Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Itchy on December 22, 2023, 02:17:07 PM

Title: Come in if you Hate Christmas
Post by: Itchy on December 22, 2023, 02:17:07 PM
With such nice thread in Christmas songs etc it's only fair there is a thread for people like me who hate Christmas.

I hate...

Christmas trees (assembly and disassembly)
Christmas songs
Christmas movies
Christmas weather
Elf on the f**king Shelf

Sorry but I feel much better for coming out as a Christmas hater.

Am I alone?
Title: Re: Come in if you Hate Christmas
Post by: laceer on December 22, 2023, 02:32:26 PM
I enjoy the majority of Christmas but the elf needs put in the bin.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 22, 2023, 02:38:06 PM
Quote from: Itchy on December 22, 2023, 02:17:07 PMWith such nice thread in Christmas songs etc it's only fair there is a thread for people like me who hate Christmas.

I hate...

Christmas songs
Christmas movies
Christmas weather
Elf on the f**king Shelf

Am I alone?

I don't hate Christmas but the expenditure is crazy (I know we don't need to spend it). The missus spent about £250 quid on "the big shop" and it's just pure madness for a few days. So I hate:

Spending money for the sake of it.
Taking boxes down from the attic.
The smell of cats piss and dropped needles from the trees.
Shit tv.
Never had Elf on the Shelf in our house and I can see the attraction for weans, however if you are an adult who puts pictures of it on social media for attention, then you need to take a long hard look at yourself.

In the main though I enjoy the time off work as everyone else is off so no shite to come back to. And I like drinking, eating, lying in, watching shit tv, reading books and having the fire lit every day.
Post by: Eire90 on December 22, 2023, 03:03:14 PM
Has there ever been gaa matches on st stephens day did local teams ever play challanges games against each other or something like that.
Post by: seafoid on December 22, 2023, 03:07:56 PM
I hate the commercialism especially this year with so many people struggling because of inflation.
I really don't like turkey and vegetables boiled to death.
but it's a magical time for kids and a bit of downtime.
Post by: GTP on December 22, 2023, 03:09:19 PM
Derry SFC final 1993 - The final was late because of Derry's run to Sam.  Lavey had been nominated for Ulster but after beating Kingscourt, they surrendered their title to eventual winners Errigal Ciaran. With Derry's team holiday looming, the final needed to be played on St Stephen's Day. (from Derrynow)
Post by: J70 on December 22, 2023, 03:24:04 PM
My favourite holiday by far.

Love the decorations, the tree, the songs, the films, the presents for the kids, the whole thing. Beginning of December, stick on the Phil Spector xmas record, start decorating the house inside and out, then watch the films over the course of the month. Nothing like it...

Only thing I cannot stand is here in the US where Christmas starts at Thanksgiving but then just shudders to a complete and abrupt stop at midnight Christmas night. Lots of people back to work the day after. Pisses me off big time.
Post by: Aristo 60 on December 22, 2023, 03:55:48 PM
I lost my dad on Christmas day, a dear aunt on St Stephen's day and a dear uncle again on St Stephen's day, all in the space of 4 years - so past events will always have a bearing on our thoughts about Christmas. The old saying "sure its for the children" always rings true with me now.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 22, 2023, 04:09:43 PM
Last year of Elf on the f*cking shelf here thank Christ. Plenty that annoys me about it all but still like it/enjoy it come the time

If yous want to kick me out I'll leave quietly. Promise 😀
Post by: gawa316 on December 22, 2023, 04:29:34 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 22, 2023, 04:09:43 PMLast year of Elf on the f*cking shelf here thank Christ.

Same here...I have to do it every night so happy days. Have you any extravagant plans to communicate this to the childer or is he just not coming back next year full stop with no explanation?

The only thing I don't like about Christmas is the usual panic attack from the wife about getting things done or bought. Happens every year and every year everything turns out just fine 
Post by: jcpen on December 22, 2023, 04:46:26 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 22, 2023, 04:09:43 PMLast year of Elf on the f*cking shelf here thank Christ. Plenty that annoys me about it all but still like it/enjoy it come the time

If yous want to kick me out I'll leave quietly. Promise 😀
The time will come when you wish for the days when the kids were small enough for things like Elf on a shelf.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 22, 2023, 04:54:50 PM
Jc pen I agree tbh but the Elf is a right pain in the hole that you just remember about just as yer about to head to bed

Gawa last year of Santa so only fair to tell them that the elf's a pile of balls too. A double whammy lol. Like the time the wife told the eldest about Santa and wee bit about the birds and the bees all on the one day but that's another story 🤣🤣
Post by: burdizzo on December 22, 2023, 05:30:14 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on December 22, 2023, 03:03:14 PMHas there ever been gaa matches on st stephens day did local teams ever play challanges games against each other or something like that.

I think a few years ago Rathdowney and Errill played the Laois Junior C football final on St. Stephen's day. They're joined up for senior hurling, and no one was taking it too seriously, although some of the football heads were giving out that it denigrated the competition.
Post by: bennydorano on December 22, 2023, 06:41:08 PM
If nothing else Christmas breaks up the winter, Winter would be such a long drag of a season without that mental & physical holiday.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 22, 2023, 06:51:25 PM
It's the longest straight run for time off for me, not back till the 3rd, so for me it's the best holiday

That's about it for me

She's stressed out these last few years for stepping up and doing the wider family Xmas dinner! It's fecking nuts on Xmas day and days leading up to it.

I basically stay out of the kitchen

The amount of money spent is horrendous and would easily cover first class flights to a Sandals resort for a week!

I'd rather give the kids £500 quid and move on.

Xmas movies are generally shite and Xmas songs are shite

I only get the tree down and put it back up in the loft when it's done!

I generally put on half a stone and knowing I'll be dieting come January is shite!

That said, my kids (in their 20's)are home and that can't be a bad thing, well, supplementing their activities is a pain too
Post by: AustinPowers on December 22, 2023, 08:51:33 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 22, 2023, 04:54:50 PMJc pen I agree tbh but the Elf is a right pain in the hole that you just remember about just as yer about to head to bed

Gawa last year of Santa so only fair to tell them that the elf's a pile of balls too. A double whammy lol. Like the time the wife told the eldest about Santa and wee bit about the birds and the bees all on the one day but that's another story 🤣🤣

Holy feck ,  she must like traumatising the childer!  :o
Post by: Itchy on December 22, 2023, 09:00:15 PM
What about that Polar Express movie, has anyone ever managed to watch it from start to finish without falling asleep?
Post by: AustinPowers on December 22, 2023, 09:03:11 PM
I've come to  really detest Christmas.  It's just all about the  commercial  side , and the needless money spend is absolutely  ridiculous . And the waste of food , even from the dinner  alone, is  a bloody sin

As for Santa , he's the biggest feckin' con in history. And everyone  is in on it. Personally I'd tell kids  the truth  early on , but I've no kids , so I  suppose that's easy for  me to say

Anyway , I do enjoy  the  winding  down , and I. love my walks at Christmas. Maybe  meeting and talking to folks who are home  for  Christmas while doing so.  I enjoy the calling to  friends and relatives, and  people dropping in.

I don't really attend mass , but  I do enjoy a choir on Christmas Eve , but not enough to get me to go
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 22, 2023, 09:18:09 PM
Quote from: Itchy on December 22, 2023, 02:17:07 PMWith such nice thread in Christmas songs etc it's only fair there is a thread for people like me who hate Christmas.

I hate...

Christmas songs
Christmas movies
Christmas weather
Elf on the f**king Shelf

Am I alone?

Die Hard is a classic in fairness.
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 22, 2023, 09:23:16 PM
I didn't realise how much I love Christmas until this year. We decided to sell our house and move. Between the gigs and the reels we only got our keys yesterday. So no decorations up, no lights on. I walked past neighbours looking enviously at their lights. The Elf can f**k off he never got his foot in my door.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on December 22, 2023, 09:29:58 PM
Quote from: GTP on December 22, 2023, 03:09:19 PMDerry SFC final 1993 - The final was late because of Derry's run to Sam.  Lavey had been nominated for Ulster but after beating Kingscourt, they surrendered their title to eventual winners Errigal Ciaran. With Derry's team holiday looming, the final needed to be played on St Stephen's Day. (from Derrynow)

Aye, the only time we ever reached the final. Played on about two inches of packed snow. Delay was more down to a Ballinderry objection to Newbridge refusing to play a match under lights. But the second bit is true, getting the Derry boys away for the team holiday was the priority.

And the St Paul's minor tournament always worth a visit on St Stephen's Day.
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 22, 2023, 09:44:55 PM
Love Christmas. But starting the elf on a shelf was as big a mistake as I've made. Anyone who hasn't started it. Please, please don't. Not only is it a pain in the a$$, it just makes the older kids question everything more as well. Whoever started it deserves to have 12 branches of Holly rammed where the stars don't sparkle.
Oldest's last year of Santa this year, so she'll be taking on the mantle for the younger two next year. We'll See how fond of it she is then!!
Post by: Brendan on December 22, 2023, 09:50:21 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on December 22, 2023, 09:44:55 PMLove Christmas. But starting the elf on a shelf was as big a mistake as I've made. Anyone who hasn't started it. Please, please don't. Not only is it a pain in the a$$, it just makes the older kids question everything more as well. Whoever started it deserves to have 12 branches of Holly rammed where the stars don't sparkle.
Oldest's last year of Santa this year, so she'll be taking on the mantle for the younger two next year. We'll See how fond of it she is then!!

Any tips on how to avoid starting elf on the shelf, my kids are starting to hear about it at school so may have no option but to do it next year  :o
Post by: trueblue1234 on December 22, 2023, 09:54:13 PM
Quote from: Brendan on December 22, 2023, 09:50:21 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on December 22, 2023, 09:44:55 PMLove Christmas. But starting the elf on a shelf was as big a mistake as I've made. Anyone who hasn't started it. Please, please don't. Not only is it a pain in the a$$, it just makes the older kids question everything more as well. Whoever started it deserves to have 12 branches of Holly rammed where the stars don't sparkle.

Any tips on how to avoid starting elf on the shelf, my kids are starting to hear about it at school so may have no option but to do it next year  :o
Tell them Santa sent a Robin to keep an eye on them instead. Put birdseed out and hope for the best!! 😀
The Robin was what we were told when we were small.
Post by: RedHand88 on December 22, 2023, 10:03:36 PM
Girl I know who works 16 hours a week and partner who doesn't work spent £3000 on presents for their 3 children.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 22, 2023, 10:20:57 PM

Leave as late as possible. Some start dec1 some when tree goes up, not sure of the
"rules". A week is plenty and keep as simple as u can if u can't avoid. Or delegate. Nice one trueblue

Tonite I'm doing Smarty Pants - smarties on a pair of me boxers 😐😆
Post by: AustinPowers on December 22, 2023, 10:36:33 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 22, 2023, 10:03:36 PMGirl I know who works 16 hours a week and partner who doesn't work spent £3000 on presents for their 3 children.

And  did she  agree that she's a tit,  after you  threw the stapler at  her?
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 22, 2023, 10:38:25 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on December 22, 2023, 10:03:36 PMGirl I know who works 16 hours a week and partner who doesn't work spent £3000 on presents for their 3 children.

Sorry, did you mean to type "on ransoms for their 3 kids"?  Only way I can make sense of that.
Post by: marty34 on December 22, 2023, 10:51:07 PM
Don't see much of 'inflation' or 'cost of living crisis' about in fairness.  Shops etc. of all sorts were jam packed this today/evening.

Clearly no cost of living crisis.
Post by: Eire90 on December 23, 2023, 06:30:26 AM
There is always been a cost of living crises for the poor but the middle class might have to pay 5 pound extra for a burger and its a crises with shows on rte
Post by: seafoid on December 23, 2023, 09:48:11 AM
Status only matters to people who don't have it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 23, 2023, 10:48:22 AM
Quote from: seafoid on December 23, 2023, 09:48:11 AM
It is easy to be judgemental of people who apparently spend well beyond their means at Christmas, but for many who do without all year, it is a chance to spoil their family.
Post by: Armagh18 on December 23, 2023, 12:17:06 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on December 23, 2023, 10:48:22 AM
It is easy to be judgemental of people who apparently spend well beyond their means at Christmas, but for many who do without all year, it is a chance to spoil their family.
Must be selling abit of powder or how the hell are they affording that.
Post by: LeoMc on December 23, 2023, 12:29:00 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 22, 2023, 06:41:08 PMIf nothing else Christmas breaks up the winter, Winter would be such a long drag of a season without that mental & physical holiday.

It does that, at least by the time I go back to work in the new year the days are lengthening, if only marginally. It gets you thinking about spring.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on December 23, 2023, 12:38:38 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 23, 2023, 12:17:06 PM

Tony 'its easy to be judgemental".....

Armagh " must be selling bitta powder"......

🤣🤣
Post by: Itchy on December 23, 2023, 12:54:16 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on December 23, 2023, 12:29:00 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on December 22, 2023, 06:41:08 PMIf nothing else Christmas breaks up the winter, Winter would be such a long drag of a season without that mental & physical holiday.

It does that, at least by the time I go back to work in the new year the days are lengthening, if only marginally. It gets you thinking about spring.

So let's keep the holiday days off and get rid of all the other shite
Post by: Eire90 on December 23, 2023, 01:06:52 PM
is boxing day/st stephend day as big as you used to be in terms of people going to pubs and clubs or has it died down the last few years.
Post by: Armagh18 on December 23, 2023, 01:44:49 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on December 23, 2023, 01:06:52 PMis boxing day/st stephend day as big as you used to be in terms of people going to pubs and clubs or has it died down the last few years.
Still mental as far as I can see.
Post by: Itchy on December 23, 2023, 02:03:57 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 23, 2023, 01:44:49 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on December 23, 2023, 01:06:52 PMis boxing day/st stephend day as big as you used to be in terms of people going to pubs and clubs or has it died down the last few years.
Still mental as far as I can see.

Dont really know as I avoid days like that like the plague. Same for St Patrick's day
Post by: ONeill on December 23, 2023, 07:56:38 PM
Christmas for me is eating them cheese balls, cockles in vinegar, and doing a jigsaw. Jesus himself was a fan of all 3.
Post by: Aaron Boone on December 23, 2023, 09:58:12 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on December 22, 2023, 09:54:13 PM

Tell them Santa sent a Robin to keep an eye on them instead. Put birdseed out and hope for the best!! 😀

There are plenty of suggestions on Facebook. Where he throws toilet roll down the stairs for example, or ends up in the fridge or outside on the car. But it's 23 or 24 days in December so simple moving him around the house works.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 24, 2023, 01:06:18 AM
Missed all that shite
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 24, 2023, 01:13:52 AM
I fell out with Christmas when I was a teenager because the magic had gone. It took a while to grow on me again, and it's back in my good books again. Having kids helps.
Post by: whitey on December 24, 2023, 02:31:18 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on December 23, 2023, 09:58:12 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on December 22, 2023, 09:54:13 PM

There are plenty of suggestions on Facebook. Where he throws toilet roll down the stairs for example, or ends up in the fridge or outside on the car. But it's 23 or 24 days in December so simple moving him around the house works.

Our Elf has been a resident of the top of the Christmas Tree since day one.

Tell them every elf is different....."ours like to be on top of the tree, so he can look out the window and see whats happening in the neighborhood"

Post by: gawa316 on December 24, 2023, 04:29:59 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on December 23, 2023, 12:38:38 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on December 23, 2023, 12:17:06 PM

Tony 'its easy to be judgemental".....

Armagh " must be selling bitta powder"......

🤣🤣

🤣
Post by: Itchy on December 25, 2023, 11:54:23 AM
Happy Christmas  ;D

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/for-364-days-youve-been-avoiding-these-tossers-and-then-you-have-to-buy-them-a-present-pj-gallagher-on-why-he-hates-christmas/a267686708.html
Post by: seafoid on December 25, 2023, 02:01:38 PM
Poor Enoch Burke is in prison for Christmas
Post by: Itchy on December 25, 2023, 03:06:49 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 25, 2023, 02:01:38 PMPoor Enoch Burke is in prison for Christmas

Well there's always that to cheer me up
Post by: Blowitupref on December 25, 2023, 03:28:19 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 25, 2023, 02:01:38 PMPoor Enoch Burke is in prison for Christmas
I see Enoch's family members wouldn't allow former Mayo footballer now Fine Gael politician Alan Dillon to go about his Tesco Christmas shopping in peace in Castlebar recently.
Post by: Itchy on December 25, 2023, 04:05:01 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on December 25, 2023, 03:28:19 PM
I see Enoch's family members wouldn't allow former Mayo footballer now Fine Gael politician Alan Dillon to go about his Tesco Christmas shopping in peace in Castlebar recently.

He should've laid the first one of them out with a good shoulder and drove his trolley over them.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 25, 2023, 04:40:14 PM
Some walk that poor old Joseph and Mary had to make.

(https://scontent.fdub6-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/412649839_6975952445852751_5775125880250984963_n.jpg?_nc_cat=108&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=c42490&_nc_ohc=rs8Dm55oR2EAX_icz7x&_nc_ht=scontent.fdub6-1.fna&oh=00_AfCk492KW-LJkF1fgQgRkkLYTfaXDEFHo_m2R5ZQi6o9Rw&oe=658F8428)

Post by: Tony Baloney on December 25, 2023, 10:27:51 PM
Haven't seen a "the boy done well" in years. Has it been cancelled?
Post by: marty34 on December 25, 2023, 10:43:39 PM
Isn't it ironic we're at Christmas and what's happening in that part of the Middle East?
Post by: Itchy on December 25, 2023, 11:24:44 PM
Mrs Brown's Boys - I rest my case
Post by: AustinPowers on December 26, 2023, 08:53:36 PM
People  putting up  multiple  Christmas trees...... What's that all about?

Why has everyone turned  into the Griswald's?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2023, 08:10:21 PM
Wife is determined to get this tree worth (in sale) at £299....

Thinks it's a bargain!! Fecking nuts, current tree is fine..

This bargain is already decorated with lights... a job that takes her 15 minutes to do with the current one after I get it outta the loft.

Cost of living crisis my arse
Post by: Rois on December 27, 2023, 08:15:17 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2023, 08:10:21 PMWife is determined to get this tree worth (in sale) at £299....

This bargain is already decorated with lights... a job that takes her 15 minutes to do with the current one after I get it outta the loft.

Tell me more about the tree...
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2023, 08:18:52 PM
Quote from: Rois on December 27, 2023, 08:15:17 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2023, 08:10:21 PMWife is determined to get this tree worth (in sale) at £299....

Tell me more about the tree...

In fairness if it looks anything and does what it says on the box it's a life time tree lol
Post by: clarshack on December 31, 2023, 08:53:01 PM
Love Christmas but Hate New Year's Eve. Where's that thread!
Post by: bennydorano on December 31, 2023, 09:08:02 PM
Millennium ruined NYE for so many people,  wonder do younger generations think its any better? Thought it was shit pre Millennium tbf
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 31, 2023, 09:36:08 PM
Drove through Armagh at 8pm and it was like a ghost town (more so than usual!). Anybody wise is in the house.
Post by: clarshack on January 01, 2024, 01:35:12 AM
Didn't see Jools Holland's Mug or had to listen to that Auld Lang Syne bollocks so overall a win...
Post by: AustinPowers on January 01, 2024, 01:57:36 AM
Another New years eve  comes and goes , and   I blatantly  refuse  to utter  those three words yet again

never liked the  new year.  Always thought it was  a hyped up load of bollix

Judging by  reports,  more people are  thinking the same
Post by: seafoid on January 01, 2024, 04:59:27 PM
New Year can be hard for people grieving or remembering those who have gone . It extends time and also poses difficult questions about achievements and life in general. It's not all beer and skittles. I like it because the intercounty system is around the corner. 
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2024, 05:08:37 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on January 01, 2024, 01:57:36 AMAnother New years eve  comes and goes , and   I blatantly  refuse  to utter  those three words yet again

What grinds my gears is people saying "Happy New Year" still in the middle of January. I'm dreading the next few weeks. Might just avoid eye contact in the office, or not go in at all the more of that.
Post by: Norm-Peterson on January 04, 2024, 01:03:16 PM

If that is the case then why do all the wealthy people in Irish society live in big houses and drive expensive cars if they don't care about status?
I am a low status man who doesn't care about status. I spend less than £50 on Christmas gifts (I don't have kids obviously)
Post by: Norm-Peterson on January 04, 2024, 01:05:42 PM
I am a fan of the first 2 Home Alone movies so I don't mind Christmas although I watch them in the spring/summer too. I am not of fan of Elf which seems to have become a classic.
Post by: balladmaker on January 04, 2024, 01:38:34 PM
Maybe it's the time of year for reflection, but I've noticed an increase in people talking to their deceased relatives in the first person via Facebook.  Haven't seen any replies yet from the other side.
Post by: AustinPowers on January 04, 2024, 03:40:06 PM
Quote from: Norm-Peterson on January 04, 2024, 01:05:42 PMI am a fan of the first 2 Home Alone movies so I don't mind Christmas although I watch them in the spring/summer too. I am not of fan of Elf which seems to have become a classic.

Ah you can't  not  watch  the first two Home Alone's if they're on.  Back to the future the  same. Never found Elf in any way  funny though.
Post by: Taylor on January 04, 2024, 03:46:56 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on January 04, 2024, 03:40:06 PM
Quote from: Norm-Peterson on January 04, 2024, 01:05:42 PMI am a fan of the first 2 Home Alone movies so I don't mind Christmas although I watch them in the spring/summer too. I am not of fan of Elf which seems to have become a classic.

Ah you can't  not  watch  the first two Home Alone's if they're on.  Back to the future the  same. Never found Elf in any way  funny though.

Saw the first Home Alone. Havent seen the second one, or BTTF or Elf.
Post by: Puckoon on January 04, 2024, 04:40:16 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 02, 2024, 05:08:37 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on January 01, 2024, 01:57:36 AMAnother New years eve  comes and goes , and   I blatantly  refuse  to utter  those three words yet again

What grinds my gears is people saying "Happy New Year" still in the middle of January. I'm dreading the next few weeks. Might just avoid eye contact in the office, or not go in at all the more of that.

Why? What's the bother? It's just a type of greeting - recognizing a new calendar year
Post by: Itchy on January 04, 2024, 04:49:21 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 04, 2024, 04:40:16 PM

Why? What's the bother? It's just a type of greeting - recognizing a new calendar year

I hate it too, especially when someone says it to me and I feel compelled to say it back to them. Its because I am a miserable bastard really.
Post by: Puckoon on January 04, 2024, 05:12:33 PM
Fair enough. Self Awareness is important.
Post by: AustinPowers on January 04, 2024, 06:30:44 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 04, 2024, 04:49:21 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 04, 2024, 04:40:16 PM

I hate it too, especially when someone says it to me and I feel compelled to say it back to them. Its because I am a miserable bastard really.

I just can't utter   Those  three words.   "Same to you" is all  anyone gets from me.

It must not be uttered, a bit  like the  Scottish play or "he who must  not be named" in Harry Potter. 
Post by: Itchy on January 04, 2024, 08:56:17 PM
Anyway thank f**k Christmas is over and the New Year too. 😂
Post by: ONeill on January 04, 2024, 11:39:27 PM
Quote from: balladmaker on January 04, 2024, 01:38:34 PMMaybe it's the time of year for reflection, but I've noticed an increase in people talking to their deceased relatives in the first person via Facebook.  Haven't seen any replies yet from the other side.

Ach they haven't invented Facebook yet in the other side. You'd think Jobs would be on the case although you've no idea I suppose where he went.