Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Armaghtothebone on June 12, 2007, 07:22:50 PM

Title: The BBC should be ashamed
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 12, 2007, 07:22:50 PM
Listened to the 5 o'clock news on Radio Ulster.On the day that is in it I was'nt surprised that the news was dominated by the flooding.
I waited for the sports news and their tribute to Eamon Coleman.I naievly thought it would be the lead story.The tragic death of a highly successful player and manager.Oh no the lead item was some hoo hah over the milk cup(a kiddies soccer tournament)
Bound to be second item...not a bit of it.A N.i select will play Everton in a pre season friendly
On and on it went.We had a lengthy piece on the death of a well known cyclist from the Ards area.With all due respect I had never heard of the man and I'm sure 95% of the population have'nt either. 
NOT SO MUCH AS A SINGLE WORD ON THE DEATH OF EAMON COLEMAN.
I cant help wondering if David Jeffrey had died would it not have even merrited a mention?
I shall be writing to the Sports editor at the BBC to register my disgust as a license payer.I stronly urge any Northern GAA board members to do likewise.

Title: Re: The BBC should be ashamed
Post by: ExiledGael on June 12, 2007, 07:34:49 PM
There was a decent enough tribute piece by Mark Sidebottom on lunchtime and evening news in their defence.
Though their ttitude to GAA is well known.
Obviously the Radio Ulster producers are the traditional BBC types, disgraceful and blindly bigoted
Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 12, 2007, 07:36:27 PM
Exiled Gael
Was that on radio or t.v?

Thanks
Armaghtothebone
Post by: SammyG on June 12, 2007, 07:37:21 PM
Radio Ulster covered it last night (not sure about this morning as I wasn't listening), it's also the main item on the BBC NI Website (as it should be). http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/ (http://www.bbc.co.uk/northernireland/) and has been covered on BBC NI tv news.
Post by: ExiledGael on June 12, 2007, 07:39:31 PM
That was on TV, haven't heard any radio today or last night so can't comment on that.
It was the first item on UTV sports news with Logie
Post by: Solomon Kane on June 12, 2007, 08:41:41 PM
It was one of the first items on Good Morning Ulster this morning and got a fair amount of coverage.
Post by: Blacksheep on June 12, 2007, 09:21:23 PM
To be fair it was very well covered this morning. But they're still GAA hating bastards!
Post by: GweylTah on June 12, 2007, 09:35:36 PM
Quote from: Blacksheep on June 12, 2007, 09:21:23 PM
To be fair it was very well covered this morning. But they're still GAA hating bastards!

That explains why there is live coverage of GAA for several hours every Sunday afternoon on Radio Ulster throuhout the summer.
Post by: SammyG on June 12, 2007, 09:38:28 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on June 12, 2007, 09:35:36 PM
Quote from: Blacksheep on June 12, 2007, 09:21:23 PM

That explains why there is live coverage of GAA for several hours every Sunday afternoon on Radio Ulster throuhout the summer.

And two highlights shows every week on tv plus various live matches through the season.  ::) Plus it's own section on the BBC website, plus coverage on local news etc etc etc  ::)
Post by: ExiledGael on June 12, 2007, 10:01:40 PM
Sammy Soloman or Gweyltah, could you tell me when was the last live GAA match on BBC, or indeed the last time you watched the sport?
Just out of interest
Post by: screenexile on June 12, 2007, 10:07:12 PM
Quoteplus various live matches through the season.

When were these on Sammy? Can't believe I missed them! What with me being an avid GAA follower and all I wouldn't usually miss an opportunity to watch a match on the TV... hang on that's right, there's barely 1 per year. Yes that's right the most supported game in Northern Ireland and they show 1 paltry live game a year... Fantastic!
Post by: SammyG on June 12, 2007, 10:09:00 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on June 12, 2007, 10:01:40 PM
Sammy Soloman or Gweyltah, could you tell me when was the last live GAA match on BBC, or indeed the last time you watched the sport?
Just out of interest
There aren't many live matches at the minute because the GAA have sold the contract to Setanta, when the BBC had the rights they showed live matches every Sunday (or it certainly felt like it). They show the Championship twice a week plus loads of other coverage. Not bad coverage for an organisation that thinks the BBC shouldn't even exist.

As far as watchingm I watch the matches on Setanta on a Saturday night and the odd game on a Sunday if there's no real football on. Saw a cracking hurling game at the weekend (and still think they're all mad barstewards)
Post by: Uladh on June 12, 2007, 10:37:48 PM

two Ulster Championship games at the weekend with 17,500 (Official attndance ;)) at both. It is by far the largest supported sport in the north and the coverage should reflect that.
Post by: ExiledGael on June 12, 2007, 10:43:39 PM
Matches every weekend?? I wish, they're obviously a torture to you
You'd be lucky if you see one point scored from a National League game anywhere, the All-Ireland qualifiers are the same.
For the Irish League you see almost every goal within twenty minutes of the full-times on a Saturday evening, with post match interviews with Jackie

Well even if the issue is surrounding the rights and not their own personal attitudes to the association, it will be interesting to see what they can do with all the new money they'll have to spend on sport after losing the NI soccer coverage to Sky!
Will they increase their GAA coverage? doubt it
Post by: winsamsoon on June 13, 2007, 12:15:40 AM
I totally agree that there ain't no ay near enough coverage of the biggest supported sport in the north. This guy said he watches it when there is no real football on  :) I ain't sure what he is refering to but i am nearly sure it is soccer and it is brutal to watch. The biggest game of the English season the Fa Cup final was an absolute great tonic for all those with sleeping difficulties. Club games are far more entertaining than that shite and these are the less talented players. I think i will write a letter to the bbc director aswell but it will once again fall on deaf ears asit is after all the British Broadcastig Coorporation.
Post by: SammyG on June 13, 2007, 08:30:45 AM
Quote from: Uladh on June 12, 2007, 10:37:48 PM

two Ulster Championship games at the weekend with 17,500 (Official attndance ;)) at both. It is by far the largest supported sport in the north and the coverage should reflect that.

The matches are either covered live on Setanta or highlights on the Championship on BBC or both, how much more coverage would you like?
Post by: twotwocharlie on June 13, 2007, 08:32:22 AM
pay the c***s nothin
Post by: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 09:23:57 AM
Well if we are to be on a par with soccer, I'd like to see:

1.   live television coverage of at least Ulster football semis and final
2.   live television coverage of Ulster hurling final
3.   live television coverage of Ulster club semis and final
4.   live television coverage of Ulster hurling final
5.   Sunday Sportsound to be broadcast on Radio Ulster FM
6.   A GAA roundup programme to go out during the week at an accessible time instead of a highlights programme
7.   fair and equal coverage of club results and highlights on the television news
Title: Gaelic coverage
Post by: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on June 13, 2007, 09:33:11 AM
I'd like to see them refer to it as Football and soccer as, errr, soccer.

That said, ye can't beat local radio stations for real football coverage. 8)
Post by: SammyG on June 13, 2007, 09:34:45 AM
Quote from: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 09:23:57 AM
Well if we are to be on a par with soccer, I'd like to see:

1.   live television coverage of at least Ulster football semis and final
2.   live television coverage of Ulster hurling final
3.   live television coverage of Ulster club semis and final
4.   live television coverage of Ulster hurling final
5.   Sunday Sportsound to be broadcast on Radio Ulster FM
6.   A GAA roundup programme to go out during the week at an accessible time instead of a highlights programme
7.   fair and equal coverage of club results and highlights on the television news

How would that be give parity with 'soccer'?

Football gets 10 minutes on a Saturday teatime (when anybody interested is actually at a match), a brief mention on the news (usually only if there's something negative to report) and the Irish Cup Final live (and that will be moving to Sky under the new deal). That's it, the GAA already get considerably more than that so why would you need to increase the coverage to reach 'parity?
Post by: thewobbler on June 13, 2007, 09:39:56 AM
Donagh I don't see how anyone could argue that a substandard, uncompetitive product watched by little or no people doesn't deserve so much TV coverage, and at the same time request that the Ulster hurling final is shown live on the box (twice).
Post by: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 09:47:33 AM
Sorry wobbler the second one was meant to be the Ulster club hurling final which I'm sure would take in a big audience if broadcast. Take your point about the other one though.

Sammy, every NI soccer match is broadcast live on tv as is the cup final and you have a sports magazine during the week and live matches on Radio Ulster FM. The GAA as the most popular sport in the north by some distance, should have the same, and given the huge part the GAA has played in terms of providing community infrastructure, the BBC as a public service broadcaster should be acknowledging this by helping us promote the games.
Post by: scalder on June 13, 2007, 10:12:32 AM
Lads can you get RTÉ in every part of the North now and not just near the border?
Post by: SammyG on June 13, 2007, 10:26:07 AM
Quote from: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 09:47:33 AMSammy, every NI soccer match is broadcast live on tv as is the cup final
So now you've moved the goalposts to include intenationals  ::) OK lets go with your ridiculous comparison,that's approx 4-5 a year live, how would showing 8 live GAA matches be 'parity'. And remember that the GAA had blanket live coverage before they sold the rights to Setanta, which is hardly the BBC's fault.
Quote from: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 09:47:33 AM
and you have a sports magazine during the week
Which covers football, GAA, rugby, ice hockey and anything else that's happening
and live matches on Radio Ulster FM.
When?
The GAA as the most popular sport in the north by some distance, should have the same,
By what measure is the GAA the most 'popular'.

Participation - it would be beaten by angling, golf, football, and probably rugby.
Attendance - it would be beaten by motorsports and if you leave out a few 'big' matches it would be at least equalled by football and rugby

and given the huge part the GAA has played in terms of providing community infrastructure, the BBC as a public service broadcaster should be acknowledging this by helping us promote the games.
I don't see how the BBC can't do much more to help 'promote' your games. Given that you sold the rights to a different company, the BBC actually give you loads of coverage.
Post by: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 10:43:20 AM
Quote from: SammyG on June 13, 2007, 10:26:07 AM
So now you've moved the goalposts to include intenationals  ::) OK lets go with your ridiculous comparison,that's approx 4-5 a year live, how would showing 8 live GAA matches be 'parity'. And remember that the GAA had blanket live coverage before they sold the rights to Setanta, which is hardly the BBC's fault.

Simply on interest. There is a demand for club football and hurling which is reflected on the attendance figures e.g. you'd get a similar attendance at a club semis and finals as you would at the IFA cup final.

Which covers football, GAA, rugby, ice hockey and anything else that's happening

Easily 80% of it is devoted to soccer which does not reflect the relative support in comparison to GAA games.

When?
Saturday afternoons

Attendance figures and participation

Participation - it would be beaten by angling, golf, football, and probably rugby.
Attendance - it would be beaten by motorsports and if you leave out a few 'big' matches it would be at least equalled by football and rugby

Bollocks it would be beaten by any of those you mention for participation.
As for motorsports beating it on attendance, I've attended the NW200 on many occasions and I still don't buy into the 100k attendance myth. Soccer and rugby don't even come close when you take into account senior, intermediate and junior club championship attendances.

I don't see how the BBC can't do much more to help 'promote' your games. Given that you sold the rights to a different company, the BBC actually give you loads of coverage.

The rights to inter-county matches were sold, though we don't know how much the BBC offered. They could still broadcast the club championships.

Post by: Stranworst on June 13, 2007, 11:03:54 AM
mate of mine was PRO for QUB there and he used to be talking to Jerome Quinn about the BBC and their shit coverage of Sigerson etc, Jerome said that he tried and tried to get more coverage etc but that it was going right up to the top and was out of his hands though he was trying. Fai play to him though
Post by: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 11:05:41 AM
Jerome is still paying the price for daring to highlight the sectarianism at Windsor Park a few years back.
Post by: Uladh on June 13, 2007, 11:13:53 AM
There should not be parity of coverage with soccer.

The coverage of GAA should vastly outweigh that of soccer to reflect the public interest.
Post by: SammyG on June 13, 2007, 11:18:54 AM
Quote from: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 11:05:41 AM
Jerome is still paying the price for daring to highlight the sectarianism at Windsor Park a few years back.

Oh dear, not like you to spout Fearonesque bullshit.  ::)
Post by: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 11:22:03 AM
Quote from: SammyG on June 13, 2007, 11:18:54 AM

What do you mean? I thought this episode was pretty well known. Is this not also why he is despised on OWC?
Post by: SammyG on June 13, 2007, 11:31:51 AM
Quote from: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 11:22:03 AM

What do you mean? I thought this episode was pretty well known. Is this not also why he is despised on OWC?

The only 'episode' that I'm aware of with Jerome was when he turned up at WP in a GAA shirt to try and get a reaction. He didn't get a reaction so decided to spout some shite instead and has since backtracked. As far as being despised on OWC, I haven't even seen him mentioned in the last 2 or 3 years.
Post by: GweylTah on June 13, 2007, 11:37:10 AM
If the BBC broadcast even more gaelic games coverage, it could well breach its equality guidelines - well over half the population isn't the least bit interested in it, as it feels excluded by its ethos and aims.

The little matter of the GAA having sold most of its rights to other broadcasters has already been well made but the usual suspects seem to expect the BBC can just flout the law and broadcast what it wants regardless.  Such silliness!
Post by: Uladh on June 13, 2007, 11:54:16 AM

Broadcasting rights are not required for previews, reports, reaction, features and magazine programs. If David (i speak really slowly and deliberately to make sure i pronounce words correctly) Jeffries changes his tie it takes up 3 of the 5 min sports bulletin in the evenings.
Post by: magickingdom on June 13, 2007, 12:34:17 PM

wtf? why dont you just leave out the ones that dont suit, yere good at that ::)
Post by: Deal_Me_In on June 13, 2007, 12:51:51 PM

How do you make this out ravenhill can hold 16000 and windsor 20500 (and how ofen are these sell outs?), yet there was 17500 at both casement and newry on sunday for a first round clash not to mention the number of people who attended club matches in armagh, tyrone and fermanagh on sunday clearly demonstrates just how popular gaelic football is in comparison to rugby and soccer
Post by: T Fearon on June 13, 2007, 12:57:42 PM
In fairness to the BBC, Eamon Coleman's death was the lead and highlighted topic on BBC Ceefax Regional news (ie p160 teletext) and also on the Regional Sports News (P390) on Monday night, which is how I learned about it. The BBC does now give in my opinion fair and adequate coverage to GAA and indeed FAI Affairs, reflecting proportionately the interest and [preferences of its licence holders.

Once again I feel you're all missing the target here. Consider the dearth of GAA Coverage (also I can find no mention of the death on their website) given by the Belfast Telegraph, which styles itself arrogantly as "Northern Ireland's National Newspaper". I have yet to see GAA being allocated headline coverage on the backpage. Consider also that this paper is owned by that great Irish man, Anthony O'Reilly, and its recently appointed Managing Director is allegedly a gaelic fanatic from Dublin. I wrote to this person nearly three months ago complaining about its GAA coverage. I still await a response or acknowledgement.

Also their former Sports Editor (shunted recently into the oblivion of editing the failing morning edition of the Telegraph, is a catholic from Ballymena, and far from giving GAA its due coverage, he was actually critical of the GAA in his banal column on numerous occasions

It is to Royal Avenue, not Ormeau Avenue, you should be directing your ire.
Post by: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 01:31:08 PM
The Tele is a rag. Anyone who buys it gets the rubbish they deserve. The BBC on the other hand is paid for by us all and the GAA should be getting fair treatment.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 13, 2007, 01:33:12 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 13, 2007, 12:57:42 PM
...by that great Irish man, Anthony O'Reilly...

Now there's a contradiction in terms!  ;)
Post by: tbrick18 on June 13, 2007, 01:47:38 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 09:47:33 AMSammy, every NI soccer match is broadcast live on tv as is the cup final
and you have a sports magazine during the week
When?
The GAA as the most popular sport in the north by some distance, should have the same,

and given the huge part the GAA has played in terms of providing community infrastructure, the BBC as a public service broadcaster should be acknowledging this by helping us promote the games.

First point....participation....I come from a small South Derry club....we have 380 club members who participate in football, hurling, camogie and ladies football. There are at least a dozen teams in South Derry. Perhaps two dozen in all of Derry. So taking an average of even 250 members per club, in Derry alone there are 6000 participants. Just count the six counties and you are talking over 30,0000 participants. I would hazard a guess that is a lot more than particpate in "real football" (real my arse...they're never done pulling up their socks and fixing their hair or rolling around pretending to cry).

Secondly....attendances....any Senior Club Football League game in derry easily attracts a hundred or more supporters. Championship games in Derry easily 5-6 thousand. And as has already been mentioned 17,500 at a first round county match last weekend. Now take into account all codes, football, camogie, hurling and ladies football. Add up the attendances for those. Easily in one year just across the 6 counties there are 10 times larger attendances in total at all gaelic games than at any of these "real football" matches.

Now that is pretty simple maths. In that regard, the coverage given to gaelic games should in fairness be more extensive than that given to soccer.
Post by: GweylTah on June 13, 2007, 02:27:20 PM
Local association football (and rugby and other sports for that matter) competes with football played at a much higher level in the Premiership, Football League, Scottish Premier League and various overseas leagues.

Gaelic games doesn't. The games are often exciting and there's a real community feel, but the levels of skill and so on could, in actual fact, be pretty meagre, as there's no world stage to compare with.

So, comparing gaelic games with the other sports isn't comparing like for like - the amount of shinty or curling shown on Scottish TV would be more appropriate.

A more usful comparison might be that the exclusivist GAA gets hours and hours of coverage on BBC TV (probably as much as the rights allow) whereas the Prods get just an hour of live coverage of the Twelfth once a year.

Post by: stew on June 13, 2007, 02:38:11 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on June 13, 2007, 02:27:20 PM
Local association football (and rugby and other sports for that matter) competes with football played at a much higher level in the Premiership, Football League, Scottish Premier League and various overseas leagues.

Gaelic games doesn't. The games are often exciting and there's a real community feel, but the levels of skill and so on could, in actual fact, be pretty meagre, as there's no world stage to compare with.

So, comparing gaelic games with the other sports isn't comparing like for like - the amount of shinty or curling shown on Scottish TV would be more appropriate.

A more usful comparison might be that the exclusivist GAA gets hours and hours of coverage on BBC TV (probably as much as the rights allow) whereas the Prods get just an hour of live coverage of the Twelfth once a year.

The only way you or anyone else is excluded from gaelic games is if you want to be excluded gweyltah and you clearly do yet here you sit day after day pontificating on the association and it's games.

as for mentioning the  twelfth in the same sentence as gaelic games you should be ashamed of yourself and the one hour you claim the beeb gives the marchers is an hour too much. When I see those hate filled knackers on my screen I just want to puke, they remind me of the klan the way they strut around the north with arrogance and bile.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 13, 2007, 02:44:18 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on June 13, 2007, 02:27:20 PM

Here we go again, the wizened old 'exclusionist' GAA chestnut is wheeled out as a device, in this instance, to elevate a nakedly sectarian organisation such as the OO to the same elevated sporting plane as the GAA. Not surprising to me that your posts too are an immediate avert-eyes-and-ignore (with this obvious exception)!  If an Orangeman marries a Taig he's an ex-Orangeman, never heard of anyone in the GAA being ejected for fraternising with non-Catholics, hell we've even had exalted non-Catholic individuals as presidents, and thankfully! And spare me the detail about your sensitivities being offended by the trappings of the GAA, at least we're open to suggestions from the inside and outside on how to be more appealing to all, not open to suggestions only from the inside on how to be even more exclusionist!
Post by: An Fear Rua on June 13, 2007, 02:57:40 PM
so didnt we let one of themuns play for Down in the 90s.

shouldnt GAA be the headline sport on the channel during the summer months, seeing as there not a lot going on with the other sports with relatively decent audiences? obv there will be exceptions to this rule, say when one of the ladies hockey team wins a prize at the Ulster Young Farmers ball... ;-)
Post by: Evil Genius on June 13, 2007, 03:03:26 PM
Once again I feel you're all missing the target here. Consider the dearth of GAA Coverage (also I can find no mention of the death on their website) given by the Belfast Telegraph, which styles itself arrogantly as "Northern Ireland's National Newspaper". I have yet to see GAA being allocated headline coverage on the backpage. Consider also that this paper is owned by that great Irish man, Anthony O'Reilly, and its recently appointed Managing Director is allegedly a gaelic fanatic from Dublin. I wrote to this person nearly three months ago complaining about its GAA coverage. I still await a response or acknowledgement.

Also their former Sports Editor (shunted recently into the oblivion of editing the failing morning edition of the Telegraph, is a catholic from Ballymena, and far from giving GAA its due coverage, he was actually critical of the GAA in his banal column on numerous occasions

Does this mean that this anti-GAA rag which no-one should buy, read or otherwise support failed to publish your latest letter then?  ;)

Anyhow, on the general point of this thread, does the fact that the soccer boys feel the BBC gives too much coverage to GAA and not enough to their own sport, whilst the GAA boys feel it gives too much air-time to soccer and not enough to their own sports, not possibly mean that the Beeb are, in fact, getting it about right? Just a thought.
Post by: ziggysego on June 13, 2007, 04:45:29 PM
I'm not going to get into this debate. All I would say, I think it's disgraceful the someone used Eamon's death to start this debate.

People, leave it for another day.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 13, 2007, 11:42:35 PM
There is merit in the statement that the GAA don't help themselves by their willingness to sell the TV rights to the highest bidders - what happens in the hopefully unlikely event that RTE "the national broadcaster" cannot show the national games as rights to live games have been auctioned off to Sky Sports or Setanta?!

Outside of covering GAA news on the tv, radio, website, "Season Ticket" and "The Championship" what more can be expected of the Beeb?! Apart from sacking Stephen Watson?!  ;D

QuoteI have yet to see GAA being allocated headline coverage on the backpage.
Yes but there was a good half dozen GAA pages in the Tele last Friday which surprised me as I haven't bought it for months so I don't know how anybody could gripe about that. Again, this is people like Fearon going out of their way to be offended - every man and his dog knows it's readership is aimed mainly at the Unionist community so just accept that fact and buy the Irish News instead! Themmuns could rightly complain about the coverage of Irish League soccer in the Irish News but what's the point when they have the News Letter and the Tele to keep them well covered!

Just get over yourselves - the GAA is as strong as it has ever been and the BBC and Tele not dedicating their full resources to promoting it is obviously doing it no harm!
Post by: stew on June 14, 2007, 03:02:53 AM
Quote from: SammyG on June 13, 2007, 11:31:51 AM
Quote from: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 11:22:03 AM

The only 'episode' that I'm aware of with Jerome was when he turned up at WP in a GAA shirt to try and get a reaction. He didn't get a reaction so decided to spout some shite instead and has since backtracked. As far as being despised on OWC, I haven't even seen him mentioned in the last 2 or 3 years.

Why would you assume that Jerome was trying to get a reaction sammy? did he say that he was trying to get a reaction?  and was he wrong to wear a GAA jersey at wp?
Post by: T Fearon on June 14, 2007, 05:39:33 PM
Well the BBC is showing the Derry Monaghan game live.

I know we don't pay a licence fee for the Belfast Telegraph but the paper styles itself as middle of the road (as opposed to the nationalist Irish News, and ultra Unionist News Letter) and is forever preaching tolerance, harmony etc. Maybe its time it gave GAA its due coverage and practice what it preaches.

There is simply no excuse other than political bias, for excluding GAA from the headline stories on the back page
Post by: Solomon Kane on June 14, 2007, 06:02:00 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 14, 2007, 05:39:33 PM
Well the BBC is showing the Derry Monaghan game live.

I know we don't pay a licence fee for the Belfast Telegraph but the paper styles itself as middle of the road (as opposed to the nationalist Irish News, and ultra Unionist News Letter) and is forever preaching tolerance, harmony etc. Maybe its time it gave GAA its due coverage and practice what it preaches.

There is simply no excuse other than political bias, for excluding GAA from the headline stories on the back page

The Tele can print whatever it likes - it does not need an excuse as it is a private business. If you don'y like what it has to print don't buy it. That was the trick people used with the Daily Ireland and look what happened there.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on June 14, 2007, 06:41:17 PM
Dont think there's any doubting that gaelic games are the biggest sports in the country. Motor sports dont come close and dont even mention rugby or soccer. 2 years ago the combined attendance at Tyrone games in the championship was half a million. Just think how long it would take to get a similar combined attendance at Northern Ireland or Ulster games. Tyrone is only one county too. The North West may attract 150000 with spectators coming from all over Ireland but this is a one off event in the year. This weekend up to 200,000 are expected to attend the big gaelic matches in Ireland. Ive never seen BBC's viewing figures but I know that GAA programs are the top watched programs on RTE and you guarentee that the trend doesnt stop at a line on the map.
Post by: MW on June 14, 2007, 07:35:40 PM
Quote from: stew on June 14, 2007, 03:02:53 AM

Why would you assume that Jerome was trying to get a reaction sammy? did he say that he was trying to get a reaction?

Indeed he was. He expressed some dissatisfaction that no-one came up and talked to him, despite the fact he would be known from the TV ::)
Post by: MW on June 14, 2007, 07:38:01 PM
Quote from: Donagh on June 13, 2007, 11:05:41 AM

Except that barring the la-la land yourself and Fearon seem to inhabit, he didn't actually highlight any 'sectarianism'. Whinged about a flag saying 'South Belfast' though, and a song that apparently went "Stand up if you're an Ulsterman" ::), and no-one coming up and hugging him and telling him what a great chap they thought he was though...
Post by: stew on June 14, 2007, 07:55:00 PM
Quote from: MW on June 14, 2007, 07:35:40 PM

Why would you assume that Jerome was trying to get a reaction sammy? did he say that he was trying to get a reaction?

Indeed he was. He expressed some dissatisfaction that no-one came up and talked to him, despite the fact he would be known from the TV ::)

Did you hear him say this MW or are you listening to what others told you about what he said.

I find that a strange thing for someone to say and I dont believe it to be true.
Post by: SammyG on June 14, 2007, 08:14:36 PM
Quote from: stew on June 14, 2007, 03:02:53 AMWhy would you assume that Jerome was trying to get a reaction sammy?
Because he said so.
and was he wrong to wear a GAA jersey at wp?

Nothing wrong at all, as the total lack of any reaction proved. I'm not sure the same would be true if I turned up at Casement with an NI top on.
Post by: MW on June 14, 2007, 08:15:28 PM
Quote from: stew on June 14, 2007, 07:55:00 PM
Quote from: MW on June 14, 2007, 07:35:40 PM

Did you hear him say this MW or are you listening to what others told you about what he said.

I find that a strange thing for someone to say and I dont believe it to be true.

No, I read the article he wrote on the BBC website.

Do keep up, old son.
Post by: magickingdom on June 14, 2007, 09:01:06 PM
Quote from: SammyG on June 14, 2007, 08:14:36 PM
Nothing wrong at all, as the total lack of any reaction proved. I'm not sure the same would be true if I turned up at Casement with an NI top on.

sammy, i know your probably not going to be able to make it to semple stadium but the replay of that cracking hurling match you saw last week is on rte 2 at 6.30 saturday!  ;)
Post by: stew on June 14, 2007, 09:07:21 PM
Quote from: stew on June 14, 2007, 03:02:53 AMWhy would you assume that Jerome was trying to get a reaction sammy?
Because he said so.
and was he wrong to wear a GAA jersey at wp?

Hmmm, I am just surprised that the crowd didnt fawn all over him to get their picture taken with him so that everyone involved can show how inclusive the ni fans are a la Chicago, it was sickening to see that going on when I went last year, they just tried too hard and it felt akward, of course none of the photos were used on any pro north websites for publicity purposes.

As for you wearing a ni top at casement, I doubt  that anyone would give a damn, I certainly wouldnt.
Post by: nifan on June 14, 2007, 09:10:44 PM
Quote from: stew on June 14, 2007, 09:07:21 PM
Hmmm, I am just surprised that the crowd didnt fawn all over him to get their picture taken with him so that everyone involved can show how inclusive the ni fans are a la Chicago, it was sickening to see that going on when I went last year, they just tried too hard and it felt akward, of course none of the photos were used on any pro north websites for publicity purposes.

As for you wearing a ni top at casement, I doubt  that anyone would give a damn, I certainly wouldnt.

Stew, that hardly tallies with the comments bellow!
"What I found surprised the life out of me, the fans were for the most part fantastic in my opinion, they partied and although I would say the numbered at the most 500 they sang songs from start to finish and danced their way through the whole game, they even broke out the conga which was hilarious as the security men had to follow them wherever they went. I have never enjoyed a game of football as much as this one in my life, the atmosphere was fantastic and I have to say I was mightily impressed with them all."
Post by: SammyG on June 14, 2007, 09:11:51 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on June 14, 2007, 09:01:06 PM

sammy, i know your probably not going to be able to make it to semple stadium but the replay of that cracking hurling match you saw last week is on rte 2 at 6.30 saturday!  ;)
Cheers for the info, unfortunately I can't get RTE over on the big island/mainland/imperial centre/delete as appropriate
Post by: An Fear Rua on June 14, 2007, 09:33:53 PM
Quote from: SammyG on June 14, 2007, 09:11:51 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on June 14, 2007, 09:01:06 PM

Cheers for the info, unfortunately I can't get RTE over on the big island/mainland/imperial centre/delete as appropriate

yes you can

http://www.rte.ie/live (http://www.rte.ie/live)

just need to make sure your regional settings on the pc are set to Irish.....
Post by: GweylTah on June 14, 2007, 09:50:43 PM
Quote from: nifan on June 14, 2007, 09:10:44 PM

"What I found surprised the life out of me, the fans were for the most part fantastic in my opinion, they partied and although I would say the numbered at the most 500 they sang songs from start to finish and danced their way through the whole game, they even broke out the conga which was hilarious as the security men had to follow them wherever they went. I have never enjoyed a game of football as much as this one in my life, the atmosphere was fantastic and I have to say I was mightily impressed with them all."

"Stew in telling revisionist tall stories" senation.   Truth Will Out 1  Stew's Credibility 0.

Post by: Armaghtothebone on June 14, 2007, 10:02:07 PM
In fairness to the BBC, Eamon Coleman's death was the lead and highlighted topic on BBC Ceefax Regional news (ie p160 teletext) and also on the Regional Sports News (P390) on Monday night, which is how I learned about it. The BBC does now give in my opinion fair and adequate coverage to GAA and indeed FAI Affairs, reflecting proportionately the interest and [preferences of its licence holders.

I have to disagree with you Tony, and say once again that on the main evening radio news programme to have no mention of the death of such a high profile sports personality was a scandal.
With reference to the Belfast Telegraph the answer is much more simple..I dont buy it. It's not a coincidence that the newspaper with the fastest growing circulation in the Uk is The Irish News.
Post by: Uladh on June 15, 2007, 12:06:55 AM

BBC have announced they are covering the Monaghan v derry semi live, so credit where its due.

These tv rights mut not be that difficult to get around after all...
Post by: bloody mary on June 15, 2007, 12:54:00 PM
UTV Sport last night had a report from the Coleman funeral

BBC Sport led their bulletin with Lawrie Sanchez at a school in Ballymena

the whole debate here is the usual stuff but here's the bottom line.... the BBC has too many people making decisions who don't understand or respect the GAA. Therefore, they consistently insult GAA people at times like this and try to hide behind other coverage as an excuse when they get criticised. That's not the point. The GAA is as entitled as any other sport to coverage, but it's the treatment of it that is often the problem (see above example). It's a similar thing with the Telegraph, they give GAA coverage alright, inside the paper and badly written, but they steadfastly refuse to treat it as a major sport. Not one of you can tell me when the Telegraph has ever had GAA as it's lead story on the back page. If they really respected GAA they would have good GAA reporters churning out good stories, but they don't.   
Post by: GweylTah on June 15, 2007, 01:07:38 PM
Perhaps the Telegraph is concerned that their cross-community readership isn't compromised by excessive coverage of something that is, unfortunately, of no appeal whatsoever to over half the population?

Good newspaper as it is, the Irish News doesn't have that concern.
Post by: bloody mary on June 15, 2007, 01:22:24 PM
And why should that practice/policy apply to the GAA but not to something like the Irish League? it certainly does not appeal to the vast majority of the population, going by attendances. I hear what you are saying but it just doesn't bare up and sounds like a lame excuse.
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 15, 2007, 01:28:56 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on June 15, 2007, 01:07:38 PM
Perhaps the Telegraph is concerned that their cross-community readership isn't compromised by excessive coverage of something that is, unfortunately, of no appeal whatsoever to over half the population?

Good newspaper as it is, the Irish News doesn't have that concern.

As usual absolute rubbish coming out of your trap Gwel.

The Irish News is read by a majority of "Nationalists" but also by a sizeable number of "Unionists".

Please do stop coming out with such crap - it's getting tiresome.
Post by: T Fearon on June 15, 2007, 01:30:01 PM
Gweltah, if the Telegraph (which is Irish owned and with a GAA Fanatic as its Managing Director) employed the principal of not covering things "excessively" which don't appeal to half the population, it would not give

a) half its current coverage to the IFA International team

b) 1/20th of its current coverage tp poxy Irish league soccer

Post by: bloody mary on June 15, 2007, 01:33:56 PM
done, I wouldn't want to ruin a tribute to the great man even if one person thought that. I'll leave the comment on here though I wouldn't describe this as 'sectarian slanging'. It doesn't need to be that.

By the way forget the O'Reilly bit, it obviously isn't relevant if the people calling the shots have the attitudes and policies they do.
Post by: stew on June 15, 2007, 02:57:40 PM
Quote from: GweylTah on June 14, 2007, 09:50:43 PM
Quote from: nifan on June 14, 2007, 09:10:44 PM

"Stew in telling revisionist tall stories" senation.   Truth Will Out 1  Stew's Credibility 0.

Er show me what is revisionist gweyltah, I stand by what I said about the crowd in Chicago, they were great but they did fawn over the boys that were wearing gaelic tops and i should know I was there, they did post the photos on the website and it did feel akward at the time, they were trying too hard, again I know because I was there but that is not a knock on the atmosphere at the game, it was powerful altogether and a far cry from what I had experienced before and they are to be commended for that.
Post by: SammyG on June 15, 2007, 02:59:57 PM
Quote from: stew on June 15, 2007, 02:57:40 PMEr show me what is revisionist gweyltah, I stand by what I said about the crowd in Chicago, they were great but they did fawn over the boys that were wearing gaelic tops and i should know I was there, they did post the photos on the website and it did feel akward at the time, they were trying too hard, again I know because I was there but that is not a knock on the atmosphere at the game, it was powerful altogether and a far cry from what I had experienced before and they are to be commended for that.

You're alright stew, you weren't being singled out. There are 'tour photos' from every match NI have played in the last 20 years, not just the US tour, on various sites.
Post by: stew on June 15, 2007, 03:05:49 PM
Quote from: SammyG on June 15, 2007, 02:59:57 PM
Quote from: stew on June 15, 2007, 02:57:40 PMEr show me what is revisionist gweyltah, I stand by what I said about the crowd in Chicago, they were great but they did fawn over the boys that were wearing gaelic tops and i should know I was there, they did post the photos on the website and it did feel akward at the time, they were trying too hard, again I know because I was there but that is not a knock on the atmosphere at the game, it was powerful altogether and a far cry from what I had experienced before and they are to be commended for that.

You're alright stew, you weren't being singled out. There are 'tour photos' from every match NI have played in the last 20 years, not just the US tour, on various sites.

I know there are Sammy, I have seen the pictures myself but that does not change the fact that the GAA top wearing men at the game were the most popular people at the game because the pictures are good publicity! are you going to deny that is the case or the reason why they were so popular????
Post by: SammyG on June 15, 2007, 03:07:56 PM
Quote from: stew on June 15, 2007, 03:05:49 PM
Quote from: SammyG on June 15, 2007, 02:59:57 PM

I know there are Sammy, I have seen the pictures myself but that does not change the fact that the GAA top wearing men at the game were the most popular people at the game because the pictures are good publicity! are you going to deny that is the case or the reason why they were so popular????

The only GAA top photie, I've seen, was a blonde women with a large chest and I think the photographer was more interested in that, than her GAA top.
Post by: T Fearon on June 15, 2007, 04:21:10 PM
Sammy, thats sounfs more like OBC (ie One Big Cleavage!) rather than OWC! ;D ;D ;D ;D

Tits the way I tell em!! Boom Boom ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Evil Genius on June 15, 2007, 05:10:26 PM

Do you really believe that a group of (pissed-up?) football fans, on the lash 4,000 miles from home, could be so organised and insightful as to "fake" a friendly greeting to some other spectators, merely in order to supply a Photo Opportunity for propaganda purposes?

By that token, are NI soccer fans to assume that when the Chicago GAA invited the team along to a Reception in their city, that that gesture was a mere token, similarly insincere and predicated on equally underhand motives?

Good Grief! Has it never occurred to you that perhaps the OWC crowd were just a bit intrigued, tickled even, that some GAA fans had made the effort to come along, and in the spirit of sportsmanship, decided to reciprocate? After all, more than one member of the NI team they had travelled to support has a solid GAA background.

Not everyone has a hidden motive, you know - even "themmuns from OWC".

P.S. I wasn't there, but from knowing several who were, I have no doubt the Blonde with the Cleavage was more of a factor than anything else!
Post by: stew on June 15, 2007, 10:25:35 PM
Quote from: Evil Genius on June 15, 2007, 05:10:26 PM

Do you really believe that a group of (pissed-up?) football fans, on the lash 4,000 miles from home, could be so organised and insightful as to "fake" a friendly greeting to some other spectators, merely in order to supply a Photo Opportunity for propaganda purposes?

By that token, are NI soccer fans to assume that when the Chicago GAA invited the team along to a Reception in their city, that that gesture was a mere token, similarly insincere and predicated on equally underhand motives?

Good Grief! Has it never occurred to you that perhaps the OWC crowd were just a bit intrigued, tickled even, that some GAA fans had made the effort to come along, and in the spirit of sportsmanship, decided to reciprocate? After all, more than one member of the NI team they had travelled to support has a solid GAA background.

Not everyone has a hidden motive, you know - even "themmuns from OWC".

P.S. I wasn't there, but from knowing several who were, I have no doubt the Blonde with the Cleavage was more of a factor than anything else!

Nah, I am pretty sure the chuckys in the GAA tops won the prize for being the most popular attraction at the game, second was that tube with the hairy king billy plastered all over his back, yer man that was trying to feck the rubber doll, yep he finished second.

Some of them probably were happy to see a few GAA men at the game but in order for these people to reciprocate they would have had to take in a GAA game and that would be a bridge to far for most of the owc crew I would imagine.

As for the women at the game, there were a few stunners there alright. :)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 16, 2007, 02:26:29 PM
Post a picture of this women please!!   :P :P :P
Post by: Solomon Kane on June 16, 2007, 07:57:47 PM
Quote from: stew on June 15, 2007, 10:25:35 PM

Some of them probably were happy to see a few GAA men at the game but in order for these people to reciprocate they would have had to take in a GAA game and that would be a bridge to far for most of the owc crew I would imagine.

Or the gobshites who protested outside the GAA ground.