Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: joemamas on July 20, 2023, 03:40:34 PM

Title: US tourist (50s) fighting for life after ‘unprovoked’ gang attack in Dublin:
Post by: joemamas on July 20, 2023, 03:40:34 PM
How terrible and disgusting is this.
What kind of people are Ireland turning out.
As a fairly regular visitor 3x4 times a year,
I have always watched my bearings and socialized between two or three pubs close to Stephens Green area where I usually stay.
This is just simply unacceptable.
Last year I was walking around Stephens Green on a Sunday morning for some exercise at around 11am, Three or four dirt bags out of their mind waiting for a Luas were physicially confronting people who were just out casually walking.
I actually looked for a guard to alert them before something bad happened, I had to walk half way down Grafton St, to find some. In fairness they did go up there to check it out.
All the politicians will be out no doubt screaming about it.
I wonder how many Guards were recruited over past 5 years relative to how many retired.
How many of these politicians vigorousley supported hiring more.
most rural towns don't even have a full time guard.
Title: Re: US tourist (50s) fighting for life after ‘unprovoked’ gang attack in Dublin:
Post by: Kidder81 on July 20, 2023, 03:47:05 PM
Think he was staying close to Connolly station, goes without saying not a great spot.
Title: Re: US tourist (50s) fighting for life after ‘unprovoked’ gang attack in Dublin:
Post by: Eire90 on July 20, 2023, 04:16:44 PM
ohhhhhhhhhh and where is the ira nowhere and wheres the likes of o dywer he will only say anything if its foreigners,
Post by: Eamonnca1 on July 20, 2023, 04:25:20 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 20, 2023, 03:47:05 PM
Think he was staying close to Connolly station, goes without saying not a great spot.

The area around a major transport terminal like that should be a safe place to walk about.
Post by: Kidder81 on July 20, 2023, 04:26:03 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on July 20, 2023, 04:25:20 PM

The area around a major transport terminal like that should be a safe place to walk about.

It's not
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 20, 2023, 04:30:31 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 20, 2023, 04:26:03 PM

It's not

Is there not a cop shop besides the bus station?
Post by: trailer on July 20, 2023, 04:34:05 PM
Hard to love Dublin. Everything costs a fortune. O'Connell street is a no go area. Lots of undesirables. Wee bit like NYC and Times Square in the 80s & 90s. Does Dublin have a Mayor? What is his or her role and responsibilities? Hard to eradicate crime but tourist spots should be free of litter, piss and crime.
Post by: clarshack on July 20, 2023, 04:51:14 PM
is there a bigger kip in Europe?
Post by: Eire90 on July 20, 2023, 05:10:34 PM
is anywhere safe in dublin  maybe where politicians live
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 20, 2023, 06:08:35 PM
I do have to wade in there and mention the dump that is, Larne.
Post by: J70 on July 20, 2023, 06:13:37 PM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 20, 2023, 04:26:03 PM

It's not

That whole area was no-go back when I lived in Dublin in the 90s. Did Sheriff St miss out on the gentrification?
Post by: Kidder81 on July 20, 2023, 06:27:23 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on July 20, 2023, 06:08:35 PM
I do have to wade in there and mention the dump that is, Larne.

Can't imagine Larne is a tourist hotspot like Dublin
Post by: thebigfella on July 20, 2023, 06:56:05 PM
Quote from: trailer on July 20, 2023, 04:34:05 PM
Hard to love Dublin. Everything costs a fortune. O'Connell street is a no go area. Lots of undesirables. Wee bit like NYC and Times Square in the 80s & 90s. Does Dublin have a Mayor? What is his or her role and responsibilities? Hard to eradicate crime but tourist spots should be free of litter, piss and crime.

Pure hyperbole
Post by: whitey on July 20, 2023, 07:09:41 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on July 20, 2023, 06:56:05 PM

Pure hyperbole

In 2019 I went on the open top tour bus that picks up in front of the Gresham

We were super early so got to observe the goings on

Needless to say, upon return we jumped into the first taxi we could get and got the hell out of there

Post by: RedHand88 on July 20, 2023, 07:38:37 PM

Pure hyperbole

Not hyperbole. Its desperate got.
Post by: JoG2 on July 20, 2023, 07:50:00 PM
Just had a quick scan online there. Jurys Inn hotels in Dublin coming in at £600+ for a double for this Fri and Sat . London has plenty of similar or 4* hotels in or around the £300 / £350 mark.
Have a family member who spent the 4 years in Dublin before relocating to London about a year ago, they couldn't get over how much better value everything was in London, accommodation, travel, earing out, beer etc...

All sporting and concerts in the capital, we drive down and straight home after. I don't actually know anyone who's booked a hotel in Dublin in the last year or 2
Post by: clarshack on July 20, 2023, 08:03:33 PM

Pure hyperbole

It really isn't.
Post by: clarshack on July 20, 2023, 08:06:48 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 20, 2023, 07:50:00 PM
Just had a quick scan online there. Jurys Inn hotels in Dublin coming in at £600+ for a double for this Fri and Sat . London has plenty of similar or 4* hotels in or around the £300 / £350 mark.
Have a family member who spent the 4 years in Dublin before relocating to London about a year ago, they couldn't get over how much better value everything was in London, accommodation, travel, earing out, beer etc...

All sporting and concerts in the capital, we drive down and straight home after. I don't actually know anyone who's booked a hotel in Dublin in the last year or 2

At least in London too you can go to any amount of Premier League games.
What has Dublin got to offer?

Even going to a game in Croke Park and staying over is more expensive than going to Glasgow and staying over for a Celtic game.

The hurling teams aren't even staying in Dublin for the final this weekend.
Post by: snoopdog on July 20, 2023, 08:26:52 PM
I've lived in Dublin since the mid 90s. O connell street and all those off it are shitholes. I'd steer clear of that area. It's always been that way. I can't understand why tourists come to Dublin it's just another bland city. With the same shops as anyother. The guinness brewery tour is dreadful.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 20, 2023, 10:36:24 PM
Just coming home after a few quiet ones and Gardaí patrolling D1 like mad.

But f**k me. Talbot St is a daytime shooting gallery. Young lads are running around trying to fight people.
But that's all OK until a tourist is attacked.

Post by: whitey on July 20, 2023, 10:52:41 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 20, 2023, 10:36:24 PM
Just coming home after a few quiet ones and Gardaí patrolling D1 like mad.

But f**k me. Talbot St is a daytime shooting gallery. Young lads are running around trying to fight people.
But that's all OK until a tourist is attacked.

If Tourism is your biggest industry.......
Post by: BrotherMore6592 on July 20, 2023, 10:55:11 PM
I lived in Dublin for 4 years until recently  and still be down every week for work

The majority of the city centre smells like piss or other repugnant smell

Walking from Connolly to the quays is actually the worst I've ever seen for human / dog faeces , I took a video one day it's EVERYWHERE. Shite all over the streets. DCC get away with murder

Dublin isn't friendly at all either. The rest of Ireland generally is friendly and lives up to our reputation.
Post by: Gold on July 20, 2023, 11:16:36 PM
Worked there 4 yrs, lived off Portland Row, D1

Can't tell ya the amount of stories I have. Walking to work 1 day up Eean McDermott Street towards O connell Street (runs up the side of the Gresham and walked upon a man lying holding his recently stabbed stomach (at 730am). Called an ambulance and the Guards.....no idea if he lived, I highly doubt it.

Hated sunny days as it brought more heroin addicts out on the street, shooting up on doorsteps etc.

I could go on but can't be bothered

Castle Street in Belfast not much better, if at all,  ashithole. Its only a matter of time before a tourist/worker/shopper is stabbed to death by some junkie there
Post by: From the Bunker on July 21, 2023, 12:04:52 AM
Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on July 20, 2023, 11:32:47 PM
Quote from: Gold on July 20, 2023, 11:16:36 PM
Worked there 4 yrs, lived off Portland Row, D1

Can't tell ya the amount of stories I have. Walking to work 1 day up Eean McDermott Street towards O connell Street (runs up the side of the Gresham and walked upon a man lying holding his recently stabbed stomach (at 730am). Called an ambulance and the Guards.....no idea if he lived, I highly doubt it.

Hated sunny days as it brought more heroin addicts out on the street, shooting up on doorsteps etc.

I could go on but can't be bothered

Castle Street in Belfast not much better, if at all,  ashithole. Its only a matter of time before a tourist/worker/shopper is stabbed to death by some junkie there
Keats and Yeats are on your side.

While Wilde is on mine
Post by: screenexile on July 21, 2023, 01:22:25 AM
Quote from: JoG2 on July 20, 2023, 07:50:00 PM

Staying in Jurys in for £250 for a double room on Saturday and booked 3 weeks ago so it's not just as bad as above.

Stayed in Manchester last week in the Marriot a family room (Thursday night to be fair) cost £110 for the night for 4 of us!

That's true enough about O'Connell St and the Quays. I wouldn't say a no go zone but you wouldn't want to be there too late in the evening.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 21, 2023, 02:42:07 AM
Just wondering why 'unprovoked' is in quotation marks in the thread title? Is there some doubt about what happened?
Post by: RedHand88 on July 21, 2023, 06:39:00 AM
Few years ago I parked the car in a side street off Henry Street one evening after work. I happened to be wearing a blue shirt and tie that day. Got out of the car and started walking up the street where two lads were shooting up. They saw the blue shirt and ran, obviously assuming I was Gardai. Obviously they didn't realise it was a northern reg car.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2023, 07:09:47 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 21, 2023, 06:39:00 AM
Few years ago I parked the car in a side street off Henry Street one evening after work. I happened to be wearing a blue shirt and tie that day. Got out of the car and started walking up the street where two lads were shooting up. They saw the blue shirt and ran, obviously assuming I was Gardai. Obviously they didn't realise it was a northern reg car.

Didn't have you down as a 'blue shirt'
Post by: RedHand88 on July 21, 2023, 08:05:54 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2023, 07:09:47 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 21, 2023, 06:39:00 AM

Didn't have you down as a 'blue shirt'

Too easy!
Post by: trailer on July 21, 2023, 09:03:20 AM

Pure hyperbole

Absolutely not. The last time I walked down it we were staying in The Gresham with the kids and some friends from America. Homeless, Drug addicts, stench of piss, litter strewn everywhere and the line at the GPO for I assume food parcels. It was early evening 5pm or so and we felt genuinely unsafe.
Post by: thebigfella on July 21, 2023, 09:30:15 AM
Quote from: trailer on July 21, 2023, 09:03:20 AM

Pure hyperbole

Absolutely not. The last time I walked down it we were staying in The Gresham with the kids and some friends from America. Homeless, Drug addicts, stench of piss, litter strewn everywhere and the line at the GPO for I assume food parcels. It was early evening 5pm or so and we felt genuinely unsafe.

Sorry that made you feel unsafe  ::)
Post by: Eire90 on July 21, 2023, 09:54:14 AM
looks like another assault in galway yesterday https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/2023/07/20/galway-assault-leaves-man-in-critical-condition-in-dublin-hospital/

the countrys a joke
Post by: Eire90 on July 21, 2023, 09:56:30 AM
its funny how the so called patriots of ireland are fine home grown with military aged men selling drugs
Post by: trailer on July 21, 2023, 10:54:49 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on July 21, 2023, 09:30:15 AM

Pure hyperbole

Don't be a w**ker.
Post by: thebigfella on July 21, 2023, 11:39:28 AM
Quote from: trailer on July 21, 2023, 10:54:49 AM

Pure hyperbole

Don't be a w**ker.

::)  ;D

Someone called you out and that's the best you can come up with.
Post by: Sonny Joe on July 21, 2023, 11:46:46 AM
no, your just being a w**ker.
Post by: thebigfella on July 21, 2023, 11:55:31 AM
Quote from: Sonny Joe on July 21, 2023, 11:46:46 AM
no, your just being a w**ker.

I see you logged in from one of your other accounts.
Post by: Eire90 on July 21, 2023, 02:03:51 PM
https://www.galwaybeo.ie/news/galway-news/galway-city-assault-video-shows-8617780
Post by: trailer on July 21, 2023, 02:44:32 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on July 21, 2023, 11:39:28 AM
Quote from: trailer on July 21, 2023, 10:54:49 AM

Pure hyperbole

Don't be a w**ker.

::)  ;D

Someone called you out and that's the best you can come up with.

Yes. That wasn't what made it feel unsafe. But you knew that. You just choose that. I think it makes you come across as a w**ker.

Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 21, 2023, 02:46:18 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on July 21, 2023, 02:03:51 PM
https://www.galwaybeo.ie/news/galway-news/galway-city-assault-video-shows-8617780

Was it local lads or ones down for a stag or something?

Kicking people in the head is horrendous but those recording it and not even just phoning the cops, need a good few nights in the cells
Post by: full moon on July 21, 2023, 03:34:22 PM
Galway one seems particularly brutal some idiot videoed it laughing and joking.

Not much talk about it though in comparison. Anything in Dublin gets more media and it seems with tourists. Mind there was a man stabbed multiple times yesterday in Castleknock and not much about it either.
Post by: highorlow on July 21, 2023, 04:31:58 PM
Quotelooks like another assault in galway yesterday https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/2023/07/20/galway-assault-leaves-man-in-critical-condition-in-dublin-hospital/

the countrys a joke

I hung around Galway after the salthill match earlier in the summer. It too is heading downhill. A lot of "new Irish" gangs hanging around eyre square looking for trouble.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2023, 04:44:39 PM
Quote from: highorlow on July 21, 2023, 04:31:58 PM
Quotelooks like another assault in galway yesterday https://www.irishtimes.com/crime-law/2023/07/20/galway-assault-leaves-man-in-critical-condition-in-dublin-hospital/

the countrys a joke

I hung around Galway after the salthill match earlier in the summer. It too is heading downhill. A lot of "new Irish" gangs hanging around eyre square looking for trouble.
Now now don't be racist. You're not allowed to call this out. Turn the other cheek. Welcome everyone with open arms.
Post by: whitey on July 21, 2023, 04:52:27 PM

Pure hyperbole

I've told the story before about the time we were waiting for the tour bus outside the Gresham and a well to do American Couple came out of the hotel-you could actually see their jaws drop at the scene that was unfolding before their eyes
Post by: Kidder81 on July 21, 2023, 05:06:42 PM

the countrys a joke

Think there is footage of a gang of "new Irish" cornering and giving a man a bad doing in Galway a few weeks ago
Post by: thewobbler on July 21, 2023, 05:08:02 PM
For the past decade, outside of Croke, my only visits to Dublin are a couple of times a year, for work. It's always the same walk, from Connolly down to Upper Abbey St. And it's so notable just how run down this stretch had become over that decade. Homeless, drug-addled zombies either roaming slowly, or foaming at the mouth, in their shop-front beds. Litter everywhere.

I'm just a rural lad so you can call this hyperbole. I don't mind. But I'm not a worrying type, yet as a city it's not somewhere I'd want to take my family. They're better off not knowing about this type of world.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2023, 07:11:18 PM
I'm Portugal at the minute and we met a lovely Canadian couple yesterday and they have Ireland and Scotland on the to do list as family from both places etc. You know the score. They asked me about Ireland and I told them not to bother. No guarantee of decent weather, expensive, they'll get ripped off in Dingle and others. Told them if they did insist on going, to fly into Dublin, go for a pint in the centre and leave straight after.
Post by: AustinPowers on July 21, 2023, 08:13:47 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 21, 2023, 07:11:18 PM
I'm Portugal at the minute and we met a lovely Canadian couple yesterday and they have Ireland and Scotland on the to do list as family from both places etc. You know the score. They asked me about Ireland and I told them not to bother. No guarantee of decent weather, expensive, they'll get ripped off in Dingle and others. Told them if they did insist on going, to fly into Dublin, go for a pint in the centre and leave straight after.

That's a good    sell!   ;D Although strange you'd tell them to go to Dublin  centre, then piss  off.  I'd tell people to  stay well clear of it

I wouldn't want  to holiday anywhere else but in  Ireland.  I've been  around most of it , and I've so much still I want to  see and do . And You  don't always have to  pay the inflated prices for hotels, food etc.  There are other  options.  You can eat  on a budget
Post by: imtommygunn on July 21, 2023, 09:18:18 PM
Ireland and Scotland are as good as anywhere to holiday. Only prohibitive thing is price though.

Dublin is not an option any more as far as I am concerned as the prices are ridiculous. Plenty of other places though.
Post by: WT4E on July 21, 2023, 11:02:28 PM
They keep the addicts and undesirables in D1 and OConnell Street so as not to annoy the guys sipping appletinis on Baggott Street and Camden Street.

However I did notice that Green Luas line got a little more animated when they sort of joined it with the red a few years back. U use to here alot of rugger bugger talk and the guys closing deals on apple earpods back in the good old days but when I jumped on and spotted two lads on the green line with a plactic bag of water ordering their heroin on a Nokia 3210 I knew at that point the transport authority had made a BIG mistake.
Post by: Eire90 on July 22, 2023, 05:29:05 AM
politicians only speaking out as terrified of investment pulling out
Post by: RedHand88 on July 22, 2023, 07:47:47 AM
Quote from: Kidder81 on July 21, 2023, 05:06:42 PM

the countrys a joke

Think there is footage of a gang of "new Irish" cornering and giving a man a bad doing in Galway a few weeks ago

No need to specify new Irish when there are plenty of old Irish at the exact same craic, and always have been.
When the old Irish murder each other and leave body parts in sports bags it's a meme, but when new Irish attack someone its seen as the downfall of civilised ireland. Why is this?
Post by: burdizzo on July 22, 2023, 08:06:46 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 22, 2023, 07:47:47 AM

the countrys a joke

No need to specify new Irish when there are plenty of old Irish at the exact same craic, and always have been.
When the old Irish murder each other and leave body parts in sports bags it's a meme, but when new Irish attack someone its seen as the downfall of civilised ireland. Why is this?

No one should shit on the carpet, but it's marginally more acceptable for a member of the household to do it, than for a stranger to wander in off the street and do it.
"New Irish" is, in reality, a euphemism for "not Irish".
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 22, 2023, 09:19:38 AM
Quote from: burdizzo on July 22, 2023, 08:06:46 AM

the countrys a joke

No one should shit on the carpet, but it's marginally more acceptable for a member of the household to do it, than for a stranger to wander in off the street and do it.
"New Irish" is, in reality, a euphemism for "not Irish".
Sh*te smells the same no matter who did it.
Post by: Itchy on July 22, 2023, 10:14:19 AM
A few facts

Dublin is a shithole, it always has been. O Connell street was a shithole in the 90s too when I went to college down there. The area around Connolly station was always dodgy.

There aren't enough gardai but the ones we have are useless and you'll be lucky if you call them and then bother to turn up.

Oh, and it's definitely all Sinn Feins fault and foreigners too.
Post by: clarshack on July 22, 2023, 10:51:12 AM
No mention of Helen McEntee here? when it's clear that the woman is completely out of her depth as Justice Minister in the South. She seems more concerned about people saying hurty words on the Internet than tackling actual crime like what happened to the poor American fella.
Post by: Eire90 on July 22, 2023, 10:55:31 AM
the garda would soon turn up if they seen hundreds marching into the areas where tds live
Post by: Hound on July 22, 2023, 11:13:47 AM
Dublin 2, 4, 5 and 6 are generally lovely places for walking around, eating, drinking. Lots of really nice areas. But steer clear of Temple Bar (prices) and D1 and D3 (kips)
Post by: marty34 on July 22, 2023, 11:17:23 AM
Quote from: Itchy on July 22, 2023, 10:14:19 AM
A few facts

Dublin is a shithole, it always has been. O Connell street was a shithole in the 90s too when I went to college down there. The area around Connolly station was always dodgy.

There aren't enough gardai but the ones we have are useless and you'll be lucky if you call them and then bother to turn up.

Oh, and it's definitely all Sinn Feins fault and foreigners too.

Gardaí are powerless.  Sure weren't they attacked and made fun of in some estate in Dublin last year. If they gave one of the young teenagers a slap, they'd be in court.

Society has changed.  It's now the tail wagging the dog unfortunately.
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on July 22, 2023, 11:39:22 AM
One of the ways to clean up Dublin city would be to have a Garda force more empowered to dish out a bit of justice to trouble makers.
In most European countries the police don't tolerate roaming zombies, beggars and junkies.

Would we be willing to accept Gardai getting tougher and using the baton, pepper spray and tasers a bit more generously?
It would upset the civil liberties and the NGO industry, but I suspect the silent majority would be fine with it.
Post by: Rossfan on July 22, 2023, 11:41:42 AM
I'd say Osgur Breathnach and many others might just have a little problem with that.
Post by: Cyril Farrell fan on July 22, 2023, 11:54:37 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 22, 2023, 11:41:42 AM
I'd say Osgur Breathnach and many others might just have a little problem with that.

Why, was he a junkie causing a nuisance on Talbot Street?
Post by: Itchy on July 22, 2023, 04:48:57 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on July 22, 2023, 10:55:31 AM
the garda would soon turn up if they seen hundreds marching into the areas where tds live

Saw about 50 of them at an eviction few weeks ago, a useless shower of pricks
Post by: joemamas on July 22, 2023, 05:02:46 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 22, 2023, 04:48:57 PM

I am certain there are some assholes on the force, but do you think 50 of them showed up voluntarily.
Post by: joemamas on July 22, 2023, 05:04:17 PM
read this on the news
"Gardaí believe the teenager is part of a group involved in other attacks in the area in recent weeks and months."
Please tell me that if true, that when arrested these dirtbags will not be given bail.
Post by: Itchy on July 22, 2023, 05:20:39 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 22, 2023, 05:02:46 PM

I am certain there are some assholes on the force, but do you think 50 of them showed up voluntarily.

I am speaking generally about the force

A friend of mine was getting threatening phone calls from a man, threatening to call to her house and harm her. Rang Garda station where Sargent told her that was a civil matter (which it's not) and refused to even go and talk to the guy making the calls. So many of them wouldn't even run a lap of a pitch. Youre aswel to deal with stuff yourself rather than call them
Post by: Eire90 on July 22, 2023, 08:11:23 PM
footage of a teenage gang breaking into car going around i bet o dwyer wont open his fat mouth about that.
Post by: Eire90 on July 22, 2023, 08:30:33 PM
helen mcentee in a photo op saying streets are safe with garda protection
Post by: Space Cadet on July 23, 2023, 04:31:05 AM

the countrys a joke

The Scissor Sisters murdered one of the new Irish actually, poor Farah Swaleh Noor if memory serves me right, a Kenyan who claimed to be Somali to get asylum and went on to commit numerous crimes including raping an underage girl with autism. Not a case I'd be quoting in defence of the new Irish.
Post by: Eire90 on July 23, 2023, 12:37:02 PM
wasnt there more outrage after some cocaine snorting socialite  died before.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 23, 2023, 04:21:08 PM
I walk home that way a lot and the lads out of their head are tragic cases. But they rarely cause aggro.
As is the case in the tourist it's usually young lads who are the danger.

Post by: clarshack on July 23, 2023, 04:24:11 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on July 23, 2023, 12:37:02 PM
wasnt there more outrage after some cocaine snorting socialite  died before.

Katy French?
Post by: highorlow on July 23, 2023, 10:06:30 PM
QuoteI walk home that way a lot and the lads out of their head are tragic cases. But they rarely cause aggro.
As is the case in the tourist it's usually young lads who are the danger.

Ya, the yellowheads are so fucked up they are harmless. The guards have got complacent and aren't policing the young lads. Back before video phones they'd have gotten timber from the guards and that might have reformed them, can't use timber anymore though.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on July 24, 2023, 11:13:41 AM
Quote from: joemamas on July 22, 2023, 05:02:46 PM

But it says a lot about priorities. Aren't enough Gardai no notice a fella getting stomped literally beside the biggest Garda station in the country, but always have the units to squash anything left leaning.

A rumour is doing the rounds that this yoith is prime suspect in the maiming of the Ukrainian actor a few weeks ago. Cops apparently looking into his relationship with the anti immigration cesspit.
Post by: Itchy on July 24, 2023, 06:29:22 PM
Meanwhile, Gardai take down major drugs fiend in Laois...

https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/crime---court/1254552/convicted-of-having-10-of-cannabis-in-portlaoise.html
Post by: Itchy on July 24, 2023, 06:32:09 PM
Quote from: Space Cadet on July 23, 2023, 04:31:05 AM

the countrys a joke

The Scissor Sisters murdered one of the new Irish actually, poor Farah Swaleh Noor if memory serves me right, a Kenyan who claimed to be Somali to get asylum and went on to commit numerous crimes including raping an underage girl with autism. Not a case I'd be quoting in defence of the new Irish.

Should you not be out looking for your gold bar
Post by: Rossfan on July 24, 2023, 06:53:32 PM
 :D ;D

Littler's gold.
I wonder what foreign loony right organisation gave it to them ?
Post by: burdizzo on July 24, 2023, 07:48:19 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 24, 2023, 06:29:22 PM
Meanwhile, Gardai take down major drugs fiend in Laois...

https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/crime---court/1254552/convicted-of-having-10-of-cannabis-in-portlaoise.html

Relevant.
Post by: clarshack on July 25, 2023, 09:41:43 AM
another attack in Dublin city centre:

https://twitter.com/padraig_reilly/status/1683550781646024707?s=20

https://twitter.com/padraig_reilly/status/1683580429444562948?s=20
Post by: trailer on July 25, 2023, 10:27:48 AM
Quote from: clarshack on July 25, 2023, 09:41:43 AM

Awful.
It does feel as if we are at a tipping point here. The public do seem to be at their wits ends. You'd imagine there will be a huge response from the Guards and others.
These scrotes who's grandparents are in their 30s need dealt with. Generational wasters. They are beyond help.
Post by: Itchy on July 25, 2023, 01:45:51 PM
Quote from: trailer on July 25, 2023, 10:27:48 AM
Quote from: clarshack on July 25, 2023, 09:41:43 AM

Awful.
It does feel as if we are at a tipping point here. The public do seem to be at their wits ends. You'd imagine there will be a huge response from the Guards and others.
These scrotes who's grandparents are in their 30s need dealt with. Generational wasters. They are beyond help.

I am old enough to remember when the people marched on the houses of drug dealers back in the day in the inner city, maybe its time for that again as the Gardai will do nothing.
Post by: highorlow on July 25, 2023, 05:52:42 PM
https://extra.ie/2023/07/25/news/irish-news/man-assault-robbery-luas-dublin

It's like the Wild West
Post by: Itchy on July 26, 2023, 10:52:02 AM
You got to love the complete lack of self awareness of yanks...

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/us-embassy-warns-citizens-to-keep-a-low-profile-on-dublin-streets-as-leo-varadkar-admits-garda-recruitment-target-is-very-hard/a1910479577.html

Maybe we should warn out citizens of the dangers of even going to school in the USA.
Post by: Rossfan on July 26, 2023, 11:28:00 AM
We need to keep unvetted Yanks of military age out of the Country because they will murder our schoolchildren.
Post by: clarshack on July 26, 2023, 12:13:43 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 26, 2023, 10:52:02 AM

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/us-embassy-warns-citizens-to-keep-a-low-profile-on-dublin-streets-as-leo-varadkar-admits-garda-recruitment-target-is-very-hard/a1910479577.html

Maybe we should warn out citizens of the dangers of even going to school in the USA.

It's embarrassing either way. For the Americans to be worried about safety somewhere else but also for the Irish that Dublin is now being recognised Internationally as a dangerous city.
Post by: whitey on July 26, 2023, 02:25:21 PM
Quote from: clarshack on July 26, 2023, 12:13:43 PM

It's embarrassing either way. For the Americans to be worried about safety somewhere else but also for the Irish that Dublin is now being recognised Internationally as a dangerous city.

I don't know what prompted the "alert" but I would imagine the embassy was inundated with calls from people with trips planned asking if it was safe to travel

I wouldn't look too much into it TBH

The State Dept issue all types of advisories all the time about all types of issues
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2023, 02:26:28 PM
Quote from: whitey on July 26, 2023, 02:25:21 PM

I don't know what prompted the "alert" but I would imagine the embassy was inundated with calls from people with trips planned asking if it was safe to travel

The State Dept issue all types of advisories all the time about all types of issues

Do they warn people of headers in Florida?
Post by: whitey on July 26, 2023, 02:31:39 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2023, 02:26:28 PM

Do they warn people of headers in Florida?

I don't think that would be the responsibility of the State Department

https://www.state.gov/about/
Post by: Itchy on July 26, 2023, 02:33:34 PM

They would be better off warning Americans visiting other countries about the dangers of returning home and maybe they should seek asylum in European countries for their own safety.
Post by: whitey on July 26, 2023, 02:38:13 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 26, 2023, 02:33:34 PM

They would be better off warning Americans visiting other countries about the dangers of returning home and maybe they should seek asylum in European countries for their own safety.

I supposed it depends where you live.

There have been more murders in the town I grew up in Ireland than the town I live in Stateside, and the chances of getting assaulted randomly on the street for no reason are about one hundred fold greater

Post by: trailer on July 26, 2023, 02:51:22 PM
Quote from: whitey on July 26, 2023, 02:38:13 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 26, 2023, 02:33:34 PM

I supposed it depends where you live.

There have been more murders in the town I grew up in Ireland than the town I live in Stateside, and the chances of getting assaulted randomly on the street for no reason are about one hundred fold greater

Dublin will turn into one of those American cities, Philadelphia, Chicago, SF, NYC, take your pick. Hopefully this is a turning point for Dublin and the authorities can clean the shithole up.
Post by: J70 on July 26, 2023, 03:40:19 PM
You're all a wee bit sensitive lads.

Would you not tell anyone going to London or NYC or Rome to keep their wits about them and be careful with their valuables and where they go, especially at night?

Dublin has been like that for decades. You are all saying the same bloody thing, giving out like f**k,  but god forbid a foreign government tell their citizens to do likewise!
Post by: Itchy on July 26, 2023, 06:21:33 PM
Quote from: J70 on July 26, 2023, 03:40:19 PM

Would you not tell anyone going to London or NYC or Rome to keep their wits about them and be careful with their valuables and where they go, especially at night?

Dublin has been like that for decades. You are all saying the same bloody thing, giving out like f**k,  but god forbid a foreign government tell their citizens to do likewise!

No it's not that, it's cos it's f**king America with the worst crime rate and murder rate in the western world earning their citizens about Dublin. Clowns. Are they averaging a school shooting once a week over there these days.

I know Dublin is a kip by our European standards but it's nowhere near the complete kip of most American cities in terms of violence.
Post by: J70 on July 26, 2023, 07:33:58 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 26, 2023, 06:21:33 PM

No it's not that, it's cos it's f**king America with the worst crime rate and murder rate in the western world earning their citizens about Dublin. Clowns. Are they averaging a school shooting once a week over there these days.

I know Dublin is a kip by our European standards but it's nowhere near the complete kip of most American cities in terms of violence.

Gun violence, sure.

What about robbery? Muggings? Pick pocketing? Getting your head kicked in for turning down the wrong street?

Am I more in danger going about my daily life in New York City than I would be living in Dublin?

How do tourists do in the big US tourist cities compared to somewhere like Dublin?

I'm sure there are stats...
Post by: restorepride on July 26, 2023, 11:57:02 PM
Many cities are experiencing an increase in violence - the most accepted explanation is the increase in use of illegal drugs. 

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-66167634

Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 27, 2023, 12:33:23 AM
To be honest this is the only thing that will make FG take real action.
There's so much going on and as I said before you have to categorise it. The lads away with the fairies are not going around attacking people, but they will be moved on.
It's fellas and young ones 14-17 roaming for trouble.

PS Could the US Ambassador tell people potentially moving here about the state of housing and mad rents?!
Post by: Rudi on July 27, 2023, 08:38:54 AM
I'm sickened by this incident of violence in more ways than one. Apart from a man left fighting for his life (probably losing an eye) after a needless attack, motivated by pure thuggery.

This kind of event is happening all over the country, but it takes a tourist to get the media & government to get into a mass frenzy. If this happened to Jimmy from Swinford on a night out in Ballina, very little would be heard about it in national circles. Yet an all media & government narratives talk about equality, some people are clearly more important than others. God for bid the Irish are shown to the world for the inbred f&ckwits we are.

Then there is McEntee, a useless excuse for a minister. More concerned about minority transgenderism than more important issues like ordinary decent folk getting their brains bashed in for no reason. No reform of the judicial system, instead some hate speech bill, which will only divide society further.

Post by: Itchy on July 27, 2023, 08:41:31 AM
Quote from: J70 on July 26, 2023, 07:33:58 PM

Gun violence, sure.

What about robbery? Muggings? Pick pocketing? Getting your head kicked in for turning down the wrong street?

Am I more in danger going about my daily life in New York City than I would be living in Dublin?

How do tourists do in the big US tourist cities compared to somewhere like Dublin?

I would say yes you are but if you have stats to say otherwise I am happy to be corrected. These are from the New York Police Dept for the last "week"

https://www.nyc.gov/assets/nypd/downloads/pdf/crime_statistics/cs-en-us-city.pdf

Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 27, 2023, 08:46:23 AM
Quote from: Itchy on July 27, 2023, 08:41:31 AM

Gun violence, sure.

I would say yes you are but if you have stats to say otherwise I am happy to be corrected. These are from the New York Police Dept for the last "week"

https://www.nyc.gov/assets/nypd/downloads/pdf/crime_statistics/cs-en-us-city.pdf

In terms of population to Dublin how would that be broken down?
Post by: Itchy on July 27, 2023, 08:54:58 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 27, 2023, 08:46:23 AM

Gun violence, sure.

It doesnt look like you can easily get stats on "Dublin Only" but in Rep Ireland in 2022 there were 69 murders in a population of 5m (13.8 murders per million) in New York 438 murders for population of 8.4m (52 murders per million). Thats a flavour of things I would.
Post by: trailer on July 27, 2023, 09:02:37 AM
Quote from: Itchy on July 27, 2023, 08:54:58 AM

Gun violence, sure.

It doesnt look like you can easily get stats on "Dublin Only" but in Rep Ireland in 2022 there were 69 murders in a population of 5m (13.8 murders per million) in New York 438 murders for population of 8.4m (52 murders per million). Thats a flavour of things I would.

USA is definitely more dangerous but that shouldn't mean we accept a certain level of violence in Ireland. Dublin is a shithole and it needs a multi agency approach to clean it up. 
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 27, 2023, 09:11:23 AM
I can remember, wow nearly 30 years ago when me and her were heading down for the weekend, staying in the cheapest hotels around Gardiner street, it was poor then and even along the streets there were lads shooting up, needles lying around the gutter, but there was defo a drive I can remember a few years later and the city streets were really cleaned up and we really noticed a difference about the place, I was never aware or felt unsafe.

But in recent years and like Belfast during covid the animals came out and have not been put back in their cages, they are just loco and not enough patrols to move them on, shoplifting is through the roof in places and stopping people from going into town to shop
Post by: J70 on July 27, 2023, 12:09:41 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 27, 2023, 08:54:58 AM

Gun violence, sure.

I get the murder rate with the prevalence of guns and the gang violence which accounts for much of that.

But we're talking about average people and tourists here and people getting their knickers in a twist because the US government had the audacity to tell their citizens to be careful if they visit Dublin.

Is the risk of assault, robbery and so on higher for people going about everyday life or visiting as tourists in NYC or in Dublin?
Post by: gallsman on July 27, 2023, 12:17:46 PM
Hilarious that lads who open the thread bemoaning the state Dublin is in with all its issues to then take issue with a foreign government warning their own citizens about the associated risks of such issues.

As for the "shouldn't they get their own house in order" brigade, it's basically this:

(https://iea.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/mister-gotcha-4-9faefa-1.jpg)
Post by: Itchy on July 27, 2023, 01:40:47 PM
Quote from: gallsman on July 27, 2023, 12:17:46 PM
Hilarious that lads who open the thread bemoaning the state Dublin is in with all its issues to then take issue with a foreign government warning their own citizens about the associated risks of such issues.

As for the "shouldn't they get their own house in order" brigade, it's basically this:

(https://iea.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2021/12/mister-gotcha-4-9faefa-1.jpg)

Ironic that you could attribute that graphic to your own post