GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Lecale2 on November 23, 2006, 12:08:59 AM

Title: Motivational music for the team bus
Post by: Lecale2 on November 23, 2006, 12:08:59 AM
Can anybody recommend some motivational music to play on a team bus.  Something to stir the young fellas without being patronising. Years ago one of my team managers was a big reggae fan, in particular a fan of Jimmy Cliff.
He used to play "You can get if you really want it" & " The harder they come the harder they fall" as we travelled to matches. It used to get us in the right frame of mind for a game.
Once on the way to Ballygalget he stuck on " Many rivers to cross" as we boarded the Strangford Ferry and we all sang along (even though we didn't know the words). The boys loved it then but I'm not sure it would work now.
Last year I tried the "Eye of the Tiger" but they didn't get it at all.
Any suggestions? All will be considered.
Title: Re: Motivational music for the team bus
Post by: never kickt a ball on November 23, 2006, 12:14:11 AM
Micky Harte got the Tyrone team to pick their own songs and then played them when the team were travelling. Only works though if you are travelling on longish journeys lke to croker etc on a regular basis. I remember Cormac McAnallen picked the song "gold". The team didn't like it at the start but as they progressed it grew on them.
Post by: SouthArmaghBandit on November 23, 2006, 08:10:33 AM
Pete McGrath strated off as a Tina Turner fan and used to play " Simply the best" on the way to matches. Later he was more of a Tom Petty man. His favorite on match day was "Free Falling".
Depends on the group of player but I think Mickey Harte has it right getting the lads to pick music. Mind you I'm a bit of a reggae fan myself and it's hard to beat Jimmy Cliff so maybe your old boss wasn't too far off the mark.
Post by: downredblack on November 23, 2006, 08:13:35 AM
Something inside so strong ....Labi Saffre
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on November 23, 2006, 08:21:45 AM
I know of some teams that have played 'Eminem' 'lose yourself'. 
Post by: Hardy on November 23, 2006, 08:45:26 AM
Roddy McCorley - Tommy makem singing. If that doesn't get them fit to bull cattle, nothin will.
Post by: SlimShady on November 23, 2006, 08:53:03 AM
Go on the boy ye!!

legendary tune Hardy.
Post by: Spiritof98 on November 23, 2006, 09:11:37 AM
Paradise City - Guns & Roses
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on November 23, 2006, 09:19:38 AM
If the bus had a vidoe/DVD, then may i suggest you watch a film, while in college before a sigerson game, the management/captain got us to watch
the speeches in The Titans, and Every Given Sunday (Al Pacino's inches speech)

Jaysus it was powerful stuff,
Post by: GallBoss on November 23, 2006, 09:36:52 AM
The Sawdoctors "To win just once" is as powerful as it gets
Post by: Bacon on November 23, 2006, 10:17:38 AM
Days like this - Van Morrison. Played this on a way to junior final once. We won.
Post by: laceer on November 23, 2006, 10:41:16 AM
it's hard to beat a bit of wolf tones/eire og etc. on the way to a big match...gets the blood up!!!
Post by: screenexile on November 23, 2006, 10:42:15 AM
Personally I like a bit of the old psyching up before a big game and tend to listen to a bit of the Prodigy, Marilyn Manson, Slipknot just to get the mind focussed!

I've heard some awful tripe played on buses like the eye of the tiger and simply the best... there is worse but I just can't remember it now.

Anyway music is the same as anything else. People are going to like different things and some people like to be psyched up during a game and some like to remain calm. I think it's up to the individual themselves to prepare for the game the best they can.
Post by: blueskinn on November 23, 2006, 10:52:09 AM
jonny cash- ring of fire
eminem- one chance
Post by: SlimShady on November 23, 2006, 10:53:18 AM
the cheeky girls-touch my bum.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 23, 2006, 11:36:40 AM
There's No One Quite Like Grandma by St Winifred's School Choir.
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on November 23, 2006, 11:40:46 AM
That would explain recent Galway performances!!  ;)
Post by: Fear Boirche on November 23, 2006, 12:07:47 PM
*If you're going to play Armagh - Orange Crush by REM (if you're feeling pretty confident that is)

*For Mayobridge (re: their recent Ulster Championship v Ballinderry) - One by U2

*Down, Down, Deeper and Down  by Status Quo for, you've guessed it Down

*For any team managed by 'Dunboyne herballist' Sean Boylan - One moment in thyme
Post by: ThatsTheFootball on November 23, 2006, 12:28:24 PM
Thunderstruck by AC/DC..gets the blood boiling
Post by: man in black on November 23, 2006, 12:29:28 PM
Quote from: blueskinn on November 23, 2006, 10:52:09 AM
jonny cash- ring of fire
eminem- one chance

You could have left it at the first one. ;)
Post by: Hank Everlast on November 23, 2006, 12:31:10 PM
iron maiden - run for the hills
Post by: The Claw on November 23, 2006, 12:45:44 PM
Some dodgy suggestions so far! Here's my tuppence
Have a 'psych up' playlist on the zen - some of the good ones.
Audiosalve - show me how to live
Foo Fighters - All my life
White Stripes - 7 nation army
Linkin Park - In the End
RHCP - Cant Stop & Around the World
The Strokes - juicebox
Stereophonics - Roll up and Shine
U2 - Vertigo
The Automatics - That's What She said

I was watching 'The Departed' in the cinema and a song, I think its called 'I Lost my Leg' by the Drop Kick Murphy's was played a couple of times - jaysus I was mad for a bit of a josle!

Also Flogging Molly stuff can be effective.
Post by: creative on November 23, 2006, 01:04:12 PM
Let me add some more dodgy ones off the top of my head! ;D

Fatboy slim-right here right now
guns n roses-welcome to the jungle(personal favourite)
muse-new born,knights of cydonia,plug in baby etc
leftfield -phat planet(guinness add with the horses/wave)
Post by: easytiger on November 23, 2006, 01:32:26 PM
It depends on the team really - but here's a few I think would go down well

Marvo Ging - The Chemical Brothers - really great tune, upbeat, a little arrogant, good stuff if you want them going playing fancy-dan, total football.

I Am The Ressurection- The Stone Roses - pure class, but remember, by the end of it, all the lads will have their collars up, a la Cantona.

From a Buick 6 - Bob Dylan - His Bobness at his coolest, a speed freak tune to get the lads bouncing.

A Design For Life - Manic Street Preachers - great, sing-a-long anthem - though the line "We only want to get drunk" makes it more sutiable for junior 12, rather then intercounty.

Thousands Are Sailing - The Pogues - if this doesn't get lumps in the throat, then you're managing a team full of corpses.

Wake Up - The Arcade Fire - my most recent selection, one of the best songs from the last ten years, brilliant riff, soaring chorus and a great tempo change at the end - really will get them going.
Post by: Greenabovethered on November 23, 2006, 01:33:02 PM
Quote from: Fear Boirche on November 23, 2006, 12:07:47 PM
*If you're going to play Armagh - Orange Crush by REM (if you're feeling pretty confident that is)

*For Mayobridge (re: their recent Ulster Championship v Ballinderry) - One by U2

*Down, Down, Deeper and Down  by Status Quo for, you've guessed it Down

*For any team managed by 'Dunboyne herballist' Sean Boylan - One moment in thyme

"A bunch of Thyme" by Foster and Allen would be better .

You can't have fella's beating the sh*te out of the coach on the way to a game playing Guns n Roses. By the  time they have togged out the adrenaline levels will have subsided. A nice CD  of Whale sounds or some Enya to keep the mood relaxed.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 23, 2006, 01:39:08 PM
Quote from: youbetterbelieveit on November 23, 2006, 09:19:38 AM
If the bus had a vidoe/DVD, then may i suggest you watch a film, while in college before a sigerson game, the management/captain got us to watch
the speeches in The Titans, and Every Given Sunday (Al Pacino's inches speech)

Jaysus it was powerful stuff,

Were you in Sligo IT? Brilliant stuff in both films.
Post by: Midman on November 23, 2006, 02:07:39 PM
When we were in minor, we used to play Minor Threats epic 'We are Minor threat'. Got the blood pumping ;D
Post by: Northside Dub on November 23, 2006, 02:38:30 PM
R-Kelly 'The worlds greatest' 8)
Post by: Lecale2 on November 23, 2006, 02:53:08 PM
Some great stuff there lads. Enough material for a bus tour of Europe.
Post by: Stagmeister on November 23, 2006, 02:54:17 PM
My Favourites would be:

Thin Lizzy - Boys are Back in Town, Thunder and Lightning
AC/DC - Thunderstruck
U2 - Vertigo
Westlife - Flying Without Wings (being a Sligo man and all)
Post by: Aristotle Flynn on November 23, 2006, 02:57:47 PM
Greenabovethered - is that you Eamon? Can't agree with your taste in music, but what would you expect from a pig but a grunt!
Post by: balladmaker on November 23, 2006, 03:05:18 PM
On The One Road!  Will scare the life out of the opposing team when they see the coach pulling up, with the windows banging, the feet stomping and the bus rocking!

DMC (http://www.themarketplacearmagh.com/shows/item.php?id=481)
Post by: Bacon on November 23, 2006, 03:10:07 PM
By the Wolf Tones by any chance?  :-\
Post by: magpie seanie on November 23, 2006, 04:58:12 PM
Eye of the Tiger is the best in my opinion.

Failing that go for the tried and tested half time "kick the shite out of the table" routine. Any fella with a bit of cut in him will be well up for it after that.
Post by: Cloc Mor on November 23, 2006, 05:43:00 PM
Always loved a bit of Def Leppard - nothing better to get the blood pumping.  A bit 'old school' now though.
Post by: The Joker on November 23, 2006, 06:01:56 PM
One of the following two:

This is the One by The Stone Roses or Here I go Again by Whitesnake.

Jaysus that last one got the blood pumping in the late 80s.
Post by: Big Mac on November 23, 2006, 06:04:26 PM
Blue Oyster Cult - The reaper
Post by: Imposerous on November 23, 2006, 07:22:23 PM
I understand Ballymacnab's and Stewardstown's tune is 'I predict a riot'.
Post by: Square Ball on November 23, 2006, 07:41:49 PM
three spring to mind

R-kelly worlds greatest as mentioned by northside Dub
On the one road

and finally Heather Smalls Proud
Post by: youbetterbelieveit on November 23, 2006, 07:49:59 PM
no seanie i wasnt in Sligo IT.
Post by: Blacksheep on November 24, 2006, 07:59:23 AM
YMCA by the Village People. Hard to beat.
Post by: magpie seanie on November 24, 2006, 09:28:02 AM
Youbetterbelieveit - just a coincidence so.
Post by: goldenyears on November 24, 2006, 09:58:45 AM
hard to beat a bit of the oul 80s soft rock lads! definitely gets me going!

Post by: Kerry Mike on November 24, 2006, 11:13:07 AM
Posh feckers the lot of ye with yere team buses and motivational music, in the good old days we had to walk or thumb to a game with a pair of oddly matched smelly socks and boots slung over your shoulder in a Mace plastic bag, and walk home again in the rain after thumping five shade of shite out of each other in a game or training.

Fecking players today are gone soft with their iPods, After shave lotions, hair gels and after match showers and massages, and then they have matching socks and togs and predator boots and fecking gloves, jaysus they will want pay for play soon.

God be with the days when you got motivated by the simple thought of pulling on your club or county jersey without some crap music blaring in your head. Never heard the likes of it.

Post by: Maximus Marillius on November 24, 2006, 11:15:30 AM
There was a piece of music on last night on T na G at the end of the programme that showed us the ladies All star presentation. It was in the final piece of action show different games through the season...it was a super piece. Does anyone know what the song is called and who is the band?
Post by: full back on November 24, 2006, 11:17:51 AM
Good Stuff Kerry Mike - the good oul' days.
When you just kicked the ball as high and far as you can and bate lumps out of each other.
Come to think of it, similiar to a junior b game now - or am I doing a dis-service to junior b's? :D
Post by: magpie seanie on November 24, 2006, 11:26:40 AM
QuoteGod be with the days when you got motivated by the simple thought of pulling on your club or county jersey without some crap music blaring in your head. Never heard the likes of it.

Agreed. I thought about putting somethnig like this on the thread earlier but unfortunately times have changed. Nowadays you even have f**kers who want to be paid to play but they haven't the balls to tell you that....
Post by: ruudy on November 24, 2006, 04:42:57 PM
Carmina Burana by Carl Orff. You will know the one when you hear it.
Post by: ONeill on November 24, 2006, 08:51:41 PM
KM, it's all about the extra inch. 15x15 may get motivated equally by pulling on the geansai and matched in fitness and skill, but it's that wee bit extra that can give a man the edge. Imagine running in on goal with beads of sweat lashing off the forehead, your legs carrying you at a speed you never thought possible. The keeper moves towards you and suddenly he seems massive with the net nowhere to be seen. You know you can't progress any further as the keeper, probably 5 ft tall weighing 17st, will be on top of you befiore you can say 'ah balax'. What better to pop into your head but 'Do you want your oul lobby washed down' as you lash the ball through the legs of Sammy 'the Cat' McInerny.
Post by: Fionntamhnach on November 24, 2006, 11:13:24 PM
When I was involved with the Vocational Schools team, we took a leaf out of Mickey Harte's book in 2004 and 2005 by getting the players in the squad to pick songs for a team CD that was then given to every player. A simple rule was kept so that the songs were chosen first come first served and that the singer or group could appear no more than twice on the album. Both those years we won the All-Ireland title. There was a plan to do it this year but unfortunately because of time (getting the materials and burning discs) I didn't get it done, end result a three-in-a-row was missed out on by a late Wicklow point. :(

Away from that, a well famed one back in 2003 was the Ulster SFC first round replay between Tyrone and Derry at Casement Park, on the way to the venue a video of Joe Brolly tearing Tyrone to pieces on post-match analysis after the drawn game was shown on the telly on the bus. To say it got them fired up was an understatement, Derry was easily dispatched and the rest was history.
Post by: the green man on November 25, 2006, 12:05:23 AM
Muse, Hurricane's and Butterfiles, was always apt I thought. Especially when you listen to the lyrics
Post by: off the laces on November 25, 2006, 06:17:19 PM
Heather small / search for a hero
Post by: Lecale2 on November 25, 2006, 06:39:18 PM
Physco Killer - Talking Heads. That should put them in a good frame of mind.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on November 27, 2006, 10:33:19 AM
There was a piece of music on last night on T na G at the end of the programme that showed us the ladies All star presentation. It was in the final piece of action show different games through the season...it was a super piece. Does anyone know what the song is called and who is the band?

Does anyone know?
Post by: maddog on November 27, 2006, 10:37:16 AM
Quote from: off the laces on November 25, 2006, 06:17:19 PM
Heather small / search for a hero

surely you jest?
Post by: Pietas on November 27, 2006, 11:52:37 AM
Quote from: Maximus Marillius on November 24, 2006, 11:15:30 AM

THE STREETS

"Fit But You Know It"
Post by: Maximus Marillius on November 27, 2006, 12:12:43 PM
Pietas...thanx, very much appreciated
Post by: Mhic Easmuint on November 27, 2006, 12:46:23 PM
Quote from: ThatsTheFootball on November 23, 2006, 12:28:24 PM

Have to agree there.
Post by: cavan4ever on November 27, 2006, 04:15:48 PM
Quote from: ONeill on November 24, 2006, 08:51:41 PM
KM, it's all about the extra inch. 15x15 may get motivated equally by pulling on the geansai and matched in fitness and skill, but it's that wee bit extra that can give a man the edge. Imagine running in on goal with beads of sweat lashing off the forehead, your legs carrying you at a speed you never thought possible. The keeper moves towards you and suddenly he seems massive with the net nowhere to be seen. You know you can't progress any further as the keeper, probably 5 ft tall weighing 17st, will be on top of you befiore you can say 'ah balax'. What better to pop into your head but 'Do you want your oul lobby washed down' as you lash the ball through the legs of Sammy 'the Cat' McInerny.

If he was 5ft tall and weighing 17st i don't think anyonewould have any bother running around him.  He'd b better off in a health farm than in goals..
Post by: Tir na nÓg on November 30, 2006, 03:42:01 PM
Linken park ft Jay z - Numb encore
Post by: Silky on September 26, 2007, 08:06:18 AM
With the club championships in full swing I was having a read through this one again. Some great suggestions.

While I have some sympathy with Kerry Mike's view - "God be with the days when you got motivated by the simple thought of pulling on your club or county jersey without some crap music blaring in your head. Never heard the likes of it". Times have changed and getting the lads in the "zone" on the way to the match is important.
Post by: Tempoman on September 26, 2007, 09:06:57 AM
Metallica - Fuel
"Gimme Fuel, Gimme Fire, Gimeme that which i desire"
Post by: screenexile on September 26, 2007, 09:18:28 AM
Two deadly tunes for the psyche up!

RATM
http://youtube.com/watch?v=UMEqVAt7s8U

F**K YOU I WON'T DO WHAT YOU TELL ME!!!!!! MUTHA F**KAAAAAAAA!!!

Limp Bizkit
http://youtube.com/watch?v=HmZEbmk0Sc8

IF MY DAY KEEP'S GOIN THIS WAY I MIGHT JUST BREAK YOUR F**KIN' FACE TONITE!

Post by: behind the wire on September 26, 2007, 09:29:52 AM
the Warrior's Code by the Dropkick Murphys. its on youtube. it was written about micky ward, all boxing fans will know who im on about.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wwsQlBUZtc8
Post by: whiskeysteve on September 26, 2007, 09:48:15 AM
Personally I always found this song effective. Used to sing it to the man marking me

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ibbv89cS5s4

They wouldnt touch u after that
Post by: donegal gael on September 26, 2007, 03:24:28 PM
were on the one road- wolfe tones
Post by: robertemmet on September 26, 2007, 03:38:10 PM
Hard to beat a Eminem Lose Yourself ...One chance, One opportunity etc
Post by: Estimator on September 26, 2007, 03:41:44 PM
Quotethe Warrior's Code by the Dropkick Murphys. its on youtube. it was written about micky ward, all boxing fans will know who im on about.

Anything by the Dropkick Murphys should get the team goin!
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 26, 2007, 04:00:32 PM
used to like a combo melody of
Mmm bop - hansen
sitting on the dock of the bay-  Ottis redding
heaven is a place on earth - belinda carlisle
I think we're alone now - tiffany

to put us in a happy place before we'd go off out onto the pitch and do battle  :)
Post by: the green man on September 26, 2007, 04:29:13 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on September 26, 2007, 04:00:32 PM
Mmm bop - hansen

to put us in a happy place before we'd go off out onto the pitch and do battle  :)

What! no 'Gem of the Roe'
Post by: stpauls on September 26, 2007, 04:47:23 PM
just reading through some suggestions and i know a lot of them are wind ups, but some of them wouldn't motivate me to get out of bed!!
anything by System Of A Down or AC/DC is what you need, certainly gets my blood going!
Post by: ziggysego on September 26, 2007, 04:52:11 PM
The Carpenters - We've Only Just Begun.
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 26, 2007, 05:25:17 PM
Quote from: the green man on September 26, 2007, 04:29:13 PM
Mmm bop - hansen

What! no 'Gem of the Roe'

dont want them getting too 'het up' prior to the game...
Post by: Puckoon on September 26, 2007, 05:40:42 PM
Mmm bop - hansen

:D :D :D Ive a buddy who sings that all the fecking time driving to games!
Our sunday league soccer team got to the championship game last season, so I copied everyone a CD with:
Eye of the tiger
The final countdown

Told no one to listen to the cd until they were driving to the game.

The boys couldnt stop laughing about the final countdown, but it worked a treat.
Post by: Glensman on September 26, 2007, 05:52:57 PM
Speaking of getting "het" up.
On the way to a big school's final we watched Braveheart on the way down to Dublin. What a film, on any given day it will get me going.
It had that affect - about 10 mins in one of our players lamped one of theirs - red card. Game as good as over before it began.

A balance has to be struck.

On the way to every league game when we played soccer at university Viva Las Vegas was played - we won the league by a good 7 points and did the double that year.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 26, 2007, 06:02:06 PM
DJ Quicksilver - Belissima
Post by: Puckoon on September 26, 2007, 06:18:25 PM
Kashmir by Zepplin is another one should get you ready for battle.
Post by: orangeman on September 26, 2007, 08:58:22 PM
Sure we're all off to Dublin in the green, in the green, with the helmets glistening in the sun.................................
Post by: Kerry Mike on September 26, 2007, 09:19:15 PM
In the Kerry Dressing room against Crok, they played The Banks of my own Lovely Lee, An Puc Ar Buille, The Bould Thady Quill, and The boys of Fairhill. If that wasn't enough to get Kerry blood boiling they hung a picture of Billy Morgan on the door and they were all asked the simple question, "Would you like to see this man get his hands on Sam."  3-13 to 1-09 is the answer to that one.
Post by: Frank Casey on September 26, 2007, 09:24:25 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 26, 2007, 09:19:15 PM
In the Kerry Dressing room against Crok, they played The Banks of my own Lovely Lee, An Puc Ar Buille, The Bould Thady Quill, and The boys of Fairhill. If that wasn't enough to get Kerry blood boiling they hung a picture of Billy Morgan on the door and they were all asked the simple question, "Would you like to see this man get his hands on Sam."  3-13 to 1-09 is the answer to that one.

Are you sure it wasn't the Langer song?
Post by: orangeman on September 26, 2007, 09:30:55 PM
The langer song ? How does that go ?
Post by: Frank Casey on September 26, 2007, 09:32:56 PM
Quote from: orangeman on September 26, 2007, 09:30:55 PM
The langer song ? How does that go ?

Very badly.

Each verse ends with "In Cork he'd be known as a langer"
Post by: Frank Casey on September 26, 2007, 09:36:39 PM
Especially for Orangeman. You have been warned.

The Langer
By Tim O'Riordan & Natural Gas

Have you seen the young man,
The drunken auld lout,
Roaring and bawling and spilling his stout,
And in everyone's business,
You'll first see his snout,
Down in Cork, he'd be known as a Langer!
Langer, Langer
Down in Cork, he'd be known as a Langer!

Féach an phleice amach romhainn,
ag bladairt trína thóin
Níl gaelinn ag éine,
dár leis, ach é féin
Tá aige fomhraíocht sár-bhinn,
Is gramadach fíor chrinn,
I gCorcaigh, gan dabht, sé an Langer!
An langer, an langer
I gCorcaigh, gan dabht, sé an Langer!
From Mitchelstown to Cape Clear,
You'll be welcome down here,
For there's plenty of scenery,
Music and beer,
But avoid the rugby weekend in Kinsale,
Cos every year without fail,
The town gets infested with Langers!
Langers, langers
Ah the town gets infested with Langers!

In two thousand and five,
Culture will thrive,
All along the green banks of the Lee (good man George!)
But no matter what,
Even if you arrive on your yacht,
We'll tolerate absolutely nobody acting the Langer! (Certainly not in Crosshaven!)
Langer, langer
There'll be nobody acting the Langer

On the Lee and the Nore
This auld game we adore
Sure we follow our teams anywhere
But what we'd like to know
Is why do all the good match tickets go?
Ending up in the hands of some Langer!
Langer, langer
Ending up in the hands of some Langer!

So there was me song,
I didn't keep you too long,
For now ye all know one more word of Cork slang,
And while there's meat on me bones,
I hope I'll never be known,
As a typical, home-grown Cork Langer!
Langer, Langer
As a typical home-grown Cork Langer!
Langer, Langer
As a typical home-grown Cork Langer 

Post by: Kerry Mike on September 26, 2007, 09:42:04 PM
feck it I had that googled as well and was going ot post it up.

FC you Langer.
Post by: Frank Casey on September 26, 2007, 09:43:41 PM
Quote from: Kerry Mike on September 26, 2007, 09:42:04 PM
feck it I had that googled as well and was going ot post it up.

FC you Langer.

Do you have the air of it by any chance?
Post by: lynchbhoy on September 27, 2007, 09:33:04 AM
Quote from: Glensman on September 26, 2007, 05:52:57 PM
Speaking of getting "het" up.
On the way to a big school's final we watched Braveheart on the way down to Dublin. What a film, on any given day it will get me going.
It had that affect - about 10 mins in one of our players lamped one of theirs - red card. Game as good as over before it began.

A balance has to be struck.

On the way to every league game when we played soccer at university Viva Las Vegas was played - we won the league by a good 7 points and did the double that year.
they used to make us watch 'beaches'
that was moitivation enough to win any game
as the penalty for losing was to be made watch it again on the way home (stopping every 10 miles to make us all do 100 pressups for each wide we kicked or how many scores we conceeded- whichever was greater that day)
Post by: Over the Bar on September 27, 2007, 11:43:38 AM
Rage against the Machine - Killing in the Name

If that doesnt get the team fired-up nothing will!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on September 27, 2007, 03:04:13 PM
The Langer Song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9CVF1gGua0

Post by: Maximus Marillius on September 27, 2007, 03:45:22 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on September 27, 2007, 03:04:13 PM
The Langer Song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9CVF1gGua0

FFS how is that a motivational tune for the bus, it maybe for the road home, but certainly will not help get you fired up for a game.
Post by: AbbeySider on September 27, 2007, 03:51:08 PM
Quote from: ThatsTheFootball on November 23, 2006, 12:28:24 PM

I was going to say the same thing!

Post by: ONeill on September 27, 2007, 06:56:39 PM
Hold Me Now by Johnny Logan.

You mightn't get the team psyched to sufficent levels but you'll be able to spot those who may have joined the team for romantic reasons.
Post by: hoopsaaa on September 27, 2007, 08:40:45 PM
Seek and Destroy - Metallica 8)
Post by: Harps 21 on September 27, 2007, 11:38:34 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 27, 2007, 06:56:39 PM
Hold Me Now by Johnny Logan.

You mightn't get the team psyched to sufficent levels but you'll be able to spot those who may have joined the team for romantic reasons.

At least if you lose, you can always listen to "what's another year?" on the way home...
Post by: AbbeySider on September 28, 2007, 01:58:14 PM
Nirvana - Smells like teen spirit
(we used to have a great mosh to that one.... remember moshing anyone?  ::) )

Dire Straits- Walk of Life
(seriously great lyrics (see below) and it always got me going...)

Here come johnny with the power and the glory
Backbeat the talkin blues
He got the action, he got the motion
Yeah, the boy can play
Dedication devotion
Turning all the night time into the day
And after all the violence and double talk
Theres just a song in the trouble and the strife
You do the walk, you do the walk of life
Post by: stpauls on September 28, 2007, 02:04:23 PM
moshing was my favourite past times as a teenager, would have a savage stiff neck after it though!!
Post by: AbbeySider on September 28, 2007, 02:17:01 PM
Quote from: stpauls on September 28, 2007, 02:04:23 PM
moshing was my favourite past times as a teenager, would have a savage stiff neck after it though!!

Jump Around by House of Pain
Another motivator and moshing song years ago
Post by: small white mayoman on September 28, 2007, 02:22:17 PM
The french national anthem
Post by: AbbeySider on September 28, 2007, 03:21:37 PM
Quote from: small white mayoman on September 28, 2007, 02:22:17 PM
The french national anthem

erm... how would the French national anthem motivate a GAA team travelling by bus?

Then again La Marseillaise being a rally song for revolution might be motivating but I dont think that was your point swm

Other uplifting songs:

Boston - "More than a feeling"
Journey - "Dont stop Believing"
Post by: small white mayoman on September 28, 2007, 03:24:03 PM
don't mind me Abbeysider, good luck on Sunday
Post by: stpauls on September 28, 2007, 03:27:16 PM
Quote from: AbbeySider on September 28, 2007, 02:17:01 PM
Quote from: stpauls on September 28, 2007, 02:04:23 PM

Jump Around by House of Pain
Another motivator and moshing song years ago

one of my favourite songs of all time!! a lot of good memories go with that song for me!
Post by: AbbeySider on September 28, 2007, 04:02:30 PM
Quote from: small white mayoman on September 28, 2007, 03:24:03 PM
don't mind me Abbeysider, good luck on Sunday

cheers buddy  ;D   ;)
Post by: Guillem2 on October 10, 2007, 01:32:54 PM
The England Rugby team use Kenny Rodgers "The gambler". I kid you not!

Hopefully they'll leave Paris on Saturday to Wings "Band on the run".

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2007/10/09/uosong109.xml (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2007/10/09/uosong109.xml)
Post by: Denn Forever on October 10, 2007, 03:26:38 PM
What is the purpose of a motivational song?
If you are not motivated, you should not be on the f--king Bus.

Post by: rolloutking on October 10, 2007, 04:40:10 PM
Dario G - Sunchyme.

Hits the spot!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BY2OFztWiuY&mode=related&search=
Post by: AbbeySider on October 10, 2007, 07:44:19 PM
Quote from: Guillem2 on October 10, 2007, 01:32:54 PM
The England Rugby team use Kenny Rodgers "The gambler". I kid you not!

Hopefully they'll leave Paris on Saturday to Wings "Band on the run".

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2007/10/09/uosong109.xml (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/main.jhtml?xml=/sport/2007/10/09/uosong109.xml)

This story was just on the Channel 4 news a few minutes ago !!  :o  :o 

Some quote from Kenny Rodgers saying something like
"I dont know much about rugby but this song is very close to me but and im glad it brings you inspiration" :D  :D

Post by: lynchbhoy on October 15, 2007, 02:51:49 PM
mine used to be along the lines of

slayer  - raining blood
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=yqHiL7YYyqg

Metallica - am I evil
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=M-ua0iVhN9w

Anthrax - Antisocial
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=-t0affoV5rI

Megadeth - My last words
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=sX1HBNelaWA

Megadeth - Holy wars
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=-YczYC2yHTM

although these prob over cooked it somewhat, as the last senior champ match I played, I should have been sent off after 5 mins v na fianna, luckily only getting a booking
Post by: Maximus Marillius on October 15, 2007, 04:00:16 PM
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=IlejfA5NCbQ (http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=IlejfA5NCbQ)

Thunderstruck  AC/DC...mentioned already, but here is Angus at his best
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 15, 2007, 04:23:33 PM
No music needed at all........all it took was the piss taking on the bus to the match about how I was going to get taken to the cleaners by the opposition (and the regulation fine system for each mistake made).....
Post by: AbbeySider on October 16, 2007, 09:12:25 AM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 15, 2007, 04:23:33 PM
No music needed at all........all it took was the piss taking on the bus to the match about how I was going to get taken to the cleaners by the opposition (and the regulation fine system for each mistake made).....

had ye a fine system in place? How does that work?

back to the topic:

Firestarter by Prodigy
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 16, 2007, 09:53:25 AM
Abbeysider

Easy enough to administer...

Fines were levied on a 1, 2 & 5 Euro basis depending on the offence......all monies received were put towards an end of season bash...a book was kept and the individual fines were recorded from training/games with the final monetary amount due as kitty at end of season....

Obviously the greater the offence the greater the fine.....

EG Missing a simple goal chance was a 5 Euro fine....Being beaten by a bouncing ball also....being late for training/games
A 2 Euro fine was something like slipping going into a tackle, miskicks etc...missing from crazy shots etc
A 1 Euro fine was something like dropping a ball during drills or warmup...

Basically the system was put in place to
A - Build morale (subs not playing or injured players used to run it on the sidelines during games calling out fines as they happened)
B - To ensure players concentrated really hard on the basics
C - To have a great night out....
Post by: DMarsden on October 16, 2007, 10:36:32 AM

Whats the puishment for a missed tackle?

Paul Casey must be out a fortune....
Post by: AbbeySider on October 16, 2007, 11:58:22 AM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on October 16, 2007, 09:53:25 AM
Abbeysider

Easy enough to administer...

Fines were levied on a 1, 2 & 5 Euro basis depending on the offence......all monies received were put towards an end of season bash...a book was kept and the individual fines were recorded from training/games with the final monetary amount due as kitty at end of season....

Obviously the greater the offence the greater the fine.....

EG Missing a simple goal chance was a 5 Euro fine....Being beaten by a bouncing ball also....being late for training/games
A 2 Euro fine was something like slipping going into a tackle, miskicks etc...missing from crazy shots etc
A 1 Euro fine was something like dropping a ball during drills or warmup...

Basically the system was put in place to
A - Build morale (subs not playing or injured players used to run it on the sidelines during games calling out fines as they happened)
B - To ensure players concentrated really hard on the basics
C - To have a great night out....

LMAO ! Thats a good one but im not sure would it work cause a few lads would be left bankrupt!
Post by: whiskeysteve on October 16, 2007, 12:21:28 PM
f**k sake I'd blow my wages if that was implemented at our club! Certain 'rats' ;) would just flat refuse to pay!
Post by: theskull1 on October 16, 2007, 12:44:21 PM
The "pay to play" players could just save the money and donate it to the "pay for play" players

Then the GPA might respect the club player a bit more ;)
Post by: pedro on October 16, 2007, 11:46:18 PM
Quote from: lynchbhoy on October 15, 2007, 02:51:49 PM
mine used to be along the lines of

slayer  - raining blood
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=yqHiL7YYyqg

Metallica - am I evil
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=M-ua0iVhN9w

Anthrax - Antisocial
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=-t0affoV5rI

Megadeth - My last words
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=sX1HBNelaWA

Megadeth - Holy wars
http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=-YczYC2yHTM

although these prob over cooked it somewhat, as the last senior champ match I played, I should have been sent off after 5 mins v na fianna, luckily only getting a booking

A man after my own heart Lynchboy!! You can't beat the riff at the start of Raining Blood  :) I'd have to add in Metallica - Seek and Destroy, Pantera - Walk  or Thin Lizzy - Emerald
Post by: lynchbhoy on October 17, 2007, 11:33:35 AM
Quote from: pedro on October 16, 2007, 11:46:18 PM
A man after my own heart Lynchboy!! You can't beat the riff at the start of Raining Blood  :) I'd have to add in Metallica - Seek and Destroy, Pantera - Walk  or Thin Lizzy - Emerald
Emerald - yes what a song my Fave from TL, could I offer up a 'massacre' by Thin Lizzy also ...or even a 'Thunder and lightning'

Metallica - where do you start - apart from 'Am I Evil' I also used to get great motivational source from 'Fight fire with fire', 'Four Horsemen' and 'Phantom lord'
Post by: Declan on October 18, 2007, 08:57:40 AM
Well the England rugby team have Kenny Rodgers The Gambler as their team song now

See http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3yWJsW5WN5Y (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3yWJsW5WN5Y)
Post by: magickingdom on October 25, 2007, 10:07:17 PM
just finished reading Friday Night Lights (about a high school football team in texas). their psych up music (in the 80's mind you!) was mainly bon jovi for the white boys and public enemy for the black boys. best tune imo tho was billy joels 'This is the time'...