GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Solo_run on July 25, 2017, 12:19:45 AM

Title: Referee Ratings
Post by: Solo_run on July 25, 2017, 12:19:45 AM
Is there any way the website could introduce some sort of referee rating system? 

It would be good to keep track of the good, the bad and the utter shite that goes on. Too many games seem to be decided on referees these days.
Title: Re: Referee Ratings
Post by: ONeill on July 25, 2017, 12:25:42 AM
A lot of spectators don't know the rules either.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 25, 2017, 01:05:43 AM
The ref assessors should throw up the odd rating. The refs seem to be under far too much pressure from these guys.
These days every time there is a collision of note there is a yellow flashed. It's insane the amount of notebook activity in football.
Hurling refs simply ignore the rules and let them at it. In football the lads would happily bounce off each other too if they were let.
The refs are screwed eitger way in terms of pulling up everything and getting a good grade, even though they might ruin a gane, or letting it flow and not getting any more decent games..
Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2017, 01:36:14 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 25, 2017, 01:05:43 AM
The ref assessors should throw up the odd rating. The refs seem to be under far too much pressure from these guys.
These days every time there is a collision of note there is a yellow flashed. It's insane the amount of notebook activity in football.
Hurling refs simply ignore the rules and let them at it. In football the lads would happily bounce off each other too if they were let.
The refs are screwed eitger way in terms of pulling up everything and getting a good grade, even though they might ruin a gane, or letting it flow and not getting any more decent games..

Does anyone seriously want that? I want the skillful players protected, not an amateur game of rugby league to develop.

Hurling generally boils down to hoof the ball up the field, try to catch it and if not swing your hurl madly and throw it at the player if they're through on goal. Yes, there's plenty of skills involved but the whole sport's essence is in that one sentence. Some of the dirt in hurling makes football look tame, and not in a good way. Hurling refs are stone useless.

It's very simple and child-like tactically, if I'm being honest. When hurling managers discovered what sweepers were a few years ago (hilarious in itself) the hand wringing was something to behold and laugh at.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 25, 2017, 02:32:00 AM
Players need protection but fair hits seem to be pulled up these days. Half the lads are beasts and the managers let stuff flow in training that would see yellows flying in a game.

And people seriously want big hits if they are honest. A lad getting rattled with a shoulder fair and square always gets a roar.
Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2017, 02:47:37 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on July 25, 2017, 02:32:00 AM
Players need protection but fair hits seem to be pulled up these days. Half the lads are beasts and the managers let stuff flow in training that would see yellows flying in a game.

And people seriously want big hits if they are honest. A lad getting rattled with a shoulder fair and square always gets a roar.

The cheers for a big hit pale in comparison to the ones for a perfect dispossess, a high catch, a beautiful kick pass or a well-worked score. Any ass with an arse can drop the shoulder. One side is essential, the other is not by any stretch.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 25, 2017, 03:27:15 AM
Of course a class score is great but this thread is about a ref which mean tackling and bodily contact and their interpretation of what constitutes a free, black or yellow is what we are talking about.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 25, 2017, 08:28:25 AM
The problem is that we have taken pretty much all incidental contact out of the game now. Every foul seems to be a card.
The effect of this as it has made it almost impossible to defend one vs one anymore , leading to managers looking for alternatives (the sweepers etc)
All the rule changes over the years to 'protect' the skillfull forward and promote attacking play has done the complete opposite and actually made the game more defensive.
Post by: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 10:18:54 AM
right whose good name do we destroy first ( this the order on the GAA website not mine but look whose in last position)
Football - Championship Panel of 20:
Ciaran Branagan (An Dún)
Barry Cassidy (Doire)
David Coldrick (An Mhí)
Niall Cullen (Fear Manach)
Maurice Deegan (Laois)
Marty Duffy (Sligeach)
David Gough (An Mhí)
Jerome Henry (Maigh Eo)
Rory Hickey (An Clár)
Padraig Hughes (Ard Mhacha)
Sean Hurson (Tír Eoghan)
Fergal Kelly (An Longfort)
Conor Lane (Corcaigh)
Joe McQuillan (An Cabhán)
Noel Mooney (An Cabhán)
Paddy Neilan (Ros Comáin)
Anthony Nolan (Cill Mhantáin)
Derek O'Mahony (Tiobraid Árann)
Padraig O'Sullivan (Ciarraí)
Cormac Reilly (An Mhí)
Post by: oliverkelly on July 25, 2017, 10:41:07 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 10:18:54 AM
right whose good name do we destroy first ( this the order on the GAA website not mine but look whose in last position)
Ciaran Branagan (An Dún)
Barry Cassidy (Doire)                      An absolute Joke of a ref
David Coldrick (An Mhí)                 
Maurice Deegan (Laois)                  Cant stand him, goes around smiling and laughing while ruining every game
Marty Duffy (Sligeach)                     
David Gough (An Mhí)                     The best around
Jerome Henry (Maigh Eo)
Rory Hickey (An Clár)
Sean Hurson (Tír Eoghan)
Conor Lane (Corcaigh)
Joe McQuillan (An Cabhán)                  Please god he will be good Sunday
Noel Mooney (An Cabhán)
Paddy Neilan (Ros Comáin)                 Had a nightmare last day out but done well in games up to that this year
Cormac Reilly (An Mhí)                         Needs glasses
Post by: Rossfan on July 25, 2017, 11:12:17 AM
An assessment system where applying the rules of the game is a major fault (as per the main contributor)??????
Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2017, 11:47:47 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 10:18:54 AM
Ciaran Branagan (An Dún)
Barry Cassidy (Doire)
David Coldrick (An Mhí)
Maurice Deegan (Laois)
Marty Duffy (Sligeach)
David Gough (An Mhí)
Jerome Henry (Maigh Eo)
Rory Hickey (An Clár)
Sean Hurson (Tír Eoghan)
Conor Lane (Corcaigh)
Joe McQuillan (An Cabhán)
Noel Mooney (An Cabhán)
Paddy Neilan (Ros Comáin)
Cormac Reilly (An Mhí)

Alphabetic order of surname obviously.  ::)
Post by: Fuzzman on July 25, 2017, 12:02:33 PM
Any time I've saw Paddy Neilan I thought he has been a total disaster, including the league final this year.
I understand he's new and young but jeepers some of his decisions are mind boggling.

I always thought Joe McQuillan got a hard time and wasn't a bad ref but his second half display in the Ulster final was terrible and you could see again how a ref seems to give soft frees to the losing team though he gave Tyrone a few strange decisions too.

There's no doubt it's a tough job and they do same a lot better connected now to their assistants and umpires. The not playing the full time allotted is a total disgrace in my book. Can you imagine if that was Tyrone/Kerry v  Dublin and Dublin lost by a point. There would be uproar but Cork seem to just accept it.
Post by: sligoman2 on July 25, 2017, 12:47:14 PM
They would do a much better job if there was one in each half of the field. 
Post by: twohands!!! on July 25, 2017, 12:50:11 PM
One issue that drives me mad is people who don't know the rules, especially media folk.

RTE is very bad for this - there is a serious amount of the commentators/co-commentators/pundits who are utterly clueless and clearly don't know the rules properly - there was an incident within the last few weeks where the referee clearly made a mistake but the commentator and co-commentator didn't know the rules so they agreed it was the correct call. When you have mis-information like this floating around, it's no wonder large numbers of people watching get confused with referee decisions. It would be some craic if the GAA brought in a video evidence/citing rule for commentators/co-commentators.

By comparison on one of the games Sky were broadcasting at the weekend, there was an incident and either the commentator or co-commentator was able to recite (or at least read out) the actual wording of the rule which cleared the matter up straight away. I'll admit my heart sang a little.

Generally I find that those who have actually reffed games (even at U8/U10 level) tend to be a lot more forgiving and understanding about hard a job reffing a game actually is.

What drives me spare is the fact that the GAA don't allow linesmen and umpires at intercounty games help out the ref more.

A linesman or an umpire can tell a referee what he has seen in terms of an off-the-ball incident but he can't suggest a card or award a free-kick or a penalty. Utterly crazy stuff.

Also there are a ton of people when a debatable decision comes up immediately start talking about what the rule should be as opposed to what the actual rule-book currently says.

I'm not saying the rules are perfect by any means but conversations about what the rule should be are for another day - there's plenty of time to be discussing changes/improvements/tweaks on another day - the ref has to go by the rules currently in the book.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 12:53:43 PM
The kickout one at the weekend caused consternation in Limerick. The crowd went buck mad when the Cork goalie took a kickout towards his own corner flag almost. A Cork lad ran in and played the ball and everyone went nuts. PErfectly Legal of course. Mayo did it themselves in the second half, and there was a bit of bemused silence.
Post by: Syferus on July 25, 2017, 12:54:58 PM
Cormac Rielly can award and deduct points from the sideline.
Post by: twohands!!! on July 25, 2017, 12:58:24 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 12:53:43 PM
The kickout one at the weekend caused consternation in Limerick. The crowd went buck mad when the Cork goalie took a kickout towards his own corner flag almost. A Cork lad ran in and played the ball and everyone went nuts. PErfectly Legal of course. Mayo did it themselves in the second half, and there was a bit of bemused silence.

This is another one of the rules on RTE that change depending on who is commentating/co-commentating.

Post by: Rossfan on July 25, 2017, 01:05:25 PM
And don't forget Tommy Tom Tom that you can't issue a Black card in the first 10 minutes.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 25, 2017, 01:10:01 PM
once the ball goes 13m in any direction and the player is outside the 21 when its kicked its play on
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 01:13:45 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 25, 2017, 01:10:01 PM
once the ball goes 13m in any direction and the player is outside the 21 when its kicked its play on

Correct. That's why I said was perfectly legal.
Post by: joemamas on July 25, 2017, 01:33:12 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 25, 2017, 01:05:25 PM
And don't forget Tommy Tom Tom that you can't issue a Black card in the first 10 minutes.

It was actually eight minutes, but Tommy was so definitive in blasting the ref for doing it, that I had forgotten that congress ruled that no Black cards were allowed before the ninth minute.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2017, 02:27:06 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 01:13:45 PM

I think there are a fair few kickouts that don't travel the 13m and play is let go.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 02:30:00 PM
There was one dodgy one in that game alright. The defender was outside the 20 metre line, no problem, but the goalie kicked it sideways and I'd say it only went 8 or 9 metres. But by that stage the crowd was so confused they didn't realise they had a case with that one!
Post by: theticklemister on July 25, 2017, 03:26:37 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 25, 2017, 02:27:06 PM

I think there are a fair few kickouts that don't travel the 13m and play is let go.

The reason for this magpie is simple and a cop out......

It takes the pressure off the referee  as to deciding if it crossed a certain Line. 13m lets the referee decide vaguely to play on or not. It's like giving 13m for a player protesting after an awarding of a free. 

Ironically that rule is to help referees.
Post by: mrhardyannual on July 25, 2017, 03:45:11 PM

I don't think that that was why the Mayo crowd were annoyed with the ref. I think it was more that he made Mayo retake a number of similar kickouts. In the ref's defence there was a second ball on the pitch a number of times coutesy of Cork subs/ maor.
Post by: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 04:01:46 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 02:30:00 PM
There was one dodgy one in that game alright. The defender was outside the 20 metre line, no problem, but the goalie kicked it sideways and I'd say it only went 8 or 9 metres. But by that stage the crowd was so confused they didn't realise they had a case with that one!
8 or 9 meters is being very generous
Post by: UlsterMan2 on July 25, 2017, 10:09:23 PM
Far too many rules in our game that are different for basically the same thing which causes a lot of confusion, like this if a kick out is too short it's a throw ball on the 20 meter line, but if a free kick, 45 or line ball is too short it's a free against you. Also with free's etc it's in rule that you only need to be 13m away before ball is kicked, therefore you could receive the ball closer, but a kick out the ball has too travel 13m, therefore similar scenarios but with different penalties, any wonder there's lots of confusion.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on July 26, 2017, 10:04:58 AM
Quote from: Fuzzman on July 25, 2017, 12:02:33 PM
Any time I've saw Paddy Neilan I thought he has been a total disaster, including the league final this year.
I understand he's new and young but jeepers some of his decisions are mind boggling.

I always thought Joe McQuillan got a hard time and wasn't a bad ref but his second half display in the Ulster final was terrible and you could see again how a ref seems to give soft frees to the losing team though he gave Tyrone a few strange decisions too.

Both from counties with little footballing pedigree since football began in 2000.
Post by: Syferus on July 26, 2017, 01:15:53 PM
Neilan was excellent in the league final, it's a pity so few know a good performance when they see it, it makes the purpose of this thread entirely pointless.
Post by: Buttofthehill on July 26, 2017, 01:24:55 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 26, 2017, 01:15:53 PM
Neilan was excellent in the league final, it's a pity so few know a good performance when they see it, it makes the purpose of this thread entirely pointless.

He did fine apart from failing to give Dean Rock a penalty, you have to get those big calls correct when the margins are so tight.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 28, 2017, 04:20:24 AM
Not one official ref on here posting.. refereeing club underage tournaments or the odd game where the ref doesn't show doesn't count either...

You need to get 85% correct of 50 random questions to referee club championship games in Antrim plus a bleep test for the physical... it's much harder at county level.... I doubt very much that most posters on here would get 50 % of the questions right, let alone pass the physical...

Run around the pitch, immediately call a decision as you see it, not with the slow mo or angle the spectators see it, with huge pressure of being massacred by fellow Gaels and trying to be part of and entertaining game is a lot harder than you think... players management make a hell of a lot more mistakes than a ref!

Post by: theticklemister on July 28, 2017, 08:57:54 AM
I'm a ref miltown; I understand your pain.
Post by: punt kick on July 28, 2017, 10:14:38 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 28, 2017, 04:20:24 AM
Not one official ref on here posting.. refereeing club underage tournaments or the odd game where the ref doesn't show doesn't count either...

You need to get 85% correct of 50 random questions to referee club championship games in Antrim plus a bleep test for the physical... it's much harder at county level.... I doubt very much that most posters on here would get 50 % of the questions right, let alone pass the physical...

Run around the pitch, immediately call a decision as you see it, not with the slow mo or angle the spectators see it, with huge pressure of being massacred by fellow Gaels and trying to be part of and entertaining game is a lot harder than you think... players management make a hell of a lot more mistakes than a ref!

And what do you imply by that statement - no one should question a refs decision?
Post by: westbound on July 28, 2017, 10:29:10 AM
My guess is, he is implying that people should know the rules before criticising referees.

I would add that some of the 'experts' in the media are the worst for not knowing the rules!
Any co-commentater on tv or radio (rte or Sky) should know the rules.
Post by: Bord na Mona man on July 28, 2017, 10:31:56 AM
Pundits who don't know the rules usually demand that the referee uses "common sense", whatever that implies.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 28, 2017, 10:41:15 AM
MR's points are valid. I try to keep up to date on the rules and admit it is a terribly difficult job. What aggravates me is getting fairly obvious stuff wrong. Like the ref recently (think it might have been Neilan?) whose application of the advantage rule was just wrong on several occasions. Appreciate it's difficult but when a ball is ballooned out to the corner I think it's pretty obvious the free 35/40 metres out in front of the goals would be more advantageous. The black card has made their job harder especially as 70% of the crowd don't understand the rule.

Mate of mine is reffing two years and loves it. I might give it a go next year.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 28, 2017, 01:39:05 PM
Quote from: punt kick on July 28, 2017, 10:14:38 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 28, 2017, 04:20:24 AM

And what do you imply by that statement - no one should question a refs decision?

Nope I never said that, and when I'm watching my club play I am a club man who'll get as annoyed when I think the ref ballsed up... but this is what we have, without it we won't have the games... as for two refs, I think it's the daftest idea as they still won't see everything though the guy a thousand yards away will have an opinion
Post by: Solo_run on July 28, 2017, 03:17:49 PM
Not so sure how well it could be implemented into GAA but rather than two referees I think it might be a good idea to have something like what they have in American football, that allows either managers or captains to challenge a decision - and to ensure the flow of the game, limit this to 2 or 3 challenges. Eradicating refereeing errors is never going to happen but by using this system it might at least prevent one bad decision deciding a game.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 28, 2017, 04:14:04 PM
I had to mark David Gough down for...

A. Use of fake tan
B. Plucks his eyebrows
Post by: Syferus on July 28, 2017, 04:21:21 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 28, 2017, 04:14:04 PM
I had to mark David Gough down for...

A. Use of fake tan
B. Plucks his eyebrows

Sounds like sort of the things that would put him up in most Galway peoples' opinions.
Post by: Itchy on July 30, 2017, 11:46:55 PM
Thought refs did well today. Few calls I'd disagree with both you'll have that. Overall good show.
Post by: omaghjoe on July 31, 2017, 08:00:43 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 28, 2017, 08:57:54 AM
Im not a ref but we all know who Martin Sludden is....... yis are fair game ;)
Post by: theticklemister on July 31, 2017, 10:35:07 AM
Quote from: omaghjoe on July 31, 2017, 08:00:43 AM
Quote from: theticklemister on July 28, 2017, 08:57:54 AM
Im not a ref but we all know who Martin Sludden is....... yis are fair game ;)

Did he come in for some rough treatment last week joe?