Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on June 06, 2007, 01:20:15 PM

Title: Who is your favourite Irish saint?
Post by: T Fearon on June 06, 2007, 01:20:15 PM
With Charles the Dub, being the latest addition to the litany, I thought it would be appropriate to ask contributors to name their favourite Irish Saint from the list below and why.

Brigid

Malachy

Patrick (ok I know he was born in Wales but he is considered Irish! ;D)

Brendan

Oliver Plunkett

Charles.

Also has there been any saints from the six counties yet and is the female gender not under represented?
Title: Re: Who is your favourite Irish saint?
Post by: Long time dead on June 06, 2007, 01:26:48 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 06, 2007, 01:20:15 PM
With Charles the Dub, being the latest addition to the litany, I thought it would be appropriate to ask contributors to name their favourite Irish Saint from the list below and why.

Brigid

Malachy

Patrick (ok I know he was born in Wales but he is considered Irish! ;D)

Brendan

Oliver Plunkett

Charles.

Also has there been any saints from the six counties yet and is the female gender not under represented?

And you have Malachy as your second.  ::)
Post by: An Fear Rua on June 06, 2007, 01:30:50 PM
Wasn't Charles Dutch?
Post by: Declan on June 06, 2007, 01:48:39 PM
(http://www.adverts.ie/data/32/bertiechrist.jpg)

Our Glorious Leader in a high-quality vinyl fridge magnet. Newly endorsed by the Irish Sun! (thanks, Owen...)

The perfect gift for your loved ones in these difficult times; guaranteed to keep the family from all harm,
political scandal, importunate journalists and nosy legal types.

Show visitors where your loyalties lie!

Approx size:
5½" x 4¼" (140mm x 110mm)
Thickness 0.4mm

*** Only €3.99 & €0.99 p&p (Ireland) ***

Payment methods accepted:
> Personal cheque
> Postal Order or Bank Draft
> Cash (at sender's risk)
> PayPal payments to lordpeckerhead at gmail dot com (e-mail for further details)
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 06, 2007, 01:50:57 PM
Tony, you would need to add Columba and Columcille to that list and you should make it as a poll, easier for people to respond, also there are a few other Saints missing.
Post by: Louth Exile on June 06, 2007, 01:52:17 PM
From your list there is has to be Brigid, after all her cross is on the Louth Crest...
Hon the Lu
Post by: ONeill on June 06, 2007, 02:08:19 PM
Is that Tony Robinson/Baldrick in thon photo?
Post by: Donagh on June 06, 2007, 02:10:11 PM
Not stooping to Tony's new found partitionist mindset, here's some of the more well known Ulster Saints.

Saint Columba
Saint Benignus of Armagh
Saint Comgall of Magheramorne
Saint Macartan of Clogher
Saint Colman of Dromore
Saint Mac Nissi
Saint Malachy
Saint Fergal
Saint Brigid (born on the border?)
Saint MacCathbad Colman
Saint Felim
Post by: Evil Genius on June 06, 2007, 02:22:49 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 06, 2007, 01:20:15 PM
Also has there been any saints from the six counties yet

Saint David - produces miracles at Windsor every time!  ;)
Post by: Hardy on June 06, 2007, 02:29:50 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 06, 2007, 02:08:19 PM
Is that Tony Robinson/Baldrick in thon photo?

Martin Cullen.
Post by: Declan on June 06, 2007, 02:33:40 PM
Its the bould Bertie - the taoiseach without sin
Post by: thebandit on June 06, 2007, 03:07:34 PM
This reminds me of that young fella with the holy days thread...what happened to him?
Post by: full back on June 06, 2007, 03:12:00 PM
Armagh4SamAgain
He had to go back to work or something & wouldnt be able to post
One funny funny man
Post by: thebandit on June 06, 2007, 03:13:37 PM
Or half term ended ;D
Post by: full back on June 06, 2007, 03:16:29 PM
Na Bandit, He was genuinely funny unlike a lot of the new posters (students)
Post by: 5 Sams on June 06, 2007, 05:06:17 PM
Quote from: full back on June 06, 2007, 03:16:29 PM
Na Bandit, He was genuinely funny unlike a lot of the new posters (students)

I agree......he kept talking about the saints "being kilt" for their beliefs...hilarious.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 06, 2007, 05:10:07 PM
I remember reading a thread on OWC one time about Saint Patrick, which featured the expected cribbing about the fact that there is tri-colours everywhere as if Patrick was only the Patron saint of the Republic. One of the posters came out with the gem that 'Saint Patrick was a Protestant anyway, so the Catholics shouldn't even be celebrating him'.  How I chuckled :D
Post by: Kerry Mike on June 06, 2007, 05:29:59 PM
Saint Micko de la Waterville has attained iconic status in his native Kerry and has been known to spread his wings and his gospel to varying degrees of success over the years to the great unwashed of Kildare, Laois and Wicklow.

But his miracle powers seems to be on the wane over the last few years.  Any donations are accepted however to keep this old relic going strong. Surprisingly he is still worshipped around the rest of the country in the hope that someday he may visit their sad counties and bring them to the promised land or even lead them on to the road for the promised land. His worshippers have forsaken him in the lands of the Lilly and of the Leix where they have returned to their pagen ways.

His legacy will be his triumphs over the evil blue empire of Saint Heffo D'Jackeen in the 1970's, still remembered fondly in many parts of his Kingdom.
Post by: Orior on June 06, 2007, 07:23:15 PM
Was there a Saint Field?

Can Ian St John be included?
Post by: Colonel Cool on June 06, 2007, 07:24:50 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on June 06, 2007, 05:32:57 PM
Is Tony Fearon Armaghforsamagain?
Fearon disappeared for a while and A4SA appeared with his Death Notice thread and then his Saints thread and now A4SA has disappeared and Fearon is at the same lark.
I had originally thought A4SA again was another member of the board, but now I have my doubts.

Fearson hasn't the wit to be Armagh4 Sam Again. It hasn't been the same craic since he went back to work off the sick. Did he ever say why he was off?
Post by: Gaoth Dobhair Abu on June 06, 2007, 10:42:05 PM
Quote from: Colonel Cool on June 06, 2007, 07:24:50 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on June 06, 2007, 05:32:57 PM
Is Tony Fearon Armaghforsamagain?
Fearon disappeared for a while and A4SA appeared with his Death Notice thread and then his Saints thread and now A4SA has disappeared and Fearon is at the same lark.
I had originally thought A4SA again was another member of the board, but now I have my doubts.

Fearson hasn't the wit to be Armagh4 Sam Again. It hasn't been the same craic since he went back to work off the sick. Did he ever say why he was off?

Have my suspicions that he may be under threat from OWC...!!!  :o
Post by: Orior on June 06, 2007, 11:22:54 PM
Quote from: 5iveTimes on June 06, 2007, 11:04:59 PM

I actually am pretty sure I know who A4SA is. I watched the board one morning and evrytime a regular poster logged out, A4SA logged in. Then A4SA would log out and this certain regular poster would log back in. Maybe it was just coincidence, but I have my doubts.

Hmmm, you're almost as big a nerd as I am.
Post by: Redgreenery on June 07, 2007, 09:52:07 PM
Saint Patrick, He has a day that is a public holiday, no work!! And he got rid of the snakes!!! ;)
Post by: down22 on June 08, 2007, 03:34:47 AM
QuoteI actually am pretty sure I know who A4SA is. I watched the board one morning and evrytime a regular poster logged out, A4SA logged in. Then A4SA would log out and this certain regular poster would log back in. Maybe it was just coincidence, but I have my doubts.

Don't be saying that! It worked so much better when I could believe that A4SA was a real poster. Those saint's and death notie threads were some of the best craic. They proved to be a nice little break from revison.
Post by: Armagh4SamAgain on December 21, 2008, 12:21:21 PM
Has every co got its own special saint? I think Armaghs woud be St Patrick and Louth woud be St Bride. What about the other countys??

St Galls for Belfast? St Colman for Down St Canise for Derry St Lawence OTools for Dublin. An theres no feckin Sts from Tryone!! We all no that!!  ;D

We shoud be making a list of the patron st of every County in ireland.

Armagh = St Patrick
Louth = St Bride
Down= St Colman
Derry= St Canise
Antrim= St Galls
Post by: armaghniac on December 21, 2008, 12:25:33 PM
What about good old Naomh Moinna from scenic Cill Sléibhe?
Post by: Hardy on December 21, 2008, 12:37:39 PM
Meath - St. Sugar Ray
Post by: Orior on December 21, 2008, 01:02:11 PM
I used to fancy the pants of Isla St Clair

(http://www.glasburyart.co.uk/cms/uploadfiles/islasinclair-300.jpg)
Post by: Bensars on December 21, 2008, 01:06:49 PM
Tyrone has St Peter of Glencull...................copyright of o' Neill
Post by: ONeill on December 21, 2008, 11:44:40 PM
Quote from: Orior on December 21, 2008, 01:02:11 PM
I used to fancy the pants of Isla St Clair

Why, what colour were they?
Post by: Aerlik on December 22, 2008, 11:08:11 AM
Wasn't St.Eugene a Co.Derry saint?  I'm not sure if St.Canice is Derry though - always thought he was a Cat.

My favourites are St.Columba and St.Brigid.  My primary school name in Ireland and my church here in Perth, and my mam's name.
Post by: red hander on December 22, 2008, 11:12:57 AM
St Petersburg for beating the huns in the UEFA Cup final this year
Post by: T Fearon on December 22, 2008, 11:43:36 AM
Not forgetting St Mirren for beating them in this year's SPL ;D
Post by: boojangles on December 22, 2008, 11:57:43 AM
St Kevin of Glendalough
The Cathedral in Cavan town is named after St Feilim,while my own club grounds out the road is named after St Feilim.
He must be the patron saint of Cavan.
St Mogue is another Irish Saint,theres a school up north Cavan in Bawnboy named after him
Post by: ziggysego on December 23, 2008, 04:13:38 PM
Diarmaid the Just

Diarmaid the Just was a Catholic monk and famous Irish confessor of the mid-sixth century.

He was of princely origin and a native of Connacht. About the year 530, he founded the great monastery of Inchcleraun on Lough Ree, in the Diocese of Ardagh. Wishing to found an oratory far from the day-to-day distractions of civilization, he selected the isolated island associated with the memory of Queen Meav, Inchcleraun.

Here his fame soon attracted disciples, including Ciaran of Clonmacnoise. He was a good teacher, and also a distinguished writer and poet. On the island seven churches are traditionally said to have been erected, and the traces of six are still in evidence, including Teampul Diarmada, or the church of St. Diarmiad. This oratory, eight feet by seven feet, is said to have been Diarmaid's own church. The monastic school he founded kept up its reputation for fully six centuries after his death, and the island itself was famous for pilgrimages in pre-Reformation days. His feast is celebrated January 10.