still looks a strong squad even without them. But that's some serious quality that will be missing.
Post by: galwayman on May 01, 2025, 10:51:59 PM
It's never easy to beat Mayo at the best of times.
Harder again without your two best forwards.
In a tight game we could struggle to get enough scores without the two lads.
Hope I'm wrong but I have a bad feeling about this one.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 01, 2025, 11:03:25 PM
Small enough Galway forward line lol.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 01, 2025, 11:10:05 PM
13 of that Galway published team started in last years All Ireland final.  Sean Kelly and Matt Thompson in for Comer, Walsh.  Had Galway someone other than a half fit Shane Walsh was on frees that day Galway could well be defending All Ireland champions right now. 

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 01, 2025, 11:15:04 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 01, 2025, 11:10:05 PM13 of that Galway published team started in last years All Ireland final.  Sean Kelly and Matt Thompson in for Comer, Walsh.  Had Galway someone other than a half fit Shane Walsh was on frees that day Galway could well be defending All Ireland champions right now. 

True but Comer nearly beat Mayo by himself in last year's Connacht final. Walsh nearly beat Mayo by himself in this year's league. Those lads are difference makers when they are fit and available. Which is increasingly rare unfortunately.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 02, 2025, 09:54:29 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 01, 2025, 11:15:04 PMTrue but Comer nearly beat Mayo by himself in last year's Connacht final. Walsh nearly beat Mayo by himself in this year's league. Those lads are difference makers when they are fit and available. Which is increasingly rare unfortunately.

Both in their 30s with a lot of football played. REally only a matter of time before both depart the intercounty stage.

I think it says a lot about the strength of the Galway squad that despite neither being named in the 26, and especially where Mayo are at currently, that Galway are 4/9 favourites with PaddyPower at the moment.
Post by: mouview on May 02, 2025, 11:47:53 AM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 02, 2025, 09:54:29 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 01, 2025, 11:15:04 PMTrue but Comer nearly beat Mayo by himself in last year's Connacht final. Walsh nearly beat Mayo by himself in this year's league. Those lads are difference makers when they are fit and available. Which is increasingly rare unfortunately.

Both in their 30s with a lot of football played. REally only a matter of time before both depart the intercounty stage.

I think it says a lot about the strength of the Galway squad that despite neither being named in the 26, and especially where Mayo are at currently, that Galway are 4/9 favourites with PaddyPower at the moment.

Given all the injuries they've carried + Covid, they've been 'lightly raced' for a number of seasons now. Not so easy or quick to recover though as they get older.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 02, 2025, 02:21:59 PM
Mayo have named the same team from the unconvincing win and performance against Leitrim so will probably be changes to the team come throw in.  Big boost to get Paddy Durcan back who did his ACL last year.

Colm Reape - Knockmore
0Jack Coyne - Ballyhaunis
Donnacha McHugh - Castlebar Mitchels
Enda Hession - Garrymore
Sam Callinan - Ballina Stephenites
David McBrien - Ballaghaderreen
Stephen Coen - Hollymount Carramore
Dylan Thornton - Ballina Stephenites
Matthew Ruane - Breaffy
Davitt Neary - Breaffy
Darren McHale - Knockmore
Jordan Flynn - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
Aidan O'Shea - Breaffy
Jack Carney - Kilmeena
Ryan O'Donoghue - Béal an Mhuirthead

SUBS:
16. Adrian Phillips - Ballyhaunis
17. Conal Dawson - Westport
18. Conor Reid - Moy Davitts
19. Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber
20. Fenton Kelly - Davitts
21. Fergal Boland - Aghamore
22. Frank Irwin - Ballina Stephenites
23. Kevin Quinn - Ballinrobe
24. Paddy Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels
25. Paul Towey - Charlestown Sarsfield
26. Rory Brickenden - Westport

Post by: Manning18 on May 02, 2025, 02:45:03 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 02, 2025, 09:54:29 AM

They're 8/15 on Boylesports who actually pay attention to GAA.

GAA markets betting wise are weak as piss, you could wreak havoc on them for a laugh with a few hundred euro. The amount of talk and media attention they receive is ridiculous. It's literally one lads opinion who is also doing 50 other jobs
Post by: Blowitupref on May 02, 2025, 03:11:51 PM
8/15 with Paddy Power now also.

10 euro on Galway to win will win you €5.33.  The same money on Mayo if they win would be €20.00.   Usually close matches between the two and draw could collect winnings of €90.00
Post by: LarryStiles on May 04, 2025, 01:42:18 PM
Mayo a great bet at 7/2. Walsh will be a major loss for Galway. Will hope Paddy Neilan will be looking out Ryan O'Donoghue antics after the league final hit on Paul Geaney. Also prone to going easily to get handy frees.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 03:34:03 PM
Galway start as selected. Mayo two changes Rory Brickenden,Diarmuid O'Connor coming in for Sam Callinan,Dylan Thornton.

Goal  for Mayo, OG?  1-2 to 0-2 after 7 minutes.

Same score after 15 minutes, Mayo much the better team so far. 
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2025, 04:24:31 PM
Galway 0-7 Mayo 1-2
Post by: AustinPowers on May 04, 2025, 04:27:31 PM
Christ almighty, but Mayo  are such a frustrating team to watch
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2025, 04:31:08 PM
Galway 0-10 Mayo 1-2
Penalty to Galway
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 04:32:14 PM
Galway goal from a penalty. 1-10 to 1-2.  28 mins played.
Post by: AustinPowers on May 04, 2025, 04:34:41 PM
Game is over

Mayo have been awful
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2025, 04:36:01 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 04, 2025, 04:34:41 PMGame is over

Mayo have been awful
Mayo have the wind in the second half
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 04:36:26 PM

Mayo have been awful
Were the better team for the opening 15 minutes but have fallen away badly since then and scores have dried up.  Will have the wind advantage 2nd half

Half time Mayo 1-3 Galway 1-11
Post by: thewobbler on May 04, 2025, 04:42:45 PM

Mayo have been awful

Mayo are in a better position than Galway
Post by: LarryStiles on May 04, 2025, 04:47:03 PM

Mayo have been awful

Mayo 2/1 with that wind .Galway will miss Walsh in second half.
Post by: JoG2 on May 04, 2025, 04:48:33 PM

Mayo have been awful

Not for playing the 2nd half? 🤔
Post by: AustinPowers on May 04, 2025, 04:50:43 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 04, 2025, 04:42:45 PM

Mayo have been awful

Mayo are in a better position than Galway

Geographically, maybe.
Post by: SouthDublinBro on May 04, 2025, 04:54:56 PM
Time for the legendary Aidan O'Shea to stand up and be counted.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 05:06:49 PM
40 mins played.  Mayo 1-8 Galway 1-12. Maher off at half time a blow to Galway.     After 43 mins its a one score game 1-9 to 1-12.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2025, 05:10:48 PM
Game on
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 05:14:47 PM
One score game,  Mayo 1-11 Galway 1-12
Post by: LarryStiles on May 04, 2025, 05:16:37 PM
Galway falling apart.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 05:20:58 PM
Two pointer from a free is touched by Glesson for one point.  level game after 52 mins  1-13 to 1-13.
Post by: JoG2 on May 04, 2025, 05:22:41 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 05:20:58 PMTwo pointer from a free is touched by Glesson for one point.  level game after 52 mins  1-13 to 1-13.

Incorrect call on the replays
Post by: Milltown Row2 on May 04, 2025, 05:23:07 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 05:20:58 PMTwo pointer from a free is touched by Glesson for one point.  level game after 52 mins  1-13 to 1-13.

Touch behind the crossbar
Post by: AustinPowers on May 04, 2025, 05:23:46 PM

What a stupid rule.  whoever  thought that one up?
Post by: thebigfullforward on May 04, 2025, 05:23:53 PM
What's actually the rule there? Galway player throws ball on ground and it isn't brought forward but one of our minors threw ball to the opposition player instead of handing it back and it's brought forward? That's just inconsistency in my opinion
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 05:26:16 PM
Much needed point for Galway they lead again 58 minutes played 1-13 to 1-14
Post by: bennydorano on May 04, 2025, 05:27:43 PM
Mayo will fill the pants before its over
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 05:28:56 PM
Level game with 9 minutes left. 
Post by: AustinPowers on May 04, 2025, 05:30:00 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 04, 2025, 05:27:43 PMMayo will fill the pants before its over

I wonder how they'll  manage to lose it from here
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2025, 05:31:07 PM
Black card for a Mayo player so down to 14.
Galway by 1
Post by: bennydorano on May 04, 2025, 05:31:19 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 04, 2025, 05:30:00 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 04, 2025, 05:27:43 PMMayo will fill the pants before its over

Lol, didn't take long
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 05:31:25 PM
Mayo down to 14 for the rest of normal time with black.  Galway lead by 1 with 8 minutes left
Post by: JoG2 on May 04, 2025, 05:32:32 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 04, 2025, 05:30:00 PM

Sure it was over at h/t... Will be miraculous if they win
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 05:35:09 PM
4 mins left. Mayo 1-14 Galway 1-16
Post by: AustinPowers on May 04, 2025, 05:37:57 PM
Mayo always find  a way
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2025, 05:39:38 PM
Mayo 1-15 Galway 1-16
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 05:39:46 PM
Goal chance saved but at least Mayo scored from the 45.  1-16 to 1-15 to Galway with 2 minutes left
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2025, 05:40:59 PM
Mayo 1-15 Galway  1-17
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 05:41:17 PM
Some block to stop a Mayo point and even better that Galway got a score on the counter. 
Post by: JoG2 on May 04, 2025, 05:43:17 PM
Really enjoyable contest, serious effort from both teams
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 05:43:25 PM
FT Mayo 1-15 Galway 1-17.  Four in a row for Galway for the first time in 60s.
Post by: AustinPowers on May 04, 2025, 05:43:54 PM
Never in doubt.

Some old story.
Post by: 5times5times on May 04, 2025, 05:45:15 PM
Galway all ireland favourites my a$$
Post by: JoG2 on May 04, 2025, 05:50:20 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on May 04, 2025, 05:45:15 PMGalway all ireland favourites my a$$

No Comer, no Walsh, Maher off at h/t. Still able to bring players like Cooke on. I wouldn't be ruling them out that's for sure.
Post by: thewobbler on May 04, 2025, 05:52:26 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on May 04, 2025, 05:45:15 PMGalway all ireland favourites my a$$

They just beat d1 finalists away from home without a couple of key players.

I'm not sure what entitles a favourite.
Post by: AustinPowers on May 04, 2025, 05:53:29 PM
Galway are in the mix , but like Mayo , when it comes down to  it , they too will likely find a way to lose
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 04, 2025, 05:56:17 PM
Once again nothing between Galway and Mayo in a Connacht final the expected fine margin contest. Could say for a 2nd year in a row that Mayo Left that Connacht title behind them but 27 minutes without a score first half will be looked back with much anger I can imagine. Need to move on now and Cavan coming to MacHale Park next makes for a good opportunity to lift the gloom from that defeat.
Post by: weareros on May 04, 2025, 06:05:51 PM
Galway wanted that more. Mayo had a great opportunity to win after reeling in fairly quickly Galway's 8 point lead. They had huge momentum and Paddy, probably making up for the soft penalty, was giving them a lot of decisions. But credit to both teams. It was a great game, chaotic, mistake ridden which added to the entertainment. Tough on Kevin McStay - might be last opp to win a Connacht title with his native county. But he'll have an easier first game in All-Ireland Series than Joyce.
Post by: 5times5times on May 04, 2025, 06:07:12 PM
Mayo will be sick.
Galway hyped up too much.
Either donegal or armagh will have their mark in the neutral game.

Ref was v v v poor. Where was the polcing of steps like his compadre gough last week?
Post by: seafoid on May 04, 2025, 06:12:57 PM
Odds
https://www.oddschecker.com/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/all-ireland-sfc/winner

Kerry 9/4
Donegal 3
Galway 7/2
Mayo 25
Post by: Rossfan on May 04, 2025, 06:14:50 PM
Great entertainment.
Galway not so great when the opposition tear into them instead of standing back looking at them.

Post by: David McKeown on May 04, 2025, 06:19:10 PM
A very boring game I thought until the last 15 minutes. Galway comfortably the better team and fully deserving of the win. The new rules seems to allow teams to be outplayed for large periods but easily claw their way back into games when the opposition start to ease off.

Galway getting players back will be hard to live with in the latter stages.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 06:27:34 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on May 04, 2025, 06:19:10 PMA very boring game I thought until the last 15 minutes. Galway comfortably the better team and fully deserving of the win. The new rules seems to allow teams to be outplayed for large periods but easily claw their way back into games when the opposition start to ease off.

Thought it was decent game and it was a level match 18 minutes into the 2nd half. Mayo for me the better team in the opening 15 minutes of the 1st half and better team in the 2nd half as they outscored Galway 0-12 to 0-6 they will regret those missed chances late on and going down to 14 men didn't help matters.

Post by: JoG2 on May 04, 2025, 06:29:59 PM
Quote from: 5times5times on May 04, 2025, 06:07:12 PMMayo will be sick.

Ref was v v v poor. Where was the polcing of steps like his compadre gough last week?

You talk of hype and then hype the hyped up Donegal. Can't see Armagh version 2.0 beating Galway, never mind Donegal in knockout football
Post by: JoG2 on May 04, 2025, 06:31:30 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on May 04, 2025, 06:19:10 PMA very boring game I thought until the last 15 minutes. Galway comfortably the better team and fully deserving of the win. The new rules seems to allow teams to be outplayed for large periods but easily claw their way back into games when the opposition start to ease off.

The winning of the game was Galway winning 4 of the last 5 odd kickouts.. On another day Mayo do and win
Post by: Manning18 on May 04, 2025, 06:33:14 PM

Well theyre not favorites and have never been so far this year. They're third favorites. Do you understand the concept?

At the same time they were without 3 of their main players in the second half, and were against a decent side to whom the game clearly meant far more

Kerry and Donegal have also had close shaves this year. Id fancy Mayo against Cork or Monaghan
Post by: David McKeown on May 04, 2025, 06:43:43 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 04, 2025, 06:31:30 PM

The winning of the game was Galway winning 4 of the last 5 odd kickouts.. On another day Mayo do and win

Exactly. Mayo didn't score for nearly 30 odd minutes but have a purple patch in the third quarter when Galway have eased off. The new rules and weather conditions greatly impact to bring them back into the game before Galway step it up again and deservedly run out winners.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 04, 2025, 06:45:48 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on May 04, 2025, 06:33:14 PM

Well theyre not favorites and have never been so far this year. They're third favorites. Do you understand the concept?

At the same time they were without 3 of their main players in the second half, and were against a decent side to whom the game clearly meant far more

Kerry and Donegal have also had close shaves this year. Id fancy Mayo against Cork or Monaghan

Why would it mean more?
Post by: Rossfan on May 04, 2025, 06:47:05 PM
Aw jases stop will ya David.
Old rules and miserable wet weather...
Post by: David McKeown on May 04, 2025, 06:55:14 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 04, 2025, 06:47:05 PMAw jases stop will ya David.
Old rules and miserable wet weather...

Sorry I forgot alternative opinions were not allowed.

Last years final had near constant lead changes. It had 31 scores. It took an injury time free to separate the teams.  Today's had 4 lead changes and 29 scores. Despite the fact we have a serious of rules designed to result in more scores. One team went 27 minutes without scoring.

I'll stop whenever the nonsense that the new rules are some sort of saviour of the games stops.

Post by: Blowitupref on May 04, 2025, 06:57:14 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 04, 2025, 06:31:30 PM

Scoring that goal opportunity was the likely winning of the game.  Plus the last Galway point came from outstanding block to prevent a Mayo point to level it.

(https://i.ibb.co/VWPQ0kxy/20250504-184952.jpg) (https://ibb.co/qMPWL2CG)

Post by: thewobbler on May 04, 2025, 07:01:14 PM
It was a game of four quarters:

1. Mayo's patience and probing.
2. Galway realising oh f**k and going through the gears.
3. Mayo playing smart and clinical football.
4. A combination of Galway raising intensity and Mayo losing the plot.

Enthralling game of football.
Post by: Manning18 on May 04, 2025, 07:06:09 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 04, 2025, 06:45:48 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on May 04, 2025, 06:33:14 PM

Why would it mean more?

Galway going for their 4th in a row, Mayo on a mini famine. Galway clearly will regard the year as failure if they don't win the All Ireland, especially after last year. A first Connacht title for McStay and Rochford would be regarded as a success

McStays interview beforehand said as much. Basically said the entire year revolved around today. Mayo based podcasts and pundits all week said the same
Post by: Cortoon on May 04, 2025, 11:10:51 PM
Getting that win without the two key forwards was brilliant, particularly as it looked a big task with ten minutes remaining. Dylan McHugh delivered an exceptional performance.

Neilan gave Mayo plenty of soft frees throughout the game and the Mayo supporters thought they had it in the bag when they drew level. Their team didn't have the minerals to push ahead though.

The upcoming match against Dublin at Pearse Stadium promises to be a great occasion, followed by a likely trip to face a very beatable Derry team, and concluding in Carrick-on-Shannon, against either Armagh or Donegal.

Post by: JoG2 on May 04, 2025, 11:16:22 PM
Quote from: Cortoon on May 04, 2025, 11:10:51 PMGetting that win without the two key forwards was brilliant, particularly as it looked a big task with ten minutes remaining. Dylan McHugh delivered an exceptional performance.

Neilan gave Mayo plenty of soft frees throughout the game and the Mayo supporters thought they had it in the bag when they drew level. Their team didn't have the minerals to push ahead though.

The upcoming match against Dublin at Pearse Stadium promises to be a great occasion, followed by a likely trip to face a very beatable Derry team, and concluding in Carrick-on-Shannon, against either Armagh or Donegal.

And Galway the softest penalty you'll see all year, nevermind O'Donoghue's 2 pointer that wasn't given..

Derry are flying at training atm, can't see anything other than a home win  ;D
Post by: LarryStiles on May 05, 2025, 01:10:54 AM
Quote from: Cortoon on May 04, 2025, 11:10:51 PMGetting that win without the two key forwards was brilliant, particularly as it looked a big task with ten minutes remaining. Dylan McHugh delivered an exceptional performance.

Galway will be odds on to top the group now.
Post by: Manning18 on May 05, 2025, 01:31:09 AM
Quote from: LarryStiles on May 05, 2025, 01:10:54 AM

Galway will be odds on to top the group now.

They won't though

Absolutely crazy how many people talk about gambling or odds or favorites who haven't the slightest iota of understanding about it
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 05, 2025, 02:09:46 PM
In June 2023 for a knock out Preliminary quarter-final game 23,897 was the attendance for Galway v Mayo.    Yesterday's final attracted 27,137. For all the criticism it gets and calls to make it into pre-season competition winning or losing a Connacht championship still matters in the eyes of the players,management and that near 30k that attended plus the many thousand more Mayo.Galway supporters that watched it around the world.   

Post by: cornetto on May 05, 2025, 03:43:00 PM
Well as a Galway man very happy to get the win.mayo should have drove on when they drew level.Dublin are still a serious side and there will be nothing soft.Mayo raise there game for Galway,but don't be surprised with a cavan victory.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2025, 03:50:38 PM
Quote from: cornetto on May 05, 2025, 03:43:00 PMWell as a Galway man very happy to get the win.mayo should have drove on when they drew level.Dublin are still a serious side and there will be nothing soft.Mayo raise there game for Galway,but don't be surprised with a cavan victory.

I'll be surprised if Galway and Mayo don't win their round 1 game by a few points to spare.  Round 2 away to Derry,Tyrone will be harder won I feel.    Round 3 against the Ulster finalist could well be a decider to see who finishes top and avoids the three games in consecutive weeks against a rested Quarter finalists. 
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 05, 2025, 11:20:12 PM
Just watched the game back there. One thing I didn't notice live was that Matthew Thompson had a hand in a lot of Galway scores. For a young lad he seems to be a very intelligent player with his movement and link up play. And is very comfortable on the ball.
Post by: flowerpot on May 06, 2025, 07:56:24 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 04, 2025, 06:29:59 PM

You talk of hype and then hype the hyped up Donegal. Can't see Armagh version 2.0 beating Galway, never mind Donegal in knockout football

Armagh really do live rent free in your head!
Post by: Armagh18 on May 06, 2025, 08:02:18 AM

Galway will be alright. Take Donegals 2 best players out and you'd notice. Armagh, Donegal and Galway all been fairly well tested and stood up so far. 3 good sides.
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 06, 2025, 09:59:47 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 05, 2025, 11:20:12 PMJust watched the game back there. One thing I didn't notice live was that Matthew Thompson had a hand in a lot of Galway scores. For a young lad he seems to be a very intelligent player with his movement and link up play. And is very comfortable on the ball.

I watched it back too, he was excellent. Along with Conroy, McDaid And McGrath who I thought were all Galways best players. McGrath wasn't on O'Donoghue when he licked his points either, Mayo's tactic of bringing out O'Donoghue in that first half backfired as it showed that McGrath has more to his game then defending.

Thompson so calm on the ball, really looks the part in all departments.

Lots of talk about the ref, have a look at that free count; A lot of decisions went again Galway too.

Mixed impact from the bench, Molloy made some crazy decisions on the ball and Sweeney had no impact. Great to see Cooke back but he didn't much of an impact whereas Hernon was excellent when he came on, surprised Flaherty didn't come on; His ball carrying would have been a huge help during the 2nd half.
Post by: tbrick18 on May 06, 2025, 10:28:08 AM
For me, Galway are up there with the best teams in the country right now. When you look at who they didn't have playing against Mayo and they still got the win it was some achievement.
With Walsh, Comer etc back in, they're arguably the strongest team out there.
Post by: fearsiuil on May 06, 2025, 11:45:06 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 06, 2025, 09:59:47 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 05, 2025, 11:20:12 PMJust watched the game back there. One thing I didn't notice live was that Matthew Thompson had a hand in a lot of Galway scores. For a young lad he seems to be a very intelligent player with his movement and link up play. And is very comfortable on the ball.

I watched it back too, he was excellent. Along with Conroy, McDaid And McGrath who I thought were all Galways best players. McGrath wasn't on O'Donoghue when he licked his points either, Mayo's tactic of bringing out O'Donoghue in that first half backfired as it showed that McGrath has more to his game then defending.

Lots of talk about the ref, have a look at that free count; A lot of decisions went again Galway too.

Mixed impact from the bench, Molloy made some crazy decisions on the ball and Sweeney had no impact. Great to see Cooke back but he didn't much of an impact whereas Hernon was excellent when he came on, surprised Flaherty didn't come on; His ball carrying would have been a huge help during the 2nd half.

Cooke caught 2/3 big ones and was involved in general play for period on pitch. Thompson has the look of a very classy player, could be an old style 11 or play wherever needed in forwards. Galway have a serious squad now.

Few defenders lost their lustre which will be a slight concern to management. Mulkerrin had to be subbed as was very error prone, Fitzgerald was being talked up as the under rated one subbed and was it Glynn that struggled betimes. Haven't watched game back yet but lack of quality the big difference between sides.
Post by: galwayman on May 06, 2025, 12:19:58 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on May 06, 2025, 11:45:06 AM

Cooke caught 2/3 big ones and was involved in general play for period on pitch. Thompson has the look of a very classy player, could be an old style 11 or play wherever needed in forwards. Galway have a serious squad now.

Few defenders lost their lustre which will be a slight concern to management. Mulkerrin had to be subbed as was very error prone, Fitzgerald was being talked up as the under rated one subbed and was it Glynn that struggled betimes. Haven't watched game back yet but lack of quality the big difference between sides.
He is a serious weak link in the team. Armagh targeted him in the AI final. They just let him have the ball as they knew he was zero threat and was only looking ton draw a defender to pop it off to somebody else.
He lacks pace and is just not good enough in possession for this level of football.
Post by: Manning18 on May 06, 2025, 12:21:37 PM
Strange for O'Flaherty to be near ever present and one of the better performers in the league, to now being passed out by the likes of Molloy and Sweeney for game time. Sweeney I can understand to an extent because it's worked when playing against a wind in the past, but still would imagine DOF being a better ball carrier

Glynn is a good man marker but when teams press high like Mayo did and other will when Galway are against the wind, he's not strong enough carrying balls. DOF and certainly Hernon are better options. The overall mgmt decisions were a bit strange. There was 4 or 5 very good displays in there but plenty of mediocre ones also

Mightn't be the next day but I think it's undoubted that Cooke will start for most of the remaining year, he's too comfortable on the ball and a scoring threat in a team that lacks shooters. Pushing Kelly back from midfield and maybe silke back a line would make sense. Would hope and expect Hernon to make a serious push for a place now also, maybe at the expense of Fitzy or Glynn
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 06, 2025, 12:30:30 PM
Quote from: galwayman on May 06, 2025, 12:19:58 PM
Quote from: fearsiuil on May 06, 2025, 11:45:06 AM

He is a serious weak link in the team. Armagh targeted him in the AI final. They just let him have the ball as they knew he was zero threat and was only looking ton draw a defender to pop it off to somebody else.
He lacks pace and is just not good enough in possession for this level of football.

Thought he defended quite well the last day. Won some 50/50 balls and made some interceptions. He's just not great under pressure when asked to carry the ball out of defence. And isn't a threat to shoot let alone score. Bit unlucky as both his turnovers happened close to each other and both led to Mayo scores. Others lost possession as well but it didn't lead to scores.
Post by: mouview on May 06, 2025, 12:35:23 PM

Surprised at Molloy's errors a bit, as he's usually tidy enough in an attacking context. Cathal Sweeney is mobile and energetic but I don't think he offers anything more than the likes of Daniel O'Flaherty or even Sam O'Neill off the bench. With the return of Cooke, whom I thought was up to speed straight away, Sweeney may be pushed further down the pecking order again. Don't know if no. 6 suits Mulkerrins, who was turned over (legally of not) a couple of times, leading to Mayo scoring chances. He and Fitzgerald are our weakest defenders I have to think, while Jack Glynn is also struggling for form a bit. This is one area of concern, but men like John Daly, Hernon and O'Flaherty can come in there to bolster things I feel. Possibility even of dropping Silke to corner-back, McDaid to wing-back and start Cooke in the HF line to give an extra attacking dimension to the side. If only we could get you-know-who x 2 fit.

I wouldn't infer too much about Galway's chances later this season on last Sunday's display. Matches with the auld enemy are always close and rarely follow form lines anyway, particularly Connacht finals in Castlebar. We had tight games with them in 2022 and 2024, both years we reached the AI final.
Post by: Manning18 on May 06, 2025, 01:07:27 PM
On your last paragraph mouview

It also took Galway 15-20m to get up to speed in the game at all, a clear sign that Mayo were ready and had the game targeted with how quick they were out of the blocks. That was a long period of time wasted with the big wind advantage, not helped whatsoever by Reape taking a minute over every kickout and not being pulled on it. I do wonder if playing against it in the first half is the better option, time seems to get away from you in the first half so easily

There was also a 3 up breach Galway were pulled for in the first half which is absolutely criminal

I think adding all that in, Galway played the better football against a decent D1 side while missing important players. Wasn't great by any means but positives to take
Post by: mouview on May 06, 2025, 01:40:25 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on May 06, 2025, 01:07:27 PMOn your last paragraph mouview

It also took Galway 15-20m to get up to speed in the game at all, a clear sign that Mayo were ready and had the game targeted with how quick they were out of the blocks. That was a long period of time wasted with the big wind advantage, not helped whatsoever by Reape taking a minute over every kickout and not being pulled on it. I do wonder if playing against it in the first half is the better option, time seems to get away from you in the first half so easily

There was also a 3 up breach Galway were pulled for in the first half which is absolutely criminal

I think adding all that in, Galway played the better football against a decent D1 side while missing important players. Wasn't great by any means but positives to take

Don't know how they got pinged for the 3-up infringement as it's usually noticeable that the forward players are always looking around them before venturing back the field. Strange too that Reape was the one delaying the kickouts  - Gleeson seems to have finally learned his lesson in this regard.
Post by: JoG2 on May 06, 2025, 05:19:02 PM
Quote from: flowerpot on May 06, 2025, 07:56:24 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 04, 2025, 06:29:59 PM

Armagh really do live rent free in your head!

3 teams in 2 sentences there Coco and again all 3 in the post above
Post by: flowerpot on May 07, 2025, 07:56:13 AM
Rent free lad, you know it. ;D