GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Sky Blue on November 21, 2006, 09:11:07 PM

Poll
Question: Who was the greatest Antrim Footballer ever.
Option 1: Kevin Armstrong votes: 10
Option 2: Kevin McGrourty votes: 7
Option 3: Jimmy Keavney votes: 11
Option 4: Gerard Adams votes: 4
Option 5: Aiden Hamill votes: 0
Option 6: Andy Mccallion votes: 3
Option 7: None of the above votes: 15
Title: Greatest Antrim Footballer
Post by: Sky Blue on November 21, 2006, 09:11:07 PM
Every other county is doing it. So why not Antrim? My vote goes to Jimmy Keavney. The greatest footballer ever born in Antrim by a mile.
Title: Re: Greatest Antrim Footballer
Post by: Blacksheep on November 21, 2006, 09:15:20 PM
Didn't know Keavney was from Antrim. Did he play for them?
Post by: lynchbhoy on November 21, 2006, 11:03:09 PM
Aidy Morris
Post by: Guillem2 on November 22, 2006, 08:03:09 AM
Andy Mccallin was an excellent football. Youd need to be some age to remember Kevin Armstrong playing. I don't about the Keavney story but I'm sure he never played for Antrim.
Post by: SlimShady on November 22, 2006, 08:43:40 AM
Wheres Kevin Doyle at on that list????

:P

and surely if yer going to go as far as put Gearoid Adams on it then Kevin Brady should be there!!

and then theres the legend Paul Doherty  :)
Post by: glens73 on November 22, 2006, 09:00:50 AM
Why is Kevin McGourty on this poll?

Sean Kelly has been one of the most consistent perofrmers for Antrim in recent times.
Post by: Great Leap Forward on November 22, 2006, 09:08:09 AM
Having McGourty on the list has robbed the poll of any credibility.
Post by: Guillem2 on November 22, 2006, 10:25:42 AM
Quote from: Great Leap Forward on November 22, 2006, 09:08:09 AM
Having McGourty on the list has robbed the poll of any credibility.
It was started by a Dub to wind us up about Keavney. It never had any credibility!!!  :-\
Post by: Uladh on November 22, 2006, 10:44:21 AM

Obviously started by someone who doesn't know antrim football as a wind up. for example, paddy o'hara would be one of the first on the list.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on November 22, 2006, 10:58:56 AM
i think this thread lost all credibilty when the words Greatest Antrim Footballer were typed ;)
Post by: Uladh on November 22, 2006, 11:20:27 AM

My uncle has seen a lot of football and reckons kevin armstrong is the best footballer he has ever seen play..... by a mile according to himself. says if you combined tohill and sean o'neill you'd be coming close.
Post by: Billys Boots on November 22, 2006, 11:27:22 AM
This should have been the shortest topic in the history of all the boards.   ;)

Unless we start one about the broadmindedness of Armagh-Tyrone debates.  ::)
Title: Greatest Antrim Footballer
Post by: 5 Sams on November 22, 2006, 12:22:27 PM
Where would Paul McErlean come on a list of Antrim all time greats?
Post by: SlimShady on November 22, 2006, 12:24:29 PM
he wouldn't.
Post by: Donagh on November 22, 2006, 12:30:28 PM
That's some list (http://www.alexanderpringwilson.org/images/emoticons/lolred.gif)
Post by: Maximus Marillius on November 22, 2006, 12:30:47 PM
After Sundays performance I would put SLIM ON it :D :D
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 11:40:23 AM
There has never been a good footballer to come out of that county. It is a disgrace and the resources and talent wasted there would make you sick. Slan
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 24, 2009, 11:45:06 AM
Spike Ferguson  8)
Post by: ardmhachaabu on April 24, 2009, 12:01:59 PM
Colm McCabe
Post by: screenexile on April 24, 2009, 12:02:45 PM
No CJ?
Post by: Mourne Rover on April 24, 2009, 12:17:29 PM
There have been plenty of great footballers from Antrim, but, to the best of my knowledge, the list does not include either Jimmy Keaveney or, for that matter, Spike Ferguson. Keaveney, according to his Wikipedia entry, was not surprisingly born in Dublin. At least one of his parents may have been a northerner, but I think the connection was towards Castlewellan. Ferguson is from Dondonald, which is also in Co  Down.
Post by: irunthev on April 24, 2009, 12:21:07 PM
Eamonn Prenter..... St Endas.  Won Ulster Minor in 83 and also played in Ulster SFC when still at secondary school and when he moved to London he had the distinction of scoring London's first ever point in the National Football League (vs Waterford October 1993). Since returning to Ireland is now Chairman of Club Antrim as well as having been a selector under Brian White.
Post by: Mourne Rover on April 24, 2009, 12:41:24 PM
Prenter was a fine player who was part of an excellent Ulster minor winning side in 1982, not 1983. It was arguably the best team Antrim have produced at any level in  the last 30 years.
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 01:28:50 PM
St Endas visited Coalisland - dump near where I live about 10 years ago - and the locals burnt their bus with all their gear on it, says a lot about people from Coalisland. They have had a hard ride from Loyalists/British security forces over the years I am lead to believe but I doubt an Antrim Division three team has ever produced a genuinely decent player or a secondary school in Antrim for that matter. Where was he at St marys? Quaking in my boots!!! hahahaha
Post by: fitzroyalty on April 24, 2009, 01:45:49 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 01:28:50 PM
St Endas visited Coalisland - dump near where I live about 10 years ago - and the locals burnt their bus with all their gear on it, says a lot about people from Coalisland. They have had a hard ride from Loyalists/British security forces over the years I am lead to believe but I doubt an Antrim Division three team has ever produced a genuinely decent player or a secondary school in Antrim for that matter. Where was he at St marys? Quaking in my boots!!! hahahaha
endas would be div 2 son, as for you superstar who's ur club and what genuine decent players have they produced!?
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 01:47:19 PM
Ardboe. Google them
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 01:49:08 PM
I've also turned out for Ballinderry, Cargin and hurled for Loughiel on occassion.
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 01:50:53 PM
Antrim hahahahah
St Endas hahahaha
Antrim schools footbal hahahaha
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 01:56:43 PM
What schools in antrim even play football?
Post by: irunthev on April 24, 2009, 02:04:59 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on April 24, 2009, 12:41:24 PM
Prenter was a fine player who was part of an excellent Ulster minor winning side in 1982, not 1983. It was arguably the best team Antrim have produced at any level in  the last 30 years.

Apologies to the class of '82. I heard that the team weren't even allowed to keep their jerseys after the AI semi against Kerry. How times have changed.
Post by: milltown row on April 24, 2009, 02:45:26 PM
Antrim players still cant keep their jerseys ;)
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 02:48:54 PM
Quote from: milltown row on April 24, 2009, 02:45:26 PM
Antrim players still cant keep their jerseys ;)

Who would want one?
Post by: fitzroyalty on April 24, 2009, 03:39:39 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 01:47:19 PM
Ardboe. Google them
nothing to write home about
Post by: NAG on April 24, 2009, 03:46:36 PM
Whats the problem with Antrim Hoopededefender?
Post by: clootfromthe21 on April 24, 2009, 03:47:26 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on April 24, 2009, 12:17:29 PM
There have been plenty of great footballers from Antrim, but, to the best of my knowledge, the list does not include either Jimmy Keaveney or, for that matter, Spike Ferguson. Keaveney, according to his Wikipedia entry, was not surprisingly born in Dublin. At least one of his parents may have been a northerner, but I think the connection was towards Castlewellan. Ferguson is from Dondonald, which is also in Co  Down.

Pretty sure Keaveney's da was a Belfastie, although Jimmy is a born Dub.
Post by: clootfromthe21 on April 24, 2009, 03:48:38 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 01:49:08 PM
I've also turned out for Ballinderry, Cargin and hurled for Loughiel on occassion.

Shame you can't spell the name of the team you hurled for!
Post by: irunthev on April 24, 2009, 03:49:43 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on April 24, 2009, 01:45:49 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 01:28:50 PM
endas would be div 2 son, as for you superstar who's ur club and what genuine decent players have they produced!?

I maybe wrong on this but I think it was St Malachys he went to. Would have been a very decent basketball player too and I believe he also had trials at Aston Villa and Newcastle
Post by: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 04:32:21 PM
Never heard of St Malachys Belfast must be a dump. Hahhahaha Basketball
Post by: Gold on April 24, 2009, 04:47:37 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 04:32:21 PM

Ever heard of Kieran Donaghy or Liam McHale?
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 24, 2009, 09:12:23 PM
Quote from: Gold on April 24, 2009, 04:47:37 PM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 04:32:21 PM

Ever heard of Kieran Donaghy or Liam McHale?

Or former Ireland schoolboy basketball international Matt McGleenan?
Post by: dodgy umpire on April 25, 2009, 11:36:28 AM
Quote from: Hoopeddefender on April 24, 2009, 01:50:53 PM
Antrim hahahahah
St Endas hahahaha
Antrim schools footbal hahahaha

st.marys cbs?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 25, 2009, 11:50:00 AM
Don't feed the troll lads!

Plenty of lads played basketball and football.  I also think Sherlock was a schoolboy irish international basketballer.  Great cross over skills.

Obviously Antrim haven't been blessed with successful footballers but by all accounts Armstrong and McCallion were up there with the best of the players of their generations so I would say they would probably be the top along with Shinny McQuillan ;)
Post by: longrunsthefox on April 25, 2009, 11:53:26 AM
Quote from: irunthev on April 24, 2009, 02:04:59 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on April 24, 2009, 12:41:24 PM

Apologies to the class of '82. I heard that the team weren't even allowed to keep their jerseys after the AI semi against Kerry. How times have changed.

the Antrim goalie in the senior football championship wore a Dublin jersey a few yaers ago and the backs and forawrds had different types of jerseys on. Said it all about the shambles of Antrim football.
Post by: Diet Coke on April 25, 2009, 12:02:46 PM
Would Stevie Mulvenna be the only Antrim player with an All Ireland Senior medal?  ;)Wasn't he on the Derry panel when they won Sam? Prenter was a great player, and so was Paul McErlean and the Donnelly's...Fergie and Aiden, not forgetting Donagh Finnegan.
Post by: Drumanee 1 on April 25, 2009, 12:41:37 PM
dont know if you antrim men would agree but i would have thought alex mcquillan from glenravel would have been one of antrims best ever players.
Post by: milltown row on April 25, 2009, 12:55:59 PM
great player and was playing only a few years back for their seconds

the teams from the 50's and the earlier teams  were the ones that really made the difference for Antrim.

antrim have won ten Ulster titles. ten more than Fermanagh 5 more than donegal and 3 more than Derry and one less than Tyrone. great players from those winning teams should be applauded. while not taking away from current or recent past players. they don't come close to those players that actually won things

Ulster Senior Football Championship: (10)
1900, 1901, 1908, 1909, 1910, 1911, 1912, 1913, 1946, 1951 thats a great team

Post by: glens abu on April 27, 2009, 10:31:44 AM
Antrim had many great players over the years,Kevin Armstrong, Paddy OHara, Sean Gibson,from many years back,then players like Alex McQuillan.Andy McCallion.Mickey Darragh,John Burns,and more resent Kevin Madden and Sean Kelly to name a few,on the subject of St.Endas,you had Eamon Prenter,Danny Burns was in the All-Ireland winning u-21 team of 69[who knows what that team might have achieved if it was not for the onset of the troubles,and the best player imo to play for St.Endas John Burns represnted the county and Ulster over many years while playing 3 div football,also as a 19 year old got rave reviews for his marking of the great Sean O Neill when Antrim played Down.
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 27, 2009, 12:26:56 PM
Anyone who mentions Eamon Prenter as a great footballer is not to be taken seriously.

Good lad, dedicated to Antrim football, yes. A good footballer, no.
Post by: Spirit of 94 on April 27, 2009, 01:09:56 PM
Mickey Darragh, Andy McCallion, Eamon Prenter.......all great footballers.
Post by: glens abu on April 27, 2009, 01:42:10 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on April 27, 2009, 12:26:56 PM
Anyone who mentions Eamon Prenter as a great footballer is not to be taken seriously.

do you not think he was even a good footballer Sam
Post by: Gold on April 27, 2009, 01:44:39 PM
Quote from: Diet Coke on April 25, 2009, 12:02:46 PM
Would Stevie Mulvenna be the only Antrim player with an All Ireland Senior medal?  ;)Wasn't he on the Derry panel when they won Sam? Prenter was a great player, and so was Paul McErlean and the Donnelly's...Fergie and Aiden, not forgetting Donagh Finnegan.

basketballers..as was Sean McGourty and as is current county player James Loughrey
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 27, 2009, 01:48:42 PM
Quote from: glens abu on April 27, 2009, 01:42:10 PM

No, I don't. He does an immense amount of work behind the scenes, but I was never impressed with him on the pitch. His name wouldn't even enter the radar if I was picking a best Antrim team from the last 25 years, never mind the best Antrim player ever.
Post by: glens abu on April 27, 2009, 01:57:02 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on April 27, 2009, 01:48:42 PM
Quote from: glens abu on April 27, 2009, 01:42:10 PM

No, I don't. He does an immense amount of work behind the scenes, but I was never impressed with him on the pitch. His name wouldn't even enter the radar if I was picking a best Antrim team from the last 25 years, never mind the best Antrim player ever.

I wasnt talking about him in that bracket either I was talking about the St.Endas players who played for the county,sorry for the misunderstanding,but I did think he was a good player.
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 27, 2009, 01:58:17 PM
Fair enough. Good enough for St. Enda's, but not a good inter-coutny player.
Post by: glens abu on April 27, 2009, 02:01:45 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on April 27, 2009, 01:58:17 PM
Fair enough. Good enough for St. Enda's, but not a good inter-coutny player.

what about the rest of the list how do you rate them.
Post by: rrhf on April 27, 2009, 02:22:51 PM
The greatest Antrim player, as in their most involved or hardworking player throughout has to be their ace shotstopper "charlie" mc greevy no other man has handled as much ball for the cause.   
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 27, 2009, 02:24:27 PM
Aidy Morris, Newtownstewart's finest!
Post by: glens abu on April 27, 2009, 02:35:18 PM
Quote from: rrhf on April 27, 2009, 02:22:51 PM
The greatest Antrim player, as in their most involved or hardworking player throughout has to be their ace shotstopper "charlie" mc greevy no other man has handled as much ball for the cause.   

yeah has been very good over the years,but wasnt too hot on Sat.
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 27, 2009, 03:13:39 PM

An unfortunate turn of phrase for a Tyronie to introduce into the thread.
Post by: Maximus Marillius on April 27, 2009, 03:15:35 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on April 27, 2009, 03:13:39 PM

An unfortunate turn of phrase for a Tyronie to introduce into the thread.

A cracker SS2 :D :D :D :D :D :D lol
Post by: Hardy on April 27, 2009, 03:34:15 PM

Anyway, on to Greatest Finnish Jockey, Greatest Indian Rodeo Rider, Greatest Australian Pope.
Post by: rrhf on April 27, 2009, 03:47:18 PM
Ah come on I Teed it up for ye like Fanny would. 
Post by: saffron sam2 on April 28, 2009, 11:55:01 AM
Quote from: rrhf on April 27, 2009, 03:47:18 PM
Ah come on I Teed it up for ye like Fanny would. 

You certainly did and I'm not one to miss an irrelevant, gratuitous cheap shot.

Quote from: Hardy on April 27, 2009, 03:34:15 PM

Anyway, on to Greatest Finnish Jockey, Greatest Indian Rodeo Rider, Greatest Australian Pope.

Greatest Finnish Jockey - probably Asla Akio. - http://www.independent.co.uk/travel/what-do-you-call-a-slow-reindeer-a-steak-get-running-rudolph-1193450.html (http://www.independent.co.uk/travel/what-do-you-call-a-slow-reindeer-a-steak-get-running-rudolph-1193450.html)

Greatest Indian Rodeo Rider - I'd go for Tom Three Persons. - http://www.telusplanet.net/public/mtoll/threet2.htm (http://www.telusplanet.net/public/mtoll/threet2.htm)

Greatest Australian Pope - possibly RJ Pope, although his test record is shocking. -http://thatscricket.oneindia.in/statistics/players/australia/rj-pope.html (http://thatscricket.oneindia.in/statistics/players/australia/rj-pope.html)
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 28, 2009, 11:59:29 AM
This poll reminds me of Brewsters Millions, Vote for 'none of the above'!