GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: In the Onion Bag on June 16, 2007, 09:55:20 PM

Title: Footie v Hurling
Post by: In the Onion Bag on June 16, 2007, 09:55:20 PM
Lads,
Serious & heated debate in Parador Hotel tonight over what game should be shown 2moro.  The choice is between the Hurling (Cork & Waterford) or Footie (Meath & Dublin). Both being shown one RTE at the same time, only one RTE signal available. 
Some strong feelings vented.  Thankfully no blows struck but when I left the matter was unresolved. 

Jeysus, this argument is becoming more interesting than the matches themselves, I will go down there 2moro just to see that outcome alone never mind the matches.

It does begs the question, wonder what you think your would be the majoriyty verdict in your Locals if there was only one choice between two prospectively excellent matches, the hurling or football?  (Leave County prejudices to one side for the moment please)
Title: Re: Footie v Hurling
Post by: didlyi on June 16, 2007, 10:06:37 PM
Any decent sportman and in particular Gaa fan would be disappointed not to be able to see both games. My personal view is that there will be more hype than quality in croker but more quality than hype in thurles so Ill be watchin the hurling live and recording the footie for later viewing.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 16, 2007, 10:13:10 PM
Football - absolutely no doubt about it. Fair enough, hurlings a good game but personally it just doesn't compare to football for me. But then thats just my opinion and different opinions is the beauty of sport. I've a feeling the viewing figures will show a strong preference for the football tomorrow.
Post by: didlyi on June 16, 2007, 10:23:07 PM
Im afraid that the only thing the viewing figures will prove is that the population of Dublin/Meath is far greater than Cork/Waterford.
Post by: J70 on June 16, 2007, 10:35:14 PM
Football, no question!

Donegal just isn't a hurling county. I rarely watch the game myself. Half the time I can't see the bloody sliotar!
Post by: Cloc Mor on June 16, 2007, 10:47:07 PM
You would have to be a diehard hurling man to pick Cork V Waterford over Dublin V Meath.  As some have said, the hype over the Dublin/Meath game will attract some support but by and large the football will come out on top (in Sunday Game also).
Post by: Donagh on June 16, 2007, 10:55:08 PM
Cork v Waterford or Dublin v Meath, Munster Hurling or Leinster football. Can't believe it's even being discussed though coming from a place that looked at me as though I had horns on Paddy's Day when I asked for the club final to be put on instead of the soccer, I'm not surprised.

Da hurling is the main event tomorrow and if it's anything like tonight's we're in for a treat.
Post by: J70 on June 16, 2007, 11:00:18 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 16, 2007, 10:55:08 PM
Cork v Waterford or Dublin v Meath, Munster Hurling or Leinster football. Can't believe it's even being discussed though coming from a place that looked at me as though I had horns on Paddy's Day when I asked for the club final to be put on instead of the soccer, I'm not surprised.

Da hurling is the main event tomorrow and if it's anything like tonight's we're in for a treat.

Typical hurling snobbery!
Post by: In the Onion Bag on June 16, 2007, 11:10:31 PM
Boys-a-Dear. 
Seems like I've opened a hornets nest as big as in the Parador 2nite. 

Never mind the viewing figures, they only represent vulgar popularity.  Its what true interested Gaels on this boeard think that matters and the proof is in the eating.  The real question must be which game will you be watching 2moro?

I will be watching the footie (but keeping a v.keen interest in the hurley at the same time).  What will the rest of ye be watching?
Post by: Galwaybhoy on June 16, 2007, 11:39:27 PM
Quote from: didlyi on June 16, 2007, 10:06:37 PM
Any decent sportman and in particular Gaa fan would be disappointed not to be able to see both games. My personal view is that there will be more hype than quality in croker but more quality than hype in thurles so Ill be watchin the hurling live and recording the footie for later viewing.

Yeah well put.  I love Gaelic Football, but will be watching the Hurling tomorrow, mind you its an easy decision for me, sure if the Kilkenny/Offaly hurling match happened to be on the same time as Dublin/Meath I'd still pick the hurling.  Either way its a great day for the GAA as both the two MAIN Irish TV channels will both be showing Gaelic Games, thats all thats important here.
Post by: neilthemac on June 17, 2007, 12:16:09 AM
it would be the hurling for me, except the f**king Connacht council are denying us the chance to see anything on tv tomorrow because of the throw in time in Dr Hyde Park

football can be very poor for periods of the game. hurling is just class

Post by: Hardy on June 17, 2007, 12:44:18 AM
WTF is "footie"
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 17, 2007, 01:02:58 AM
foot.ie - Its a website where they discuss what the esteemed Brendan Teirney refers to as "ground ball" within this fair island of ours.
Post by: darbyo on June 17, 2007, 01:45:32 AM
I'll be at the hurling match but if I was watching on TV it would be the football, however I hate the fact that some GAA people seem to be one or the other, I'm a GAA man and both sports are my sport, why some GAA people are anti one of the sports is a mystery to me.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on June 17, 2007, 12:08:00 PM
Darbyo, to be fair I don't there are that many football people who are anti-hurling, or hurling people that are anti-football. Of course there might be the odd bit of rivalry in dual counties but thats only people wanting the best for their sport. Football's my favourite code and to be honest, hurling wouldn't even be my second favourite sport but that doesn't mean I don't respect its place in the GAA or appreciate it as a great spectacle.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 17, 2007, 12:39:44 PM
QuoteMy honest opinion is that fotball requires more skill and more vision, for example, in football if you put the head down and just  kick a high long ball 40 meters down the CHB throat you will be crucified by managers, supporters & team mates etc for not trying to pick a pass or looking where you are kicking it.  In the other hand, in hurling, if a player does not look up and hoofs the sliothar 70 meters down the field it is considered a great play!!
Agree!
Post by: marty88 on June 17, 2007, 12:52:36 PM
i think its getting harder to find a decent game of hurling at county level
Post by: Syd on June 17, 2007, 12:59:28 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on June 16, 2007, 11:28:21 PM
Personally I think football is far better but maybe a little biased because I play gaelic and have never played hurling. 
My honest opinion is that fotball requires more skill and more vision

You have obviously never played hurling if you think it requires more skill than hurling. I was told as a youngster that "football was for people that couldnt play hurling" ! If there was any hurling match on TV iwould watch it before Dublin v Meath
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 17, 2007, 01:17:15 PM
I suggest yous watch a bit of hurling lads, what does any defender do once they pick up the ball, belt it up the field as hard as they can!! If a footballer done that in an u16 game he'd be off!  And did you ever see a penalty taken, blast it down the middle as hard as you can, some skill there alright, I could do that myself!
Of course it's exciting to watch at times and there are skillful aspects to the game but nothing compared to football.
Post by: Syd on June 17, 2007, 01:22:01 PM
The NBA finals have just finished, the 15 a side version will be played today between Tyrone & Donegal......
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2007, 01:43:25 PM
I'll be watching the Hurling no doubt about it I love football but just have a extra love for Hurling as my home growing up was all Hurling as i had a few uncles playing for Laois at the time
I would prefer Laois to win Liam before Sam neither will happen anytime soon though >:(
Post by: Galwaybhoy on June 17, 2007, 03:07:11 PM
Football more skillful than Hurling?  Not a chance.  I played both and found the Hurling a lot harder and more skilful game to master than Gaelic Football.  Hurling is a trickier and more skilful game to master imo.  I love Gaelic Football but I'd also say a sport like Aussie Rules is more skillful than Football.
Post by: J70 on June 17, 2007, 04:48:49 PM
Quote from: Noname on June 17, 2007, 12:46:24 PM
Quote from: DirtyDozen12 on June 16, 2007, 11:28:21 PM
Personally I think football is far better but maybe a little biased because I play gaelic and have never played hurling.  Also, in the North, hurling is not near as popular as football. 

My honest opinion is that fotball requires more skill and more vision, for example, in football if you put the head down and just  kick a high long ball 40 meters down the CHB throat you will be crucified by managers, supporters & team mates etc for not trying to pick a pass or looking where you are kicking it.  In the other hand, in hurling, if a player does not look up and hoofs the sliothar 70 meters down the field it is considered a great play!!It all seems a bit scrappy as well, like i was watching some of the hurling tonight and there was a lot of bodies around just swinging at the sliothar on the ground.

Again just my opinion.

What an utter load of shite, i am not going to get drawn into an argument about this, but i have never heard so much rubbish.

i take it you must be playing for the U12's with that rubbish.

You're not going to get drawn into an argument: you're just going to say he's talking shite. Persuasive!
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on June 17, 2007, 04:57:46 PM
This is just one example, and as the hurling's just started again, it's the only one I'll give right now:

If football requires more skill, why is it that if an inter-county footballer is "two-footed" he is treated as a demi-god, with a rare example of unbelievable skill, while in hurling, not being able to strike with power and accuracy on both left and right sides would see your place under threat on a good junior club team?
Post by: J70 on June 17, 2007, 05:11:12 PM
Quote from: Craigyhill Terror on June 17, 2007, 04:57:46 PM
This is just one example, and as the hurling's just started again, it's the only one I'll give right now:

If football requires more skill, why is it that if an inter-county footballer is "two-footed" he is treated as a demi-god, with a rare example of unbelievable skill, while in hurling, not being able to strike with power and accuracy on both left and right sides would see your place under threat on a good junior club team?

You're talking about manipulating a ball with your feet on the one hand, and your hands and arms on the other. They're hardly the same thing, now, are they? And when have you ever heard of a county footballer getting praise for playing a pass with his weaker foot? Taking a spectacular score with his weaker foot, yes.

Personally, I'm not saying that hurling isn't a sport that requires more practice to master the skills. Ice hockey is also a very skillful game, as is baseball. I find none anywhere near as entertaining as gaelic football or soccer. The idea that hurling is objectively a superior spectator sport to gaelic football is complete and utter nonsense.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 17, 2007, 05:30:45 PM
Hurling is far more skillfull than Football but you can get good and bad games in both and a good game of either is very enjoyable
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on June 17, 2007, 05:37:47 PM
Quote from: J70 on June 17, 2007, 05:11:12 PM
Quote from: Craigyhill Terror on June 17, 2007, 04:57:46 PM

You're talking about manipulating a ball with your feet on the one hand, and your hands and arms on the other. They're hardly the same thing, now, are they? And when have you ever heard of a county footballer getting praise for playing a pass with his weaker foot? Taking a spectacular score with his weaker foot, yes.

Personally, I'm not saying that hurling isn't a sport that requires more practice to master the skills. Ice hockey is also a very skillful game, as is baseball. I find none anywhere near as entertaining as gaelic football or soccer. The idea that hurling is objectively a superior spectator sport to gaelic football is complete and utter nonsense.

It was a football proponent who started the "which is more skilful" argument on this thread, so this was just a reply in kind, if you want to go down the road of comparing the two games like that. As it happens, I agree that "the idea that hurling is objectively a superior spectator sport to gaelic football is complete and utter nonsense". That holds true for any sport.
The argument over what people find more entertaining isn't an argument, as everyone's opinion is "right" in this case.

Post by: clootfromthe21 on June 17, 2007, 05:59:02 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 17, 2007, 01:17:15 PM
I suggest yous watch a bit of hurling lads, what does any defender do once they pick up the ball, belt it up the field as hard as they can!! If a footballer done that in an u16 game he'd be off!  And did you ever see a penalty taken, blast it down the middle as hard as you can, some skill there alright, I could do that myself!

Grand so, I look forward to seeing you starring for Armagh!

Of course it's exciting to watch at times and there are skillful aspects to the game but nothing compared to football.

What does any football defender do when he picks up the ball? Handpasses it to a colleague less than five yards away! Who does what? Handpasses it to a colleague less than five yards away. Who does what . . .

Depends what floats your boat, but personally speaking I'd rather watch a (junior) club hurling match than a county football game.
Post by: Stranworst on June 17, 2007, 06:06:41 PM
Just finished watching the football and think I made the right decision!

Doesn't help that I'm a Down fan living in Armagh!

Just don't see the appeal of hurling when football is available. Not degrading hurling or anything, I would watch it no bother but against a football match, no contest.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 17, 2007, 06:19:23 PM
As someone from a dual county and who has played both games I can safely say hurling is a lot harder to master. I love football but it's much easier to play than hurling.

In football you can just get a fella up to a reasonable standard of fitness and even if he doesn't have much skill he could still survive and contribute on a football field. Send a relatively unskilled fella out to play a hurling game and he'd be lost completely.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 17, 2007, 06:23:13 PM
I chose the hurling, as I knew I would, but I taped the football for later and will watch it, despite RTE's stupidity in showing score updates. I think I made the right decision, the first half in particular was some game of hurling.

Actually between the Limerick-Tipp, Waterford-Cork and (apparently) the Dublin MEath games, we've had a savage weekend of it.

Post by: Dinny Breen on June 17, 2007, 07:06:47 PM
Watched the hurling and just finished the football, think I made the right choice. Have to laugh though when people complain about media coverage, 4 live games and a mountain of newspaper articles, fantastic stuff....
Post by: darbyo on June 17, 2007, 07:14:39 PM
don't think there is such a thing as a more skillful sport, football and hurling are fundamentally different sports. Hurling is more difficult to master but that doesn't make it more skillful. For example it's harder to control the ball in hurling but it's harder to score in football, it's harder to take a sideline ball in hurling but it's harder to solo in football. And both sports are capable of producing magnificent entertainment and complete rubbish (as are all sports). I just thank God that we are lucky enough to have both these wonderful sports to enjoy, the rest of the world doesn't know what it's missing.
Post by: Square Ball on June 17, 2007, 07:21:44 PM
So what the esteemed punters in the Paradox watch today? i was in it last night and nobody mentioned it at all, mind you the one who would argue would have been there from 2 or 3 and away home by the time i arrived in
Post by: Lecale2 on June 17, 2007, 07:30:14 PM
I know which game was better IMO.
Post by: neilthemac on June 17, 2007, 08:15:25 PM
there are ten skills to master to play Gaelic Football

there are at least 60 skills in hurling

end of debate

but, any game of hurling or football can be entertaining, depending on the teams and referee
Post by: darbyo on June 17, 2007, 11:54:57 PM
Quotethere are ten skills to master to play Gaelic Football

there are at least 60 skills in hurling

end of debate

sorry but that's rubbish, that is kind of attitude that I'm talking about, some hurling people will tell you that there are only two skills in football,- catch and kick. Why some people have such a negative attitude to one of the codes is byond me, but there you go. Football has a huge number of skills many of them very difficult to master. Is it better than hurling, or any sport for that matter?, well that's a matter of opinion.
Post by: In the Onion Bag on June 18, 2007, 08:08:04 AM
Great debate lads but the basis of my question was which would be the most entertaining to watch, not which is most skillful. 
(If that was the question I fam convinced that hurling requires more skill, and I only ever played football.)

Dosn't matter really, as Laios Lad had said, both yesterday's games were excellent entertainment. 

Anyone interested in how tings faired at the Parador will be pleased to know that no blood was spilled.  Manager Peter produced the goods and got both on separate BIG Screens in the same room.  Well done Peter. 
But would'nt you know it, this didn't please everyone.  At 3:55 an argument ensured over which game would be shown on the screen nearest the bar.
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on June 18, 2007, 08:38:59 AM
Drop that "Footie" shite FFS In the Onion Bag!
Post by: Silky on June 18, 2007, 08:43:04 AM
Quote from: SouthArmaghBandit on June 18, 2007, 08:38:59 AM
Drop that "Footie" shite FFS In the Onion Bag!
I agree. There's nobody I know calls it "Footie". Where did you get that from you d**k?
Post by: Sky Blue on June 18, 2007, 08:52:55 AM
The idiot has been watching too much Home & Away or Neighbours rather than studying for his Junior cert.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 19, 2007, 09:48:19 AM
I think this is thread for Hardy's post. I'll cut and paste it in here Hardy if you don't mind. To be honest I'm glad that the figures are the way they are, a lot of people made the same decision I did. 'We are all individuals'

QuoteFor want of a thread to put this in ...

Just heard on TodayFM sports news that Waterford-Cork attracted a bigger live TV audience than Meath-Dublin on Sunday - 320K v. 290K (roughly). Clearly football is dying and it's time for resources to be diverted from the thriving sport of hurling to save the national game.
Post by: didlyi on June 19, 2007, 09:54:22 AM
The silence is deafening on this one lads. How could the massive dublin v meath encounter fail to attract more viewers than cork v waterford. See my post above on hype v quality.
Post by: Hardy on June 19, 2007, 10:02:58 AM
Thanks AZ. I supopose I can live with posting in a thread with the word "footie" in the title. But it's hard.

Anyway, an interesting question arises. Meath and Dublin filled Croke Park. Cork-Waterford drew a bigger TV audience, yet if it had been played in Croke Park, it wouldn't have half-filled the place. How is that? Can we conclude that hurling is more attractive to the less committed fan, while people think enough about football to pay good money and spend the best part of a day to be present in person?
Post by: didlyi on June 19, 2007, 10:06:15 AM
Bad conclusion hardy. That would be a population issue and nothing else. And consideing the differnce in population between these counties it makes the figures even more surprising.. well not to me really
Post by: AZOffaly on June 19, 2007, 10:08:53 AM
I think we can draw from it that Dublin bring huge support. If it were Meath and Kerry, the ground wouldn't have been near full.

Post by: Hardy on June 19, 2007, 10:13:07 AM
Ah well - nice try.

Seriously, though, what's wrong? Clearly there's a huge TV audience for top-class hurling. In other sports, popularity on TV means the sport thrives. Yet we're constantly hearing that hurling is in trouble, the player base diminishing, the number of counties with prospects of success dwindling, the club game ailing. What is the GAA doing wrong, or is there nothing wrong at all or what am I missing?
Post by: johnneycool on June 19, 2007, 10:50:46 AM
Quote from: Hardy on June 19, 2007, 10:13:07 AM
Ah well - nice try.
What is the GAA doing wrong, or is there nothing wrong at all or what am I missing?

The GAA is riding two horses with the one arse, but the problem is probably greater at county board level with the vast majority fully committed to one sport to the detriment of the other barring the very odd dual county exception.

Resources are limited within each county so the one you're most likely to achieve greater honours will always take the greater chunk of resource, that's human nature and there isn't an easy answer to it.
Post by: Spiritof98 on June 19, 2007, 10:56:04 AM
I was away on Sunday playing Hurling for my club and unable view any of the games. but I have enjoyed the above debate and i'll opinion for what its worth.

I have played football and hurling from the age of 12, both sports I have a passion to play and my heart strings have been pulled a few times as to who to play for (2 seperate clubs). Both sports have a wide range of skills needed in order to play at the highest level. Personally I would have went for the Hurling givin their recent history, I think any neutral fan would love to see Waterford win an All-Ireland.

Regarding which sport is the most skillful. Although I predominently play hurling now  when returning for pre season it was easier to adapt to the footballing skills and it took a few extra weeks to blow out the cob webs in my hurling skills, this could be seen as and indication of skill level (mine maybe)
Post by: Louth Exile on June 19, 2007, 11:04:26 AM
Big ball man myself and was at Croker myself on Sunday, what did I see in terms of GAA action this weekend.
Louth v Wexford - an awful game to watch for any neutral I'd have to say
Dublin v Meath - good game
Tyrone v Donegal - watched it on Setanta last night, Donegal were awful, bloody hand passing all over the place, losing the ball in the tackle and mis directed foot passing.

Limerick v Tipp - barring the first half, very entertaining game to watch
Crok v Waterford - clearly the game of the weekend, the year so far and maybe even the year as a whole

I was delighted to see that the hurling got higher viewing figures, if I had of been sitting at home myself it would have been the hurling, with the intermitten flick into the football. The two best games were the Munster hurling matches at the weekend (IMO)

As for the skill debate, I believe hurling wins hands down.

This raises the next point...... Dublin v Meath HAD to be soon live on the telly, how come it looks likely at the present moment that the same will not happen for Limerick v Tipp III
Is this another case of RTE sports dept being to far up their own hole???
Post by: Hardy on June 19, 2007, 11:49:34 AM
Ever-cheerful, never say anything controversial Ding Dong Damien O'Reilly has just been on the radio saying RTÉ are going to announce shortly that Limerick-Tipp III will be live on d'telly. He was saying that the sports department is getting calls about it all morning, but also that as soon as it's announced, they'll be getting as many calls from people complaining that they have no choice but sport on Sunday afternoon.

Personally, I'd round them all up and re-open the Curragh gulag. Probably all Green voters too, so two birds killed with one stone.
Post by: scalder on June 19, 2007, 12:13:26 PM
This is a divisive argument when we should be celebrating the successful weekend that we just had. I was at the football in Croke Park and I was very tempted to leave and head to watch the hurling on TV but stayed on in the end. I enjoyed the football – and more especially the atmosphere generated in a full stadium!  I'd normally pick hurling over football, coming from a dual county I think I'm better placed than some others to comment on the merits of the two codes. Hurling is being played by more people, in more places than every in modern history – its not dying at all but there are problems. The game requires massive levels of skills just to compete, if lads aren't playing from a very early age and practicing constantly they haven't got a hope at the top level. Hurling is not a simple game with over 100 identified skills and its this complexity that is its genius and its weakness. Football is more competive at the intecounty level –but still has realistically only a handful of counties that can win Sam. People are free to differ and to enjoy what games they like however I do feel sorry for lads from counties who are deprived of exposure to the two games, like the lad from Donegal I know who had never picked up a hurl and he was 21! Both have their strengths, for me its hurling, due to speed, the skill, the bravery and the history and its uniqueness. (finding out the solo in Gaelic was invented in the 1920's undermines it historical case for me) Each to there own but hurling is for heroes!
The argument about filling Croke Park is a false one, this was a Munster game of course there would be a smaller crowd if you dragged them to Dublin!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 19, 2007, 12:15:23 PM
Quote from: Hardy on June 19, 2007, 11:49:34 AM
Limerick-Tipp III will be live on d'telly.

Great  :D

Quote from: Hardy on June 19, 2007, 11:49:34 AM
Personally, I'd round them all up and re-open the Curragh gulag. Probably all Green voters too, so two birds killed with one stone.

Tut, tut, fascist SUV driver ;)
Post by: Hardy on June 19, 2007, 12:31:12 PM
No - my ould wagon has the spare wheel on the inside. :)
Post by: didlyi on June 19, 2007, 04:36:21 PM
Given the figures Ive seen the Limerick v Tipp match actaully topped the poll last weekend, albeit a standalone game. We were led to believe that because of the huge demand to watch the Dub/meath game they would have to show it in parralel with the hurling. Yet the figures now suggest that there would be greater demand to see the limerick/tipp game this sunday than there was to see the dub/meath game last sunday but no game on tv??
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 19, 2007, 04:47:53 PM
Was working on a site today and i got talking to a Lituhanian fella..I asked him if he had seen Hurling and Gaelic Football while he was here
His response was that he "feckin loved the hurling"(his own words) but thought the football was dull and boring...He couldn't believe how the Hurlers put their hands up to catch a ball with all the sticks flying around(his words again) and also couldn't get over the speed of the game and he also added how he can't believe the players don't get paid..
His son is 5 and he was going to buy him one of the "hurl sticks" at the weekend
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on June 19, 2007, 05:01:23 PM
This Gaelic Football V Hurling rubbish annoys my fuckin head  >:(

There should be no such f**kin thing,

They are both GAA sports.

Sure most of us favour one over the other,

But anyone who displays open hatred against one or the other, is a complete and utter c**t in my book.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 19, 2007, 05:02:30 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on June 19, 2007, 05:01:23 PM
This Gaelic Football V Hurling rubbish annoys my fuckin head  >:(

There should be no such f**kin thing,

They are both GAA sports.

Sure most of us favour one over the other,

But anyone who displays open hatred against one or the other, is a complete and utter c**t in my book.

Yeah i agree with that
Post by: deiseach on June 19, 2007, 05:27:58 PM
Sixteen years ago, Dublin - Meath floored any soccer renaissance in Ireland before it had even laced up its gloves - the renaissance might never have happened, but it was finished once David Beggy had knocked over that winning point. For crying out loud, even my mother sat down to watch the fourth game!

But Dublin - Meath isn't the attraction it once was. Attempts to hype this year's clash are living off the faded memories of the events of 1991. Cork - Waterford is the GAA rivalry of the Naughties, and the viewing figures reflected that.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 19, 2007, 06:50:44 PM
I hate the way that hurling fans feel the need to put football down at every possible opportunity. It was a great weekend for the GAA all round and the championship really has taken off. The last few weeks has provided some wonderful entertainment and the real good stuff is still to come in July/August. I thought the 1st Dublin Meath game was a cracker and so was the hurling at the weekend. Funny enough I didnt think the hurling on Saturday night was as good as many other games Ive saw this last few years. The point about the view figures has to also consider that the vast majority of the extra 80,000 that attended football on Sunday probably would have watched the football if they were at home. This was a 1 of victory for hurling in terms of viewing figures - generally the top watched matches in the championship are football. Also hurling may require more individual skill but due to the distances the ball is belted up the field it often doesnt require the same teamwork as football. Watch the Tyrone goal on Sunday - rarily do you see as good interchange play in hurling. All in all though the weekend should be celebrated as another great weekend for the gaa.
Post by: ONeill on June 19, 2007, 08:14:33 PM
Many hurling afficianados do have a chip on the shoulder when it comes to pointless comparisons. A few weeks ago a few hurlers were asked on the BBC Championship programme who they thought would win the championships in Hurling and Football. When it came to the football question, most smirked and uttered something like 'not knowing much about football' before giving a vague and unconvincing prediction.

Many football fans, even though they've been brought up with absolutely no hurling, will embrace the game. Unfortunately, esp in the North here, hurling fans feel the need to display some kind of apathy towards football, berating its majority following.
Post by: cicfada on June 19, 2007, 08:30:56 PM
Look,  is the bloody Lim v Tipp game on  TV or not?????
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 19, 2007, 08:53:23 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 19, 2007, 08:14:33 PM
Many hurling afficianados do have a chip on the shoulder when it comes to pointless comparisons. A few weeks ago a few hurlers were asked on the BBC Championship programme who they thought would win the championships in Hurling and Football. When it came to the football question, most smirked and uttered something like 'not knowing much about football' before giving a vague and unconvincing prediction.

Many football fans, even though they've been brought up with absolutely no hurling, will embrace the game. Unfortunately, esp in the North here, hurling fans feel the need to display some kind of apathy towards football, berating its majority following.

I would agree with you there..I think Cyril Farrell is the worst culprit for this he's an awful pain in the hole...

A few of my mates from Kilkenny actually think the Laois v Wexford match which is on the same day as the Leinster Hurling Final should be on before the minor hurling match thus giving perference to a minor hurling match over a senoir football match
Either way i love both,but i did grow up in a hurling household and have a slightly bigger love for hurling
Post by: Square Ball on June 19, 2007, 08:57:20 PM
Enjoy watching both and also played both, never set the world on fire at either, also I have done the foundation course at both as well
Post by: ludermor on June 19, 2007, 09:04:34 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 19, 2007, 08:53:23 PM

Either way i love both,but i did grow up in a hurling household and have a slightly bigger love for hurling

So is it hurling first , soccer second then football?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 19, 2007, 09:06:48 PM
Quote from: ludermor on June 19, 2007, 09:04:34 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 19, 2007, 08:53:23 PM

So is it hurling first , soccer second then football?

No comment ;)

I'll answer it this way if i had a choice of Laois winning Sam Laois winning Liam or Liverpool winning Premiership
I'd have it in this order

1 - Laois Liam
2 - Laois Sam
3 - Liverpool Premiership

Does that answer your question?

Oh and BTW i'd also put Laois winning either Leinster Titles before Liverpool too
Post by: Tankie on June 19, 2007, 09:52:04 PM

Yeah I agree with you on that one alright. Some of the Hurling lads seem to think they are on a higher level or something. Football would be my number one but would have a very big interest in watching hurling just for sports entertainment!
Post by: In the Onion Bag on June 19, 2007, 11:11:54 PM
Real Laoislad,

What about Laois winning the Premiership aswell.  Just as realistic.  (Just a joke)
Post by: theskull1 on June 20, 2007, 10:03:06 AM
Many football fans, even though they've been brought up with absolutely no hurling, will embrace the game.

They may well do but I would guarantee that they only would do this as long as the hurling had no impact on their own local footballing aspirations. The reality is O'Neill that they wouldn't be so all embracing if it showed up on their doorstep as a very real rival to "their" sport of choice. This very thing is happening in Creggan right now where the underage hurlers were starting to become a little bit too successful for others liking.

QuoteUnfortunately, esp in the North here, hurling fans feel the need to display some kind of apathy towards football, berating its majority following.

I do because I realize the different level of skill required to play both games and can't quite understand why the whole country doesn't want to play hurling before football (OK I know its down to local traditions). Hurling is such a better game to play and watch (at club level mainly, the top football counties can be impressive to watch). I'd just like to add that I played both hurling and football for my club for my whole career and loved playing both but I know that hurling requires much more dedication to the skills of the game over and above the required fitness level that you need to have for both codes. A dedicated hurler could play football (at a decent club level) without alot of extra training but a dedicated footballer could not do the same in hurling. He would be so out of his depth no matter how fit he was.
Football is so much easier to pick up at juvenile level, not as dangerous and when you add in the "protective mammy" factor it is easy to see why football wins over hurling in terms of playing populations. On the protective mammy side of things, we have a wee lad in our club who broke his arm competing. He wants to play hurling for the club, but his mammy won't allow it. How did he break his arm? Playing football  :-\
Post by: maxpower on June 20, 2007, 10:51:35 AM
fair points skull, just on injuries i was at an Ulster council thingy one time and was told you where twice as likely to get injured playing football.  could anyone confirm this

i played both and almost all my injuries came from football
Post by: theskull1 on June 20, 2007, 11:05:05 AM
Quote from: maxpower on June 20, 2007, 10:51:35 AM
just on injuries i was at an Ulster council thingy one time and was told you where twice as likely to get injured playing football.  could anyone confirm this

i played both and almost all my injuries came from football

I wouldn't doubt that max. My point was referring only to young players starting out to play either sport. More chance of sore fingers and shins learning to play hurling. It takes good coaching of the skills and understanding parents to allow hurling to flourish at this age. Throw kids a football and you have instant enjoyment whereas it takes 2-3 years minimum before kids master enough skills to the point where they feel they can protect themselves and possess all the required the skills which allow them to enjoy the game itself. At that stage they're hooked but thats some effort for a child.