GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on August 31, 2017, 06:17:09 PM

Title: Roddy Doyle says the GAA is a bit of a con
Post by: T Fearon on August 31, 2017, 06:17:09 PM
It only attracts soccer fans who want to fill in the vacuum during summer months,citing largely empty stadia at other times of the year???
Title: Re: Roddy Doyle says the GAA is a bit of a con
Post by: Rossfan on August 31, 2017, 06:27:58 PM
Irish Soccer Stadiums are always empty even when there are matches in them.
Post by: whitey on August 31, 2017, 07:02:47 PM
Maybe hes referring to Dublin GAA......

Down the country most GAA people wouldnt give a fiddlers about the Premiership
Post by: larryin89 on August 31, 2017, 07:08:02 PM
Does he have a point though, how do we have a following of about 12k max for the league and then.40k for semi.final of championship. I dont get it, how can jim.pat tom or mick from ballina or castlebar justify not going to league games but is there for the big games in croker.
Post by: BennyCake on August 31, 2017, 07:18:24 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on August 31, 2017, 07:08:02 PM
Does he have a point though, how do we have a following of about 12k max for the league and then.40k for semi.final of championship. I dont get it, how can jim.pat tom or mick from ballina or castlebar justify not going to league games but is there for the big games in croker.

Because it's more about the occasion, not the football, for them. And the drink. And because everyone else seems to be going. And it's about the drink.
Post by: larryin89 on August 31, 2017, 07:24:13 PM
Well I really wish theyd give a ticket to an ordinary supporter like me and they can drink all they like in the pub and watch the final
Post by: snoopdog on August 31, 2017, 07:40:49 PM
Bandwagon jumping is the Irish way. People clambering for tickets now for finals wouldn't know what the national league looks like.
Post by: Rossfan on August 31, 2017, 07:52:04 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on August 31, 2017, 07:40:49 PM
Bandwagon jumping is the Irish way. People clambering for tickets now for finals wouldn't know what the national league looks like.
Exactly.
Bandwagon jumping is an old Irish pastime.
Any Irish person makes good in even the most obscure post and half the Country become experts and "fans" of said sport.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on August 31, 2017, 08:07:06 PM
In fairness a lot of people have kids and so on so going driving around the country in the dead of winter of a Sunday isn't an option. Hitting Croker is a family day out and in some cases easier to get to than some of the regional grounds.
In vast swathes of the country there isn't even a soccer stadium to fill so I think he is digging at the Dub fans there, but even in that case he is wrong as the LOI heads that go to matches tend to firmly dislike the GAA.
All that being said few Irish people say no to an excuse for a session. Irish rugby's popularity is built on the attendance of fans who are not affiliated to any club and have not been to lower than Champions Cup.
Post by: SCFC on August 31, 2017, 08:07:20 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 31, 2017, 07:52:04 PM
Exactly.
Any Irish person makes good in even the most obscure post and half the Country become experts and "fans" of said sport.
Don't agree. I've always been a die-hard fan of the yachting and three day eventing.
Post by: Syferus on August 31, 2017, 08:14:29 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on August 31, 2017, 07:52:04 PM
Exactly.

Does anyone actually believe bandwagoning is an Irish thing and not a human thing?
Post by: Ball Hopper on August 31, 2017, 08:31:43 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 31, 2017, 06:17:09 PM
It only attracts soccer fans who want to fill in the vacuum during summer months,citing largely empty stadia at other times of the year???

Maybe soccer fills the vacuum outside the GAA hurling and football championships?
Post by: Mayo4Sam14 on August 31, 2017, 09:47:31 PM
Ah who doesnt like a good bandwagon, that being said im a season ticket holder and go to nearly all games
Post by: shantygael on August 31, 2017, 10:02:51 PM
Does anyone really care what Roddy Doyle aays.
Post by: rionach 4 on September 01, 2017, 01:33:05 AM
Quote from: shantygael on August 31, 2017, 10:02:51 PM
No, I don't really care what Roddy Doyle says but he is symptomatic of the attitude by certain parts of our nation to its national sports, Gaelic football and hurling. It's been said to me many many times.To many of those outside our organisation and indeed to some inside it we are seen as a money grabbing bunch of con men who trade in the wares of bog ball, stick fighting, welly wearing country and western yahoos straight out of the turf with the Heather hanging around their ears etc. It's as wrong as it is hurtful. I have no issue with soccer, rugby, hockey cricket or indeed any other sport. I greatly respect them and I enjoy a lot of their games and like many other GAA people if I get a chance I will watch Ireland soccer or rugby in the Aviva and cheer them on as much as anybody. Sport is sport and I love the GAA. My father taught me the love of it and my family are deeply immersed in it to the exclusion of all other sports but they love going over to watch the Arsenal or cheering on the rugby or like tonight watching the transfer deadlines in soccer. It's no big deal. Roddy and many others should show us respect. In the north here we have fought a long and hard battle to get respect. Certain elements here are being dragged screaming and cursing and have yet to show it and probably never will. The Dublin fans deserve respect. Many attend for different reasons and they like many other counties have lukewarm fans who love the craic etc but aren't fully up to speed with the club and GAA in general but so what. They make matches in Croke Park or anywhere else they go a great occasion and my little girl who is only 7 couldn't wait to hear the dubs sing "come on you boys in blue' at a recent game we were at ( and we are from the North). It's an iconic image of Irish sport.  It's not everybody's cup of tea but leave us alone to enjoy it with out making us feel like we should be ashamed of the antiquated bog ball and stick fight.  Roddy, (and I hope I haven't read you wrong)  please give us the  respect we deserve, no more no less. The GAA with all it's faults has been a blessing in my family and I dare say many many more. We watch, appreciate, enjoy and support all sports but the GAA is our life and we love it. For me it's real and certainly no con job.
Post by: sligoman2 on September 01, 2017, 02:09:37 AM
Who is Roddy Doyle?

What is soccer?
Post by: magpie seanie on September 01, 2017, 09:20:35 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on September 01, 2017, 02:09:37 AM
Who is Roddy Doyle?

What is soccer?

Ye don't know how lucky ye are in Tourlestrane!
Post by: rosnarun on September 01, 2017, 10:24:56 AM
i think an better analogy is that soccer is like watching emmerdale farm while waiting for the next batch  of Breaking bad (or whatever wets your whistle)
its always there as a distraction but ya couldn't really give a toss
Post by: Zulu on September 01, 2017, 10:33:34 AM
Quote from: rionach 4 on September 01, 2017, 01:33:05 AM
No, I don't really care what Roddy Doyle says but he is symptomatic of the attitude by certain parts of our nation to its national sports, Gaelic football and hurling. It's been said to me many many times.To many of those outside our organisation and indeed to some inside it we are seen as a money grabbing bunch of con men who trade in the wares of bog ball, stick fighting, welly wearing country and western yahoos straight out of the turf with the Heather hanging around their ears etc. It's as wrong as it is hurtful. I have no issue with soccer, rugby, hockey cricket or indeed any other sport. I greatly respect them and I enjoy a lot of their games and like many other GAA people if I get a chance I will watch Ireland soccer or rugby in the Aviva and cheer them on as much as anybody. Sport is sport and I love the GAA. My father taught me the love of it and my family are deeply immersed in it to the exclusion of all other sports but they love going over to watch the Arsenal or cheering on the rugby or like tonight watching the transfer deadlines in soccer. It's no big deal. Roddy and many others should show us respect. In the north here we have fought a long and hard battle to get respect. Certain elements here are being dragged screaming and cursing and have yet to show it and probably never will. The Dublin fans deserve respect. Many attend for different reasons and they like many other counties have lukewarm fans who love the craic etc but aren't fully up to speed with the club and GAA in general but so what. They make matches in Croke Park or anywhere else they go a great occasion and my little girl who is only 7 couldn't wait to hear the dubs sing "come on you boys in blue' at a recent game we were at ( and we are from the North). It's an iconic image of Irish sport.  It's not everybody's cup of tea but leave us alone to enjoy it with out making us feel like we should be ashamed of the antiquated bog ball and stick fight.  Roddy, (and I hope I haven't read you wrong)  please give us the  respect we deserve, no more no less. The GAA with all it's faults has been a blessing in my family and I dare say many many more. We watch, appreciate, enjoy and support all sports but the GAA is our life and we love it. For me it's real and certainly no con job.

While it's not something to be getting upset about and I don't care if a small minority of Irish people think like that, Doyle's shite should still be called out. While there is a bandwagon element to any 80,000 crowd that's not to say the majority are not genuine supporters. My Dad and plenty of his friends don't regularly attend games but they played and coached teams for most of their lives and some of them played county. Likewise, I've friends who played for years and bring their kids to their local club but don't attend many league games. Most here would be a bit more fanatical about their GAA than many others but they are still genuine GAA supporters.

Someone here asked why there's only 15,000 at league games but 40,000 at championship games but a crowd of 15,000 for a league game is massive in Ireland. If the league was more prestigious then counties who have 15,000 at games would get 25,000 and this is way more than many professional sports clubs would get the world over.

How Doyle can make that statement with a straight face is a mystery. Irish EPL soccer fans are the very definition of bandwagoners, few if any, support a team that's not challenging for top honours. While hundreds of thousands of Irish people attend GAA games of all standards each year.

Call the games bogball and stick fighting if you like but don't claim something that's pure bollox.
Post by: haranguerer on September 01, 2017, 11:34:29 AM
Also, those facebook posts a la two men chatting in a pub that everyone falls over themselves to 'like' are utter shite.
Post by: sligoman2 on September 01, 2017, 12:54:05 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 01, 2017, 09:20:35 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on September 01, 2017, 02:09:37 AM
Who is Roddy Doyle?

What is soccer?

Ye don't know how lucky ye are in Tourlestrane!
Yes we do Seanie.  I was a big Arsenal supporter for years but have to admit I find it very hard to watch a live game now.  Just not enough action for me and too much diving and faking.  I think Thierry Henri was the last straw for me.

If Roddy Doyle (whoever he is) prefers soccer or rugby or tiddlywinks then that's great, but he has no right to make a sweeping statement that everyone only likes gaa when the socce season ends. 
What a tool...
Post by: bennydorano on September 01, 2017, 01:16:04 PM
Weather has to be a big contributing factor.
Post by: Captain Obvious on September 01, 2017, 01:20:16 PM
Last Sunday Tottenham,Liverpool,Arsenal,Chelsea and Everton all played in the Premier league and all have big Irish support which includes supporter clubs in Tyrone,Dublin but it still didn't stop Croke park from having a full house.

Long story short, Roddy Doyle is just giving his view about something he hasn't a clue about.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 01, 2017, 01:22:43 PM
I know lads who watch little or no soccer! Because of their work environment they get exposed to comments on games and from this end up having a passing interest. But that is all it is. On the opposite end there are lads I know who just follow soccer. Because of Mayo's high profile at the moment, they cannot avoid Gaelic football. Likewise they hop in towards the business end and may watch.

Then there is a vast Majority who follow both (and have the best of both worlds). And a minority who have no interest in either (their loss). But GAA is the most popular (in Mayo), for obvious reasons (at the moment).

My kids (Girls and Boys) watch and play Hurling, Soccer and Gaelic. I take total disgust at GAA people who look down their noses at Soccer. And there are many. I suppose it is hand down by grandfathers and Fathers still stuck in the foreign Code ban era. In fact I'd be the same about people belittling any sport. And this is what Roddy is doing!
Post by: AZOffaly on September 01, 2017, 01:33:34 PM
There's a battle looming as well lads, and in many places GAA is going to be in trouble. When the FAI make the move to soccer in the summer, there's going to be a major fixtures headache, as well as exposure to kids for training etc, and unless there's a bit of creative thinking, there's going to be a power struggle between the GAA and the FAI, and to be honest, I think both will lose, but I'm not confident the GAA will come out on top.
Post by: The Gs Man on September 01, 2017, 01:42:43 PM
Yis realise Roddy has a new book out?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 01, 2017, 01:48:14 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on September 01, 2017, 01:42:43 PM

Ah yeah, I couldn't give a shit about Roddy Doyle. Mine was more of a general observation. We have a good relationship with the soccer lads in our town, and there's a huge crossover of players and indeed parents involved. But the Limerick League (where our lads play) and the North Tipperary District League, don't give a continental shit about Tipperary GAA fixtures. So next summer, or whenever it comes in, it will be very interesting to see how we're going to fit in underage training and games when lads are playing soccer and GAA at the same time. The overlap period at the moment is difficult enough. When the main season is in parallel, it's going to be a nightmare.

Rugby could be a big winner!
Post by: Declan on September 01, 2017, 01:52:02 PM
Quote, and unless there's a bit of creative thinking, there's going to be a power struggle between the GAA and the FAI, and to be honest, I think both will lose

I fear you could be right AZ

QuoteWe have a good relationship with the soccer lads in our town, and there's a huge crossover of players and indeed parents involved. But the Limerick League (where our lads play) and the North Tipperary District League, don't give a continental shit about Tipperary GAA fixtures. So next summer, or whenever it comes in, it will be very interesting to see how we're going to fit in underage training and games when lads are playing soccer and GAA at the same time. The overlap period at the moment is difficult enough. When the main season is in parallel, it's going to be a nightmare.

Same situation in our place. We depend on good will between managers and teams but with overlapping seasons its difficult and were forcing kids to make a choice too early in my opinion now. u11/12
Post by: rosnarun on September 01, 2017, 02:00:30 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 01, 2017, 01:33:34 PM
There's a battle looming as well lads, and in many places GAA is going to be in trouble. When the FAI make the move to soccer in the summer, there's going to be a major fixtures headache, as well as exposure to kids for training etc, and unless there's a bit of creative thinking, there's going to be a power struggle between the GAA and the FAI, and to be honest, I think both will lose, but I'm not confident the GAA will come out on top.
soccer in mayo moved to summer a few years ago , has not had much of an impact  for either code apart from there being fewer games postponed for the soccer team, which had reached ridiculous levels .
the biggest soccer supporting set in ireland are the fantasy football type where matches are tv programs and articles in magazines  rather than going out on wet and windy mornings either playing or supporting 
Post by: AZOffaly on September 01, 2017, 02:04:50 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on September 01, 2017, 02:00:30 PM
soccer in mayo moved to summer a few years ago , has not had much of an impact  for either code apart from there being fewer games postponed for the soccer team, which had reached ridiculous levels .
the biggest soccer supporting set in ireland are the fantasy football type where matches are tv programs and articles in magazines  rather than going out on wet and windy mornings either playing or supporting

I'm not worried about lads shouting for Liverpool in the pub, I'm worried about 10,11,12,13,14,15 year old kids and them being asked to choose what to play or train too easy. You say there's been little impact in Mayo? How are they managing fixtures and training? In the Limerick League, when they make a fixture they stick to it unless the weather is atrocious.
Post by: From the Bunker on September 01, 2017, 02:21:05 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 01, 2017, 02:04:50 PM

I'm not worried about lads shouting for Liverpool in the pub, I'm worried about 10,11,12,13,14,15 year old kids and them being asked to choose what to play or train too easy. You say there's been little impact in Mayo? How are they managing fixtures and training? In the Limerick League, when they make a fixture they stick to it unless the weather is atrocious.

It can be tough going (in Mayo) if you have a kid who is decent and wants to play both. I rural areas a decent under 12 can end up playing for for 4 teams - his own grade in both codes and the grade above him in both codes. About 10+ years ago the Youth fixtures secretary for Soccer approached the Gaa underage fixtures Secretary. He asked for to section out the summer Soccer take April/May for under 12, Gaelic take under 14 for that month and Hurling take under 16. This rotates for June/July and August/September with slight overlaps. He was told to go take a run and Jump!
Post by: rosnarun on September 01, 2017, 03:06:44 PM
just heard the Roddy Doyle interview on second captains. he seems to a very odd individual he seemed to be clinging on to a half remembered remark to back up his essential Irish author liberal credentials , his GAA remarks were just bizarre, isinuatin a Claques is form around Marty Morrisey  after games to give the idea of a crowd but the brushed aside the massive crowds in croke park while comparing unfavorably small GAA crowds to Tottemhams wembley crowds .
as relevant an argument as comparing EPL crowds with  American gridiron college games that get about 3 times the crowds

a very sad man
Post by: BennyCake on September 01, 2017, 04:18:47 PM
Roddy Doyle Ha Ha Ha
Post by: Zulu on September 01, 2017, 04:30:00 PM
Why would GAA lose that battle if we have good fixtures, which I understand is the case at underage?
Post by: ashman on September 01, 2017, 04:48:41 PM
I think some of Roddy's new writing deals with corporal punishment administered by the religious order in school . 

He seems to be of a cabal in Irish society who see the GAA as part of that thing .

I know quite a few who have such views .

Imagine the furore if some Irish writer said the hoped Georgia beat ROI at soccer because soccer was the sport of the Black and Tans .

Post by: AZOffaly on September 01, 2017, 06:30:58 PM
Quote from: Zulu on September 01, 2017, 04:30:00 PM
Why would GAA lose that battle if we have good fixtures, which I understand is the case at underage?

I'm not sure we'd lose, as such. I think both would lose. There are definitely young lads that prefer soccer.
Post by: dec on September 01, 2017, 06:57:58 PM
When the FAI make the move to soccer in the summer, ...

I know that the League of Ireland plays in the summer, is lower level and underage moving to the summer as well?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on September 01, 2017, 08:07:26 PM
Quote from: rionach 4 on September 01, 2017, 01:33:05 AM

Hear hear.
Post by: armaghniac on September 01, 2017, 09:09:19 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 01, 2017, 06:30:58 PM

I'm not sure we'd lose, as such. I think both would lose. There are definitely young lads that prefer soccer.

I'm sure there will be jobs in the British Army for them, although the Black and Tans have been disbanded.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 01, 2017, 09:18:26 PM
Quote from: dec on September 01, 2017, 06:57:58 PM
When the FAI make the move to soccer in the summer, ...

I know that the League of Ireland plays in the summer, is lower level and underage moving to the summer as well?

Yep. They are all moving towards a march to October season.
Post by: Zulu on September 01, 2017, 10:48:26 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 01, 2017, 06:30:58 PM

While there'd definitely be lads that would prefer soccer I don't think it would really harm the GAA. You'd lose a few lads but surely the soccer would play games in the morning and not go head to head? Rugby seem to be doing ok when they've been up against soccer all along surely the GAA wouldn't struggle?
Post by: ballinaman on September 02, 2017, 07:08:40 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on September 01, 2017, 02:21:05 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 01, 2017, 02:04:50 PM

It can be tough going (in Mayo) if you have a kid who is decent and wants to play both. I rural areas a decent under 12 can end up playing for for 4 teams - his own grade in both codes and the grade above him in both codes. About 10+ years ago the Youth fixtures secretary for Soccer approached the Gaa underage fixtures Secretary. He asked for to section out the summer Soccer take April/May for under 12, Gaelic take under 14 for that month and Hurling take under 16. This rotates for June/July and August/September with slight overlaps. He was told to go take a run and Jump!

Mayo have a team in the new U15 SSE Airticity national league. I know of one very promising Stephenites player who has stopped playing football to concentrate solely on soccer after being asked to join. Team is based in Milebush Castlebar, aiming to reduce flow of underage Mayo players to Sligo Rovers.
Post by: mrhardyannual on September 02, 2017, 11:01:59 AM
The answer to Roddy Doyle is that the finals of the All Ireland Ladies GAA will draw a bigger crowd than any domestic soccer game this year. This will happen despite the Cork v Mayo semi final of the Ladies competition going ahead today without a single line of commentary/analysis in the Irish Independent today. The average home gate at the (professional) Athlone Town matches last year was about 150, a figure that would most likely be exceeded by Achill U 10s.
Post by: sid waddell on September 02, 2017, 12:15:28 PM
What's acceptable bandwagoning and not acceptable bandwagoning?

I live in Galway but will be supporting Waterford in the All-Ireland hurling final, despite having no Waterford connection whatsoever.

I'm a native of Dublin but will be supporting Mayo in the All-Ireland football final, despite having no Mayo connection whatsoever.

I follow Down in inter-county Gaelic football and have done since 1991 despite having no connection to the county.

I wanted Tyrone to beat my native Dublin last Sunday despite having no connection to that county.

Post by: mrhardyannual on September 02, 2017, 01:14:21 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 02, 2017, 12:15:28 PM

I live in Galway but will be supporting Waterford in the All-Ireland hurling final, despite having no Waterford connection whatsoever.

I'm a native of Dublin but will be supporting Mayo in the All-Ireland football final, despite having no Mayo connection whatsoever.

I follow Down in inter-county Gaelic football and have done since 1991 despite having no connection to the county.

I wanted Tyrone to beat my native Dublin last Sunday despite having no connection to that county.
Now that we are comfortable with transgender issues, transcounty should be okay. Welcome aboard. ;D ;D ;D
Post by: gwan-ye-boy-ya on September 02, 2017, 01:51:19 PM
soccer here, in england, in europe, is a f**ki~g joke. one season youre cheering some fella the next youre cursing him because he moved for the bucks. see lukaku kissing his ugly badge for his first goal this season. what do everton folk think of this??
at least with the gaa everyone stays put bar the odd one or two.
Post by: Keyser soze on September 02, 2017, 02:12:32 PM

[/quote

Supporting Tyrone woulda given u a good excuse to bring an England flag with ye.
Post by: Itchy on September 02, 2017, 02:26:34 PM

Sid, you are a wierdo and are whats known as an outlier.
Post by: sid waddell on September 02, 2017, 02:45:58 PM
Quote from: Itchy on September 02, 2017, 02:26:34 PM

Down are an Irish team. Liverpool are an English team.

Many Irish people follow Liverpool, such as myself, and nobody says that's in any way weird.

So what's weird about following Down if you're not from there?

Is it weird to follow the San Francisco 49ers?
Post by: mrhardyannual on September 02, 2017, 06:26:18 PM
Cinnte dearfa go raibh i bhfad níos mo i gCondae Mhuigheo ag féachaint ar bPeil na mBan inniu agus gan Gaeilge ag móran acu ná mar a bhí ag féachaint ar an cluiche idirnáisiúnta saccar. Cad é sin mar "Committments" Roddy Doyle?
Post by: giveballaghback on September 02, 2017, 08:54:11 PM
After watching that fine international football game this afternoon I can see where Roddy is coming from, who could watch the tripe that will be served up tomorrow afternoon in Croke park after watching all those skills from our lads in Georgia, what a b.....lx.
Post by: sid waddell on September 02, 2017, 09:27:45 PM
I find it so twee that GAA people get so offended about any sort of negative comments from not just followers of other sports, but anybody, about it.

Despite, or perhaps because of the fact that so many self-styled "GAA people", or "Gaels" as they so piously call themselves, tend to have have a weird inferiority complex vis-a-vis other sports.

If there's a great game, it's never enough for many people to just say it was a great game. It has to be "that was a great game and look at the shite served up in some game in another sport in comparison".

If something perceived as negative happens, it's never a GAA thing, it's "we don't want to let these kind of soccer antics into our games", as if GAA is somehow as pure as freshly fallen snow and association football is disgustingly impure and the root of all evil.

Well guess what, violence and all manner of other horrible shit and the GAA have been interlinked since the organisation began, and are as integral to the GAA as lying is to Donald Trump's character. They aren't association football's fault.

What an ostrich attitude.

Post by: Rossfan on September 02, 2017, 09:30:46 PM
That soccer tonight was still pure sh1te no matter what the GAA did down the years.
Post by: Jinxy on September 02, 2017, 09:49:24 PM
Are people not secure enough at this stage that they can comfortably ignore the likes of Doyle badmouthing the GAA?
He's not a fan, so what.
No need for anyone to get annoyed over it.
Post by: Zulu on September 02, 2017, 10:31:57 PM
If that was all it was Jinxy you wold be correct but it wasn't just that. He said people only watch a GAA while there's no soccer on and it was a con job. I think that deserves to be challenged as it's clearly rubbish. If he just said he wasn't a fan then fair enough.
Post by: Jinxy on September 02, 2017, 10:53:52 PM
If it wasn't for social media, the vast majority of people would be blissfully unaware of his comments.
Post by: whitey on September 02, 2017, 10:54:36 PM
I know someone who did the H Dip in the school he taught at in North Dublin.....she said he was a major arsehole and thats 25 years ago
Post by: Zulu on September 02, 2017, 10:56:24 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 02, 2017, 10:53:52 PM
If it wasn't for social media, the vast majority of people would be blissfully unaware of his comments.

Perhaps but that doesn't mean it shouldn't be challenged.
Post by: sid waddell on September 03, 2017, 12:29:22 AM
Quote from: Zulu on September 02, 2017, 10:31:57 PM
If that was all it was Jinxy you wold be correct but it wasn't just that. He said people only watch a GAA while there's no soccer on and it was a con job. I think that deserves to be challenged as it's clearly rubbish. If he just said he wasn't a fan then fair enough.
But that is the case with a lot of people.

And so fooking what?

Post by: Zulu on September 03, 2017, 01:43:55 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 03, 2017, 12:29:22 AM

And so fooking what?

No it's not. I've lived in a few different counties and I can't recall anyone who watched GAA as a stop gap until the soccer returned. Some were bigger soccer fans than GAA fans but none just watched GAA because   there was no soccer.
Post by: Itchy on September 03, 2017, 09:23:49 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 02, 2017, 02:45:58 PM

Many Irish people follow Liverpool, such as myself, and nobody says that's in any way weird.

In GAA terms it is weird or are you claiming that Ireland is full of people following counties they have no connection to. It's a separate thing but I never got why some Irish people get so worked up about soccer teams in the uk. I enjoy a good game of soccer as much as anyone but I wouldn't be too bothered about who wins between two teams I've no connection to.
Post by: sid waddell on September 03, 2017, 11:44:44 AM
Quote from: Zulu on September 03, 2017, 01:43:55 AM

And so fooking what?

No it's not. I've lived in a few different counties and I can't recall anyone who watched GAA as a stop gap until the soccer returned. Some were bigger soccer fans than GAA fans but none just watched GAA because   there was no soccer.
You haven't met many people, so.

There are even quite a lot of people nowadays who watch sport mainly as a vehicle for betting.

Post by: RedHand88 on September 03, 2017, 11:55:19 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 31, 2017, 07:18:24 PM

Because it's more about the occasion, not the football, for them. And the drink. And because everyone else seems to be going. And it's about the drink.

It's the reason why there were scores of "party buses" going down from Tyrone last weekend but there won't be any for the McKenna cup first week of January. They can't resist the sun, the beer and the occasion. Half of them would have stayed in Quinn's all day and never went to the match itself.
Post by: sid waddell on September 03, 2017, 12:14:40 PM
Quote from: Itchy on September 03, 2017, 09:23:49 AM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 02, 2017, 02:45:58 PM

In GAA terms it is weird or are you claiming that Ireland is full of people following counties they have no connection to. It's a separate thing but I never got why some Irish people get so worked up about soccer teams in the uk. I enjoy a good game of soccer as much as anyone but I wouldn't be too bothered about who wins between two teams I've no connection to.

Irish people have been getting "worked up" about UK association football teams since at least the 1950s. Partly because of Irish players, sometimes, due to links through emigration, but in latter decades mainly because they see them week in, week out on the television. And because it's one of the top leagues in the world.

There's nothing weird about it, and there's nothing weird about being emotionally invested in the outcome of a sporting event with which you have no direct connection.

Sport would be very dull and pointless if people didn't do so. In that case there'd be no point in watching the hurling final today, for instance.

If it's not weird to follow Liverpool, and it isn't, I don't see why it's weird to follow a county you don't come from.

Is it weird to want Connacht or Munster to beat Leinster in rugby if you come from Leinster? I do that too.

Post by: Zulu on September 03, 2017, 12:34:27 PM
Quote from: sid waddell on September 03, 2017, 11:44:44 AM

And so fooking what?

You haven't met many people, so.

There are even quite a lot of people nowadays who watch sport mainly as a vehicle for betting.

I'm not saying there are none but Doyle claimed most people are just killing time in the summer watching GAA until the soccer is back, that's patently rubbish.
Post by: RedHand88 on September 03, 2017, 12:52:53 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on September 01, 2017, 01:42:43 PM

Father Dougal: I said I wouldn't know Ted, you big b0llocks! Father Ted: Have you been reading those Roddy Doyle books again, Dougal!?
Post by: Main Street on September 03, 2017, 08:35:02 PM
Is it not obvious that Roddy knows feck all about the GAA and doesn't know enough not to make stupid comments about it.

Btw, what soccer club in Dublin does Roddy support?
Post by: moysider on September 04, 2017, 12:53:17 AM

And so fooking what?

It is what it is. There are those that enjoy many sports but have a leaning towards one. I'd be like that with a lean to Gaelic Football. Other people are more insular.
A friend of mine lived in Cork City a while and played with a local soccer team. The club organised a friendly the afternoon of the '89 AI final, such was their hatred of Gaelic football.
I also know Mayo lads (mature adults) who would rather Liverpool beat Burnley or Manchester United beat Everton in 2 weeks time than Mayo win the AI.
Post by: Avondhu star on September 05, 2017, 05:14:33 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on September 03, 2017, 11:55:19 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on August 31, 2017, 07:18:24 PM

It's the reason why there were scores of "party buses" going down from Tyrone last weekend but there won't be any for the McKenna cup first week of January. They can't resist the sun, the beer and the occasion. Half of them would have stayed in Quinn's all day and never went to the match itself.
I have seen full houses for some Armagh Tyrone games in the Mckenna cup.
Doyle from Kilbarrack is a Chelsea 'supporter"
Parnell, Naomi Barrog, Raheny. Inishfails. O Tools are all clubs within one mile of Kilbarrack where good sound Dubs keep the games going throughout the year providing sporting and social facilities for kids.
It's so easy for him to knock to get the cheap headline. What have Chelsea ever given to North Dublin?