Fixtures:
Laois V Westmeath. April 19th or 20th. Home Fixture.
Down V Laois. April 26th or 27th. Away Fixture.
Weekend Off - May Bank Holiday Weekend.
Laois V Kerry. May 10th or 11th. Home Fixture.
Laois V Kildare. May 17th or 18th. Home Fixture.
Carlow V Laois. May 24th or 25th. Away Fixture.
As I mentioned in the NHL 1B Thread, Carlow and Down will be stern opposition in this group. Down done a number on Offaly a few years ago which condemned them to Christy Ring Cup, so they cannot be taken for granted considering their great progress in the league. Carlow too - an impressive league and they condemned us to Division 2 hurling next year. Hopefully the lads will avenge Carlow, and save it for the JMD Final!!!
Possibly the weakest Joe McDonagh competition ever. Kerry have fallen back considerably, Westmeath do not seem the force of old and Down, Kildare are coming up from division 2 hurling and still require further progress to really challenge for honours. Therefore, the Laois v Carlow game on the final day could and should well be shadow boxing before the final itself. I was hoping for better improvements during the league itself but every chance Tommy and the lads will be back in a Joe McD final this year and based on game at weekend I fancy them if they can make the necessary improvements in that time.
be very wary o that trip ta down
After getting relegated to the third tier of the league for 2026, we now have a proper chance for redemption in the Joe McDonagh cup, which is a fantastic competition.
On the outset, it seems like we have a decent chance to make the final, but nothing can be taken for granted.
Westmeath will also be looking to bounce back from their relegation and they will throw everything at us in the first round. Down away in Ballycran are not to be taken lightly.
Kerry do seem to have regressed and Kildare will be a bit trickier in those 2 home games.
All going to plan, round 5 may be a dead rubber v Carlow or they might already be through to the final and may rest players.
Getting to the final on June 8 would be a showpiece and if we managed to win we would have a crack off 3rd place in the Leinster. All to play for, looking forward to it.
Hello all, I thought that I would comment on the state of Laois hurling currently, although some of my fellow contributers may rightly state that, as I no longer live in the country, thus not fully aware of the current state of Laois hurling, I decided to avail of a trip to Belfast a few weeks ago, as the return flight was £27. I went to Corrigan park, and what I witnessed was nothing short of insanity by definition( doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different result) I watched a Laois team that were outclassed physically, skillfully, intensity and almost all to a man were tired by the 62nd minute.
I watched a team with no clear direction, toothless up front and without identidy.
I stood relatively close to the Laois dugout, and observed the Laois management team and the Antrim one. Whilst the Laois team were scratching their heads and talking to one another, the Antrim dugout were constantly urging and clapping their team, whilst their players headed every word, basically I watched one group work in unison, whilst the other group were almost embarrassed to be there.
I know that I will receive backlash and abuse. But facts don't care about feelings. Now to my final analysis. The Manager is simply not good enough and doesn't have the ability to lead the team, I will go even further and say that if the man who was the original pick, didn't get sick, Laois definitely would be in 1B next season.
When Eddie Brennan was there, he clearly saw that Some of the Laois players were allergic to weight training, and lacked height. He gave them a style of hurling that suited them, the running game, short hand passing off the shoulder, players moving in packs and quick passing.
Laois hurling will NEVER IMPROVE with a local manager. Yes I want a Kilkenny man found. WHY, Because they are class hurlers, and they're Leinster men. I never thought I would see a day when Laois will be in a division with Tyrone, Derry, Donegal. Oh my Lord God. We are a joke
may tell tommy n the boys ta clap more. thatll do it
this is laois fer ya now, fella watches one game n he takes the back off one o his own. i'll enjoy it when tommy walks over carla in the mcdona final.
any remind this fella who relegated laois last time when CHEDDAR a laois man had ta get us back outta it. have given him too muchj time already. away ta fook.
I won't even waste my time replying to some of the nonsense from yesterday's post.
The Joe McDonagh will be an interesting competition again this year.
Of the 6 teams, we're in the Top 3 but with 3 very dangerous teams in the next 3. That first game against Westmeath will be absolutely crucial as their result at the weekend shows there's very little between ourselves, Carlow and WM. A loss for WM in Portlaoise wouldn't hit them as hard as it would us; we'd have to navigate three tricky games where we'd start as slight favourites before going to Carlow in Round 5 needing a win.
Tommy (with Niall and Andrew) has 4 huge weeks between now and then but I firmly believe he is the right man for the job.
Look, voice of reason, I respect what you stated, and I knew before I wrote what I wrote that I would get abuse and pushback which is ok. I'm 50+ and before I moved away I rarely ever missed a county game. Regarding the comments of the Troglodyte with an IQ equal to a duck, I laughed it off.
But I am open to serious dialogue and I have no problem admitting when I am either wrong or out of order.
The basis and foundation of my comments were purely based on what I witnessed in Belfast, nothing else.
Yes I was harsh but I don't believe that some of the team hurled to the standard that they could. Aaron Dunphy is a wonderful hurler, and David Dooley also. But our inside forward line are small, and I n fairness to them there was a lot of movement but they have to be given low ball so they can pickup and play their natural game, on the contrary 70% of balls that went in were to high and they were meat and drink to the Antrim backs.
I know that Laois are better than what I witnessed, but I spoke truthfully on what I witnessed. It will never change the fact that as God is my witness, I'd love Laois to win the Cup. Finally I would love to see the management team succeed, but honestly on what I witnessed, I'm not sure.
imagine takin hte back off a man like tommy and basin it on one game. shoneen then goes n begs for a kilkenny man to pat him on the head n tell him hes a good lil lad. youse laois boys love yer aul stick fighting. gwway outta that.
anyeway, enough i wont moind uyou again. tommy is the man. and so it will prove.
If memory serves me correctly we didn't blow the lights out in the league the year Eddie Brennan got us to the All-Ireland quarter final and won the Joe McD. Bad beatings to Limerick, Waterford and Galway made up the bones of our league campaign.
I do take the point that Laois were miles off Antrim in terms of intensity, touch and fitness a few weeks ago which was hugely disappointing. However, Tommy is an excellent coach and we don't know the type of training the players have been involved in during the league. Perhaps, the work that is being put in now will only prove dividend in a couple of months time.
Under Eddie, the momentum only started to build as we gained a couple of good victories in the Joe McD and things snowballed from there. Let's hope history can repeat itself.
Good point Laois rising, as I said, I just gave a personal opinion on the game, I truly hope your correct in your evaluation and hope that the management team can improve upon the clear and unambiguous potential that is clearly there. But my personal worry is that last year we beat Offaly in the first game in the Cup, and lost the final by a goal. Offaly have gone to 1A and we have gone to the third tier. Yes of course we will come straight back up with Westmeath. But we have NEVER in Laois Hurling history, had to play four of the teams in Division two/three. That was my grievance, which with hindsight and respect, is a fair reflection. Regarding George and his rather nonsensical, neanderthal and stupid remarks, all I have to say is that I assume that their were primary and secondary schools in your area that you could have availed of. As I previously said, I love dialogues with honest and honorable Laois supporters, who push back with facts and stats.
I reiterate that I hope that I am wrong regarding the current setup, which waits to be seen. But George, please stop embarrassing yourself, linguisticley you sound like Neill Tobin. But instead of Neill( who jockingly mimicked dialects, unlike you, who sadly mimick yourself. There is a term for that, but I shall leave it where it belongs. Laoighis Abu
u get hte dialog u deserve, and your words are the grunts of a pig. to cut the back off lads like uouve done here is a disgrace. league me bollix, championship is where its at n tommy will have us rite. in mean time, show some respect.
George - it's a bit Irish you asking The Infidel for some respect.
What about a bit of decorum on your part ?
References to Carla / Wickla aren't as clever as they might sound.
I hope I haven't set myself up for some of your spleen.
We're all supposed to be Laois supporters here.
If we can agree or disagree without resorting to insults then this can be a useful discussion forum.
I fully support Tommy.
However, at this stage we have to accept that people are going to be critical and question the set up.
I disagree with people doing that.
But personally attacking them for doing so creates a toxic situation.
Any idea how preparations are going ?
lads will ye not get behind yer own for once. give tommy n the lads the year, theyre only in a wet week for the love o god.
Quote from: The infidel in exile on March 23, 2025, 03:12:03 PMHello all, I thought that I would comment on the state of Laois hurling currently, although some of my fellow contributers may rightly state that, as I no longer live in the country, thus not fully aware of the current state of Laois hurling, I decided to avail of a trip to Belfast a few weeks ago, as the return flight was £27. I went to Corrigan park, and what I witnessed was nothing short of insanity by definition( doing the same thing over and over again, expecting a different result) I watched a Laois team that were outclassed physically, skillfully, intensity and almost all to a man were tired by the 62nd minute.
I watched a team with no clear direction, toothless up front and without identidy.
I stood relatively close to the Laois dugout, and observed the Laois management team and the Antrim one. Whilst the Laois team were scratching their heads and talking to one another, the Antrim dugout were constantly urging and clapping their team, whilst their players headed every word, basically I watched one group work in unison, whilst the other group were almost embarrassed to be there.
I know that I will receive backlash and abuse. But facts don't care about feelings. Now to my final analysis. The Manager is simply not good enough and doesn't have the ability to lead the team, I will go even further and say that if the man who was the original pick, didn't get sick, Laois definitely would be in 1B next season.
When Eddie Brennan was there, he clearly saw that Some of the Laois players were allergic to weight training, and lacked height. He gave them a style of hurling that suited them, the running game, short hand passing off the shoulder, players moving in packs and quick passing.
Laois hurling will NEVER IMPROVE with a local manager. Yes I want a Kilkenny man found. WHY, Because they are class hurlers, and they're Leinster men. I never thought I would see a day when Laois will be in a division with Tyrone, Derry, Donegal. Oh my Lord God. We are a joke
You are of course entitled to your opinion but I think it is a bit ridculous to suggest that Laois hurling will never improve under a local manager. One of our best managers in recent years was a Laois man (Cheddar) and Eddie Brennan benefitted from the work Cheddar had done with the panel.
I would also remind you that we had a Kilkenny manager (Brendan Fennelly) in charge in 2011 when Cork put 10-20 on the scoreboard in one of Laois hurlings darkest days.
The reality is Laois are struggling at underage in recent years at both codes, this week both u-20s teams took bad beatings which is a worry. Our county board need to look at player development squads and see what is going wrong in this regard. Our neighbours Offaly have shown what can be done if we get our act together, that has not happened overnight but has taken years of effort with everyone pulling in the one direction. Something we need to match.
Despite your criticism of George he has a valid point in the Tommy should be judged on championship, there is rarely much between the likes of Laois, Carlow and Antrim and this year it happened that we came out the wrong end of in both games which cost us badly. Never nice to be relegated but fully expect Laois to bounce back next year in that regard.
Obviously the players and management will be downbeat about the league but not time to feel sorry for ourselves with championship around the corner. That is were they will judged as George suggested. Hopefully all going well we will get a crack at Carlow in the final but as we have seen in the league we can take nothing from granted as I am sure the likes of Westmeath and Down will be eyeing the Laois game as one they can win.
Comment taken and respected Joey, in hindsight I was harsh, but my comment was only predicated on what I saw, I agree with you regarding the problem on a perennial basis regarding developing underage Hurling teams. But with the up most respect brother, Laois schools Hurling is by definition slightly stronger than Offaly and Westmeath. We have Haywood, Fergals and mountrath, and Possibly Clonaslee although small. The County town offers nothing. Offaly only have Birr and Banagher, Westmeath only have Mullingar. The population of the County is supposed to be 92.000. but the four biggest towns/areas in the county are all football towns. I am a realist which I suppose comes with age, so I know we won't win an all Ireland in my lifetime. Finally I want to openly say that what I said about Tommy was purely based on what I witnessed in Belfast. Finally my gripe was that we should have doubled up on McNaughton by the 15th minute mark. I sat beside a man from Rathdowney who felt exactly the same, it would al least forced Antrim to change their pattern of play. We probably wouldn't have won, but it definitely would not have been as poor. Happy for the Minor win yesterday and they will hopefully win the group and probably face Westmeath. Roll on the Joe Mc and I hope and pray that we can win
Thank you Boy wonder, but sadly certain individuals have little or no understanding of intellectual critical analysis based on facts. I personally don't care less about insults from someone who can't spell, and writes how he speaks. He is clearly young and confuses opinions with insults. Anyway I wish to forget about the past and wish both Tommy Fitzgerald and the panel all the best going forward
pology accepted. we drive on behind our man now and walk all over the hoores in our way
Any word on how preparations are going for the opener against Westmeath on the 19th?
I heard that Westmeath played Antrim in a challenge match last night in which Antrim won by 4 points.
Preparations going ok I'm hearing. Decent workout versus Cork 2nd Team midweek, down in Pairc UI Chaoimh. Cork still quite strong Mark Coleman, Jack O'Connor, Luke Meade, Tommy O'Connell all playing and they won by 8. Almost all the lads that are on the Laois panel are available as far as I know. Aaron Dunphy struggling with an injury. Momentum is key in Joe McDonagh. Really need to start well and beat Westmeath at home.
Some positive news with the Laois Minors going in the right direction. I think Infidels point about an outsider is correct to a point.Look at Clough Ballacolla who certainly used outsiders to bring them on.I really hope Tommy Fitz does well but it's a big step to be an Inter County Manager especially since Laois are struggling so much. Portlaoise badly need help or are We waiting another 30 years for them to win a Minor A Final.Look at Ross Munnelly learning the ropes from Justin Mc Nulty.I think if Tommy had a few years over a Roscommon or Meath first or one of the top clubs in the Country. I Hope I'm wrong but Infidel has made some valid points. Either way We are all behind Tommy & the lads & I hope He proves us wrong & wins Joe Mc Donagh.
Joe mcdonagh tomorrow tough game ahead have to get a win to kick off the year we are good enough but it won't be easy🙏
Best of luck to Tommy and the lads this afternoon. All the players are speaking very highly of the set-up so hopefully we can get championship off to a great start.
Quote from: LaoisforSam on April 14, 2025, 10:30:52 AMSome positive news with the Laois Minors going in the right direction. I think Infidels point about an outsider is correct to a point.Look at Clough Ballacolla who certainly used outsiders to bring them on.I really hope Tommy Fitz does well but it's a big step to be an Inter County Manager especially since Laois are struggling so much. Portlaoise badly need help or are We waiting another 30 years for them to win a Minor A Final.Look at Ross Munnelly learning the ropes from Justin Mc Nulty.I think if Tommy had a few years over a Roscommon or Meath first or one of the top clubs in the Country. I Hope I'm wrong but Infidel has made some valid points. Either way We are all behind Tommy & the lads & I hope He proves us wrong & wins Joe Mc Donagh.
Tommy was wit Thomass in Galway n Eddie in Laois. Jaysus lads ye have a fierce inferiority complex, no wonder we'll do f**k all wit that attitude
Nervous at the start but by far the better team throughout. Brilliant stuff.
Jaysus we motored well today. Dooley is some boyo. Clear mopped up. Cha was a divil n de full forward line did unfold. Mighty. Hon Tommy
Great to get the 2 points v Westmeath and start the McDonagh on the front foot. After a jittery first 20 minutes, we settled well.
Our full forward line was excellent on the day especially Mossy Keyes. He took his goal brilliantly after a fantastic hook from Lee Cleere with the Westmeath player baring down on goal 30 seconds earlier. A big moment in the game.
Once we got the 2nd goal, the game was over as a contest. David Dooley put in a really good shift.
Down away next Saturday in Ballycran. Not to be taken for granted but would be hopeful of getting another win there. Carlow scored 6 goals against them in round 1.
Firstly I am over the moon for Tommy Fitzgerald, the management team, and of course the Team as a whole. Listened to it on radio 3, and got a friend to download the match, so I got to watch it yesterday. We were slow out of the block's but when Lee Cleere made that outrageous block, and Mosey scored that phenomenal goal 20 seconds later, the whole team seemed to react as though their lives depended on it.
As iv gotten older, humility comes a little easier for me, so I say with absolute integrity and honesty that I am very proud to say that I jumped to certain conclusions after the game in Belfast, that in hindsight were reactionary.
As human beings, we tend to forget about the bigger picture and thus live in the moment. What I witnessed in Belfast was accurate, but as a man who went to his first Laois senior match with his father in Rathdowney in 1979, it's fair to say that in 46 years of supporting this great little County, I have witnessed the Good the bad and the ugly of Laois Gaa for almost half a century.
As for the game on Saturday, I thought that the Goalie and all seven backs ( Mulaney for Walsh ) were on the money. I know that I mentioned young Dooley before, but he has the strength ability and skills to walk on to most County Hurling teams. Purcell defies age and logic, Corby works tirelessly and Mosey has it all. Young Quinlan is starting to fill out and can only get better. I still firmly believe that Aaron Dunphy must start when fit, as he is one of our best forwards in the last four years. Delighted for Ben Conroy simply because anyone who knows Laois Hurling, Ben has sometimes flattered to decieve, but on Saturday he was excellent, I'm not surprised because years ago when I was involved in underage Hurling, Ben was second only to Zane Keenan although Ben is younger, he was at under 14,16 level, the standout performer. Finally unless something out of the ordinary happens, It will be a Laois v Carlow final. I'm actually glad that Carlow absolutely destroyed Down, simply because they will be understandably badly low on confidence, and will start to remember when we put SEVEN past them a couple of years back.
P.S I know that the Minor Hurlers have only beaten Carlow and Kildare although comprehensively and will beat Kerry. Has anyone watched them and have they any hope of progressing to a Leinster semi final. I'm asking because I have a friend from Wexford over here and he was saying that this years Wexford minor hurlers are supposed to be very poor.
A great start to the campaign, all going well we should have a Carlow v Laois final (fingers crossed) which should be a belter of a final and set the winners in good stead for a crack at 3rd placed team in Leinster.
Pity the game wasn't on Clubber but that strikes me as an exceptional performance; a statement win away from home.
Tommy deserves serious credit for the way he has the team playing and hopefully they can continue this form right through until the second weekend in June. There's a long road to go and Carlow will still take a lot of beating (not to rule out Kildare or Kerry completely) but we have the firepower to match any team in the Joe McD.
Well done to everyone involved.
Good day at the office laois beating down and the minors winning I believe they have offaly next sat at home ó qfinal.
On Wednesday night I decided that I would travel to Down via Belfast to watch the Senior team for a second time this year, and they didn't disappoint, on the contrary they game was basically over after 15 minutes. I wrote during the week that I felt that Down's mauling at the hands of Carlow, along with the history of Laois putting seven past them a couple of years ago would be somewhat a bridge too far, but I really didn't expect what I witnessed from a team that won division 2A. We were 2.05 up inside 10 minutes, but the difference in attitude is one thing, but skill levels fitness tactics and desire were so vast that very little can be learned from this for Laois.
Regarding individual performances, Mosey again shone and Jer Quinlan is becoming the player that many expected, He is very intelligent. Conroy is a confidence hurler and he has it in abundance, Cha and young Dooley were excellent. Podge Delaney was my man of the match, and I'll finish by saying that I was very excited about young Duggan of the harps, the young man has a hatful of skill but it is his reading of the game that I was impressed with. He knew where to be when an attack was beginning.
Other than that I have to say that the Ards peninsula is a beautiful part of the country. A week off, but Kerry will probably come to portlaoise after a bad beating from Carlow next week. We can probably mortgage that we will play Carlow twice, one in the last round of matches and second in the final. 9.61 in two matches, I checked my history and no Laois Hurling team EVER SCORED 88 PIONTS IN GAA HISTORY IN TWO GAMES. Finally great news for the Minor Hurlers who made five changes and annihilated Kerry, next up a poor Offaly minor team for a change the these lads beat at u 14,15 level handsomely. My friend from Wexford and an English friend came across for the day, and Jim the Wexford guy said that the present Wexford minor hurlers are VERY POOR. If we put the buffo's away there is a great chance of getting Dublin in a Leinster Minor Hurling semi final
M
It was always going to come down to Carlow in Croke Park. I think both counties will be out of site of the other teams and the game in the league stages won't count for much aside from momentum or bragging rights.
Both teams motoring well so should be a great contest.
Quote from: The infidel in exile on April 27, 2025, 12:27:16 PMOn Wednesday night I decided that I would travel to Down via Belfast to watch the Senior team for a second time this year, and they didn't disappoint, on the contrary they game was basically over after 15 minutes. I wrote during the week that I felt that Down's mauling at the hands of Carlow, along with the history of Laois putting seven past them a couple of years ago would be somewhat a bridge too far, but I really didn't expect what I witnessed from a team that won division 2A. We were 2.05 up inside 10 minutes, but the difference in attitude is one thing, but skill levels fitness tactics and desire were so vast that very little can be learned from this for Laois.
Regarding individual performances, Mosey again shone and Jer Quinlan is becoming the player that many expected, He is very intelligent. Conroy is a confidence hurler and he has it in abundance, Cha and young Dooley were excellent. Podge Delaney was my man of the match, and I'll finish by saying that I was very excited about young Duggan of the harps, the young man has a hatful of skill but it is his reading of the game that I was impressed with. He knew where to be when an attack was beginning.
Other than that I have to say that the Ards peninsula is a beautiful part of the country. A week off, but Kerry will probably come to portlaoise after a bad beating from Carlow next week. We can probably mortgage that we will play Carlow twice, one in the last round of matches and second in the final. 9.61 in two matches, I checked my history and no Laois Hurling team EVER SCORED 88 PIONTS IN GAA HISTORY IN TWO GAMES. Finally great news for the Minor Hurlers who made five changes and annihilated Kerry, next up a poor Offaly minor team for a change the these lads beat at u 14,15 level handsomely. My friend from Wexford and an English friend came across for the day, and Jim the Wexford guy said that the present Wexford minor hurlers are VERY POOR. If we put the buffo's away there is a great chance of getting Dublin in a Leinster Minor Hurling semi final
M
laois are a good strong team there aim should be to win the fecking thing not just hope to beat offaly go and win it out.
Well done men on another massive win against Kerry, yes we all know that Laois are better than Kerry hurlers but I listened to it on Midlands and Well done to young Duggan, I don't think that he is even 23 yet and scored 5 goals in the first half of a Senior intercounty Hurling match.
People have been waiting a while for James to show how good he is and they got it in spades today.
Finally I have a strange feeling that Carlow Kildare and Westmeath will all end up on 6 points, and I may be wrong, but with Kildare after beating both of them, they could well be in a final against Laois, We will put them away quite easily but they have Down to play and should they win, they go onto six points, finally Carlow have both Westmeath and ourselves to play and could lose both. Just a thought
Laois got to be hot favorite's to win Joe Mcdonagh with the standard of teams they are playing at the moment, Kerry were awful yesterday. Down will go straight back down in the League next year.
Laois are well ahead of the playing field at the moment Keep foot on the peddle. All Ireland prelims will tell where they are at with hoping they win Final first to set them up
It's an awful pity that Laois will be in Division 2 of the National Hurling League next year.
Games at that level wouldn't be proper preparation for Leinster Championship should Laois win the Joe McDonagh Cup.
Laois are ahead but they can't take their eye of the main goal because that will come down to a one off knockout game in Croke Park. Those games can have a life of their own sometimes.
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on May 12, 2025, 10:54:29 PMIt's an awful pity that Laois will be in Division 2 of the National Hurling League next year.
Games at that level wouldn't be proper preparation for Leinster Championship should Laois win the Joe McDonagh Cup.
Indeed it's a pity we're going to be in Division 2 next year. However, we should use that to blood new players at that stage and be seeking out challenge games against the top teams after the league as preparation.
Quote from: John1 on May 12, 2025, 04:04:15 PMLaois are well ahead of the playing field at the moment Keep foot on the peddle. All Ireland prelims will tell where they are at with hoping they win Final first to set them up
The big incentive this year in winning JMD is the fact the winners face third place in Leinster. Possibly Wexford again and I know they beat us by 12pts last year - but that was when we had lost the final. If we can cruise the rest of the JMD and win the final, the lads heads will be in a better space for having a cut at Wexford in Portlaoise on June 16th.
Wouldn't it be sweet though if Offaly made it third in Leinster and we got them instead of Wexford! Be some tussle with Offaly.
Firstly I want to put it out there that I got the Tommy Fitz appointment wrong,as I previously stated that I felt that he wouldn't get the best out of the team, thus not giving the man time of relate his ideas and skills that he picked up in Galway to the player's.
In my defense, what I witnessed in Corrigan park against Antrim was terrible, but he is certainly turning things around. That being said we haven't come up against any team with real substance so far in the Joe Mc so they can only play what's before then.
Carlow either blew it big time against Kildare, or the latter have improved beyond all logic, since Kerry beat them by one point a few weeks ago.
Infact there is a real chance that two teams could end up on six points.
We should beat Kildare by over 10 points, as we are averaging 21 point wins thus far in the Cup. Kildare will beat Down which will put them finishing in Six points, and Carlow, who are on four points, have to travel to Mullingar before playing us in Dr Cullen.
Westmeath could end up on Six points as well, as if they overcome Carlow at home, they will beat Kerry. That means that if Westmeath beat Carlow, We will go hell for leather in Carlow because if we beat them, then they are gone and it will be a Laois Kildare final, because they will go through as they have beaten Westmeath already. I know that their are conetations but when we beat Kildare we are automatically in the final on at least eight points as only Carlow are the only other team that could have eight points, but they have their hardest two games left in Mullingar and ourselves in Carlow.
I really would love the lads to win the Joe Mc, and I don't believe that Wexford are a good team, as the average age is 30, and we certainly give them a good run for it at underage level for the last five years.
Unlikely to be Wexford. They have now lost to Dublin and Galway so realistically it will be either Dublin or Galway who finish third. Wexford will need Dublin to beat Kilkenny and then beat Kilkenny themselves. They would then need Galway to beat Dublin in the final game to avoid three teams finishing with three wins and two losses as their score difference will in likely be inferior to Kilkenny and Galway. If that sequence of results plays out they will finish third on head to head rule. Dublin look to be building some momentum under new management this year. Their clash with Kilkenny should be one to watch. They need to atone for the disaster that was last year's Leinster Final.
Can't see wexford progressing really after scraping a home win v Offaly
Dublin look livelier again than last year .Kilkenny blitzed them early stages of Leinster Final and heads dropped. hoping they can test Kilkenny tomorrow without showing full hand and getting a crack in the Leinster Final.
Galway saw off Antrim with ease in Salthill today. Mind you, Antrim were rather wasteful. The business end of the Leinster Championship approaches and Offaly have kept it tight with Wexford and Dublin, however got a bit of a hiding from both Galway and Kilkenny. They should account for Antrim at home in Tullamore if they can move the ball around and not get into a physical battle with Antrim.
Sad weekend for gaa in the county footballers loosing to mighty Wicklow and hurlers been hammered by mighty hurlers of Kildare the complete neglect of underage in hurling and football a complete disgrace where we go from here I don' know ,when a poster suggested getting in help from Kilkenny he was savaged by a poster the can't even write in English and other posts suggest we should refuse to play in Division 2 we are so good for i feel for the players who give there free time for shit shows like this
With our under 20 losing in football and hurling by average 20 points the future looks dire
That was deflating today . Everything about that was grim. That is a full strength Senior Hurling panel . A bad day for Laois hurling .
Yes bad day at the office. But I do think we are better than that.
Very tough encounter to come now v Carlow. We will need everything going our way. Any indication re Podge Delaney?
The man that received the brutal abuse was myself Blue forever, but I'm 53 years old and have suffered worst than one or two so called Laois fans, abusing me, although I believe one of them went too far with their constant abuse that the platform had enough and threw to individual off.
As for today, I actually thought that Laois Hurling was too good for Tier 2, but we didn't just get beaten, we were destroyed and I happened on the line.I don't believe that Tommy Fitzgerald is a bad Guy, But if Laois REALLY REALLY WANT TO OVERCOME TIER 1 Teams, then they need a tier 1 coach. Other than Eddie Brennan, No management team have come within 8 points of improving Laois Hurling and that Includes Cheddar, a Nice man yes, a great coach NO. THE PROBLEM IS THE COUNTY BOARD,we had people in the past robbing thousands from match money. Yet they state that Laois don't have the money to bring in top coaches. But the male and female who robbed God only knows how much, were never arrested.
If Laois don't beat Carlow next week then they are out of the Cup, on account of kildare and Carlow beating them.
I don't see Laois beating Carlow, and I will leave you with the personal opinion that Fitzgerald has constantly left Aaron Dunphy on the bench, a forward that Eddie Brennan once stated that would get onto any County team.
Quote from: Blueforever on May 18, 2025, 04:53:09 PMSad weekend for gaa in the county footballers loosing to mighty Wicklow and hurlers been hammered by mighty hurlers of Kildare the complete neglect of underage in hurling and football a complete disgrace where we go from here I don' know ,when a poster suggested getting in help from Kilkenny he was savaged by a poster the can't even write in English and other posts suggest we should refuse to play in Division 2 we are so good for i feel for the players who give there free time for shit shows like this
With our under 20 losing in football and hurling by average 20 points the future looks dire
Such a load of rubbish posted above ! Credit to Wicklow footballers and Kildare hurlers.
I did not read any posts suggesting we should refuse to play in NHL Division 2.
Nevertheless it is glaringly obvious that we are a level above this division.
Kildare have also beaten Carlow and Westmeath who both hurled at a higher level than Laois in recent times.
Wicklow are usually tough opposition in Aughrim and their victory was not a great surprise. We needed to be at full strength and the loss of Mark Barry did not help our cause.
Carlow V Laois in the hurling and Offaly v Laois in football will give us a better read on our standing.
Just in case we were getting any ideas that result today will put that to rest. Its bad when a non hurling county like Kildare are able to come down to our own patch and show us how to hurl.
Sounds like we were not able for their physicality, and i think a bit of taking them for granted may also have been at play.
They are doing something right in Kildare and fair play to them.
Got to be some real soul searching now after that.
Jesus's wept W8cklow never won a senior Leinster final and Kildare only started taking hurling serious the last 10 years when a lad from Ballacolla took over Nass hurlers
Boy wonder!!!! Oh what's the point
Jesus lads, I get we are disappointed as Im sure all involved with both setups are in hurling and football are, but we have no god given right to anything and given we have won so little in our history we hardly strike fear in the heart of others.
A bit of respect for Wicklow and Kildare please. They are both sides who are clearly working hard in recent years, Wicklow put 18 points on the Dubs in Leinster, losing by 9 in the end and Kildare gave Carlow a good beating (a Carlow side who beat Waterford in the league) the other week and have not just picked up hurls a few years ago as is almost suggested.
As boy wonder rightly suggests the focus now turns to Offaly in the football and Carlow in the hurling, both will be tough encounters and Laois will have to be at their best to prevail in either.
Proper knockout now, no time to feel sorry for ourselves.
Whether some of you like it or not, Laois Hurlers lost against a team that played in the Lori Meagher and Christy Ring Cup until this year. Boy wonder, what you wrote was totally disgusting and stupid. Under no circumstances should Kildare(who have almost zero history in Hurling, against a Hurling county that won an All Ireland 110 years ago.
Today was in my opinion the worst result in Laois Hurling history. It was an absolute disgrace.
Laois Hurling from top to bottom need to really look in the mirror.
This was absolutely disgusting. But I recognize thet all have an opinion, thus you have ever right to your statement as I have the right to call it out as wrong
Quote from: Blueforever on May 18, 2025, 06:27:21 PMKildare only started taking hurling serious the last 10 years when a lad from Ballacolla took over Nass hurlers
Ah Jaysus. Such nonsense.
Quote from: The infidel in exile on May 18, 2025, 07:09:07 PMToday was in my opinion the worst result in Laois Hurling history. It was an absolute disgrace.
It's not. We have been beaten in the past by teams who were going nowhere. Meath in 2002 comes to mind. Eliminated from the championship by them.
Kildare are actually going places. They will be as close to Kilkenny, Wexford, Dublin & Galway as anybody else in Leinster within 10 years. Possibly Offaly excepted. But I'll hold judgement on that.
Things have changed dramatically for Carlow after today. Looked in bad shape until Kildare's win today.
Laois hurling has has plenty of dark days in the past 109 years (Cork scoring 10-20 in O'Moore park 15 years ago springs to mind). Again I think you are being disrespectful to Kildare, Laois and Carlow might not be world beaters but most would see them as a level above Kildare, but the lillywhites have clearly got their act together and were full value for their wins against both. Laois now must beat Carlow and the winners of that will get another crack at Kildare in the final.
From a hurling pov I think its actually a good thing that the Joe McD is not just a yo yo competition. We all expected it to be a formality with Carlow v Laois final but Kildare have shown its more competitive than that. Again its knockout from now on so we will really see what both our county sides are made of now. Thats what championship is all about.
Quote from: Blueforever on May 18, 2025, 06:27:21 PMJesus's wept W8cklow never won a senior Leinster final and Kildare only started taking hurling serious the last 10 years when a lad from Ballacolla took over Nass hurlers
Go and look up the Leinster Senior Hurling Championships of 1975 and 1976 on Wikipedia.
I'm old enough to have seen Kildare playing in the mid-70s and to have respect for their current upturn after years in the doldrums.
Fine, but in my opinion, Kildare will NEVER COME NEAR, LEINSTERS TOP FOUR. And neither will us, Kildare are in a final now, so whatever happens they will play a qualifier, and I guarantee that whomever they play will annihilate them, because that Laois Hurling team today was even worst than the one I saw in Belfast 10 weeks ago.
If Fitzgerald doesn't start Aaron Dunphy against Carlow after today, Aaron should never play for them again
You're a bit of a yo-yo merchant Infidel, swaying back and forth depending on the latest result.
With most of us hope springs eternal but we are all realists and know we're quite far from the top table in both hurling and football at the moment.
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on May 18, 2025, 07:47:52 PMYou're a bit of a yo-yo merchant Infidel, swaying back and forth depending on the latest result.
With most of us hope springs eternal but we are all realists and know we're quite far from the top table in both hurling and football at the moment.
This.
What were the realistic expectations at the start of the year? Footballers and hurlers avoid relegation in the league and footballers maybe get to Taitleann cup final and hurlers win Joe McD cup?
They would have been realistic ambitions and are still possible but they will not be handed to us.
Quote from: The infidel in exile on May 18, 2025, 07:40:05 PMIf Fitzgerald doesn't start Aaron Dunphy against Carlow after today, Aaron should never play for them again
Even if he is injured? As he was today. And has been for most of the year.
Quote from: Voice of tReason on May 18, 2025, 08:05:06 PMQuote from: The infidel in exile on May 18, 2025, 07:40:05 PMIf Fitzgerald doesn't start Aaron Dunphy against Carlow after today, Aaron should never play for them again
Even if he is injured? As he was today. And has been for most of the year.
Don't you dare talk sense here
Very disappointed leaving Portlaoise today and we got a bit of a humbling. Well done to Kildare though on a fine win - they looked well fit, plenty of physicality in that team and while there was a certain amount of luck in some of the goals, they deserved their win today.
Kildare have always had a hurling tradition - albeit without any real notable success. With the explosion in population over the past twenty five years, it's no surprise to see them progress. There is over a quarter of a million people in Kildare!
Some of their underage teams play in the Laois leagues and my own club got a hiding off a Kildare club side recently. They have a structure going and they are doing the right things and have been for a good few years now. They have had recent successes in Leinster minor and U20 campaigns.
With all of the above taken into account - coupled with Kildare's previous wins V Carlow (in Dr. Cullen Park) and V Westmeath who both would be expected to go well in this competition, perhaps some complacency set in around this fixture and Kildare executed a perfect ambush.
The lesson here for Laois is we're not entitled to win this competition and we cannot be complacent. Our final game V Carlow is vital and by God above, Tommy should have the lads fired up to atone for today's loss. It won't be simple - Carlow are a decent side and it's gonna be an almighty battle. However, a draw will suffice.
I also add - looking at Laois today, they looked very heavy on their feet and alot of the first touch was messy. What is happening in training?
Infidel- you can't swing between Tommy being clown & a Tommy being a genius from week to week
And
Expect to be taken credibly.
We are disappointed.
I might be over egging where Kildare can get to, but you are under egging it.
In fairness I would expect the Infidel to row back on some of his ill-judged commentary.
He won't want George nipping at his ankles again.
When you're six points down with two minutes plus injury time to go, playing with whatever breeze there is, I wouldn't have thought taking a short puck out to a corner back was the right call.
Best team won anyway - if we had stole a result it would only be papering over the cracks.
But I still think we can bounce back and win the Joe Mc.
Laois didn't have their best game yesterday. It's incredible to think that that Kildare side were beaten by Kerry in their opening game of the Joe Mc. Laois players given a reality check yesterday which could work out as a blessing in disguise. I definitely think that the Laois players took their eyes of the ball for this one and Kildare bought huge intensity and physicality to their performance which we were not prepared for. It does make for an exciting end to the Joe McDonagh. Had we won were were guaranteed a place in the final. Now, we must get a result in the final game and so do Carlow. Should really add to the occasion and ensure a big crowd in for the game in Dr. Cullen. There will be a proper knock out championship feel to the game, which, on form, looks likely to be a close, high scoring encounter. I'm really looking forward to it actually as you cannot beat proper, championship, knock out hurling. Win this weekend and Laois will be prepared for the Kildare threat this time around. Had we walked into the final, we could easily have been ambushed in the way we were on Sunday. Now, there is absolutely no fear of that.
Kildare have done some trojan work to develop hurling within the county. Tradition will not keep us ahead of counties like Kildare in the modern era. They have a greater playing population and their underage hurlers and clubs are exposed to playing in leagues and competitions in other counties e.g. Kilkenny. As their own competitions and structures grow and more hurling clubs are formed and developed, it is evitable that their underage teams and senior team will do. However, you have also got to respect the fact that we are producing some good underage teams too (despite what people may think). We have some fine young hurlers that are starting to filter into the senior set up at present. I think Tommy is the perfect fit to nurture and bring those players through over the next few years. Judging Tommy off of less than 6 months in the job is madness and every team can have an off day like Sunday. Realistically Laois are in transition with some very established players having stepped away or will do in the next year or so. It will take a very good coach to keep Laois on an upward trajectory while bringing through the young talent. Antrim is a great example of how things can quickly go wrong when you are working off a small pool of players and bring in a "big name", "expert" outside coach. Tommy will do things right and I can guarantee you he will leave the Laois hurling team in a better place when he does step away from the job (hopefully not for a good many years).
Hard to know where to start, but firstly I never referred to Tommy as being a Clown or a genius. IT is correct regarding my yoyo'ing brother, but that's simply because I love the County and miss the club matches even more, now that I live in England, and I am Thorn between The senior management and some of the performances that I either travelled to watch, or watched on clubber.
Maybe I reminisce for the days when I was very young and my father brought me to watch good teams play in Rathdowney between say 1980, 87, beating Galaxy in a Centenary semi final in 84, scoring 6.10 against Offaly in 81, watching hurlers like John Taylor, The Bohans, Pat Critchley, Ray Broderick, Martin and PJ Cuddy, and others.
I suppose I'm a romantic at heart, but I never claimed to be a Guru, as I mess up more than most.
Credible or not, I say what I think. Finally if Aaron Dunphy was injured then why was he on the bench??.
I will be in Carlow at the weekend as I'm getting a cheap ferry and driving down.
I suppose what I can't understand is, I really don't believe that Kildare could have improved beyond logic as I could be wrong but I believe that Down beat them in the tier 3 final, and Kerry, who we massacred, beat them four or five weeks ago. My simple reasoning was that, We were. Awful on the day and no matter what some people think, Kildare are not a good hurling team. Finally I respect every one of you boys as I'm probably older than most, so I can take it when I'm called out. But I sometimes ponder what kind of Laois team would be hurling if everything went to the original plan and the Tipperary man was in place. On that situation, as I don't hear anything about the day to day stuff back home, good is Mr Gleeson doing? Is he in good shape and getting better or as he had or going through surgery?. P.S I forgot to mention Michael Walsh Ballinakill, one of the best hurlers that wore the jersey R.I.P
From being strong favourites to win it out, we now find ourselves having to win a game we hardly ever win ie Carlow away just to survive in the competition. Shows how quickly these things can change.
A massive "cup semi final" awaits us on Saturday. A season defining game. Since 2010, we have had a great rivalry with Carlow with games going both ways down through these years.
Hopefully we can get over the line and make the Joe McDonagh final. It is a daunting task, will take a big performance to qualify. A slight help is that a draw will do us.
It could be that mantra of goals win games. We may need a few to get over the line in a 50/50 game.
Carlow are backboned by three fantastic hurlers in Marty Kavanagh, Chris Nolan and James Doyle. We will need a better plan to the one we went out with against Kildare if we are to negate their threat. Cathal McCabe did huge damage for Kildare from centre forward and it was a good eye opener for Laois as to where we will need to improve. If Nolan gets similar space to operate in he could do serious damage. Both teams have rattled in the goals throughout the campaign and played very open hurling. I wonder if we will see a change of approach from either team this weekend.
Its do or die for Laois hurlers now, Carlow will be a huge battle but our lads are mor than capable of getting it done to get another tilt at Kildare in the final.
There is a scenario that may just happen, that may throw the cat amongst the pigeons. Although nobody is giving Down a hope in hell, they beat Kildare twice this year in Division 2A, once in the group stages by 6 points and turned them over again in the final by 7 points. I realize that Kildare are odds on, but the final was on the 2nd of March.
Nobody gave Kildare a chance against us, but they won, I respect that I am in the minority, but although they beat both ourselves and Carlow, I believe it says more about ourselves and Carlow, than Kildare.
Kildare will most probably beat Down, but if Down can do the treble over them this year, and Laois and Carlow games are always close and ends in a draw, then everything changes.
Even though I may not be a credible individual, I have seen stranger things happen.
But after spending almost £300 to go over to Carlow, I am hoping for a big performance from the boy's
I agree with Laois rising regarding those three Carlow hurlers, especially Nolan, I think that he is a fantastic stick man
Laois mam I contribute to this board regularly but have been following Laois hurling and football since 1968 I have been to more matches than most people have had breakfasts and don't you dare call me a keyboard warrior I will be in Carlow tomorrow as usual and I will call it as I see it and just tough if you don't like it I am entitled to my opinion the same as you
Blueforever. Where did I call you a key board warrior? Please come back to me on it.
Laois man - your post does seem to tar all posters with same brush - I can understand why Blueforever takes offence.
Sorry boy wonder I never meant to tar all posters with the one brush it just makes me sick when I see people giving out on Facebook etc and I know some of them never go to support there county. The loyal support will be there tomorrow and please god we get over the line.
People will always complain mate, there would be no forums if we did not ;D
Best of luck to the hurlers this weekend, a tough game but no doubt if we play to our potential we can book a place in the final. Laois abú!!!
Laois man, if you had myself in mind with that comment that can only be described as emotive and uncalled for, as paradoxically, it seems you that is using the keyboard to passive aggressively have a pop at unnamed individual's.like Blue forever, when I lived in the county, I hardly ever missed a match, thus I'm equally offended as Iv just arrived in Portarlington after traveling for almost 11 hours, and paying money that I can barely afford to watch the game.
If it was a dirty shot at me, well I actually couldn't care less, but don't assume that you know every single person online and calling them out for not going to matches, as you can't possibly know who actually goes to the games, But as I said, if it was myself then by all means you can approach me, as I have a ticket for the Stand, 53 years old, wearing a Boss jacket in blue.
And as I'm a plasid individual, you can get whatever is eating you up inside, as I truly don't understand why you would write such a statement, as there are only about ten in total that contribute regularly the the hurlers. All I can say, as I previously stated, that all our statements are purely subjective based on personal opinion. What I previously stated regarding individuals in the County board was known throughout the County, actually Gaa Head quarters were involved, during the days of the Senior football team getting to three Leinster finals in a row. Anyway I'm getting old and it's been a long drive so hopefully tomorrow at 3.30 we will be in the final.
Finally if I have offended anyone else, then I apologize profusely as that is not my nature, but like my other Laois brother in arms, iv watched Laois Hurling for over 40 year's thus I have earned my right to have an opinion, But I NEVER EVER USE DEROGATORY LANGUAGE TOWARDS MANAGEMENT.Nor do I ever use expletives as I consider myself a Christian and I don't personally believe that anyone needs to use it. In saying that, I only want to see Laois Hurling and especially the players given everything they need to enable them to Keep improving.Laoighis Abu
Best of luck to everyone involved today. It's going to be a tough game and rumours of a couple of injuries make it even more challenging.
It'll be a hard result to take if we fall short after such an encouraging start to the the championship.
The stakes are incredibly high. Win and a shot at redemption against Kildare. Lose and it'll feel like we've fallen behind another Leinster County in Kildare and lost ground on counties ahead of such as Carlow and Offaly.
I've been unequivocal in my support for management and that'll sustain after today regardless of the result.
We have the right man at the helm and a good team around him. There will be a period of transition ahead as a handful of players are likely to depart and new faces will come in and new leaders will need to emerge.
I firmly believe if we hurl to the best of our ability, get our match-ups right defensively and attack the game with confidence and determination, that we can pull off the win and head to Croke Park with a point to prove against Kildare.
We've a decent record in Dr Cullen Park and it's a tight pitch where players can feed off the energy of the supporters. Hopefully a sizeable Laois crowd will be there to drive the lads on.
Best of luck!
1-13 to 0-13 after 45 mins. Carow just about edging it. Laois the better hurlers but Carlow have the physical edge and making it a real dogfight which is suiting them. Laois need to be smarter with their passing and decision making if they are to get over the line.
Proper championship clash, all to play for.
63 mins - Carlow 2-14 0-18 Laois.
Laois making too many mistakes which is costing them including silly stuff like trying to take a short sideline, slipping away from Laois, a draw will do them if they can keep their heads.
WOW, Laois 1-20 2-17 Carlow, Laois equalised with a goal from last puck of the game. No idea who got a touch to it even as it was a free dropped into the square full of bodies.
Felt unfair to Carlow and Laois certainly got out of jail.
WOW WOW WOW HALLELUJAH, IM OVER THE MOON, I DON'T DNOW WHO TOUCHED IN THE GOAL, I THINK IT WAS YOUNG DUGGAN, 11 HOURS BACK TO NOTTINGHAM BUT IT WAS SUCH A CLOSE GAME, ILL HAVE TO SAVE MONEY TO BE IN CROKE PARK, LAOIGHIS ABU
Think we deserved that little bit of luck.
Think they got a last minute penalty to beat us the last time in Dr Cullen.
We'll have to improve a lot to win the final but isn't it great to be in it?!😀
Delighted! Carlow will be raging but they got a soft penalty at the death a couple of years ago to knock Laois out so it comes and goes! Nolan kicked the ball out under the fence at a line ball too so that deserved a bit of extra time.
We were definitely poxed, Carlow are serious in the air and we made a few bad mistakes in possession and from short puck outs. Thought the ref was poor both ways, very harsh on steps.
Conway is a class defender, he would make almost any county team I reckon.
Steeped!
But.
I thought the referee was much harder on Laois than Carlow. Particularly in the first half.
I think Carlow's approach to breaks and rucks was much more effective than Laois's.
Laois way too nice around it.
Sounds juvenile, old fashioned & simplistic, but Jesus the amount of time Laois went in one handed, hurl full arms length, fully upright stance, expecting to lift and carry the ball out of a ruck.
They will get slaughtered doing that against teams in Leinster, should we make the step up!
Quote from: Plentymorehurlsontheline on May 24, 2025, 03:48:17 PMDelighted! Carlow will be raging but they got a soft penalty at the death a couple of years ago to knock Laois out so it comes and goes! Nolan kicked the ball out under the fence at a line ball too so that deserved a bit of extra time.
We were definitely poxed, Carlow are serious in the air and we made a few bad mistakes in possession and from short puck outs. Thought the ref was poor both ways, very harsh on steps.
Conway is a class defender, he would make almost any county team I reckon.
Yep, that was spotted by the officials and proved costly, thinking he was being clever wasting time. I thought Paddy Purcell was immense but Laois have huge room for improvement and will need it against Kildare. Again so much of their decision making with passes and line balls was dreadful and were lucky Carlow did not punish them further.
It may not have been top quality at times but it was a fierce battle and better than a 100 training sessions so we will be well set for the final in 2 weeks time against the Lillywhites. The winners of that will face Galway/ Dublin (bar an upset) and losers likely to face Tipp.
Got out of jail big time. Carlow must be sick.
I feel Laois were the authors of a lot of their own misfortune. Constansly Playing through the lines and getting turned over through poor 1st touch and lack of understanding. Carlow were the beneficiary of many of score. I understand its the modern way but nothing wrong with route one to ball winners on the half forward line and let them work like f**k for possession , in the scoring zone.
Also a strange one that Duggan didn't start. He definitely got the touch for the goal.
Enough negativity, great to be back in croke park for a final again. Hopefully we ll travel in big numbers again,
Back in Dublin waiting for the ferry to Holyhead.Absolutely delighted for the team, young Conway was exceptional all game, and the management brought up in two subs in Dunphy and Duggan who scored 1.2 when we needed it.
I respect that I'm in the minority here, but I know that Laois on their day, will turn Kildare over in head quarters. They have a massive point to prove against what I believe is, although improving are an inferior hurling team. Would love to see Aaron Dunphy start in the final.
Great to go through like that but I suspect we will have to improve to win final
Brilliant to get the draw when all seemed lost.
I'm not a fan of the short passing out of defence - hopefully the wider spaces of Croke Park will enable longer balls into space for the forwards.
The setback against Kildare should have Laois on their toes in the final.
Quote from: The infidel in exile on May 24, 2025, 06:59:22 PMBack in Dublin waiting for the ferry to Holyhead.Absolutely delighted for the team, young Conway was exceptional all game, and the management brought up in two subs in Dunphy and Duggan who scored 1.2 when we needed it.
I respect that I'm in the minority here, but I know that Laois on their day, will turn Kildare over in head quarters. They have a massive point to prove against what I believe is, although improving are an inferior hurling team. Would love to see Aaron Dunphy start in the final.
I think everyone expected that Laois will beat Kildare if playing to potential.
Aaron Dunphy was very very cumbersome today. Totally off the pace.
Hopefully today brings him on, but he's a mile off starting based on today in my opinion.
2 minutes played over injury time and a dubious square ball call not often Laois get them calls, we will take it all day long😄
Sloppy game to be honest, alot of short passing didn't stick but Laois stayed in it and close enough to have that chance at the end fair play to them for not giving in. Conway and Mossy well ahead of the pack on performance levels
Time to redeem themselves and see have they learned from the day in Portlaoise v Kildare
All roads lead to Croker
Great result. Performance wasn't perfect by any means but we defended well for the most part and won a lot of our duels. Conway, in particular, was absolutely top-class and he's going to be incredibly important against Kildare in Croker.
In fairness to everyone involved, management are playing to our players' strengths. We simply don't have the personnel to play long and direct. The likes of Mossy, Corby, Conroy, Quinlan, Duggan etc need ball played to their advantage and we simply have to get the ball out to 45/65 before delivering it. Carlow caught onto it towards the end of the second half and adapted. It'll be interesting to see how management approach the Kildare game and players like Aaron Dunphy and Mark Dowling may be needed from the start if we are to play a little more direct. Both have had their injury issues but hopefully two weeks will help. Same with Jordan Walshe whose athleticism could be needed against Kildare.
Great to feel some positivity leaving Carlow. We were lucky with the late goal and the added time in added time but we've had plenty of near-misses and late heartache down through the years, indeed our last visit to Carlow a couple of years ago was a sickening finish.
Out performances seem to have peaked a few weeks back and the step-up in opposition brought by Kildare and Carlow have been a reality check...but we're where we need to be and players and management have 2 weeks to make sure we're ready for Kildare. If we can match them for pace and athleticism, we'll be hard beaten and there certainly won't be room for any complacency.
Full faith in Tommy, Niall and Andrew to have us ready for it!
Think it was Mullaney who got the goal by the way.
If he was in the square, and I'm not convinced he was, the referee owed him one after a couple of harsh/contentious technical fouls against him...
Quote from: Voice of tReason on May 24, 2025, 08:17:51 PMGreat result. Performance wasn't perfect by any means but we defended well for the most part and won a lot of our duels. Conway, in particular, was absolutely top-class and he's going to be incredibly important against Kildare in Croker.
In fairness to everyone involved, management are playing to our players' strengths. We simply don't have the personnel to play long and direct. The likes of Mossy, Corby, Conroy, Quinlan, Duggan etc need ball played to their advantage and we simply have to get the ball out to 45/65 before delivering it. Carlow caught onto it towards the end of the second half and adapted. It'll be interesting to see how management approach the Kildare game and players like Aaron Dunphy and Mark Dowling may be needed from the start if we are to play a little more direct. Both have had their injury issues but hopefully two weeks will help. Same with Jordan Walshe whose athleticism could be needed against Kildare.
Great to feel some positivity leaving Carlow. We were lucky with the late goal and the added time in added time but we've had plenty of near-misses and late heartache down through the years, indeed our last visit to Carlow a couple of years ago was a sickening finish.
Out performances seem to have peaked a few weeks back and the step-up in opposition brought by Kildare and Carlow have been a reality check...but we're where we need to be and players and management have 2 weeks to make sure we're ready for Kildare. If we can match them for pace and athleticism, we'll be hard beaten and there certainly won't be room for any complacency.
Full faith in Tommy, Niall and Andrew to have us ready for it!
We have very good primary ball winners in paddy P, cha, jer quinlan is excellent in the air, Aaron dunphy, eanna lyons, even David Dooley.
It's imperative in any suceesful team to be able to mix up the puckouts. In my opinion, there's no substitute for hitting a ball long into the scoring zone and fight like hell. Its a simple game.
It just seemed today that we were one dimensional and turn overs came easy.
If we are to compete back in the leinster championship this will have to change.
Fair play to kildare they ve made great strides as a hurling county. Refreshing to see, but they need to be put back in their box on the 7th June. Let's bring the wife, the kids, the mistress and anyone else who will fit in the car to shout on the lads.
Last year we outnumbered offaly by 3 to 1. The hill was blue and white. Let's go again.
Relieved to get to the JMD final. We've made hard work of getting there and to be quite honest, I don't like our current style of play - I don't think it suits us.
Our first touch in the last two games has been very poor overall and we are no aerial ball winners either. At this stage of the tournament we ought to have these glaring deficiencies ironed out. The only aspect of our game that is working is when we can offload the sliothar into a player with space and time to convert a score. We're easily succumbing to pressure in most 50-50s and turning over ball to the opposition.
Today, under the stand in Carlow, we passed off a ball into midfield and there was a free Laois player on the wing - who was begging for the pass. The result was a turnover in midfield and a Carlow point then resulted when we should have taken the obvious option and scored a point instead, a two point swing in the crucial closing part of the game instead of scoring, we went another point behind.
I seriously hope management scrutinise every minute of that game today and learn, learn hard from it. Kildare are a step above Carlow and today it seemed we took very little from the lesson Kildare dished out last week. We have two weeks to prepare for the final - so do Kildare. We need to have our homework done for June 8th.
There are players on that Laois panel that have given great service to Laois over the years and the last two games (incl. Today) I think they have lacked a little bit of leadership. I hope they can resurrect it for the final.
Looking ahead to the final, I think the wider expanses of Croke Park will suit us better than Kildare. If we can play to our strengths, i.e. using the space intelligently we can drive on for the win.
Great that we're through to the Joe mcdonagh final. I thought today the decision making was poor and the keeper should learn from today as he gave away 2/3 balls that ended up on the Carlow men's hand great save though at one stage in the match. I'm not quite sure what happend against Kildare I think the lads thought it be a walkover but I do think we will beat them in Croker we have a lot of experience lads who played in Croker a few times with Laois down the years. I hope to see dunphy starting at least or on the 65s he doesn't miss much. We need to start off quick against Kildare and get 1/2 goals early in the match. I think the width will kill Kildare. Another note well done to Keyes scoring 14 points. We need our forwards to score more. Be interesting what the bookies give Laois against Kildare.
Back home and got some sleep, watched it again on Clubber an hour ago.
I know some of you feel different, but after watching the game again, We were the better team over the 70. But we were wasteful at times, the boys making a couple of poor passing decisions at vital times.
But I totally stand over my previous statement that we, when at our most fluid are far better hurlers than Kildare. Our bench is far stronger than theirs.
At Croke park where the pitch is a lot wider, Kildare's height will mean absolutely nothing, as Laois will undoubtedly use the wings to draw the Kildare's backs all over the place.
Young Dooley was brilliant in the second half and Conway and Cleere are a revelation.
The statement regarding Aaron Dunphy was harsh, as he cam on with 14 minutes left and pointed a phenomenal free under pressure with 4 minutes left. Aaron Dunphy and young Duggan must start in the final. I don't believe that Croke park is a place for tenacious forwards but backs. Croke park allows the better hurlers to excell.
Imagine a half forward line of Corby, Purcell and Dunphy, that's 10 points from play, with Duggan, Mossy and Conroy picking up first ball on the wings and running at a defence.
That's simply my humble opinion but I actually fancy Laois to return the favor on Kildare and win convincingly. I'm expecting feedback but as another good Laois man wrote this week regarding the right to an opinion. Iv followed the County since 1979. Kildare have never beaten Laois in a Leinster championship until this year and I have every faith that the boys will fight to the death for the jersey in a couple of weeks and I will be there
Sorry I left out young Quinlan, I believe that he will play instead of Benny, harsh but young Quinlan is better
I reckon that the bookmakers will have Laois as favourites for the final - maybe 4/6 with Kildare 6/4.
If Laois play to their potential most of us would be confident of victory but expecting a stiff challenge from Kildare.
After todays results it will be the Dubs facing the winners of the Joe McDonagh.
Quote from: G@@ on May 24, 2025, 11:14:38 PMRelieved to get to the JMD final. We've made hard work of getting there and to be quite honest, I don't like our current style of play - I don't think it suits us.
Our first touch in the last two games has been very poor overall and we are no aerial ball winners either. At this stage of the tournament we ought to have these glaring deficiencies ironed out. The only aspect of our game that is working is when we can offload the sliothar into a player with space and time to convert a score. We're easily succumbing to pressure in most 50-50s and turning over ball to the opposition.
Today, under the stand in Carlow, we passed off a ball into midfield and there was a free Laois player on the wing - who was begging for the pass. The result was a turnover in midfield and a Carlow point then resulted when we should have taken the obvious option and scored a point instead, a two point swing in the crucial closing part of the game instead of scoring, we went another point behind.
I seriously hope management scrutinise every minute of that game today and learn, learn hard from it. Kildare are a step above Carlow and today it seemed we took very little from the lesson Kildare dished out last week. We have two weeks to prepare for the final - so do Kildare. We need to have our homework done for June 8th.
There are players on that Laois panel that have given great service to Laois over the years and the last two games (incl. Today) I think they have lacked a little bit of leadership. I hope they can resurrect it for the final.
Looking ahead to the final, I think the wider expanses of Croke Park will suit us better than Kildare. If we can play to our strengths, i.e. using the space intelligently we can drive on for the win.
Have to agree, I'm not 100% a fan of our style either. But it should be a lot easier implement it on a pitch like Croker, the extra space will be a huge advantage.
My main issue with our style is it's too easy for the opposition to defend against it, without having to do a huge amount tactically themselves. Carlow simple let us have the ball for large periods and then forced the man press when the timing was right. It was so predictable, double bonus for Carlow when they did turn us over, they would have loads of space to work with as we had committed men forward while we were trying to progress it.
Looking at Limerick V Clare on The Sunday Game. I love how Limerick hung their flags all around the ground. Would love to see the same in Portlaoise when we welcome either Dublin or Tipperary on June 15th.
Quote from: Joeythelips on May 25, 2025, 04:13:20 PMAfter todays results it will be the Dubs facing the winners of the Joe McDonagh.
With a bit of luck we can repeat 2019 and maybe even get a bit further.
Do you know after watching the Sunday Game our biggest concern should be Kildare been taken on as a pet project to develop another hurling county.
They are a very attractive prospect.
Location, population, facilities, profile.
They'd be a really perfect success story for Willie Maher & the GAA if they could continue making strides.
That's a concern for us.
Keeping them down gives us the chance to take this place.
We aren't as attractive a proposition though I'm afraid!
You may have a point verbal, but Kildare may have a population of half a million, but over 100.000 are immigrants who have no interest in Gaa, or Ireland. That being said, as long as iv been a Laois fan, we've had to do all the spade work ourselves. I can't honestly remember a time when we were front and centre of the executive, even when we had a Gas president.
We are similar to Offaly and we have been perennialy the fourth or fifth best underage Hurling teams in Leinster except for a couple of years. Last Sunday we had only two players over 30, Carlow had at least 6, we have an average age of 26, with five on the panel under 23.
I have every confidence that we will take Kildare with a few points to spare if the line gets the first 15 right.
I witnessed a team on Saturday that, although made some mistakes, were mad to put things right and I guarantee you that them boys won't have to be told twice on June 9th to sort out that other crowd
Quote from: The infidel in exile on May 26, 2025, 12:00:16 AMYou may have a point verbal, but Kildare may have a population of half a million, but over 100.000 are immigrants who have no interest in Gaa, or Ireland. That being said, as long as iv been a Laois fan, we've had to do all the spade work ourselves. I can't honestly remember a time when we were front and centre of the executive, even when we had a Gas president.
We are similar to Offaly and we have been perennialy the fourth or fifth best underage Hurling teams in Leinster except for a couple of years. Last Sunday we had only two players over 30, Carlow had at least 6, we have an average age of 26, with five on the panel under 23.
I have every confidence that we will take Kildare with a few points to spare if the line gets the first 15 right.
I witnessed a team on Saturday that, although made some mistakes, were mad to put things right and I guarantee you that them boys won't have to be told twice on June 9th to sort out that other crowd
Really like this post Infidel. Great to see such positivity.
Back ourselves. No need to go cap in hand to Willie Maher or coaches from KK or wherever when we have a young, hungry team being driven by one of our own.
Embed that across our hurling structures; driven and committed Laois people looking to demand the best from and for our players. Every so often, a 'Niall Corcoran' can come in to add something extra to a group.
We've good people involved with our Development Panels at the minute; keep them there and set that as our minimum standard. They need to see a pathway to minor/U20 jobs and maybe further down the line.
As an aside, Aaron Dunphy got minutes with BK again yesterday. He has had a tough run with injuries and has apparently done very little training over the last few weeks. He carried an injury from the club into the league and has had a frustrating year in general. We need to temper expectations slightly and trust management to get the right players on the pitch at the start and coming down the home stretch.
I agree with all of the above.
Still have a concern that Kildare would be regarded as a better/"sexier"/higher profile prospect than us.
W Maher + J Burns (& whoever follows him) + others will want something to be able to point to within the next 2 or 3 years.
Many could see us as a poorer prospect, tried before, will never work, can't help that crowd. Those sort of vibes.
We should be first in line to be boosted in an effort to join the Wexford/Offaly/Dublin tier.
I think it's going to take serious elbow, hip & arse movement to keep our place in the line ahead of Kildare.
Without wanting to sound paranoid, are we certain that everybody in a position of influence in the county wants us to be first in that line?
Different note- good to hear re A Dunphy. Wise move. Just looked to be lacking sharpness of movement.
Voice of reason, brother you don't know who I am, but many years ago, when I was just 30, I was the youngest to referee a County final, but drink got a hold of me, and after some personal pain, I decided to leave Ireland and make my way across the pond, every Ballacolla v Rathdowney or Camross underage game was handed to me, because they asked that I would be Referee, as I didn't just blow the whistle, I told the chaps want I blew them up for, and I never received one word of abuse, only a Sunday morning game, where Mountrath beat Mountmellick by 28 points and challenor called my an alcoholic.
I know more than most about Laois Hurling and regarding Young Dunphy, that man was captain last year for a reason, he has 2 more weeks to get stronger and in my personal view he must start! Why? Simply because an 80% fit Aaron Dunphy will pop over at least 4 points, but sorry to say that two of the inside forward line, although savage work rate won't score enough. P.S haven't touched a drink in 9 years.
Quote from: The infidel in exile on May 26, 2025, 10:59:46 AMVoice of reason, brother you don't know who I am, but many years ago, when I was just 30, I was the youngest to referee a County final, but drink got a hold of me, and after some personal pain, I decided to leave Ireland and make my way across the pond, every Ballacolla v Rathdowney or Camross underage game was handed to me, because they asked that I would be Referee, as I didn't just blow the whistle, I told the chaps want I blew them up for, and I never received one word of abuse, only a Sunday morning game, where Mountrath beat Mountmellick by 28 points and challenor called my an alcoholic.
I know more than most about Laois Hurling and regarding Young Dunphy, that man was captain last year for a reason, he has 2 more weeks to get stronger and in my personal view he must start! Why? Simply because an 80% fit Aaron Dunphy will pop over at least 4 points, but sorry to say that two of the inside forward line, although savage work rate won't score enough. P.S haven't touched a drink in 9 years.
Congrats on your sobriety. Really commendable.
If Dunphy is able to train fully over the next 2 weeks, he'll certainly be in contention and we all know he's definitely one of the top 6 forwards in the county.
There's an open spot in the forwards and hopefully he can train well.
We have the beating of Kildare but another performance like we produced in the last two games and we'll be in McDonagh next year again. With Antrim coming down they'll be favourites to go straight back up next year so we need to make sure we win in it Sunday week.
Quote from: redsetanta on May 26, 2025, 12:08:30 PMWe have the beating of Kildare but another performance like the last two and we'll be in McDonagh next year again. With Antrim coming down they'll be favourites to go straight back up next year so we need to make sure we win in it Sunday week.
I agree, we have the better hurlers imo but it was the same against Carlow and we got out of jail.
Our players need to cut out the silly mistakes and I hope their are working on their plans for line balls this week as some were farcical against Carlow. I know people are saying its good to drive the ball long but if a teams sits an extra man or two back deep to stop goal opportunities (as Carlow were clearly doing 2nd half) the players outfield have to be clever enough to use the space and work a simple score. Too often they were running into each other or giving a sloppy pass behind the person running off the shoulder, all basic stuff that should be addressed in training.
If we play like that in the final having the more skillful hurlers wont save us.
It was very poor and sloppy. Some of those sidelines stick out and as well as numerous hand passes either too long, too high or just too bad.
All individual errors so hopefully no repeat in Croke Park.
Quote from: Joeythelips on May 26, 2025, 12:57:20 PMQuote from: redsetanta on May 26, 2025, 12:08:30 PMWe have the beating of Kildare but another performance like the last two and we'll be in McDonagh next year again. With Antrim coming down they'll be favourites to go straight back up next year so we need to make sure we win in it Sunday week.
I agree, we have the better hurlers imo but it was the same against Carlow and we got out of jail.
Our players need to cut out the silly mistakes and I hope their are working on their plans for line balls this week as some were farcical against Carlow. I know people are saying its good to drive the ball long but if a teams sits an extra man or two back deep to stop goal opportunities (as Carlow were clearly doing 2nd half) the players outfield have to be clever enough to use the space and work a simple score. Too often they were running into each other or giving a sloppy pass behind the person running off the shoulder, all basic stuff that should be addressed in training.
If we play like that in the final having the more skillful hurlers wont save us.
Honestly I think it was a good thing that Kildare beat us it means we dont face carlow in the final and to humble us after beating other teams by cricket scores it made us realise that it wasnt going to be handed to us after losing a final we should've won last year there should be a greater hunger. With the way things are turning out fingers crossed we could have a repeat of 2019 dublin in the preliminary and tipperary in the quarter final.
While we certainly got the rub of the green on Saturday, it is great to back in the Joe McDonagh cup final.
Guaranteed at least 2 more games now. There should be a great crowd in Croke Park on the day. Both Kildare and Laois will bring decent support and there is a GAA initiative where no less than 20000 free tickets are to be given out to underage teams to expose them to our final and of course the Leinster final then between Galway and Kilkenny.
It promises to be an absolute cracker and I believe it is on TV as well. Kildare look to be a really decent outfit with quality players all over the field - a lot of big men and forwards who offer a serious goal threat along with fine fitness levels.
Without question, we'll have to significantly improve our performance all over the field to lift the trophy. The management team have that bit of time now to prepare a plan for what should be a great occasion.
Hello all, I thought that I would do some homework on the current Laois senior hurling team, as against the panel last year that made the final against Offaly.
I was totally surprised, as I know that sometimes we mention the lack of county hurlers. You, I think will be even as shocked as myself at the sheer amount of lads that have either retired, left, didn't make it, or are still knocking around but not getting a run. Here we go.
Enda Rowland Abbeyleix
Ian Shanahan Ballinakill
Liam O'Connell R/E
Diarmuid Dooley Roseanallis
Podge Lawlor Ballinakill
Andrew Mortimer Camross
Bryan Breidin Trumera
Gearoid Lynch Ballinakill
Noah Quinlan B/Kill
Willy Dunphy C)Ball
Stephen Maher C/Ball
Martin Phelan Castletown
Ross King R/E
Cody Comerford the Harps
Stephen Bergin C/Ball
Cillian Dunne C/Ball
Eric Killeen R/E
Jarleth Connelly M/mellick
18 players, some still around the panel, but what I noticed was that five of the eighteen are under 23. Any thoughts boys.
One other thing that I noticed after watching the game twice on Clubber, although it makes absolutely no difference now, but if any of you check the Carlow second goal. The scorer took NINE STEPS before dropping the ball and putting it into the net. Definitely either 8 to 9 steps. I have to agree that the Westmeath Referee gave Laois very little in comparison to the home team. Anyway who cares
Quote from: The infidel in exile on May 26, 2025, 09:27:46 PMOne other thing that I noticed after watching the game twice on Clubber, although it makes absolutely no difference now, but if any of you check the Carlow second goal. The scorer took NINE STEPS before dropping the ball and putting it into the net. Definitely either 8 to 9 steps. I have to agree that the Westmeath Referee gave Laois very little in comparison to the home team. Anyway who cares
We got the result anyway but how was a Westmeath referee chosen as an unbiased referee
Quote from: Riseagain on May 27, 2025, 07:35:30 AMQuote from: The infidel in exile on May 26, 2025, 09:27:46 PMOne other thing that I noticed after watching the game twice on Clubber, although it makes absolutely no difference now, but if any of you check the Carlow second goal. The scorer took NINE STEPS before dropping the ball and putting it into the net. Definitely either 8 to 9 steps. I have to agree that the Westmeath Referee gave Laois very little in comparison to the home team. Anyway who cares
We got the result anyway but how was a Westmeath referee chosen as an unbiased referee
I'm lost. How would a Westmeath ref be considered biased?
In this circumstance (or any?)
Quote from: Verbal on May 27, 2025, 07:42:42 AMQuote from: Riseagain on May 27, 2025, 07:35:30 AMQuote from: The infidel in exile on May 26, 2025, 09:27:46 PMOne other thing that I noticed after watching the game twice on Clubber, although it makes absolutely no difference now, but if any of you check the Carlow second goal. The scorer took NINE STEPS before dropping the ball and putting it into the net. Definitely either 8 to 9 steps. I have to agree that the Westmeath Referee gave Laois very little in comparison to the home team. Anyway who cares
How about the fact we beat them by 11 points this year and have beat them before in joe mc and league leading to their knockout
I attended the game in carlow last Saturday. I came away thinking that we didn't learn alot from the previous weekend v kildare. I truly believe we have the better hurlers mabye i am biased? . This is not a cut at tommy and group. But a fast running off the shoulder team will always be worth 5-7 points more. This isn't the style of hurling we are playing. But it is the style of hurling kildare are playing. I really hope all involved can see this and adjust accordingly. Otherwise I think we won't we winning anything.
Reports coming through that Cha dwyer has left the panel. Hope it's misinformation. Not great if true, leading up to a final.
If that is the truth Spirit, I am gutted for the lad, as I knew him when he was a chap going to school in Castlecomer.
That being said, I sadly for him and Benny, expected both of them to be dropped for the final, as although they worked tirelessly, neither of them scored against Carlow.
I had commented with Verbal that I truly expected both Aaron Dunphy and James Duggan to start against Kildare. I reckon that Tommy's spoke with Cha and if true then he walked.
He is passionate tenacious and a real jack Russell, but sadly he just doesn't score enough. But that being said, we need lad's like Cha as it's a 20 man game and he would have made an appearance
Quote from: Hurling123 on May 27, 2025, 08:57:44 AMI attended the game in carlow last Saturday. I came away thinking that we didn't learn alot from the previous weekend v kildare. I truly believe we have the better hurlers mabye i am biased? . This is not a cut at tommy and group. But a fast running off the shoulder team will always be worth 5-7 points more. This isn't the style of hurling we are playing. But it is the style of hurling kildare are playing. I really hope all involved can see this and adjust accordingly. Otherwise I think we won't we winning anything.
I though the same watching the game, we were sending plenty of ball into Cha who was working hard but was double marked each time he got it. Laois had the spare man out the field in the 2nd half so the gameplay should have been to use simple popped passes to the runner off the shoulder, they tried it at times but sloppy passing and decision making was letting them down which would indicate to me they are not focussing on this in training. This would be a worry and a negative towards the coaching imo.
It still sounds on here that some may be under estimating Kildare. If Laois dont sort their game plan out in next 2 weeks they will be leaving Croker empty handed.
Good and fair opinion Joey, of course Kildare have improved. I personally believe that Croke park will suit our lad's, mainly because although Kildare are a bigger and possibly more physical, Laois have better stick men.
Laois seem to struggle on tight pitches simply because we are not a big team, but in Croke park, where the pitch is wider and longer, we will use the wings thus their spine, which are talk mens will be drawn out of position, Mossy was great against Offaly last year, as was Aaron Dunphy who knocked over 3 points from play in the second half, Aidan Corby was class with 4 points in the first half and Purcell the same. Young Dooley wasn't there last year and young Quinlan and Duggan must start.
Joey, I am very confident that we will turn them over on the 9th. Bought my plane ticket this morning. So bring it on.
Apparently it is true. Both management and cha gone their separate ways.
Obviously Aaron Dunphy hurled for BK at the weekend but still is half injured, hence that's why management are not throwing him back in straight away.
If he's fit he starts.
Corby Mossy paddy P
Duggan Dunphy conroy
Is my 6 forwards to start the final
Whatever the reasons it's not good to have a senior member of the team leaving the panel while they are preparing for a huge game.
Not surprise that he is dropped given he missed so scorable chances last week despite the fact he worked his socks off, but not a good look that he has walked.
As others have said a strong panel is vital at this level and he would have been a great option to come off the bench in the final.
It would surely boost the Kildare boys seeing stuff like this happening.
Less than two weeks out from the final. While he didn't score from play against Kildare or Carlow, he was hardly berated for his performances in those games either. The team for the final wouldn't be picked yet and you would imagine that Tommy would have one serious in house training game this week giving players an opportunity to stake a claim for a starting position come final. Be interesting to hear was filters through on the grapevine regarding the reasons for his decision.
Quote from: Riseagain on May 27, 2025, 07:47:53 AMQuote from: Verbal on May 27, 2025, 07:42:42 AMQuote from: Riseagain on May 27, 2025, 07:35:30 AMQuote from: The infidel in exile on May 26, 2025, 09:27:46 PMOne other thing that I noticed after watching the game twice on Clubber, although it makes absolutely no difference now, but if any of you check the Carlow second goal. The scorer took NINE STEPS before dropping the ball and putting it into the net. Definitely either 8 to 9 steps. I have to agree that the Westmeath Referee gave Laois very little in comparison to the home team. Anyway who cares
How about the fact we beat them by 11 points this year and have beat them before in joe mc and league leading to their knockout
And Carlow v Westmeath the week before? How did that go? Bonkers stuff.
There's no way Tommy has gone to anyone at this stage and declared who is or isn't starting Sunday week. No way.
I hope it's not true. Tommy isn't the confrontational type. To lose both Rowland and Cha is mad, but I'd be surprised if it was due to the management being unreasonable.
Possibly Verbal, But something definitely happened.
You would be surprised if told you that some Manager's actually do decide quite early ( 9 or 10 ) days before a serious game, that they would be making changes for the final.
I suppose we will never know, but sometimes the manager will personally approach a player, and just tell him that he will be starting on the bench for the final.
Sometimes it allows a player to ponder and then understand the Manager's reasoning for his decision.
Of course you may be correct and it may have been a total different reason as to why Cha has left.
I rang a friend back home who is a Club manager in the County, and it is sadly true. Whatever went down, he will be a loss to the panel, as it's a 20 man game and if, and only if it went down due to a conversation with management, then the team is bigger than one player.
He will be missed as he is a nuisance to any back, tigerish tireless and strong.
But I absolutely have faith in the team as a whole, and I believe that they will die with their shoes on, to win the Joe Mc for a second time.
I Watched the highlights of last year's final on YouTube, and although we went down by 3 points to Offaly on a very hot day, we hurled very well, scoring 0.26.
But I noticed something that has continued to haunt Laois stil, and that is the opposition scoring early goals against us.
It haunted us twice in the league and twice in the Joe Mc. I hope that the management concentrate on these errors and lack of concentration early in both halves. They are killer blows.
Haven't seen Mossy Bruce on here for quite a while - he was a great Laois hurling enthusiast from left field.
Quote from: Verbal on May 27, 2025, 06:58:51 PMQuote from: Riseagain on May 27, 2025, 07:47:53 AMQuote from: Verbal on May 27, 2025, 07:42:42 AMQuote from: Riseagain on May 27, 2025, 07:35:30 AMQuote from: The infidel in exile on May 26, 2025, 09:27:46 PMOne other thing that I noticed after watching the game twice on Clubber, although it makes absolutely no difference now, but if any of you check the Carlow second goal. The scorer took NINE STEPS before dropping the ball and putting it into the net. Definitely either 8 to 9 steps. I have to agree that the Westmeath Referee gave Laois very little in comparison to the home team. Anyway who cares
And Carlow v Westmeath the week before? How did that go? Bonkers stuff.
It should have been a ref that wasn't from a Joe Mcdonagh Cup county
Pity Cha left/ was told to leave as I have great time for him. Heart on the sleeve with him but you can't say what you want to manager (before full time) and expect no consequences. There has to be discipline from all quarters of the group.
Is it at all possible if you could elaborate a little Laoisred, as your being slightly vague. I didn't blame you one bit if you want to leave it at that, but what I am reading into your comment, is that he was angry at being hauled off ( Which was obviously the correct call) and said some rather inappropriate remarks to the management team.
Yes he will be a loss, but thank God we have at least three good hurlers that would slot into that position.
Laoighis Abu
Quote from: The infidel in exile on May 29, 2025, 03:56:03 PMIs it at all possible if you could elaborate a little Laoisred, as your being slightly vague. I didn't blame you one bit if you want to leave it at that, but what I am reading into your comment, is that he was angry at being hauled off ( Which was obviously the correct call) and said some rather inappropriate remarks to the management team.
Yes he will be a loss, but thank God we have at least three good hurlers that would slot into that position.
Laoighis Abu
Yes while its unfortunate it also gives someone else a chance who could prove themselves to be every bit as good or maybe even better.
Of course Cha is a loss its a pity to lose any player unnecessarily.
Not sure exactly what happened would appreciate if someone elaborated but thats up to them.
Tommy is a good manager and part of that is managing people which can be very difficult at times especially when in the thick of a situation where it was do or die against Carlow.
I agree Rise again. Anyone who read my posts from around four months ago, would know that I was apprehensive about Tommy taking the roll.
But after what Laoisred, honestly and bravely exposed, Tommy and the management team have gone right up in my estimation. And I shall explain why.
Obviously whatever was said was disparagingly false, Secondly more than one or two heard it, so Tommy had to act on it as no single individual is bigger than the team.
If it is the case then Tommy was 100% correct, as no player has the right to apparently insult or abuse his manager, DURING THE MOST IMPORTANT GAME THIS SEASON TO DATE.
Cha is a good little hurler, dogged and tenacious, But he is no Tony Kelly.
I have a good feeling that this could actually bring the team together, as situations like this actually goes in favor of the management,it might make the boys hurl better by having more respect for Tommy. But I shall personally always be very fond of Cha
You should not jump to conclusions.
Quote from: The infidel in exile on May 29, 2025, 10:23:02 PMI agree Rise again. Anyone who read my posts from around four months ago, would know that I was apprehensive about Tommy taking the roll.
But after what Laoisred, honestly and bravely exposed, Tommy and the management team have gone right up in my estimation. And I shall explain why.
Obviously whatever was said was disparagingly false, Secondly more than one or two heard it, so Tommy had to act on it as no single individual is bigger than the team.
If it is the case then Tommy was 100% correct, as no player has the right to apparently insult or abuse his manager, DURING THE MOST IMPORTANT GAME THIS SEASON TO DATE.
Cha is a good little hurler, dogged and tenacious, But he is no Tony Kelly.
I have a good feeling that this could actually bring the team together, as situations like this actually goes in favor of the management,it might make the boys hurl better by having more respect for Tommy. But I shall personally always be very fond of Cha
Exactly honest unbiased look at what happened and can't say I disagree with anything that you said. While he is a loss there are standards that have to be upheld and when you cross a line you have crossed it and there has to be consequences.
Tommy is a good manager with a true passion for Laois hurling he will use this to drive the lads on to go further than last year and maybe theres just a chance with everything going well we could perhaps do a repeat of going well. Of course the Joe Mcdonagh Cup is the priority but it would prove we are not to be underestimated next year.
Anyway best of luck to the lads.
Quote from: The Boy Wonder on May 29, 2025, 10:39:40 PMYou should not jump to conclusions.
I'm not entirely sure what or who that statement is directed at Boy wonder, but I'm not the person that originally stated that Cha either said stuff to the management, nor was it myself who stated that he had gone from the panel.
I didn't believe that anyone is jumping to conclusions, as it's a fact that he was let go from the panel for the final in 9 days. He will be a loss of course, but we have some very good forwards on the bench. If anything it will make the panel stronger as a consequence.
Move on massive game Sunday week nó point in talking about who we haven't chat about who we have.
Fair enough Laois man. In hindsight you are right as it doesn't matter in the grand scheme of things. I was only intrigued as I live in England so I don't get news quickly anymore.
But onwards and upwards, as it's history now, and all we can do is get behind the boys on the 9th
The 8th Sunday week 👍
Will we see a few changes in the team for the final? Will comerford and Dunphy start if fit will mark Dowling come in at full forward?
It's good to have fellas like Dowling to come in and make a difference. You need subs. Scoring subs are a real gem.
I don't think Dunphy could be fully match fit. At the same time it might be safer to start him & get what you can out of him. Especially with Cha can.
If you bring him on you don't know how he'll go or will you have to replace him again.
I'd certainly hold Dowling.
Sad to see Cha gone.
I don't see Tommy going anywhere, so that's likely to be the last we see of him unless there's a major climb down
On top of all of his scoring and skill he was a fantastic guy to bust up the play and get the crowd going when it was needed
Sometimes taking the divilment over the line
Which we all loved
We are only six days away from the final, and I assume that Tommy and the management team will drop the news on Wednesday/Thursday regarding the team for the decider. We all have personal subjective opinions on who we would like to see.
With that in mind I am going to give my humble opinion on the starting forward line, but before I do, I want to wish Tommy all the best with whomever they decide on the starting XV. Aidan Corby/10, Aaron Dunphy/11, Paddy Purcell/12, James Duggan/13, Ger Quinlan/14, Thomas Keyes/15.
I expect Mossy to roam, and interchange with paddy and Ger Quinlan, because there isn't a hope in hell that Tommy will allow Rian Boran to dominate like he did in Portlaoise.
Aaron is a quality hurlers, who got 19 minutes against Carlow, and will be much further down the road to fitness come Sunday.
I also understand that Mark Dowling would cause Boran massive problems if he started or came on at 14. The wide pitch will suit us far more than Kildare. But whilst I don't believe that we will beat them out of the park, I expect us to beat them by 7/8 points, as I have great faith in the lad's winning it for the second time. Last year against Offaly, we were very unlucky, hitting the post, allowing Offaly in for two Early goals, in both halves. One final thing, could some of you from the Rathdowney/Erroll area, or close by, please give me a rundown on Mark Kavanagh, as I noticed that he scored a few points against Abbeyleix in a drawn game a few days ago. Will he ever be good enough to hurl for Laois? Because he was one heck of a stick man.
Aaron Dunphy won't be starting. Nowhere near the fit enough. Will be great to introduce with 15/20 left .
I would bring corby to midfield wonder is Fennell fit to start? Start Dowling inside. Will Conroy start. Croke park should suit kildare aswell there a big fit team. Jack sherdin is a danger man for them getting alot of scores and very strong in the air. Best of luck to laois anyway hopefully we get over the line.
They will all take watching, Kildare had 11 different scorers when they beat us a few weeks back. I know people may say Laois had an off day but judging by the highlights, Kildare play a strong running game and well able to take their scores, looking at that you would say Croke Park will suit them even more.
Hopefully Laois will have learned their lessons but it looks like they will in for a huge battle this Sunday.
I think Joey is right here. I've seen Naas play in Croke Park twice in recent years (granted one of those games was a wet winter's day) and the bigger pitch suited their style of play. Kildare raked up big score in Christy Ring Final there last year and have a nice balance to their team with some physicality and direct runners who could thrive in Croke Park if they get the space to operate. We are not favourites for this game. Our performance against Carlow confirms that.
Cha is a serious loss as I think he would have been ideal type player to bring on with twenty minutes to go. Management were left with no option and no one player is bigger than the collective. It's a shame as Laois cannot afford to lose calibre players.
Quote from: The infidel in exile on June 02, 2025, 08:10:43 PMOne final thing, could some of you from the Rathdowney/Erroll area, or close by, please give me a rundown on Mark Kavanagh, as I noticed that he scored a few points against Abbeyleix in a drawn game a few days ago. Will he ever be good enough to hurl for Laois? Because he was one heck of a stick man.
Mark is back going well enough considering he hasn't played for a couple of years. I doubt he would be back at the county though, he's had serious knee problems in the past
I'd also agree, Kildare have alot of running power and might relish the big spaces. I do think we weren't at the races the last day against Kildare though so hopefully we have more in us this weekend. I can see a few of the bigger name players doing damage 🤞
We shall soon know how good Kildale actually are, or just how terrible Laois were in Portlaoise a few weeks ago. I know that I am in the minority, but I truly believe that on our day, and with a dry sod expected. Laois have better hurlers, thus I expect us to win with a few to spare.
They may have improved but I noticed that Kildale are actually NOT A YOUNG TEAM. I'm expecting Mossy, young Dooley, Corby, Purcell and I expect James Duggan to lay down a marker for Laois hurling on Sunday. With two minutes remaining against Carlow, the way the lad threw the dummy and scored a super score off the hurl. I'm not one bit ashamed of claiming that we will be back where we truly belong by 3.20pm on Sunday afternoon at headquarters.
Quote from: The infidel in exile on June 03, 2025, 07:26:17 PMWe shall soon know how good Kildale actually are, or just how terrible Laois were in Portlaoise a few weeks ago. I know that I am in the minority, but I truly believe that on our day, and with a dry sod expected. Laois have better hurlers, thus I expect us to win with a few to spare.
From my reading of previous posts most on here would be quite confident of Laois doing the business provided they bring their 'A' game. At the same time I don't think any of us are underestimating Kildare.
But yes, in a lot of other respects you are a bit of a contrarian but no harm there :)
Your correct Boy Wonder, in fact Contrarian would be a rather apt description, as I'm certainly NOT a yes man, but I often ponder, after jumping in with both feet. But with respect, although I'm disagreeable by nature, thus love a good debate, afterwards I always try to respect others viewpoints, unless their views are woke victim playing, poor me comments. You don't get them on here, but in the UK, all you have to do is get on a bus, and they are all over with purple hair, Palestinian head bands (even though they can't find it on a map) organising yet ANOTHER PRIDE MONTH). anyway I will stick to hurling
The infidel in exile, I am sure there were plenty of people who would have struggled to find Ireland on a map during the troubles but people were supportive of nationalists cause around the world due to work by people raising awareness of the issues. It is hardly woke. Plenty of people with purple or coloured hair and piercings back in my college days (mid 90's). We simply live in a era where online algorithms are shaped to sow division and getting people enraged, they make Ian Paisley sound like a choir boy. But you are right its best to leave politics at the door on this forum.
Wonder how tickets sales are going for the Joe mcdonagh??
Joey, as I said to Boy wonder, after making an observation I clearly stated that I Don't nor won't mention facts that I've studied. I'm only interested in Laois hurlers, and my beloved Notts County getting a good manager in. I have a massive tri colour that's on YouTube and efl replays every Saturday night. Laoighis Agus Notts County ABU :-X 💯
Big changes for Sunday I believe.
Van you fill us in Laois man, as I'm too far away to hear, but I said that I expected Ben Conroy to be on the bench, Duggan starting.
People tell me that Aaron is injured, but if fit, then he MUST Start, as he gets you at least 4 points or more from play. Possibly Mark Dowling, because he is a big physical man and would give Rian Boran a torrid afternoon, and should get you a goal. Personally my full forward line is Duggan Quinlan and Keyes, with mossy drawing out the left corner back, and both himself and young Duggan picking up wide deliveries into the corners. It would be hard on young Quinlan to be on the bench, as although he isn't prolific, he always pop's up with a couple of scores.
I don't know what you all think, but I wouldn't play a sweeper, take them on in every position, as they hate being man marked.
After Portlaoise, we can't allow them an extra back.
We need to impose our game on them, we need to show them that they are still inferior to us, when it comes to the big one.
I stand over what I said about a half forward line of Corby Dunphy and Purcell, if they play to their best they will pop over 0.10 points between them. Finally I wouldn't be surprised if Paddy Purcell is at 14, Boran won't handle him, move mossy out to the half forward line, 12.
I know that some will disagree as I could be talking out me arse but really looking forward to giving this crowd a lesson l, as they think that all they have to do is turn up and lift the Cup.
We keep telling you!!!
Aaron Dunphy is not injured.
He was injured.
He is recovering.
He played a portion of the Carlow match.
He looked off the pace.
Many of us don't believe he could be back up to the pace yet.
I think Ben Conroy has done enough to warrant a starting place. Especially with Cha gone.
We need at least two scoring forwards to bring in. Dowling is one of those for me.
I'd love to see Mark Dowling start but like Aaron Dunphy, I think there are fitness concerns and Croke Park will expose players' lack of match fitness very quickly.
I'd imagine Fiachra Fennell will come back into midfield beside David Dooley leaving a possible forward line of Lennon, Corby, Purcell, Quinlan, Keyes and Conroy.
Though I'd personally start PJ Scully who is seemingly in great form.
We should have great options off the bench.
A few changes in the backs which is a surprise.
Quote from: Laois man on June 06, 2025, 08:40:52 AMA few changes in the backs which is a surprise.
What's the team?
Not just on here but a lot of people think Croke park pitch is bigger than any other pitch. The COE pitch where Laois train is approx. 600m2 larger than Croke park so the size of Croke park won't matter to the Laois lads. there no magical extra space in Croke park.
Laois to win by 5 plus. you heard it here first ;) ;D
Quote from: Ballygowen on June 06, 2025, 09:17:04 AMNot just on here but a lot of people think Croke park pitch is bigger than any other pitch. The COE pitch where Laois train is approx. 600m2 larger than Croke park so the size of Croke park won't matter to the Laois lads. there no magical extra space in Croke park.
The middle pitch in the COE is outstanding. A lovely pitch to hurl on.
Quote from: Ballygowen on June 06, 2025, 09:17:04 AMNot just on here but a lot of people think Croke park pitch is bigger than any other pitch. The COE pitch where Laois train is approx. 600m2 larger than Croke park so the size of Croke park won't matter to the Laois lads. there no magical extra space in Croke park.
Croke park is 145m long by 88m wide while O'Moore park is 142m long by 86m wide. It was at O'Moore Park where Kildare were tearing through the Laois defence a few weeks ago. Not much of a difference anyway but imo it will suit Kildare. Luckily the pitch wont be togging out ;D so its up to our lads to set the record straight. My gut thinks Laois' greater experience and skill levels will see them over the line but my head is telling me I am still underestimating Kildare and they too have room to improve. Will go with my gut.
Hopefully we will be celebrating some silverware this weekend.
H'on Laois
Laois: Cathal Dunne; Cody Comerford, Lee Cleere, Diarmaid Conway; Tom Cuddy, Padraig Delaney, Ryan Mullaney; Fiachra C Fennell, David Dooley; Aidan Corby, Tomás Keyes, Paddy Purcell; Mark Dowling, Jer Quinlan, Ben Conroy.
Subs: Eoin Fleming, Padraic Dunne, Donnacha Hartnett, Jordan Walshe, John Lennon, James Keyes, Martin Phelan, Aaron Dunphy, James Duggan, PJ Scully, Colin Byrne.
Not too many changes in fairness.
Comerford in for Hartnett and Fennell in for Lennon.
Cha was out anyway so Mark Dowling comes into the forwards.
Is Hartnett carrying a knock?
That's not the starting team 3 of the backs from the carlow game dropped.??
Quote from: Laois man on June 06, 2025, 03:13:20 PMThat's not the starting team 3 of the backs from the carlow game dropped.??
What is the team Laois man? Have you inside information or has it been announced? Exciting times.
Tom cuddy Hartnett and Ryan Mullaney not starting.
Cuddy and Mullaney named on the team, couldn't imagine them being dropped on Sunday?
Quote from: Karate kid on June 06, 2025, 02:08:30 PMLaois: Cathal Dunne; Cody Comerford, Lee Cleere, Diarmaid Conway; Tom Cuddy, Padraig Delaney, Ryan Mullaney; Fiachra C Fennell, David Dooley; Aidan Corby, Tomás Keyes, Paddy Purcell; Mark Dowling, Jer Quinlan, Ben Conroy.
Subs: Eoin Fleming, Padraic Dunne, Donnacha Hartnett, Jordan Walshe, John Lennon, James Keyes, Martin Phelan, Aaron Dunphy, James Duggan, PJ Scully, Colin Byrne.
Laois Team named as above. Spot on Karate Kid.
Folk I will tell ye now both dropped Fennell and Jordan Walsh starting. Why send out a team that's not starting but best of luck to all.
Fennell is on the team sheet?
Whats with all the games and rumors around the team announcement? If we are not concentrating on the game, that Kildare team will gobble us up for breakfast. Time to cop-da-fook on and go out and hurl a winning score in a national final.
Quote from: G@@ on June 06, 2025, 11:32:29 PMWhats with all the games and rumors around the team announcement? If we are not concentrating on the game, that Kildare team will gobble us up for breakfast. Time to cop-da-fook on and go out and hurl a winning score in a national final.
Croke Park would have wanted the team by Wednesday afternoon at the latest. There's every chance decisions had to be made around fitness (Dunphy, Dowling, Comerford, Fennell, Walsh) as well as tactical or marginal calls.
I have also heard the same rumours as Laois Man and I suspect we are going to see a number of changes before throw-in.
As I've done all year, I'll back management and whatever players take the field.
We need a strong 15 to start and a different one to finish.
Hopefully everyone sticks together as this is going to be a huge challenge on Sunday.
Starting 15.Dunne.Conway.Clear Comerford. Fennell. P Delaney. J Walsh. Purcell Dooley. Corby. Mossy. James Keyes. Conroy. Dowling. Ger Quinlan.
Quote from: Laois man on June 07, 2025, 08:40:19 AMStarting 15.Dunne.Conway.Clear Comerford. Fennell. P Delaney. J Walsh. Purcell Dooley. Corby. Mossy. James Keyes. Conroy. Dowling. Ger Quinlan.
Surprised Duggan does not get the start but a proper impact sub to have coming off the bench like he did against Carlow. We will need everyone performing at their best to put Kildare to the sword but a final in Croke park is the place to do it. H'on Laois
Laois man - it would appear that you are wrong.
The team listed by Karate kid and quoted by G@@ above is same as that on CLGLaois X/Twitter account.
Of course that might not be the starting 15 but you are only confusing people by naming an alternative 15.
Boy wonder you will see tomorrow at 1.30pm if I am wrong or not.
Most of the followers on here are interested in the official team that has been announced.
Of course you might have the inside track but it's quite annoying to see different lineouts posted on here.
We're not naive and we do appreciate that the team listed in the programme is quite often changed before throw-in.
Hopefully the changes pay off. Our half back line was destroyed the last day v Kildare. Maybe that's why there is changes if Laois Man has the inside track and is correct.
Sorry lads, wasn't claiming to have any inside knowledge, just posted the team that was reported on RTE.
There are numerous changes I believe & I think what hurling man has posted is fairly close to what it'll be.
Brave management.
If they pin pointed certain areas as a problem v Kildare the last day they can't just ignore that now.
However, it worries me how widespread it seems to be known.
Added to the Rowland/Cha situations, you'd have to wonder if it's a happy camp.
Fellas don't generally talk outside the group when things are happy.
It can also be a factor when games go down to the wire.
A happy camp with everyone pulling in one direction could worth 10-20% when it's a dogfight.
This could be a dogfight.
The amount of talk that's out there worries me more than the changes themselves.
I've heard nothing negative about the camp; purely the opposite to be honest.
There will, of course, be disappointed individuals but that's the game.
Quote from: Voice of tReason on June 07, 2025, 05:18:24 PMI've heard nothing negative about the camp; purely the opposite to be honest.
I would have said the same.
But the whole county seems to know who is in and who was dropped.
That's not a good sign.
Quote from: Verbal on June 07, 2025, 05:42:33 PMQuote from: Voice of tReason on June 07, 2025, 05:18:24 PMI've heard nothing negative about the camp; purely the opposite to be honest.
That's not a good sign.
It's not but it's a reach to jump straight to issues in the camp. Laois hurling circles are small and these things happen unfortunately.
Quote from: Voice of tReason on June 07, 2025, 05:59:03 PMQuote from: Verbal on June 07, 2025, 05:42:33 PMQuote from: Voice of tReason on June 07, 2025, 05:18:24 PMI've heard nothing negative about the camp; purely the opposite to be honest.
That's not a good sign.
It's not but it's a reach to jump straight to issues in the camp. Laois hurling circles are small and these things happen unfortunately.
Laois has always suffered from big fish in a small pond mentality with regards to some players that have commanded an almost sure-start position on the panel down through the ages. Some of them have went on to throw the proverbial toys out of the pram as a result when things went against their way.
Thankfully, the pipeline of younger talent coming through is increasing somewhat in volume. We need this, because when players whose egos are too big to fit through the gates of O'Moore Park, there needs to be a queue of players of equal quality right behind them awaiting their shirt.
The Laois hurling circle is getting bigger and it's not before time either. As a county we need to be able to afford to dismiss the head melters. We have an unfortunate history where some of our finest hurlers were out and out head melts and we had nobody of equal quality to replace them.
It happens in every county across Ireland. Brian Cody turfed out a fair few in his reign - Charlie Carter a fine example. Cody was fortunate he had such a pipeline that Carter's shirt was easily filled.
Best of luck to laois today laois by 6🙏🙏
Best of luck Lads,early start to settle any nerves or doubts and they are in it towards the end like Carlow game it is there for the winning.
A loss could set hurling back which we don't want to be debating.
Purcell or Corby coming out to midfield would be a good move hurling wise and for the engine room
Laois to get over the Line
Best of luck today to all involved. Be great to get this one over the line. We have enough experience and desire to go get us there.
Ps. Regarding the whole cha episode. He carried on the same when Eddie brennan was there and unfortunately he got the same result. Yes he will be a loss just like enda, but doors open for other guys within the squad and it's up to them then if they want it bad enough.
LAOIS LAOIS LAOIS
Great crowd on the train up, plenty of support for the lads. I think they will do it....just. Purcell and Corby will do damage today!
Jesus, it's hard to watch. Kildare out working us all over the field, you can really see Brian Dowling's influence on the team, reminds me of Laois under Eddie Brennan. Our wides and forced goal chances are really coming back to haunt us. Pity the management didn't learn much from the last Kildare match, especially with the backs. Duggan should have started.
That's very disappointing.
Kildare will now get a major major push. That's the hardest pill to swallow.
We may never catch them.
Really thought at half time with chances we were creating that we were going to do it in the second half. Once they got that lucky goal Kildare just totally took over and dominated, Again I thought Kildares athleticism shown through and outworked Laois completely in the second-half and punished some or our short puckouts once again . Laois trying to do Limerick with 4 on 21 for our own short puckouts just don't have the quality to carry it out. Was Tom Cuddy injured that he got no run today after playing all games up to date ?
Think after today we have a fair idea where we are in the bigger scheme of things no plan very little skill we are well behind the likes if Kildare in hurling gid only knows where we go from here
Quote from: Zooming around on June 06, 2025, 09:31:22 AMQuote from: Ballygowen on June 06, 2025, 09:17:04 AMNot just on here but a lot of people think Croke park pitch is bigger than any other pitch. The COE pitch where Laois train is approx. 600m2 larger than Croke park so the size of Croke park won't matter to the Laois lads. there no magical extra space in Croke park.
The middle pitch in the COE is outstanding. A lovely pitch to hurl on.
Yeah, once you avoid the rabbit holes. It's a disgrace
Fierce disappointing.
So many mistakes. Terrible decision making. First half wides were a killer.
I think the years and years of poor underage teams (as in football) are really starting to hurt us now.
You might get unlucky once but that is twice this year Kildare have beaten us comfortably with 10 points to spare in both games. I know myself and others here called out The infidel in exile for his posts about our management team but after watching Laois in the Joe McDonagh you would have to say he was spot on, it has not been good enough at all.
I get we may not have the best hurlers in the world but we seem to be very poorly coached, the amount of mistakes we make you would wonder what sort of training is been done at all. The lack of a plan B also when things are not working all indicates a poorly prepared side. Simply not good enough. Tipp will put a cricket score on us by half time going on that.
After a disastrous season in both codes the county board also need to take a look at themselves, Laois GAA is in a bad place that is for sure but with some good underage hurlers coming through we need a plan to ensure we get the best out the pool of talent we have.
Fair play to Kildare, they have shown what can be done. Christy Ring winners to Joe McDonagh winners is a serious achievement. Who would have thought that after the Kerry defeat. Its a big step up to take on the Dubs but they certainly wont be find wanting and will learn loads to help their step up to Leinster next year.
Might as well end the post on a bright note, although it was an awful weekend for Laois GAA one player can hold their head up high after producing one of the greatest saves I have ever seen at Croke Park. Incredible double save from Cathal Dunne.
We are where we belong in the Joe McDonagh and there is not even a guarantee we will make the final of that every year.
I was shocked after the first beating by Kildare but then after the Carlow game i was just depressed, i could tell we weren't going any further
One forward playing against Carlow kept us in the game and only for a lucky last minute goal we would not be even playing today.
In the earlier games we were banging in goals against inferior opposition but when it comes to half decent teams we just don't know where the goals is.
We just don't have it unfortunately and it will always be the same with Laois hurling.
Plenty of opinions, that I shall defer from mentioning. Well done kildare, out taught, outfought and out played Laois. I shall leave the postmortem to those that know what is going on in the County, and are far more clued in than I. I would love to hear from others about the starting xv, and Mossy being taken off, as I personally thought that both Corby and Mossy were two of our better performer's. But I'm sure I'm wrong. Finally, what must James Duggan be thinking and wondering what he needs to do to get on an average Laois team. Heart goes out to Paddy Purcell, to go out like that, after all the effort love and passion that he has given to the County. Thank you paddy
Disgraceful display
Well done Kildare, deserved winners. But a poor Laois performance on the day. Wouldn't be overly critical of the group, once momentum goes against you it can be difficult ty o wrestle it back.
Too wedded to a very rigid system in my view. Little or no variation to the plus ones to get puckouts away. Kildare who are well drilled would have worked on that non stop for last few weeks. A few unusual calls too with Fennell and Walshe clear targets for Kildare puckouts. Unfortunately Aaron not ready for a game like that. Would have tried Mossy inside too. But I suppose it's easy from up in the stand. I hope for a better performance v Tipp and we just have a cut and mix it up a bit....
Dejected - but the writing was on the wall, particularly after the Carlow game which we were steeped in luck to win. To be honest, another year of JMD is probably just rewards. We are not ready for the LSHC at the current rate and we will have to blood a fair few more players. Let's hope there is an effort to have alot of younger players in the League next year and rest up some of our long-serving warriors. The game today was lost on the line - too late making changes and we made the wrong changes.
Sadly if you were to see the pubs last night you would've thought we won something. Bandwagoners are happy with the day out and don't care for the result at all. Seems like the county board are the same. Something needs to change fast.
Quote from: Joeythelips on June 08, 2025, 05:55:55 PMYou might get unlucky once but that is twice this year Kildare have beaten us comfortably with 10 points to spare in both games. I know myself and others here called out The infidel in exile for his posts about our management team but after watching Laois in the Joe McDonagh you would have to say he was spot on, it has not been good enough at all.
I get we may not have the best hurlers in the world but we seem to be very poorly coached, the amount of mistakes we make you would wonder what sort of training is been done at all. The lack of a plan B also when things are not working all indicates a poorly prepared side. Simply not good enough. Tipp will put a cricket score on us by half time going on that.
After a disastrous season in both codes the county board also need to take a look at themselves, Laois GAA is in a bad place that is for sure but with some good underage hurlers coming through we need a plan to ensure we get the best out the pool of talent we have.
Fair play to Kildare, they have shown what can be done. Christy Ring winners to Joe McDonagh winners is a serious achievement. Who would have thought that after the Kerry defeat. Its a big step up to take on the Dubs but they certainly wont be find wanting and will learn loads to help their step up to Leinster next year.
Might as well end the post on a bright note, although it was an awful weekend for Laois GAA one player can hold their head up high after producing one of the greatest saves I have ever seen at Croke Park. Incredible double save from Cathal Dunne.
Would agree 100% with this. The team did not seem well prepared and there was no reaction from the sideline at all when things were clearly going wrong. I can't get my head around the idea of giving the ball to a corner back who runs 20 yards into trouble and puts the entire team under pressure. Mad stuff. Some of the changes, when they did finally happen, were very odd. It's a shame because I think they're better than that.
County board knows the outrage will only last a week all they have to do is keep there heads down for the week and it will return to business as usual clubs have to take some responsibility for the state of hurling and football in the county my own club for instance hire a outside manager ever year we all have to do massive fundraising to pay these fly by mights and when a question is asked about this we are told that is what the players want meanwhile our underage players are Benn coached by willing but limited parents I assume the same practice goes on in lots of other clubs I do depair I'm 67 years of age I I'm losing hope perhaps that's a good thing because it's hope that's killing me
Quote from: Blueforever on June 09, 2025, 09:39:44 AMCounty board knows the outrage will only last a week all they have to do is keep there heads down for the week and it will return to business as usual clubs have to take some responsibility for the state of hurling and football in the county my own club for instance hire a outside manager ever year we all have to do massive fundraising to pay these fly by mights and when a question is asked about this we are told that is what the players want meanwhile our underage players are Benn coached by willing but limited parents I assume the same practice goes on in lots of other clubs I do depair I'm 67 years of age I I'm losing hope perhaps that's a good thing because it's hope that's killing me
Fair play to Kildare. In the last twenty minutes they showed huge fitness, skill, determination and confidence in what their gameplan. We were the opposite. Gave away two goals from turnovers which was down to a complete lack of composure when Kildare started to get the upper hand on us. The All-Ireland series needs to change. Let the two fourth place teams in the Munster and Leinster championships play off to play the third place finishing team. Having Laois turn around to face a Tipp team with three weeks rest and chomping at the bit is madness. I'd be fearful that the margin of defeat could reach close to 30 points. How do you pick a team up after that performance yesterday?
We also have too many physically small, stick men in our team. Carrying a couple is perfectly fine but not enough ball winners or players with the physicality to win 50/50 ball and put in the hard tackles. Kildare dominated in that department in the last twenty. They won the majority of puck outs in that time period and it was wave after wave of attack. Next year, a rejuvenated Antrim and a Carlow team that is our equal will prove a stern test to get back to a Joe McDonagh Final.
Perhaps it might work in our favour to not go up to Leinster next year as we are miles off the standard. Tommy now has a two year building block- next year get the team to a standard where they can hopefully win the Joe McD and the following year progress the team to a point where they can challenge to stay in the Leinster championship and be competitive. We have some decent young talent. I'm optimistic that in 24 months time we will be in a far better and healthier position to where we are at present. After the unfortunate Offaly loss last year I was full sure Laois would be able to kick on this year. Sadly, we went in reverse but things can equally as quickly turnaround again.
Quote from: Sideline12 on June 09, 2025, 11:44:07 AMQuote from: Blueforever on June 09, 2025, 09:39:44 AMCounty board knows the outrage will only last a week all they have to do is keep there heads down for the week and it will return to business as usual clubs have to take some responsibility for the state of hurling and football in the county my own club for instance hire a outside manager ever year we all have to do massive fundraising to pay these fly by mights and when a question is asked about this we are told that is what the players want meanwhile our underage players are Benn coached by willing but limited parents I assume the same practice goes on in lots of other clubs I do depair I'm 67 years of age I I'm losing hope perhaps that's a good thing because it's hope that's killing me
I agree with you I have been saying it for years the coaching in our clubs and county is not to the level it should be
our senior hurlers and footballer are training 3 or 4 times a week with all their training one would expect their skill levels would a lot better than we saw over the weekend I know all the players are disappointed with their performance but no way should we be getting beating like that, question must be asked about our two managers it's just not good enough.
Although I am grateful to one or two of you who vindicated my earlier messages regarding the management team, I am almost 54 years old, hence its OK Joey as I'm thick skinned and I don't really mind when people who have different opinions, argue with respect and integrity.
It's those who personally attack others, using expletives and stupid arguments without understanding the original argument.
Many of us, who love hurling, our County, our Clubs are hurting, and the young men who train so hard, but are let down by decisions on the line, that make no sense
in the moment. I spoke to a dear friend who is involved with Clonad hurlers and the Heath footballers, yesterday evening whilst waiting for my flight th England.
He pointed out to myself the problem in Portlaoise where he currently lives, his Daughter who is 16, on Laois minor ladies team. He claimed that Portlaoise secondry schools, have boy's and Girls from Ballyfin, Ratheneska, Stradbally, The Heath, Clonad, Emo, as well as the Towm, ( one 3rd of Laois go to School in one town, he named three former hurlers that are teachers in the CBS, James Walsh Laois, and two other former senior county hurlers ( that I currently forget) but he remembers 20 years ago when Portlaoise CBS were playing A school's football and A or B school's Hurling. Now they are apparently in the C school's. This is a travesty as every County hurlers and Footballer, would say that their improvements in the game was directly the effect of the School that they attended.
Before I finish I want to make it abundantly clear that I have NO ILL WILL TOWARDS TOMMY FITZGERALD. I claimed that I knew Barry through the minors. But when I mentioned Eddie Brennan ( who got hijacked by Wolly parkinson, on the infamous interview) Who in 2019, done unbelievable work with our Hurlers, We finished 4th in Division 1B, only losing by 2 points to Dublin at parnell Park, driving 15 wides in the process. Galway by 9 points in Pearse stadium, beating Offaly by 4, drawing with Carlow, destroying everyone in the Joe Mc, Beating Dublin by 2, And I will never forget the proud I felt, when we went in at half time in the ALL Ireland Quarter finals 2.11 to 1.10 down against the eventual Winners. Seeing thousands of fans shouting LAOIS, LAOIS LAOIS, sitting beside a Kilkenny man, who told we in his own inimitable words ( By Jay's, ye have some lovely hurlers, yere going the right way) Six years on we have gone backwards, regressed. Because our County board are a bunch of may feinners, and dirt birds, who don't give a Shit about developing young hurlers, and our footballers are even worse.
It makes my sad to say, that although Tommy may be a great lad, but is changes for the final didn't work, he left players on that should have gone earlier, and brought of wrong players too early. We were beaten out the gate by a predominantly football County, who send some of their underage teams to Laois to improve, Ard Clough, Clan na gael, and one other.
Now we go to the Club championship with ten teams. And I'll be shouting for Abbeyleix in the hope that they can finaly get over the line for the first time since 1949.
Godbless you lads, It has been an honour to chat online with all of you, even the young lad, who needs to learn to converse without using filthy words, that are the only words that he spelt correctly.
Didn't seem like a team that was pulling together, Cha leaving, Enda leaving, the team being leaked before the final
Could find it hard yo get everyone on board next year to face into div 2 hurling and Joe mcdonagh again.
Anyone listen to the John Doran interview on OTB with Eoin Sheehan last week. He's the games development officer looking after Kildare hurling. Very interesting. One thing that stood out was when he approached the hurling clubs asking them what they wanted to see done etc the main thing they said was they didn't want a plan that would sit on a shelf gathering dust. It didn't sit gathering dust on a shelf and we saw the fruits of it yesterday. How many plans have Laois had in the past gathering dust on a shelf somewhere??
Not sure if it will work but here's a clip from it via facebook.
https://www.facebook.com/offtheball/videos/1073550114641522
Kildare have obviously got improved structures in place providing the foundation for their rise but they have also had what looks to be brilliant management teams in place over their senior hurlers the last few years.
David Herity
Brian Dowling
You cant beat when proper standards are being driven from the very top. Similar to Laois under Eddie.
Monthly County Board meeting on tonight, could not be better timed if used correctly and not just a knocking shop
Should be plenty of energy in the room, but what structure or plans can be put in place to improve across the board.
Don't get tied up or fooled by talk of great work as Kildare underage hurling, their squads are badly organised & run, this victory is based mostly on Naas Gaa club getting their house in order harnessing the massive numbers they have.
Missing all the early chances yesterday cost us dearly, we lacked energy, leading to poor decisions and workrate, turning over huge amount of ball easily,
Going the man marking route left us wid open at the back,
Wrong decisions on picking the team, and too late to change,
I don't agree with this playing / coaching style,
We are still asking for/ looking for a director of hurling in the county, mostly due to the inactivity of our hurling board,
The games development office should not escapee scrutiny either,
What is being done to help secondary schools and streamline academy squads
Quote from: Karate kid on June 09, 2025, 09:17:21 AMSadly if you were to see the pubs last night you would've thought we won something. Bandwagoners are happy with the day out and don't care for the result at all. Seems like the county board are the same. Something needs to change fast.
I wonder how many will be in O'Moore park on Saturday?
I feel sorry for our players as the scoreboard could get very ugly. If Kildare can beat us by 10 points Tipp could really go to town on us.
Quote from: Ogie on June 09, 2025, 05:51:38 PMMonthly County Board meeting on tonight, could not be better timed if used correctly and not just a knocking shop
Should be plenty of energy in the room, but what structure or plans can be put in place to improve across the board.
Don't get tied up or fooled by talk of great work as Kildare underage hurling, their squads are badly organised & run, this victory is based mostly on Naas Gaa club getting their house in order harnessing the massive numbers they have.
Missing all the early chances yesterday cost us dearly, we lacked energy, leading to poor decisions and workrate, turning over huge amount of ball easily,
We are still asking for/ looking for a director of hurling in the county, mostly due to the inactivity of our hurling board,
Games Development in both codes is a major issue
Quote from: Laois Rising on June 09, 2025, 11:59:48 AMFair play to Kildare. In the last twenty minutes they showed huge fitness, skill, determination and confidence in what their gameplan. We were the opposite. Gave away two goals from turnovers which was down to a complete lack of composure when Kildare started to get the upper hand on us. The All-Ireland series needs to change. Let the two fourth place teams in the Munster and Leinster championships play off to play the third place finishing team. Having Laois turn around to face a Tipp team with three weeks rest and chomping at the bit is madness. I'd be fearful that the margin of defeat could reach close to 30 points. How do you pick a team up after that performance yesterday?
We also have too many physically small, stick men in our team. Carrying a couple is perfectly fine but not enough ball winners or players with the physicality to win 50/50 ball and put in the hard tackles. Kildare dominated in that department in the last twenty. They won the majority of puck outs in that time period and it was wave after wave of attack. Next year, a rejuvenated Antrim and a Carlow team that is our equal will prove a stern test to get back to a Joe McDonagh Final.
Perhaps it might work in our favour to not go up to Leinster next year as we are miles off the standard. Tommy now has a two year building block- next year get the team to a standard where they can hopefully win the Joe McD and the following year progress the team to a point where they can challenge to stay in the Leinster championship and be competitive. We have some decent young talent. I'm optimistic that in 24 months time we will be in a far better and healthier position to where we are at present. After the unfortunate Offaly loss last year I was full sure Laois would be able to kick on this year. Sadly, we went in reverse but things can equally as quickly turnaround again.
I totally agree with the point about Joe McD runners up getting through to a pre-lim AI quarter final.
Its great that the winners get a taste of the higher tier given they will be at that level next season and you will occasionally get them causing an upset as Laois memorably did in 2019, but the losers dont really deserve that slot. I know tradition will demand we cling onto the Munster championship but the AI should be run as an entirely separate competition with proper seeding so you dont get imbalances like you currently have with All Ireland champions Clare gone out while Dublin and Galway are still in it.
A proper seeded All Ireland would be far better (and fairer)
I did see this coming a mile away,as i said in my last post . i still believe we have the better group of hurlers but the type of game plan we are playing is ridiculous,as i stated previously i dont want to be seen as a criticising the management team. but some of the blame has to now be with them ? hurling has moved on so far , the type of hurling we played Sunday leaves so much room for the Opposition forwards it is just madness.
Saturday 14 June
Laois v Tipperary, Laois Hire O'Moore Park, 1.45pm - GAA+
Roscommon v Cork, Laois Hire O'Moore Park, 4.15pm - GAA+
Seriously. Who in the name of Christ thinks that 1.45pm this Saturday is the perfect time to have Laois V Tipperary on at?
The GAA don't give a continental fook.
How did the County Board meeting go last night?
Quote from: Ogie on June 09, 2025, 05:51:38 PMMonthly County Board meeting on tonight, could not be better timed if used correctly and not just a knocking shop
Anything come of this meeting afterwards? Or was it just the usual hur hur shur.
Is everyone still on board for Saturday? Hopefully nobody left the panel.
Quote from: Verbal on June 10, 2025, 07:06:15 PMHow did the County Board meeting go last night?
I believe it was very quiet
Theres a lot of opinion on how laois played, set up, game plan, style of play, team selection and substitutions on sunday. Its all easy say now the game is over. But you all have an opportunity now to give your opinion on what way laois should set up BEFORE the match on saturday.
Love to hear your team selections, game plans, style of play etc
With the upmost respect mcwegor, there has been differing opinions regarding the management of out senior, since early on in the league, multiple people gave multiple opinions on this matter for 3 months at least. From the person who has originally given the job, to the person who eventually got the Job. I made my feelings clear from day one regarding my reservations about the manager.
I don't remember you stating an opinion ( humbly).
I shall finish off by honestly saying that there needs to be a new manager found from a strong hurling county, with good credentials and a holder of an all Ireland medal, with hunger to bring the team together and win the Joe Mc next season.
I have absolutely no issue with Tommy as a person, but he WILL NOT IMPROVE THE SENIORS. I believe that we have clearly regressed since 2024 against Offaly.
I expect one or two personal attacks be People from the Town, but to be honest I truly don't care.
The county board's real reason for upping the Senior hurling championship from 8 to 10 Teams, was brought forward by Portlaoise, because they didn't want relegation as an option.
No other club in Laois would be treated with preferential treatment.
It is quite simply not right that one Club, who at School level, put almost nothing into hurling or even football anymore should have the power and influence to rule the roost over the County.
Quote from: The infidel in exile on June 12, 2025, 03:00:47 PMWith the upmost respect mcwegor, there has been differing opinions regarding the management of out senior, since early on in the league, multiple people gave multiple opinions on this matter for 3 months at least. From the person who has originally given the job, to the person who eventually got the Job. I made my feelings clear from day one regarding my reservations about the manager.
I don't remember you stating an opinion ( humbly).
I shall finish off by honestly saying that there needs to be a new manager found from a strong hurling county, with good credentials and a holder of an all Ireland medal, with hunger to bring the team together and win the Joe Mc next season.
I have absolutely no issue with Tommy as a person, but he WILL NOT IMPROVE THE SENIORS. I believe that we have clearly regressed since 2024 against Offaly.
I expect one or two personal attacks be People from the Town, but to be honest I truly don't care.
The county board's real reason for upping the Senior hurling championship from 8 to 10 Teams, was brought forward by Portlaoise, because they didn't want relegation as an option.
No other club in Laois would be treated with preferential treatment.
It is quite simply not right that one Club, who at School level, put almost nothing into hurling or even football anymore should have the power and influence to rule the roost over the County.
We disagree on Tommy Fitz, Infidel. That's subjective, each to their own and I'll even concede that my confidence in the management group as a whole was shaken by last Sunday's performance.
But I'm reasonably certain you're factually incorrect about Portlaoise Club proposing the championship format change. I believe Ballinakill made the proposal with Castletown, Portlaoise and The Harps strongly in favour.
Quote from: mcwregor on June 12, 2025, 01:44:53 PMTheres a lot of opinion on how laois played, set up, game plan, style of play, team selection and substitutions on sunday. Its all easy say now the game is over. But you all have an opportunity now to give your opinion on what way laois should set up BEFORE the match on saturday.
Love to hear your team selections, game plans, style of play etc
Laois should park the bus as given how poorly prepared they have been this year it could be a massacre on Saturday in all honesty. I know what Tipp should do, watch the Kildare game as we do not learn our lessosn from game to game. So allow Laois to take short puck outs, then push up as we try and work the ball out and put pressure on our backs and go from there as we make basic mistakes under pressure each game, a clear sign of a poorly prepared team in my opinion.
Like the rest of us on here we all want Laois to do well, I hope to God they beat Tipperary but I am just calling it as I see it, no disrespect meant to anyone.
Quote from: The infidel in exile on June 12, 2025, 03:00:47 PMI shall finish off by honestly saying that there needs to be a new manager found from a strong hurling county, with good credentials and a holder of an all Ireland medal, with hunger to bring the team together and win the Joe Mc next season.
I don't think a good coach necessarily has to come from a strong hurling county, Willie Maher would fit that bill and Im not sure he got the best out of the panel in my opinion either.
I would like to see us play 3 at midfield - making a 4 half backs when we don't have it (giving help so our 6 can drop a bit), and allowing Paddy Purcell to go forward when we do have it. Possibly Fennell or Lennon along with Dooley and Purcell. We should also consider swapping Podge and Lee Cleere in my view with Podge possibly better suited to John McGrath and Cleere possibly better to hold the middle and graft hard there. He brings plenty of physicality to half back line when he is there - It was absent the last day. Mullaney should come back in as our wing backs are too much of a target in the air- we must be the smallest inter county team in Ireland. In terms of match ups I'd go with Conway on McCarthy and Comerford on Forde. We must mix up or puckouts, over-reliant on the plus one in the full back line. If we are going to persist with it we must mix it up with plenty of long deliveries from the first receiver. Here I'd like to see our half-forward move towards the play to allow for balls in behind. I'd like to see Mossy inside with Dowling, and Ben further out as an option for puckouts and as a runner to support the inside two. It is going to be a tall order as by all accounts Tipp are flying in training but we have to try and help ourselves be as competitive as possible.
I'm late to the party commenting, primarily because I was too sick to look at the forum. We all love and respect Tommy Fitz. A man who is the essence of hurling culture in Laois since the 90s.
But when you take a inter county job you have to be open to criticism and rebuke from us hurlers on the ditch. I agree with previous posters, the short puck out every time killed us. Really did. Why not set up to puck long. Into the danger zone. Simple game. Put paddy P, jer Quinlan and conroy on the half forward as ball winners (or others should have been settled during the league). We had the best midfield bar none in the JMc to pick up the scraps.
It seemed that it was deja vu from the group game. Even put Ryan up there if not playing him in half backs. Mossy floating, duggan and corby/dowling on the inside line.
Fair play to kildare, its amazing what they've achieved but I find it really hard to believe that final score. I really think we left it behind thru style of play. We don't have the hurlers to play the short game. Practically no counties do.
I hope Sat is not a shite show. Hearing that there serious disquiet in the camp.
You have answered my opinion, without knowing it 1915. I have not, or will never cast personal attacks at Tommy Fitz as a person. Nor would I ever. I have also heard from two old friends back home, that their is more than a couple of players unhappy ( very) with how the year went training wise.
I accept that The team had a late start to training due to the Gleeson sickness. But it is 9 day's to mid summers day, so I'm sorry but that excuse has left the station months ago.
Of course I agree with the statement about Tommy's love off Laois hurling, his passion, loyalty etc!! I 100% respect that.
But good hurlers, don't always make good coaches (fact). In my humble but brutally honest opinion, Laois were better in 2024, especially in the final against Offaly, a game that we could have won.
I don't want to see players walk, but as a hurling county, we are notorious for it, mainly due to Club before County parochialism. I think what really caused me to make the statement I made, was reading Tommy's interview online on the Express.
He didn't take much responsibility, as he claimed that he didn't know what went wrong on the day. He claimed that they worked hard on puck outs in training but it didn't come off.
What I saw was a plan A, followed by another plan A, then another. No plan B.
Finally, if Kildare were ( as he stated) more physical, bigger, and stronger.
Then can someone, anyone, please tell me why we dropped two 6" plus hurlers, for two smaller lighter hurlers. Tom Cuddy nor Ryan Mullaney deserved to have been dropped, I was Dumbfounded also by James Duggan not starting, He got us that draw against Carlow by scoring that superb point off the hurl, and either himself or Mullaney got the goal.
I actually strongly believe that we were better in 24, under the Tipp man.
Look we all know how fickle our hurlers can be, because next year we are ( I think for the second time in 30 years)we will be playing countries rated 14th to 20th in Ireland.
At the end of the day, whatever happens, the County board won't give a toss about our opinions.
You are dead right co board will not take your opinions into account and it's imperative that the clubs vote for a chairman that give a toss about the state of Gaa both hurling and football in the county not vote for the idiot that thinks it's his turn next
It is also a bit of a shambles that the Joe McD finalists have to play the following week, Laois are still the only side who won their match after winning the trophy, as I said in a previous posts I dont think the losers should get into the prelim, 4th in Leinster v 4th in Muster playoff for that spot makes more sense.
Our lads will be on the ground after last weeks defeat and having to face a very strong Tipp side 6 days later is a farce. The last time Tipp played the Joe McD losing finalists was against Offaly in 2023 and they put 7-38 past them :o . I hope I am wrong but feel they will do similar on Saturday based on what I have seen thus far.
Quote from: Joeythelips on June 13, 2025, 01:13:33 PMIt is also a bit of a shambles that the Joe McD finalists have to play the following week, Laois are still the only side who won their match after winning the trophy, as I said in a previous posts I dont think the losers should get into the prelim, 4th in Leinster v 4th in Muster playoff for that spot makes more sense.
Our lads will be on the ground after last weeks defeat and having to face a very strong Tipp side 6 days later is a farce. The last time Tipp played the Joe McD losing finalists was against Offaly in 2023 and they put 7-38 past them :o . I hope I am wrong but feel they will do similar on Saturday based on what I have seen thus far.
I expect a very similar score line. As has been mentioned, our biggest issue, and it has been like this for the past 2 if not 3 years, is our game plan.
If anyone was at, or watched the game against Carlow, its flaws stood out massively. We held most the ball for the first 20 minutes or so, but, yet Carlow looked the most threatening. We're so easy hurl against at this level, just wait for us to take possession from the short puck out, then press up on us and force errors. Sure ,sometimes we'll work through the press, but more often than not, we'll get turned over! And then when that happens, we're screwed, because our defensive line is completely out of shape on the back of a turnover.
The 2nd half against Kildare was as predictable as it comes. There was just no way the Laois defenders were going to be able to keep taking the game to Kildare puck out after puck out, Kildare were much bigger and faster than us, so as the game wore on, their forwards were only going to become more and more dominant.
All this is not Tommy's fault to be fair. A lot of our flaws are not all technique, but physicality and size (or lack of) is also killing us. Time after time, we see Laois me take on 1in5 pot shots, because they simply can't break through a tackle and work themselves into a better position.
When I look at Laois the last few years, I don't see technically bad hurlers. On the contrary, some of our most skilful players have come in the last decade or so. Paddy Pucill, Cha, Picky, Mark Kavanagh, Podge, Rowland, Corby, to name but a few, but the physical element of the game is seriously lacking.
If you look at the best of what KK, Tipp, Limerick, Cork etc have. They're not teams full of the best stick men to ever play the game (current Limerick team has some exceptions TBF). But when they fumble, or make that mistake, or get turned over. They're physically able to get the bodies over and reclaim possession. They can also create space from all over with powerful, driving runs.
This is where Laois is lacking, I fully believe that if could get proper strength and condition going, from the very earliest age. And properly developed and monitored, and we target physical development, as much as hurling (and football) development. We wouldn't be miles off competing in years to come.
Ottoman, I sadly have to agree with everything that you, Joey and blueforever stated. I will say one thing, I actually don't think that Tipp will bother to go full throttle against us, as they basically know that all they have to do is turn up, play at 60%, without 4 or five of their top players as the last thing that they want is injuries ( I'm hoping). Secondly your stop on, AS A county, for whatever genetic reason, we are small, against kildare it was like Pigamies playing 🇳🇱 Holland. Yet with small men our footballers in 03.04,05 and 06 done well. Other than Garvan Rooney and one or two others, we were small aswell. Limerick have a lot of big men, but in the early two thousands they got Anthony Daly, Crendon and many others and started with u10s all the way up, every single weekend
From the County chairman to the groundsmen they pulled together, persistent and worked savagely on the technical side with the young lads, and from minor up, they had every age group in The university doing savage gym work, they are monsters with exceptional skill levels. Sadly, other than Collier, Critchley and Cheddar. Most of our boys are Club first. I wish that I was wrong, I really do, but I don't believe that ALL OF OUR BOYS, SOME YES, ALL NO, would be prepared to give up going out in Portlaoise most Saturdays to work out in Rowlands gym.
But nobody answered my opinion about dropping two 6 foot plus lad's in Cuddy and Mullaney for two lads about 5.9 and light. And our manager was talking before the match about trying to match kildare.
Quote from: The infidel in exile on June 13, 2025, 08:25:52 PMOttoman, I sadly have to agree with everything that you, Joey and blueforever stated. I will say one thing, I actually don't think that Tipp will bother to go full throttle against us, as they basically know that all they have to do is turn up, play at 60%, without 4 or five of their top players as the last thing that they want is injuries ( I'm hoping). Secondly your stop on, AS A county, for whatever genetic reason, we are small, against kildare it was like Pigamies playing 🇳🇱 Holland. Yet with small men our footballers in 03.04,05 and 06 done well. Other than Garvan Rooney and one or two others, we were small aswell. Limerick have a lot of big men, but in the early two thousands they got Anthony Daly, Crendon and many others and started with u10s all the way up, every single weekend
From the County chairman to the groundsmen they pulled together, persistent and worked savagely on the technical side with the young lads, and from minor up, they had every age group in The university doing savage gym work, they are monsters with exceptional skill levels. Sadly, other than Collier, Critchley and Cheddar. Most of our boys are Club first. I wish that I was wrong, I really do, but I don't believe that ALL OF OUR BOYS, SOME YES, ALL NO, would be prepared to give up going out in Portlaoise most Saturdays to work out in Rowlands gym.
But nobody answered my opinion about dropping two 6 foot plus lad's in Cuddy and Mullaney for two lads about 5.9 and light. And our manager was talking before the match about trying to match kildare.
I think Tipp will start strong and ease off for 2nd half and empty the bench.
I think it's harsh to criticise the players by saying they should give up a Saturday night for the gym. Given the condition they are in id imagine they sacrifice an awful lot of their time on either GAA fields or gyms, that cannot be easy. They are amateur players and they deserve some breaks and they deserve our respect for the work they put in for the jersey. They are the ones who will have to face a hungry Tipp team today and we all know the outcome, so do they yet they will be there representing us all. Respect
Look Joey, of course your correct, my remark was tongue and cheek, but it was part of my bigger point about the activities past or present. I will never name names, but we are a small community, hence we all know the amount of very good hurlers, who simply had no interest in playing for Laois.
Some will objectively state, that they have the right to do what they want with their lives, and I get it.
But I personally believe that If God bestows such a gift, USE IT. Limerick set a benchmark of what it takes to improve the County, starting at the age of 10,11. Dublin can set a template to improve their underage hurling in a massive county, but 80% football first. Joey we need to do more, without begrudging any young man a pint.
100% agree, if Kildare can come from essentially no where to produce a hurling side to compete in the Leinster championship then we have no excuse.
Quote from: Joeythelips on June 14, 2025, 01:46:48 PM100% agree, if Kildare can come from essentially no where to produce a hurling side to compete in the Leinster championship then we have no excuse.
The funny thing is, our lads are regularly beating Kildare at under age still, some big beatings in there too. But it's been noticeable the last few years, that we're struggling badly to transition our rare under age talent to the seniors.
Whereas Kildare are carefully, and successfully bringing their talent through. There's something fundamentally wrong in how we operate at underage in this county. This years u20's another prime example of a good crop of young lads that were not developed properly through to adult levels and beyond.
Naas Gaa club is a huge help to kildare 13 in the squad last weekend.
Year over. Before I sign off for a while until our club championship. Where was Conway, Quinlan who was unbelievably dropped from the panel, and young Duggan. Something toxic is going on, players seriously fed up with something. Kildare just showed us that they are quite simply an average team, that are NOT A COMPETITIVE TEAM, when it comes to the cut and trust of Properly coached, decent hurlers. I agree that we have better hurlers in theory!! So where does the problem lie?? I am fed up of giving me opinion on it. But you can back certain people to the hilt, but Dublin annihilated them today, and stopped trying with 12 minutes left, they should have beaten Kildare by 7 to 10 more points. I am honestly afraid that if Laois don't change the setup, then players ( at least 6 or 7) will take an annual sabbatical next year. I shall finish be thanking the best Laois hurlers in the last 10 years. He was the Consummate professional, He loved and lived the blue and white of Laois, he sometimes single handedly got Laois over the line almost single handedly ( 1st round, Joe Mc Cup v Offaly 2024). He set an example that very few people could emulate. He regarded it an honour and privilege to wear the Jersey, where others turned up their noses. God bless you, Agus Go raibh mila mila maith agat. Patrick Purcell, Rathdowney/Erroll and Laois. Gone but never forgotten.
Jer quinlan is currently on holiday in the Algarve. How or why that was allowed to happen, beggars belief.
As regards Duggan I can't believe he hasn't had more game time this year, he looks like he ll score every time he gets a ball. I think Tommy dosent like his happy go lucky attitude to hurling, which is a shame because he's in the top 3 inside forwards in the county.
I think Conway was injured but stand open to correction.
In fairness to Tommy we're not privy to what's happens in training but it all looks like it's beginning to unravel
How both Quinlan's thought it was acceptable to miss the game today because of a holiday abroad I'll never know. It's easy see how we seem to blow up each year.
If that's the case 1915, then it is on the manager, it simply comes easier to some hurlers
Eoin kelly and Shane Callinan were the very same. Tommy Dunne of Toomevara and DJ also. ITS CALLED GIFTED.
Seemingly, only one player missed training on Tuesday night after the players went out drinking Sunday and Monday. And do you know who it was exile, Duggan. But why should he be given a free pass and not everyone else?
Obviously we dont know what goes on in training full time and hhaving only attended a handful in recent weeks, I think peoples perceptions of certain players would be changed in the few I saw.
Some of the play was really impressive at times yesterday but something isnt right but it cant always be the managers issue.
The players are the ones who take to the field at the end of the day, of course we all know that and when things are going bad you will get levels at training declining, players opting off the panel and the like when the people in charge have lost control.
But really the buck stops at the managers door, it is an incredibly difficult task being an inter-county manager and its vital you get in a top coaching team with you. You have to have a game plan that the players buy into and suits their attributes as your job ultimately is to get the best out of the players. You also need a plan B and C drilled into players of what to do in certain situations, so if you take a quick puck out to the corner back and the opposition forwards push up if that player continually tries to burst out through the press it would indicate this was not worked on properly in training. How many times did that very thing happen this season?
Even basic things like sideline balls, it often looked like there was not plan or understanding amongst the players, on a well coached side every player knows what they are doing. Limerick most certainly have a panel of top class hurlers but put them under a poor coaching set up and even they would struggle.
I remember reading Ger Loughnane's biography "Raising the banner" and there is a bit near the end about his plan to have Sean Stack replace him. Stack was a well respected coach at the time at club level so Loughnane brought him in as part of the coaching team and let him take a few sessions at the start of the year, after a few months numbers at sessions were down as Stacks training methods were not up to the standard the players were used to and could see they were wasting their time. Loughnane took the reins again and eventually got rid of Stack.
Tommy Fitzgerald is clearly a passionate Laois and GAA mean, fair play to him for taking on the role and he was not helped by coming in after Darren Gleeson stepped down. But you have to say Laois have clearly regressed this year under his management, no question about it. They beat Westmeath, Down and Kerry this year along with a last puck goal to get the win over Carlow. They were beating by Antrim, Kildare (twice) and Carlow. Relegated from the league and failed to win the Joe McDonagh cup which was a lower standard from last year.
Unlike the footballers Laois seem to have some very good hurlers at u-20 and minor so its up to the county board to ensure we have a top coaching team and senior level to get the very best out of our players as they come through to senior level. They should also have a plan to develop coaches within Laois to learn from the very best.
Thanks blow-in and Joey, I won't apologise for living in Nottingham, thus missing games, but training sessions ( Harsh). I previously thought and stated that young Duggan deserved to start in Croke Park. Forgive me if I don't return the favour and say something personal back.
I have my own subjective opinion regarding our senior hurlers.
Secondly, I'm getting rather sick of repetition, but I never ever attacked Tommy, all I said, has actually been penned by Joey. THE LAOIS SENIOR HURLING PANEL OF 2025 HAS REGRESSED SINCE 2024.
I Don't think that many would disagree regarding that. Not that it matters Blow-in, or anyone else that reads this, but due to geographical circumstances, I payed just under £1.200 watching those few games you mentioned, which is of course my business.
Dublin who are not as good as Tipperary, almost beat Kildare by as much as Tipp beat us.
We were beaten by 10 points, and if we are all honest, we were blessed beyond reason to have beaten Carlow on score difference.
Carlow Senior hurlers have an average of 29 years of age, with little or nobody coming behind the group, and that great St Mullins team, Carlow will go seriously back in the next few years, Westmeath are similar. It is not just me that you should single out brother, as most of the contributers on the platform have pointed out that all year, Laois are probably the most predictable team iv watched. THAT'S DOWN TO THE MANAGEMENT TEAM, you can say what you want about myself or Duggan or whomever, as it is your right to. But I agree with EIGHT PEOPLE ON HERE, that basically said similar. Under the current management team, Laois are as predictable as the Sun shining. I bare no-one ill will but yes I would like to see the County bring in a coach that can make us harder to play against, harder to gauge, harder to score against, and more like 2019, because we know that we have some food hurlers both in their prime ( 26/28) and young lad's coming. I shall leave it there, and wish you all the best
Some on here keep referencing the 2019 coaching. The 2019 coach is the current coach, just so everyone is clear.
In theory you may have a point Laoisred. But he was part of the coaching team. Everyone knows that Eddie Brennan had the his ideas all through that team. I get your point, but he wasnt THE COACH.
Anyway you will all be happy to know that I won't be bringing it up again, as iv given my observations. So we shall see what will happen.
On the flip side our underage are definitely improving. I spent the afternoon watching the minors play Wexford. And young phelan of Mountrath. I think? Masonry and a few others have got serious promise if they are looked after, I personally believe that at least those two and maybe young O'keefe, should be brought in to train with the seniors, as the extended panel, mahoney looks really good, in 2 years they will be pushing on big time.
Unfortunately, you are incorrect again. He was the head coach in 2019 - set the team up, ran all the sessions, the one who was in charge on the training pitch. The very same as this year.
Phelan on the minor team is Ctown not mrath.
Eddie Brennan gained instant respect from the squad because of his name as a multi All-Ireland winner with Kilkenny. He is also a good character and players liked him. It created a real feel good factor within the squad and players bought in as a result. We gained momentum as they year progressed and that year we didn't suffer hugely with injuries and had as strong a side as Laois have had many years with a number of key players at their peak in mid twenties. Right time right place for Eddie. He was the figurehead (the John Kiely role) but players will tell you that Tommy was the head coach (Kinnerk role) to that team and dictated a lot in how we played and set up.
Tommy is trying to build something and its going to take time. Lads giving out that we are at our worst but we have developed some decent underage sides the last few years and there is a pool of very decent players who will hopefully step in over the next few years and help to drive Laois hurling onwards and upwards.
Thanks for that, young phelan is a fine big hurler
I have no gripe against Tommy Fitzgerald, like everyone else on here I just want Laois to be successful regardless of who is in charge. I have not seen Laois train and can only comment on games i have seen. In my opinion based on what i have seen, Laois looked a poorly prepared side in terms of having a game plan/implementing the plan correctly, and a plan B when Plan A was not working.
What I saw from Laois in 2019 is worlds apart from what I saw this year, granted players are older with some coming to the end of their careers and the camp might not have been as united this year. Its also a fair point by Laois Rising that Eddie Brennan was the figurehead that united the players to get everyone pulling in the one direction (Micko had this same effect in football).
All teams are judged on their results at the end of the day and whatever the cause (both management and players share the blame here) those result were not good enough. We played 13 games this year between league and championship winning 4 (Westmeath twice, Kerry & Down) drew once and lost 8.
All I would say is for people to look back at the Carlow game in the Joe McDonagh cup. This game to me illustrates our failings this year. It was our 11th competitive game from that list so lots of work done at training leading up to this game, we had been beaten by Kildare so we knew the importance of the game and we knew Carlow after been beaten by them in the league to effectively relegate us. So we had no real excuses going into this game in terms of time for management team and squad to be ready for it.
If you watch that game you would have to be critical of Laois, they seemed all over the place for a lot of that game and were poor in execution of the basic skills of the game along with aimless game play. So many handling errors, players picking wrong passes or not supporting each other at times. There were at least two side line cuts that went astray and one in particular in the 2nd half we fouled and gave Carlow a great lift. An we nicked a draw in the end with a goal at the death.
It simply looked to me that Laois were 2nd best in all aspects of the game in that match, and again looked poorly prepared in most aspects of gameplay. Something you might expect of a team that playing in its first few games but not its 11th and most important. As you rightly say Laois have some talented hurlers coming through in the next few years so it is vital we have a good set up in place, if Tommy is to be the man to do this he has to take serious stock of what went wrong this year.
Apologies, I should have made myself more clear. Niall Corcoran ran the show for Eddie in 2019. He was his head coach - ran the sessions, set the team up etc. Niall Corcoran ran the show for Tommy this year year - ran the sessions, set the team up, style of play etc etc. I know that they are six years apart but we had the same head coach working with the players both years.
Eddie Brennan was 6 years ago. There's not much point in harking back to those days, great and all as they were. Another thing is we were a lot stronger in 2019. Purcell was at his peak and Roddy, Mark Kavanagh, Willie Dunphy and Picky were all top class forwards.
Jack Kelly was excellent that year too and despite how excellent Cathal Dunne has been, the biggest loss of all is Rowland.
Yes, you can blame management, county board etc but at the end of the day, the quality of hurling in the Carlow and Kildare games has simply not been good enough. Maybe that's 100% the fault of management but I doubt it.
Yes I completely agree. Theres no point in looking backwards. There was a narrative emerging from the comments that we should be more like the 2019 /2020 set up.
I was merely pointing out that we had the same head coach this year as 2019.
And by the way Eddie and the group had a pretty awful 2020 which often gets lost in the blue tinted glasses.
There should be a review and I hope there is. I also hope the entire group gets a chance to put things right themselves. That includes Rowland, O'Connell who stepped away during the year. Maybe another player or two will choose to commit next year and that the championship unearths one or two as well. Here's hoping for an improved Laois in 2026.
I believe our coach is moving on we need to get everyone on board for next year if possible and try push on there's 5 or 6 lads our there that would be a big help to the panel.
If they can keep the majority of this years panel and from the older players off hand i feel
Rowland
Jack Kelly
James Ryan
Ian Shanahan
John Foley would be serious additions/re-additions to the cause for 2026
Throw in younger players like
Eoghan Murphy
Jack Breen
Rory Kelly
Justin Duggan
Cormac Byrne to name a few, i think they would be clear favourites to make another final with Antrim.
As with the majority of contributers on here, the puck out strategy this year did not suit. At least not all of the time, so if Tommy stays or a new team comes in, a Plan B is essential for our own puck outs.
Quote from: Laoisred on June 16, 2025, 10:53:41 PMYes I completely agree. Theres no point in looking backwards. There was a narrative emerging from the comments that we should be more like the 2019 /2020 set up.
I was merely pointing out that we had the same head coach this year as 2019.
And by the way Eddie and the group had a pretty awful 2020 which often gets lost in the blue tinted glasses.
There should be a review and I hope there is. I also hope the entire group gets a chance to put things right themselves. That includes Rowland, O'Connell who stepped away during the year. Maybe another player or two will choose to commit next year and that the championship unearths one or two as well. Here's hoping for an improved Laois in 2026.
Surely any review would focus on any success we achieve, winning Joe McD would have to be in that. Im sure it was not perfect but that set up had us on the road to improvement. Laois might not have won many games in 2020, but they avoided relegation in the league (just) and although well beaten by Dublin in Leinster they were only knocked out of the AI by Clare by one point.
Is that John mark foley that transfer to plaois? Who ever is the manager for 2026 go chat with cha and these lads and see are the available to come on board we are too small of a county to lose players.
Yes it is. Local guard. Serious athlete. Would offer loads to a laois panel.
Quote from: Laois man on June 17, 2025, 01:54:21 PMIs that John mark foley that transfer to plaois? Who ever is the manager for 2026 go chat with cha and these lads and see are the available to come on board we are too small of a county to lose players.
Regarding Foley, he can't be more than 27 (in his prime) because he won a munster minor title with kerry in 2015 in football. Is there any personal reason that he won't play for Laois???
You'd imagine Tommy would of brought him in this year but who knows..
Definitely worth an approach again for 2026.
I don't see him hurling with plaois this year so far.
Lots of negative talk online about allowing Joe McDonagh finalists into AI series after Kildare were heavily beaten by a hungry Dublin side 6 days after the Joe McD final.
Given that Dublin put Limerick to the sword today it shines a better light on Kildare. I think the winners certainly deserve a crack at a preliminary quarter final.
The winners should certainly get a go. They should also have a fortnight to prepare.
I was in Croker yesterday. I wasn't expecting that result, but I was confident Dublin would give a better account than what the general public was predicting before it.
I hadn't watched Dublin live in the flesh the last few years, but what really stood out too me was the shear size of them. They're an absolutely massive side, easily matched Limerick in the physical stakes.
Unfortunately that's where hurling is going to be won and lost now. More than ever physicality is the main edge.
Quote from: Mad Mentor on June 22, 2025, 06:54:20 AMThe winners should certainly get a go. They should also have a fortnight to prepare.
I think its a great carrot for the winners, I know they were well beaten the last day but Im sure the Kildare players would have watched Dublin beating one of the greatest (if not THE greatest) hurling teams of all time and thought to themselves something that seemed a universe away (being a top tier team) could be achievable albeit with a lot of work still to do to bridge the gap. They will certainly return to training for next year with a boost in their step.
In fact I think this sort of format should me brought into football also. All teams should be seeded for the championship based on league position and last years championship. Then run off the provincials and the 2nd tier cups (all knockout games) and then have All Ireland series after that.
Any update on senior hurling mangerment are they staying on?