GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 07, 2022, 03:06:46 PM

Title: Offally U14 Shenanigans
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 07, 2022, 03:06:46 PM
2022 and this shite is still happening?

https://www.offalyexpress.ie/news/gaa/784742/four-players-dropped-from-offaly-gaa-panel-after-playing-soccer-match.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter
Title: Re: Offally U14 Shenanigans
Post by: Rossfan on April 07, 2022, 03:39:34 PM
Gahbadsoccergood.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on April 07, 2022, 03:44:19 PM
any wonder children lose interest in the game
Post by: In hiding on April 07, 2022, 05:42:02 PM
At least they can concentrate on the soccer now
Post by: From the Bunker on April 07, 2022, 06:00:41 PM
We had a situation last week where a Two local u14 Gaelic Football teams arranged to play each other the same day as a Hurling Match which was well sign posted. 6 players involved in both picked to play football! 2 from one team 4 from the other. Being in a natural hold of power, the football clubs decided to plough ahead. With the Hurling left with no option but to go to the county board to block any referee being appointed.

The football crowd got huffed that they basically could not trample on the Hurling fixture. Looking down their nose at how 6 players could disrupt a football match!
Post by: Main Street on April 07, 2022, 09:49:03 PM
Some glimmer of hope
POLL: Were Offaly GAA right to drop four U14 players for missing training for a soccer match?

72% No
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 12:20:57 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 07, 2022, 03:39:34 PM
Gahbadsoccergood.

Did your mother have you tested?

Any thoughts on the topic in hand?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 01:31:57 AM
Quote from: In hiding on April 07, 2022, 05:42:02 PM
At least they can concentrate on the soccer now

Much as I hate to say it, I think they are better off out of it.

Codes of conduct, dropped from county panel for missing (with permission) one session, no warning, no meeting. They are 13. I would be questioning that environment for seniors, never mind kids
Post by: rosnarun on April 08, 2022, 09:08:28 AM
Its the way Declan kelly is he dropped some of the best  Players from  last years under 20 squad because they were not willing to meet his level of commitment .
and that wored out for him .
Some counties have been wishy washy regarding commitment for years and get no where.
Manager sometimes have to be unreasonabl p***k to get results .

What would Edenderry Town FC have done if the lads went to football training instead
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 09:20:02 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 08, 2022, 09:08:28 AM
Its the way Declan kelly is he dropped some of the best  Players from  last years under 20 squad because they were not willing to meet his level of commitment .
and that wored out for him .
Some counties have been wishy washy regarding commitment for years and get no where.
Manager sometimes have to be unreasonabl p***k to get results .

What would Edenderry Town FC have done if the lads went to football training instead

They are 13.

But that story doesn't fit. The lads were given a pass to not train.

And are we seriously suggesting missing one session gets you axed is a thing, especially for kids?

Are you asking what Edenderry would have done if lads akipped a national cup QF to go training?
Post by: Truth hurts on April 08, 2022, 11:16:45 AM
The sport of the oppressor, well done Offally.
Post by: David McKeown on April 08, 2022, 11:23:28 AM
To me it looks like one of two scenarios has occurred.

Either the kids have been removed because they have prioritised soccer which makes me question the professionalism of Offaly in dealing with kids.

Or

Offaly demand professional levels of commitment from 13 year olds (and the reason for missing the session is largely irrelevant) which makes me saddened at the approach being taken to an amateur sport.

Either way I don't think Offaly have covered themselves in glory here. Poor kids
Post by: themac_23 on April 08, 2022, 11:55:29 AM
Its an U14 'Development Squad' if its for developing players then it should be treated as such. the young lads in question are probably better off out of it, if they're playing club football and also playing soccer thats plenty for them. they'll be getting plenty of training and game time over them 2 squads and when they're a bit older ie under 17/18 they'll be back in the county fold for minor if they're good enough. Kids should be encouraged to go and play as much games as they can, it'll make them far better players.
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on April 08, 2022, 11:59:03 AM
I've 2 lads playing football and hurling for a few years now and they played soccer this winter. The football end of GAA is definitely the hardest to work round. I get you need a certain level of commitment but it's proven in professional sports that playing multi sports at youth level makes for a better rounded athlete at adult level. Very few are going to play 2 or 3 sports after 15/16 but there should be some slack given to young kids. Those 4 lads are more likely to stick to the soccer than work harder to get back to the panel.

Kids should enjoy sport first and foremost and more and more I'm hearing kids aren't enjoying gaelic football because it's too serious too soon.
Post by: GoldCoastRossie on April 08, 2022, 12:07:28 PM
I feel sorry for the young lads. A FAI cup quarter final is a huge game and one they have played and trained for with their teammates and earned  the right to play in.   

What does it say to young lads that you have to sign a contract to train with a development panel. Do you think dropping them will increase their love of GAA or alienate them ?

One of the things I liked about playing soccer at home was playing with school friends who played with a number of GAA clubs and we got to play together as a team.

It's seems rather heavy handed and disproportionate

Post by: laoislad on April 08, 2022, 12:26:08 PM
Dinosaurs are alive and well and running U14 development squads in Offaly I see.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 12:29:18 PM
Quote from: themac_23 on April 08, 2022, 11:55:29 AM
Its an U14 'Development Squad' if its for developing players then it should be treated as such. the young lads in question are probably better off out of it, if they're playing club football and also playing soccer thats plenty for them. they'll be getting plenty of training and game time over them 2 squads and when they're a bit older ie under 17/18 they'll be back in the county fold for minor if they're good enough. Kids should be encouraged to go and play as much games as they can, it'll make them far better players.

We can't seriously have a situation where a 13 year old gets kicked off a county panel (and development squad is MBA speak for that) because they miss one training.

This gets curious as the parents claim they notified the coaches and were told no bother.

Every single one of us at the various levels we played at missed training the odd time. Life gets in the way, people get injured or sick.
Post by: Don Cockburn on April 08, 2022, 12:48:33 PM
Quote from: laoislad on April 08, 2022, 12:26:08 PM
Dinosaurs are alive and well and running U14 development squads in Offaly I see.
Soccer and rugby teams do it as well but it doesn't seem to attract the same outrage.

Children at that age should be encouraged to play a range sports. Dinosaurs shouldn't be tolerated in any sporting body.

Post by: trueblue1234 on April 08, 2022, 12:56:55 PM
Has the Offaly management commented on this? I think it's so unreal that I'd like to think there is something more to this. If not,  the management should hang their heads. Unbelievable decision.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 01:03:56 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 08, 2022, 12:56:55 PM
Has the Offaly management commented on this? I think it's so unreal that I'd like to think there is something more to this. If not,  the management should hang their heads. Unbelievable decision.

Not commenting on individual cases but back management 100%
Post by: clonadmad on April 08, 2022, 03:55:53 PM
It's all the dinosaurs in the Gah who do this

2 u13's told if they were joining a Dublin school boy club to give up all other sport as a condition of them joining

Currently 5 u15's in Offaly barred by Athlone Town from playing GAA

GAA as per usual held to a different standard than the rugby and soccer
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 04:54:47 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on April 08, 2022, 03:55:53 PM

2 u13's told if they were joining a Dublin school boy club to give up all other sport as a condition of them joining

Unsourced whataboutery
Post by: Bord na Mona man on April 08, 2022, 05:20:44 PM
It's a pity to see that players can't be accommodated, especially when it's such a big match for them.
Declan Kelly is strict on this though. Last year for the U20s he made no concessions to players who wanted to play hurling.
A couple of the leading footballers in the county were off the panel because of their desire to also play hurling.
He won the All Ireland, so will see it is vindication of his stance.

The fallout is predictable with the usual reactions from the usual suspects.
Post by: Armagh18 on April 08, 2022, 05:32:37 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 04:54:47 PM

Unsourced whataboutery
It's definitely not whataboutery and is fairly common knowledge. Doesn't make what the Offaly management have done right but still happens.
Post by: clonadmad on April 08, 2022, 05:34:44 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

Except it's not,in the instance of the 2 u13's I can name both the players the soccer club and the manager as the manager was my brother in law

If my claim about the 5 u15s in Clara is wrong

prove me wrong

Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 06:30:41 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on April 08, 2022, 05:34:44 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

Except it's not,in the instance of the 2 u13's I can name both the players the soccer club and the manager as the manager was my brother in law

prove me wrong

You made a claim. It's up to you to validate it
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 06:31:52 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 08, 2022, 05:32:37 PM

Unsourced whataboutery
It's definitely not whataboutery and is fairly common knowledge. Doesn't make what the Offaly management have done right but still happens.

It is by definition whataboutery.

Can you link to an example of soccer or rugby axing kids for playing another sport. Just one.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on April 08, 2022, 07:09:51 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong
I presume this is referring to the same?
https://twitter.com/pauldeeh19/status/1512177760088829957

I'm not sure what more evidence is needed as I'd also know those involved and it stacks up.

I'd expect BB2 is in denial of anything that might run counter his perma-victim mindset when it comes to Irish domestic soccer.
Post by: clonadmad on April 08, 2022, 07:39:56 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 06:31:52 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on April 08, 2022, 05:32:37 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

It is by definition whataboutery.

Can you link to an example of soccer or rugby axing kids for playing another sport. Just one.

There you go

https://twitter.com/hughnaughton/status/1512232380341399570?s=21&t=9CdB9xfXsly1UON5sVNLmA
Post by: dec on April 08, 2022, 08:22:11 PM
Quote from: bigarsedkeeper on April 08, 2022, 11:59:03 AM
but it's proven in professional sports that playing multi sports at youth level makes for a better rounded athlete at adult level.

It the US the school sports seasons are fairly short. A typical schedule is Fall Football , Winter Basketball and Spring Baseball

Many of the top pro players played multiple sports when they were in school, usually only specializing when they get to college.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 08:26:18 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on April 08, 2022, 07:09:51 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

I'm not sure what more evidence is needed as I'd also know those involved and it stacks up.

I'd expect BB2 is in denial of anything that might run counter his perma-victim mindset when it comes to Irish domestic soccer.

A bloke on twitter isn't evidence
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 08:28:50 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Again. A bloke on Twitter.

I'm not in denial. I'm asking for people to back up their claims. But it's whataboutery. We are on a GAA forum discussing an incident in the GAA.
Post by: GAABoardMod5 on April 08, 2022, 08:29:13 PM
You can stop now BB2.

Post by: clonadmad on April 08, 2022, 09:16:26 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 08:28:50 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

I'm not in denial. I'm asking for people to back up their claims. But it's whataboutery. We are on a GAA forum discussing an incident in the GAA.

Not just any bloke

Paul Deehan is the manager of that particular Clara team and he has said on Twitter that it's 100% that 5 of his u15 team are being prevented from playing Gaelic Football by Athlone Town Fc

The question for you now is quite simple

Do you want to climb out of the hole  you've dug for yourself

Or

Do you want to stay digging and look an even bigger fool than you already are?

Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 09:25:04 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on April 08, 2022, 09:16:26 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Paul Deehan is the manager of that particular Clara team and he has said on Twitter that it's 100% that 5 of his u15 team are being prevented from playing Gaelic Football by Athlone Town Fc

Or

If that is true he needs to kick up a fuss. The FAI will not back that position.

But just because other codes may or may not be doing something does not deflect from the topic in hand and the contradictory statements from the Offaly CB.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 09:25:27 PM
Quote from: GAABoardMod5 on April 08, 2022, 08:29:13 PM
You can stop now BB2.

??

Post by: clonadmad on April 09, 2022, 10:53:49 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 08, 2022, 09:25:04 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

If that is true he needs to kick up a fuss. The FAI will not back that position.

But just because other codes may or may not be doing something does not deflect from the topic in hand and the contradictory statements from the Offaly CB.

Sligo Rovers at it as well

asking players to sign contracts at u15 and instructing them to play no other sport
Post by: David McKeown on April 09, 2022, 11:06:26 AM
I've coached youth (association) football at all ages and levels including players who've gone on to be international footballers and I've never had a requirement that they give up their other activities. Even some who had arrangements with English clubs were allowed to play for us and play other sports.

I truly don't see the advantage to it. If the child prioritise the other sport fine they would find it harder to get game time than the one I had coached who knew what I was looking but they weren't excluded and they didn't get no time it was just harder for me to pick them or recommend picking them if it was a close call between players. All the players knew that and behaved appropriately.

Interestingly though a number of Belfast schools won't consider you for their first rugby teams if you played football because historically matches for both were on Saturdays.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 09, 2022, 12:02:25 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on April 09, 2022, 10:53:49 AM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

asking players to sign contracts at u15 and instructing them to play no other sport

That's acadamy stuff though. They are entering into a professional environment and that's the age you need to specalise. You are monitoring diet and fitness at that level.
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 09, 2022, 02:34:03 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on April 08, 2022, 11:23:28 AM

Either the kids have been removed because they have prioritised soccer which makes me question the professionalism of Offaly in dealing with kids.

Or

Offaly demand professional levels of commitment from 13 year olds (and the reason for missing the session is largely irrelevant) which makes me saddened at the approach being taken to an amateur sport.

Either way I don't think Offaly have covered themselves in glory here. Poor kids

There's a third possibility here, you know. I have no idea what happened in this particular circumstance. I just want to make a general point, if I may.

Sometimes lads on youth teams are dropped because they have been acting the maggot in one way or another. But, because the GAA is an amateur association they're not publicly shamed and a cover-story press release is made - two lads were dropped for playing tennis when they should have been training, or whatever.

Two things can happen then. Either the lads' families get on the phone to the local Joe Duffy and say it's a disgrace, or the local Joe Duffy sees the story and writes it up as a garrison-game-versus-the-GAA story. Either story sells, and that's what news is about - selling papers. Truth always coms second to selling papers.

The GAA are then in a bind because, again, they're not going to dump children in it. Mick might have been playing tennis alright but maybe he was drinking Buckfast on the team bus too, and it's the latter that's the real reason for his dropping.

Again, I have no idea what happened in this case, and I don't really care - I'm sure Edenderry is a lovely spot but they can paddle their own canoe. I've got my own problems. I'm commenting here because it's important for people to be suspicious of what they read in the papers in general, and to think hard about why the story is being published in the first place.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 09, 2022, 04:40:47 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on April 09, 2022, 02:34:03 PM

Or

There's a third possibility here, you know. I have no idea what happened in this particular circumstance. I just want to make a general point, if I may.

Sometimes lads on youth teams are dropped because they have been acting the maggot in one way or another. But, because the GAA is an amateur association they're not publicly shamed and a cover-story press release is made - two lads were dropped for playing tennis when they should have been training, or whatever.

Two things can happen then. Either the lads' families get on the phone to the local Joe Duffy and say it's a disgrace, or the local Joe Duffy sees the story and writes it up as a garrison-game-versus-the-GAA story. Either story sells, and that's what news is about - selling papers. Truth always coms second to selling papers.

The GAA are then in a bind because, again, they're not going to dump children in it. Mick might have been playing tennis alright but maybe he was drinking Buckfast on the team bus too, and it's the latter that's the real reason for his dropping.

Again, I have no idea what happened in this case, and I don't really care - I'm sure Edenderry is a lovely spot but they can paddle their own canoe. I've got my own problems. I'm commenting here because it's important for people to be suspicious of what they read in the papers in general, and to think hard about why the story is being published in the first place.
First thought that came into my head when i seen this story published.
Post by: Main Street on April 09, 2022, 05:13:46 PM
I'd say the decision was not made until it became known the kids had played in a soccer game,
but Offaly GAA are going with the crime of 'missing practice'.
According to the news article,
the parents had given notice (as per the 'rules') that the kids would miss the session.
There was no dialogue with the parents or disciplinary procedure of any sort enacted before the decision was made.

Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 09, 2022, 05:29:32 PM
Quote from: IolarCoisCuain on April 09, 2022, 02:34:03 PM

Or

Hitting the gargle so hard they made the FAI cup qf team?
Post by: IolarCoisCuain on April 09, 2022, 08:30:25 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 09, 2022, 05:29:32 PM

Hitting the gargle so hard they made the FAI cup qf team?

No. Read the comment again. I was not talking about the Edenderry situation in any way, shape of form. I was just telling a story in general of which I had been reminded by the Edenderry situation. I have no idea what's going on in Edenderry, who's right or who's wrong. I don't expect to ever find out either.
Post by: clonadmad on April 09, 2022, 09:08:16 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 09, 2022, 12:02:25 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

That's acadamy stuff though. They are entering into a professional environment and that's the age you need to specalise. You are monitoring diet and fitness at that level.

At u15 !!!!

I'm sure if it was the GAA doing it you'd bring humming a different choon

Post by: Rossfan on April 09, 2022, 09:11:19 PM
"Gah bad soccer good" is yer man's stock in trade.
Post by: Itchy on April 10, 2022, 12:47:16 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

As someone who has a kid involved in development squads at soccer and gaa I've never heard tell of gaa telling anyone to not play with their local gaa club, local soccer club or local any Club. Next year if my son continues he will be heading to u15 with his local league of Ireland club and will be asked to leave his local soccer club and stop playing sport of any sort with his friends. The answer from us will be to f**k off.

This is a soccer problem primarily and while this Offaly thing is pathetic by them, it's certainly a minority approach at that age in gaa.

What is fascinating is that soccer has been at this for years and yet 1st sign of gaa doing it and you have national media all over it - what does that tell you.
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 10, 2022, 10:54:48 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

That's the case alright. WE lost a few lads to them over the years.

Also if you go to the Grammar in Sligo there's no GAA or soccer for you. Just rugby.

But of course it's just the "Gah" that does this sort of thing  ::)
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 12, 2022, 07:30:11 AM
Lads, this was going on 15 years ago.

Young lads (13/14 yr olds!) from the country being signed up to Dublin schoolboy clubs. Travelling up and down 3 times a week, with the promise of scouts from UK watching games.
And not being allowed to play anything else.

Its madness for any sport to do this to a young player
Post by: northsideboy on April 12, 2022, 07:54:53 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on April 10, 2022, 10:54:48 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

That's the case alright. WE lost a few lads to them over the years.

Also if you go to the Grammar in Sligo there's no GAA or soccer for you. Just rugby.

But of course it's just the "Gah" that does this sort of thing  ::)
Schools such as Belvedere College ban GAA too.
Post by: Rudi on April 12, 2022, 08:13:39 AM
Main Stream Media at it again, trying to appeal to the populists. Soccer academies are at this carry on for decades. I have coached gaa teams from u7 to u18 I have seen this first hand from the soccer crowd. There is some amount of soccer folk who will go out of their way to f%ck things up for the gaa boys. None of that will make the papers because it doesn't appeal to Clare Daly types.
By the way I believe Offaly U14s got this wrong, but close to front page news on national papers it ain't.
Post by: rosnarun on April 12, 2022, 09:11:25 AM
I think the bigger issue is anointing 25 or 30 lads as being future of the county at 13.
Kids of that stage are at various stage of development and the best 13 year olds do not make necessarily make the best u-15 lead alone minor or 21.
Post by: Rudi on April 12, 2022, 09:46:25 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on April 12, 2022, 09:11:25 AM
I think the bigger issue is anointing 25 or 30 lads as being future of the county at 13.
Kids of that stage are at various stage of development and the best 13 year olds do not make necessarily make the best u-15 lead alone minor or 21.

Thats not whats happening. A club u14 coach will be asked to name as many u14 players who meet certain criteria in terms of athletic ability, football ability & dedication. These lads enter a sub academy where they get coached by coaches with a broad range of skills. They could do 6 by 2 hour sessions.
In counties the size of Donegal, Mayo or Galway 160 players will get an opportunity to train on sub academies. In year 1 the 160 will get culled after playing against other sub academies to 80-100. Looking at 2 games & about 10 training sessions before lads are culled, which is fair in my opinion. Year 2 will see games V other counties before another cull to about 50-60 players takes place.
Its possible a lad who is culled at 13 years of age can re enter the academy at 15 or 16 years, if he is playing well at club level.
Its far better done than when I was a gascun.
Your not defined at the age of 13, however some lads who exit the academy do lose confidence, never nice to see, buts thats life. I believe you have to work hard for whatever you want or want to achieve.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 12, 2022, 11:19:02 AM
Quote from: Itchy on April 10, 2022, 12:47:16 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

As someone who has a kid involved in development squads at soccer and gaa I've never heard tell of gaa telling anyone to not play with their local gaa club, local soccer club or local any Club. Next year if my son continues he will be heading to u15 with his local league of Ireland club and will be asked to leave his local soccer club and stop playing sport of any sort with his friends. The answer from us will be to f**k off.

This is a soccer problem primarily and while this Offaly thing is pathetic by them, it's certainly a minority approach at that age in gaa.

What is fascinating is that soccer has been at this for years and yet 1st sign of gaa doing it and you have national media all over it - what does that tell you.

So you want your kid in promoted into a professional acadamy strcture with all that goes with, but also to play with his friends. Respectfully, you need to piss or get off the pot.
Post by: Itchy on April 12, 2022, 11:44:44 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 12, 2022, 11:19:02 AM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

So you want your kid in promoted into a professional acadamy strcture with all that goes with, but also to play with his friends. Respectfully, you need to piss or get off the pot.

Respectfully, you are a gobshite that doesnt know what hes talking about. Professional? - have you been around many LOI clubs?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 12, 2022, 12:07:05 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 12, 2022, 11:44:44 AM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

Respectfully, you are a gobshite that doesnt know what hes talking about. Professional? - have you been around many LOI clubs?

While I generally accept the point about specialising too early, the rules of a LoI acadamy are as clear as day. You are entering a professional environment with a contract and as such other sports can be deemed offside. Some clubs are acadamies in name, some are FAS courses, some are full time setups where the kids go to school there. Similar for the provincial rugby setups.

That was not the environment the kids in Offaly entered. Also Offaly GAA did not follow their own rules.
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 12, 2022, 12:28:28 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 12, 2022, 12:07:05 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

While I generally accept the point about specialising too early, the rules of a LoI acadamy are as clear as day. You are entering a professional environment with a contract and as such other sports can be deemed offside. Some clubs are acadamies in name, some are FAS courses, some are full time setups where the kids go to school there. Similar for the provincial rugby setups.

That was not the environment the kids in Offaly entered. Also Offaly GAA did not follow their own rules.

We're not chatting about the legal rights regards contracts. We're chatting about the rights and wrongs of any sport restricting the exposure to other sports at that age. Both are 💯 wrong. No ifs or buts. Trying to justify it cause they have signed up to a contract is nonsense in my eyes. And stupid considering cross sport exposure will only enhance a kid's development.
Post by: clonadmad on April 12, 2022, 12:35:43 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

So Sligo Rovers are contracting u15's into a "professional environment"?
Post by: Itchy on April 12, 2022, 01:29:41 PM
Let me tell you something about the professional set up you are signing your kids into. They will likely be part of a 25 player panel and there will be a similar panel at U15, U16 and U17. Thats 75 kids. After that I would estimate 70 odd of them will be discarded like a piece of rubbish, I am being generous at 5 getting through but lets go with that for the craic. The 5 lucky winners will get to play at a league of Ireland club where they will get maybe 400 euro a week if they are lucky. When they get to the season end they will all be let go, they can try get another job of course but they will be crossing their fingers to see will their professional team re-sign them next season. Good luck getting a mortgage with that set up. Then the big carrot that soccer waves is the opportunity to play in the big leagues. Well a quick look at say Sligo Rovers will tell you what chance one of their players has to "make it". Seamus Coleman in maybe 20 years is the only one and at a stretch Johnny Kenny is warming a reserve bench in Celtic. So think very carefully before you sell your child into this "professional environment" at the expense of all other sporting activities or playing with their mates at 14 years of age.
Post by: marty34 on April 12, 2022, 01:35:43 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 12, 2022, 01:29:41 PM
Let me tell you something about the professional set up you are signing your kids into. They will likely be part of a 25 player panel and there will be a similar panel at U15, U16 and U17. Thats 75 kids. After that I would estimate 70 odd of them will be discarded like a piece of rubbish, I am being generous at 5 getting through but lets go with that for the craic. The 5 lucky winners will get to play at a league of Ireland club where they will get maybe 400 euro a week if they are lucky. When they get to the season end they will all be let go, they can try get another job of course but they will be crossing their fingers to see will their professional team re-sign them next season. Good luck getting a mortgage with that set up. Then the big carrot that soccer waves is the opportunity to play in the big leagues. Well a quick look at say Sligo Rovers will tell you what chance one of their players has to "make it". Seamus Coleman in maybe 20 years is the only one and at a stretch Johnny Kenny is warming a reserve bench in Celtic. So think very carefully before you sell your child into this "professional environment" at the expense of all other sporting activities or playing with their mates at 14 years of age.

Most sensible parents understand this Itchy - just need to get it across to the young people.

Very small chance that they make it.

Read somewhere recently that more chance of young players going to Italy etc. after a certain age now because of Brexit.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 12, 2022, 02:28:36 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 12, 2022, 12:28:28 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

We're not chatting about the legal rights regards contracts. We're chatting about the rights and wrongs of any sport restricting the exposure to other sports at that age. Both are 💯 wrong. No ifs or buts. Trying to justify it cause they have signed up to a contract is nonsense in my eyes. And stupid considering cross sport exposure will only enhance a kid's development.

My point is if you are in a pro soccer academy and miss training to play another sport you risk the boot. That's Belgium, Botswana or Bohs. Parents are fully aware of this

It is not the case in u14's GAA. Parents were unaware of this.

So yes, it's wrong. But you are fully aware of the expectations
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 12, 2022, 02:30:39 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on April 12, 2022, 12:35:43 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

So Sligo Rovers are contracting u15's into a "professional environment"?

It's the acadamy of a full time professional club...

This is a whataboutery tangent. They are the rules of professional sport. They aren't the rules of u14's GAA.

Right or wrong isn't really relevant. It is what it is and you sign up for that
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 12, 2022, 03:08:03 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 12, 2022, 02:28:36 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

My point is if you are in a pro soccer academy and miss training to play another sport you risk the boot. That's Belgium, Botswana or Bohs. Parents are fully aware of this

Being aware of it hardly matters. Both codes in these instances are trying to restrict a child playing different sports. That's the reason it's a disgrace. Knowing about it beforehand doesn't stop it being a disgrace nor does it give soccer a by-ball.
Post by: rosnarun on April 12, 2022, 03:51:12 PM
in offaly there is a clique that fells like the GAA at county level  have been the whipping boys for too long and Offlay have suffered as a result .
this is notthe 1st instance of this in offaly . one guy (injured) was dropped from the u20 panel for going to a schools Hurling game to act as a waterboy . the managers alma Mater/
Same manager won Offalys 1st allIreland in years so he has a strong hand at the moment to be as ruthless as he likes
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 12, 2022, 03:53:20 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 12, 2022, 03:08:03 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

Being aware of it hardly matters. Both codes in these instances are trying to restrict a child playing different sports. That's the reason it's a disgrace. Knowing about it beforehand doesn't stop it being a disgrace nor does it give soccer a by-ball.

My final word on this.

I am commenting on the whataboutery.

An incident in the GAA is met with soccer and rugby do it too.

Correct. Professional soccer and rugby do it. Everywhere. You put your kid in an acadamy they are restricted in what other sports they can play. You know this going in. Clearly that was not the case in Offaly.

So the discussion should be is an u14 county panel the same as an u15 professional setup, and if so be up front about it.
Post by: clonadmad on April 12, 2022, 04:05:06 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 12, 2022, 03:53:20 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

My final word on this.

Correct. Professional soccer and rugby do it. Everywhere. You put your kid in an acadamy they are restricted in what other sports they can play. You know this going in. Clearly that was not the case in Offaly.

So the discussion should be is an u14 county panel the same as an u15 professional setup, and if so be up front about it.

"an u15 professional set up"

clearly none so blind as those that dont want to see
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 12, 2022, 04:10:44 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on April 12, 2022, 04:05:06 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

My final word on this.

That's your takeaway? If Leinster or Shamrock Rovers don't have professional setups, what are they?
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 12, 2022, 04:24:01 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

My final word on this.

Just nonsense. It's not whataboutery to discuss other sports acting in the exact same way as this management set up( And let's be clear here it's not the GAA in general).
You were billy big balls on this until it was pointed out that your beloved soccer do the exact same thing and are now trying to justify kids being stopped playing other sports because it was in the clause of their contract. If anything it's worse for soccer if all academies are doing this rather than a singular management team. They're 14 year old ffs.
Post by: clonadmad on April 12, 2022, 04:59:59 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 12, 2022, 04:10:44 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on April 12, 2022, 04:05:06 PM

Unsourced whataboutery

prove me wrong

Not just any bloke

Or

My final word on this.

That's your takeaway? If Leinster or Shamrock Rovers don't have professional setups, what are they?

Trying to justify kids being forced to give up other sports at u15 level like what sligo rovers are doing because the adults section of the clubs are professional ?

Your floundering Son

Floundering
Post by: Itchy on April 12, 2022, 06:15:39 PM
And what makes sligo rovers for example more professional than Offaly GAA at u14/u15. Nothing I would say unless sligo rovers are paying the children that sign their contract, which they aren't. A few lads playing on the sligo minor team that won connacht last year told rovers where to stick their contract and I'd say have no regrets.
Post by: David McKeown on April 12, 2022, 06:18:37 PM
I am genuinely surprised that (association) football does this. I coached kids for more than 15 years at a pretty high level including a few years at 3 different Irish league clubs and I didn't ever hear of this. At times I had kids who were also working with English Premier league clubs and had three over the years who went on to play for senior Northern Ireland teams. Never once did we have such a strict policy in place.

I also ran a youth league and sat on the NIBFA appeals panels for 4 years and had to deal with all sorts of complaints but never heard of anyone having such strict attendance requirements for kids.

Not suggesting anything on here is incorrect just very surprised by it.

I wonder if it's due to the fact that most kids that I coached wouldn't have been interested in GAA
Post by: Rossfan on April 12, 2022, 06:35:16 PM
Probably.
In many parts of the 26 youngsters are mixing rugby, soccer and gaelic games so presumably the soccer clubs (and Offaly) want to dissuade them from the other games.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on April 12, 2022, 09:09:52 PM
Even within youth soccer setups in belgium, holland etc early specialisation in one sport is discouraged.

Anyone with any sort of background study of methodologies across sports will know this.
Post by: Itchy on April 12, 2022, 09:45:06 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 12, 2022, 06:35:16 PM
Probably.
In many parts of the 26 youngsters are mixing rugby, soccer and gaelic games so presumably the soccer clubs (and Offaly) want to dissuade them from the other games.

In fairness to rugby, never heard of them introducing contracts or preventing kids playing other sports
Post by: Main Street on April 12, 2022, 11:15:48 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on April 12, 2022, 09:09:52 PM
Even within youth soccer setups in belgium, holland etc early specialisation in one sport is discouraged.

Anyone with any sort of background study of methodologies across sports will know this.
There was nothing mentioned beforehand that these kids had to decide there and then to devote themselves 100% to this GAA academy when they signed up.
The parents followed the academy guidelines when their kids would be absent from a training session.
The dismissal of the kids was an arbitrary decision which ignored common protocols and procedures.
The whole affair amounts to child abuse of sorts..
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on April 13, 2022, 05:36:26 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 12, 2022, 06:15:39 PM
And what makes sligo rovers for example more professional than Offaly GAA at u14/u15. Nothing I would say unless sligo rovers are paying the children that sign their contract, which they aren't. A few lads playing on the sligo minor team that won connacht last year told rovers where to stick their contract and I'd say have no regrets.

What makes the professional  setup more professional than the amateur one?
Post by: Itchy on April 14, 2022, 07:19:11 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on April 13, 2022, 05:36:26 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 12, 2022, 06:15:39 PM

What makes the professional  setup more professional than the amateur one?

Only difference is 💰 yet the kids in soccer signing contracts dint get any. So yes, what is the difference?
Post by: bigarsedkeeper on April 14, 2022, 10:34:34 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on April 12, 2022, 09:09:52 PM

They're 100% right too but a lot of times the academies' run the other sports for their kids so they control that too. I remember reading that Ajax had basketball coaches working in their academy so it was worked into their timetable. I remember Birmingham or Villa sending academy lads to Gaelic football at one stage too.

I don't think any of the sports are completely right, there's always a bad example to be found. Rugby (in the north) would have been very against lads playing GAA (or anything else) when I was younger, but I've saw soccer clubs kick back against lads playing gaelic and visa versa too. There's GAA men want hurling stopped in their own clubs ffs.

They aren't on their own but Offaly got this one wrong.
Post by: Rossfan on April 23, 2022, 07:55:04 PM
Surprised Brigín hasn't been on breathlessly telling us about soccer fans misbehaving at a match in Dublin last night ::)