Westmeath 6/1
Opening round fixtures
Saturday 25th
Cork v Meath - 5pm
Cavan v Monaghan - 6pm
Sunday 26th
Roscommon v Down - 2pm
Westmeath v Louth - 2pm
It might be time for Cork to step up, now that they have a Taoiseach again.
Quote from: Blowitupref on January 15, 2025, 04:09:50 PMTo be promoted
Roscommon Evens
Monaghan 15/8
Cork 2/1
Down 2/1
Cavan 11/4
Louth 4/1
Meath 11/2
Westmeath 6/1
Opening round fixtures
Saturday 25th
Cork v Meath - 5pm
Cavan v Monaghan - 6pm
Sunday 26th
Roscommon v Down - 2pm
Westmeath v Louth - 2pm
Very interesting D2 this year, the 2 that came down will want to bounce back up, but Cork and Louth should be pushing to go up as well. Westmeath a good side and well Meath could either win the league or go down neither would shock me that much.
Down very short odds are they not?
Hopefully the outcome will be as per those odds (at top of table anyway)
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 15, 2025, 04:51:08 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on January 15, 2025, 04:09:50 PMTo be promoted
Roscommon Evens
Monaghan 15/8
Cork 2/1
Down 2/1
Cavan 11/4
Louth 4/1
Meath 11/2
Westmeath 6/1
Opening round fixtures
Saturday 25th
Cork v Meath - 5pm
Cavan v Monaghan - 6pm
Sunday 26th
Roscommon v Down - 2pm
Westmeath v Louth - 2pm
Very interesting D2 this year, the 2 that came down will want to bounce back up, but Cork and Louth should be pushing to go up as well. Westmeath a good side and well Meath could either win the league or go down neither would shock me that much.
Down very short odds are they not?
I was suprised Down were so short odds, particularly as we only have 3 home games.
I don't think we have the forwards to take advantage of the new rules, compared to the likes of Roscommon, although I'm looking forward to our 1st league game this year in the Hyde.
Having said that, I think the tap and go rule will suit most of the Down players. Interesting few weeks ahead
I think Monaghan are very short odds. I think they'll find this year very tough
Quote from: Dreadnought on January 15, 2025, 08:18:46 PMI think Monaghan are very short odds. I think they'll find this year very tough
The location of games can affect your chances. Monaghan would likely beat Cork at home, but if playing them by the Lee then it would a harder assignment,
Quote from: Dreadnought on January 15, 2025, 08:18:46 PMI think Monaghan are very short odds. I think they'll find this year very tough
Monaghan have been showing well in recent challenges and have number of top young players looking to establish themselves. They should claim one of the two promotion spots.
Quote from: ardtole on January 15, 2025, 05:57:08 PMI was suprised Down were so short odds, particularly as we only have 3 home games.
I don't think we have the forwards to take advantage of the new rules, compared to the likes of Roscommon, although I'm looking forward to our 1st league game this year in the Hyde.
The competitive championship performance against Armagh the All Ireland champions to be would be taken into account by the punters plus some momentum with winning the Tailteann Cup
Monaghan must be the oldest team in county fball. Most of the old hands bck another year.
Seeing Cork at 2/1 to get promoted makes me immediately think there has to be some value in backing them to get relegated. Sherlock leaving the panel is a very bad sign given the lack of other scoring forwards in the panel. Beyond Hurley (who has a world of mileage on the clock and not a great injury history) you'd really wonder where the scores will come from to win games. Also I have a feeling the new rules won't suit Cork at all.
On what planet are Cork, Down & Cavan ahead of Louth right now???
Down are rubbish, with 90% tiny men
Cavan are Cavan
Cork are decimated from last year.
Cork in 2023 reached the All-Ireland Quarter final and six months ago beat Donegal who many are tipping to win the All-Ireland now.
They should be in mix for promotion this is their team that started v Donegal
Chris Kelly; Kevin Flahive, Daniel O'Mahony, Tommy Walsh; Maurice Shanley, Rory Maguire, Matty Taylor; Ian Maguire, Colm O'Callaghan; Paul Walsh, Seán Powter, Brian O'Driscoll; Mark Cronin, Brian Hurley, Chris Óg Jones.
Only one of those names not on their panel this year as far as I know is Kevin Flahive who's taken a year out to go travelling.
Quote from: 5times5times on January 17, 2025, 01:32:27 PMOn what planet are Cork, Down & Cavan ahead of Louth right now???
Down are rubbish, with 90% tiny men
Cavan are Cavan
Cork are decimated from last year.
Would have had Cork and Louth on a similar level, didn't know they were losing lads. Good side with some very good forwards. Agree on the rest.
Has Liam Kerr from Down gone to Oz/US for the year? Some loss if so.
The NFL is really sneaking up on us without fuss or publicity.
You'd miss th'oul FBD as it got us thinking about the County game again, experimental lineups who's in who's out etc etc.
No one knows how these new rules will pan out, will they make a farce of the League, will they suit some teams more than others and so on
We're hoping we can repeat 2015, 2018, 2020 and 2022 by getting up after 1 season and winning the cupeen as well.
Quote from: Rossfan on January 21, 2025, 06:37:07 PMThe NFL is really sneaking up on us without fuss or publicity.
You'd miss th'oul FBD as it got us thinking about the County game again, experimental lineups who's in who's out etc etc.
No one knows how these new rules will pan out, will they make a farce of the League, will they suit some teams more than others and so on
We're hoping we can repeat 2015, 2018, 2020 and 2022 by getting up after 1 season and winning the cupeen as well.
I think the new rules will suit Roscommon more than a lot of teams.
I've honestly no idea who will start for Down, and even guaranteed starters like McEvoy and Docherty, I'd be unsure where they will line out. Murdock got a hat trick from ff in the inter provincial game so he might be an option there instead of midfield.
I've never been to Hyde park so I'm looking forward to ticking that box this weekend.
Hope you enjoy your visit (but not the result😆)
Quote from: Rossfan on January 21, 2025, 08:33:48 PMHope you enjoy your visit (but not the result😆)
Where's best for parking Rossfan?
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 16, 2025, 12:00:14 AMMonaghan must be the oldest team in county fball. Most of the old hands bck another year.
According to the "first fifteen" (https://x.com/monaghangaa/status/1882805523055362103) it looks to be one of the youngest/greenest teams. Long live the revolution!!
(or, may it have a long life).
Down could take a big beating this weekend in the Hyde. We are not at the level of this seasoned roscommon outfit..
Quote from: downtothecore on January 25, 2025, 09:53:43 AMDown could take a big beating this weekend in the Hyde. We are not at the level of this seasoned roscommon outfit..
We beat them well last year and you's should have beat us, who knows :D
TG4 will now show Roscommon v Down live tomorrow afternoon at 2pm in Division 2 FL, following Kerry-Donegal postponement.
Quote from: Blowitupref on January 25, 2025, 12:54:39 PMTG4 will now show Roscommon v Down live tomorrow afternoon at 2pm in Division 2 FL, following Kerry-Donegal postponement.
Irish News saying Ballinderry in All Ireland final on at 1:30pm tomoro on TG4. ?
Quote from: Truthsayer on January 25, 2025, 01:35:46 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on January 25, 2025, 12:54:39 PMTG4 will now show Roscommon v Down live tomorrow afternoon at 2pm in Division 2 FL, following Kerry-Donegal postponement.
Irish News saying Ballinderry in All Ireland final on at 1:30pm tomoro on TG4. ?
On sport tg4 on YouTube I assume
Quote from: Nanderson on January 25, 2025, 01:47:51 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on January 25, 2025, 01:35:46 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on January 25, 2025, 12:54:39 PMTG4 will now show Roscommon v Down live tomorrow afternoon at 2pm in Division 2 FL, following Kerry-Donegal postponement.
Says TG4 in Irish News, but ok, maybe should be TG4 YouTube
Quote from: Nanderson on January 25, 2025, 01:47:51 PMQuote from: Truthsayer on January 25, 2025, 01:35:46 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on January 25, 2025, 12:54:39 PMTG4 will now show Roscommon v Down live tomorrow afternoon at 2pm in Division 2 FL, following Kerry-Donegal postponement.
Yes YouTube and I'll post up the link on the club thread.
Heading down to the cork game at the minute. Any knowledgable folk here have a good parking suggestion?
Result Cork 2-19 Meath 0-21. Chris Og Jones 1-4,Mark Cronin 0-7 and Brian O Driscoll 0-6 the top scorers for the home side.
Half time Cavan 0-12 Monaghan 1-10
Result Cavan: 0-20 Monaghan: 2-22
Disappointing start to the league but it's early days for this set up. Too open at the back by all accounts.
2 high scoring games, many 2 pointers?
Will today's games go ahead. Leaving for.the Hyde soon.
Did you get here yet?
Misty , strong wind towards Town goal.
Questionable ref'ing
Pointing a 41m free from directly in front of the posts shouldn't be worth two points.
Down making good use of the two pointers six in total to lead 1-14 to 2-6 at half time. Roscommon had a penalty saved.
Down going ok so far, seem to have benefit of very strong wind in that first half, made good use of it to get the 2 pointers.
Ref not having a good game, Roscommon should've had a mark at the end, the black card was ridiculous and it seemed to be a soft penalty.
And the keeper was well off his line too
Quote from: Sheedy on January 26, 2025, 02:40:51 PMDown going ok so far, seem to have benefit of very strong wind in that first half, made good use of it to get the 2 pointers.
Ref not having a good game, Roscommon should've had a mark at the end, the black card was ridiculous and it seemed to be a soft penalty.
Yeah, mark at end.
Lad was clown trying to be hard man pushing and shoving when ball was gone. Silly alright but deserved for trying to be the hardman.
Penlty was 'soft' but he pushed him in back inside. No attempt to play the ball.
Down #10 is very fond of going to ground with a Swan dive.
Is he from Kilcoo by any chance?
Never a black card either.
We saw the effect of the goalkeeper in the other half and 3 up there, with a the turnover the Rossies got the ball up and an uncontested goal.
Good win for the rossies when you consider they were 7 points behind at the start of 2nd half. Roscommon 3-21 Down 1-20
Westmeath 0-18 Louth1-17
Quote from: Blowitupref on January 26, 2025, 03:55:05 PMGood win for the rossies when you consider they were 7 points behind at the start of 2nd half. Roscommon 3-21 Down 1-20
Westmeath 0-18 Louth1-17
I think the new rules show 7 points ain't what it used to be.
Quote from: David McKeown on January 26, 2025, 04:20:12 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on January 26, 2025, 03:55:05 PMGood win for the rossies when you consider they were 7 points behind at the start of 2nd half. Roscommon 3-21 Down 1-20
Westmeath 0-18 Louth1-17
I think the new rules show 7 points ain't what it used to be.
Depends on the match. Armagh v Galway very different and low scoring affair.
Head still reeling from that game today.
Bedlam said Davy.
Was 3-18 to 1-14 in "old money" but Downs extra 2 pointers made it 7 pts margin instead of 10.
Great to see Ciaráin Murtagh back and in mighty form .
Also returning Cian McKeon, Eddie Nolan and Shane Killoran.
Debuts for the 2 Lambes, Colm Neary and Pearse Frost.
The wandering goalie backfired spectacularly reminding me of a similar embarrassment in the U20 semi final in 2021.
Time for a no passing to the goalie at all rule to stop the sillyness
The 3 games on tv yesterday evening were just as bad as anything from last year. It'll take a few years and more rule changes before we get an interesting game back again. It won't happen until all the current county players, managers, selectors, coaches and all the other parasites have left the scene and our youth are taught the basic skills of football once again. The Roscommon Down game was at least a good laugh. Anyone notice how most of our elite county players are unable to field a high ball? Or how they are unable to kick the ball over the bar from outside of 30 yards? The sight of Down defenders and the goalkeeper grappling around on the ground after a ball kicked in high was quite funny.
Louth v Ros moved to Drogheda due to storm damage in Ardee.
Beating Cavan on their own turf doesn't hold much currency these days, Bannigan's Babes have drifted out in the NFL2 betting to 4/1.
If Down want any chance of getting promoted or even staying afloat in Div 2 they should just filed as Kilcoo. the new rules suit us down to a tee. Seen last week in that awful display only man worth anytrhing was ryan mcevoy. Imagine you add the johnstons and even Dabs into that. Only then will i have any hope for us.
Quote from: Magpie22 on January 30, 2025, 12:46:34 PMIf Down want any chance of getting promoted or even staying afloat in Div 2 they should just filed as Kilcoo. the new rules suit us down to a tee. Seen last week in that awful display only man worth anytrhing was ryan mcevoy. Imagine you add the johnstons and even Dabs into that. Only then will i have any hope for us.
Your not even a real down fan if your talking like that. stick to the club...
Ive followed down for as long as i can remember and have had some of the fondest memories of my life on big days out in ulster championship. I remember watching ambrose rogers in 1981 tearing armagh apart in irvinestown one of the greatest individual performances ive seen. Dont question my integrety or cluture on this county of mine!!
Cut me and id bleed red.
then the blood would turn black after a while-Fact
Quote from: Magpie22 on January 30, 2025, 12:46:34 PMIf Down want any chance of getting promoted or even staying afloat in Div 2 they should just filed as Kilcoo. the new rules suit us down to a tee. Seen last week in that awful display only man worth anytrhing was ryan mcevoy. Imagine you add the johnstons and even Dabs into that. Only then will i have any hope for us.
Rory Gallagher got some good plans for the new rules has he?
How do the new rules suit the Down team?
I think the tap and go suits the majority of Down players, I don't think we have the calibre of forward (bar Havern) to take advantage of the new rules in comparison to a lot of counties.
From watching last week's game, there are a lot more long kick outs and invariably more breaking ball, which Roscommon definitely benefited more from.
Overall, I think there are plenty of counties whose players are more suited to the new rules than Down. But we'll just have to get on with it.
Good comeback win for Down. 1-19 to 2-15 v Cork.
Half time in Drogheda Louth 0-5 Roscommon 0-10. Rossies won 1-17 to 1-15
Monaghan 2-29 Westmeath 2-21
Cavan: 0-20 Meath : 3-21
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 02, 2025, 02:44:32 PMGood comeback win for Down. 1-19 to 2-15 v Cork.
Half time in Drogheda Louth 0-5 Roscommon 0-10. Rossies won 1-17 to 1-15
Monaghan 2-29 Westmeath 2-21
Down rolled the sleeves up to get over Cork today. Cork capitalised on a lot of Down errors early on and opened up a big lead but Down showed a bit of character to come back and get the win.
4 50 in one game. Feck me
Quote from: The Trap on February 02, 2025, 04:19:19 PM4 50 in one game. Feck me
What was the breakdown of scoring? As in, many 2 point scores? There seems to be some decent scores being racked up across all divisions without needing the 2 pointers. Maybe worth keeping the 2 point efforts from play only.
Most of the Down players are incapable of catching a high ball from the new longer kickouts.They arent great at kicking it either...well apart from kicking it backwards. Also they arent able to defend one on one so as the smarter teams start to use the long quick pass more out of defence Down will be exposed
Quote from: JPO on February 02, 2025, 07:22:01 PMMost of the Down players are incapable of catching a high ball from the new longer kickouts.They arent great at kicking it either...well apart from kicking it backwards. Also they arent able to defend one on one so as the smarter teams start to use the long quick pass more out of defence Down will be exposed
Doesn't say much for Cork then. We're you at thr game or did you get all that info from snippets on rte 1.
Wasnt at the game but saw Down on tv last weeekend and that was enough. Modern football at its worst. I dont rate Cork either
Quote from: JPO on February 02, 2025, 07:53:12 PMWasnt at the game but saw Down on tv last weeekend and that was enough. Modern football at its worst. I dont rate Cork either
Hilarious to come on here criticising players when you didn't even see them play. Down won multiple long kickouts in the second half which gave them the platform to comeback
Quote from: JPO on February 02, 2025, 07:53:12 PMWasnt at the game but saw Down on tv last weeekend and that was enough. Modern football at its worst. I dont rate Cork either
you weren't at the match but you're still gonna come on here to slag the players off. Hopefully you don't bother going to the rest of the games either by the way 👍
My god. Such a WUM.
2 games played and the table taking shape much as expected, Roscommon and Monaghan setting the pace and I'd expect them to remain in those places at the end of the league. Cavan and Westmeath both with no points so far and I think it'll be between those 2, Down and Meath for the relegation places and from a Down point of view hopefully we'll have enough to stay in the division
I'll give the Down players credit for being a tough bunch mind you. They can take serious head injuries, rolling about in agony but within minutes they're up and running again. Amazing. Tough lads
Meath look better balanced than last year. Or previous season. Returning players have added experience and calmness. Much more purpose this year. RB is doing very well so far
Quote from: Dunneroyal on February 04, 2025, 08:54:38 AMMeath look better balanced than last year. Or previous season. Returning players have added experience and calmness. Much more purpose this year. RB is doing very well so far
You're fierce diplomatic - I suppose O'Rourke still gets a lot of credit from his time as a player.
Agree with clearys point on down's goal.. in no way was that a free for "barging".. down player with the stupid odd boots, jumped in the air (classic kilcoo style) and bought the free.
Quote from: twohands!!! on February 04, 2025, 12:42:40 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 04, 2025, 08:54:38 AMMeath look better balanced than last year. Or previous season. Returning players have added experience and calmness. Much more purpose this year. RB is doing very well so far
You're fierce diplomatic - I suppose O'Rourke still gets a lot of credit from his time as a player.
Ahh he was a fantastic player, but as they say great players don't always make great managers. RB is a totally different manager and will bring the best out of the panel. We made the right decision to change. It had to be done
Cork v Westmeath - Cork should have too much for a much weakened Westmeath side. Cork by 10.
Cavan v Louth - All is not well in Cavan. Louth will have enough to get over this one. Louth by 3.
Roscommon v Monaghan - expect a very high scoring game here if weather allows it. Rossies might have too much at home but wouldn't be surprised if Monaghan snuck it. Rossies by 2.
Down v Meath - Meath make the short trip up the motorway to Newry. Will probably get the shopping done in Asda on the way home. Expect them to bring home the 2 points as well as several slabs of cheap Italian beer. Meath by 3.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 14, 2025, 10:13:30 PMDown v Meath - Meath make the short trip up the motorway to Newry. Will probably get the shopping done in Asda on the way home. Expect them to bring home the 2 points as well as several slabs of cheap Italian beer. Meath by 3.
There isn't an Asda in Newry.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 14, 2025, 10:13:30 PMCavan v Louth - All is not well in Cavan. Louth will have enough to get over this one. Louth by 3.
Some backroom reshuffling this early on shows things aren't going well at all, but at least they were somewhat decisive about addressing it. Whatever may or may not be in the tank of this ageing squad, you'll see it this weekend. Anything less than a stirring response in this game from Cavan and relegation is a near certainty.
Quote from: armaghniac on February 15, 2025, 12:17:57 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 14, 2025, 10:13:30 PMDown v Meath - Meath make the short trip up the motorway to Newry. Will probably get the shopping done in Asda on the way home. Expect them to bring home the 2 points as well as several slabs of cheap Italian beer. Meath by 3.
Apologies getting mixed up with Enniskillen.
Sainsburys will have to do.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 14, 2025, 10:13:30 PMCork v Westmeath - Cork should have too much for a much weakened Westmeath side. Cork by 10.
Cavan v Louth - All is not well in Cavan. Louth will have enough to get over this one. Louth by 3.
Roscommon v Monaghan - expect a very high scoring game here if weather allows it. Rossies might have too much at home but wouldn't be surprised if Monaghan snuck it. Rossies by 2.
Down v Meath - Meath make the short trip up the motorway to Newry. Will probably get the shopping done in Asda on the way home. Expect them to bring home the 2 points as well as several slabs of cheap Italian beer. Meath by 3.
What's the talk, if any, in Monaghan about what impact Andy Moran is having? They seem to be putting up big scores anyway, and without Conor McManus obviously.
A lot in Mayo are already looking at who should succeed McStay, because there's no sign of progression under himself and Rochford.
Would Austin O'Malley be in the conversation after his success with Cuala?
Quote from: ardtole on February 15, 2025, 03:17:02 PMWould Austin O'Malley be in the conversation after his success with Cuala?
Possibly, but I'd want to see more of him at intercounty level.
He was involved with Mayo academy in the past, and with ladies team I think.
Westneath just a point behind v Cork.
HT Cork 1-10 Westies 1-9.
Quote from: Rossfan on February 15, 2025, 05:41:48 PMWestneath just a point behind v Cork.
HT Cork 1-10 Westies 1-9.
2-14 each with 10 minutes to play. Result Cork 3-18 Westmeath 3-17 Chris Og Jones with all three goals and 4 points for the winners.
Good win for Meath against Down in Newry 0-24 to 1-18.
Are Meath finally building a team?
That division 2 is very good this year
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 15, 2025, 07:44:12 PMAre Meath finally building a team?
. They are. We have to ignore the past two years. Let's call it what it was. Total mismanagement. McEntee had left the foundation for a decent team. It's taken 3 years for us to get a top quality sideline in place. The players are there. The talent is there. It will take a couple of years but we finally have begun to play as well as could be expected. And the players have totally bought into what Robbie is teaching them. Been a long time since I seen them this united.
Div 2 is very competitive. Good win for Meath but Down were not far away in that game and will be up for the fight to stay in this league.
Quote from: downtothecore on February 15, 2025, 08:15:04 PMDiv 2 is very competitive. Good win for Meath but Down were not far away in that game and will be up for the fight to stay in this league.
. Down will stay up. Of that I have little doubt. My two who I think are in danger are Cavan and Westmeath. Way too early to say for sure. But Cavan looked very poor v us
Quote from: Dunneroyal on February 15, 2025, 08:03:03 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 15, 2025, 07:44:12 PMAre Meath finally building a team?
. They are. We have to ignore the past two years. Let's call it what it was. Total mismanagement. McEntee had left the foundation for a decent team. It's taken 3 years for us to get a top quality sideline in place. The players are there. The talent is there. It will take a couple of years but we finally have begun to play as well as could be expected. And the players have totally bought into what Robbie is teaching them. Been a long time since I seen them this united.
Great to see. Football needs a strong Meath.
Seeing Armagh win an All Ireland surely gives teams like Meath hope
Quote from: Dunneroyal on February 15, 2025, 08:35:49 PMQuote from: downtothecore on February 15, 2025, 08:15:04 PMDiv 2 is very competitive. Good win for Meath but Down were not far away in that game and will be up for the fight to stay in this league.
. Down will stay up. Of that I have little doubt. My two who I think are in danger are Cavan and Westmeath. Way too early to say for sure. But Cavan looked very poor v us
Cavan could be heading for Rock bottom. Westmeath unlucky tonight by all accounts.
Cavan team looks slightly stronger this week though. First team coach Nally left last week though which shows not all must be well in the camp
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 15, 2025, 08:46:31 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 15, 2025, 08:35:49 PMQuote from: downtothecore on February 15, 2025, 08:15:04 PMDiv 2 is very competitive. Good win for Meath but Down were not far away in that game and will be up for the fight to stay in this league.
Cavan could be heading for Rock bottom. Westmeath unlucky tonight by all accounts.
Cavan team looks slightly stronger this week though. First team coach Nally left last week though which shows not all must be well in the camp
yeah that doesn't look good. Ur right about Westmeath, but they need points on the board.
Westmeath lost some quality before the league through retirement and travel. John heslin, james dolan, Maguire and Ronan O Toole. They have played decent but withoutany points. Play Cavan next weekend in Mullingar.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 15, 2025, 02:33:45 PMQuote from: armaghniac on February 15, 2025, 12:17:57 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 14, 2025, 10:13:30 PMDown v Meath - Meath make the short trip up the motorway to Newry. Will probably get the shopping done in Asda on the way home. Expect them to bring home the 2 points as well as several slabs of cheap Italian beer. Meath by 3.
Apologies getting mixed up with Enniskillen.
Sainsburys will have to do.
Tesco would be the shout.
Quote from: rodney trotter on February 15, 2025, 09:07:03 PMWestmeath lost some quality before the league through retirement and travel. John heslin, james dolan, Maguire and Ronan O Toole. They have played decent but withoutany points. Play Cavan next weekend in Mullingar.
they will win that.
Meath looking good now. We'll regret the cork result but seems to be clicking now. Midfield did well for a few periods. Jones had one of his better games despite the cards. Need to get more out of our other forwards. Morris was class tonight but we need others to step up. Subs didn't make an impact probably helped Down regain some momentum. For all our 3rd quarter dominance there was nothing In it at the end.
We probably would've lost that game under O'Rourke last year but played a bit smarter (cynical too) now at the end. Definitely better coached this year. Roscommon at home would be a big momentum boost if we can dig out a win but won't be easy.
More high scoring games in Div 2
Roscommon 0-25 Monaghan 2-14
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 16, 2025, 03:52:30 PMMore high scoring games in Div 2
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18
by all accounts very entertaining games. Cabana win was a surprise to me , vey happy with how Meath went. And while Roscommon will be out biggest game so far I'm a slight bit optimistic that we can edge out a result. We do and then promotion is definitely on the cards
Did Down manage to catch even one ball from a kickout? I think not
Take a laxative or go for a walk ::)
Quote from: Dunneroyal on February 16, 2025, 05:54:32 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on February 16, 2025, 03:52:30 PMMore high scoring games in Div 2
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18
by all accounts very entertaining games. Cabana win was a surprise to me , vey happy with how Meath went. And while Roscommon will be out biggest game so far I'm a slight bit optimistic that we can edge out a result. We do and then promotion is definitely on the cards
Big win for Cavan would have been in big trouble had they lost. Meath v Monaghan should be feisty encounter when they meet and possible decider to see who finishes 2nd?
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 16, 2025, 08:22:19 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 16, 2025, 05:54:32 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on February 16, 2025, 03:52:30 PMMore high scoring games in Div 2
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18
Big win for Cavan would have been in big trouble had they lost. Meath v Monaghan should be feisty encounter when they meet and possible decider to see who finishes 2nd?
Is there any traditional rivalry between Meath and Monaghan?
Local Derby if my geography is correct
Wasn't at the game but by the sounds of it two late goals for Cavan swung it, neither of them orthodox, but we'll take anything after the poverty of our opening two rounds. Had a feeling we'd muster some sort of a gallop this weekend. Big one now away to Dermot McCabe's Westmeath.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 16, 2025, 08:28:14 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on February 16, 2025, 08:22:19 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 16, 2025, 05:54:32 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on February 16, 2025, 03:52:30 PMMore high scoring games in Div 2
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18
It's a very short border between the Counties, there wouldn't be that much of a rivalry.
Quote from: rodney trotter on February 16, 2025, 08:48:35 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 16, 2025, 08:28:14 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on February 16, 2025, 08:22:19 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 16, 2025, 05:54:32 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on February 16, 2025, 03:52:30 PMMore high scoring games in Div 2
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18
It's a very short border between the Counties, there wouldn't be that much of a rivalry.
I know Tommy Rooney from Off The Ball went to school in Monaghan and he's a Meath man. He must be the exception.
There was a bit of a strange one at Ros v Mon. The ref awarded a penalty to Monaghan after the Mon player had pointed. The decision was baffling because the defender's contact was minimal and didn't affect the Mon player in any way.The penalty was saved. Naturally the ref is not going to award Monaghan the point that he denied them but all came right with the world when in the immediate aftermath Monaghan managed to turn the ball over to regain possession and score a point. Natural order was restored to the game despite the ref's disruptive intervention.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on February 16, 2025, 08:22:19 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 16, 2025, 05:54:32 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on February 16, 2025, 03:52:30 PMMore high scoring games in Div 2
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18
yes if I agree with that.
I think Meath v Roscommon in Navan this week could be a cracker. I don't think Roscommon will win 7/7, maybe this will be the week they slip up.
Westmeath manager Dermot McCabe has questioned the "crazy" intensity of Gaelic football under the new rules and "strange" two-pointers after their 3-18 to 3-17 defeat to Cork.
He feels the extra decisions around every aspect of the game, including the popular solo and go, are "hugely unfair" on referees.
Remarkably, the Lake men have averaged 24 points per game but remain winless from their three outings in Division 2.
"It's a tough game now. On my watch, it was at 41 minutes (the second half) and that was at quite high intensity for the month of February, which is crazy," said McCabe.
"I don't know how lads, who have to be at work in the morning, are going to survive that."
Westmeath have excelled at kicking two-pointers from the likes of Luke Loughlin and the McCartan brothers, Danny and Sam, but McCabe remains unconvinced of their benefit to the game.
"The two-pointers are just strange. I can't understand them, to be honest. It's getting more and more like 11-a-side basketball. There's just set-up and structures that have to be done to create and prevent scores."
McCabe also highlighted the dark arts around kick-outs.
"We're missing a good bit of experience as regards fielders so lads are really trying to step up and get it to ground.
"I felt at times it was close to a line-out. A lot of Cork players were blocking runners. That seemed to be allowed so I'm interested is that the format going forward?
"Can I practice during the week that I'm going to stop five jumpers in order to get my jumper up? Because that appeared to be what was allowed.
"My biggest difficulty with the rules is consistency. I saw a programme during the week and the ref has 500 decisions to make. The new rules have probably turned that into 700 decisions.
"They have to be consistent and that's a difficult thing for the refs to do. It's hugely unfair on the refs."
Against the prevailing consensus, McCabe is sceptical of the solo-and-go rule change.
"Everyone seems to be in favour of the solo and go but the question has to be asked, is that immediate? Is that within four steps? Was he touched within four steps?
"There's an additional four or five decisions on one of the rules. If he throws it to a man, he's allowed to take four steps so you can gain eight steps.
"They're all decisions a ref has to make in a split second with lots of people communicating to him and shouting to him. I just think it's unfair on referees."
McCabe hopes to have absent midfielders Ray Connellan and Brian Guerin back for "the latter stages of the League" as he relies on some talented prospects to come good.
"We don't like moral victories but every lad tried his hardest.
"The lads are stepping up. We're one of the youngest teams in all the divisions of the National League and they're giving us everything.
"We could've got something out of definitely two of the three games. Them couple of late scores are just hard to take."
Maybe football team management is not for him.
As for Ros it's 3 games and 6 points, several new lads tried out with some success and a few returnees also tried out with some success .
2 more wins should get promotion.
Diarmuid Murtagh on fire these days, Keith Doyle winning kickouts.
Butchering goal chances, slow build ups, not great defensively, Carroll doing to much up the field stuff are concerns.
Overall happy enough BUT....it's Division 2 which seems to be a no defending shoot out zone.
Meeting meaner and more cynical Division 1 defences later in the year will be a new tougher challenge.
Dermot McCabe should instruct all the underage coaches in Westmeath to start teaching the kids the basics of Gaelic football instead of the shite like he and most managers are spreading abot tactics and systems. Teach the kids how to field a high ball and teach them how to kick the ball.His players obviously cant do it? They wouldnd be exhausted after games if they kicked it instead of running about all over the field handpassing all the time. Football will take years to come back and only will when the present coaches and players have left the scene. They have ruined our game.
Quote from: Dunneroyal on February 16, 2025, 05:54:32 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on February 16, 2025, 03:52:30 PMMore high scoring games in Div 2
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18
Copa Cabana did very well. I hope the cocktails were as good as the fuball.
McCabe thinks it's unfair people shouting at referees!!! FM I've heard it all now ;D ;D ;D
Quote from: Main Street on February 17, 2025, 12:15:20 AMThere was a bit of a strange one at Ros v Mon. The ref awarded a penalty to Monaghan after the Mon player had pointed. The decision was baffling because the defender's contact was minimal and didn't affect the Mon player in any way.The penalty was saved. Naturally the ref is not going to award Monaghan the point that he denied them but all came right with the world when in the immediate aftermath Monaghan managed to turn the ball over to regain possession and score a point. Natural order was restored to the game despite the ref's disruptive intervention.
Yeah didn't see that one as a penalty tbh. Had 2 incidents in Cavan vs Louth. First one was likely a penalty alright, ball went into the net just after (no advantage at play with penalties?). ref gave it, and it was missed. Then the 2nd one was later in 2nd half, and was the most outright penalty you'd ever see. Man literally chopped down in the box, but ref waved play on. Maybe didn't want to give a 2nd one? Weird anyway
Quote from: seafoid on February 17, 2025, 09:02:24 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 16, 2025, 05:54:32 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on February 16, 2025, 03:52:30 PMMore high scoring games in Div 2
Cavan 3-15 Louth 0-18
;D ;D by all accounts very entertaining games. Cabana win was a surprise to me , vey happy with how Meath went. And while Roscommon will be out biggest game so far I'm a slight bit optimistic that we can edge out a result. We do and then promotion is definitely on the cards
Copa Cabana did very well. I hope the cocktails were as good as the fuball.
ahh gotta love the auld autocorrect getting missed sometimes.
A man cannot serve two masters,either he love the one or hate the other etc,etco
Any predictions for weekend?
Meath vs Roscommon
Westmeath vs Cavan
Louth vs Down
Monaghan vs Cork
Quote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 12:42:09 PMAny predictions for weekend?
Meath vs Roscommon
Westmeath vs Cavan
Louth vs Down
Monaghan vs Cork
Meath vs Roscommon - Meath massively improved but might be a step too far this week; Rassies by 3
Westmeath vs Cavan - One of the lesser known local derbies - unless your from Finnea - Cavan by 7
Louth vs Down - Another local Derby of Sorts - Down by 3
Monaghan vs Cork - Definitely not a local derby - Monaghan by 2
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 19, 2025, 01:12:33 PMQuote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 12:42:09 PMAny predictions for weekend?
Meath vs Roscommon
Westmeath vs Cavan
Louth vs Down
Monaghan vs Cork
Meath vs Roscommon - Meath massively improved but might be a step too far this week; Rassies by 3
Westmeath vs Cavan - One of the lesser known local derbies - unless your from Finnea - Cavan by 7
Meath are 5/2 and I can't help thinking that is a bit of value.
Quote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 01:51:01 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 19, 2025, 01:12:33 PMQuote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 12:42:09 PMAny predictions for weekend?
Meath vs Roscommon
Westmeath vs Cavan
Louth vs Down
Monaghan vs Cork
Was thinking the same that was a huge win for Meath against Down I would have thought at outset Monaghan, Cork and Down would have been competing for second spot behind the Rossies. They seem to have lost a few years under the O'Rourke regime.
Our local newspaper Ros Herald is tipping Meath in this one. Much of that thinking is down to the loss of Enda Smith, Brian Stack (captain), Daire Cregg (Vice Captain) - and a few others likely to be out, Colm Neary who was outstanding in first two games, and Ronan Daly (went off injured against Monaghan). That said we have better strength in-depth than usual but that's a lot of top players out with two away games coming up to promotion contenders Meath and Cork. Meath impressed against Down, look a strong physical side and putting up big scores. Conceding plenty too so could be another high scoring Div 2 game. Odds should be closer.
Monaghan v Cork moved to Saturday for weather reasons apparently.
Quote from: Rossfan on February 20, 2025, 10:12:25 PMMonaghan v Cork moved to Saturday for weather reasons apparently.
Bit of forward thinking at last.
Could be a few games under pressure with rain sunday
Weather will hardly be much better in Westmeath, Meath, Louth
A bit late to be rescheduling a game, doesn't give traveling supporters much time to change plans if attending via public transport or have accommodation booked, then again it's Cork who don't travel to away matches in big numbers.
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 20, 2025, 11:33:57 PMA bit late to be rescheduling a game, doesn't give traveling supporters much time to change plans if attending via public transport or have accommodation booked, then again it's Cork who don't travel to away matches in big numbers.
There was a decent Cork contingent in Newry a few weeks back.
Would many supporters travel much distances like that regular. Outside the few counties going well in div 1.
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 20, 2025, 11:33:57 PMA bit late to be rescheduling a game, doesn't give traveling supporters much time to change plans if attending via public transport or have accommodation booked, then again it's Cork who don't travel to away matches in big numbers.
Honest question.
Which is better rescheduling the game for the day earlier or calling it off when the pitch is going to be unplayable.
Quote from: snoopdog on February 21, 2025, 08:42:50 AMQuote from: Blowitupref on February 20, 2025, 11:33:57 PMA bit late to be rescheduling a game, doesn't give traveling supporters much time to change plans if attending via public transport or have accommodation booked, then again it's Cork who don't travel to away matches in big numbers.
Would many supporters travel much distances like that regular. Outside the few counties going well in div 1.
Alot of Cork people in Dublin might have made the trip to that game with Newry only up the motorway.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 21, 2025, 08:44:42 AMQuote from: snoopdog on February 21, 2025, 08:42:50 AMQuote from: Blowitupref on February 20, 2025, 11:33:57 PMA bit late to be rescheduling a game, doesn't give traveling supporters much time to change plans if attending via public transport or have accommodation booked, then again it's Cork who don't travel to away matches in big numbers.
Alot of Cork people in Dublin might have made the trip to that game with Newry only up the motorway.
spot on, I was talking to a couple of Cork people sitting beside us at the game in Newry, they were living in Dublin and had travelled up
It was a bank Holiday weekend in the south too for that game.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 20, 2025, 10:16:19 PMQuote from: Rossfan on February 20, 2025, 10:12:25 PMMonaghan v Cork moved to Saturday for weather reasons apparently.
Bit of forward thinking at last.
Could be a few games under pressure with rain sunday
good decision that, if anyone has any influence could they move Louth v Down as well lol
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 21, 2025, 08:43:38 AMQuote from: Blowitupref on February 20, 2025, 11:33:57 PMA bit late to be rescheduling a game, doesn't give traveling supporters much time to change plans if attending via public transport or have accommodation booked, then again it's Cork who don't travel to away matches in big numbers.
Honest question.
Which is better rescheduling the game for the day earlier or calling it off when the pitch is going to be unplayable.
I'm looking at it from a supporters point of view. We already had a few games called off in round 1 and those games was pushed back a few weeks. Any matches with unplayable pitches this Sunday I would expect those matches will be pushed back to 8th/9th of March.
Rte say Louth Down game is in Ardee? . This is incorrect ? Drogeda is the venue I believe.
Quote from: snoopdog on February 21, 2025, 04:15:13 PMRte say Louth Down game is in Ardee? . This is incorrect ? Drogeda is the venue I believe.
Yes incorrect.
https://www.gaa.ie/football/allianz-football-league-roinn-2/louth-down/2906681
I'd guess there will be pitch inspections Sunday morning?
Quote from: Rossfan on February 21, 2025, 04:55:21 PMI'd guess there will be pitch inspections Sunday morning?
(https://images.nightcafe.studio/jobs/EmahZnhuXRi8wDrpiPp7/EmahZnhuXRi8wDrpiPp7--0--g8o4s.jpg?tr=w-600,c-at_max)
Quote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 01:51:01 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 19, 2025, 01:12:33 PMQuote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 12:42:09 PMAny predictions for weekend?
Meath vs Roscommon
Westmeath vs Cavan
Louth vs Down
Monaghan vs Cork
me too and I'll have some of that.
Quote from: statto on February 19, 2025, 02:48:35 PMQuote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 01:51:01 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 19, 2025, 01:12:33 PMQuote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 12:42:09 PMAny predictions for weekend?
Meath vs Roscommon
Westmeath vs Cavan
Louth vs Down
Monaghan vs Cork
Was thinking the same that was a huge win for Meath against Down I would have thought at outset Monaghan, Cork and Down would have been competing for second spot behind the Rossies. They seem to have lost a few years under the O'Rourke regime.
. We did lose a few years. Thankfully we have rectified that now.
Quote from: Rossfan on February 21, 2025, 04:55:21 PMI'd guess there will be pitch inspections Sunday morning?
Navan has won awards for been best pitch in country. The rest of the stadium is a disgrace and needs to be demolished asap. However every discussion about the refurbishment has always stated the pitch must not be touched, not even by bringing in machinery etc. the pitch will be fine. The rest of the place could be the problem
Quote from: Dunneroyal on February 21, 2025, 10:35:30 PMQuote from: Rossfan on February 21, 2025, 04:55:21 PMI'd guess there will be pitch inspections Sunday morning?
Navan has won awards for been best pitch in country. The rest of the stadium is a disgrace and needs to be demolished asap. However every discussion about the refurbishment has always stated the pitch must not be touched, not even by bringing in machinery etc. the pitch will be fine. The rest of the place could be the problem
Are there any plans to do work in Navan?
It is a mess alright. Really run down and the facilities are not fit for spectators.
Quote from: marty34 on February 22, 2025, 07:25:52 AMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 21, 2025, 10:35:30 PMQuote from: Rossfan on February 21, 2025, 04:55:21 PMI'd guess there will be pitch inspections Sunday morning?
It is a mess alright. Really run down and the facilities are not fit for spectators.
I've always liked going to Navan. The stand may be old but it's quite a good spot to watch games. Seems to have more off an elevation to it so nothing obstructs apart from thr odd pole.
It jas an old cusack stand feel to it.
They can't redeveloped and stay off thr pitch though.
Many years ago i fell on my arse and slipped down the grass bank in Navan much to everyone around me amusement. There are some things you never forget :)
Quote from: marty34 on February 22, 2025, 07:25:52 AMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 21, 2025, 10:35:30 PMQuote from: Rossfan on February 21, 2025, 04:55:21 PMI'd guess there will be pitch inspections Sunday morning?
They have plans but they have been delayed for a while.
https://www.meathchronicle.ie/2025/01/15/pairc-tailteann-project-unlikely-to-start-until-late-2025/#:~:text=Now%20the%20aim%20is%20to,north%20of%20%E2%82%AC20%20million.
Ye've still got the green grassy slopes so?
Half time home side in control. Monaghan 3-5 Cork 0-5
Cork football an enigma. So much untapped potential.
They need a Jim Mcguinness like figure.
Result Monaghan 3-16 Cork 1-15. The Farney men back in a strong position for promotion again after last weeks defeat. Looking like a another year for Cork in Div 2 so long as they don't drop down, they got relegated from Div one in 2016.
plans for years. Was to be definitely started last may. We were told no more delays. All ready to go. And then nothing.
Quote from: Rossfan on February 22, 2025, 11:32:56 AMYe've still got the green grassy slopes so?
we have. Although they closed due to health and safety. But when there is a big crowd people still manage to get in. The score board was blown down in the recent storm and v Cavan we had this tiny thing no one could see.
So far so good in div 2 with the Monaghan rebuild/regeneration, even the recent away loss to the Rossies was a much better performance than last years' total wipeout. As for Cork, they've a home game v the Rossies and away to Louth & Cavan, they're not yet out of the running for a promotion spot.
Cavan 1-22 Westmeath 0-21 full time from Mullingar. Cavan trailed 0-17 to 0-5 at half time.
Vital wind-assisted victory there. Hopefully the lads gather enough additional points to stay up.
Dermot McCabe reportedly happy with the result.
Quote from: Main Street on February 23, 2025, 01:54:17 PMSo far so good in div 2 with the Monaghan rebuild/regeneration, even the recent away loss to the Rossies was a much better performance than last years' total wipeout. As for Cork, they've a home game v the Rossies and away to Louth & Cavan, they're not yet out of the running for a promotion spot.
I'd say Cork's minds are concentrating on staying out of the Tailteann (they are on Kerry's side of the draw in Munster) than promotion.
Outrageous result for Meath.
Are they looking at promotion now?
Great win for Meath. The Rossies lost their unbeaten status.
Quote from: Dunneroyal on February 21, 2025, 10:29:31 PMQuote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 01:51:01 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 19, 2025, 01:12:33 PMQuote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 12:42:09 PMAny predictions for weekend?
Meath vs Roscommon
Westmeath vs Cavan
Louth vs Down
Monaghan vs Cork
Ha! Good man.
Killer loss for Down. You'd imagine it will be Down and Westmeath for the drop.
Meath have impressed me, they are away to Westmeath next, home to Monaghan with a tricky enough away game against Louth in the last round.
I wouldn't bet against them going up.
Some big results today. Westmeath with a mountain of challenge to avoid relegation after another home defeat.
Meath replacing Colm O Rourke with a recent All Ireland club winning manager is proving a shrewd move.
Important win for louth and what could prove a damaging one for Down.
Quote from: Blowitupref on February 23, 2025, 05:30:08 PMSome big results today. Westmeath with a mountain of challenge to avoid relegation after another home defeat.
Meath replacing Colm O Rourke with a recent All Ireland club winning manager is proving a shrewd move.
Down didn't put up qnbig enough lead in 1st half with the wind. Got what they deserved.
Meath should definitely be targeting a quarter final place this year.
Themselves and kildare the only 2 teams outside of division 1 that I can see challenging the top 8 in the next few years.
Rossies and Monaghan with potential to reach a semi but there's no all ireland in them in the next 4 5 6 years
That's not to say kildare or Meath will win all irelands but the potential is there to challenge.
Quote from: snoopdog on February 23, 2025, 06:10:59 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on February 23, 2025, 05:30:08 PMSome big results today. Westmeath with a mountain of challenge to avoid relegation after another home defeat.
Down didn't put up qnbig enough lead in 1st half with the wind. Got what they deserved.
Seemed to be case in a few Div 2 games today.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 23, 2025, 06:21:21 PMMeath should definitely be targeting a quarter final place this year.
Themselves and kildare the only 2 teams outside of division 1 that I can see challenging the top 8 in the next few years.
Rossies and Monaghan with potential to reach a semi but there's no all ireland in them in the next 4 5 6 years
That's not to say kildare or Meath will win all irelands but the potential is there to challenge.
Kildare would need have a decent championship before any talk of challenging anywhere have flattered to deceive for years.
O'Rourke last year said we didn't have the players. Well it looks to me like we didn't have the management or coaches.
Finally starting to play to our potential. Really good performance and to turn it around so impressively at 4 points down at half time is a real boost to confidence.
Still don't have Costello or McBride in the team yet which goes to show too. Ronan Jones has really come on this year. Went off injured today though. The Cork result in the first round is hard to fathom now but I suppose it won't always be smooth sailing.
Hopefully keep it going next week.
Quote from: grounded on February 23, 2025, 05:01:19 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 21, 2025, 10:29:31 PMQuote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 01:51:01 PMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 19, 2025, 01:12:33 PMQuote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 12:42:09 PMAny predictions for weekend?
Meath vs Roscommon
Westmeath vs Cavan
Louth vs Down
Monaghan vs Cork
Ha! Good man.
PP are buying my lunch every day this week. :)
Quote from: thejuice on February 23, 2025, 06:52:37 PMO'Rourke last year said we didn't have the players. Well it looks to me like we didn't have the management or coaches.
Finally starting to play to our potential. Really good performance and to turn it around so impressively at 4 points down at half time is a real boost to confidence.
Still don't have Costello or McBride in the team yet which goes to show too. Ronan Jones has really come on this year. Went off injured today though. The Cork result in the first round is hard to fathom now but I suppose it won't always be smooth sailing.
Hopefully keep it going next week.
Yeah the excuses and total rubbish sprouted last year has been proven to be just a smoke screen for a bad manager and coaching ticket. The players knew this that's why they were so critical of them in the end of year review , have to hand it to the county board for having the guts to do the right thing for Meath football, we would be on zero points if they hadn't.
Anyway that's all behind us thank goodness. After today there is a sense we left 2 points behind us in cork. But our destiny is in our own hands. I believe we will win next week and then it's winner take all v Monaghan.
It looks an average Division 2. Roscommon probably the best team but they didn't impres in the first game against Down and lost today. Last year Armagh and Donegalbeere a cut above the rest.
Quote from: Dunneroyal on February 23, 2025, 07:27:37 PMAnyway that's all behind us thank goodness. After today there is a sense we left 2 points behind us in cork. But our destiny is in our own hands. I believe we will win next week and then it's winner take all v Monaghan.
The tension on the Monaghan - Meath border will be unbearable.
Quote from: armaghniac on February 23, 2025, 09:21:50 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 23, 2025, 07:27:37 PMAnyway that's all behind us thank goodness. After today there is a sense we left 2 points behind us in cork. But our destiny is in our own hands. I believe we will win next week and then it's winner take all v Monaghan.
It's like the West Bank there from Magheracloone to Meath Hill.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on February 23, 2025, 09:28:20 PMQuote from: armaghniac on February 23, 2025, 09:21:50 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 23, 2025, 07:27:37 PMAnyway that's all behind us thank goodness. After today there is a sense we left 2 points behind us in cork. But our destiny is in our own hands. I believe we will win next week and then it's winner take all v Monaghan.
It's like the West Bank there from Magheracloone to Meath Hill.
it will be fun up there. Assuming things going to plan next week and both win. Whoever prevails in that game will be promoted I'd say. So it really will be a defining game for both county's
Quote from: rodney trotter on February 23, 2025, 07:45:58 PMIt looks an average Division 2. Roscommon probably the best team but they didn't impres in the first game against Down and lost today. Last year Armagh and Donegalbeere a cut above the rest.
There's a big gap between div 1 and 2, blatantly obvious when comparing the quality of the televised games.
Quote from: Main Street on February 24, 2025, 02:33:49 PMQuote from: rodney trotter on February 23, 2025, 07:45:58 PMIt looks an average Division 2. Roscommon probably the best team but they didn't impres in the first game against Down and lost today. Last year Armagh and Donegalbeere a cut above the rest.
There's a big gap between div 1 and 2, blatantly obvious when comparing the quality of the televised games.
I'd honestly rather watch Division 2 though
Division two more than any other division seem to have a group of teams who have decided to take each other on in shootouts not sure will that be good prep for championship when they face any Division one team who will have a defensive structures in place.
Quote from: Dreadnought on February 24, 2025, 03:01:54 PMQuote from: Main Street on February 24, 2025, 02:33:49 PMQuote from: rodney trotter on February 23, 2025, 07:45:58 PMIt looks an average Division 2. Roscommon probably the best team but they didn't impres in the first game against Down and lost today. Last year Armagh and Donegalbeere a cut above the rest.
I'd honestly rather watch Division 2 though
Me too
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 24, 2025, 03:13:48 PMDivision two more than any other division seem to have a group of teams who have decided to take each other on in shootouts not sure will that be good prep for championship when they face any Division one team who will have a defensive structures in place.
it will be interesting to see who comes out on top. Regardless of set ups the point is to score more than the opponent. Could make for interesting watching.
Quote from: Dunneroyal on February 24, 2025, 03:16:57 PMit will be interesting to see who comes out on top. Regardless of set ups the point is to score more than the opponent. Could make for interesting watching.
Will be interesting to see who are the two promoted. To score more than the opponent in shootouts is fine right now but to be well organised defensively will still be key for any team with ambitions this summer. Take Galway top of the table in Div 1 with just 0-55 conceded in 4 games. Your own Meath has conceded the lowest in Div 2 with 21 points per game. average.
Quote from: Cunny Funt on February 24, 2025, 04:03:52 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 24, 2025, 03:16:57 PMit will be interesting to see who comes out on top. Regardless of set ups the point is to score more than the opponent. Could make for interesting watching.
Will be interesting to see who are the two promoted. To score more than the opponent in shootouts is fine right now but to be well organised defensively will still be key for any team with ambitions this summer. Take Galway top of the table in Div 1 with just 0-55 conceded in 4 games. Your own Meath has conceded the lowest in Div 2 with 21 points per game. average.
If a division 2 team comes up against the likes of a Galway or Donegal and plays as open as that it could be a cricket score with 2 pointers.
If a team decided to actually put markers on more forwards there would be less 2 pointers scored.Its not a defensive structure as modern coaches talk about , its simply defenders doing what they have done for generations and it worked. ,
Quote from: JPO on February 25, 2025, 07:10:55 PMIf a team decided to actually put markers on more forwards there would be less 2 pointers scored.Its not a defensive structure as modern coaches talk about , its simply defenders doing what they have done for generations and it worked. ,
case in point. Donal keoghan kept murtagh scoreless on Sunday
Agree with @dunneroyal Chris og Jones had 5-8 from play before the weekend.
I believe Monaghan tasked Ryan O'Toole with a man marking job on him, he scored 1 point from play.
Quote from: FarneyMan on February 26, 2025, 09:55:31 AMAgree with @dunneroyal Chris og Jones had 5-8 from play before the weekend.
I believe Monaghan tasked Ryan O'Toole with a man marking job on him, he scored 1 point from play.
Think we did the same on Walsh he maybe only score a free with McCambridge on him when he came on. (Just a pity we left the other Galway men room to shoot lol)
Just a whinge from me re the gaa pricing for games.
20 euro to stand on a grass bank in Drogheda is ridiculous.
Is it too much to ask to have 1 price for covered seating and another to stand on terrace or in this case a grass bank.
It's all money money money.
Be careful what you wish for, next year still €20 for the grass bank, but €30 for the covered stand.
Quote from: snoopdog on February 26, 2025, 12:35:33 PMJust a whinge from me re the gaa pricing for games.
20 euro to stand on a grass bank in Drogheda is ridiculous.
Is it too much to ask to have 1 price for covered seating and another to stand on terrace or in this case a grass bank.
It's all money money money.
It is not money, money, money it is just that they couldn't be bothered having two classes of tickets and they want the same price for all league games. If you are in Castlebar then everyone fits in the stand and in many grounds most of those who want to be in the stand can be in the stand.
Similarly with the All Ireland finals, the tickets between the 45s in the Cusack or Hogan should cost more than a ticket in the arse end of the Canal End, but they do not want the hassle.
They wondering about dropping attendance and what's causing it, but don't look at the price to watch a game. Same price for seat or terrace a joke
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on February 26, 2025, 05:15:32 PMThey wondering about dropping attendance and what's causing it, but don't look at the price to watch a game. Same price for seat or terrace a joke
yeah should be a difference
Dropping attendances are due to the fact that gaelic football has become perhaps the worst sport in the world to watch. It may be too late to reverse the trend despite these new rules.
I've only missed 1 Down game this year, but even though we haven't got the rub of the green at times, I've enjoyed the games a lot more than last year.
Quote from: JPO on February 26, 2025, 07:25:03 PMDropping attendances are due to the fact that gaelic football has become perhaps the worst sport in the world to watch. It may be too late to reverse the trend despite these new rules.
Don't think it's fully that. A problem, sure. But also when you had 3 or so games per month during round robin etc, I know families that picked and chose what games to go to. A day out for the game and all that goes with it is expensive. back in the day with 2 or even 3 weeks between games, it was doable, but 4 games maybe in 5 weeks just isn't. Condensed season was done with good intentions, but likes of this is an effect
Munster Hurling teams play 4 games in around 6 or 7 weekends.
Crowds aren't too bad.
What Cork side are going to turn up @ 9/4 at home.
Do or die for us in Cavan.
Ding dong battle in Breffni
Another narrow defeat for Down.. our boys are struggling to win pkaying well. Relagation beckons...
Quote from: downtothecore on March 01, 2025, 07:38:33 PMAnother narrow defeat for Down.. our boys are struggling to win pkaying well. Relagation beckons...
Down playing very well. Was a savage game, 2 teams out of it gassed last 10 mins after emptying the tank before that. Down had a nailed on 2 pointer waved wide late on
Good away win for rossies. 2-21 to 0-13 v Cork.
Quote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 08:08:48 PMQuote from: downtothecore on March 01, 2025, 07:38:33 PMAnother narrow defeat for Down.. our boys are struggling to win pkaying well. Relagation beckons...
Down playing very well. Was a savage game, 2 teams out of it gassed last 10 mins after emptying the tank before that. Down had a nailed on 2 pointer waved wide late on
I was perfectly in line with it and felt it was over the post.
Quote from: Westside on March 01, 2025, 09:39:42 PMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 08:08:48 PMQuote from: downtothecore on March 01, 2025, 07:38:33 PMAnother narrow defeat for Down.. our boys are struggling to win pkaying well. Relagation beckons...
I was in line with it too, and myself and most Cavan people around me thought it was a score
Quote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 09:47:28 PMQuote from: Westside on March 01, 2025, 09:39:42 PMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 08:08:48 PMQuote from: downtothecore on March 01, 2025, 07:38:33 PMAnother narrow defeat for Down.. our boys are struggling to win pkaying well. Relagation beckons...
I was in line with it too, and myself and most Cavan people around me thought it was a score
Any idea why the 13m free was given to Cavan in front of the posts in the last few minutes having awarded R McEvoy the free in the first instance, very unlucky not to get a result in spite of the decisions against us I felt.
A big win for Ros helped by 13 wides from Cork.
The exodus after the hurling was something else ;D
Quote from: lfdown2 on March 02, 2025, 11:51:20 AMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 09:47:28 PMQuote from: Westside on March 01, 2025, 09:39:42 PMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 08:08:48 PMQuote from: downtothecore on March 01, 2025, 07:38:33 PMAnother narrow defeat for Down.. our boys are struggling to win pkaying well. Relagation beckons...
Any idea why the 13m free was given to Cavan in front of the posts in the last few minutes having awarded R McEvoy the free in the first instance, very unlucky not to get a result in spite of the decisions against us I felt.
The Down player flung the ball on the ground and roared at the ref for bringing it back for the free. He looked to first go for a throw up and when the dissent continued he gave Cavan a 13m free.
Monaghan continuing the strong scoring this league, averaging a point a minute after 12 mins in Drogheda
Quote from: Schkite on March 02, 2025, 02:15:17 PMMonaghan continuing the strong scoring this league, averaging a point a minute after 12 mins in Drogheda
0-18 to 0-5 at the moment. 18 scores from 19 shots is a impressive stat.
Half time Louth 0-7 Monaghan 1-19. Three horse race for the two promotion spots.
Relegation one of Louth,Down or Cork to join Westmeath in Division 3 next year?
That should be Cavan safe, especially if we get anything out of the Cork game - both sides will feel the other is beatable, but Cork will rouse themselves a bit now you'd think, targeting two wins in their last two games.
Against Roscommon, I expect our usual beating but hope it doesn't get too ugly or deflating.
Quote from: lfdown2 on March 02, 2025, 11:51:20 AMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 09:47:28 PMQuote from: Westside on March 01, 2025, 09:39:42 PMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 08:08:48 PMQuote from: downtothecore on March 01, 2025, 07:38:33 PMAnother narrow defeat for Down.. our boys are struggling to win pkaying well. Relagation beckons...
He didn't do the tap and go properly, got brought back to take free, then dissent gave a 13m free to Cavan for throwing the ball down and shouting at the ref
Quote from: Dreadnought on March 02, 2025, 02:49:15 PMQuote from: lfdown2 on March 02, 2025, 11:51:20 AMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 09:47:28 PMQuote from: Westside on March 01, 2025, 09:39:42 PMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 08:08:48 PMQuote from: downtothecore on March 01, 2025, 07:38:33 PMAnother narrow defeat for Down.. our boys are struggling to win pkaying well. Relagation beckons...
He didn't do the tap and go properly, got brought back to take free, then dissent gave a 13m free to Cavan for throwing the ball down and shouting at the ref
How can you do the tap and go incorrectly? You either keep going or you don't. There were frees for both teams in the second half and I've no idea what any of them were for.
If you run the ball and take more than four steps you've fouled the ball.
Result in Drogheda a fightback by the home side but not enough. Monaghan 1-27 Louth 1-21
Quote from: ardtole on March 02, 2025, 02:56:20 PMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 02, 2025, 02:49:15 PMQuote from: lfdown2 on March 02, 2025, 11:51:20 AMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 09:47:28 PMQuote from: Westside on March 01, 2025, 09:39:42 PMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 08:08:48 PMQuote from: downtothecore on March 01, 2025, 07:38:33 PMAnother narrow defeat for Down.. our boys are struggling to win pkaying well. Relagation beckons...
How can you do the tap and go incorrectly? You either keep going or you don't. There were frees for both teams in the second half and I've no idea what any of them were for.
He bounced the ball instead of toe-tapping, so the ref brought it back. Probably one of the few calls the ref actually got right.
Half time Westmeath 0-9 Meath 2-8. The royals with a 2nd goal with the last play of the half.
Westmeath 1-17 Meath 3-14. Real drama Meath goal on the hooter to win
Quote from: Dayman on March 02, 2025, 04:07:43 PMQuote from: ardtole on March 02, 2025, 02:56:20 PMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 02, 2025, 02:49:15 PMQuote from: lfdown2 on March 02, 2025, 11:51:20 AMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 09:47:28 PMQuote from: Westside on March 01, 2025, 09:39:42 PMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 01, 2025, 08:08:48 PMQuote from: downtothecore on March 01, 2025, 07:38:33 PMAnother narrow defeat for Down.. our boys are struggling to win pkaying well. Relagation beckons...
He bounced the ball instead of toe-tapping, so the ref brought it back. Probably one of the few calls the ref actually got right.
Thought the ref was fairly good overall. For both teams. I had a few issues, but thought we got a few too. But he got vast bulk of the calls correct and let the game flow. What did you think he got mostly wrong?
I get the wide call on Haverns 2 point attempt. I thought it was over. Seemingly though lots on pitch thought it tailed in behind the post. And there was a wide given as a point a little earlier. But hard to call these on the ref when umpires are there and best sighted. So harsh to put it on him when I thought he was overall quite good for both
Bloody hell talk about getting out of jail in Mullingar. Probably our worst performance this year. (Not taking anything from a well organised and fit Westmeath team) our dominance in midfield has been the springboard to our recent form. Today we got cleared out in midfield . Connor duke to go for the goal with 3 seconds left instead of fist over bar. Guy must have cohunas of steel. Whoever wins v Monaghan is promoted. It's that simple.
One final thing. The ref today was one of the worst I have seen in a long while
Quote from: Dunneroyal on March 02, 2025, 07:48:44 PMBloody hell talk about getting out of jail in Mullingar. Probably our worst performance this year. (Not taking anything from a well organised and fit Westmeath team) our dominance in midfield has been the springboard to our recent form. Today we got cleared out in midfield . Connor duke to go for the goal with 3 seconds left instead of fist over bar. Guy must have cohunas of steel. Whoever wins v Monaghan is promoted. It's that simple.
I think the ref. has too much to do. Too many new, complicated rules.
Blame lies far higher up the food chain.
Quote from: marty34 on March 02, 2025, 08:00:11 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on March 02, 2025, 07:48:44 PMBloody hell talk about getting out of jail in Mullingar. Probably our worst performance this year. (Not taking anything from a well organised and fit Westmeath team) our dominance in midfield has been the springboard to our recent form. Today we got cleared out in midfield . Connor duke to go for the goal with 3 seconds left instead of fist over bar. Guy must have cohunas of steel. Whoever wins v Monaghan is promoted. It's that simple.
I think the ref. has too much to do. Too many new, complicated rules.
Blame lies far higher up the food chain.
While I agree. This lads performance was bordering on cheating, but I'm putting it down to incompetence
I don't know how Drogheda is sanctioned to host games of that size. The least you'd expect is a gravel bank not grass.
Wild game in Drogheda earlier. Monaghan looked like they had to wrapped up midway through the 1st half, but a combination of taking the foot off the gas and Louth stepping it up, and we looked to be in a bit of bother.
Few late points helped to ease the nerves. Just goes to show with these rules and a good free taker, that you'll rarely be completely out of a game. I think Mulroy hit 7 pts in 5 minutes midway through the 2nd half and a peno not long after (think he hit something like 1-12 from placed ball, though not sure I'd agree with all those calls). No harm to shake off any complacency Monaghan may have had, with a winner takes all tie against Meath coming up. Whoever wins that is surely promoted. We're shooting the lights out in Div 2 this year, but conceding alot more than usual too. All of a sudden, with a few exceptions its a young enough looking Monaghan side with alot of fresh blood in several areas. Would be no harm to be in Div 2 for another year, but you wouldn't say no to promotion.
Quote from: Schkite on March 02, 2025, 10:17:26 PMWild game in Drogheda earlier. Monaghan looked like they had to wrapped up midway through the 1st half, but a combination of taking the foot off the gas and Louth stepping it up, and we looked to be in a bit of bother.
Few late points helped to ease the nerves. Just goes to show with these rules and a good free taker, that you'll rarely be completely out of a game. I think Mulroy hit 7 pts in 5 minutes midway through the 2nd half and a peno not long after (think he hit something like 1-12 from placed ball, though not sure I'd agree with all those calls). No harm to shake off any complacency Monaghan may have had, with a winner takes all tie against Meath coming up. Whoever wins that is surely promoted. We're shooting the lights out in Div 2 this year, but conceding alot more than usual too. All of a sudden, with a few exceptions its a young enough looking Monaghan side with alot of fresh blood in several areas. Would be no harm to be in Div 2 for another year, but you wouldn't say no to promotion.
I'd love to see Mulroy's scores from play this past few seasons compared to some of the other elite forwards. The vast majority / all of his tally seems to come from dead ball most weeks. That is a great asset to have just wouldn't put him in that top bracket given his general output from play
Monaghan played some of their best attacking football in years in the first half yesterday, working great scores with almost every attack to hit 1-19. Andrew Woods playing close to goal really worked. However, the Louth fightback was admirable, and the Monaghan collapse notable. Paul Matthews coming on was a big reason for Louth's revival. They were unlucky to get stung for 2 pts for a break of the 3v3 rule at a critical moment, when they had managed to close within 3 points late on.
Strangely, Monaghan's starting corner forwards and chief score-takers Garland and McCarron only managed 3 points between them out of 1-27. Still, they hit 1-21 from play to 0-8 from Louth. Seamus Mulhare certainly helped make a game of it.
Set up nicely now for effectively a promotion playoff in Pairc Tailteann in 2 weeks.
The resurgent Royals will surely be favourites in the Tobermannon Derby.
No let up in the high scoring games in Div 2. Four teams have a chance of promotion yet and the rest hoping to avoid relegation.
(https://i.ibb.co/rR52NNGx/bandicam-2025-03-03-12-42-38-926.jpg) (https://ibb.co/B5T2FFVy)
Here's the remaining fixtures, I wonder what are the chances of a 3 way tie for one of the promotion spots? though little chance of revisiting the Mickey Harte dilemma of a manager not knowing the tie-breaker rules for 3 or more tied teams.
(https://i.ibb.co/RTzbZZ3x/Screenshot-2025-03-03-at-15-22-44.png)
Scraped by against Westmeath. Had the feel of a game from the Geraghty-Murphy era with that finish.
Make no mistake we were on the ropes with 5 minutes to go. Westmeath very unlucky this season so far. They could have been any amount ahead coming to the end of the game but kicked away a ton of scores.
Hopefully we were saving something for Monaghan but if we play like that again we're not going anywhere in the league for another year.
Quote from: thejuice on March 03, 2025, 06:45:41 PMScraped by against Westmeath. Had the feel of a game from the Geraghty-Murphy era with that finish.
Make no mistake we were on the ropes with 5 minutes to go. Westmeath very unlucky this season so far. They could have been any amount ahead coming to the end of the game but kicked away a ton of scores.
Hopefully we were saving something for Monaghan but if we play like that again we're not going anywhere in the league for another year.
Would agree our worst performance this year. Still managed to win while playing terrible. But the atmosphere and excitement was unbelievable but Monaghan would take us apart if it was repeated in Navan. That said some lads looked flat and out on their feet. I'd say the Down and Ross games took a lot out of them, so I'm hoping the two weeks break will be of benefit amd we will be back to previous performances. Jones and coffee seriously missed.
What was the problem with Havern's 2 pointer for down at the end of the down game?
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 04, 2025, 09:50:33 AMWhat was the problem with Havern's 2 pointer for down at the end of the down game?
I thought it was over at the time personally. However it was a fair banana shot. It went way would out wide before coming back in. Whether that was beyond the post or inside it, hard to know. I was sure it was a score at the game, but then I saw a replay last night and now I'm not sure again. Maybe the umpire underneath saw the path better, I dunno. All the players underneath waved wide too so could well have tailed behind the post but hit the net in a position that looked like it was well inside
I thought it looked like they'd waved a point and there was some controversy. I only saw some highlights on TG4 last night and didn't appear Laverty was overly happy on a few things.
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 04, 2025, 12:31:56 PMI thought it looked like they'd waved a point and there was some controversy. I only saw some highlights on TG4 last night and didn't appear Laverty was overly happy on a few things.
Yeah that was it. Apparently there was a previous one where it looked wide but was waved as a point. So all swings and roundabouts really. Laverty was going mad on a lot of things tbh
Ai I think he's like that so wouldn't pay too much heed. The highlights made it look like a good / controversial game.
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 04, 2025, 09:50:33 AMWhat was the problem with Havern's 2 pointer for down at the end of the down game?
Umpire that needs to go to specsavers.
QuoteHow can you do the tap and go incorrectly? You either keep going or you don't. There were frees for both teams in the second half and I've no idea what any of them were for.
Several ways to incorrectly go about a solo-and-go.
1) start running and take too many steps before soloing
2) bounce the ball instead of soloing
3) solo-and-go backwards (must be sideways or forwards)
4) carrying out the solo-and-go after too much time has elapsed (must be immediate)
Also, solo-and-go is not permitted inside the attacking 20m line
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 04, 2025, 01:07:10 PMQuote from: imtommygunn on March 04, 2025, 09:50:33 AMWhat was the problem with Havern's 2 pointer for down at the end of the down game?
It was a very tight call either way. If given he'd be blamed the same as you just did from the other side. They can't win, without Hawkeye in all intercounty venues
Quote from: Dreadnought on March 04, 2025, 02:37:28 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on March 04, 2025, 01:07:10 PMQuote from: imtommygunn on March 04, 2025, 09:50:33 AMWhat was the problem with Havern's 2 pointer for down at the end of the down game?
It was a very tight call either way. If given he'd be blamed the same as you just did from the other side. They can't win, without Hawkeye in all intercounty venues
Very Tight call? Come on now and take off the Cavan glasses.
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 04, 2025, 03:34:32 PMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 04, 2025, 02:37:28 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on March 04, 2025, 01:07:10 PMQuote from: imtommygunn on March 04, 2025, 09:50:33 AMWhat was the problem with Havern's 2 pointer for down at the end of the down game?
I've said multiple times above that I think it was a score. But it absolutely was tight. So someone is getting annoyed no matter what happens here.
You think it wasn't a tight call?
Quote from: Captain Obvious on March 04, 2025, 03:34:32 PMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 04, 2025, 02:37:28 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on March 04, 2025, 01:07:10 PMQuote from: imtommygunn on March 04, 2025, 09:50:33 AMWhat was the problem with Havern's 2 pointer for down at the end of the down game?
No point arguing with a Cavan man over "tightness" ;D
Ros v Cavan and Monaghan v Meath in the next Round the 2 decisive games.
Quote from: FarneyMan on March 05, 2025, 09:48:32 AMQuote from: Captain Obvious on March 04, 2025, 03:34:32 PMQuote from: Dreadnought on March 04, 2025, 02:37:28 PMQuote from: Captain Obvious on March 04, 2025, 01:07:10 PMQuote from: imtommygunn on March 04, 2025, 09:50:33 AMWhat was the problem with Havern's 2 pointer for down at the end of the down game?
No point arguing with a Cavan man over "tightness" ;D
I know it's a joke, but is there only ever this one joke?
It's a hard and fast rule of bulletin boards, reddit, the internet in general, that within five posts of Cavan being mentioned, an aspiring comedian will pop up with a joke about our contrived reputation for parsimony. No harm to our Farney brother here or anything, it only grates on Cavan folk as, being naturally present in more Cavan-related threads than the average person, we are often and over-exposed to Níall Tobín's ageing back catalogue. People from other counties only get to use these gags the odd time though, so to them it's a novelty and feels funny somehow.
I read a headline in the Evening Herald the other day: "Bed collapses in the Shelbourne Hotel, 18 Cavanmen injured".
Good to see TG4 has stepped in and will show full live coverage of the what is a promotion play off in Navan this Sunday.
2pm: Meath v Monaghan - TG4 app or player.
Quote from: Blowitupref on March 10, 2025, 11:31:59 AMGood to see TG4 has stepped in and will show full live coverage of the what is a promotion play off in Navan this Sunday.
live or deferred??
Quote from: Dunneroyal on March 11, 2025, 11:25:33 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on March 10, 2025, 11:31:59 AMGood to see TG4 has stepped in and will show full live coverage of the what is a promotion play off in Navan this Sunday.
live or deferred??
Live on the TG4 app.
Quote from: Dunneroyal on February 21, 2025, 10:29:31 PMQuote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 01:51:01 PMMeath are 5/2 and I can't help thinking that is a bit of value.
How about this weekend lads? Meath at home to Monaghan and are 13/8.
Quote from: Blowitupref on March 11, 2025, 11:33:47 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on March 11, 2025, 11:25:33 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on March 10, 2025, 11:31:59 AMGood to see TG4 has stepped in and will show full live coverage of the what is a promotion play off in Navan this Sunday.
live or deferred??
Live on the TG4 app.
But deferred on TG4
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 13, 2025, 02:40:09 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on February 21, 2025, 10:29:31 PMQuote from: grounded on February 19, 2025, 01:51:01 PMMeath are 5/2 and I can't help thinking that is a bit of value.
How about this weekend lads? Meath at home to Monaghan and are 13/8.
good bet . Not as bad a team as showed up in Mullingar and committed daylight robbery, Meath depth is the problem, we have key players missing, jones and Coffey . Might have Costello back though. Need to iron out the problems in defence. Our success this year upto Westmeath game was middle area where menton , Flynn and jones worked wonders with Coffey cleaning up a little further back if those 3 didn't get their ball. Now we missing 2 of them. Beggan not been allowed up creates a new dimension. Fascinating game. But one I think we will sneak at home
Half time Down 1-10 Westmeath 0-13
Full time Down 1-26 Westmeath: 0-28
Down win with a score on the hooter. Westmeath relegated.
Jesus if Westmeath hadn't such terrible luck they'd have none at all.
Great game in Newry, 2 evenly matched teams went score for score in the second half and Down just managed to get the win in the last play. Some great scores from both teams especially in the last 10 minutes.
Great from a Down point of view to get the win in a tight match after narrow losses to Louth and Cavan in last games
A tough Div 2. Every team competitive, End to end last night. More like basketball than football with these new rules though.not sure these new rules mean it's a great game all off a sudden but it's entertaining for the neutral. Last night wasn't for the faint hearted. None of Downs games have. ;D
Westmeath have had no luck at all this year. Every game was close and just ending up on the wrong side of it.
Not sure how we'll do today with the injuries Royaldunne mentioned. We were well beaten in midfield last time out.
Quote from: thejuice on March 16, 2025, 08:45:15 AMWestmeath have had no luck at all this year. Every game was close and just ending up on the wrong side of it.
Not sure how we'll do today with the injuries Royaldunne mentioned. We were well beaten in midfield last time out.
actually have to feel a bit sorry for Westmeath. (Never thought I'd say that) I think all bar one game they could have and in some instances should have won.
But on to the main event it will be a cracking day in PT today. Packed out and so much at stake. Makes a huge difference to last couple of years where we in relegation fight to actually having promotion in our own hands. I'd feel a little bit more comfortable if O'Neill went fb and Rafferty went cb , no logic just think O'Neill isn't a cb at county level but is a solid fb. The midfield is what got us to this position but with the injuries it's looking very shaky. If we break even I think we squeeze it with frayne morris duke and Kinlough all capable of putting in big games. Shane walsh has to have a on day today.
Duke and Kinlough.....Ros connections I'd imagine
We have a must win game today against a Cavan team coming into form at the right time (for them).
Lose and we can probably kiss goodbye to promotion so need to treat this as a Championship game.
Teams for the match in Navan.
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GmBjuqMWsAAHxU7?format=jpg&name=medium)
(https://meathgaa.b-cdn.net/wp-content/uploads/2025/03/Meath-vs-Monaghan-Team.png)
Meath 0-8 Monaghan 1-20 HT
Fantastic half by Monaghan, some lovely bits of attacking play and some cracking 2 pointers (2 in particular from McCarron who didn't even start), and after the first 10 minutes we controlled the middle
After the Louth game, I won't be getting carried away with any half time lead as we've seen how games can change fast, and we had a good wind with us that half
Lord God almighty.
Nice of Monaghan to let us have a few scores at the beginning. Way off the pace in the second quarter and so loose at the back it's hard to fathom.
We're 2 up but nit setting world on fire.
Carroll made 2 good saves and Cavan missed a sitter.
Monaghan showing today why they have been a div 1 team for the last decade.
Cavan finally break the Roscommon hoodoo. Fantastic result for the Breffni Blues and none of us saw it coming after Meath and Monaghan handed our arses to us in rounds one and two. Fair play, crédit where it's due.
Full Time: Meath 1-20 Monaghan 1-29
Happy to close out that without too much fuss. Meath were always going to come back into the game especially with the wind at the back, so it was really just a matter of us trying to control parts of the 2nd half where we could, and keep the scoreboard ticking over so it didn't get too close or nervy. Thought Meath had opportunities to make it a tighter contest when it was still in the balance, there were a few chances they had where they snatched at a shot instead of working it a bit better. But tbf they did hit some nice 2 pointers which kept them in the hunt.
Think I'm right in saying that should be us back up to Div 1 now unless something mad happens on the last day. We have the head to head over Meath and Cavan, and a good lead on score difference over everyone.
Cavan beating Rossies really shakes things up at the top now. Fair play to Cavan, didn't think at the start of the league that they'd be in this position by now. Rossies will be kicking themselves if they don't go up, they looked to be beat placed out of everyone not long ago
Roscommon are away to westmeath for their final game. The way div 2 has gone, it wouldn't suprise me if Westmeath got their first win of the year.
Meath seriously lacking power running at other teams and defending the same aspect. Lacking serious scoring threats apart from Morris, there's little for other top teams to really worry about.
Quote from: ardtole on March 16, 2025, 03:54:44 PMRoscommon are away to westmeath for their final game. The way div 2 has gone, it wouldn't suprise me if Westmeath got their first win of the year.
Nothing in Div 2 can be surprise so unpredictable makes for very interesting last weekend of action.
+/- P
1 Monaghan 33 10
2 Roscommon 19 8
3 Meath 10 8
4 Cavan -4 8
5 Cork -9 6
6 Down -11 4
7 Louth -19 4
8 Westmeath -19 0
Lots of different permutations to be considered.
Monaghan vs Down
Must win for Down if any chance of staying up. Monaghan with that score difference look to be going up regardless of other results. But you would still expect a Monaghan win.
Westmeath vs Roscommon
You would imagine Roscommon to win this. Westmeath terribly unlucky throughout this league. Never deserve to be on 0.
Louth vs Meath
Another key derby game here as well. In the unlikely event of a Down win against Monaghan, Louth would also need to win. Depending on how Cork do, they could all end up on 6 points with Louth having that inferior score difference counting against them.
A down loss would leave Louth safe regardless of how they do as they beat down on head to head.
Meath should win, and they have that head to head advantage win over Roscommon(should they beat Westmeath and Cavan lose to Cork).
Cavan vs Cork
Cavan at home here and with a chance of promotion. If Monaghan,Cavan and Roscommon win and Meath lose. Cavan go up on head to head vs Roscommon.
In the above scenario but Meath also win the Rossies score difference advantage should see them through.
Cork look to be safe and also have much better score difference than Louth +10 ( but only marginally +2 on Down) should those 3 teams end up on 6 points.
Quote from: Blowitupref on March 16, 2025, 02:53:37 PMMonaghan showing today why they have been a div 1 team for the last decade.
There are about 10 teams likely to reach quarter finals, including Monaghan, and only 8 of these will fit in Division 1. If Tyrone/Kerry/Armagh/Mayo are relegated then they would likely be leading the Div 2 table this time next year and Derry probably likewise.
Great win today. Leaves the Cork game with something riding on it.
Hurson inexplicably changed his interpretation of the impeding rule midway through the second half after giving Roscommon two 13 metre frees from midfield catches. Both Cavan and Roscommon blatantly impeded frees being taken in the last 5 minutes and he refused to bring it up.
The 50 metre penalty for touching a player that fields in the middle, impeding a free and not handing the ball back are a stain on the game. The crowd hate it, it slows down the game and goes against all natural competitive instincts of the players.
The rule won't be applied as stringently in higher profile games because refs would be crucified, get rid of it now.
Some very good football but it's hard to judge where Monaghan are at based on today's win as Meath were poor, probably depressingly poor as seen from a Meath perspective. Monaghan are likely promoted, seeing as they have had 3 home games for 2 years in a row they should have 4 home games next year which might offer some survival comfort.
Quote from: thejuice on March 16, 2025, 04:15:06 PMMeath seriously lacking power running at other teams and defending the same aspect. Lacking serious scoring threats apart from Morris, there's little for other top teams to really worry about.
two very bad performances in a row after a run of very good performances. I'm perplexed tbh. Menton and caulfield looked dead on their feet. Lynch should have started. Scully named on bench i would have brought on in first half. Missing jones and coffee was always going to be tough. But come on billy didn't have a clue where kick out should go. Cleaned out in midfield. Still have a chance of promotion but I'm worried heading into championship.
The 2 pointer equaliser Havern scored at the death in Breffni that wasn't awarded could see Cavan promoted and Down relegated.
Quote from: snoopdog on March 17, 2025, 09:33:54 AMThe 2 pointer equaliser Havern scored at the death in Breffni that wasn't awarded could see Cavan promoted and Down relegated.
It was over the post, correctly waved wide without any hesitation by the umpire who had the best view in Breffni for it.
Quote from: Westside on March 17, 2025, 10:04:52 AMQuote from: snoopdog on March 17, 2025, 09:33:54 AMThe 2 pointer equaliser Havern scored at the death in Breffni that wasn't awarded could see Cavan promoted and Down relegated.
It was over the post, correctly waved wide without any hesitation by the umpire who had the best view in Breffni for it.
And even so an earlier score given for Down was clearly wide, so swings and roundabouts really
Quote from: snoopdog on March 17, 2025, 09:33:54 AMThe 2 pointer equaliser Havern scored at the death in Breffni that wasn't awarded could see Cavan promoted and Down relegated.
the missed chance to equalise with the last kick against Louth could also be a moment to look back on if we get relegated, losing to Louth could be the defining result.
Should either of Cavan or Roscommon lose and we win v Louth then we are promoted if my maths are right.
Yes as fine of margins as you can get.
Quote from: Dunneroyal on March 17, 2025, 12:25:56 PMShould either of Cavan or Roscommon lose and we win v Louth then we are promoted if my maths are right.
Yep, in that case on head to head results as Meath beat both Cavan and Roscommon(assuming a likely Monaghan win).
If all 3 win and Monaghan win Roscommon have a +19 score difference as opposed to +10 Meath and -4 Cavan so likely Roscommon promoted.
If Monaghan were to lose in above scenario they are currently +33 score difference, so big advantage.
PP Odds are to be promoted
Roscommon 4/6
Meath 15/8
Cavan 4/1
No odds even displayed for Monaghan promotion. Theres a tiny chance they could not get promoted. That would rely on a big Meath win vs Louth and a big Down win vs Monaghan should Roscommon win.
Score difference atm Meath +10 Monaghan +33.
For Cavan to be promoted they need to win and also need Meath to lose/draw and Monaghan to win/draw. They have head to head win vs Roscommon.
My head is hurting after this!
Quote from: Dunneroyal on March 17, 2025, 12:25:56 PMShould either of Cavan or Roscommon lose and we win v Louth then we are promoted if my maths are right.
Not so. If Monaghan lost to Down, you'd have 3 on 10 and scoring difference comes back into play. Monaghan are safe even if they lost as they are so far ahead on scoring difference.
It's great there are so many issues still to be settled in the NFL on the last day.
No danger of the GAA and media esp RTÉ making a big to do about it all.
Although our manager seems to have declared our League campaign over going by his intemperate post match comments.
I read those those comments this morning and thought it a fairly inelegant effort at reverse psychology, alright ;D
Quote from: grounded on March 17, 2025, 01:49:50 PMQuote from: Dunneroyal on March 17, 2025, 12:25:56 PMShould either of Cavan or Roscommon lose and we win v Louth then we are promoted if my maths are right.
Yep, in that case on head to head results as Meath beat both Cavan and Roscommon(assuming a likely Monaghan win).
If all 3 win and Monaghan win Roscommon have a +19 score difference as opposed to +10 Meath and -4 Cavan so likely Roscommon promoted.
If Monaghan were to lose in above scenario they are currently +33 score difference, so big advantage.
PP Odds are to be promoted
Roscommon 4/6
Meath 15/8
Cavan 4/1
No odds even displayed for Monaghan promotion. Theres a tiny chance they could not get promoted. That would rely on a big Meath win vs Louth and a big Down win vs Monaghan should Roscommon win.
Score difference atm Meath +10 Monaghan +33.
For Cavan to be promoted they need to win and also need Meath to lose/draw and Monaghan to win/draw. They have head to head win vs Roscommon.
My head is hurting after this!
yep I need a panadol. lol
Quote from: cavanmaniac on March 17, 2025, 03:52:03 PMI read those those comments this morning and thought it a fairly inelegant effort at reverse psychology, alright ;D
He came across as subtle as Steven Poacher.
Post Harte, Louth have really pushed on as predicted by many on here. Offaly and Louth could be passing each other next week
If Meath are beating Louth comfortably coming down the stretch and Down v Monaghan is tight a draw could be a great result for all concerned!
Cavan v Cork - Very tough game to call. Cavan with an outside chance of promotion. Cork usually click into gear in round 7 though. Cork by 2.
Louth v Meath - fiery local Derby with both teams with something to play for. Meath by 2.
Monaghan v Down - Monaghan should have enough here unless they put out a weakened team. But can't see that when they're not 100 per cent guaranteed of promotion. Monaghan by 4.
Westmeath v Rossies - another local Derby here. Rossies by 7
Louth v Meath live on TG4 TV
Other three matches can be watched here
A tense afternoon awaits. Couldn't be a tougher ask for Down to have to win in Clones. I could be wrong but I think the 94 Ulster final was the last time we won there.
Maybe both will settle forna draw and hope Meath get the win in Drogheda.
Whatever the outcome it's been a really competitive league all teams on same level even those getting relegated today.
A year in Div 3 next year will be a bitter pill to swallow.
Best of Luck Down.
Isn't Louth/Meath in Inniskeen?
Sqeaky Bum Sunday in Division 2 with anything mathematically possible for Promotion spots depending on results and margins of victory.
Monaghan should be going up in reality no matter what they do today while we need to have the same result as Cavan and Meath.
We've had a bitty enough League campaign which doesn't inspire confidence for the Championship.
However let's hope we at least end the League with a win today to give us a 5/2 record before heading for London.
Pressure is immense. Need to beat Louth and hope that Monaghan either win or draw. Plus need one of Westmeath or cork to win or draw. But what a great way to end league. Rather than last two years under incompetent manager
Some rake of goals early on in this division
Louth up by 7 points.
Cork up by 6
Down up by 1
Roscommon by 7
At this stage then Monaghan and Roscommon to go up.
Down and Westmeath for relegation
Louth running away with it up by 9.
Cork by 6
Roscommon by 10
Down by 3.
Even if Down were to win would take a dramatic change in the Cavan or Meath games for a chance.
But you never know!
Credit where it's due.
This is a great service from TG4
Half time
Louth up 11
Cork by 6
Roscommon by 9
Down by 6.
Some very unexpected scorelines so far.
Half time
Westmeath 1-5 Roscommon 2-10
Monaghan 1-3 Down 0-11
Cavan 0-5 Cork 0-11
Louth 1-13 Meath 0-5
Down full value for their lead and should be further ahead, could be in vain though if Louth and cork both win
Fair wind in some places?
This Meath team have gone back a good bit from last year.
Thanks for the links Blowitup; agree that TG4 have given us a great service today
Does the ref think this is 90 minutes??
How did Cavan and Meath let the Rossies away with that one.
Down don't deserve to be relegated could easily have been promoted.
Would have gotten decent odds on Down, Cork and Louth all picking up wins this weekend. Very tight Division 2
Cavan kicked at two pointer wide on hooter. Would have been enough for promotion.
I expected Down to beat monaghan but didn't expect Meath to be so easily turned over and expectex cavan to win at home. A very questionable 2 pointer disallowed in the cavan match proved to be the decisive moment in this league for Down. Fine margins...
That Meath team going nowhere on that evidence.
One the worst teams I seen all year.
Down can go into championship with some confidence after that.
They competed in every game.
Down,Cork and Louth win with a Roscommon/Westmeath draw. Very few would have predicted those results.
From a Down perspective, relegation is a tough one to take. Narrow losses vs Cavan/Louth and Meath. But thems the breaks.
Promotion was there for the taking for Cavan and Meath today but truth be told(and looking at today's results) I think they are probably happy enough in division 2 for another season.
Louth did well to maintain division 2 status with some big wins especially today.
Westmeath do not deserve one point from this league. They are way better than that and had woeful luck. I guess they have to make Leinster final to qualify for Sam(They are on other side of draw from Dublin). On their day they are a handful for anyone.
Not sure what to make of Rosscommon/Monaghan Before the league started I thought they would be far superior to everyone else in the league, but not the case by a long way. Anyway they are both upto division 1 and good luck to them.
Quote from: mrdeeds on March 23, 2025, 03:17:02 PMCavan kicked at two pointer wide on hooter. Would have been enough for promotion.
Looked like he rushed the kick though?
Did he know that the rule changed on the hooter?
What is going on with the hooter? Are we using it or not? No hooter in Clones today.
Thought Meath were very underwhelming Costello was a big help when came on morris looked to have picked up a nasty injury in stoppage time which wouldn't be great news for them.
Deserved win for Cork today. Far slicker and cuter in possession and managed the game well. Lot of sloppy handling from Cavan who looked very leggy. Physical edge in term of size was with Cork too who worked very hard in second half. O'Driscoll ran the game. Last minute two pointer to see us promoted would have been an injustice and that Cavan team would have no business being in Division 1 anyway.
Odd game today from a Monaghan perspective. Alot of players out there playing with a distinct lack of intensity compared to recent weeks, and maybe showing a bit of complacency - they had the air of a team already promoted, even though we hadn't that secured yet, and that's a dangerous attitude. As it happens, it wouldn't have mattered either way, even just on points difference if other teams got their wins. But still a bit of a kick up the hole ahead of the league final, which is no harm really. Down on the other hand certainly looked like a team with intent, they had something major to play for on the day and it showed, they defended very well and cut through the middle of us throughout. Deserving winners. Doesn't seem right that they go down after that, but I don't think many anticipated that result from a Mulroy-less Louth
Lavelle was always going to be a big loss in defence and that was obvious from the start on this game as soon as Down attacked. Not sure how long he's out for, but hopefully not too long. Some other changes in the team due to injury or rotation, but it seemed to have the opposite effect than the freshening up you'd usually expect. Up front, other than the always lively Bannigan, I thought we were very static and very ponderous on the ball when we got into a scoring position. O'Hanlon in particular was a huge miss in the 1st half, he changed our attack in the 2nd half and made an instant impact. The likes of Mooney and Ward also made very positive appearances.
Overall a disappointing performance, even if you'd like the way they finished strong. As I say though, maybe no harm to give them a reality check ahead of a league final.
One of the most mad Div 2 campaigns ever? But in the end the two favourites gained promotion.
Fine margins between Louth and Down for relegation
Still not the better of that ending.
We're up somehow.
Awful last 25 minutes.
Did Hooter go before Westmeath kicked out the ball on 70.02?
Last week when the hooter went before a kick out Ref said all over as ball not in play.
Division 2 was competitive but no standout team. Cork lost a lot of players over the winter but looked decent today. They should have had 3 or 4 goals. Consistency aways the issue with Cork. Ian Maguire is a top midfielder.
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 23, 2025, 11:34:05 PMDivision 2 was competitive but no standout team. Cork lost a lot of players over the winter but looked decent today. They should have had 3 or 4 goals. Consistency aways the issue with Cork. Ian Maguire is a top midfielder.
If Cork could retain a consistent team with a Messiah like figure like McGuinness they could win all Irelands
So much untapped potential there
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 23, 2025, 11:34:05 PMDivision 2 was competitive but no standout team. Cork lost a lot of players over the winter but looked decent today. They should have had 3 or 4 goals. Consistency aways the issue with Cork. Ian Maguire is a top midfielder.
Div 1 also competitive not sure how many teams truly stood out. It's looking like a very open championship again which is great to see after one team dominated the winners list.
Monaghan one would expect to win the upcoming final as they have I think three weeks prep time before their championship opener while the rossies are flying out to London five days after this final. Winning a trophy in Croke Park is a nice bonus but with promotion secured I doubt either will be that bothered by losing next Sunday.
Division 2 finals are normally played Sunday before the Division 1 final but not this time with it set for Saturday at 7:15pm. Roscommon travelling to London a few days later probably played a big part there.
Quote from: downtothecore on March 23, 2025, 03:21:40 PMI expected Down to beat monaghan but didn't expect Meath to be so easily turned over and expectex cavan to win at home. A very questionable 2 pointer disallowed in the cavan match proved to be the decisive moment in this league for Down. Fine margins...
Did think that was a score, but also had a certain wide given as a point so it evens out really
Quote from: Blowitupref on March 24, 2025, 02:38:25 PMDivision 2 finals are normally played Sunday before the Division 1 final but not this time with it set for Saturday at 7:15pm. Roscommon travelling to London a few days later probably played a big part there.
More likely Kildare and Offaly will bring a big support on Sunday along with Mayo and semi fill Croke Park.
Wexford v Limerick will have a small attendance, I cant see loads of Monaghan and Roscommon folk flooding Croke Park on a saturday night in March either. I live close enough so I will go but rather if we had played on the Sunday.
Quote from: Cunny Funt on March 24, 2025, 01:36:37 PMQuote from: rodney trotter on March 23, 2025, 11:34:05 PMDivision 2 was competitive but no standout team. Cork lost a lot of players over the winter but looked decent today. They should have had 3 or 4 goals. Consistency aways the issue with Cork. Ian Maguire is a top midfielder.
Div 1 also competitive not sure how many teams truly stood out. It's looking like a very open championship again which is great to see after one team dominated the winners list.
Monaghan one would expect to win the upcoming final as they have I think three weeks prep time before their championship opener while the rossies are flying out to London five days after this final. Winning a trophy in Croke Park is a nice bonus but with promotion secured I doubt either will be that bothered by losing next Sunday.
Division 1 was competitive and up in the air who would reach the final and be promoted. Still a good gap from Division 2 and Monaghan and Roscommon could make a quick return to Division 2 in 27. Began has less of an impact now which will hinder Monaghan going forward.
Began was very impressive v Down yesterday, his kickouts were unreal, I've never seen anything like it. When he came out to join the attack he played several killer passes.
Disappointing game for us yesterday. Like the Monaghan game we started pulling something together when the game was almost out of reach.
Were overly reliant on veterans and established players. A few injuries and we have lost momentum. It was good to get Costello back but then we lose Morris (dislocated knee apparently). Once Jones was injured our midfield has been beaten in every game since.
The young lads coming in from U20 who have experienced success need recent in years past to start stepping up, nailing down a place and start delivering performances. Need to find scorers especially without Morris. That needs the management and coaches to get to work.
Quote from: GoldCoastRossie on March 24, 2025, 03:03:39 PMQuote from: Blowitupref on March 24, 2025, 02:38:25 PMDivision 2 finals are normally played Sunday before the Division 1 final but not this time with it set for Saturday at 7:15pm. Roscommon travelling to London a few days later probably played a big part there.
More likely Kildare and Offaly will bring a big support on Sunday along with Mayo and semi fill Croke Park.
Wexford v Limerick will have a small attendance, I cant see loads of Monaghan and Roscommon folk flooding Croke Park on a saturday night in March either. I live close enough so I will go but rather if we had played on the Sunday.
Has been confirmed a request from Roscommon to change their game to Saturday evening has been granted by the Central Control Competitions Committee.
Hilarious 2pter for Westneath on the highlights there on tg4. Westmeath point bounced over the bar through a stream of players,who all missed it for a 2pter.
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on March 24, 2025, 08:40:39 PMHilarious 2pter for Westneath on the highlights there on tg4. Westmeath point bounced over the bar through a stream of players,who all missed it for a 2pter.
So it's a two pointer if it drops short and bounces over without touching another player?
Would have thought that only be 1.
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 24, 2025, 04:58:13 PMQuote from: Cunny Funt on March 24, 2025, 01:36:37 PMQuote from: rodney trotter on March 23, 2025, 11:34:05 PMDivision 2 was competitive but no standout team. Cork lost a lot of players over the winter but looked decent today. They should have had 3 or 4 goals. Consistency aways the issue with Cork. Ian Maguire is a top midfielder.
Division 1 was competitive and up in the air who would reach the final and be promoted. Still a good gap from Division 2 and Monaghan and Roscommon could make a quick return to Division 2 in 27. Began has less of an impact now which will hinder Monaghan going forward.
You're talking thro yer hole, Beggan has been the supreme figure in Monaghan's season so far, re goalkeeping, kick outs, assists and points scored. The only worry is how would we fare without him.
I know he has been. Don't be so touchy. After round 5 of the league the rules were tweaked so keepers won't have as much freedom . Monaghan had most of the work done by that stagem
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 25, 2025, 08:16:41 AMI know he has been. Don't be so touchy. After round 5 of the league the rules were tweaked so keepers won't have as much freedom . Monaghan had most of the work done by that stagem
Did those changes effect Meath. They were bringing their keeper up alot before the change.
Quote from: snoopdog on March 25, 2025, 10:07:20 AMQuote from: rodney trotter on March 25, 2025, 08:16:41 AMI know he has been. Don't be so touchy. After round 5 of the league the rules were tweaked so keepers won't have as much freedom . Monaghan had most of the work done by that stagem
Did those changes effect Meath. They were bringing their keeper up alot before the change.
It's bound to have affected them having an extra player when on the attack was a big advantage to the teams that were using the keepers like that. Be interesting to see what teams persit with it coming into the summmer with harder faster ground leading to quicker counter attacks.
Meath really dropped off in the league - wonder why that was?
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on March 24, 2025, 11:10:21 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on March 24, 2025, 08:40:39 PMHilarious 2pter for Westneath on the highlights there on tg4. Westmeath point bounced over the bar through a stream of players,who all missed it for a 2pter.
So it's a two pointer if it drops short and bounces over without touching another player?
They tweaked the rule by removing the word "direct" to remove any doubt about ball off the post or hopping in the square etc
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on March 24, 2025, 11:10:21 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on March 24, 2025, 08:40:39 PMHilarious 2pter for Westneath on the highlights there on tg4. Westmeath point bounced over the bar through a stream of players,who all missed it for a 2pter.
Seems like they need to tweak that rule. Under the current reading, sees it should be 2. But maybe they need to say it goes straight over cleanly, no bounce etc
Quote from: Dreadnought on March 25, 2025, 10:57:00 AMQuote from: SouthOfThe Bann on March 24, 2025, 11:10:21 PMQuote from: Wildweasel74 on March 24, 2025, 08:40:39 PMHilarious 2pter for Westneath on the highlights there on tg4. Westmeath point bounced over the bar through a stream of players,who all missed it for a 2pter.
Seems like they need to tweak that rule. Under the current reading, sees it should be 2. But maybe they need to say it goes straight over cleanly, no bounce etc
Took the word "direct" out of it in the latest tweaking of the rules so I think that two pointer was ok. The last score of the game shouldn't have stood though with the hooter already sounded and the ball not in play.
Quote from: rodney trotter on March 25, 2025, 08:16:41 AMI know he has been. Don't be so touchy. After round 5 of the league the rules were tweaked so keepers won't have as much freedom . Monaghan had most of the work done by that stagem
Most of the work was done in round 6 v Meath.
As was evident on the tv coverage and the IT
"There was also a continuing contribution from goalkeeper Rory Beggan, assisted by his team's very disciplined observance of the 4 v 3 rule, who was undaunted by the amended rules which restrict the goalkeeper's role a little. Beggan got forward on plenty of occasions to distract the defence"
Meath's gameplan was built around having the goalkeeper in the playmaking role. They maximised the extra player to great effect as they moved all their shooters outside the 40 metre line and kept recycling the ball until they created the necessary space for one of them to get a shot away. It was hugely effective. Once the loophole was shut, Meath gameplan not nearly as effective. The option to recycle and move back and forth across the 40 metre arch so freely was taken away from them and they have suffered for it.
Quote from: Laois Rising on March 25, 2025, 12:46:33 PMMeath's gameplan was built around having the goalkeeper in the playmaking role. They maximised the extra player to great effect as they moved all their shooters outside the 40 metre line and kept recycling the ball until they created the necessary space for one of them to get a shot away. It was hugely effective. Once the loophole was shut, Meath gameplan not nearly as effective. The option to recycle and move back and forth across the 40 metre arch so freely was taken away from them and they have suffered for it.
Which does raise an issue about changing the rules in the middle of a league.
4 v 3 is much better. At least it means that only the high quality keepers that have something to offer will venture up. Beggan, Morgan etc.
Nobody wants to see a goalie up the pitch doing nothing other than helping to recycle the ball.
Beggan was excellent for Monaghan on Sunday at both ends of the pitch.
Began really was impressive v Down, his kick outs to team mates on the run is freakishly good.
I've no problem with him coming out to join the attack as he is no longer the extra man as such.
But I hated the rule that was in during the 1st 5 league games, that allowed the keeper to create the extra man.
Quote from: Main Street on March 25, 2025, 12:15:31 PMQuote from: rodney trotter on March 25, 2025, 08:16:41 AMI know he has been. Don't be so touchy. After round 5 of the league the rules were tweaked so keepers won't have as much freedom . Monaghan had most of the work done by that stagem
Most of the work was done in round 6 v Meath.
As was evident on the tv coverage and the IT
"There was also a continuing contribution from goalkeeper Rory Beggan, assisted by his team's very disciplined observance of the 4 v 3 rule, who was undaunted by the amended rules which restrict the goalkeeper's role a little. Beggan got forward on plenty of occasions to distract the defence"
Beggan your top scorer in this league campaign I see. Seen a clip yesterday of that dramatic Div 2 final win against Meath 20 years ago when was the last time Monaghan didn't win a league final? won more recently against Donegal 2014 and 2013 against Meath again.
Monaghan are some county. 5th lowest population in Ireland and have been a top 10 football team for 15 years, and it looks like continuing. Their forward line will make up for the loss of Conor McManus through the sum of their parts, Bannigan and O'Hanlon are quality, as well as Jack McCarron. Then you have Beggan, Conor McCarthy and Gary Mohan coming from deep. Still a good team that will take beating, fair play to them
Quote from: ClubScene13 on March 28, 2025, 01:41:38 PMMonaghan are some county. 5th lowest population in Ireland and have been a top 10 football team for 15 years, and it looks like continuing. Their forward line will make up for the loss of Conor McManus through the sum of their parts, Bannigan and O'Hanlon are quality, as well as Jack McCarron. Then you have Beggan, Conor McCarthy and Gary Mohan coming from deep. Still a good team that will take beating, fair play to them
You're absolutely spot on. I've referenced Monaghan many times especially to my many friends in Cork who moan about the predicament of their footballers. Monaghan have half that!
Cork have over 50 clubs who are serious enough about football at least..Mon
Meath and Kildare also should bd doing a lot better with the population. A few wins in the league and meath are blown up. They finished poorly like under Colm O Rourke.
ROSCOMMON team for tomorrow night final.
C Carroll
C Neary, D Murray, N Higgins
S Cunnane, R Fallon, D Ruane
E Nolan, K Doyle
C Lennon, E Smith, C Hand
D Murtagh, C McKeon, C Murtagh.
Subs: A Brady, J McManus, R Daly, S Killoran, U Harney, T Lambe, B O'Carroll, C Heneghan, S Lambe, C Cox, D Smith
MONAGHAN team :
R Beggan
R Wylie, K Duffy, D Byrne
R McAnespie, R O'Toole, C McCarthy
J Wilson, M McCarville
S O'Hanlon, M Bannigan, C McNulty
D Garland, A Woods, J McCarron.
Subs: D Croarkin, J Irwin, G McPhillips, D Hughes, D Ward, G Mohan, B McBennett, A Carey, B McCaul, S Mooney, K O'Connell
Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 28, 2025, 04:57:54 PMQuote from: ClubScene13 on March 28, 2025, 01:41:38 PMMonaghan are some county. 5th lowest population in Ireland and have been a top 10 football team for 15 years, and it looks like continuing. Their forward line will make up for the loss of Conor McManus through the sum of their parts, Bannigan and O'Hanlon are quality, as well as Jack McCarron. Then you have Beggan, Conor McCarthy and Gary Mohan coming from deep. Still a good team that will take beating, fair play to them
You're absolutely spot on. I've referenced Monaghan many times especially to my many friends in Cork who moan about the predicament of their footballers. Monaghan have half that!
Thought i read somewhere that they've more football clubs than rest of Munster combined.
And over 100 football only clubs.
Someone said they've more football than hurling clubs in Cork too... not sure whether this is true.
Hurling be stronger in the more heavily populated areas though I'd imagine so they might have bigger clubs despite having less.
But again open to correction on all this.
Quote from: SouthOfThe Bann on March 29, 2025, 10:49:08 AMQuote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on March 28, 2025, 04:57:54 PMQuote from: ClubScene13 on March 28, 2025, 01:41:38 PMMonaghan are some county. 5th lowest population in Ireland and have been a top 10 football team for 15 years, and it looks like continuing. Their forward line will make up for the loss of Conor McManus through the sum of their parts, Bannigan and O'Hanlon are quality, as well as Jack McCarron. Then you have Beggan, Conor McCarthy and Gary Mohan coming from deep. Still a good team that will take beating, fair play to them
Thought i read somewhere that they've more football clubs than rest of Munster combined.
And over 100 football only clubs.
Someone said they've more football than hurling clubs in Cork too... not sure whether this is true.
Hurling be stronger in the more heavily populated areas though I'd imagine so they might have bigger clubs despite having less.
But again open to correction on all this.
Monaghan's population is about equal to Carrigaline + Midelton + Cobh + Mallow and Fermoy.
28 clubs in total split 10-10-8 for Senior-Inter-Junior. Half those clubs are amalgamated for underage.
They certainly get the best out of what they have.
Our Co Board area has around 67k.
28 Adult football Clubs and 1 underage one.
12-12-12 plus Junior B. B teams can play Inter or Junior A.
Quote from: Rossfan on March 29, 2025, 03:02:55 PMOur Co Board area has around 67k.
28 Adult football Clubs and 1 underage one.
12-12-12 plus Junior B. B teams can play Inter or Junior A.
Forgot yous are only Operating off half a county with the Mayo land grabbers
Decent half of football in the division 2 decider. Roscommon 0-12 Monaghan 0-11.
Quote from: Blowitupref on March 29, 2025, 07:59:38 PMDecent half of football in the division 2 decider. Roscommon 0-12 Monaghan 0-11.
Yeah a decent watch and both sides fairly evenly matched so far. Would expect this to go to the wire.
A cleaner pulled the plug out to hoover the broadcast control room
Fair play Monaghan, last 15 minutes it's been men against boys.
Quote from: Substandard on March 29, 2025, 08:57:50 PMFair play Monaghan, last 15 minutes it's been men against boys.
Yeah once the goal went in it was game over.
2 points in before the goal and then ended up with a 10 point winning margin.
Monaghan won the 2nd half 1-15 to 0-7.
Congratulations to Monaghan 1-26 to 0-19 winners the goal directly after a Roscommon shot dropping short set them on their way while the rossies faded badly
And the kick out after the goal went to a Monaghan man and another point conceded.
Instead of a 0-1 for us it became a 1-1 for them.
Seeious question marks about fitness levels, team management and coaching after that tonight.
Or have we a cunning plan......
Great win for Monaghan, really pulled away in the end. Have to admit I was a bit worried after we left a few points on the board in the 1st half with some poor handling/unforced errors leading to turnovers. And then especially midway through the 2nd half when it was very tight and we had a string of a few wides in a row - but then we got the well worked goal, and didn't look back after that really. Encouraging part of it all is how we kept creating enough chances that those scores came.
Was delighted to see young Dylan Byrne get MotM - he only made his debut this year, was our only ever-present outfield player in the league, and he capped off his first appearance in Croke Park with a performance like that and a Div 2 medal. One of many young players to have broken through in the past few seasons, and become key players fast. Other good performers were Bannigan who led by example up front, Mohan who put in a ton of work around the middle, Beggan who was influential at both ends of the pitch, McCarron who was key in putting the game to bed. Many others in 2nd half especially who impressed though.
Main thing was always to secure promotion, but national titles are rare in Monaghan so it's nice to lift a trophy in HQ, keeps our 100% record in Div 2 finals too. On to Ulster in a few weeks where a tougher challenge awaits. We'll be big underdogs regardless but I'd say this group will have a good crack. Playing some nice football this season, but we'll need to tighten things up in defence to have any chance. Not sure how long until Killian Lavelle returns, but he's a big loss back there.
Monaghan were tight at the back but even when there were gaps and the Roscommon lads didn't feed the man in space.
Monaghan finished it off so well though.
Quote from: Rossfan on March 29, 2025, 11:18:09 PMAnd the kick out after the goal went to a Monaghan man and another point conceded.
Seeious question marks about fitness levels, team management and coaching after that tonight.
Am I jumping the gun, Baldrick, or are the words "I have a cunning plan" marching with ill-deserved confidence in the direction of this conversation?
QuoteAnd the kick out after the goal went to a Monaghan man and another point conceded.
When yer manager told the goalie to kick the ball dead to enable the half time break it summed it up.
As mentioned by someone a few weeks back Ross are still very much waiting in the long grass and are dark horses for Sam.
Still think a 2pter free not a skill compared to the same from play.
Does the Monaghan jersey look like it has a poppy
Monaghan had the game won when the Rossie kicked the ball 'to touch' instead of going for the point before ht.The 2nd half was all about Monaghan, the goal was scored long after that fact was obvious.
I think the Londoners will have watched that game with great interest. Unfortunately I don't think anything out there will have prepared us in earnest for our first game in the Ulster Championship.
Whoever was going on here about Beggan not being as involved in outfield matters after the latest rule adjustment was right, in fact both goalies didn't venture much and Beggan only in the latter stages.
Credit to the bearded Rossie who scored a lovely point (the 8th?) in the first half with the outside of his left boot.
Eddie Nolan
Fair play to Monaghan.
Consistently at the top table.
Game was in balance for 50 minutes then Monaghan kicked on to win comfortably. Not sure how much I'd read into it given the lack of intensity in that contest and played in a soulless arena with just the lower hogan stand open.
Based on the full league season Roscommon should they overcome London aren't going to get close to beating Galway in Pearse Stadium regardless and then will have 4/5 weeks to prepare for the All Ireland series time they'll need on the training pitch given the area of concern at both ends of the field.
Monaghan three weeks to prepare before a full intense Ulster championship. Will need to sharpen up defensively as only the two relegated teams conceded more than them in division 2 and a more clinical Donegal,Tyrone,Armagh would not waste the opportunities that Roscommon did last night.
Assuming our management and new coach have a plan.....
It likely involves being ready for the AI group games.
And be able for 70 minutes not 50 as seems to be the ceiling at present.
I know it means a lot for D4 and non Leinster D3 teams to get a Croker Final but a big empty Stadium isn't a nice place to be.
If League Finals are to be kept maybe give the table toppers home venue?
Roscommon have London to be worried about. Going full guns for 70 minutes last night and then losing to the exiles wouldn't go down to well there.
Well done to Monaghan. Full value for the 10 point win and while I thought we looked the better team in first half, Farney men totally dominated the second half and ran out easy winers. We also got killed on two pointers, and any needless free outside arc was well punished by in-form Beggan. We've lost 3 and drew 1 of last five games against Div 2 teams and only for the early wins and surprisingly easy win in PuC against Cork, would not be heading to Div 1 and will struggle to stay there yet again. A golden generation of Ros players now have a lot of mileage in legs and starting to show. I still think we'll be a dangerous animal in Connacht once we get a few top players struggling with injuries back.
Quote from: Cortoon on March 30, 2025, 12:14:31 PMRoscommon have London to be worried about. Going full guns for 70 minutes last night and then losing to the exiles wouldn't go down to well there.
And 10,000 mins to recover