GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: fer fox ache on May 31, 2007, 04:36:43 PM

Title: Another Bradley twist
Post by: fer fox ache on May 31, 2007, 04:36:43 PM

I think Convery might have hanged himself out to dry here

From  the Beeb website

Derry star Paddy Bradley appears likely to have his 12-week ban re-imposed.
County referees administrator Mickey Convery told BBC Sport that Bradley has the option of playing in or sitting out Sunday's Ulster SFC tie against Antrim.

However, Convery said that Bradley's ban will be re-imposed by the Derry Disciplinary Hearings Committee if he plays against Antrim.

Convery also hinted that referees could refuse to officiate at Derry SFC games next week because of the affair.

Derry referees have called a meeting with county board representatives on Monday night to discuss the fallout from the affair.

They want assurances from the county board officers that the referees' authority hasn't been undermined.

If they are not satisfied with what they hear, they will consider not making themselves available for Derry's Senior Club Championship matches next weekend.

BBC Sport understands that the GAA's Disputes Resolution Authority put the ban on-hold because of ties between the referee in the Glenullin v Loup game in which Bradley was sent off, and a member of the Derry committee which handed out the ban.

Referee Barry Cassidy occasionally uses Kevin Toner as an umpire in his games and Toner is part of the Derry Disciplinary Hearings Committee.

However, Toner was not on umpiring duty at the Glenullin v Loup game in question.

The DRA ruled on Tuesday that the suspension procedure had not been done fairly.

They have referred the case back to the Derry Hearing Committee but Bradley is free to play until the case if re-heard.

Derry officials had imposed the ban after finding Bradley guilty of interference with a referee after a club fixture.

Bradley would normally be regarded as an automatic choice but the Glenullin club man has not trained with the Oak Leaf senior squad since the suspension was originally imposed.

However, Bradley said he had been working hard with his club and said this week that he was keen to make the bench for Antrim game.

If Bradley lined out against Antrim and then had the ban re-imposed next week, he would miss an Ulster semi-final - if Derry are involved at 24 June - but the suspension would be cleared in time for the provincial decider on 15 July.
Title: Re: Another Bradley twist
Post by: Springfield on May 31, 2007, 04:59:20 PM
since when was m convery the co. chairman or who gave him the power to make threats like this.
p bradley will im sure play against antrim and the co board surely wouldnt have the balls, or be stupid enough to suspend him again.
that would be a media disaster for them
Post by: ExiledGael on May 31, 2007, 05:02:18 PM
This is going to get messy!
Post by: Derry Daisy on May 31, 2007, 05:07:39 PM
I say play him on sunday then suspend him again on monday so he will not be available for Glenullin next weekend when they take slaughtneil on in the second round of the c'ship, its a win win situation  ;D
Post by: hoganstandman on May 31, 2007, 05:13:32 PM
one question one word answer.  Does Derry want to ever win the ALL Ireland again or not?  The suspension process has been overruled by a higher authority.  Are referees to hold our county to ransom?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on May 31, 2007, 05:14:01 PM
Quote from: Springfield on May 31, 2007, 04:59:20 PM
since when was m convery the co. chairman or who gave him the power to make threats like this.
p bradley will im sure play against antrim and the co board surely wouldnt have the balls, or be stupid enough to suspend him again.

Why would it be a media disaster for them to suspend a player for manhandling a ref?????

If the refs see that they are going to be ignored, manhandled and treated with total disrespect why should they turn up for matches???
Post by: tbrick18 on May 31, 2007, 05:14:34 PM
This gets worse by the day.
I can see Bradley playing on Sunday and maybe even getting to play in the next game (provided we win).
Then gets his supension re-issued and misses an ulster final.

Derry County Board are a joke.
This boy convery must think he has some amount of power too!
Post by: sam03/05 on May 31, 2007, 06:14:50 PM
I think the Derry co board are taking the right stand for once and if the refs refused to do next weekends games that would be a good thing. Its time this appeal nonsence came to an end if your suspended thats it no appeals or anything.
Post by: ONeill on May 31, 2007, 06:16:34 PM
You're right. You wouldn't find any of that craic amongst the bushes.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on May 31, 2007, 07:02:34 PM
FFS, what is M. Convery at, he is chairman of the committee that appoints and monitor refs in the county. This is not how business should be done, it should all be kept in house. unreal
Post by: ziggysego on May 31, 2007, 07:44:15 PM
Derry....... don't you love them  :D
Post by: Bogball XV on May 31, 2007, 09:12:28 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on May 31, 2007, 05:14:01 PM

Why would it be a media disaster for them to suspend a player for manhandling a ref?????

If the refs see that they are going to be ignored, manhandled and treated with total disrespect why should they turn up for matches???
Tbh Dubsforsam, from what i hear there was little or no physical contact, i've told this is a severe case of 'traffic-warden syndrome'.
Post by: new devil on May 31, 2007, 09:50:58 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on May 31, 2007, 05:02:18 PM
This is going to get messy!
[/quote

I no.... great isnt it :D :D
Post by: Bacon on June 01, 2007, 07:31:16 AM
Quote from: hoganstandman on May 31, 2007, 05:13:32 PM
one question one word answer.  Does Derry want to ever win the ALL Ireland again or not?  The suspension process has been overruled by a higher authority.  Are referees to hold our county to ransom?
Read the ruling you muppet! It hasn't been over turned it has been referred back. I think something similar happened in Tyrone last year where refs didn't turn up for games invoving Dromore for a few weeks. It will f*** up the championship big time if the 2 teams line out and no ref appears.
Post by: Blacksheep on June 01, 2007, 08:02:16 AM
This will all be sorted out behind closed doors. The Derry refs are supporters of the County as well you know. As long as they get assurances about safety they will be contrent.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 01, 2007, 08:56:34 AM
Bradley is now in a worst position than he was before. The DRA decesion means that he still has to serve a suspension, he did not get off.
Post by: Springfield on June 01, 2007, 09:01:33 AM
I do not think that the situation will arise that PB togs out/plays on sunday and then gets suspended after it.
This will not happen. By all accounts, M Convery is spouting all the threats without the backing of hardly any/if even any of the refs
Post by: Louper on June 01, 2007, 09:08:07 AM
PB isnt on the panel for sunday
Post by: Springfield on June 01, 2007, 09:11:59 AM
im only guessing but id say that panel was named tue nite before he was available.
Post by: Louper on June 01, 2007, 09:12:57 AM
Quote from: Springfield on June 01, 2007, 09:11:59 AM
im only guessing but id say that panel was named tue nite before he was available.

u could be right.  Derry: B Gillis, M McGoldrick, K McCloy (c), G O'Kane, P Cartin, S M Lockhart, C McKeever, F Doherty, J Conway, B McGoldrick, C Gilligan, J Diver, R Wilkinson, E Muldoon, M Lynch.

what does everybody think of the team?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on June 01, 2007, 09:28:42 AM
Quote from: Bogball XV on May 31, 2007, 09:12:28 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on May 31, 2007, 05:14:01 PM

Tbh Dubsforsam, from what i hear there was little or no physical contact, i've told this is a severe case of 'traffic-warden syndrome'.

Bogball - To my mind it shouldn't matter if the contact was absolutely minimum - the rules are that no physical contact is allowed with the ref....
Post by: Springfield on June 01, 2007, 09:39:43 AM
all im basing that on was that last night in glenullin i heard PC and he had been chatting about his fitness and asked him about the possibility of figuring at some stage of the match.
i see the website says that more names can be added to the panel before the weekend so id expect a late addition sun morning.

as for the team, youve got to worry bout the forward line. wilkinson??? lynch also yet to prove it and diver is good but will prob play in midfield.
Post by: OakLeaf on June 01, 2007, 10:26:03 AM
Quote from: hairyhog on May 31, 2007, 10:25:10 PM
is it just me or does it seem a bit absurd that the referees are now making threats. If the one at the centre of this controversy had been more competant at his job then there would be no mess. It only serves to highlight that the ref made a cockup, should he or his representatives not be keeping quiet.  Stick to counting scores lads and keep outta the legal business and papers, you're making fools of yourselves in front of the country, pointing that you're unfairly treated. It wouldnt happen if you did your job right.

First, point . . I don't know of any Derry referees that even heard about a threatened strike, prior to yesterday's comments.

Your last point is basically saying that if a referee makes a mistake you can't blame a player for man-handling him! Nice. Luckily for referees, not everyone thinks like you. How do you think it would go down if the same treatment was dished out to players that made mistakes? People make mistakes full stop. Get used to it. It doesn't give others license to do what they want, not least people who are suppoed to be setting an example for the young people in their county. Time to wise up!
Post by: hoganstandman on June 01, 2007, 10:46:26 AM
Long before Paddy Bradley there were many Derry players got in trouble with referees in fighting etc. Now what Im saying here is why does the county want to hang Paddy out to dry all the time?  Do you want Paddy to quit in the morning because if it made you feel better he would.  Some of you South derry men are unreal and very forgetful of your own club crimes. What about Max is he brave enough to put his name up. 
Post by: Louper on June 01, 2007, 10:57:46 AM
Quote from: hoganstandman on June 01, 2007, 10:46:26 AM
Now what Im saying here is why does the county want to hang Paddy out to dry all the time?  

what do u mean all the time?
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 01, 2007, 11:01:09 AM
Why would I do that, its not like I have told lies, or misrepresented the truth. The guy man handled the ref, even by his own admission at the discliplinary meeting. I would love the guy to play for derry on Sunday(thats my heart talking) but my head knows that we have rules and they need to be observed. I don't see what is wrong with taking that position. Why would Bradley quit, after all he is the one who abused the ref....so why would he quit?
Post by: Fuzzman on June 01, 2007, 11:07:58 AM
I agree with Maximus in that the DRA have done a real Pontius Pilate and agreed with the technicality but by throwing it back to the county board now means sort it out yourself as the public eye watches on.

Cos if they let him off altogether it looks really bad that you can raise your hand to a ref but as long as its Not too bad of a slap then you can get off.

Derry and Paddy himelf must be thinking is it better to take the punishment now against Antrim and maybe Monaghan/Down and be back for the tougher games or risk it and play 20 mins v antrim where he will hardly be needed.

If ye cannae beat Antrim without him ye really are a wan man team.

I think he should sit it out and let the dust settle.
Should we beat Donegal I'd say PB will be well up for a big performance v Ricey in the Ulster final should ye get there
Post by: magpie seanie on June 01, 2007, 12:36:38 PM
I see nothing wrong with what the Convery fella said. Bradley would be wise to not play at the weekend cos if he does he'll more than likely have to start his ban again from then. If he doesn't play would he be back for July 7th should Derry not make the Ulster final?
Post by: fer fox ache on June 01, 2007, 12:58:07 PM
Convery shouldn't have opened his mouth, he may have had a case but by going public he has cut the moraloe high ground out from under himslef. I don't think he speaks for anywhere near the majority of Derry refs. I believe he's actually done Paddy a favour by prejudicing any potential re-hearing, a point which Fergal Logan will surely have noted. I can't see how Mickey can possibly be involved in the apapointing of officials for any future matches involving Paddy after this, as such I think his days as the referee's administrator are numbered.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 01, 2007, 01:08:18 PM
fer fox ache...I completely agree with ye
Post by: Billy Magoo on June 01, 2007, 01:29:52 PM
Quotecan't see how Mickey can possibly be involved in the apapointing of officials for any future matches involving Paddy after this, as such I think his days as the referee's administrator are numbered

Bring back Philip McKeown!!!!!!!!!!   ;)
Post by: magpie seanie on June 01, 2007, 03:37:47 PM
I think what really prejudices the outcome of the hearing was Paddy Bradley grabbing the ref by the collar. FFS.

God be with the days when folk took their suspensions like men.
Post by: Bogball XV on June 01, 2007, 04:55:40 PM
or when ref's didn't see being grabbed by their shirt collars as being abuse!! Or perhaps, if ref's were able to feckin count scores properly there'd be no bother at all....
Post by: OakLeaf on June 01, 2007, 05:36:29 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on June 01, 2007, 04:55:40 PM
or when ref's didn't see being grabbed by their shirt collars as being abuse!! Or perhaps, if ref's were able to feckin count scores properly there'd be no bother at all....

Or maybe if nobody (players, managers, referees) made any mistakes at all, everything would be just dandy. How is it up there in your lily white fantasy world? Everybody makes mistakes!! I don't see too many players being grabbed by the jersey when they make mistakes? If you condone someone grabbing the referee by the jersey because he made a mistake then you should transport yourself back to the dark ages.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 01, 2007, 05:40:06 PM
so Bogball every ref who gets the score wrong at the end of a game should be physically abused, even if that ref is perpared to accept common sense afterwards and recognise he got it wrong and therefore correct his mistake. Now imagine waiting for a ref to  listen tio wise council.....you see manners and respect are wonderful commodaties to have...its really that simple.
Post by: fer fox ache on June 01, 2007, 10:58:40 PM
Still stunned by the fact Max actually agreed with somethiung i wrote
Post by: Aerlik on June 02, 2007, 08:18:46 AM
Bring back Phonsey Guyler and Willie Turner.  Or your fella Convery from Glen.   ;) 
Not the first time the Derry board have shat on a player due to play against Antrim...speaking from experience... >:( >:( >:(

Let's not even think of the Coleman affair in '94.
Post by: orangeman on June 03, 2007, 06:46:57 PM
Let's cut the crap and face facts - The FACT is that every other county in Ireland would have given Paddy a month which would have left everybody happy  and allowed him to play !!
Post by: hoganstandman on June 04, 2007, 10:32:41 AM
we agree on something.
Post by: orangeman on June 04, 2007, 10:44:25 AM
Thank you Hoganstand man -  We're in agreement - there are a lot of undercurrents going on here - why did Mickey Convery come out so quick and report that there might be a strike ? Who did he consult before making this statement ? Did he have 100% support ? PB should never haver got 12 weeks - all other counties would have made sure their best players would be available -
Post by: hoganstandman on June 04, 2007, 10:49:16 AM
I agree totally, Paddys no angel - what I cant tolerate is normal Derry people turning in their own man, hanging him out to dry.  If I was Paddy Id jack it in in protest but hes too dedicated for that.   
Post by: orangeman on June 04, 2007, 11:00:03 AM
I don't think he should pack it in - he should go out and show the county how good he is - then throw out the county board - that's the only way to get revenge !
Post by: hoganstandman on June 04, 2007, 11:36:39 AM
Thats what i sday
Post by: orangeman on June 04, 2007, 11:40:45 AM
So why wait ? Start a campaign now and get ready for next years AGM -
Post by: Black and white on June 04, 2007, 11:44:39 AM
Jesus what a bit of shite talk
Post by: fer fox ache on June 04, 2007, 12:00:51 PM
High lads the county board haven't been drving the get Bradley agenda, it's been some individuals in key positions. I'm pretty sure that Seamus McCloy and Danny Scullion would love to draw a line under the whole affair
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 04, 2007, 12:03:58 PM
I just wish he was man enough to take his medicine...its not like he is innocent
Post by: hoganstandman on June 04, 2007, 12:08:27 PM
Max the referee should be suspended too for his part in the squabble.. hes the man caused furore . needs a maths class or two.
Post by: derrymad on June 04, 2007, 12:14:29 PM
Max just go and Piss off for a while Ever since this Bradley affair started you have been on his back.  It was you who mentioned the other day about the number of cases the DRA has previously handled.  Not one has caused so much controversy and no one else has been lambasted as much for using the system.  It is not bradley fault the county board is completely inept.

You were not talking as much when the week after the Glenullin game, B'screen and Bellaghy had a row and Mickey Convery was not running to the referee to make sure what was in Toland report that night.  It was swept under the carpet that a derry player struck a screen official.  Coming straight from Toland, 'It was that bad I could not pick one single player out'.  Convery has been instrumental in all this and has come out worse than anyone and believe his position in untenable.  How can he appoint a referee for a Glenullin game again.. He is literally stupid.
Post by: hoganstandman on June 04, 2007, 12:16:37 PM
I believe there should be a vote of no confidence in Mickey Convery at least on this GAA board.  Al say eye or nye
Eye!
Post by: Bensars on June 04, 2007, 12:17:08 PM
Quote from: hoganstandman on June 04, 2007, 12:08:27 PM
Max the referee should be suspended too for his part in the squabble.. hes the man caused furore . needs a maths class or two.

???? ??? ??? ???

Heard it all now.   Its the referees fault ???

Another Neanderthal, who thinks it reasonable to assault referees.  What ive found in the past, is that those who go for the ref are usually making up for inadeqaucies on the field of play. Sorry let me rephrase, cowards, who mouth off.

He interferred with the ref in whatever way you want to dress it up. Guilty, full stop.

This has to be a major distraction to the other players on the panel, and whats more its a bit of a disgrace from some quarters. Derry arent a one man team and its disrepectful to the rest of the players.
Post by: hoganstandman on June 04, 2007, 12:19:37 PM
and Mickey convery to get off scott free I suppose as well, unbelievable CHEEK.  I dont know why paddy bothers with DERRY AT ALL. 
Post by: full back on June 04, 2007, 12:20:00 PM
Quote from: hoganstandman on June 04, 2007, 12:08:27 PM

Unreal
No wonder there are so few referee's in Ireland with pr1cks having attitudes like this
So if the referee makes a mistake he deserves to be man-handled
Shame on you
Your name says it all, maybe you should go back there and post till your hearts content
Post by: hoganstandman on June 04, 2007, 12:24:25 PM
basic addition is a must when you are thge referee.  Paddy Bradkeys no angel and im sure regrets talking tio the referee at all.  If we could all b go back one month nobody wants this to fester any more.  As far as Im concerned its over and done with and we all move oin together. 
Post by: full back on June 04, 2007, 12:26:47 PM
Quote from: hoganstandman on June 04, 2007, 12:24:25 PM
basic addition is a must when you are thge referee.  Paddy Bradkeys no angel and im sure regrets talking tio the referee at all.  If we could all b go back one month nobody wants this to fester any more.  As far as Im concerned its over and done with and we all move oin together. 

It's over & done with, except for you wanting the referee banned ::)
Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 04, 2007, 12:30:01 PM
Derrymad, the county board is inept...I agree...Convery...his position is untenible...I agree, it still does not alter the facts, Bradley should do the manly thing. If he was innocent I would support him all the way, but he is not. The other point is in 4 weeks time his ban is over, would it not be just wise of him to finish it out.
Post by: derrymad on June 04, 2007, 12:57:06 PM
Well yes it probably would be wise of him to finish it out but that his and his club decision.  But how do pople expect him to feel.  All this controversy over a case and route that people have been taking for years now.  At the end of day he is not getting paid for this, he still has to get up, go to work and try to get on with things.. Dont get me wrong, this is not your fault at all, it is a media thing but people kinda forget that it must be seriously affecting him in some ways.  not nice seeing your name always attatched to controversy.

Post by: Maximus Marillius on June 04, 2007, 01:00:37 PM
QuoteDont get me wrong, this is not your fault at all,

Thats very thoughtful of ye ??? :D
Post by: orangeman on June 05, 2007, 01:39:48 PM
I'm glad the Derry county board have wised up and decided to forget about the whole sorry incident with PB - So it's now official - nothing happened.