Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: mannix on June 15, 2007, 11:08:01 AM

Title: M50 and its traffic
Post by: mannix on June 15, 2007, 11:08:01 AM
Every time an flying insect hits a headlamp on the m50 the whole country has to listen to "tailbacks to the red ky rindabite".Can they not have a simple method of photographing non fatal accidents and moving the cars out of the way faster than they do now.Its becoming a routine and must really annoy people trying to get around in dublin.
Or better still stop the crazy developments like lucan and tallaght from spreading further, thousands of houses and no roads? where else would you see it.
Title: Re: M50 and its traffic
Post by: dodo on June 15, 2007, 12:00:35 PM
Cork, Galway, Limerick, Waterford, etc
Post by: TirEoghaingodeo on June 15, 2007, 12:46:45 PM
Lads, heading through dublin tonight and was wondering what the M50 is like around 7 o clock? Still a car-park? Bound to be clear by that time?
Post by: Hank Everlast on June 15, 2007, 12:56:12 PM
just about the end of the car park at that time....any earlier is a disaster
Post by: Tankie on June 15, 2007, 04:01:20 PM
Quote from: TirEoghaingodeo on June 15, 2007, 12:46:45 PM
Lads, heading through dublin tonight and was wondering what the M50 is like around 7 o clock? Still a car-park? Bound to be clear by that time?

Its in a heap at the moment so I would check with aaroadwatch.ie to see what it like at 7 but generally it should be slow but moving at that time.
Post by: Davitt Man on February 19, 2008, 12:23:17 PM
Can anyone tell me how long it takes to travel the m50 from leopardstown to the n4 turn off at 6pm on a friday? IS it just a car-park at that stage
Post by: Mentalman on February 19, 2008, 12:35:37 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on February 19, 2008, 12:23:17 PM
Can anyone tell me how long it takes to travel the m50 from leopardstown to the n4 turn off at 6pm on a friday? IS it just a car-park at that stage

I'd leave it until 6:30 or 7 if I were you. If you can't, you are looking at an hour minimum, then you get stuck in the traffic on the N4 to the cursed traffic lights at Lucan.
Post by: Davitt Man on February 19, 2008, 12:37:44 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on February 19, 2008, 12:35:37 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on February 19, 2008, 12:23:17 PM

I'd leave it until 6:30 or 7 if I were you. If you can't, you are looking at an hour minimum, then you get stuck in the traffic on the N4 to the cursed traffic lights at Lucan.

Cheers MentalMan i was figurining it would take an hour at best to get off M50 and then the guts of an hour to get out past the lights in newcastle.

have to leave at 6 this friday and not looking forward to it
Post by: Zapatista on February 19, 2008, 01:13:44 PM
Is the "M50 and it's traffic" not synonymous?
Post by: Davitt Man on February 19, 2008, 02:46:58 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 19, 2008, 01:13:44 PM

I know the m50 is mental, i just need a time estimate for how long it takes from leopardstown to n4 turn off for 6pm on a friday
Post by: saffron on February 19, 2008, 04:37:45 PM
QuoteEvery time an flying insect hits a headlamp on the m50 the whole country has to listen to "tailbacks to the red ky rindabite".Can they not have a simple method of photographing non fatal accidents and moving the cars out of the way faster than they do now.Its becoming a routine and must really annoy people trying to get around in dublin.

Annoying isnt the half of it. Unless your car is seriously damaged you should drive it off the road if you can - not always possible with the road works. it drives me insane when theres a massive tail back for a cracked headlight!

I know the m50 is mental, i just need a time estimate for how long it takes from leopardstown to n4 turn off for 6pm on a friday

Wouldnt like to put a time on it but Friday is the worst day with eberybody going home
Post by: Tubberman on February 19, 2008, 05:27:59 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on Today at 12:35:37 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on Today at 12:23:17 PM

Cheers MentalMan i was figurining it would take an hour at best to get off M50 and then the guts of an hour to get out past the lights in newcastle.

Davitt Man, it might save you some time if you take the N7 exit (Nass Rd, Red Cow).
I work in Citywest and when I'm heading home I head down the N7 and take the Rathcoole exit. Then take the right at the 1st roundabout, bringing you across the bridge over the N7. Follow the signs for Newcastle.
Then just the far side of Newcastle on a bend, there is a couple of white cottages getting renovated. Turn right there for Cellbridge.
Over the humpback bridge and into Cellbridge.
Over the bridge in Cellbridge and turn right. Follow the road out through the village. You evetually come to a roundabout and take the right exit which will bring you to the N4/Cellbridge/Maynooth exit.
A bit of effort, but you skip some of the M50 madness, plus you rejoin the N4 after the Newcastle lights
Post by: Davitt Man on February 19, 2008, 05:30:40 PM
Cheers Tubberman, i know that route as well, its handy
Post by: dublinfella on February 19, 2008, 05:53:59 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on February 19, 2008, 02:46:58 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 19, 2008, 01:13:44 PM

quite literally the worst time of the week you could chose to be on that road.

you will be 45 mins minimum, but after 7 will be 10 mins.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 19, 2008, 06:12:13 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on February 19, 2008, 05:27:59 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on Today at 12:35:37 PM
Quote from: Davitt Man on Today at 12:23:17 PM

Davitt Man, it might save you some time if you take the N7 exit (Nass Rd, Red Cow).
I work in Citywest and when I'm heading home I head down the N7 and take the Rathcoole exit. Then take the right at the 1st roundabout, bringing you across the bridge over the N7. Follow the signs for Newcastle.
Then just the far side of Newcastle on a bend, there is a couple of white cottages getting renovated. Turn right there for Cellbridge.
Over the humpback bridge and into Cellbridge.
Over the bridge in Cellbridge and turn right. Follow the road out through the village. You evetually come to a roundabout and take the right exit which will bring you to the N4/Cellbridge/Maynooth exit.
A bit of effort, but you skip some of the M50 madness, plus you rejoin the N4 after the Newcastle lights

Davittman i wouldn't take the M50 at all, get a city map and cross country it to ranelagh, using back streets, rathmines, kimmage, islandbridge, chapleizod and the lucan before hitting the M4
Post by: An Gaeilgoir on February 19, 2008, 06:31:55 PM
if you are coming in the m7 towards the red cow, take the outer relief road at the kingswood beside the Irish Independent offices...keep going straight past Wyeth and the penny hill pub; This route will bring you out on the m4 at woodies in lucan. It will take you between 20 and 40 mins depemding on traffic.
Post by: Zapatista on February 20, 2008, 07:55:55 AM
Is it hypocritical to complain about the traffic while sitting in your car ???
Post by: Sky Blue on February 20, 2008, 12:50:11 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on February 19, 2008, 06:12:13 PM

Davittman i wouldn't take the M50 at all, get a city map and cross country it to ranelagh, using back streets, rathmines, kimmage, islandbridge, chapleizod and the lucan before hitting the M4
Mayo4Sam is right. Avoid it if at all possible. I haven't been on it in months and manage fine. Its frustrating as feck.
Post by: Rois on October 23, 2014, 11:48:11 AM
I know it's been a while since this thread was last used...

Need to get out to Citywest today for 4pm or so, will be coming off the M50 from Belfast direction.  There are rumours in my office of bad roadworks on the N7 but I've a feeling it's just because the person going along there was doing so at rush hour this morning.  I was going to give myself the usual 2hrs.  Would I need more than this to be going through Newlands Cross at c.3.30pm?
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 23, 2014, 12:15:54 PM
It shouldn't be too bad at that time but it tends to be a bit hit and miss most evenings.

If you wanted to avoid Newlands Cross and the N7 completely you could turn off the M50 onto the N4 and take the exit at Junction 4 Adamstown. That will bring you out to Newcastle which is only 5-10 minutes from Saggart.
Post by: thebigfella on October 23, 2014, 12:27:55 PM
I'd add 30 mins on anyway at least if your going through Newlands Cross.  It's hit and miss, been through it at this time before and can be a nightmare.
Post by: armaghniac on October 23, 2014, 12:40:10 PM
This is it, seems to be moving OK at present, pull in at the service station before Swords and see how it is
(https://cdn.mtcc.ie/static/cctv/0056.jpg)
Post by: muppet on October 23, 2014, 12:42:51 PM
Armaghniac that is great info!

Anyone know when that bridge is likely to open? It looks at an advanced stage now.
Post by: Tubberman on October 23, 2014, 12:45:02 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on October 23, 2014, 12:15:54 PM
It shouldn't be too bad at that time but it tends to be a bit hit and miss most evenings.

If you wanted to avoid Newlands Cross and the N7 completely you could turn off the M50 onto the N4 and take the exit at Junction 4 Adamstown. That will bring you out to Newcastle which is only 5-10 minutes from Saggart.

Or take the Lucan/Ballyowen exit off the N4 and that will bring you directly across to the Kingswood exit off the N7, and then you're in Citywest.
But at that time you'd probably be as quick to go through Newlands, even though it mightn't feel like it when you're sitting in the traffic.
I go through it every day :(
Post by: Tubberman on October 23, 2014, 12:46:18 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 23, 2014, 12:42:51 PM

Anyone know when that bridge is likely to open? It looks at an advanced stage now.

Before Christmas according to the NRA - head guy was on Newstalk last week.
They have the flyover surfaced, and are putting in the central barrier. Bit of tidying up to do and it should be good to go!
Post by: muppet on October 23, 2014, 12:47:29 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on October 23, 2014, 12:46:18 PM
Quote from: muppet on October 23, 2014, 12:42:51 PM

Before Christmas according to the NRA - head guy was on Newstalk last week.
They have the flyover surfaced, and are putting in the central barrier. Bit of tidying up to do and it should be good to go!

That will be magic!
Post by: muppet on October 23, 2014, 01:00:18 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 23, 2014, 12:40:10 PM
This is it, seems to be moving OK at present, pull in at the service station before Swords and see how it is
(https://cdn.mtcc.ie/static/cctv/0056.jpg)

Is that the N7 inbound (towards Dublin) approaching Newlands Cross?
Post by: armaghniac on October 23, 2014, 01:16:39 PM
QuoteIs that the N7 inbound (towards Dublin) approaching Newlands Cross?

It is the city side of Newlands Cross, the flyover just being out of the picture on the left.

Going from Lucan seems a good move if coming from the North, that is decent route.  Note at this time 13:10, the outbound traffic is in a queue in the traffic cam above!
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 23, 2014, 01:27:53 PM
There could be knock on effects further south once this is up and running. The N/M7 as far as Newbridge is a mess every evening. The traffic seems to ease after the Newhall junction. It will be worse once the Kerry Group in Naas is fully opened and the works start to add an extra lane on the old Naas bypass section as far as the M9 spur.
Post by: Rois on October 23, 2014, 01:39:53 PM
Thanks guys.  Useful info esp on the alternative routes.

Tune in to Entrepreneur of the Year awards on RTE tonight to see if I've made it on time  ;D
Post by: armaghniac on October 23, 2014, 01:48:46 PM
Quote from: Donnellys Hollow on October 23, 2014, 01:27:53 PM
There could be knock on effects further south once this is up and running. The N/M7 as far as Newbridge is a mess every evening. The traffic seems to ease after the Newhall junction. It will be worse once the Kerry Group in Naas is fully opened and the works start to add an extra lane on the old Naas bypass section as far as the M9 spur.

I don't think it will make it worse, although obviously it is under pressure until they add the extra lane. The present Newlands Setup with traffic lights batches traffic into clumps, this flyover will smooth things out.
Post by: muppet on October 23, 2014, 02:32:42 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 23, 2014, 01:16:39 PM
QuoteIs that the N7 inbound (towards Dublin) approaching Newlands Cross?

It is the city side of Newlands Cross, the flyover just being out of the picture on the left.

Going from Lucan seems a good move if coming from the North, that is decent route.  Note at this time 13:10, the outbound traffic is in a queue in the traffic cam above!

Of course, the slip road for the right turn inbound is the other side of the road works from the through traffic.
Post by: Dinny Breen on October 23, 2014, 03:09:27 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 23, 2014, 01:48:46 PM

I don't think it will make it worse, although obviously it is under pressure until they add the extra lane. The present Newlands Setup with traffic lights batches traffic into clumps, this flyover will smooth things out.

Induced demand would indicate differently, more improved roads, more traffic. more congestion.

They need to be improving the commuter rail systems and reducing the cost of public travel.
Post by: 5 Sams on October 23, 2014, 03:21:32 PM
When that flyover is open it'll do away with the last set of traffic lights between Belfast and Cork....there's your piece of useless information for today!
Post by: armaghniac on October 23, 2014, 04:07:05 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 23, 2014, 03:09:27 PM
They need to be improving the commuter rail systems and reducing the cost of public travel.

The Dart underground project is needed to connect Kildare.
Post by: Donnellys Hollow on October 23, 2014, 04:21:49 PM
Commuter rail services to the Kildare stations are actually quite good due to the 4 track section after Hazelhatch which frees up a lot of the congestion that existed on the line previously. Passenger usage outside of the normal peak times is quite low mainly because of the ridiculous fare structure. A day return from Sallins to Heuston is €14.60, from Newbridge it's €20.10, from Kildare town it's €22.90. A commuter inside the short hop zone will pay €8.00 to go from Maynooth to Connolly.

People will continue to commute by road no matter how bad the congestion on the M/N7 when the rail alternative is so expensive.
Post by: laoislad on November 14, 2014, 02:57:49 PM
I see the fly over at Newlands Cross is suppose to be open today.
Should make a huge difference to traffic.
Post by: Tubberman on November 14, 2014, 03:53:09 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 14, 2014, 02:57:49 PM

Next Thursday it's scheduled to be opened. It will make a massive difference - 20 mins each morning and evening!

http://www.thejournal.ie/newlands-cross-upgrade-1780267-Nov2014/?utm_source=twitter_self (http://www.thejournal.ie/newlands-cross-upgrade-1780267-Nov2014/?utm_source=twitter_self)
Post by: muppet on November 16, 2014, 05:37:47 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on November 14, 2014, 03:53:09 PM

Next Thursday it's scheduled to be opened. It will make a massive difference - 20 mins each morning and evening!

http://www.thejournal.ie/newlands-cross-upgrade-1780267-Nov2014/?utm_source=twitter_self (http://www.thejournal.ie/newlands-cross-upgrade-1780267-Nov2014/?utm_source=twitter_self)

(https://images.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.theblaze.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2012%2F05%2Ftumblr_m4bs2677Ku1ql0mis.gif&f=1)
Post by: Last Man on November 16, 2014, 09:43:40 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 16, 2014, 05:37:47 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on November 14, 2014, 03:53:09 PM

(https://images.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.theblaze.com%2Fwp-content%2Fuploads%2F2012%2F05%2Ftumblr_m4bs2677Ku1ql0mis.gif&f=1)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 17, 2014, 05:27:28 AM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on October 23, 2014, 03:09:27 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 23, 2014, 01:48:46 PM

Induced demand would indicate differently, more improved roads, more traffic. more congestion.

They've been adding extra lanes here in California for years and instead of easing congestion it just creates more of it. Sometimes it eases things in the short term, but long term it gets worse because people move farther out to take advantage of cheap property and a temporarily easy commute. By the time everybody else gets the same idea then you're back to square one, except instead of 4 jammed lanes you've got 5 jammed lanes.

A better rail alternative would make a much better impact, but in the longer run you have to look at settlement patterns and ask why so many people need to be making these journeys in the first place. Higher densities in the urban core allow more people to live closer to their work, preferably within walking distance.
Post by: armaghniac on November 17, 2014, 10:27:45 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on November 17, 2014, 05:27:28 AM
A better rail alternative would make a much better impact, but in the longer run you have to look at settlement patterns and ask why so many people need to be making these journeys in the first place. Higher densities in the urban core allow more people to live closer to their work, preferably within walking distance.

In Dublin in recent years house prices were going down and fuel costs were going up, so there was some prospect that people would not move to Laois and then propose to commute as was happening in the boom. However, we now have the crazy situation where there is negligible construction in Dublin and rapidly rising rents/house prices fuel is temporarily cheaper and public transport has been cut back, all of which drives people to drive. Do we never learn?
Post by: The Bearded One on May 19, 2015, 12:40:02 PM
Just how bad is the M50 southbound in the mornings around 8.30 - 9.30am? I have to use it next week coming from the North heading out the M7 and will be hitting the M50 around 8.30am. Would it be reasonable to leave 45mins to get through the M50 or is that being too hopeful?
Post by: Billys Boots on May 19, 2015, 12:50:11 PM
Quote from: The Bearded One on May 19, 2015, 12:40:02 PM
Just how bad is the M50 southbound in the mornings around 8.30 - 9.30am? I have to use it next week coming from the North heading out the M7 and will be hitting the M50 around 8.30am. Would it be reasonable to leave 45mins to get through the M50 or is that being too hopeful?

Aim to avoid completely between 0700 and 1000 Mon-Fri; you could be anything from 45-120 mins in that timeframe.  Depends on how many people decide to rear-end that particular morning. 
Post by: muppet on May 19, 2015, 01:07:43 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 19, 2015, 12:50:11 PM
Quote from: The Bearded One on May 19, 2015, 12:40:02 PM

Aim to avoid completely between 0700 and 1000 Mon-Fri; you could be anything from 45-120 mins in that timeframe.  Depends on how many people decide to rear-end that particular morning.

Yip, I occasionally have to use that route. I try to leave the house before 0700 usually and stop for breakfast further down the line. It can be clear and you can be lucky, but if there is an accident, you will sit there for a long time.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 19, 2015, 01:17:52 PM
You actually need to be off it by 0700 if you want to be sure of staying moving. 
Post by: The Bearded One on May 19, 2015, 10:09:24 PM
Thanks for the advice lads, think I'll just avoid it!
Post by: Canalman on May 20, 2015, 09:56:06 AM
You'll be fine most mornings. The odd day an accident will slow things down. Some of the previous posters' comments a bit overdramatic imo. Stay in the middle lane when coming to the junctions as sometimes there is a spillover onto the inside lane.

Post by: AZOffaly on May 20, 2015, 10:55:17 AM
Quote from: Canalman on May 20, 2015, 09:56:06 AM
You'll be fine most mornings. The odd day an accident will slow things down. Some of the previous posters' comments a bit overdramatic imo. Stay in the middle lane when coming to the junctions as sometimes there is a spillover onto the inside lane.

WHAAA??? Madness. Listen to the culchies. The M50 is a carpark unless you hit it at very off peak times. Never mind the sneaky Dubs :)
Post by: muppet on May 20, 2015, 11:04:35 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 20, 2015, 10:55:17 AM

WHAAA??? Madness. Listen to the culchies. The M50 is a carpark unless you hit it at very off peak times. Never mind the sneaky Dubs :)

I have lived in Dublin for 24 years, and a few years as a teenager before that. If I have learned one thing, it is never ask a Dub about a part of Dublin that is not near where he is from. Most will be honest enough to tell you they haven't a clue about getting around the rest of the city. To test this ask any northsider or southsider for directions on the other side of the city.

As an aside, Google Maps do a handy free GPS service which offers alternative routes and time estimates based on real traffic, which can give a heads up if there is a problem up the road. But I use the free App WAZE which does exactly the same thing, only with added updates on speed traps, accidents etc (as long as someone updates it for you).
Post by: The Bearded One on May 20, 2015, 11:10:29 AM
On this occasion I will take advice from my country cousins and avoid the M50!

I'm going to Limerick from Tyrone, I now plan to go through the midlands and will just have to suck up whatever traffic I hit in the towns on my way through.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 20, 2015, 11:12:12 AM
Be careful heading into North Tipp! Good job ye don't have TE registrations or something, or you'd be burnt out in Moneygall :)
Post by: muppet on May 20, 2015, 11:13:06 AM
Quote from: The Bearded One on May 20, 2015, 11:10:29 AM
On this occasion I will take advice from my country cousins and avoid the M50!

I'm going to Limerick from Tyrone, I now plan to go through the midlands and will just have to suck up whatever traffic I hit in the towns on my way through.

Depending on which part of Tyrone you are going from, the road from Sligo down would be generally good, especially after Gort, which is all motorway. Depends of course how far you are from Sligo.
Post by: laoislad on May 20, 2015, 11:59:36 AM
Quote from: muppet on May 20, 2015, 11:04:35 AM

I have lived in Dublin for 24 years, and a few years as a teenager before that. If I have learned one thing, it is never ask a Dub about a part of Dublin that is not near where he is from. Most will be honest enough to tell you they haven't a clue about getting around the rest of the city. To test this ask any northsider or southsider for directions on the other side of the city
This is so true!
Also anywhere over 1km away is miles away to them. Down home 5 miles would be only down the road!
Post by: heffo on May 20, 2015, 01:07:09 PM

I have lived in Dublin for 24 years, and a few years as a teenager before that. If I have learned one thing, it is never ask a Dub about a part of Dublin that is not near where he is from. Most will be honest enough to tell you they haven't a clue about getting around the rest of the city. To test this ask any northsider or southsider for directions on the other side of the city.

Cheek!
Post by: muppet on May 20, 2015, 03:26:30 PM
Quote from: heffo on May 20, 2015, 01:07:09 PM

Cheek!

To be fair I only know places around Mayo (other than where relatives live) that I've played football in or went to Scór or had some other reason to go there. Most of the county is a mystery to me.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 20, 2015, 03:31:54 PM
Mayo is a mystery to everyone.
Post by: muppet on May 20, 2015, 03:43:25 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 20, 2015, 03:31:54 PM
Mayo is a mystery to everyone.

We could do with solving it.
Post by: Boycey on January 06, 2016, 03:44:46 PM
Good folks, I need to be at Crumlin Hospital for before 9AM tomorrow, what time would I need to hit the M50 to achieve this or would I better battling on through the city at that hour. Oh yeah I'll be coming from the M1.

thanks
Post by: screenexile on January 06, 2016, 03:50:55 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 06, 2016, 03:44:46 PM
Good folks, I need to be at Crumlin Hospital for before 9AM tomorrow, what time would I need to hit the M50 to achieve this or would I better battling on through the city at that hour. Oh yeah I'll be coming from the M1.

thanks

Stay away from the City at all costs I would say it's a disaster. The same as most answers I'd say it depends. Hitting the M50 @ half 8 would be grand unless there's an accident then it's a lottery as to what might happen. I'd listen carefully to traffic updates on the way down the road!!
Post by: thebigfella on January 06, 2016, 04:09:02 PM
You need to be going onto the m50 at the latest 8am. It will take you 15/20 mins to get to the red cow at that time and 15 mins more to Crumlin hospital. That might give you a bit of breathing space if there is a breakdown or minor accident but I'd to be sure you'd maybe want to give yourself another 15 mins.

Unless you drive it every day, you don't realise what is a disaster the M50 is. It seems to attract the worst drivers possible too.
Post by: Billys Boots on January 06, 2016, 04:15:13 PM
I would have said to hit M50 from M1 at 7am, get off at Red Cow and head towards Crumlin, then stop for a bit of breakfast.  I find M50 very unpredictable after 7am, especially if it's wet (and it will be). 
Post by: Boycey on January 06, 2016, 06:58:51 PM
Thanks guys I think you reinforced what was already in my head..
Post by: heffo on January 07, 2016, 09:43:46 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on January 06, 2016, 04:15:13 PM
I would have said to hit M50 from M1 at 7am, get off at Red Cow and head towards Crumlin, then stop for a bit of breakfast.  I find M50 very unpredictable after 7am, especially if it's wet (and it will be).

I'd have said the same
Post by: Boycey on November 26, 2020, 07:29:03 PM
I see I was the last to bump this thread also  :D

Anyone know the current state of play on the M50 in the mornings? Is Covid and the like keeping people off the roads. I need to be in Tallaght before 9AM tomorrow. I'll be coming down M1 onto M50...

Thanks in advance
Post by: general on November 26, 2020, 07:35:48 PM
I find the m50 handy enough in the mornings currently boycey..im working at the new children's hospital at james' and take either j6 or j7 in the morning...plain sailing currently.. Altho I'm gone for 5.30...id be on site for 6.45
Post by: Aaron Boone on November 26, 2020, 08:53:11 PM
Quote from: general on November 26, 2020, 07:35:48 PM
I find the m50 handy enough in the mornings currently boycey..im working at the new children's hospital at james' and take either j6 or j7 in the morning...plain sailing currently.. Altho I'm gone for 5.30...id be on site for 6.45

At a €2,2 billion site, you should be getting a Garda escort. 
Post by: general on November 26, 2020, 09:11:19 PM
Jesus lads I'm just giving the lads a help out  ;D
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 26, 2020, 10:55:18 PM
I read somewhere of a further ring road from M1 to N7/M7 was in the pipeline.

It makes sense and would alleviate a lot of traffic. Anyone else hear about it?
Post by: marty34 on November 26, 2020, 11:04:37 PM
Why did they not just build an extra lane each side of M50 when it was being build?

I see it on motorways now - another 6 foot either side and they could have another lane in.  Maybe not finish it competely but have itready to go in a year say.  All the work has been done and 6 ft either side wouldn't cost much extra.
Post by: thewobbler on November 27, 2020, 12:33:46 AM
Quote from: marty34 on November 26, 2020, 11:04:37 PM
Why did they not just build an extra lane each side of M50 when it was being build?

I see it on motorways now - another 6 foot either side and they could have another lane in.  Maybe not finish it competely but have itready to go in a year say.  All the work has been done and 6 ft either side wouldn't cost much extra.

The basic rule of congestion is that building more roads, better roads, wider roads, is only a short term fix, as these measures immediately increase traffic, which before long more than fills the void.

The only way to decrease traffic is to make public transport more viable for more people. This can be done by either improving the public traffic infrastructure, or by putting the price of private transport out of reach.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on November 28, 2020, 03:26:50 PM

Criminal that they didn't run an orbital metro railway line along the M50 with branches out to blanch, tallaght, swords, lucan etc and into the city.
Dublin is far too car dependant
Post by: armaghniac on November 28, 2020, 08:29:32 PM
The real criminality is that they have never run an express bus on the M50, so if your journey involves the M59 then you have to buy a car.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 30, 2020, 05:43:14 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on November 26, 2020, 10:55:18 PM
I read somewhere of a further ring road from M1 to N7/M7 was in the pipeline.

It makes sense and would alleviate a lot of traffic. Anyone else hear about it?

That's not quite how it works. New roads just generate more traffic.

(https://media.springernature.com/original/springer-static/image/chp%3A10.5822%2F978-1-61091-899-2_27/MediaObjects/978-1-61091-899-2_27_Fig2_HTML.png)

Post by: Eamonnca1 on November 30, 2020, 05:44:52 PM
There'll never be enough space in cities for cars if they're the default way of traveling for more people.

(https://lh3.ggpht.com/_9F9_RUESS2E/S7tbclwxiPI/AAAAAAAACmw/uI1bCpNuKNA/s800/picoftheday0012-space-60people.jpg)

Better to provide more efficient alternatives.
Post by: five points on November 30, 2020, 06:00:18 PM
Of course new roads - if they're any good - are going to generate more traffic. There's no point in building them if they're not going to be used. 

Road usage tends to vary with population density. Irish roads are not densely crowded by international standards, as we're in a relatively underpopulated country. I work 40 miles from the edge of Dublin and can be there comfortably within an hour, pretty much every day and hour of the year. That might not be possible around London or Paris for example.
Post by: armaghniac on November 30, 2020, 06:05:20 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on November 30, 2020, 05:44:52 PM
There'll never be enough space in cities for cars if they're the default way of traveling for more people.

(https://lh3.ggpht.com/_9F9_RUESS2E/S7tbclwxiPI/AAAAAAAACmw/uI1bCpNuKNA/s800/picoftheday0012-space-60people.jpg)

Better to provide more efficient alternatives.

Yes, pack them in like sardines and give all a disease.
Post by: J70 on November 30, 2020, 06:06:52 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on November 27, 2020, 12:33:46 AM

The basic rule of congestion is that building more roads, better roads, wider roads, is only a short term fix, as these measures immediately increase traffic, which before long more than fills the void.

The only way to decrease traffic is to make public transport more viable for more people. This can be done by either improving the public traffic infrastructure, or by putting the price of private transport out of reach.

I'm of an old enough vintage to have been in college in Dublin in the 90s. Was it not two lane for much of its length back then? They had to add the extra lane fairly quickly around much of its length as it became obsolete fairly quickly, especially with the growth of the towns around the city.