GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Truth hurts on November 08, 2022, 09:58:36 AM

Title: Would you manage versus your own
Post by: Truth hurts on November 08, 2022, 09:58:36 AM
A big decision for Jerome Johnson this week as he has to make a decision to manage versus his own club and 3 sons. Would you do it and I personally couldn't?
Title: Re: Would you manage versus your own
Post by: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 10:14:21 AM
He'd have known there was a strong possibility of this and was probably actually aiming for it when he took the job. Interesting back story to talk about but can't see it having much effect, not like he's playing.
Post by: Truth hurts on November 08, 2022, 10:15:56 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 10:14:21 AM
He'd have known there was a strong possibility of this and was probably actually aiming for it when he took the job. Interesting back story to talk about but can't see it having much effect, not like he's playing.

but deep down hes a Kilcoo man, he will want them to win
Post by: square_ball on November 08, 2022, 10:21:34 AM
There's been no chat of Malachy O'Rourke stepping down when he is facing a club he was won championships with and is still a member of as far as I know and rightly so.
If you're prepared to take a club other than your own then you should be prepared to face them if the situation arises. McGuckin standing down 10 years ago in the Errigal v Ballinderry was a farce of a situation imo.
Post by: toby47 on November 08, 2022, 10:26:38 AM
I don't think I would, especially with 3 sons on the other team.

It wouldn't be fair on the team I was managing, as I 100% wouldn't want them to win. Thats just my own personal thoughts & know others will have different opinions.
Post by: general_lee on November 08, 2022, 10:33:34 AM
I wouldn't. It's something I'd make known before taking the job so there's no confusion.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 10:38:30 AM
Quote from: Truth hurts on November 08, 2022, 10:15:56 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 10:14:21 AM

but deep down hes a Kilcoo man, he will want them to win
Naturally enough but I don't think he's gonna try to sabotage Ballybay by dropping Finlay and putting Ward in nets lol.
Post by: themac_23 on November 08, 2022, 10:46:48 AM
if you're that concerned about your own club then dont manage an outside club. Regardless if they are in a different county, you take a job on you do the job. We get all misty eyed about the GAA but look at soccer, even at a local level. Take Barry Gray when he was Cliftonville manager, he had taken Warrenpoint from nowhere, done everything around the club but didnt stop him doing his job for Cliftonville against the Point when the time came.

If I was a player and a manager asked me to sacrifice so much over a season to then say he wasn't managing us in our biggest game of the year id be furious. Either do the job or dont.
Post by: square_ball on November 08, 2022, 10:47:41 AM
Quote from: toby47 on November 08, 2022, 10:26:38 AM

It wouldn't be fair on the team I was managing, as I 100% wouldn't want them to win. Thats just my own personal thoughts & know others will have different opinions.

Trying to picture the scene here. You'd arrive to training in Ballybay tonight or send in a message to the WhatsApp group and say sorry lads I can't make it this Sunday as I want Kilcoo to win this match but if you do manage to get over the line, which I really hope you don't, then I'll see you lads again this time next week at training and we can start the preparations for the Ulster semi final.
Post by: Schkite on November 08, 2022, 10:54:55 AM
Am I the only one in thinking it's a bit mad this is even a question? Sure it will be tough for him, but surely he would have known earlier in the year that this was a good possibility if Ballybay managed to win Monaghan (which is what he was aiming to do). He's not doing it for free either so it'd be bad form imo if he just bowed out. 

It's not an easy position to be in sure, but this has happened before and it'll happen again. Maybe this is the most extreme example with 3 sons in the other side, but managers have put the head down and got on with the job at hand in similar positions before. A different sort of example in Monaghan was a few years ago when Marty Corey was coaching Cavan and they came up against Monaghan and his twin Vinny(and other clubmates and friends). He put that to the side and got on with it. Now it's a bit different when it's father and son sure, but it's happened in the past.
Post by: tonto1888 on November 08, 2022, 11:01:03 AM
I imagine he is being paid to manage Ballybay so would he really have a choice?
Post by: tintin25 on November 08, 2022, 11:09:32 AM
Jesus, who cares....complete non story
Post by: Estimator on November 08, 2022, 11:13:27 AM
With reference to the Ronan McGuckin scenario from 2012. It was reported at the time that the conflict of interest – Errigal C playing The Shamrocks – was factored in before he got the job, and that EC were fully aware of his intentions if they ended up meeting each other in the Ulster Club.  Ronan obviously didn't have any cubs on the Ballinderry team, but he played and won a few championships with the majority of lads he would've been managing against.

You'd have thought that the same things would have been considered when Johnston took the Ballybay job.
Post by: J70 on November 08, 2022, 11:19:59 AM
Didn't Brian McIvor's son play for Derry against Donegal in the mid-2000s when McIvor was in charge of us?

Maybe club is (literally) closer to home, but it's not unprecedented for family members to be on opposing teams.

I played against my first cousins plenty of times growing up as we lived in neighbouring parishes.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 11:24:53 AM
Quote from: Estimator on November 08, 2022, 11:13:27 AM
With reference to the Ronan McGuckin scenario from 2012. It was reported at the time that the conflict of interest – Errigal C playing The Shamrocks – was factored in before he got the job, and that EC were fully aware of his intentions if they ended up meeting each other in the Ulster Club.  Ronan obviously didn't have any cubs on the Ballinderry team, but he played and won a few championships with the majority of lads he would've been managing against.

You'd have thought that the same things would have been considered when Johnston took the Ballybay job.
I don't think it's that big of a deal- he'll shake hands with the Kilcoo lads after the game and would like to think whoever loses will wish the other the best for the next round.
Post by: toby47 on November 08, 2022, 11:26:41 AM
Quote from: square_ball on November 08, 2022, 10:47:41 AM
Quote from: toby47 on November 08, 2022, 10:26:38 AM

Trying to picture the scene here. You'd arrive to training in Ballybay tonight or send in a message to the WhatsApp group and say sorry lads I can't make it this Sunday as I want Kilcoo to win this match but if you do manage to get over the line, which I really hope you don't, then I'll see you lads again this time next week at training and we can start the preparations for the Ulster semi final.

If you made the decision not to manage against your own club, you'd have to be reasonable enough to know that there's a chance they wouldn't take you back again.
Post by: snoopdog on November 08, 2022, 11:33:52 AM
Non story this. Mickey Moran had no issue knocking his own club Glen out of Ulster last year.
Jerome Johnson has a job to do and any sportsman has a competitive nature and he won't want to be ribbed in his own club.  Competitive nature won't be an issue. 
Post by: Truth hurts on November 08, 2022, 11:35:59 AM
Jerome is a dyed in the wool Kilcoo man, this is different, read the below story. He was one of the architects of their climb to the top.

THE sound of wind whistling around is all you can hear for a couple of seconds before an urgent, animated voice takes over.
"Houl on a wee second – I'll phone you back in the length of time it takes me to get from here back down to the ground..."
Jerome Johnston sr is in the middle of tiling a roof in Newcastle when the call comes. It's threatening rain, while the breeze blowing in off the Irish Sea is seldom forgiving in February.
In this week of all weeks, though, nothing can dampen his mood.
Tomorrow his three sons, Jerome jr, Ryan and Shealan and six nephews – Ceilum Doherty and the Branagan contingent, Aidan, Aaron, Darryl, Eugene and Niall – will all be involved as Kilcoo get a second crack at All-Ireland glory against Kilmacud Croke's.
"Do you know what it reminds me of?" he says, "it reminds me of a child looking forward to Santy Claus coming. You just hope you get the present you want."
Family connections might contribute to restless nights along the way, but the excitement, the anxiety, it's all wrapped up in so much more than the here and now. For Jerome Johnston sr and so many others, this is the culmination of a journey no-one could ever have imagined.
Standing here now, on club football's grandest stage, pride seeps from every pore. That wasn't always the case.
A full-forward in his playing pomp, the Magpies yo-yoed between the second and third tiers of Down football for much of that time. Burren had been the kings of the '80s but it was closer to home, in the schoolyard at St Malachy's High School in Castlewellan, where seeds were first sown.
"The thing that really drove me on was going to school with the Castlewellan boys and Bryansford boys, they had identity, club gear, kits bags, shorts and socks – we had nothing in Kilcoo. I mean nothing.
"It used to annoy me. I'd go with my da to championship finals and watch the Burrens, the Bryansfords, thinking wouldn't it be great if one day this was us... coming up the road in the car you'd say that and daddy would say 'child dear, Kilcoo will never be there'."
That beleaguered mentality ate at him, to the point that he was ready to try something different.
"The older brigade at the club thought I was in cuckoo land," says Johnston sr, "but sure if he wants to waste his time, let him tear away..."
In 1989, the ball started to roll – slowly.
"I got involved with U10s, boys like Anthony Devlin, Noel Devlin, Sean O'Hanlon, Mark Branagan, the eldest of the Branagan brothers. Me and the man who drove the bus, Paddy Morgan, took the team.
"Paddy Morgan was my idol... not a football idol but what he did for our club. Paddy managed every underage team in Kilcoo when I was growing up, he refereed the match, he was secretary, he drove the bus, he's now the club president.
"You mightn't have agreed with everything Paddy did but he was a great man. And he had some of the best phrases as a manager, you could've read him like a book.
"One of his favourites, every match you went to play he said the same thing to every team, and the famous speak was 'spread out and don't be running after the ball like sheep after a bucket of meal'.
"Only for him, we didn't have football."
The young Kilcoo team that reached the East Down final in 1992 was the first to compete in a championship final in over 50 years. They were beaten by Bryansford – "well beaten" - but Johnston sr was in no doubt that brighter days lay ahead.
"I can still see all the wee faces with tears in their eyes - my own eyes had tears in them because I believed we were going to win. They're listening, clued into every word you're saying, and I told them 'boys, they might've been bigger and stronger than us today, but I can assure you now, the day will come when we will beat them. We will be winners'.
"Paddy grabbed me by the shoulder and says 'don't be telling children that because we'll never beat them, we don't have the numbers'. Well in 1996 that same group won our first all-county championship.
"There was men standing along the line with rosary beads and prayer books, and Paddy Morgan came to me with tears running down his face - 'you've done it, I didn't think you could do it, but you've done it today'.
"That was the start. The conveyor belt was starting to go."
Jerome Johnston's goals were key as the Magpies blazed to a second Ulster title last month. Picture by Philip Walsh
Kilcoo were minor champions in 1998, won back-to-back U21 crowns in 2000 and 2001 and, before he knew it, they were playing alongside the man who had mentored them along the way.
After beating Castlewellan at Newcastle's St Patrick's Park in the league final, there could be no looking back. Johnston sr and other elder statesmen were getting ready to pass on the baton, and they did so knowing it was in safe hands.
"I was 35 or 36 then. That was my goal, to have those lads coming through. I played with too many boys who didn't care. When I say didn't care, it didn't hurt them enough to get beat. In those early days, I was going home and I couldn't be lived with because of what I saw going before me with Bryansford and Castlewellan.
"But then when we won in 2003, oh boy... and when you look at the photo from that day, there's our Jerome and Ryan, Cillian Laverty, Darragh O'Hanlon, all them wee boys were all in that photo like the wee children are today.
"We lived in Newcastle after we got married, and for the first few years our Jerome and Ryan went to primary school there. Because I lived beside the Bryansford pitch, I'd have gone over to watch if Kilcoo weren't playing.
"Jerome and Ryan came over and they'd be kicking about football with the wee boys they went to school with and big Oliver Burns, God to be good to him, I'll never forget, he says: 'I must get Bryansford jerseys for them two wee boys'. And I says 'naw, you know what Oliver, we're alright for dishcloths and cloths for washing the car'.
"He grabbed me, like a big bear grabbing a wee bear. But, for Kilcoo, the whole thing had changed."
In those young faces, the next generation was already on the way. Although fresh to the senior team, the likes of Conor Laverty, Donal Kane and Aidan Branagan got involved with the new crew, alongside Johnston jr and Mickey McClean.
Travelling to the All-Ireland Feile in 2006, little was expected of a small but skilful Kilcoo U14 side. Few clubs have ever enjoyed beating the odds as much.
"We went to the Feile and if we knew what we found out in the semi-final, I don't think we'd have even went. I was talking to Conor Deegan who was with Kilmacud Croke's, we shook hands, long time no see, I says 'Jesus, look at the size of them lads' and he says 'we have nine U14 teams in Kilmacud, we have our own wee league then pick the best 30 out of them'.
"I remember thinking 'my God... what are we even doing here?' But I'll never forget Sean Kelly, the president of the GAA, coming over the day we won it. He had been at all our matches, and he says 'I have never seen as small a children in my life can play football the way they can play'."
Next off the production line came the likes of Ceilum Doherty, Dylan Ward, Eugene Branagan, Miceal Rooney – men just hitting their peak now and driving Kilcoo back to another All-Ireland final.
Yet their path wasn't so straightforward.
"They were in a bad place at minor level. One evening I was up at the shed and I heard this commotion going on at the field, I went over and Kilcoo had 12 men left. Discipline was terrible, they couldn't get the numbers out, half of them didn't want to play.
"Like everything else, I overstepped the mark, fell out with the managers, so I got involved. As the wife says, 'that's you again, sticking your nose in'. But by this time we were starting to win senior championships, and I never wanted to lose what we had.
"Now you see how many of them boys have come on and are now part of our senior team. Look, there's a lot of luck involved in it, they're talented wee boys, I didn't make them the footballer they are today, neither did anybody else.
"They just maybe needed a wee bit of guidance."
As well as rivalries with the rest of the county, family fall-outs became a running theme on the way through the ranks. Johnston sr and his sister Bridie, mother of the Branagan boys, would often laugh together when their boys' backs were turned.
But the bad blood between cousins would ultimately sharpen all for the battles ahead.
"See when family get-togethers come, and they'd all go out into the garden when they were wee boys, oh my God there was some rows. You couldn't have spoke to one another for weeks.
"There was nights they'd have come home after a game, maybe even a training game, and I'd have gone mad at them, saying 'I'm telling you now, see the next night? Don't you be soft'. This is a Branagan they're talking about! 'See the next chance you get? You lift him, because he done you dirty there'.
"Then I'd go round to the Branagans' to see their side of the story - 'well boys... how'd the training go?' Nothing. You knew when you got the silent treatment, there was revenge in the works.
"I used to hear phone calls in the house 'don't you worry, we'll get them', then two nights later they'd be playing against Bryansford or Burren, maybe a row broke out and the whole lot of them's in together, beating for each other.
"That's the thing about playing for Kilcoo - you need to be thick skinned. The minute everybody comes through the gate at the field, no matter what family disagreements or arguments, that is put to the side and the black and white jersey is the only thing that matters.
"They love their farming, and they love their football. That's Kilcoo in a nutshell. [Donegal All-Ireland winners] Martin McHugh and Noel Hegarty, they're all sheep men, them boys would come to the Branagans to do with sheep and wouldn't leave for three or four hours.
"Roll Conor Laverty into that with the sheep and all, and they just think this is the best thing since the sliced pan loaf."
The whole trip has been an education for Johnston sr too. Away from the club, he was involved with Down during James McCartan's first stint at the helm, and is currently part of the management team at Ballybay in Monaghan.
However, having a close quarters view of the way Mickey Moran works has been an eye-opener, and he believes the Kilcoo players are every bit as determined to lift the Andy Merrigan Cup for their manager as much as themselves.
"I've had the good fortune to have been involved with great men like PJ McGee, who was my PE teacher. The respect everybody has for PJ is something else.
"Then the great man Brian McIver during the Down days. We were the big brothers, but Brian was the daddy figure to the players.
"And then there's Mickey Moran. What Mickey Moran has done for my children and boys in Kilcoo is unreal. Let's call a spade a spade, Mickey's not going to be there forever, and the one thing that has eluded Mickey Moran in his managerial career is an All-Ireland.
"I know how much them Kilcoo boys love Mickey and respect Mickey. It would be great for him to have an All-Ireland, the man can nearly rest easy then.
"For him to win that coveted All-Ireland with Kilcoo would just be something else."
Shealan Johnston, the youngest of the Johnston brothers, helped drag Kilcoo back into the All-Ireland semi-final against Cork's St Finbarr's. Picture by Philip Walsh
The days have flown by since St Finbarr's were vanquished in a bruising All-Ireland semi-final, and now the big one has landed on their doorstep - the ups and down of the past 30 years delivering Kilcoo to this point.
Every member of the panel will have handled the past fortnight in their own way. Johnston sr knows his boys better than anybody and knows that, despite their different personalities, all three are ready for whatever tomorrow throws their way.
"Jerome's a laughy, jokey sort, always the life and soul of the party. Ryan will have a bit of fun and a bit of craic... he'll pass himself at the party, but he'll not be the boy the party's revolving round.
"Shealan's a different kettle of fish altogether. He'd be there taking everything in – he's his mummy's side of the house. You'd be a good'un to get anything out of our Shealan. He's a deep wee thinker.
"To me, it was no coincidence Conor Laverty made him the captain of the county U20s last year. Conor used to say to me 'I would have conversations about football with your Shealan that I wouldn't have with another man – and he's never far wrong'. He never says much, but he's normally on the money.
"Back in September me and him were sat in Croke Park the day Mayo and Tyrone played in the All-Ireland final. It was half-time, and our Shealan turns round to me and says 'we need to get back here... I'm telling you now, we'll be back here'.
"I never really answered him because you're sort of thinking 'Jesus son, you should be glad to have been here when you were here, but the chances of getting back could be few and far between'.
"Now, as it turns out, he was on the money again. It just shows, success breeds success - all it takes is one spark to start a fire. Back in those wee boys in 1992, that was the spark for everything that followed since."
Post by: Cavan19 on November 08, 2022, 12:25:51 PM
I wonder will he send Drew Wylie out to rough up one of his cubs  ;D
Post by: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 12:26:59 PM
Quote from: Cavan19 on November 08, 2022, 12:25:51 PM
I wonder will he send Drew Wylie out to rough up one of his cubs  ;D
Without a doubt I'd say!
Post by: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 12:28:01 PM
That is some read Truth Hurts. Think I read it at the time as well. They really are the bench mark for all clubs to live up to.
Post by: LeoMc on November 08, 2022, 12:30:42 PM
A bigger question would be if being a Kilcoo man would give some additional insight he could use to aid Ballybay.
Post by: Cavan19 on November 08, 2022, 12:33:59 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on November 08, 2022, 12:30:42 PM
A bigger question would be if being a Kilcoo man would give some additional insight he could use to aid Ballybay.

There is no way in his heart he wants Kilcoo to be beat.
Post by: Truth hurts on November 08, 2022, 01:07:47 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 12:28:01 PM
That is some read Truth Hurts. Think I read it at the time as well. They really are the bench mark for all clubs to live up to.

I don't think a few clubs in Down would agree they are the benchmark after some incidents over the years but they have came from low division to the top.
Post by: clarshack on November 08, 2022, 01:10:33 PM
He has to go out to win. End Of.
Post by: yellowcard on November 08, 2022, 01:13:59 PM
I'd flip the question on its head and ask if I was a Ballybay man whether I would actually want him managing my team on Sunday. Deep down he will want Kilcoo to win. How could he not given that he has 3 sons and 6 nephews playing on their team. Its a unique situation but I think it would suit both parties (both Johnson himself and Ballybay club) if he stepped aside for the match.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 01:19:57 PM
Quote from: Truth hurts on November 08, 2022, 01:07:47 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 12:28:01 PM

I don't think a few clubs in Down would agree they are the benchmark after some incidents over the years but they have came from low division to the top.
Yeah I've heard the stories as well, don't know enough to comment and not going start posting hearsay on here but some nasty stuff alright.

As an outsider looking in though they truly are proof of what a small rural club can achieve.
Post by: SaffronSports on November 08, 2022, 02:22:30 PM
Kilcoo have their All Ireland. Is there an argument for him to have a desire to get one himself? I'm sure he'll go out and give Ballybay the best chance he can.
Post by: Mourne Red on November 08, 2022, 02:27:23 PM
Could also flip it round that he wants to beat them and get the job himself next season? Also in management do you really care about who you are playing, at the end of the day you are in it too win not for a participation medal
Post by: yellowcard on November 08, 2022, 03:01:31 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on November 08, 2022, 02:22:30 PM
Kilcoo have their All Ireland. Is there an argument for him to have a desire to get one himself? I'm sure he'll go out and give Ballybay the best chance he can.

He will be living among Kilcoo people for the rest of his life. If he beats his sons, his nephews and his own club he will be forever reminded of the time he took down his own when they were trying to defend their AI title. If Ballybay lose nobody will bat an eyelid in a few weeks time. He will leave the club regardless as a success after steering them to a county title. I think it would suit both Ballybay and Johnson himself if they mutually agreed for him to step aside. 
Post by: RedHand88 on November 08, 2022, 03:02:29 PM
Any manager who sits a game out because of this shouldn't be back the next week.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 03:18:17 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on November 08, 2022, 03:01:31 PM

He will be living among Kilcoo people for the rest of his life. If he beats his sons, his nephews and his own club he will be forever reminded of the time he took down his own when they were trying to defend their AI title. If Ballybay lose nobody will bat an eyelid in a few weeks time. He will leave the club regardless as a success after steering them to a county title. I think it would suit both Ballybay and Johnson himself if they mutually agreed for him to step aside.
If Ballybay do beat them then so be it, they weren't good enough to defend their title.
Post by: johnnycool on November 08, 2022, 03:55:27 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 03:18:17 PM

If Ballybay do beat them then so be it, they weren't good enough to defend their title.

He better be still living in Newcastle if that happens or move to the one upon Tyne...
Post by: yellowcard on November 08, 2022, 06:13:27 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 08, 2022, 03:18:17 PM

It's not as simple as that. There will be tactical planning taking place before the match and Johnson will have a lot of inside knowledge into how Kilcoo operate both individually and collectively. If he actually applies this knowledge it is worth a lot to Ballybay.

If he is not inclined to do so then he can't carry out his job properly and would be best standing down. Is he going to task players with taking down his sons and nephews during the week when assigning match ups, I just can't see how he can do his job properly. 
Post by: Lotto on November 08, 2022, 07:22:42 PM
That is some pile of dung of an article about Jerome Johnston. I remember reading bits of it at the time and same again here. Many parts are just pure fiction all to make a good story. Everyone in Down knows the depths they go to win at all levels of their club. Johnston is the Ballybay manager and should grow a pair.
Post by: seafoid on November 08, 2022, 07:57:09 PM
https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2022/1107/1333721-club-quandary-being-asked-to-manage-against-your-own/
Post by: rodney trotter on November 08, 2022, 08:03:38 PM
He is the joint manager so it's not a total disaster if he stepped aside for the game. Ballybay surely know enough about Kilcoo as it is,with them being All Ireland club champions.
Post by: toby47 on November 08, 2022, 09:57:37 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/gaelic-games/63558073
Post by: Schkite on November 08, 2022, 10:17:17 PM
I suppose at least he made it clear from the start so there were no surprises for Ballybay this week. I still think it's a bit mad - he's there to do a job and he's being compensated for it. Sure if Ballybay can beat the AI champs without him now, there'll be some people wondering do they even need him back.

J McEntee had the right idea when he was over us a few years ago(as mentioned in above article) - put the head down and get on with the job at hand with little fuss. Your connection to your home club never goes away, but when you've been put in a position elsewhere, you need to follow through imo.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 09, 2022, 01:32:03 AM
Hes been paid Obviously to manage Ballybay, he pulls out now, he can paid back what the money he got. R McGuckin managerial creditionals never really recovered the time he was managing a Tyrone team playing Ballinderry. And he pulled out.
Post by: tintin25 on November 09, 2022, 08:04:22 AM
Jez, this lad seriously needs to get over himself.  Not managing because of some family ties...it's pathetic.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 09, 2022, 08:21:56 AM
Quote from: Lotto on November 08, 2022, 07:22:42 PM
That is some pile of dung of an article about Jerome Johnston. I remember reading bits of it at the time and same again here. Many parts are just pure fiction all to make a good story. Everyone in Down knows the depths they go to win at all levels of their club. Johnston is the Ballybay manager and should grow a pair.
Maybe the rest of Down need to grow a pair, quit crying about their dark arts and beat them. Agree on Johnston but do see where he's coming from and in fairness if he made it clear from the start then no issue
Post by: nrico2006 on November 09, 2022, 08:43:07 AM
Quote from: tintin25 on November 09, 2022, 08:04:22 AM
Jez, this lad seriously needs to get over himself.  Not managing because of some family ties...it's pathetic.

Agreed, I'm sure a lot of us have been in situations where we have played against people we know well, it's just a game though and you get on with it.
Post by: yellowcard on November 09, 2022, 08:56:49 AM
Tough decision for Johnson but ultimately the correct one for all concerned imo. Is this match being televised anywhere, even deferred coverage?
Post by: imtommygunn on November 09, 2022, 08:59:13 AM
Is it not on live on TG4?
Post by: trailer on November 09, 2022, 08:59:57 AM
I think it is the biggest pile of virtue signalling shite. "Look how big a GAA man I am. Look I deep my love for Kilcoo goes."

I think it is an absolute pile of dung.
Post by: toby47 on November 09, 2022, 09:01:08 AM
Ronan Mcguckin & Jerome Johnstone both played key roles in helping their clubs become the best club team in Ireland. Maybe their mindset, is an insight, into the thinking in both clubs. Maybe it should be commended? I don't see much wrong with it at all, especially as in both cases it had been agreed they wouldn't manage against their own club before they took roles with Ballybay/Errigal. Jerome will not be thought of any less around Ballybay. He helped win the club their first championship in 10 years and 2nd in 35 years, when he decides to move on from Ballybay, he will be remembered fondly, no doubt about it. Go to Errigal and speak to anyone about McGuckin, not a bad word spoken.
Post by: themac_23 on November 09, 2022, 09:23:04 AM
Quote from: trailer on November 09, 2022, 08:59:57 AM
I think it is the biggest pile of virtue signalling shite. "Look how big a GAA man I am. Look I deep my love for Kilcoo goes."

This X2
Post by: seafoid on November 09, 2022, 09:27:27 AM
https://www.bbc.com/sport/gaelic-games/63558073

"I informed the players after the Crossmaglen game. It was emotional and I am torn"

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VV1XWJN3nJo

What is the big deal? If Kilcoo win the season is over.
If they don't he is back on Monday.
Post by: yellowcard on November 09, 2022, 09:44:09 AM
I understand why some people will take the opposite viewpoint but if I'm Ballybay I'm happy that he has made this decision. Some of it is simply borne out of an already inbuilt prejudice against Kilcoo and Johnson. I don't want a manager preparing for a match that isn't fully committed. And there is no doubt that Johnson can't be fully committed on Sunday given his family connections. How could he be? It's strange that the people most damning of him are neither from Kilcoo nor Ballybay where he is held in high esteem which tells you a lot.   
Post by: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 10:26:26 AM
I think he is 110% right. He is going to upset a club one way or the other and it's a no win situation. But if it was me I definitely wouldn't want to upset my own club and rock up to the club having put his home club out of the championship. It's not soccer ffs. He still plays a big role in the club and literally most of his team are either nephews or sons. I can't believe the amount of people that are against his decision. We don't know what the agreement is between Ballybay and him either. It was maybe discussed at the start of the year that he would step aside if they meet.  There is no way I could manage against my own club.

Edit! Just read the article that he made it clear that he wouldn't manage against Kilcoo. That is on Ballybay then. If they were worried about it then they shouldn't have given him the job. He should be commended for it.
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 09, 2022, 10:38:55 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 10:26:26 AM
I think he is 110% right. He is going to upset a club one way or the other and it's a no win situation. But if it was me I definitely wouldn't want to upset my own club and rock up to the club having put his home club out of the championship. It's not soccer ffs. He still plays a big role in the club and literally most of his team are either nephews or sons. I can't believe the amount of people that are against his decision. We don't know what the agreement is between Ballybay and him either. It was maybe discussed at the start of the year that he would step aside if they meet.  There is no way I could manage against my own club.

Edit! Just read the article that he made it clear that he wouldn't manage against Kilcoo. That is on Ballybay then. If they were worried about it then they shouldn't have given him the job. He should be commended for it.

Its not soccer? Assume you mean professional sport?
Post by: seafoid on November 09, 2022, 10:43:25 AM

What were the chances of Ballybay meeting Kilcoo when he took the job ? Their previous title was 2012
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 09, 2022, 10:43:39 AM
If you are willing to put yourself on the market for managing up and down the country then you should also be prepared to manage against your own club, if not then don't do it, as most managers will be looking to win their championships the reality is that this could and has happened.

He'd be getting his P45, though the club did (if I'm hearing right) agree to that scenario?  Then more fool them for not having the aspirations of meeting teams like the All Ireland champions at some point
Post by: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 10:44:08 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on November 09, 2022, 10:38:55 AM

No I mean in the sense that you don't have the emotional attachment for a soccer club that you do for a gaelic club. Sure boys transfer around the local soccer clubs every year. As I said, it's on Ballybay, he made his feelings clear when he took the job, if they weren't happy with it then they shouldn't have given him the job.
Post by: Walter Cronc on November 09, 2022, 10:46:49 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 10:44:08 AM

No I mean in the sense that you don't have the emotional attachment for a soccer club that you do for a gaelic club. Sure boys transfer around the local soccer clubs every year. As I said, it's on Ballybay, he made his feelings clear when he took the job, if they weren't happy with it then they shouldn't have given him the job.

Ah lad stop. I'm no soccer fan but let's not assume the GAA is holier than holy!
Post by: oakleaflad on November 09, 2022, 10:47:59 AM

Thing is, I don't think it's 'on' anybody. I haven't seen anyone from Ballybay or Kilcoo complaining about it. It's an interesting topic to debate for sure but this one seems to be ok with the clubs involved. Should be an interesting game.
Post by: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 10:50:18 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on November 09, 2022, 10:46:49 AM

Ah lad stop. I'm no soccer fan but let's not assume the GAA is holier than holy!

What do you mean?
Post by: trailer on November 09, 2022, 10:51:17 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 10:50:18 AM

What do you mean?

Is JJ getting paid do you think?
Post by: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 10:57:04 AM
Quote from: trailer on November 09, 2022, 10:51:17 AM

What do you mean?

Of course. But not for the next few weeks anyway! If Ballybay weren't happy they shouldn't have given the job!
Post by: trailer on November 09, 2022, 11:36:49 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 10:57:04 AM

What do you mean?

Of course. But not for the next few weeks anyway! If Ballybay weren't happy they shouldn't have given the job!

Maybe. I think he comes across a f**king dose.
Post by: Truth hurts on November 09, 2022, 11:42:23 AM
Quote from: trailer on November 09, 2022, 11:36:49 AM

What do you mean?

Who is a dose?
Post by: tintin25 on November 09, 2022, 11:49:36 AM
Quote from: themac_23 on November 09, 2022, 09:23:04 AM
Quote from: trailer on November 09, 2022, 08:59:57 AM

This X2

X3
If I was a Ballybay player I'd have zero respect for him
Post by: seafoid on November 09, 2022, 11:53:15 AM
It can happen in any sport

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TfsmFzsEkiE
Post by: trailer on November 09, 2022, 11:56:13 AM
Quote from: Truth hurts on November 09, 2022, 11:42:23 AM
Quote from: trailer on November 09, 2022, 11:36:49 AM

What do you mean?

Who is a dose?

Your man Johnston.
Post by: seafoid on November 09, 2022, 12:54:53 PM
Why is this such a big deal ?
Post by: Schkite on November 09, 2022, 01:15:05 PM
Quote from: toby47 on November 09, 2022, 09:01:08 AM
Ronan Mcguckin & Jerome Johnstone both played key roles in helping their clubs become the best club team in Ireland. Maybe their mindset, is an insight, into the thinking in both clubs. Maybe it should be commended? I don't see much wrong with it at all, especially as in both cases it had been agreed they wouldn't manage against their own club before they took roles with Ballybay/Errigal. Jerome will not be thought of any less around Ballybay. He helped win the club their first championship in 10 years and 2nd in 35 years, when he decides to move on from Ballybay, he will be remembered fondly, no doubt about it. Go to Errigal and speak to anyone about McGuckin, not a bad word spoken.

Did John McEntee not play a key role in helping Cross become the best club team in Ireland? And to a greater degree than Ballinderry or Kilcoo for that matter. And what did he do when a similar scenario arose for him? He put the head down and got on with the job he was brought in to do.
Post by: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 01:25:53 PM
Quote from: Schkite on November 09, 2022, 01:15:05 PM

Did John McEntee not play a key role in helping Cross become the best club team in Ireland? And to a greater degree than Ballinderry or Kilcoo for that matter. And what did he do when a similar scenario arose for him? He put the head down and got on with the job he was brought in to do.

And that was John McEntee's choice. Not one I agree with but if he was confortable with that then fair enough and he shouldn't be vilified. If someone feels the opposite way then they shouldn't be vilified either. I personally couldn't ever manage against my own club.
Post by: square_ball on November 09, 2022, 01:32:04 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 01:25:53 PM

And that was John McEntee's choice. Not one I agree with but if he was confortable with that then fair enough and he shouldn't be vilified. If someone feels the opposite way then they shouldn't be vilified either. I personally couldn't ever manage against my own club.

If thats the case, and it must be with Jerome Johnson, then why take another job other than your own club? If you are such a big club man then you wouldn't even entertain the idea of taking on another club no matter who they are. I appreciate its a difficult situation for him but such is life. 

Post by: Eire90 on November 09, 2022, 01:38:10 PM
how much bucks is  on i thought it was amatuer.
Post by: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 01:48:34 PM
Quote from: square_ball on November 09, 2022, 01:32:04 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 01:25:53 PM

If thats the case, and it must be with Jerome Johnson, then why take another job other than your own club? If you are such a big club man then you wouldn't even entertain the idea of taking on another club no matter who they are. I appreciate its a difficult situation for him but such is life.

I've no problem with a man taking another club outside his county or even in another division within the county. If he has aspirations to become a better manager or even get paid somewhere else then no problem. If he is happy enough to manage against his club in the unlikely even that they'll meet in Ulster then up to him but my own personal stance is that I would step away in this case. As I have said seveal times, Johnston made it clear he wouldn't manage against his own club if they met and Ballybay were happy with this. They shouldn't have taken him on if this was going to cause a problem.
Post by: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 01:49:48 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on November 09, 2022, 01:38:10 PM

The horses have bolted with this a long time ago now. I would love to know the percentage of clubs who aren't paying a manager. I would say it's a very small percentage.
Post by: trailer on November 09, 2022, 01:51:24 PM
Andy Farrell is to Step aside from managing Ireland V England and his son Owen in next years Six Nations. Sounds absurd? Yeah? That's because it f**king is.

Post by: Eire90 on November 09, 2022, 01:54:17 PM
are junior b clubs paying managers too
Post by: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 02:02:03 PM
Quote from: trailer on November 09, 2022, 01:51:24 PM
Andy Farrell is to Step aside from managing Ireland V England and his son Owen in next years Six Nations. Sounds absurd? Yeah? That's because it f**king is.

Not comparable at all. GAA is completely different and unique, especially in rural areas like Kilcoo. Even county isn't the same situation. I couldn't give a shit someone managing against their own county. Club for me is completely different. Anyway, both clubs seem ok with his decision.
Post by: Armagh18 on November 09, 2022, 02:04:09 PM
Surely you aren't naive enough to think he's driving away to Ballybay 3 or 4 times a week out of the goodness of his heart
Post by: gallsman on November 09, 2022, 02:14:35 PM
What happens if they win, does he saunter back in and say "right lads, that's me back in charge for the semi"?
Post by: blanketattack on November 09, 2022, 02:23:50 PM
Jerome Johnston was born a couple of generations too early. He's a snowflake in a middle aged man's body.
Your own manager purposely sabotaging your team's chances is bad form.
Post by: Eire90 on November 09, 2022, 02:30:08 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 09, 2022, 02:04:09 PM
Surely you aren't naive enough to think he's driving away to Ballybay 3 or 4 times a week out of the goodness of his heart

no but i just wondering how much he getting paid
Post by: Eire90 on November 09, 2022, 02:31:44 PM
Dont really care tho hes not putting  spuds on my plate
Post by: rodney trotter on November 09, 2022, 02:44:18 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on November 09, 2022, 02:30:08 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 09, 2022, 02:04:09 PM

no but i just wondering how much he getting paid

He would getting paid per session like a lot of managers. Not involved this week so hardly getting paid.

He made it clear at the start of the head he wouldn't manage against his own club.
Post by: trailer on November 09, 2022, 02:55:14 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 02:02:03 PM

Not comparable at all. GAA is completely different and unique, especially in rural areas like Kilcoo. Even county isn't the same situation. I couldn't give a shit someone managing against their own county. Club for me is completely different. Anyway, both clubs seem ok with his decision.

It is exactly comparable. GAA is different me bollocks. Spare me this shite. If it was so different why is driving half way across the county 3 or 4 times a week to manage a club he has no affiliation with or love for?
Post by: square_ball on November 09, 2022, 04:15:47 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on November 09, 2022, 02:02:03 PM

Of course Kilcoo are OK with the decision. In fact I'd suggest they are absolutely over the moon with the decision. The team they are playing this weekend won't have their manager on the line.
Post by: charlieTully on November 09, 2022, 05:50:14 PM
Quote from: Lotto on November 08, 2022, 07:22:42 PM

Sour grapes.
Post by: GiveItToTheShooters on November 09, 2022, 05:58:58 PM
He should be on the line. Letting his team down by not doing so, players should tell him to stay away.
Can't pick and choose, you are the manager or you're not.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 09, 2022, 06:15:44 PM
Ballybay had any balls they tell him his services are no longer required, Mickey Moran no issue brining down Glen by managing their nearest rivals Slaughtneil and then against Glen last year. Be honest before Ballybay, hadn't hear of him as a manager at all. Presume he managed Kilcoo to some of their early titles. You get in that game, take the money, you know the score. What high level senior team will take him down the line if he's not fully committed.
Post by: snoopdog on November 09, 2022, 08:14:56 PM
Very poor by Johnson if that's confirmed.  If Ballybay win they should tell him his services are no longer required.
Post by: SHEEDY on November 09, 2022, 09:24:20 PM
Are Ballybay complaining about the situation? If not why does it bother other people so much? Seems to be a lot of it from people who want to have a go at Jerome Johnson and/or Kilcoo.
Post by: Saul goodman on November 09, 2022, 09:25:06 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on November 09, 2022, 08:14:56 PM
Very poor by Johnson if that's confirmed.  If Ballybay win they should tell him his services are no longer required.

I do not think they will do that, nor should they he has to get some credit along with Mark Doran for getting a tune out of them this year. Think they are more likely to keep him on for another year win/lose/draw on Sunday than give him the road because he won't manage against his sons and nephews (which he said all along)
Post by: Saul goodman on November 09, 2022, 09:26:04 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on November 09, 2022, 09:24:20 PM
Are Ballybay complaining about the situation? If not why does it bother other people so much? Seems to be a lot of it from people who want to have a go at Jerome Johnson and/or Kilcoo.

Agree with that- turning into a bit of a side show
Post by: charlieTully on November 09, 2022, 09:45:12 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on November 09, 2022, 09:24:20 PM

In a nutshell.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 09, 2022, 10:30:29 PM
Nothing but another rock n roll mercenary.
Post by: trueblue1234 on November 10, 2022, 10:17:32 AM
He's in a no win situation unfortunately. If Ballybay go on to win, Kilcoo will feel he was still involved behind the scenes providing the inside on Kilcoo. If they lose I'd imagine it would be a reason to blame for Ballybay, whether it was or not.

We love a good reason to blame a loss on in the GAA.
Post by: Eire90 on November 10, 2022, 10:42:17 AM
its not like hes leading an army into battle against his children where his children could die.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 10, 2022, 10:44:00 AM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on November 10, 2022, 10:17:32 AM
He's in a no win situation unfortunately. If Ballybay go on to win, Kilcoo will feel he was still involved behind the scenes providing the inside on Kilcoo. If they lose I'd imagine it would be a reason to blame for Ballybay, whether it was or not.

We love a good reason to blame a loss on in the GAA.

If all else fails blame the ref!!
Post by: Eire90 on November 10, 2022, 10:44:52 AM
whats the odds on the match
Post by: gaaman2016 on November 10, 2022, 10:50:15 AM
Jerome managed my own club back in 2015 and he ended up managing us to win the Ulster intermediate championship. When he took on the job he said he would not manage us against Kilcoo in a league or championship match. He stood down in 2016 when we got promoted to the senior championship which we assume was to avoid such a conflict arising

At least he's been consistent in his views
Post by: Eire90 on November 10, 2022, 12:24:08 PM
seems like its media making a big deal of it
Post by: blanketattack on November 10, 2022, 01:05:46 PM
I know a couple of Gaelic football development coaches who work in a different county than their own.
Anytime their adopted county plays their home county in the minor championship, they ring the minor manager of their home county and give him a full run down of the strengths, weaknesses and tactics of the players and the team of their adopted team, even when he was a selector on the adopted county minor team.

Just shows blood is thicker than water and money!
Post by: Armagh18 on November 10, 2022, 01:18:49 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on November 10, 2022, 01:05:46 PM
I know a couple of Gaelic football development coaches who work in a different county than their own.
Anytime their adopted county plays their home county in the minor championship, they ring the minor manager of their home county and give him a full run down of the strengths, weaknesses and tactics of the players and the team of their adopted team, even when he was a selector on the adopted county minor team.

Fair enough at minor level but any decent manager will have seen plenty of Kilcoo/Ballybay, not entirely sure where the advantage lies here
Post by: Truth hurts on November 10, 2022, 01:29:28 PM

lies
Post by: seafoid on November 10, 2022, 02:36:16 PM
This is all a culture war to distract from the Cargin match
Post by: Blowitupref on November 10, 2022, 05:23:45 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on November 10, 2022, 10:44:52 AM

Ballybay 2/1
Kilcoo 8/15
Post by: armaghniac on November 10, 2022, 05:49:28 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on November 10, 2022, 05:23:45 PM

Ballybay 2/1
Kilcoo 8/15

Ballybay might not be the worst investment at those odds.
Post by: seafoid on November 10, 2022, 06:56:51 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on November 10, 2022, 05:49:28 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on November 10, 2022, 05:23:45 PM

Ballybay 2/1
Kilcoo 8/15

Ballybay might not be the worst investment at those odds.
You can certainly do better than crypto
Post by: Eire90 on November 11, 2022, 05:32:30 AM
Does this have a bit of the overhyped henry shefflin brian cody nonesense the media were talking about in the summer.
Post by: charlieTully on November 11, 2022, 12:20:59 PM
Man sits down with club officials before starting. Man agrees to come on board with one stipulation.. he won't manage against his home club... the situation comes to pass... Man keeps his word. The Internet goes bananas.
Post by: seafoid on November 11, 2022, 01:04:17 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on November 11, 2022, 12:20:59 PM
Man sits down with club officials before starting. Man agrees to come on board with one stipulation.. he won't manage against his home club... the situation comes to pass... Man keeps his word. The Internet goes bananas.
Man makes entirely rational decision. Internet explodes
Post by: imtommygunn on November 11, 2022, 02:44:01 PM
Exactly. Overhyped nonsense. Right decision.
Post by: seafoid on November 11, 2022, 02:49:35 PM
Is there any example anywhere of a manager who did manage against his kids and exploded with joy when they lost ? There seems to be a protocol  that everyone follows.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 11, 2022, 03:16:21 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on November 11, 2022, 12:20:59 PM

Too sensible. Please delete
Post by: shark on November 11, 2022, 05:07:18 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 11, 2022, 02:49:35 PM
Is there any example anywhere of a manager who did manage against his kids and exploded with joy when they lost ? There seems to be a protocol  that everyone follows.

I once played in a club championship semi final while marking my manager's son. Mind you, he also had two sons playing with us. There was also another pair of brothers playing against each other that day. No parish rule ; play wherever you like, great fun.
Post by: Itchy on November 11, 2022, 05:26:30 PM
I'd be ok managing a club against my own home club. I don't think I'd be ok if my son's were playing on the other team though.
Post by: seafoid on November 11, 2022, 06:31:42 PM
In that interview Johnston says that when he started Burren and Bryansford were the kings of Down football. Club is funny. Hegemony is temporary.
We lost an all Ireland final to Midleton in 1988. It was a sad drive home. But I was looking at the roll of honour the other day. Midleton only won the one. We have 3.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 12, 2022, 12:59:07 AM
We played a championship game where brothers in opposite teams kicked the crap out of each other, with their father managing our team. Brian McIvor when over Donegal, used his son lack of height playing half bck for Derry for Durcan to kick every kick out  to Rory Kavanagh, when Derry played Donegal bck in 2008.His lad got roasted, and off the county team from it the following year.
Post by: whitey on November 12, 2022, 02:18:42 AM
I know of three adjoining clubs-all the players would have gone to secondary school together

Brothers playing on opposite teams

First cousins playing on opposite teams

Uncles coaching against nephews

Retired players sons playing for opposition

Fathers coaching against daughters boyfriends

It's like the Hatfields and McCoys
Post by: blanketattack on November 12, 2022, 10:09:12 AM
Quote from: Truth hurts on November 10, 2022, 01:29:28 PM

lies

Don't be so naïve
Post by: Armagh18 on November 12, 2022, 10:30:39 AM
Quote from: whitey on November 12, 2022, 02:18:42 AM
I know of three adjoining clubs-all the players would have gone to secondary school together

Depending what part of Ireland you're talking about you might only be describing 2 people there ;)
Post by: Itchy on November 12, 2022, 11:27:03 AM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on November 12, 2022, 12:59:07 AM
We played a championship game where brothers in opposite teams kicked the crap out of each other, with their father managing our team. Brian McIvor when over Donegal, used his son lack of height playing half bck for Derry for Durcan to kick every kick out  to Rory Kavanagh, when Derry played Donegal bck in 2008.His lad got roasted, and off the county team from it the following year.

Don't think I've ever come across a match in modern times with brothers plying against each other in club football. How does that even happen?
Post by: whitey on November 12, 2022, 11:57:55 AM
Quote from: Itchy on November 12, 2022, 11:27:03 AM

Don't think I've ever come across a match in modern times with brothers plying against each other in club football. How does that even happen?

https://www.the42.ie/eoghan-tommy-oreilly-mayo-1150271-Oct2013/

Some parishes have 2 clubs
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 12, 2022, 03:16:56 PM
Normally happens when a team has no underage fball and end up playing with another team, while there still be a local senior team, and don't come bck, younger brothers played with local underage team when started up again, then on to senior., as was the case at my club at the time.
Post by: nrico2006 on November 12, 2022, 03:20:09 PM
Quote from: Itchy on November 12, 2022, 11:27:03 AM

I played a few senior games against my brother too as I transferred away when I moved from Tyrone to Armagh. More motivated to win than normal.
Post by: whitey on November 12, 2022, 05:45:50 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 12, 2022, 10:30:39 AM
Quote from: whitey on November 12, 2022, 02:18:42 AM

Depending what part of Ireland you're talking about you might only be describing 2 people there ;)

Haha-not too many branches on the family tree
Post by: galwayman on November 12, 2022, 09:21:32 PM
It's not an ideal position to be in for sure. It's made doubly difficult as he has sons playing.
My own opinion though is - if you take on the job of managing a team then you should do that job even if it means coming up against your own club.
That would be the right thing to do.
I'd imagine there has to be a loss of trust and buy in by players if their manager steps aside in that manner. I think I'd be pissed off personally as a player.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 13, 2022, 05:47:07 PM
O'Rourke had no issues today managing against his own club
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 13, 2022, 05:54:23 PM
If people cant see the difference by now theres no point trying to explain any further...
Post by: rodney trotter on November 13, 2022, 05:58:51 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 13, 2022, 05:47:07 PM
O'Rourke had no issues today managing against his own club

Not really the same. He's from Derrylin in Fermangh and moves to Tyrone when he got married