GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: trailer on July 24, 2018, 09:38:04 AM

Title: DICK v WOOLY
Post by: trailer on July 24, 2018, 09:38:04 AM
I see Parkinson and Clerkin are having a go at each other on social meeja. Wooly called his recent article a bag of shite essentially.
"So after mistakenly reading Dick Clerkin's piece I now know his son's name is Cailean, who is now going to games, he sat at the game with his father Hugo and met his mother Mary after the game.
Christ almighty"

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/i-met-conor-mcmanus-mother-afterwards-and-all-i-could-do-was-give-her-a-hug-with-tears-almost-in-my-eyes-37143735.html (https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/i-met-conor-mcmanus-mother-afterwards-and-all-i-could-do-was-give-her-a-hug-with-tears-almost-in-my-eyes-37143735.html)

Clerkin
"So I believe Colm Parkinson read my column today.. that's nice. He must hate that its his job to read and listen to me every week, whereas I thankfully never have to read or listen to him, for any reason....ever!! (🎤dropped)"

Parkinson
"Hi Dick,
I know you don't listen but I'm just enquiring if you could contribute to a new Monday slot on the podcast called 'my family day at the game' ....I think there would be huge national interest.
We'll mention Sky for you too"
Title: Re: DICK v WOOLY
Post by: Under Lights on July 24, 2018, 09:41:59 AM
Fair play to both men making good €€€€€€€ out of medicore playing careers. I enjoy Wooly's podcast. All this sort of stuff, controversy and wumming is just part of the media game. See talkSPORT for the blueprint to that.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on July 24, 2018, 10:12:45 AM
This controversy just needs a hashtag...
Lets get #woolydick trending 😂
Post by: Itchy on July 24, 2018, 11:28:37 AM
I have to say I think Clerkin is a wind bag, and "Wooly" isnt far behind him.
Post by: The Subbie on July 24, 2018, 11:30:42 AM
Wolly survives on the click bait - he works for Joe.ie whose entire purpose is 'content ' creation , I do like his podcast but Joe.ie is lowest common denominator stuff really
Dick is firmly angling for an establishment role either in Gaa circles , media circles or if you believe some rumours flying round once upon a time a tilt at Leinster house as a FF candidate- this to me speaks volumes about Dick.
Dick throws out his musings on Twitter and rarely if ever engages with any normal people apart from the sad sacks that agree with him but if a media type reply's Dick will engage at length, very transparent by Dicky
Wolly does engage with people and does act a bit of a p***k at times but at least he engages with all comers
I think secretly Dick might just envy Colm's blue verified tick !!
Post by: Esmarelda on July 24, 2018, 11:53:57 AM
The most important outcome is that they got a thread started about them.
Post by: weareros on July 24, 2018, 12:03:04 PM
Quote from: Under Lights on July 24, 2018, 09:41:59 AM
Fair play to both men making good €€€€€€€ out of medicore playing careers. I enjoy Wooly's podcast. All this sort of stuff, controversy and wumming is just part of the media game. See talkSPORT for the blueprint to that.

Or Trump when running for President. He had two or three fights going on at any one time, including The Pope. It was a masterclass in free marketing as every outlet, social and trad media, gave it Oxygen.
Post by: screenexile on July 24, 2018, 12:08:30 PM
I don't get the fascination with Wooly at all. . . a lad who was a fairly decent footballer but who fucked about too much so never really made it.

He was giving out about some lad he'd never heard of from Derry taking his spot on ateam out in America. . . yeah Crossan played in an All Ireland Semi Final he's not exactly a nobody!! He has this opinion that he was somehow a great player only for this and only for falling out with the manager etc.

His comment about the Oaks interfering with coverage of the super 8s was stupidity and rightly called as such!!

Dick Clerkin is a tube as well!
Post by: JoG2 on July 24, 2018, 12:11:21 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 24, 2018, 12:08:30 PM
I don't get the fascination with Wooly at all. . . a lad who was a fairly decent footballer but who fucked about too much so never really made it.

He was giving out about some lad he'd never heard of from Derry taking his spot on ateam out in America. . . yeah Crossan played in an All Ireland Semi Final he's not exactly a nobody!! He has this opinion that he was somehow a great player only for this and only for falling out with the manager etc.

His comment about the Oaks interfering with coverage of the super 8s was stupidity and rightly called as such!!

Wonder was that the year Crossan won North American footballer of the year??
Post by: bigpackiechestout on July 24, 2018, 12:22:22 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 24, 2018, 12:08:30 PM

Parkinson has a tendency to sneer and look down his nose at others which is very offputting. Take a quick look through his twitter replies to people questioning his proposed 'tweaks' to the playing rules and his reponses are all a variation on WTF would you know. Then he also sneers at pundits like McGuiness or other pundits and journalists that he claims try to overanalyse the game or 'use too many big words'
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2018, 12:30:11 PM
Parkinson is Sunday World,  Dick is Ireland's Own.
Post by: Maiden1 on July 24, 2018, 12:38:44 PM
Parkinson's twitter page has a pinned tweet on top.

This is a good talk about online shaming. It looks like if you're on the side of the mob you can tweet any abuse you like and you get a free pass. Twitter has become a nasty toxic place, make a mistake and you're destroyed. https://ted.com/talks/jon_ronson_what_happens_when_online_shaming_spirals_out_of_control?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=tedspread ... via @TEDTalks

https://twitter.com/Woolberto

On 1 hand he has a pinned link about online shaming and toxic tweets and with the other he throws Clerkin under a bus with a toxic tweet.

Post by: Jinxy on July 24, 2018, 05:07:44 PM
We need less Woolies & Dicks, and more Wards and Moyleses.
Post by: thejuice on July 24, 2018, 05:38:17 PM
We need John Cullinane.

To be fair I like Colms podcast and I think Cian Ward is great on it especially. Never heard anything Dick does so can't comment but to be honest I don't care enough to pick a side in this particular squabble in a cyber-teacup
Post by: yellowcard on July 24, 2018, 07:50:43 PM
Wooly can be entertaining but he is tabloid attention seeking. He is a bit of a free spirit and can be good craic at times but I wouldn't be taking him too serious.

Dick is not entertaining and takes himself a bit too serious. I don't really know how he has managed to get as much media work but he csertainly knows how to play the establishment.
Post by: trailer on July 24, 2018, 09:27:45 PM
It's all a bit cringe tbh.
Post by: Scoring Zone on July 24, 2018, 09:36:45 PM
this whole thing is like watching two dwarfs fight - entertaining for the first 10 seconds then ye just feel sorry for them trying to get attention - just two irrelevant average ex county men looking to be heard - in a committee of some description in clerkins case ( Jarleth "scor" Burns Jr) and in Parkinsons case, Joe.ie and their laddish clickbait blog gives the loudest mouth a soapbox - unfortunately this seems to be the norm - Cavanagh, Brendan Deveney, Billy Joe Padden, Dessie Dolan, Gooch, David "as the man says" Brady - are all bland, irrelevant cliche ridden doses #rantover
Post by: Schkite on July 24, 2018, 09:41:01 PM
I do generally enjoy Wooly's podcast, even if the odd time he's a bit full of himself in thinking his opinion is right and assuming the others will agree with him. But generally a good listen.

But he comes across as a right arsehole on Twitter. Again, he makes some statements and gives his opinion on things, but don't dare disagree or he'll turn his nose up at you and try to make out like you're a clueless gobshite.
Post by: stephenite on July 24, 2018, 11:22:41 PM
Quote from: Scoring Zone on July 24, 2018, 09:36:45 PM
this whole thing is like watching two dwarfs fight - entertaining for the first 10 seconds then ye just feel sorry for them trying to get attention - just two irrelevant average ex county men looking to be heard - in a committee of some description in clerkins case ( Jarleth "scor" Burns Jr) and in Parkinsons case, Joe.ie and their laddish clickbait blog gives the loudest mouth a soapbox - unfortunately this seems to be the norm - Cavanagh, Brendan Deveney, Billy Joe Padden, Dessie Dolan, Gooch, David "as the man says" Brady - are all bland, irrelevant cliche ridden doses #rantover

Post by: Main Street on July 25, 2018, 12:46:30 AM
Yet so many take the time  to  submit their protest, Is that called being "threadbaited"?
Some even surmising what must be Dick's ambitions in life.
'I heard the rumour that's doing the rounds from a source and if true then it sums up the man altogether´..... :D
'Based on a rumour, the man's a gobshíte'  ...  I think I heard that line on Father Ted.
The Ireland of the squinting windows lives on.

Post by: The Subbie on July 25, 2018, 01:58:03 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 25, 2018, 12:46:30 AM
Yet so many take the time  to  submit their protest, Is that called being "threadbaited"?
'I heard the rumour that's doing the rounds from a source and if true then it sums up the man altogether´..... :D
'Based on a rumour, the man's a gobshíte'  ...  I think I heard that line on Father Ted.

So we have one person in Camp Dick.
Anyone else ????

Post by: NetNitrate on July 25, 2018, 03:33:18 AM
Quote from: The Subbie on July 25, 2018, 01:58:03 AM

Anyone else ????

It was a bit mean spirited of Parkinson. A lot of going to matches for a smaller county involves running into people who were there in the many bad days and the few good days of yesteryear. I thought that was the point and it is fine for the writer to set the stage and convey the experience and emotions. 1985 in particular was an amazing set of games. If we want deep analysis with data driven facts we'll get it elsewhere. Those tend to be dry pieces without emotion but serve a journalistic purpose. Colm spends a huge amount of time on his podcast talking about his personal experiences. Actually worse he often repeats the same stories. All the presenters then tend to parrot what the previous presenter just said. So if his criticism was because he feels he is doing a superior form of journalism, he is wide off the mark. The fact that he now has to give the end of his show to Paddy Power is even sadder still. No journalism worth it's salt would sell out like that.
Post by: cavanmaniac on July 25, 2018, 06:05:49 AM
There's a touch of contrivance and sneering about the laddish image Parkinson likes to carefully cultivate, while Dick seems a harmless enough Daniel O'Donnell/Mammy-pleasing throwback type. That's no justification for the former to be hounding every move the latter makes, as an attention-seeking ploy it's starting to look like tabloid hounding and seems in bad taste.
Post by: Schkite on July 25, 2018, 08:02:52 AM
Quote from: NetNitrate on July 25, 2018, 03:33:18 AM

Anyone else ????

It was a bit mean spirited of Parkinson. A lot of going to matches for a smaller county involves running into people who were there in the many bad days and the few good days of yesteryear. I thought that was the point and it is fine for the writer to set the stage and convey the experience and emotions. 1985 in particular was an amazing set of games. If we want deep analysis with data driven facts we'll get it elsewhere. Those tend to be dry pieces without emotion but serve a journalistic purpose. Colm spends a huge amount of time on his podcast talking about his personal experiences. Actually worse he often repeats the same stories. All the presenters then tend to parrot what the previous presenter just said. So if his criticism was because he feels he is doing a superior form of journalism, he is wide off the mark. The fact that he now has to give the end of his show to Paddy Power is even sadder still. No journalism worth it's salt would sell out like that.

Your problem there is thinking something affiliated with Joe.ie is a worthy level of journalism. That site is click bait shite at it's worst.
Post by: OgraAnDun on July 25, 2018, 01:29:27 PM
Quote from: Schkite on July 25, 2018, 08:02:52 AM
Quote from: NetNitrate on July 25, 2018, 03:33:18 AM

Anyone else ????

Your problem there is thinking something affiliated with Joe.ie is a worthy level of journalism. That site is click bait shite at it's worst.

The site is pure shite, but the podcast is alright.
Post by: ONeill on July 25, 2018, 05:24:02 PM
Nothing worse than a wooly dick.
Post by: Orchard park on July 25, 2018, 08:20:51 PM
Clerkin doing well for a lad who was kjiwb to tout his own all Ireland final tickets a few years ago
Post by: Jinxy on July 25, 2018, 08:25:38 PM

Big Dick is well able to stand up for himself.
Post by: The Subbie on July 25, 2018, 08:58:28 PM
Quote from: Orchard park on July 25, 2018, 08:20:51 PM
Clerkin doing well for a lad who was kjiwb to tout his own all Ireland final tickets a few years ago

Obviously a key moment in the Fianna Fáil candidate recruitment teams decision that Dick was the man for them in Monaghan .
A true demonstration of the embodiment of some key Fianna Fáil core principals right there.
Post by: JimStynes on July 25, 2018, 09:36:07 PM
The GAA Hour is excellent and Parkinson is good craic on it. I'd much rather listen to the likes of him than some of dinosaurs on RTE. Stevie McDonnell and Cian Ward are excellent on it as well. By far the best GAA podcast going.
Post by: rodney trotter on July 25, 2018, 10:43:33 PM

Senan 'that's quality' Connell would be in there too. 
Post by: The Subbie on July 26, 2018, 04:53:27 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on July 25, 2018, 10:43:33 PM

100% - I sometimes get the impression the Senan is trying to model his delivery and general TV persona on Jamie Redknapp, a dreadful though I know.

On a seperate note , I wonder do Senan, David , Dick and all the rest of the lads look at who is retiring every year and wonder if the new retiree is going to get a slice of his cake so to speak?

The talking head retired ex county man market had , I Thought, reached saturation point about 18 months ago and (thankfully ) natural attrition wasn't keeping up with the numbers joining the ranks , it would be a interesting study to see the % of ex county men that never go near the media scene and then the % of others like Dick & Wolly who willingly prostitute themselves for a few coppers.
In Woolys case it's a living , fair enough.
The Dick fella works away as a production manager or something along them lines and I'm reckoning the media thing is a vanity project or a means to an end - propbably told by his FF handlers to keep tapping away at the Aus TV there Dick & we'll parachute you in as a Dail candidate in a few years , good lad .
Another appalling thought , Dick Clerkin T.D.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on July 26, 2018, 10:30:46 AM
I quite like Senan Connell on the radio (the last word).  He has gave some genuine good analysis on Dublin last week and seems to know what he is talking about.  Him and Peter Canavan are good to listen to and seem to give an honest take in my opinion.   

Wolly reminds me of Graeme Norton, he is giddy as fcuk when he gets someone on and very little analysis occurs, although he isn't afraid to call out what he thinks is bull, as in the Dick Clerkin case, which makes some of his shows interesting. 
Post by: Beffs on July 26, 2018, 10:35:55 AM
People seriously.....it's Wooly....as in wooly jumper. It is NOT Wolly that rhymes with sweet fcuk all !  :o
Post by: trailer on July 26, 2018, 11:18:20 AM
It's some gravy train this pundit lark. Some boys absolutely stealing a living at it. And don't get me started on Rory's stories.
Post by: No left foot on July 26, 2018, 11:34:55 AM

Aaron Kernan another appalling example of an individual who would sell his soul to increase his social media / media profile , totally irrelevant opinions which under scrutiny just don't stand up , always goes with the popular opinion / whatever is trending, whatever maximises benefit for him .All about getting your slice of the cake.
Post by: Lar Naparka on July 26, 2018, 11:40:31 AM
Quote from: Beffs on July 26, 2018, 10:35:55 AM
People seriously.....it's Wooly....as in wooly jumper. It is NOT Wolly that rhymes with sweet fcuk all !  :o
And neither does Wooly but Woolly probably does. ;D
Post by: Keyser soze on July 26, 2018, 11:48:07 AM
Quote from: No left foot on July 26, 2018, 11:34:55 AM

Aaron Kernan another appalling example of an individual who would sell his soul to increase his social media / media profile , totally irrelevant opinions which under scrutiny just don't stand up , always goes with the popular opinion / whatever is trending, whatever maximises benefit for him .All about getting your slice of the cake.

Welcome to the board Aaron  ;D
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 26, 2018, 12:15:53 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on July 25, 2018, 09:36:07 PM
The GAA Hour is excellent and Parkinson is good craic on it. I'd much rather listen to the likes of him than some of dinosaurs on RTE. Stevie McDonnell and Cian Ward are excellent on it as well. By far the best GAA podcast going.

Ward is very good but can't say the same about McDonnell, he gets so much wrong.
Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2018, 12:16:13 PM
Quote from: trailer on July 26, 2018, 11:18:20 AM
It's some gravy train this pundit lark. Some boys absolutely stealing a living at it. And don't get me started on Rory's stories.

Painful stuff.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 26, 2018, 01:34:29 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 26, 2018, 12:16:13 PM

Painful stuff.

Can't watch it without cringing.
Post by: trileacman on July 26, 2018, 01:49:20 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 26, 2018, 01:34:29 PM

Painful stuff.

He does weddings now too.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 26, 2018, 01:52:11 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on July 26, 2018, 11:48:07 AM
Quote from: No left foot on July 26, 2018, 11:34:55 AM

Welcome to the board Aaron  ;D
;D I thought it was Stephen!
Post by: trailer on July 26, 2018, 01:52:48 PM
Quote from: trileacman on July 26, 2018, 01:49:20 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 26, 2018, 01:34:29 PM

Painful stuff.

He does weddings now too.

Does he fill in the bit of shit time after the meal, when everyone wants to go to the room and drink a bottle of wine?
Post by: joemamas on July 26, 2018, 02:25:56 PM

Connell is as bad as any of them, sideline report my arse, you could get any average GAA supporter in the crowd and they would add just as much value. Of course his Dublin accent seems to be getting stronger every time he is on, so maybe that is the angle for SKY.
I just press mute when he is on.

Post by: Jinxy on July 26, 2018, 02:38:20 PM
Wooly used to do really good sideline reports (and half time interviews) for Newstalk on the radio.
Actually Newstalk's GAA coverage in general is very badly missed.
Post by: trailer on July 26, 2018, 02:51:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 26, 2018, 02:38:20 PM
Wooly used to do really good sideline reports (and half time interviews) for Newstalk on the radio.
Actually Newstalk's GAA coverage in general is very badly missed.

Very true. Newstalk is excellent and their GAA coverage was top notch.
Post by: Mario on July 26, 2018, 02:55:36 PM
Quote from: joemamas on July 26, 2018, 02:25:56 PM

Connell is as bad as any of them, sideline report my arse, you could get any average GAA supporter in the crowd and they would add just as much value. Of course his Dublin accent seems to be getting stronger every time he is on, so maybe that is the angle for SKY.
Everytime i hear him now I just think of the intro to the gaa hour where he repeats 'you see that handpass into a crowded area wooly, that little dinked handpass' and repeats it 4 times.

The Gaa coverage on Newstalk is away to sh*te compared to what it used to be.

The Gaa hour is the best podcast in my opinion, Ward is the best and makes some great points which I wouldn't think of. Conan can also make some good points but he's not essential to the podcast, i'm probably biased on him though as he is from Derry so I can relate to his stories more. Wooly is entertaining but I don't take him very seriously, sometimes i think he sees things the way he wants too, for example will never once criticises how Dublin play and always blames the other team for setting up a certain way but if it was another team he'd be all over them. Stevie is ok, he's not the most articulate for radio but still likeable and it's good to have a top player on there.
Post by: Beffs on July 26, 2018, 03:11:12 PM
Quote from: Mario on July 26, 2018, 02:55:36 PM
The Gaa hour is the best podcast in my opinion, Ward is the best and makes some great points which I wouldn't think of. Conan can also make some good points but he's not essential to the podcast, i'm probably biased on him though as he is from Derry so I can relate to his stories more. Wooly is entertaining but I don't take him very seriously, sometimes i think he sees things the way he wants too, for example will never once criticises how Dublin play and always blames the other team for setting up a certain way but if it was another team he'd be all over them. Stevie is ok, he's not the most articulate for radio but still likeable and it's good to have a top player on there.

Conan just doesn't fit in. All of the pundits are former players or managers and they all have a unique perspective that only intercounty players will have. He's just some random lad from the Sports Joe office who sits in on the podcast, for no apparent reason that I can tell. His insight isn't exactly so brilliant that he merits inclusion, purely because he is such a good talker. I'd dump him and get someone else in from a Munster or Connaught county. When the podcast is Wooly and Cian Ward, or Wooly with Conan and Stevie, there is too much of a weighting towards Ulster and Leinster football and, not enough from the other 2 provinces.
Post by: spuds on July 26, 2018, 03:15:03 PM

Everytime i hear him now I just think of the intro to the gaa hour where he repeats 'you see that handpass into a crowded area wooly, that little dinked handpass' and repeats it 4 times.

Conan agrees too much with Wolly and his excess cursing reflects poorly on how articulate he is. Wolly is a good laugh and does some good analysis but gets muddled occasionally.

We've gone overtime on this section.

There's no doubt about that.

Cian Ward is excellent.

Stevie McDonnell gets more wrong than right but is still interesting.

Senan O'Connell was an awful dose. I've talked with Bernard about it. In a crowded area. Right. Watch for it.
Post by: Schkite on July 26, 2018, 03:31:52 PM
Don't think Stevie is great at all personally, he doesn't offer a whole pile in terms of actual analysis.

Agree Ward is very good though.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on July 26, 2018, 03:35:56 PM

An absolute dose.  Haven't seen anything remotely funny from him yet.
Post by: trailer on July 26, 2018, 04:06:08 PM
Quote from: spuds on July 26, 2018, 03:15:03 PM

Conan agrees too much with Wolly and his excess cursing reflects poorly on how articulate he is. Wolly is a good laugh and does some good analysis but gets muddled occasionally.

We've gone overtime on this section.

There's no doubt about that.

Cian Ward is excellent.

Stevie McDonnell gets more wrong than right but is still interesting.

Senan O'Connell was an awful dose. I've talked with Bernard about it. In a crowded area. Right. Watch for it.
'And Bernard is very patient.'

He'd wanna be listening to him.
Post by: Mario on July 26, 2018, 05:06:45 PM
Quote from: Beffs on July 26, 2018, 03:11:12 PM

Conan just doesn't fit in. All of the pundits are former players or managers and they all have a unique perspective that only intercounty players will have. He's just some random lad from the Sports Joe office who sits in on the podcast, for no apparent reason that I can tell. His insight isn't exactly so brilliant that he merits inclusion, purely because he is such a good talker. I'd dump him and get someone else in from a Munster or Connaught county. When the podcast is Wooly and Cian Ward, or Wooly with Conan and Stevie, there is too much of a weighting towards Ulster and Leinster football and, not enough from the other 2 provinces.
While you may have that opinion of Conan i don't agree that pundits should just be ex players or managers, some of the best soccer podcasts regularly get journalists in as they have more to say and say it better than ex players. Eg Dan McDonnell and Tim Vickery on Off the Ball.

There is a Mayo lad on the GAA hour regularly, can't remember his name. Agree they could probably get a Munster representative on.

Post by: Beffs on July 26, 2018, 05:16:19 PM
Quote from: Mario on July 26, 2018, 05:06:45 PM

While you may have that opinion of Conan i don't agree that pundits should just be ex players or managers, some of the best soccer podcasts regularly get journalists in as they have more to say and say it better than ex players. Eg Dan McDonnell and Tim Vickery on Off the Ball.

There is a Mayo lad on the GAA hour regularly, can't remember his name. Agree they could probably get a Munster representative on.

I didn't say the pundits should only be former players. (Although I can see why that might have been inferred from my post.) I said his analysis wasn't good enough to make up for the fact that he himself isn't a former intercounty player and, the others all are. Malachy Clerkin and Vincent Hogan are not intercounty players either, but they are well able to provide excellent analysis and, participate very well in podcasts in ways that Conan doesn't. He just seems out of his depth imo.

Yes, I have heard the Mayo chap a couple of times too. Unfortunately, he is on so rarely, neither one of us can remember his name.
Post by: Duine Eile on July 26, 2018, 05:26:28 PM
Quote from: Beffs on July 26, 2018, 05:16:19 PM

I didn't say the pundits should only be former players. (Although I can see why that might have been inferred.) I said his analysis wasn't good enough to make up for the fact that he himself isn't a former intercounty player and the others all are. Malachy Clerkin and Vincent Hogan are not intercounty players either, but they are able to provide excellent analysis and, participate very well in podcasts in ways that Conan doesn't. He just seems out of his depth imo.

Yes, I have heard the Mayo chap a couple of times too. Unfortunately, he is on so rarely, neither one of us can remember his name.

Mayo lad is Conor Heneghan? Definitely Conor anyway
Post by: spuds on July 28, 2018, 11:00:16 PM
Quote from: Duine Eile on July 26, 2018, 05:26:28 PM
Quote from: Beffs on July 26, 2018, 05:16:19 PM

I didn't say the pundits should only be former players. (Although I can see why that might have been inferred.) I said his analysis wasn't good enough to make up for the fact that he himself isn't a former intercounty player and the others all are. Malachy Clerkin and Vincent Hogan are not intercounty players either, but they are able to provide excellent analysis and, participate very well in podcasts in ways that Conan doesn't. He just seems out of his depth imo.

Mayo lad is Conor Heneghan? Definitely Conor anyway
That's him, from Kiltimagh.  Find him a good pundit.