GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: AZOffaly on June 17, 2007, 06:20:24 PM

Title: Thanks RTE
Post by: AZOffaly on June 17, 2007, 06:20:24 PM
Jaysus, just when it seemed RTE were going to do the right thing by showing both big games, they go and hose it all up. I'd say I wasn't alone in contemplating a nice Father's Day watching 2 games live (Donegal v Tyrone and Waterford v Cork in my case) and following it up with the full recorded Dublin Meath game.

It would have been easy to avoid talk of the game, but what do RTE do? Right plonk in the top left corner every 10 or 15 minute, updates from Dublin Meath. For Jaysus sake, could they not just let people check the radio or teletext if they really wanted to find out the score of a game they were probably taping???

Idiots.

Footnote, having seen that Dublin were 13-09 up I switched over to watch the last 15 minutes, and of course there in the top corner was the final score from Thurles, so anyone who chose the football and to tape the hurling was equally stymied.

Title: Re: Thanks RTE
Post by: Dinny Breen on June 17, 2007, 07:00:53 PM
They break my fu*king heart, couldn't believe they kept updating the football...
Post by: joemamas on June 17, 2007, 07:26:22 PM
they are about the most incompetent bunch of assholes you could assemble in one place.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2007, 09:00:37 PM
Quote from: joemamas on June 17, 2007, 07:26:22 PM
they are about the most incompetent bunch of assholes you could assemble in one place.

Ahh leave Hill 16 out of this :P
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 10:42:03 AM
QuoteThey break my fu*king heart, couldn't believe they kept updating the football...

Madness. And they were doing the same during the Football game. I thought they just couldn't help telling us how the Dubs were doing.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 11:47:45 AM
Says it all about that crowd of good-for-nothing, overpaid, tired, lazy, couldn't-care-less, secure-in-their-monopoly, civil-service-mentality clowns.
Post by: bottlethrower7 on June 18, 2007, 12:04:28 PM
and what of those birds they have doing the sideline reporter stint. Cringeable isn't the word.

Are RTE trying to 'sexy' things up with these 2? Maybe they should have gone more for people with a bit more cop on.

typical questions from the one down in thurles (who isn't even that good looking to start with)

'so, what does this win mean to you?'

'do you think this was a hard battle, in Munster championship terms?'

mother of god, they are truly awful.
Post by: The Real SlimShady on June 18, 2007, 12:06:16 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 11:47:45 AM
Says it all about thst crowd of good-for-nothing, overpaid, tired, lazy, couldn't-care-less, secure-in-their-monopoly, civil-service-mentality clowns.

good man Hardy, don't hold back there!!
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 12:08:56 PM
In fairness BT, I saw your one Evanne Ni Cualainn in Portlaoise last Sunday and she wasn't bad at all.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 12:18:35 PM
BT – spot on. I couldn't believe it when yer wan Evanne was sent out to interview Babs before the game on Saturday night. The talk of the country was the dropping of Cummins. Did she ask him about it? Not at all – platitudes, clichés and sound bites was what we got. As usual. I'll stop now or I'll be outraging Slim Shady!
Post by: bottlethrower7 on June 18, 2007, 01:28:49 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 12:08:56 PM
In fairness BT, I saw your one Evanne Ni Cualainn in Portlaoise last Sunday and she wasn't bad at all.

In fairness, I shouldn't have made that comment about them. They're grand looking. Just not much on interviewing.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 01:31:26 PM
No, the auld interviewing thing is still not the best with them alright. The Babs Keating interview on Saturday night was particularly painful.
Post by: Pietas on June 18, 2007, 02:32:55 PM
RTE's pro Dublin bias on Sunday was absolutely breathtaking.

No excuse to pan the camera across Hill 16 was missed, whilst Meath fans on the canal end were featured only once.  I would rather not see either set of supporters to be honest.

Kevin McStay once again showed his Dublin bias by dismissing Ciaran Whelan's elbow into the neck of Graham Geraghty as 'handbags,' focusing on Whelan's right-hand push to the face rather than Whelan's left elbow in Geraghty's windpipe.  Had things been the other way around I suggest he might have said different.

But what really took the biscuit was the first half-hour devoted to the Dubs by Con Murphy and Co on the 'Take Your Point' radio show on RTE 1 on Sunday evening.

An entire half of this programme was taken up with Murphy prattling away about the Dubs, with guest appearances by the bold Pillar (what's the point of talking to this man?) and ever-reliabled rent-a-mouth Keith Barr.

This, on a day when Tyrone had re-installed themselves as geniune All-Ireland contenders and, more importantly, whilst Donald O'Grady was lashing all around him like Frank Lohan on speed down south. Sligo's defeat of Roscommon was all but ignored.

Murphy and Darragh Maloney have form for this pro-dublin carry-on, but now appear to be aided and abetted by production staff in RTE.  It's a laugh.

Tom Humphries is at it again in the Irish Times this morning, mentioning 'Dublin' and 'All-Ireland in the same sentence.  Where do these guys get off?

Post by: Pietas on June 18, 2007, 02:35:05 PM
Quote from: Pietas on June 18, 2007, 02:32:55 PM
RTE's pro Dublin bias on Sunday was absolutely breathtaking.

No excuse to pan the camera across Hill 16 was missed, whilst Meath fans on the canal end were featured only once.  I would rather not see either set of supporters to be honest.

Kevin McStay once again showed his Dublin bias by dismissing Ciaran Whelan's elbow into the neck of Graham Geraghty as 'handbags,' focusing on Whelan's right-hand push to the face rather than Whelan's left elbow in Geraghty's windpipe.  Had things been the other way around I suggest he might have said different.

But what really took the biscuit was the first half-hour devoted to the Dubs by Con Murphy and Co on the 'Take Your Point' radio show on RTE 1 on Sunday evening.

An entire half of this programme was taken up with Murphy prattling away about the Dubs, with guest appearances by the bold Pillar (what's the point of talking to this man?) and ever-reliabled rent-a-mouth Keith Barr.

This, on a day when Tyrone had re-installed themselves as geniune All-Ireland contenders and, more importantly, whilst Donald O'Grady was lashing all around him like Frank Lohan on speed down south. Sligo's defeat of Roscommon was all but ignored.

Murphy and Darragh Maloney have form for this pro-dublin carry-on, but now appear to be aided and abetted by production staff in RTE.  It's a laugh.

Tom Humphries is at it again in the Irish Times this morning, mentioning 'Dublin' and 'All-Ireland in the same sentence.  Where do these guys get off?

No All-Ireland for 12 years, and a first round win over Meath induces hysteria in the capital. They're shameless.

Post by: Declan on June 18, 2007, 03:15:39 PM
QuoteTom Humphries is at it again in the Irish Times this morning, mentioning 'Dublin' and 'All-Ireland in the same sentence. Where do these guys get off?

Let's see beaten by AI champs in 2005 after a replay,beaten in the AI semi last year in a thriller. After Sunday probably faves again for the Leinster - sure you're right they shouldn't be mentioned as AI contenders at all. It's between Tyrone and Kerry and the rest of us should just pack up the tents and on holiers
Post by: his holiness nb on June 18, 2007, 03:20:31 PM
"Hysteria in the capital" ??

The media hype it up to make money, theres not many genuine Dublin fans getting "hysterical" about their AI chances.

Funny how you say that we get all excited after one game in the same post as "Tyrone have re-instated themselves as genuine all-ireland contenters" because of one good performance.
Hysteria in Tyrone after yesterday?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 18, 2007, 03:23:02 PM
Quote from: his holiness nb on June 18, 2007, 03:20:31 PM
"Hysteria in the capital" ??

The media hype it up to make money, theres not many genuine Dublin fans getting "hysterical" about their AI chances.

Funny how you say that we get all excited after one game in the same post as "Tyrone have re-instated themselves as genuine all-ireland contenters" because of one good performance.
Hysteria in Tyrone after yesterday?

Maybe it's more to do with the fact that Tyrone have won it something fewer than twelve whole years ago  ;)
Post by: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 03:23:16 PM
Ah jaysus lads, this thread was started by me to bash RTE about their stupidity in showing scores from the other game live on TV, knowing that most people would be taping one and watching the other. Don't turn it into yet another thread about how Dublin are overhyped.
Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 03:27:44 PM
Pietas - I must have another look at Whelan-Geraghty. Maybe I was too hasty in condemning GG's reaction - I forgot I only had RTE's selection of slow-motion shots to go on and we've discussed that here before.

Anyway about the Smarmy McStay – Geraghty dismissed him in yesterday's tribune as "a whinger – always was". He said he didn't know anyone who would be paying any attention to anything McStay would say. I was calling last week for GG to be given a platform to reply to McStay's personal vilification of Geraghty from the commentary box. So thanks Tribune.

[Edit - sorry AZ!]
Post by: magpie seanie on June 18, 2007, 03:36:48 PM
QuoteAnyway about the Smarmy McStay – Geraghty dismissed him in yesterday's tribune as "a whinger – always was".

Absolutely 100% correct GG.
Post by: his holiness nb on June 18, 2007, 03:42:27 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 18, 2007, 03:23:16 PM
Ah jaysus lads, this thread was started by me to bash RTE about their stupidity in showing scores from the other game live on TV, knowing that most people would be taping one and watching the other. Don't turn it into yet another thread about how Dublin are overhyped.

100% spot on, Dublin have always been overhyped for the obvious reasons, rather than whinge about it you should be happy as it seems more a hindrance than anything else.
They are overhyped yes, and to quote Tracey from Big Brother (with apologies) deal with it!
Post by: easytiger on June 18, 2007, 05:15:41 PM
Eh, Keith Barr wasn't on "Take Your Point" - Charlie Redmond was. And he was as reasonable and sensible as he always is - not a "rent-a-mouth".

Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 19, 2007, 06:55:01 PM
Ill probably get abuse for this but I felt there was anti ulster bias on RTE last night. At around 6.30 on network 2 there was a gir and guyl in the studio discussing the weekends sporting action. They discussed both hurling games in Munster, the Dublin Meath match and then moved onto the Sligo Roscommon game. That concluded there gaa round up. Not one mention that the national league champions had been destroyed by the 05' all ireland champions in Clones. Surely it deserved a mention!
Post by: Gnevin on June 19, 2007, 08:12:40 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 19, 2007, 06:55:01 PM
Ill probably get abuse for this but I felt there was anti ulster bias on RTE last night. At around 6.30 on network 2 there was a gir and guyl in the studio discussing the weekends sporting action. They discussed both hurling games in Munster, the Dublin Meath match and then moved onto the Sligo Roscommon game. That concluded there gaa round up. Not one mention that the national league champions had been destroyed by the 05' all ireland champions in Clones. Surely it deserved a mention!
So when the BBC don't dedicate 24 hours a day its anti ulster bias and now when RTE don't give you 24 hours a day its bias  ::)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 19, 2007, 08:17:43 PM
Not about 24 hours a day, just fair play, d'oh! RTE's 'objectivity' is a joke, though, ironically, it's because of it's woeful Dublin-centric bias of Montrose that the Dubs tend to implode in the big games, i.e., when they get a certain distance ahead they begin to believe the hype's actually justified, thoughts turn to the next game, feet are lifted off the pedal...

So Dublin fans like yourself might be better exercised being a little more exercised about RTE's incurable Dublin bias, for your own good.
Post by: Gnevin on June 19, 2007, 08:20:16 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 19, 2007, 08:17:43 PM
Not about 24 hours a day, just fair play, d'oh! RTE's 'objectivity' is a joke, though, ironically, it's because of it's woeful Dublin-centric bias of Montrose that the Dubs tend to implode in the big games, i.e., when they get a certain distance ahead they begin to believe the hype's actually justified, thoughts turn to the next game, feet are lifted off the pedal...

So Dublin fans like yourself might be better exercised being a little more exercised about RTE's incurable Dublin bias, for your own good.
If the Dublin players are stupid enough to belive the hype nothing RTE or me will do can change it , the hype comes from every angle now , the net, radio and printed press .
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 19, 2007, 08:26:55 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 19, 2007, 08:20:16 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 19, 2007, 08:17:43 PM

If the Dublin players are stupid enough to belive the hype nothing RTE or me will do can change it , the hype comes from every angle now , the net, radio and printed press .

Don't think it's a question of being stupid, it's more that the sheer volume of hype will penetrate even the most resistant skull, subconsciously if not consciously. The airwaves are more difficult to avoid than the printed word, however, and if RTE were inundated with angry Dubs bemoaning their bias when then indulge in one of their ritual Dub-fests they might get the message.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 19, 2007, 09:51:44 PM
I just dont see how u could review the weekend gaa action and review every match apart from the Tyrone Donegal game. On paper it was the biggest game of the football championship so far.
Post by: Galwaybhoy on June 20, 2007, 12:15:50 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on June 19, 2007, 09:51:44 PM
I just dont see how u could review the weekend gaa action and review every match apart from the Tyrone Donegal game. On paper it was the biggest game of the football championship so far.

While I agree with that it also annoys me that the Nicky Rackard and Christy Ring cup rarely gets a mention either.  On Saturday evening it gave the results of the Limerick/Tipp match on RTÉ News, and lastly it mentions that some duel star (I think it was for Kery) was injured in the Christy Ring cup match.  It never even gave the result of this or any of the other matches that took place though, it only happened to get a mention because some football player got injured.  This is the normal way for these competitions, even the GAA doesnt normally make much of an effort to help the appeal of these lower tier competitions.
Post by: Onlooker on June 20, 2007, 12:18:59 AM
The dual player who got injured was Keith Higgins (Mayo).
Post by: Galwaybhoy on June 20, 2007, 12:27:15 AM
Quote from: Onlooker on June 20, 2007, 12:18:59 AM
The dual player who got injured was Keith Higgins (Mayo).

I was thinking it happened in the Kerry/Mayo match but couldnt remember exactly who got injured,  thanks for the correction Onlooker.
Post by: rosnarun on June 20, 2007, 10:52:38 AM
on galwaybay bhoys point about the nick rackard /christy ring cup  not getting a mention except in reelation to football is this not right . these cups are by definition Lower grade competitionns the point of which is to get out of them. from a media point(TV in poarticular) of The Gaa should try and concentrate on promoting the big games. so as not to dilute the quality on view. the 2 hurling games at the weekend were 2 of the best sporting fixture youll ever see . Mayo V kerry wasn't
Post by: ildanach on June 20, 2007, 11:04:37 AM
Quote from: easytiger on June 18, 2007, 05:15:41 PM
Eh, Keith Barr wasn't on "Take Your Point" - Charlie Redmond was. And he was as reasonable and sensible as he always is - not a "rent-a-mouth".

The same Charle Redmond who on Park Life last year was made a complete tit of by Shane Curran after he said how mayo would put it up to Dublin, only for Cake to come on and say exactly what Charle had said about Mayo back Stage, The look on his face was priceless!
Post by: Galwaybhoy on June 20, 2007, 11:33:47 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 20, 2007, 10:52:38 AM
on galwaybay bhoys point about the nick rackard /christy ring cup  not getting a mention except in reelation to football is this not right . these cups are by definition Lower grade competitionns the point of which is to get out of them. from a media point(TV in poarticular) of The Gaa should try and concentrate on promoting the big games. so as not to dilute the quality on view. the 2 hurling games at the weekend were 2 of the best sporting fixture youll ever see . Mayo V kerry wasn't

While I accept that, the games deserve to get more of a mention than they do.  Results should always get a mention on the news and there should be more talk about the competitions on the Sunday Game show on a Sunday night.  Most ot the time if you didnt make an effort youd never hear a thing about the competitions until it comes to the finals.
Post by: prewtna on June 21, 2007, 10:51:34 PM
"Niall McNamee will be hoping to lead Leitrim past Galway in the Connacht SFC semi-final"

caption under photo for SFC Previews. picture of Nial McNamee (i think its him!) playing against wexford in what must be the leinster championship.

they havent a bloody notion! id didnt know offaly was in connacht?
Post by: his holiness nb on June 22, 2007, 10:18:06 AM
Quote from: Pietas on June 18, 2007, 02:35:05 PM
Kevin McStay once again showed his Dublin bias by dismissing Ciaran Whelan's elbow into the neck of Graham Geraghty as 'handbags,' focusing on Whelan's right-hand push to the face rather than Whelan's left elbow in Geraghty's windpipe. 

Pietas, I read this comment and said nothing, on wednesday night I watched the game again, taped the incident and watched it repeatedly.
I have come to the conclusion that your statement is the biggest heap of shite I have ever read, its one thing having a go at the Dubs, but making up total lies is not on.

Elbow to the neck my hole, cop yourself on.  ::)
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 22, 2007, 11:13:47 AM
Quote from: prewtna on June 21, 2007, 10:51:34 PM
"Niall McNamee will be hoping to lead Leitrim past Galway in the Connacht SFC semi-final"

caption under photo for SFC Previews. picture of Nial McNamee (i think its him!) playing against wexford in what must be the leinster championship.

they havent a bloody notion! id didnt know offaly was in connacht?

Say nothing, they might forget that Dublin's the capital and is in Leinster!  :D
Post by: AhFeckRef on June 22, 2007, 06:10:23 PM

See rte.ie are as inept with their analysis as the guys on the Sunday game....  ::)

QuoteSo, all the evidence points to a Galway win, but this Leitrim side will not want to drop down to the Tommy Murphy Cup without a fight. Their pride, along with home advantage, should see them avoid annihilation.

Win lose or draw on Sunday, one things for sure, Leitrim will be going nowhere near the TM Cup.