Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: slippery dodger on January 30, 2018, 12:00:38 AM

Title: Derry/Londonderry
Post by: slippery dodger on January 30, 2018, 12:00:38 AM
A BBC Radio Ulster News report last night gave a Derry GAA result as Londonderry. Just felt it was obvious antagonization of the nationalists of Derry. Everybody interested in a GAA result would refer to Derry as "Derry". No need to call it anything else. What are yer thoughts on this? Am I reading too much into it?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjwtSRPVQL8
Title: Re: Derry/Londonderry
Post by: Orior on January 30, 2018, 12:16:34 AM
Quote from: slippery dodger on January 30, 2018, 12:00:38 AM
A BBC Radio Ulster News report last night gave a Derry GAA result as Londonderry. Just felt it was obvious antagonization of the nationalists of Derry. Everybody interested in a GAA result would refer to Derry as "Derry". No need to call it anything else. What are yer thoughts on this? Am I reading too much into it?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wjwtSRPVQL8

That cannot be serious.
Post by: Itchy on January 30, 2018, 12:21:15 AM
What a shower of fuckwits
Post by: armaghniac on January 30, 2018, 12:35:22 AM
Coat trailing.
Any team should be known by its name, talking about Bayern Munchen or Bavaria Munich is nonsense.

https://youtu.be/fjEkjeVzL34?t=66
Post by: T Fearon on January 30, 2018, 07:40:33 AM
Ffs little to worry about.Is it not BBC policy to refer to Derry as Londonderry alternately? Some newsreader without any GAA knowledge just doing his or her job.
Post by: scout on January 30, 2018, 08:24:38 AM
Would they have referred to a game between e.g. Derry City- Shamrock Rovers as Londonderry City-Shamrock Rovers?
Post by: Farrandeelin on January 30, 2018, 08:35:41 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 30, 2018, 07:40:33 AM
Ffs little to worry about.Is it not BBC policy to refer to Derry as Londonderry alternately? Some newsreader without any GAA knowledge just doing his or her job.

Ah here, they usually read what's put in front of them. As the OP said it was a GAA result.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on January 30, 2018, 09:26:16 AM

My sense would be that you're not reading too much into it - the only other explanation is that it is someone from outside who has no understanding of the local 'nuances', and is working for Radio Ulster, and I'd reckon that's a long shot.

I recall a similar issue going way back, to the 1987 Christmas Edition of the Radio Times. Yet again it was Radio Ulster, and they were having a programme which was reviewing the 1987 GAA Year, and there was a small photo from that year's Ulster Final alongside the programme listing, where "Londonderry were playing Cavan".   

Post by: Rossfan on January 30, 2018, 09:35:06 AM
Quote from: scout on January 30, 2018, 08:24:38 AM
Would they have referred to a game between e.g. Derry City- Shamrock Rovers as Londonderry City-Shamrock Rovers?
What do they call the Council?
Post by: HiMucker on January 30, 2018, 09:38:11 AM
Will Id guess that the reason these results are read out on BCC Radio Ulster is because a lot of their listeners are interested in the results.  So you have the bizarre situation were a radio station on one hand has made a decision to have  content for the benefit of their listeners, and then a presenter on other who has tried to offend same said listeners while presenting this content.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 30, 2018, 09:53:26 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 30, 2018, 09:35:06 AM
Quote from: scout on January 30, 2018, 08:24:38 AM
What do they call the Council?

Derry City & Strabane District Council.
Post by: screenexile on January 30, 2018, 10:19:13 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on January 30, 2018, 08:35:41 AM

Ah here, they usually read what's put in front of them. As the OP said it was a GAA result.

She didn't read out what was put in front of her . . .

Quote"I am responding to your complaint about our 1800 radio bulletin on Sunday 28th January.

I can confirm that our newsreader accidentally misnamed Derry GAA. Although the title Derry was in the script, due to human error our newsreader made an on air adjustment as she read the name.

We fully accept that the correct title of the county board is Derry and apologise for the mistake."
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 30, 2018, 10:23:48 AM
Quote from: screenexile on January 30, 2018, 10:19:13 AM

Quote"I am responding to your complaint about our 1800 radio bulletin on Sunday 28th January.

I can confirm that our newsreader accidentally misnamed Derry GAA. Although the title Derry was in the script, due to human error our newsreader made an on air adjustment as she read the name.

We fully accept that the correct title of the county board is Derry and apologise for the mistake."

A slip of the tongue as they say.. but lets string her up, and I'm not being sexist  ::)
Post by: general_lee on January 30, 2018, 10:25:27 AM
If BBC NI didn't have this draconian policy of making its employees use the term "Londonderry" then this probably wouldn't have happened. Most people just say Derry, only Uber Unionists use the long word
Post by: T Fearon on January 30, 2018, 01:29:00 PM
Presumably there is also great offence taken at London's involvement in the NFL Div 4 and Connacht Championship🙄
Post by: AQMP on January 30, 2018, 01:52:26 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 30, 2018, 10:23:48 AM

A slip of the tongue as they say.. but lets string her up, and I'm not being sexist  ::)

It wasn't a slip of the tongue...she decided to change it (for whatever reason).  Obviously I'm taking the easy way out and will presume she's an arch bigot ;)
Post by: seafoid on January 30, 2018, 02:13:40 PM
The demographics do not favour the Londonderry crowd. Provocatively using the unionist name for a GAA team is the work of a loser.
Post by: Itchy on January 30, 2018, 03:21:13 PM

The team in question is called Derry - nothing to do with the politics of what the county of city is called.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 30, 2018, 03:24:46 PM
Quote from: AQMP on January 30, 2018, 01:52:26 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 30, 2018, 10:23:48 AM

It wasn't a slip of the tongue...she decided to change it (for whatever reason).  Obviously I'm taking the easy way out and will presume she's an arch bigot ;)

She may well be, but its one view that she is so used to saying Londonderry that it just came out

Its funny I've never used the term Londonderry, even through my working on both sides of the communties in teaching and my time working in protestant industries for many years, but I have heard plenty prods say Derry or county Londonderry... I'm thinking she just fcuked up
Post by: gallsman on January 30, 2018, 03:36:47 PM
She might not be a bigot but she's clearly a bellend. "Made a mistake" ffs. Pathetic from them but not worth getting het up over.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 30, 2018, 03:40:54 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 30, 2018, 03:36:47 PM
She might not be a bigot but she's clearly a bellend. "Made a mistake" ffs. Pathetic from them but not worth getting het up over.

Let's withhold the TV licence money & teach Lord Hall a salutary lesson.
Post by: Main Street on January 30, 2018, 04:51:42 PM
I suspect it was all a clever ploy to deflect ire from the humiliating home loss in Div 3 towards the greater outrage.
Post by: theticklemister on January 30, 2018, 06:13:39 PM
Je lads; you've f**k all to be up with yourself if you are getting pissed off over this.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on January 30, 2018, 06:15:06 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 30, 2018, 06:13:39 PM
Je lads; you've f**k all to be up with yourself if you are getting pissed off over this.

What's the weather like in the free state today?
Post by: theticklemister on January 30, 2018, 06:18:25 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on January 30, 2018, 06:15:06 PM

What's the weather like in the free state today?

I'm on the mainland
Post by: T Fearon on January 30, 2018, 07:40:29 PM

Plus 1.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 30, 2018, 07:56:45 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 30, 2018, 07:40:29 PM

Plus 1.

Pmsl....ya just couldn't make it up even if you tried. Bit rich coming from "Death Notice Thread Comedy Man".
Post by: michaelg on January 30, 2018, 08:32:26 PM
Quote from: general_lee on January 30, 2018, 10:25:27 AM
If BBC NI didn't have this draconian policy of making its employees use the term "Londonderry" then this probably wouldn't have happened. Most people just say Derry, only Uber Unionists use the long word
What do Prods in Derry / Londonderry call it?
Post by: Newbridge Exile on January 30, 2018, 08:40:12 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on January 30, 2018, 09:26:16 AM

My sense would be that you're not reading too much into it - the only other explanation is that it is someone from outside who has no understanding of the local 'nuances', and is working for Radio Ulster, and I'd reckon that's a long shot.

I recall a similar issue going way back, to the 1987 Christmas Edition of the Radio Times. Yet again it was Radio Ulster, and they were having a programme which was reviewing the 1987 GAA Year, and there was a small photo from that year's Ulster Final alongside the programme listing, where "Londonderry were playing Cavan".
Its funny how things stick with you I Still remember that photo ( off Derry Captain Plunkett murphy)
Post by: Orior on January 30, 2018, 08:40:52 PM

Looking at the press etc, I think 99% of the GAA community were affronted by this. Pissed no, affronted, yes.
Post by: T Fearon on January 30, 2018, 09:16:20 PM
If the London part is offensive (on the weekend when the GAA dined in Westminster) how should BBC NI read out the result of the forthcoming London V Antrim NFL Div 4 game?
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 30, 2018, 09:31:54 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 30, 2018, 09:16:20 PM
If the London part is offensive (on the weekend when the GAA dined in Westminster) how should BBC NI read out the result of the forthcoming London V Antrim NFL Div 4 game?

Possibly by Lord Haw-Haw, enunciating slowly, with good diction & in English?
Post by: general_lee on January 30, 2018, 09:58:11 PM
Quote from: michaelg on January 30, 2018, 08:32:26 PM
Ive an uncle who  is a Protestant from Derry and that's all he calls it
Post by: seafoid on January 30, 2018, 10:04:38 PM
London should always be followed by innit.
Post by: thebar on January 30, 2018, 10:13:48 PM

lol what are you talking about fella? ;D
Post by: Orior on January 30, 2018, 10:24:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 30, 2018, 10:04:38 PM

and also "faaaack offfff cannnnt"
Post by: T Fearon on January 30, 2018, 10:37:39 PM
Sorry to disappoint you but Croke Park like the rest of official Ireland accepts partition,welcomes Queen Elizabeth to Croke Park,attends banquets at Windsor Castle and the Palace of Westminster,happily accepts British grants,and frowns upon the Northern brethren who are stuck in the past.
Post by: omaghjoe on January 30, 2018, 10:55:51 PM
Id safely say she is a Tyrone woman with an intimate GAA knowledge.

Depends who is within earshot but the team is known as "the inbreds" in Tyrone GAA circles tho also frequently refered to as Londonderry.
Strangely enuff tho the county and cities themselves are usually known as Derry
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on January 30, 2018, 11:02:44 PM
An ye wunner why noone likes yous heures
Post by: armaghniac on January 30, 2018, 11:06:17 PM

If you are going to wind people up will you at least make an effort! That's feeble.
Post by: T Fearon on January 30, 2018, 11:15:47 PM
How is it.If London is not an acceptable part of a County's name in GAA results announcements then on its own it cannot be acceptable either.
Post by: armaghniac on January 31, 2018, 12:48:40 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on January 30, 2018, 11:15:47 PM
How is it.If London is not an acceptable part of a County's name in GAA results announcements then on its own it cannot be acceptable either.

Don't be ridiculous. The origin of the objection is to London imposing it's name on part of Ireland, not imposing it on itself.
Post by: stew on January 31, 2018, 12:50:15 AM

London is acceptable when a team from London is playing in the game..................... I believe, Derry to us was, is, and always will be just that Derry, your point is well made about the fawning to the british establishment but the GAA was forged from the fires of nationalism and brotherhood, Londonderry can f**k away off, it will never be acceptable in GAA circles!
Post by: seafoid on January 31, 2018, 07:46:48 AM
Quote from: Orior on January 30, 2018, 10:24:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on January 30, 2018, 10:04:38 PM

and also "faaaack offfff cannnnt"
And also "sort of" , innit.
Post by: HiMucker on January 31, 2018, 08:34:41 AM
Quote from: general_lee on January 30, 2018, 09:58:11 PM
I work, and have worked with plenty, and they all called it Derry.  But nearly all of them write Londonderry!
Post by: AQMP on January 31, 2018, 09:21:49 AM

Hopefully, London 0-01 Antrim 6-22
Post by: WT4E on January 31, 2018, 11:11:02 AM

I use to work with a protestant girl from Derry (late 20's). I mind a woman (60's I'd say) who also worked in the office asked her where someone was and the girl said 'Hes gone to Derry' to which the woman replied 'Its Londonderry - don't forget your roots!'

To which the girl replied 'Aye sure whatever suits you!'  ;D ;D

That to me that sort of sums it up its either a generation or bitterness thing - Its a strange thing to grasp to by some in the unionist community! But then again hardline unionists are a strange breed!
Post by: theticklemister on January 31, 2018, 01:05:36 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 31, 2018, 08:34:41 AM
I work, and have worked with plenty, and they all called it Derry.  But nearly all of them write Londonderry!

That's fecking Lies.........

You've never never worked a day in your life.
Post by: seafoid on January 31, 2018, 01:17:12 PM
That is absurd.
Post by: HiMucker on January 31, 2018, 01:41:17 PM
Quote from: theticklemister on January 31, 2018, 01:05:36 PM
Quote from: HiMucker on January 31, 2018, 08:34:41 AM

That's fecking Lies.........

You've never never worked a day in your life.
So I have worked a day in my life?  This from a teacher, funny on two counts  ;D
Post by: Applesisapples on January 31, 2018, 02:52:56 PM
She's not alone in being a bellend.