Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on March 29, 2019, 10:47:18 PM

Title: Bygones
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 29, 2019, 10:47:18 PM
Old fellas on ancient black bikes cycling around the country.
Title: Re: Bygones
Post by: Denn Forever on March 30, 2019, 05:31:22 PM
Old lads bringing their milk to the Creamery with a donkey and cart.
Post by: armaghniac on March 30, 2019, 05:37:05 PM
Steam trains.
Post by: cadhlancian on March 30, 2019, 07:23:09 PM
Cavan winning Ulsters and All Ireland's.....
Post by: RedHand88 on March 30, 2019, 07:25:44 PM
Juice lorries delivering round houses.

Being at a concert and everyone living for the moment instead of filming it.

When beating Derry actually made your week, nay... it made your summer.

Parish Bazaars.

Man marking.

People having a centrist political view instead of everything being extreme left/right!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 30, 2019, 10:24:19 PM
Old fellas pulling up a chair and sitting outside the house on the street just to chat to anyone that came by.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2019, 03:43:29 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on March 30, 2019, 07:25:44 PM
Juice lorries delivering round houses.

Being at a concert and everyone living for the moment instead of filming it.

When beating Derry actually made your week, nay... it made your summer.

Parish Bazaars.

Man marking.

People having a centrist political view instead of everything being extreme left/right!

Is this the same as the minerl men?
Post by: BennyCake on March 31, 2019, 11:27:10 AM
TV closedown
Money back bottles
Straight knockout championship
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 31, 2019, 11:55:53 AM
White dogshit
Post by: Rossfan on March 31, 2019, 12:33:36 PM
Watching big games on grassy banks (still exists in Louth and Meath).
Lads selling runny ice cream tubs and getting in the way just as the ball arrives in the square.
Full Churches.
Offaly giving all the small Counties hope.
Post by: seafoid on March 31, 2019, 01:19:59 PM
Crepe hats in the rain in Croke Park

5% interest

Sports programmes that lasted Saturday afternoon on RTÉ/BBC and covered everything

When the top English soccer division only had UK and Irish players

Post by: Jim Bob on March 31, 2019, 01:24:25 PM
waiting for the breadman to arrive !!
Post by: J70 on March 31, 2019, 01:29:27 PM
Heading out to the telephone box to ring someone.
Similarly, waiting around because someone couldn't ring you on the mobile to tell you they were going to be late.
Post by: BennyCake on March 31, 2019, 02:01:45 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on March 31, 2019, 01:24:25 PM

Good call.

But remember the Peppa Pig thread. Should it not be breadperson?  ;D
Post by: armaghniac on March 31, 2019, 03:55:52 PM
GAA paper hats
Car starting handles.
Saturday afternoon gun battles.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2019, 05:43:06 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on March 31, 2019, 01:24:25 PM
And the big long drawers full of cakes and buns. My dad was one of the last retail breadmen. I covered for him when he was on holidays.
Post by: trailer on March 31, 2019, 06:21:50 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 31, 2019, 03:55:52 PM
GAA paper hats
Car starting handles.
Saturday afternoon gun battles.

Jasus what age are you?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2019, 10:40:44 PM
Watching or listening to a broadcast at a very specific time of the week to find out who is Number 1 in the music charts.
Post by: ONeill on April 01, 2019, 12:12:03 AM
Swimmin in Lough Neagh
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 01, 2019, 12:34:17 AM
Going over the village to a neighbour's house at a specific time of week to receive a phone call from overseas
Post by: armaghniac on April 01, 2019, 01:17:01 AM
15 amp plugs
Post by: ziggy90 on April 01, 2019, 06:45:10 AM
Lace-up footballs.
Post by: LeoMc on April 01, 2019, 09:42:20 AM
Cars with 4 forward gears & manual chokes
Post by: Itchy on April 01, 2019, 10:32:03 AM
Meath never being bet until the game is over.
Post by: johnnycool on April 01, 2019, 10:34:30 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 01, 2019, 01:17:01 AM
15 amp plugs

With round pins!

I remember the Breadman who would have been the worse for wear on a Saturday afternoon  ;)  if he'd called into a few hostelies on his round.

Also the Braid and Maine lemonade carts called on a Saturday afternoon with the big glass bottles you got money back on the following week.

Remember the glass milk bottles in the blue crates and the cream sitting on the top of them. We needed to put a bit of ply wood on the top of ours to stop the birds pecking holes in the silver lids.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 01, 2019, 11:25:22 AM
10 p money back on glass mineral bottles.  There was an old boy who owned our local shop and if he was in it on his own we used to sneak the bottles that we had already got 10p back on and re-present them and get double our money!!!
Post by: pbat on April 01, 2019, 11:27:59 AM
RTE having a live old first division game on a Saturday.
Post by: thebuzz on April 01, 2019, 11:32:35 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 01, 2019, 11:25:22 AM
10 p money back on glass mineral bottles.  There was an old boy who owned our local shop and if he was in it on his own we used to sneak the bottles that we had already got 10p back on and re-present them and get double our money!!!

My youngest brother was called 'Boccles' because he went into the factory next door every day looking for bottles to get the money back on.  :) :)

It was his sole source of income for years.
Post by: BennyCake on April 01, 2019, 11:33:50 AM
The old Sunday Game theme.
Post by: michaelg on April 01, 2019, 12:01:54 PM
Cornerboys/men.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 01, 2019, 12:10:06 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 01, 2019, 11:33:50 AM
The old Sunday Game theme.

I was at a game last sunday where the boy beside me had that as a ring tone. Hadn't heard it in years.
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 01, 2019, 12:37:15 PM
Orange foil paper on the Luzocade bottles.
Post by: BennyCake on April 01, 2019, 12:40:30 PM
Sweety cigarettes.

Not this candy sticks bollix.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on April 01, 2019, 01:02:22 PM
Chopper bicycle
Men wearing trouser braces
Digging peat with a spade
Bottles of Guinness
Mothers pride bread
Racist Strawberry jam
Post by: whitey on April 01, 2019, 04:37:03 PM
Going on the Wren on St Stephens Day

Honda 50s

RTE 1 the only channel available

Watching Top of the Pops on a Thursday evening to see which song was number 1

People giving up drink for the Holy Souls
Post by: BennyCake on April 01, 2019, 04:51:08 PM
Dempsey's Den
Post by: Denn Forever on April 01, 2019, 04:56:44 PM
Quote from: whitey on April 01, 2019, 04:37:03 PM
Going on the Wren on St Stephens Day

Honda 50s

RTE 1 the only channel available

Watching Top of the Pops on a Thursday evening to see which song was number 1

People giving up drink for the Holy Souls

How true but sponsored Honda 50 runs are a big draw here on Sundays.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 01, 2019, 05:36:34 PM
Tele boys selling the Belfast Telegraph on the street shouting "Tele!"
Post by: Mossy Bruce on April 01, 2019, 05:38:38 PM
Great thread!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 01, 2019, 06:15:34 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 01, 2019, 11:25:22 AM

Mineral bottles with the glass a bit scuffed on the outside because they've been re-used so many times.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 01, 2019, 06:17:19 PM
Everybody coming into school talking about a great film they'd seen on TV the night before.

Being all excited about the TV line-up over Christmas because you'd get to see good films.
Post by: whitey on April 01, 2019, 06:21:18 PM
Getting the Guinness Book of Records for Christmas

Having to go to the library and look up encyclopedia Brittanica in order to research a topic

Not wearing seatbelts in cars....front or back

1st years being allowed to smoke on school property
Post by: HiMucker on April 01, 2019, 06:21:23 PM
Going on a package holiday and having no idea what the hotel was going to be like or look like.
Post by: Jim Bob on April 01, 2019, 06:57:09 PM
Parents investing in the set of 24 'World Books' for the youngsters' education
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 01, 2019, 07:30:36 PM
Listening to the match on the wireless
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 02, 2019, 08:41:51 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on April 01, 2019, 01:02:22 PM
Chopper bicycle

Chopper, Grifter, Burner ... kids getting excited about any brand of recreational kid-specific bicycle that becomes the must-have fashion item.
Post by: shyted on April 02, 2019, 08:58:06 PM
the wrestling at 4 o clock on a saturday
Post by: Sportacus on April 02, 2019, 09:02:48 PM
Making hay and the curlew.
Post by: BennyCake on April 02, 2019, 09:17:32 PM
MacGyver
The A-Team

Ah those were the days!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 02, 2019, 11:48:50 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 02, 2019, 09:17:32 PM
MacGyver
The A-Team

Ah those were the days!

Yup, TV shows like The Fall Guy, Knight Rider, etc.. Glen A Larson produced some great work.
Post by: north_antrim_hound on April 02, 2019, 11:56:57 PM
Fully operational cow tail pumps for water and not ornamental display
Old cow milk churns set out at the road for collection and nobody touched them
Austin cars ( in fairness pure junk)

Post by: armaghniac on April 03, 2019, 09:15:24 AM
Hillman Hunters.
6d bits.
Post by: general_lee on April 03, 2019, 09:42:42 AM
Brits casually walking up through your garden/road/street
Post by: johnnycool on April 03, 2019, 10:06:08 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 03, 2019, 09:15:24 AM
Hillman Hunters.
6d bits.

Learned how to drive in one of these. In a barley field that had just been cut. Took out a few stooks of bales in the process.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 03, 2019, 10:06:53 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on April 01, 2019, 06:57:09 PM
Parents investing in the set of 24 'World Books' for the youngsters' education

Mammy BC used to sell these in the evenings along with the Child Craft books.  I still have a few of them about the....we had the premium set...many a school project was completed off the back of them!

Quote from: general_lee on April 03, 2019, 09:42:42 AM
Brits casually walking up through your garden/road/street

Or helicopters casually landing in the field next to the school!  Never forget the day a Chinook landed in the school yard, was only in P1.  The whop whop of the twin blades was deafening!!!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on April 03, 2019, 10:38:05 AM
Quote from: general_lee on April 03, 2019, 09:42:42 AM
Brits casually walking up through your garden/road/street..drinking your milk!!!

Many a time as a kid opening the door and a Brit sitting in your front garden / yard. Walking past him..ahh mornin..
Post by: Boycey on April 03, 2019, 10:55:36 AM
Finding out what kind of eejit you made of yourself on a Saturday night down the back of 12.30 Mass of a Sunday :-[ much preferable to the current young ones finding out on social media  ;D
Post by: AZOffaly on April 03, 2019, 10:58:26 AM
Community Water Pumps, now just folksy decorations for Tidy Towns, but I remember having to go to one when staying in my grannies to get buckets of water every day.

Outside toilets.
Post by: J70 on April 03, 2019, 11:00:41 AM
Quote from: Sportacus on April 02, 2019, 09:02:48 PM
Making hay and the curlew.

Haven't heard the curlew since the 80s. Apparently skylarks, who you'd hear every day above the meadows and bogs, are getting scarce too.

Irish countryside is being fucked by modern farming practices.
Post by: pbat on April 03, 2019, 11:20:21 AM
Pump screwdrivers, a bastard of an invention.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 04, 2019, 07:35:17 AM
Quote from: pbat on April 01, 2019, 11:27:59 AM

Checking teletext for the other results.
Post by: Taylor on April 04, 2019, 08:05:51 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 04, 2019, 07:35:17 AM
Quote from: pbat on April 01, 2019, 11:27:59 AM

Checking teletext for the other results.

Watching a game 'live' on Aertel
Post by: JoG2 on April 04, 2019, 09:33:18 AM
Glass bottle of multi-vitamins with a ball of cotton wool set in to keep them fresh
Post by: seafoid on April 04, 2019, 10:32:53 AM
Mobile homes in fields around the countryside for people who were saving money to build a house

Adoption

Young and middle aged nuns

Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 04, 2019, 10:40:10 AM
MacGyver
The A-Team

Ah those were the days!

The Dukes of Hazard  :)

Post by: thebuzz on April 04, 2019, 10:58:23 AM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on April 04, 2019, 10:40:10 AM
MacGyver
The A-Team

Ah those were the days!

Used to watch it every week to see Daisy Duke  :) :)
Post by: north_antrim_hound on April 04, 2019, 11:56:44 AM
Quote from: thebuzz on April 04, 2019, 10:58:23 AM
MacGyver
The A-Team

Ah those were the days!

Anyone remember the six million dollar man.  That was a lot of money back then but it wouldn't buy a division 3 goalkeeper now.
Post by: pbat on April 04, 2019, 12:22:10 PM
airwolf
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 04, 2019, 12:29:50 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on April 04, 2019, 11:56:44 AM
MacGyver
The A-Team

Ah those were the days!

Anyone remember the six million dollar man.  That was a lot of money back then but it wouldn't buy a division 3 goalkeeper now.

The Fall Guy
TJ Hooker
Buck Rogers....Beedly Beedly!

There was a sci-fi program from the late 70's early 80's and it freaked me out....it's bugging me as I can't remember it!!!
Post by: north_antrim_hound on April 04, 2019, 12:37:49 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 04, 2019, 12:29:50 PM
MacGyver
The A-Team

Ah those were the days!

The Fall Guy
TJ Hooker

There was a sci-fi program from the late 70's early 80's and it freaked me out....it's bugging me as I can't remember it!!!

Give us a clue was it the "twilight zone"
Post by: seafoid on April 04, 2019, 12:43:43 PM
You could have any cheese you wanted as long as it was cheddar
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 04, 2019, 12:58:36 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on April 04, 2019, 12:37:49 PM
MacGyver
The A-Team

Ah those were the days!

The Fall Guy
TJ Hooker

Blake 7....that was it....Tales of the Unexpected was one that freaked me too! 
Post by: GetOverTheBar on April 04, 2019, 01:01:43 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 04, 2019, 12:43:43 PM
You could have any cheese you wanted as long as it was cheddar

Unfortunately I was plagued with the old Dairylea Triangles in the school lunchbox.

Bad times.
Post by: BennyCake on April 04, 2019, 02:10:58 PM
Sportsnight on BBC, to watch the midweek Premier League games.
Post by: spuds on April 04, 2019, 02:16:12 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 04, 2019, 12:58:36 PM
Quote from: north_antrim_hound on April 04, 2019, 12:37:49 PM
MacGyver
The A-Team

Ah those were the days!

The Fall Guy
TJ Hooker

Thunderbirds reruns freaked me out altogether as did the opening music of Tales of the Unexpected, still sends a chill down the spine.
Post by: BennyCake on April 04, 2019, 02:30:51 PM
Worzel Gummidge
Post by: Keyser soze on April 04, 2019, 02:46:09 PM
Cremola Foam
Post by: DERRYSFINEST on April 04, 2019, 02:57:51 PM
MacGyver
The A-Team

Ah those were the days!

Baywatch 
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 04, 2019, 05:51:27 PM

Sure it wasn't Doctor Who? That was far more scary than Blakes 7 IMO.

But nothing scared the crap out of me more than The Boy From Space, from the educational English show Look and Read. I think it was a BBC production.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zIbEoGRt-Q (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zIbEoGRt-Q)

Imagine showing that to a room of 7-year-olds. There was some screaming and crying done!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 04, 2019, 05:59:57 PM
Wellworths. Stewarts. Crazy Prices.

Roll your trolley up to the till. Start stacking your groceries on the wee sheet of plywood that stuck out. The checkout girl (it was always a teenage girl gossiping with her mate at the other till) would pick each one up, look for the price tag, punch in the price, and set it down, I think on a holding area behind her till. Then you moved your stuff from that holding area into the empty trolly that was left behind in front of you. It was nearly all cash, only the big shots used a chequebook. Credit cards were called American Express and only appeared in magazine ads.

She gave you a stack of big plastic carrier bags, and you rolled the trolley over to the packing bench where you put it all in bags or into the cardboard boxes that were left underneath the bench. In the car park there would be trolleys all over the place because there was no deposit system yet, and no incentive for people to bring them back.

When the trolley deposit system started they had to pay a pair of lads to sit there for the first couple of days showing people how to use it.

Stewarts in Lurgan was the most advanced shop in the town because it had a door that opened automatically when you approached it. It was a wonder of the modern age.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 04, 2019, 06:37:02 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 04, 2019, 05:51:27 PM

But nothing scared the crap out of me more than The Boy From Space, from the educational English show Look and Read. I think it was a BBC production.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zIbEoGRt-Q (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5zIbEoGRt-Q)

Imagine showing that to a room of 7-year-olds. There was some screaming and crying done!

Definitely was Blake 7. Hated Dr Who....sorry @ziggysego!!!

Agree wholeheartedly about The Boy from Space!!!
Post by: Square Ball on April 04, 2019, 06:53:34 PM
Moon base Alpha
Perrie cheese and onion
Micky Marley's roundabout
Beechnut chewing gum
Dicky Davis on sport , can't remember what that Saturday show was on ITV
Rope swings around trees or lamposts
Celtic park
Disney time
Would all key holders please return to...
Being searched going into town and shops
Getting through Castle Street without getting tapped.
Kribby
That's enought for now.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 04, 2019, 07:09:52 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 04, 2019, 06:53:34 PM

World of Sport.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vWkPr0bCmjE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vWkPr0bCmjE)
Post by: Jim Bob on April 04, 2019, 07:11:59 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 04, 2019, 07:09:52 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 04, 2019, 06:53:34 PM

World of Sport.

FA Cup Final Day
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on April 04, 2019, 07:56:28 PM
"Lets get an update on the c**k sucker......er cup soccer"

(Cant be arsed gettin the youtube clip of her)
Post by: shyted on April 04, 2019, 08:52:48 PM
superstars usedta love it
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 04, 2019, 08:57:41 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 04, 2019, 06:37:02 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on April 04, 2019, 05:51:27 PM

Definitely was Blake 7. Hated Dr Who....sorry @ziggysego!!!

Agree wholeheartedly about The Boy from Space!!!

Anyone remember through the dragon's eye?? Freaked me out a bit.
Post by: imtommygunn on April 04, 2019, 09:10:01 PM
I watched one of those tales of the unexpected when I was a kid. It was about someone in prison who hatched a plan to escape with the undertaker who would bury her with the dead body then dig her out. She got in with the dead body and it was the undertaker so she was buried alive. Don't think I have recovered yet from it!
Post by: clarshack on April 04, 2019, 11:33:27 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 04, 2019, 09:10:01 PM
I watched one of those tales of the unexpected when I was a kid. It was about someone in prison who hatched a plan to escape with the undertaker who would bury her with the dead body then dig her out. She got in with the dead body and it was the undertaker so she was buried alive. Don't think I have recovered yet from it!

Yeah that one was good.
Post by: Jim Bob on April 04, 2019, 11:48:43 PM
Quote from: shyted on April 04, 2019, 08:52:48 PM

Brian Jacks on the parallel bars
Post by: michaelg on April 05, 2019, 07:17:29 AM
Quote from: Jim Bob on April 04, 2019, 11:48:43 PM

Keegan coming off his bike was some craic too:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uDe8EsBBfm0
Post by: AZOffaly on April 05, 2019, 08:14:56 AM
Was Gerry Loftus the animal pressup guy.? I think he was an army man.
Post by: seafoid on April 05, 2019, 08:37:16 AM

Jody Scheckter was very good
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 05, 2019, 09:06:44 AM
Quote from: michaelg on April 05, 2019, 07:17:29 AM

You can't talk Superstars without referencing the legend....

(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/pZ9ZodmRwPU/maxresdefault.jpg)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZUJ_bV2eHk
Post by: seafoid on April 05, 2019, 10:23:45 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 05, 2019, 09:06:44 AM
Quote from: michaelg on April 05, 2019, 07:17:29 AM

You can't talk Superstars without referencing the legend....

(https://i.ytimg.com/vi/pZ9ZodmRwPU/maxresdefault.jpg)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wZUJ_bV2eHk
What a ligind
Post by: imtommygunn on April 05, 2019, 10:40:06 AM
Syferus lecturing everyone about what to be outraged about and how outraged to be.
Post by: johnnycool on April 05, 2019, 10:55:47 AM
Quote from: clarshack on April 04, 2019, 11:33:27 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on April 04, 2019, 09:10:01 PM

Yeah that one was good.

Tales of the Unexpected was a real freaky show, never realised it was Roald Dahl that wrote them.

Thon boy must have been on something.

I think Irvine Welsh must have been a big fan.
Post by: whitey on April 05, 2019, 12:11:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on April 05, 2019, 08:37:16 AM

Jody Scheckter was very good

Declan Burns on the chin up bar
Post by: Franko on April 05, 2019, 12:37:39 PM
Tudor Gammon and Pineapple crisps.

They were awesome.
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 05, 2019, 03:19:31 PM
Secret chocolate bars.

Post by: Square Ball on April 05, 2019, 04:42:37 PM
Anyone remember Manimal?
Post by: imtommygunn on April 05, 2019, 05:04:08 PM
Quote from: Franko on April 05, 2019, 12:37:39 PM
Tudor Gammon and Pineapple crisps.

They were awesome.

They really were.

Never heard of manimal. Secrets were good too.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 05, 2019, 05:09:37 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 05, 2019, 04:42:37 PM
Anyone remember Manimal?

The special effects were amazing at the time, but they haven't aged that well.
Post by: whitey on April 05, 2019, 08:08:39 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on April 05, 2019, 04:42:37 PM
Anyone remember Manimal?
Oh I remember that. The man who could turn into an animal

Don't think it was in for too long though
Post by: seafoid on April 05, 2019, 09:53:44 PM
Magnum PI
When Fianna Fáil were the biggest party
And the SDLP was bigger than SF
Northern Ireland at the World Cup
Offaly winning all Irelands
Post by: imtommygunn on April 05, 2019, 10:03:14 PM
Ulster county teams in all Ireland hurling semi finals.
Post by: BennyCake on April 05, 2019, 10:46:53 PM
A 10p mix-up
Post by: Dire Ear on April 05, 2019, 11:00:25 PM
Knock na moe . The GAA , night out in Omagh
Post by: armaghniac on April 06, 2019, 12:20:22 AM
Wanderly wagon
Lost in space.
B&W TV (405 line)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 06, 2019, 12:30:31 AM
Putting a camera up against your face when taking a picture.

I remember the first digital camera I used that had a screen. It also had an old-fashioned viewfinder. I used the old fashioned viewfinder because I felt ridiculous not holding it up to me face.