GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: SLIGONIAN on June 05, 2007, 11:05:11 AM

Title: Roscommon V Sligo CSFC
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 05, 2007, 11:05:11 AM
Well lads..Big one for us. Can we do it? I put my money where my mouth and backed Sligo at 5/2. I think we can do it. Who will start? What kinda support from Sligo will be there? I always get excited at this time of year.. Come on the black and white. Sligo to win by 2pts my prediction.
Title: Re: Roscommon V Sligo CSFC
Post by: Mano on June 05, 2007, 01:49:25 PM
I think we can do but Ross will be hard beaten on their own turf. I would be much more confident if it was in our place as there haven't been many away victories in the championship so far.
As regards the team Egan is a non starter. He is back running but the best he can hope for is a place on the bench. Haven't heard if there are any further injuries in the camp. I have heard there have been encouraging results in challenge matches but they can sometimes give a false picture of a teams wellbeing.
I also think we need a fine day weather wise to be in contention. Ross are a big physical team whereas we would be more mobile and faster around the field. I wonder will Ross narrow the pitch like they did the last time the 2 teams met in the Hyde. ;)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 05, 2007, 02:47:55 PM
Good points mano. I disagree on there own turf one. We drew last 2 times there and lost last 2 at home. I have to say on paper we have better team especially the depth in the subs. My main worry though is the wrong team will be picked, if I see mcgowan starting again i be annoyed. He was v poor against wicklow and sweeney came and played great on same corner back. Defence is solid but I worry about mcnamara at cb. SEANIE what was he like against NY. but opposition were poor. It seems philips is ahead of martyn in coming on pecking order. I believe this to be an error. Phillips is not tight enough defender but is good on the ball. We conceded alot of goals in league and mainly half backs defending was the cause. There is no doubt they are great on the ball. Sean Davey has to perform but is wild inconsistent.

More than anyother game this game is more on the day than ever before. so many inconsistencies going into it and players blowing hot and cold. I just hope our players picked up alot of good habits since league and can keep it going. I only heard of carlow challenge game but never read into them.

A fine day weather wise will help us no doubt. A GOOD HONEST REFEREE TOO.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 05, 2007, 03:17:56 PM
Hard to asses it really. We are a hard working and physical enough team despite not being the biggest. We have a dearth of scoring forwards and have to rely on solid defending and workrate. My main problem in judging this game is I really haven't a clue about Roscommon except that I know they are no world beaters. Therefore you'd feel they are beatable. No doubt it will be 70+ minutes of heart attacks, headaches etc. I'll be in delicate shape after flying back from a stag in Manchester too. Still, it will all be worth it if we sneak a result out of it.
Post by: Rossfan on June 05, 2007, 04:16:03 PM
Quote from: Mano on June 05, 2007, 01:49:25 PM
I. Ross are a big physical team ....

EHHHH :o :o :o
Since when?
Post by: Msgr. Horan on June 05, 2007, 05:11:56 PM
Much as it pains me to say it, Rossies by 4 or 5 and I honestly think they'll rattle Galway (I didnt say beat mind you) in the final.
Post by: OirthearMhaigheo on June 05, 2007, 05:17:31 PM
would have to agree with you Msgr, Ross look the better team on paper and had a much better league where they ended up losing to what now looks like a decent Meath team. I think if Ross do win they'll really put it up to Galway but that's for another day!
Post by: Ryano on June 05, 2007, 05:34:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 05, 2007, 04:16:03 PM
Quote from: Mano on June 05, 2007, 01:49:25 PM
I. Ross are a big physical team ....

EHHHH :o :o :o
Since when?

Bit puzzled by that one too RossFan. O'Neill and Finneran in the middle are both 6'2 and maybe Mannion but who else is "big and physical"? Claffey is 5'10 in goals, Seanie Mac and whoever starts in the other corner are 5'5 on a good day, McDermott or Casey depending on who starts are 6 exactly at FB. The two wing backs Dooner, Daly or Purcell again depending on who starts are around the 5'5ish mark again. Nolan (WG) is 5'10 in the middle of them. As for the forwards if Mannion starts he is the only one over 6 foot. Cregg, Heneghan, Cox, Tiernan and Kenny are all shy of 6 foot. Not exactly Meath mark II are we in the physical department!   

As for the game well it depends on which Roscommon turn up. If the team that ran circles around Cavan turn up then we will win with ease. Sligo had an ok league campaign like ourselves and no more then ourselves are no world beaters. However if its a repeat of the Meath debacle then Sligo have every chance of winning it with ease. We are extremely fit as you would expect from a John Maughan team so running out of steam will not be a worry. Shaq and Finneran need to get on top of midfield and O'Hara needs to be stopped from running up the pitch and setting up attacks or indeed dominating midfield. We need big performances from Cregg, Kenny, Cox and Heneghan too. If these 4 can get on top of their markers then they will do serious damage. They are a good mix of small, fast forwards like Cregger and Heneghan with Kenny and Mannion for the hard graft. Claffey in goals has been a cause of concern in recent games and the McDermott at FB has had some dodgy games, such as the Leitrim match. I think they will come back from Portugal raring to go.

A fully fit Roscommon, bad and all as we are at times, should still be enough to win by a few points. Fingers crossed all the same as Sligo have a good record in the Hyde against us.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 05, 2007, 05:34:54 PM
All Ireland Champions 2006 did you forget to put minor in there or is it just me and yee actually do think yee won the senior.

Ross by 4 or 5pts is expected in Mayo and Galway so. Misplaced that prediction is having seen Ros they arent great. Meath played really well against us but played poor and still won by a good margin in div 2 final. Ross are alot poorer since 2004 and we have improved so I am expcting a Sligo win. I can guarntee this though we will suprise a few people even ourselves this yr and in good way. I reckon Mayo, Galway ross know very little about us except for our main players.
Post by: Mano on June 05, 2007, 05:40:05 PM
Physicality is'nt all about height-Kenny, Mannion, Heneghan-There isn't many bigger full forward lines around. I reckon ye spared a few inches on your giants in midfield.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 05, 2007, 06:21:19 PM
The league doesn't matter all that much as the championship so far has proven.

Whatever about the rights and wrongs of the "big physical team" comment there's no way you have 4 backs that are only 5 foot 5 - surely. 5'5 is really small.
Post by: Redgreenery on June 05, 2007, 09:04:39 PM
For some I reckon Sligo will win this one, because I dont think Roscommon are quiet as good as them at this point in time, Ros dont have the players.
Post by: Ryano on June 06, 2007, 09:20:45 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 05, 2007, 05:34:54 PM
All Ireland Champions 2006 did you forget to put minor in there or is it just me and yee actually do think yee won the senior.

What????????? Who mentioned the minors here? I think its actually just you, we know full well where we are in the pecking order at senior level. Do i detect some bitterness on your behalf about last years AI win, sorry last years AI MINOR win? Get over it already huh. It was 50 odd years since we won a minor title and 60+ since a senior. We are well entitled to enjoy it because it will probably be another 50/60 years until we win another one. 

Quote from: SLIGONIAN on June 05, 2007, 05:34:54 PM
Misplaced that prediction is having seen Ros they arent great.

Are you some sort of yeats county Yoda of wha? "Misplaced that prediction is young skywalker......."

Quote from: magpie seanie on June 05, 2007, 06:21:19 PM
Whatever about the rights and wrongs of the "big physical team" comment there's no way you have 4 backs that are only 5 foot 5 - surely. 5'5 is really small.

You obviously have not seen Robbie Kelly in the flesh so..... paint him orange and you have an oompa loompa! 5'5 ish i said. Sure you will get a few of them who are + an inch or two but they could be a hell of a lot taller! I only wish they could be called a big physical team..

Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 06, 2007, 10:29:09 AM
Thanks Ryano for clarifying that. I was just wondering, I been hearing yee are the All Ireland Champions but Its a first that a Rossie has actually me told of what. Thought yee might of forgot that Kerry are the All Ireland champions and ye are the minor. Why do Rossies seem leave out the word Minor all the time. ::) Gentle reminder of the facts no bitterness. In fact I got to my first All Ireland final last from a ticket from a Rossie mate. Definitly wouldnt begrudge yee an all Ireland at any level.

Great observation on that Yoda quote, I do watch Star Wars alot. It just came out like that though.
Post by: AhFeckRef on June 06, 2007, 11:59:13 AM
QuoteRossies by 4 or 5 and I honestly think they'll rattle Galway (I didnt say beat mind you) in the final.

I wonder what Leitrim will have to say about that...

Think Sligo will take this one with ease. Don't believe Ros are any great shakes as Leitrim proved in the Hyde earlier this year.
Post by: Rossie11 on June 06, 2007, 12:42:45 PM
Sligo wont get a better chance of beating Ross than this year. I feel they are 2 similar sides with a few players of genuine class on either side but mostly average players. They both huffed and puffed though the league campaigns, mixing the good with the bad.

A line of form through Meath would put nothing between the sides as both lost heavily.

Based on Cavans form in the championship I would scratch our performance in league semi against them. Yes we looked impressive but they are a very poor side and the open spacers of croker suited the likes of Cregg and Heneghan.

I cant get away from the 2nd half performance in the league v Leitrim. What a shambles. Leaderless and clueless on the pitch and the sideline. If Sligo put it up to us in physical stakes (ala Leitrim) I would fear if things start to creak under pressure who do we look to for leadership.. By in large we have a young inexperienced team. Thats my biggest fear.
Sligo to win.. maybe after a replay
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 06, 2007, 01:17:55 PM
Ive got be honest I will be very disappointed if we lose. Rossie fair observation on the meath results benchmark. Our full back line is top class. Harrison, mcguire and donovan are excellent defenders and great on the ball. J davey mcnamara and mcgovern are good but I think mcnamara will be exposed against ros in a defending capacity. O hara and Quinn in midfield. I expect o hara to hold his own and quinn to lose his individual battle with oneill or mannion.. Hf line Brehony will start chf and expect a decent game from himself. Curran will win lots of possesion and defend fiercly but wont add much in a attacking sense. I expect Sean Davey to start at 12 and play same as against wicklow and he'll do fine. FF line kelly to win lots of possession and only score if close in.  ff Gallagher to start to come as fourth hf. God help us if he starts McGowan,, Id start either marren or sweeney.

I fairly confident of a win. My main concerns are team selection and tactics. In 2002 forde lost us a connaught title. He had the NY LEITRIM game to get right team on the field and it took till 20 mins to go against Galway to cop on. I knew and most Sligofans did that he messed up. This yr playing Quinn, gallagher and mcgowan wil  be exposed now championship time is on. Why hasnt McGarty got a run? Id start Doohan midfield if fit with ohara. Id start sweeny corner f and if off day bring on marren. Make quick changes. Id put mcnamara up front and bring in J Martyn in. Martyn is better defender than phillips and just as good on ball and played way more competitive football in last few yrs. We need to be quick on the line to make changes. Simple, the players are there so I will blame the management if we lose....
Post by: magpie seanie on June 06, 2007, 01:42:42 PM
QuoteI expect o hara to hold his own and quinn to lose his individual battle with oneill or mannion

QuoteThis yr playing Quinn, gallagher and mcgowan

Quit your slabbering, I've had just about enough of it from you on this. You weren't in New York and obviously didn't hear too much about the recent game against Wexford. Make inquiries about the Sligo/Wexford challenge game and find out who was one of the best players on the field. You are continuing this line of attack on one of our players with no evidence. I suggest you button it.
Post by: baoithe on June 06, 2007, 02:17:30 PM
Seanie can you fill me in on some of Sligo's recent challenge games? Nonetheless, I don't need to know how well Quinn did in these games to know that he is an addition to the county team. To be honest, I was worried that coming back after a year out would lessen Quinns impact on the championship this year. I had counted on him returning to top form next season.
I'm still not convinced about McNamara. I do not think he is the footballer he is made out to be. As far as I know he and McGarty played against Farnans recently and a young lad - albeit a talented one - absolutely cleaned them. I say 'As far as I know' because I wasn't at the game and heard this from one of the lads at home but you know how performances can be exaggerated.
Anyway, could anyone fill me in on recent challenge games?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 06, 2007, 02:38:00 PM
Slabbering wish I knew what that meant but I can guess. Where I am I attacking Quinn? You are shockingly defensive of him and I can say what I want especially when I believe it to be true.  I dont say that to anyone who I disagree with. What evidence? Tape of any league game. Do you think he is as good as a fit Doohan or Taylor? If Quinn has a bad game in hyde would you admit it to yourself even. I doubt it.  My main questioned is answered in the fact that you ignore the so called ATTACK on mcgowan and gallagher used in the same sentence. So take a chill pill on this.

I couldnt care less about challenge games. People read way to much into them. I'll judge every player and Sligo on competitive football. We beat a full Donegal side in oxfield 2 yrs ago by 4pts in cracking game. 2 weeks later we lost tamely to Leitrim by 5 pts in CSFC.

Do you agree with any of my points or to just pick the points you disagree with and analyse them. How did mcnamara look against NY albeit there useless? Will Mcgowan start after NY and what do you think gallaghers role? Your thoughts please? ;)
Post by: Mano on June 06, 2007, 02:47:30 PM
QuoteThis yr playing Quinn, gallagher and mcgowan wil  be exposed now championship time is on

I would have to agree with Seanie on this one. Quinn had been slow to return to county standard after his few years out. But there were encouraging signs that he was starting to return to form in latter stages of league. There is a world of difference between club and county and i think Sligoian you should take account of this when criticising lads who have taken a few years out for whatever reason.

McGowan despite been a club mate-i would be amazed to see him start. Surely Marren or Sweeney will get in ahead of him
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 06, 2007, 03:03:47 PM
No worries Mano I dont need anyone to agree with me re MY Concerns for the Ross game team selection. I respect yer opinions. ;)

We will all be much the wiser come Sunday 17th June. I will observe every player impartially. 

Thrown in 3.30 in Hyde....tickets on sale next Tuesday 12th. 30,25 and 20 euro cost.
Post by: oakleaf stateside on June 06, 2007, 09:39:00 PM
if sligo kick as many wides as they did in new york they r in trouble
Post by: Teeling Gael on June 07, 2007, 06:45:10 AM
In essence I see Sligo's main problems are in the forward line. Most Counties have bigger minor full forward lines than Kelly , Gallagher and Mc Gowan and we certainly will not beat Roscommon with that line. In all likelihood , Mc Gowan will be replaced by Marren or Sweeney both of whom have also flattered to deceive at intercounty football with one good performance followed by 2/3 average ones. Curran is a worker and isn't on the team to score so that leaves Brehony and Davey. Davey as we all know is gloriously inconsistent and I worry that we are so reliant on him. Despite the rave reviews he is getting on the wing , the team is better balanced when he is full forward and I can't get Noel O Leary out of my head when thinking of Davey as a wing forward. Brehony has improved dramcatically as an intercounty player since his introduction in 01/02 but tends to struggle in the Connaught Championship. We need a massive performance from him. Mc Partland in my mind should be at 12 with Davey full forward. Mc partland shouldn't be full forward as he doesn't have the game for it at this level but he has the bulk , experience and point scoring ability in the half forward line. Doohan hasn't played enough football to be considered at midfield and with O Hara would be too small a partnership at this level. Quinn easily gets my vote as well. Think Martyn or a reputably flying Phillips would be better options at 6 than Mc Namara but apart from that cant over argue with the backs that played in NY. In fairness in Doohan , Martyn , Phillips and also in O neill we have decent cover in the half back . Worry slightly that the bulk of Mannion and Heneghan will cause our full back line some difficulties ala M Meehan last year but they will be very competitive on low ball. Finally we shouldn't understate the loss of B Egan if as a Mano suggests he isn't fully fit.Despite an average league presumably down to injuries he is one of our best players.
Post by: Rossfan on June 07, 2007, 08:37:43 PM
Just a reminder  - We are All Ireland Champions
Post by: Rossfan on June 07, 2007, 08:50:36 PM
Anyway this game could go either way as both teams have been inconsistent at best in recent times.
Both will feel they can win and that its their best chance for many a day of making a Connacht final.
I think we'll be in for a thriller - maybe the football wont be great- and wouldnt rule out a trip to Markievicz for a replay.
However apart from local bragging rights in border areas and the right to be considered Connacht second division's best this game wont have much affect on the race for Sam.
Hopefully a decent crowd will turn up and anyone(from Ros or Sligo) who misses this game to sit at home watching other teams on TV should be shot.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 08, 2007, 10:14:40 AM
Good points Teeling Gael... why do you think Brehony changed McNamara to CHB when well already have alot of good players and cover there ???? Especially when McNamara played 2yrs ago is impressive in the forward line and we have a lack of scoring power.

I am worried though about Gallagher and McGowan starting. Big mistake in my opinion.. I find hard to understand when you have the likes of Phillips, Martyn, Doohan, McGarty, Sweeney and marren on bench and these guys starting. I know its not a straight swap.

Re Quinn yes he has to start in my opinion and my criticism of him earlier is merely and observation of the fact if Taylor and doohan were fit no man in Sligo would have him ahead of them. And no way is he as good as Oneill or mannion for Ros so thus my assumption is that he may lose his individual battle. But he is the best of whats left. He is a spoiler in the fact Ive never seem him catch clean ball he always tends to fist so he will distrupt the Ros guys. We need curran on his game to win breaking ball. That is a lottery though 8). I can see Seanie tearing his hair out now on this one. Sligonian attacking Quinn AGAIN.  :o
Post by: sligoman2 on June 11, 2007, 09:41:09 PM
When will the team be announced.

I share you concerns about lack of size in the ff line.  I would expect marren, gallagher and kelly to start.  I hope Brehony has a short fuse though when it comes to making changes if needed....
Post by: Onlooker on June 11, 2007, 11:25:26 PM
As a neutral I feel that Sligo have a real chance of bringing off what most would see as a surprise win.  As regards the statement by Rossfan that they are All Ireland Champions, I thought the last time Roscommon won the Sam Maguire was in 1944!!!.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 12, 2007, 10:01:25 AM
Teeling - 100% in agreement and whats more I think that's the team that will be picked too. There are a couple of boys who are unlucky to not get in there which is a good thing as I expect if this weather keeps up it will be a 20 man game. I'm getting pretty excited about it now. Think we have a good chance. I hope we don't do our usual falling behind and come racing back in the second half. The heart is not able for many more of those. Last 2 ties between these two in the Hyde ended in draws with Ros taking the replays narrowly both times. There shouldn't be much in it again.
Post by: Mano on June 12, 2007, 01:18:11 PM
Sligo manager Tommy Breheny is sweating on the fitness of talisman Eamonn O'Hara ahead of Sunday's Connacht SFC semi-final against Roscommon at Hyde Park.

The former All-Star's groin injury hasn't been responding to treatment and he is rated as a major doubt for the local derby clash. Sligo will definitely be without defender Tony Taylor who is ruled out for the rest of the season after undergoing surgery to repair a dislocated kneecap. Taylor sustained the injury in a club game just a few weeks before Sligo's first round win over New York on May 13.

Roscommon boss John Maughan has a full complement of players to pick from. The Rossies are just back from a training week in Portugal.

Does anyone know if this story is true or is it some pre match mind games?

If he doesn't play i don't think we have much chance. If he plays and not fully fit like against Donegal and Galway a few years ago we have even less chance.

Post by: magpie seanie on June 12, 2007, 01:20:34 PM
Mano - I'm worried that there might be something in it but hopeful its being overstated. Agree with your analysis - we really need a fit and firing O'Hara but if he's not fit he should be left out.
Post by: Ryano on June 12, 2007, 01:39:59 PM
Quote from: Mano on June 12, 2007, 01:18:11 PM
Sligo manager Tommy Breheny is sweating on the fitness of talisman Eamonn O'Hara ahead of Sunday's Connacht SFC semi-final against Roscommon at Hyde Park.

Until the ball has actually left the refs hands for the throw in on Sunday and the starting 15 have lined up, i will not be passing any heed of that sort of statement. Just the usual silly mind games that go on with all counties before big games.

I think you would have to knee cap O'Hara to stop him from playing in this game and more importantly from having the chance of getting a few slaps in on Shaq O'Neill or any lad in a Ros shirt! ;D
Post by: baoithe on June 12, 2007, 02:06:48 PM
Quote from: Mano on June 12, 2007, 01:18:11 PM
Sligo manager Tommy Breheny is sweating on the fitness of talisman Eamonn O’Hara ahead of Sunday’s Connacht SFC semi-final against Roscommon at Hyde Park.

The former All-Star’s groin injury hasn’t been responding to treatment and he is rated as a major doubt for the local derby clash. Sligo will definitely be without defender Tony Taylor who is ruled out for the rest of the season after undergoing surgery to repair a dislocated kneecap. Taylor sustained the injury in a club game just a few weeks before Sligo’s first round win over New York on May 13.

Roscommon boss John Maughan has a full complement of players to pick from. The Rossies are just back from a training week in Portugal.

Does anyone know if this story is true or is it some pre match mind games?

If he doesn't play i don't think we have much chance. If he plays and not fully fit like against Donegal and Galway a few years ago we have even less chance.

It'd be foolish to believe everything that appears on hoganstand. I wonder is there anything about this in todays Weekender? The online version hasn't been uploaded yet.
I'd really fear for us without O'Hara but if he is carrying a groin injury there is no way he should lineout in a championship match.
Post by: baoithe on June 12, 2007, 02:16:51 PM
Just out of interest: were O'Hara to be injured and out for Sundays game, who would you guys bring in? I wonder would Quinn make it into Sligonians starting fifteen in such an eventuality?   ;)
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 12, 2007, 05:01:29 PM
As I said earlier post Quinn has to start because we dont have anything better with Taylor injured and doohan not fit too start so yes he would make it into my team. ;D

As for specuulation on O Hara I guarntee he'll start but may be carrying an injury. Oneill ankle is fully healed for ros either i hear.

Sligo team to start sunday,

Greene, harrison, McGuire donovan, mcgovern, mcnamara, j davey, o hara, quinn, curran, brehony, s davey, kelly, gallagher, marren.

Wouldnt 100% agree and we all know the postional switches by now.

Roscommon 1-10 Sligo 0-15.FT.
Post by: Rossfan on June 12, 2007, 07:46:12 PM
Quote from: Onlooker on June 11, 2007, 11:25:26 PM
As a neutral I feel that Sligo have a real chance of bringing off what most would see as a surprise win.  As regards the statement by Rossfan that they are All Ireland Champions, I thought the last time Roscommon won the Sam Maguire was in 1944!!!.

Ros won All Irelands - Senior 1943,1944.
                               Junior 1943,2000
                               U 21  1966,1978
                              Minor  1939,1941,1951, and 2006.
We are one of a small number of Counties who have won more than 1 All Ireland in all 4 Grades of Inter County Football. As far as I know Galway/Mayo/Cork/Kerry/Dublin/Meath and poss Tyrone being the others.   
As for a Sligo win being a surprise - No it wouldnt - it's anyone's game with two poor enough teams involved.
Indeed the best contest on the day could be the Best Tan competition between the Commandant and Captain Tantastic(O'Hara) ;D
Post by: magpie seanie on June 13, 2007, 08:38:28 AM
QuoteIndeed the best contest on the day could be the Best Tan competition between the Commandant and Captain Tantastic(O'Hara)

That will be no contest. O'Hara will take that with ease, wait 'til you see.
Post by: Mano on June 13, 2007, 08:43:38 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on June 12, 2007, 07:46:12 PM
Indeed the best contest on the day could be the Best Tan competition between the Commandant and Captain Tantastic(O'Hara) ;D

Sean Davey has quite a good tan also which proved costly against Westmeath last year when the clowns Hughes and McGovern counldn't tell them apart. Hopefully they have been staying out of the sun
Post by: Ryano on June 13, 2007, 09:16:53 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on June 13, 2007, 08:38:28 AM
QuoteIndeed the best contest on the day could be the Best Tan competition between the Commandant and Captain Tantastic(O'Hara)

That will be no contest. O'Hara will take that with ease, wait 'til you see.

Maybe, but i think Maughans lady boy legs (which will no doubt be on display in short shorts) will pull the rug from under him. He has had a week in Portugal to get them looking there best.....
Post by: Mano on June 13, 2007, 09:35:41 AM
ROSCOMMON (SF v Sligo) - G Claffey; S McDermott, A McDermott, P O'Connor; S Daly, D Casey, R Dooner; S O'Neill, M Finneran; J Tiernan, G Cox, C Cregg; D Connellan, K Mannion, G Heneghan.

Ross team has been named above. Looks a very solid lineout-may be a few question marks over the full back line. David Casey will be a big addition in centre half back. Derek Connellan is back in. I've seen him playing a few times including marking him in a challenge game against Kilmore a few years ago and he has never impressed me. What do the Ross guys think of the lineup?
Post by: heineken_on_tap on June 13, 2007, 01:16:22 PM
First of all I think Ros will win this one by a point or two. If o'hara plays it will be interesting to see who gets sent off first - him or o'neill. Anyway neither of these teams is going to have a major say in this years championship. My main worry about Ros is real lack of leadership when things are not going well - Mannion is captain but is not a natural leader as he is a confidence player himself, perhaps casey will take on that role if he is back to the form he had a year or two ago......looking at the team Ros have out I would give them the hesitant vote
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 13, 2007, 01:26:58 PM
No big deal...I expect all the nuetrals and pundits to go with a Ross win. They are at home which doesnt bother me but outside sligo everyone will see that as a advantage.  We beat Down, Leitirm and lost to westmeath with 12 men LAST YR and I think we have better squad this yr so I expect us to improve on last year.

There is always a suprise team every year and I can see it being Sligo. Starting with this Sunday.
Post by: Ryano on June 13, 2007, 01:52:21 PM
Quote from: Mano on June 13, 2007, 09:35:41 AM
ROSCOMMON (SF v Sligo) - G Claffey; S McDermott, A McDermott, P O'Connor; S Daly, D Casey, R Dooner; S O'Neill, M Finneran; J Tiernan, G Cox, C Cregg; D Connellan, K Mannion, G Heneghan.

Would not be surprised if this changes come Sunday. Casey has played 1 game this year as he has been plagued by injury so he cannot be match fit or maybe even fully fit after all he has gone through. Big surprise is that John Nolan-Western Gaels (there are 2 John Nolan on the panel) was dropped for Casey. He has had an excellent league campaign at CHB so i find it hard to understand why he would be dropped now unless he is injured. It would make more sense to most Rossies to leave Nolan at CHB and play Casey at FB instead of A McDermott who has been shakey enough during some of the league.

Strange also that Connellan gets the nod ahead of Enda Kenny. Kenny had a difficult day against Meath but there again Darren Fay was marking him and who has ever played well against him? Apart from that he has played well in most games.

Karl Mannion is lucky to have the No. 14 shirt too. He has the look of a lad who is burnt out. Its been non stop for him over the last 18/24 months with St Brigids in the Club AI and then Roscommon. He has not been playing well at all in the Ros shirt thus far. I think he needs a seriously long break from all football to regain some hunger and passion for the game.

Apart from these the team pretty much picks itself. Shaq and Finneran have had a solid year at midfield so far while Dooner and Daly and Seanie Mac (Sligo lads will know him from the SIT team of the last 3/4 years) in the defense have all been good more or less up to now. Cregg and Heneghan in the forwards will do damage if the Sligo defense is anyways slack and John Tiernan has had an excellent run with Brigids and should cause trouble too. Gary Cox is a confidence player. When on his game he can absolutely dazzle but has the tendency to kick silly wides or get himself into trouble with the ball. If he gets a few early scores to settle himself then he should have a good game.

Its going to be tight and could well be a draw. Looking forward to it all the same, we tend to have real ding dong battles when we meet and Sunday should be no different.
Post by: Ryano on June 13, 2007, 03:12:53 PM
Looks like i am wrong. This will actually be the starting line up on Sunday according to a Ros panel member. Not sure if i am too happy with it. Will have to wait and see how we fair out...
Post by: Tatler Jack on June 13, 2007, 05:41:30 PM
Probably as good a team as Ros can field at the moment given that quite a few players are not considered by Maughan. Maybe Nolan is unlucky to lose out but I would not class it as a surprise. Suspect Ryano your club loyalty is clouding your analysis a bit.! ::)! If I remember Nolan missed a few league games through illness anyway. Kenny is also a bit unlucky – while Connellan has ability he rarely performs so he will need to produce something on Sunday to justify selection. The selection of Claffey in goal reflects how poor we are in that position.

Overall it is not a team to get excited about and if we are to succeed we will need some big performances from our more experienced players,  a few of the younger players like Dooner and Cregg to produce something extra and the rest to play with a bit of consistency. We will also probably need to score a few goals as against Offaly. We could also do with a bit of passion in the side – under Maughan they always seem subdued – maybe obeying the captain's orders.

Overall I think there are too many "ifs" about this side and I think Sligo have a stronger more experienced panel. Also Sligo always play well in the Hyde and they should win on Sunday – and maybe go on to take the Connacht title.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 13, 2007, 06:50:37 PM
QuoteAlso Sligo always play well in the Hyde and they should win on Sunday – and maybe go on to take the Connacht title.

Let's not get ahead of ourselves now. ;)
Post by: Tatler Jack on June 13, 2007, 07:13:26 PM
QuoteLet's not get ahead of ourselves now

I feel GBB that if they beat Ros they have every chance against Leitrim  :D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 14, 2007, 10:56:51 AM
Either this yr or next yr we have to win Connaght. Simple. O Hara wont be around for much longer so would be a shame if he didnt win nestor medal.
Post by: adevvabr on June 14, 2007, 01:14:21 PM
i think even a half fit casey would be better than john nolan, nolan has no pace nor the inteligence to play centre back at this level, he was lucky in the league not to come up against a quality centre forward and mauhan knows that brehony would destroy him on sunday
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 14, 2007, 02:46:10 PM
Sligogaa.ie
Breaking news - The Sligo team to face Roscommon will be published here tomorrow evening at 9pm. The long period of anticipation is nearing an end and tomorrow evening we will be the first to let you know the line up for Sligo against Roscommon in Hyde Park on Sunday.

Marren will come in for McGowan in the only change.

I reckon a crowd of 10000 at the game. Getting close now. I feel excited nervousness and optimistic. I will be severly disappointed if we lose because we are a better team no question in my mind with better subs.
Post by: Mano on June 15, 2007, 09:12:03 AM
Philip Greene, Charles Harrison, Noel McGuire, Ross Donovan, Paul McGovern, Michael MacNamara,Johnny Davey,Sean Davey,Kieran Quinn,Brian Curran, Mark Breheny, Eamon O'Hara, David Kelly, Philip Gallagher, Adrian Marren.

Marren is in for McGowan and Davey and O'Hara have switched positions. Is O'Hara at wing forward due to his injury? If he is injured he should not be playing. He was played several times before while injured and it backfired every time.
Surely if he was to play he should be on O'Neill. Davey will not be able to compete or wind O'Neill up the way O'Hara can. Sligo boys whats your comments on the team?
Post by: magpie seanie on June 15, 2007, 09:32:18 AM
Personnel along expected lines alright. Cannot see them lining out that way though. I'd say O'Hara and Davey will  switch after a few minutes and if I'd my way Davey and Gallagher would then switch. Hard to see us scoring a whole pile but don't see them doing so either. Doohan and McPartland to land in the last 20 minutes and swing it for us. I'm optimistic enough but would prefer the rain to stay away.
Post by: Teeling Gael on June 15, 2007, 09:37:19 AM
Agree with everything you say Mano re O Hara and Davey but genuinely think it is an exercise in muddying the waters and O Hara will end up there within 15 minutes. Am concerned about the size of our forward line particuliarily on a wet day and also that apart from Davey and Brehony cant see anyone else scoring consistently. It worrys me greatly to be relying on the gloriously inconsistent S Davey and consequentially the pressure that will be on tightly marked Brehony
Post by: Mano on June 15, 2007, 10:12:09 AM
Bringing Marren in has given us another scoring option. He has been inconsistent in the past but he is capable of scoring a few points given good quality ball. I'm assuming though that Gallagher will be roaming out the field leaving us with 2 small fellas in the full forward line with 3 defenders for company.
Post by: Rossie11 on June 15, 2007, 10:36:47 AM
Generally happy with the Ross team based on the panel its prob the strongest he was going to put out.
With Casey at CHB it will hopefully give the full back and goalie a bit more protection. We cannot make mistakes and ship soft goals on Sunday so big games are needed from FB line in general.
For once in as long as I can remember our forwards as a unit has genuine pace about it. Cregg Heneghan Cox and Connellan have the ability to take on and beat their markers and as long as Mannion does his job as the target man I would be confident we can score sufficiently to win. Thats a big if though...
The tussle between Casey and Brehony will be key to Sligo scoring treat. If Casey can hold him them Sligo are on the back foot in my book.
All in all its still a 50/50 call. Sligo are due a big game in Connacht. You have to think if they cannot produce it Sunday it may never come for this crop of players.
Post by: Ryano on June 15, 2007, 11:59:07 AM
Quote from: adevvabr on June 14, 2007, 01:14:21 PM
i think even a half fit casey would be better than john nolan, nolan has no pace nor the inteligence to play centre back at this level, he was lucky in the league not to come up against a quality centre forward and mauhan knows that brehony would destroy him on sunday

Very harsh comment and simply not true. Nolan has been outstanding over the last couple of years for Western Gaels and their defense has been built around him. He is certainly not short of pace for a man of his build and is well able to lay off passes to his CHF line. He has come up against some fine CHF forwards such as Barden for Longford in the league and has put them in his pocket. Can you name a game this year that he has performed poorly in? To say he should be dropped because he has not had the opportunity to play against a "quality" CHF is stupid. How can you judge him if he has not had the chance to prove himself??

His performances in training have dipped due to an ankle injury and he has had two serious chest infections this year alone which have knocked him sideways. Its more to do with this I think that he has lost his place. Playing someone instead who is not match fit, played once all year and may not be fully fit is daft and could well blow up in Maughans face.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 15, 2007, 12:24:18 PM
The funny thing about this game is how different Sligo team are since 2004. J davey, Harrison, Donovan, mcgovern all new and very fast, mcguire at fullback. This has improved us dramatically. Young Kelly also very fast in the forwards. Brehony more of leader. They rest are probably the same. I think ros fans will be suprised how fast we are.

Ros have lost grehan and dolan since so maybe rosfans can tell me whether team have improved.

The weather is promised good for Sunday going by weekend forecasts..
Post by: magpie seanie on June 15, 2007, 12:59:08 PM
Do you remember Naughton at full back that day? One abiding memory was the parade and the strapping on the ankle OUTSIDE the sock! Class footballer but he wasn't right that day and was in big trouble with Mannion early on. Think he steadied the ship later on alright. Johnny Martyn had a decent game at 6 but Dolan still damaged us quite a bit. Gary Maye was in midfield!
Post by: sligoman2 on June 15, 2007, 01:29:28 PM
No question this is the fastest Sligo team I have ever seen.  Size especially in the forward line is a big concern.  It's crucial that we play to our strengths and dont send in high lobbing balls to our small forwards.

The weather will definitely impact the match, as a sunny dry day will definitely benefit Sligo who are smaller but faster than Roscommon and probably most teams in the country.

A lot depends on Mcnamara and Gallagher, lads who have not played a lot of football in the last few years and have crucial roles at CHB and FF.  We also need big games from Quinn and Davey in midfield.  This might be the day that Sean Davey breaks out and displays the undoubted class he posesses...

Sligo by 2 points.....
Post by: Tatler Jack on June 17, 2007, 05:36:15 PM
Spot on Sligoman2. It sounds though as ye should have won by a lot more. Hope ye go all the way now.
Post by: Fishead_Sam on June 17, 2007, 08:07:07 PM
Last I heard it was Roscommon by 3, who won in the end & what was the Final Score?
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 18, 2007, 12:09:41 AM
0-13 to 2-5 fishhead. Outscored Ros 9-1 in the last half hour. I suppose that sums the game up really. A good display in the second half, considering the wastefulness of the first, we did kick a lot of wides in either half, which should have been converted. Davey responsible for a good few of those. Had Curran down for MOTM myself, but McGovern was deserving of it all the same. The team had serious workrate and desire to win the ball, which Ros didn't match in that secod half. O'Hara and Quinn performed well at MF, Breheny got his share of points, and the FB line had a solid display. The forwards were so-so - Marren and Gallagher poor, Kelly again getting the ball fine, didn't do much with it. McPartland and Sweeney both made decent contributions when brought on, though Johnny Mc did kick some poor efforts at the same time.

Connacht Final now - probably Galway, probably in Castlebar. Revenge for 2002 would be nice. We're there anyway, hasn't been very often we could talk about a Connacht Final appearance around these parts. Roll on July 8th!
Post by: Barney on June 18, 2007, 08:13:35 AM
Fair play to Sligo. I hope Eamon O'Hara gets his deserved Connacht medal but it is hard to see that happen.

Can't believe that Ros only put up 2-5 in a home championshp game, and collapsed as they did against Leitrim in the league. Maughan will be lynched I guess unless they get a decent run in the qualifiers but he has made it clear before that they do not interest him.
Post by: Mano on June 18, 2007, 08:56:36 AM
Good performance and a great result yesterday which sets us up nicely for a tilt at the Connaught final. Plenty of improvement will need to be found over the next few weeks especially in front of goal. We also need some scores from our full forward line. Hard to believe we scored 13 points and none of 3 starting full forwards scored. Marren i thought was a little unlucky to be hauled off so soon into the game but the full forward line was just too small and he paid the price for a woeful high pass to Kelly.
O'Hara as i heard in midweek was fit and raring to go-his injury (was in groin, knee or hamstring) was overstated in the media and he was flying into tackles from early on. Sligonian will be eating humble pie on Quinn shortly-he caught 3 in the middle, blocked and harried and scored a point. You can't ask much more from a midfielder. Half forwards and half backs were superb. Davey scored 2 points but kicked 6 wides. He also was indirectly responsible for the 1st Roscommon goal by not running onto the ball but had a good game. Overall still a big improvement for the next day but it can be done
Post by: mannix on June 18, 2007, 09:02:36 AM
"the 3 men on th fullforward line did not score"  its a false dawn lads.If you have a ff line that cannot score you will shortly meet reality,galway.
Still, good luck.
Post by: Mano on June 18, 2007, 09:24:02 AM
Hopefully it will be sorted for Connaught final in a months time against either Leitrim or Galway. Thinking a bit ahead of yourself there Mannix but realistically there should be only one winner from that one.
Post by: Ryano on June 18, 2007, 09:32:12 AM
Congrats to Sligo on a fully deserved and well won victory. I really hope you go on and win the final, you certainly have nothing to fear from either Galway or Leitrim going on yesterdays performance. I would not be surprised if its Leitrim you have to play. I don't think Galway are as good as that Mayo performance would lead you to believe. It had more to do with who they were playing then how good they are and it will be hard for them to be as motivated or replicate that level of intensity next Sunday.

Congrats again lads.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 18, 2007, 09:56:12 AM
A good result and a good performance but plenty to work on. We really made it hard on ourselves and I was thinking with 5 minutes to go that if we didn't win it I'd cry. Curran was man of the match for me as well - did they give it to McGovern? McGovern played very well too. Full back line solid as ever though they did have trouble at times with Roscommon's pace. Half backs and half forwards did well on breaks, Curran especially. Midfield dominated for the most part. O'Hara - well what can you say about him. Unreal. Had O'Neill in his pocket all day. Quinner did his job well too. Took a great catch at the death as well as a few others. Worked his nuts off too. Need I say any more? Breheny took the scoring honours, one or two of them savage efforts altogether. Kelly worked hard to provide an outlet for the ball up front. Our subs did well when introduced and this was telling as we felt it would be earlier in the week.

On the down side the centre back situation is still up for debate. I don't think it went great yesterday. Was very disappointed with Marren's actions (threw the jersey to Kent) when taken off. He might have felt hard done by but that's something that I just don't like. Getting scores from the FF line is also an issue but one I believe we can and will address for the next day.

So a third Connacht final in 10 years. Third time lucky?
Post by: Rossie11 on June 18, 2007, 09:59:37 AM
Well done to Sligo. Outfought and out thought Ross all over the pitch.
O Hara had a storming 2nd half and was it not for some wayward shooting the game would have been closed out a lot earlier.
We were a shambles. Didnt have the heart for the fight and scoring 5 points in 70minutes is a woeful stat.

We wont have a run in qualifiers and are looking at been on the end of a right hammering by whoever we get.
If it quickens the departure of that idiot Maughan then it will be worth it.

Post by: Hardy on June 18, 2007, 11:43:15 AM
Great stuff Sligo.
Post by: Rossfan on June 18, 2007, 07:58:57 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on June 18, 2007, 09:59:37 AM
Well done to Sligo. Outfought and out thought Ross all over the pitch.
We were a shambles. Didnt have the heart for the fight and scoring 5 points in 70minutes is a woeful stat.

We wont have a run in qualifiers and are looking at been on the end of a right hammering by whoever we get.
If it quickens the departure of that idiot Maughan then it will be worth it.

Couldnt agree more on all counts. We were simply woeful - a team mentally and physically unprepared for Championship Football.
If this is what 2 years of Maughanism brings lets end it fast.
What a waste of €1m since November 2005.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on June 18, 2007, 08:26:20 PM
Well done to Sligo. Looked like a good win from what I saw of the game. Roscommon looked dreadful but Sligo certainly finished very strongly. Some nice scores in the second half.

Have to say that purely from a personal perspective I was hoping for a Rossie win as the final would have been in Pearse Stadium. Heading down to Ennis for the hurling the day before the Connacht final and now will probably have to head to Castlebar the following day for the football (if we get past Leitrim). More travelling than I was hoping for. ;D
Post by: SLIGONIAN on June 19, 2007, 01:07:00 PM
Well done Sligo. :D Some courage shown when 6pts down.  Have to start by saying how impressed I was with K Quinn..He caught great ball and his passing was outstanding he always gives it everyhting but showed great leadership last Sunday..He was the first man I went to on the pitch to congrat.. Curran was outstanding 3pts from play and Mcgovern too...Ohara showed how great he is..showed oneill up.. Thought mcguire did well and brehony and s davey were ok.. Sweeney has to start the next day and maybe mcpartland too. Alot of what I said was right too except my view on Quinn who I am delighted proved me wrong. McNamara is not a defencive player.

My connaght final team is GREENE DONOVAN (who has to mark meehan if Galway) MCGUIRE HARRISON(heneghan turned him too easy on sunday) J DAVEY MARTYN(has to start or maybe phillips) MCGOVERN OHARA QUINN CURRAN BREHONY DAVEY KELLY SWEENEY MCNAMARA

People forget mcnamara was probably our best forward in 2004 in the corner..We have too many good backs on the bench push macca up the forwards where we are weak..Gallagher and marren arent good enough in championship..simple... Brehony did ok on the line although I predicted the changes well before they happened. and would of brought on sweeney first. All in all happy enough..need plenty of shooting practice in training.

How many sunshines in Sligo? Poor crowd sunday but fair play to those who were there.
Post by: Redgreenery on June 20, 2007, 05:21:36 PM
Best of Luck to Sligo in the Connaught final!!! Good enough second half!! Well done!