GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2017, 08:23:03 AM

Title: Steps...
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2017, 08:23:03 AM
Definitely getting worse...1st Cork goal the latest...
Title: Re: Steps...
Post by: tonto1888 on July 24, 2017, 08:29:13 AM
I was thinking that when I watched the Sunday game last night
Post by: magpie seanie on July 24, 2017, 08:38:12 AM
It's absolutely rampant and has been for years. Easily the most abused rule in the game. I have great sympathy for defenders because it is practically impossible to stop an opponent if they're allowed to violate this rule. Players should use the ball or face the consequences. If gaelic football was refereed correctly it would be much better.

Referees need to understand that allowing advantage doesn't mean you allow 10-12 steps. Hand up for advantage, when they take too many steps bring it back for the free.
Post by: seafoid on July 24, 2017, 08:40:20 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 24, 2017, 08:38:12 AM
It's absolutely rampant and has been for years. Easily the most abused rule in the game. I have great sympathy for defenders because it is practically impossible to stop an opponent if they're allowed to violate this rule. Players should use the ball or face the consequences. If gaelic football was refereed correctly it would be much better.

Referees need to understand that allowing advantage doesn't mean you allow 10-12 steps. Hand up for advantage, when they take too many steps bring it back for the free.
Steps mean tackling is a mess. It is impossible to time a tackle if steps are abused
Post by: magpie seanie on July 24, 2017, 08:44:54 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 24, 2017, 08:40:20 AM

Steps mean tackling is a mess. It is impossible to time a tackle if steps are abused

Exactly.
Post by: DuffleKing on July 24, 2017, 08:59:29 AM

Couldn't agree more. It's an epidemic at this stage but won't get any airtime because enforcing it isn't a route to more scores therefore it couldn't possibly improve the game.
Post by: haranguerer on July 24, 2017, 09:23:16 AM
A bugbear of mine - I've said on here before that I think you can attribute a lot of issues with the game directly to allowing too many steps. Should be able to time positioning and tackle so as to only contact the ball, but when you know the lad is going to get 8 steps to get round you you physically need to stop him, which makes the whole thing a mess.
Post by: TheClutch on July 24, 2017, 09:39:35 AM
I couldn't agree more with this. I remember when I was younger going to watch inter county games and being amazed at how many steps the players were being allowed, and it is getting worse. Some referees use the old "its steps or seconds" excuse as reasoning behind it, definitely making defenders life more difficult. 
Post by: vallankumous on July 24, 2017, 09:45:23 AM
Quote from: TheClutch on July 24, 2017, 09:39:35 AM
I couldn't agree more with this. I remember when I was younger going to watch inter county games and being amazed at how many steps the players were being allowed, and it is getting worse. Some referees use the old "its steps or seconds" excuse as reasoning behind it, definitely making defenders life more difficult.

The rule allows for 'time it takes to make 4 steps'.
It is let go too often though.
Post by: TheClutch on July 24, 2017, 10:08:23 AM
Quote from: vallankumous on July 24, 2017, 09:45:23 AM
Quote from: TheClutch on July 24, 2017, 09:39:35 AM

The rule allows for 'time it takes to make 4 steps'.
It is let go too often though.

Yeh I agree.
Ryan Johnston from Down does a very exaggerated bounce when he is on the ball. Brings the ball almost up over the height of his head very slowly in an almost basketball type fashion before actually bouncing the ball, in which time he has taken 6-7 steps and I've never seen him get blown for it at club or county level - smart play or bending the rules?
Post by: Smokin Joe on July 24, 2017, 10:11:27 AM
Quote from: TheClutch on July 24, 2017, 10:08:23 AM

Yeh I agree.
Ryan Johnston from Down does a very exaggerated bounce when he is on the ball. Brings the ball almost up over the height of his head very slowly in an almost basketball type fashion before actually bouncing the ball, in which time he has taken 6-7 steps and I've never seen him get blown for it at club or county level - smart play or bending the rules?

Alan Brogan used to do something similar but Johnston is way more exaggerated.  It's very smart by him as the refs seem to judge it as he is bouncing the ball (even though it hasn't left his hand yet) and so he is allowed to take a large amount of steps.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 24, 2017, 10:12:41 AM
Ciaran Kilkenny takes 3/4 steps while carrying the ball in the hand as he bounces
I would call that a foul
Post by: rosnarun on July 24, 2017, 10:21:43 AM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on July 24, 2017, 10:11:27 AM

Yeh I agree.

Alan Brogan used to do something similar but Johnston is way more exaggerated.  It's very smart by him as the refs seem to judge it as he is bouncing the ball (even though it hasn't left his hand yet) and so he is allowed to take a large amount of steps.
I think that is fair enough as the ball is there to be tackled while it is being held out waiting to be bounced .  a good tackle should win that ball back as opposed to the head first ball under there arm method of some players
Post by: Esmarelda on July 24, 2017, 10:24:43 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 24, 2017, 10:21:43 AM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on July 24, 2017, 10:11:27 AM

Yeh I agree.

I think that is fair enough as the ball is there to be tackled while it is being held out waiting to be bounced .  a good tackle should win that ball back as opposed to the head first ball under there arm method of some players
The ball can be knocked from a player's hand at any time so on that basis, and to clamp down on the likes of Johnston, I think the bounce should be deemed to have begun when the ball leaves the hand.

I've been saying for ages that the rule should be changed to three seconds rather than four steps, for the reasons outline above. Three seconds, no interpretation needed.
Post by: nrico2006 on July 24, 2017, 10:41:33 AM
Funny enough that this topic came up as the woman was watching hurling yesterday and she has tried to grasp the rules over the years and was watcing it under the textbook steps guidance, 4 steps/4 seconds.  She kept getting confused at the number of steps being took and why it was allowed.
Post by: vallankumous on July 24, 2017, 10:42:12 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on July 24, 2017, 10:24:43 AM

The ball can be knocked from a player's hand at any time so on that basis, and to clamp down on the likes of Johnston, I think the bounce should be deemed to have begun when the ball leaves the hand.

I've been saying for ages that the rule should be changed to three seconds rather than four steps, for the reasons outline above. Three seconds, no interpretation needed.

It's a grey area for sure.
The rule allows for referee discretion without saying that.
It's hard to know the impact a change would have.
Post by: Rossfan on July 24, 2017, 10:46:37 AM
Add me to the list of people who want to see this rule enforced.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 10:47:13 AM
I was at an U11 hurling blitz on Saturday morning before heading into the Gaelic Grounds, and in one of the games one of our lads took about 10 steps with the ball, under pressure. The opposition shouted 'steps' but the ref said, and I quote 'He's grand, he was being fouled'. It's obvious refs allow extra steps if they feel someone is being fouled, but I think now they allow the extra steps if they are even under pressure! Very hard. We coach defending, in football, as follows. If you are sideways on, near hand in and dispossess when he plays the ball. If you can, pivot him, and get in front. Stop his momentum, and then dispossess when he tries to play the ball. It's very frustrating when refs give the man loads of time/steps when he's under pressure, because defenders start getting annoyed and start fouling.

The only way steps seems to be given now is if you can hold his momentum up (delay) and then take his space away (deny). If the ball carrier looks hesitant, or turns and twists, you get the decision. If he bulls forward it's 50-50 at best.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 24, 2017, 10:50:32 AM
Anyone else disappointed this wasnt about the band?  :-[
Post by: punt kick on July 24, 2017, 11:12:24 AM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on July 24, 2017, 10:50:32 AM
Anyone else disappointed this wasnt about the band?  :-[

Tragedy!
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on July 24, 2017, 11:21:15 AM

Steps/steps

Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 24, 2017, 11:23:15 AM
there's no rule to ignore too many steps when being fouled

Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 11:24:25 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 24, 2017, 11:23:15 AM
there's no rule to ignore too many steps when being fouled

I know. But the refs just seem to have adopted this as like a pseudo advantage rule.
Post by: the goal was on on July 24, 2017, 11:26:40 AM
Ryan Johnston takes the biscuit though, he has great balance and a nice jink but he gets about 6/7 steps everytime he has the ball. Some players are now actually wrapping the ball up and taking it for a stroll!
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 11:27:35 AM
In fairness it's not new though. DJ Carey carried the ball for more steps than it takes me to walk to the shop.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 24, 2017, 11:36:34 AM
I agree 100% with this and as someone that was a defender for most of my career, its always been a bugbear of mine.

I think the idea to change from 4 steps to 3 seconds is a god idea. If someone can take 5/6 steps in that time , then so be it, but at least it gives you a reasonable chance of defending it and timing the tackle.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 24, 2017, 02:33:14 PM
Quote from: the goal was on on July 24, 2017, 11:26:40 AM
Ryan Johnston takes the biscuit though, he has great balance and a nice jink but he gets about 6/7 steps everytime he has the ball. Some players are now actually wrapping the ball up and taking it for a stroll!

Dan Flynn is the master of this as well.

Post by: Captain Scarlet on July 24, 2017, 02:55:16 PM
Flynn likes the big bounce.
Andy Moran seems to always overcarry straight after he collects the ball while twisting and turning.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on July 24, 2017, 02:55:54 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 11:27:35 AM
In fairness it's not new though. DJ Carey carried the ball for more steps than it takes me to walk to the shop.
Apparently they were only very small steps so it didn't matter!!!
Post by: UlsterMan2 on July 24, 2017, 03:02:14 PM

But if you take too many steps while playing an advantage it is then a free against you
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 03:08:45 PM
No it isn't. If advantage doesn't accrue, then you are brought back for the original foul. The very fact you are taking too many steps means you are not gaining a legal advantage.
Post by: Taylor on July 24, 2017, 03:11:05 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 03:08:45 PM
No it isn't. If advantage doesn't accrue, then you are brought back for the original foul. The very fact you are taking too many steps means you are not gaining a legal advantage.

Along with the 'rule' whereby some referees allow you to handpass with one hand if your other hand is being help back shows how much of a revamp the rule book  needs
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 24, 2017, 03:24:51 PM
accrue?
you sound like martin carney
Post by: westbound on July 24, 2017, 03:26:54 PM
Quote from: Taylor on July 24, 2017, 03:11:05 PM

Along with the 'rule' whereby some referees allow you to handpass with one hand if your other hand is being help back shows how much of a revamp the rule book  needs

You are allowed to do this regardless whether your other hand is held or not. See 1.4 (e) and (f) below.

Rule 1.4:
When a player is in possession of the ball, it
may be:-
(a) carried for a maximum of four consecutive
steps or held in the hand(s) for no longer
than the time needed to take four steps;
(b) played from the foot to the hand(s) -toetapped;
(c) bounced once, and once after each toe-tap;
(d) changed from one hand to the other once,
with the original holding hand maintaining
contact until the change is completed;
(e) played away with:
(i) a fist
(ii) an open hand-in which instance there
shall be a definite underhand striking
action
(f) released for a kick, a toe-tap or a pass with
a fist or an open hand.

Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 03:27:17 PM
That's a shocking insult.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 24, 2017, 04:13:08 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 03:27:17 PM
That's a shocking insult.
yeah, sorry
bit over the top, it must be said....
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 04:27:39 PM
It's ok. There was no malice in it.
Post by: UlsterMan2 on July 24, 2017, 06:09:54 PM

If you foul while on an advantage be in throw ball, double bounce, over carry it's a free against you, FACT, this is a problem with lots of people not understanding the rules
Post by: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 06:40:33 PM
Quote from: UlsterMan2 on July 24, 2017, 06:09:54 PM

If you foul while on an advantage be in throw ball, double bounce, over carry it's a free against you, FACT, this is a problem with lots of people not understanding the rules

You are wrong. Because the act of fouling is in itself not an advantage so the ref brings it back.

Edit. Apologies, you are 100% right. The referees handbook does indeed state that if a foul is committed by the team receiving the advantage, then advantage is cancelled and a free awarded AGAINST them. It doesn't make sense to me, but you are spot on. Apologies.
Post by: UlsterMan2 on July 24, 2017, 08:07:38 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 06:40:33 PM

You are wrong. Because the act of fouling is in itself not an advantage so the ref brings it back.

Edit. Apologies, you are 100% right. The referees handbook does indeed state that if a foul is committed by the team receiving the advantage, then advantage is cancelled and a free awarded AGAINST them. It doesn't make sense to me, but you are spot on. Apologies.
[/quote

Lol, thanks I knew I was right but I don't agree with it either
Post by: macdanger2 on July 24, 2017, 08:24:03 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 06:40:33 PM

That's ridiculous, definitely should be called back for the initial foul as per rugby rules
Post by: Main Street on July 24, 2017, 11:10:53 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 24, 2017, 11:36:34 AM
I agree 100% with this and as someone that was a defender for most of my career, its always been a bugbear of mine.

I think the idea to change from 4 steps to 3 seconds is a god idea. If someone can take 5/6 steps in that time , then so be it, but at least it gives you a reasonable chance of defending it and timing the tackle.
I think that's an erroneous interpretation of the rule.

The rule is  4 steps, OR if you're just holding the ball you have that same amount of time to decide upon an action.
At least that's the clear intent of the rule, imo.
There is a level of ambiguity in the rule but I think it's not at all credible to think that a player can take more than 4 steps, if they're fast steps :)

Post by: ONeill on July 24, 2017, 11:12:47 PM
Yer boy Johnston with the haircut takes 6 steps whilst performing an elaborate bounce of the ball.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 25, 2017, 12:24:43 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 24, 2017, 04:27:39 PM
It's ok. There was no malice in it.

yea manfromdelmonte is not that type of poster..
Post by: blewuporstuffed on July 25, 2017, 08:32:46 AM
Quote from: Main Street on July 24, 2017, 11:10:53 PM
Quote from: blewuporstuffed on July 24, 2017, 11:36:34 AM

The rule is  4 steps, OR if you're just holding the ball you have that same amount of time to decide upon an action.

There is a level of ambiguity in the rule but I think it's not at all credible to think that a player can take more than 4 steps, if they're fast steps :)

What I am saying is, forget about the number of steps, the rule could be changed to a period of time (3 seconds as suggested)
That would leave no ambiguity on how many steps where take etc, how long it takes to take 4 steps and all that. You are allowed 3 seconds to play the ball and thats it.

Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2017, 08:48:00 AM
3 seconds is actually a long time. You could cover 20/25 metres easily in that time.
Post by: Esmarelda on July 25, 2017, 09:36:00 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 25, 2017, 08:48:00 AM
3 seconds is actually a long time. You could cover 20/25 metres easily in that time.
I'm fine with that. If someone is going to cover 25 metres in three seconds then I don't think anyone is going to make a clean tackle on them at that speed anyway.
Post by: vallankumous on July 25, 2017, 09:45:57 AM

This is to allow referee discretion. The same thing as the 3 second rule being called for.
If you make it a 3 second rule we will be back here discussion the same problem.

If you chance your arm and get away with it then good enough. If ye get caught then good enough too. The same applies or the pick up and the hand pass. All technical fouls ye might get away with and you might not.
Post by: Esmarelda on July 25, 2017, 11:21:37 AM
Quote from: vallankumous on July 25, 2017, 09:45:57 AM

This is to allow referee discretion. The same thing as the 3 second rule being called for.
If you make it a 3 second rule we will be back here discussion the same problem.

If you chance your arm and get away with it then good enough. If ye get caught then good enough too. The same applies or the pick up and the hand pass. All technical fouls ye might get away with and you might not.
Why? Three seconds is three seconds is it not?
Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2017, 11:28:44 AM
3 seconds is an eternity. I'd prefer to leave the mess we have now that allow 3 seconds between plays.
Post by: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 11:37:53 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 25, 2017, 11:28:44 AM
3 seconds is an eternity. I'd prefer to leave the mess we have now that allow 3 seconds between plays.
who said 3 seconds does the time vary in that a quick player get 3 seconds and a lumbering cornerback gets around 5?
its what seems to happen with delaying free kick . Cillian o connor get pull up after 35 seconds in the Connaught final a few years back yet cluxton was giver 1min 20 to take the match winning score the same year
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 25, 2017, 12:19:14 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 11:37:53 AM
who said 3 seconds does the time vary in that a quick player get 3 seconds and a lumbering cornerback gets around 5?
its what seems to happen with delaying free kick . Cillian o connor get pull up after 35 seconds in the Connaught final a few years back yet cluxton was giver 1min 20 to take the match winning score the same year
either change the rule to 5/6 steps or enforce 4 steps or the time needed to take 4 -
Post by: vallankumous on July 25, 2017, 12:28:28 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on July 25, 2017, 11:21:37 AM

No, Time is relative
Post by: sligoman2 on July 25, 2017, 12:43:23 PM
4 steps is too few imo - make it 8 or whatever but enforce it.  Cillian Oconnor took 12 steps before scoring a goal against us earlier this year.

There's a lot of subjectivity in the modern game that may or may not be good, things like

- how much time the ref will play (or won't play😄😄)
- how many steps can you really get away with
- will it be yellow black or red card
- was he in the square before the ball was played (mayo again)
- how much time the ref allows when a goalie takes a minute and a half to kick a free in extra time

I've said it many times before but a stopclock and 2 refs would be a good start....
Post by: Esmarelda on July 25, 2017, 02:13:36 PM
Quote from: vallankumous on July 25, 2017, 12:28:28 PM

No, Time is relative
Could you explain please?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 02:16:40 PM
Quote from: Esmarelda on July 25, 2017, 02:13:36 PM
Quote from: vallankumous on July 25, 2017, 12:28:28 PM

No, Time is relative

Time Flies when you're having fun.
Post by: vallankumous on July 25, 2017, 02:29:47 PM

My 3 seconds can be different than your 3 seconds. Your 3 seconds can also be different from your 3 seconds. The same thing applies to referees.

This is why I think we would end up back here discussing the 3 second rule.
Post by: Esmarelda on July 25, 2017, 02:32:53 PM
Quote from: vallankumous on July 25, 2017, 02:29:47 PM

My 3 seconds can be different than your 3 seconds. Your 3 seconds can also be different from your 3 seconds. The same thing applies to referees.

This is why I think we would end up back here discussing the 3 second rule.
I understand your point. But that applies to many areas of the game. It shouldn't stop the changing of the rule if it's seen as beneficial.

The time taken to take four steps is much more open to interpretation than a three second rule.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 25, 2017, 02:49:10 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on July 25, 2017, 11:37:53 AM

I take your point in general, but Cluxton's was exactly a minute from the time the free was awarded.  Awarded 70.51, kicked 71.51.   Consistent with at least one Kerry free earlier in the game.
Post by: Main Street on July 25, 2017, 10:00:17 PM
Quote from: UlsterMan2 on July 24, 2017, 03:02:14 PM

But if you take too many steps while playing an advantage it is then a free against you
At times when the tackle is only robust, refs tend to allow a player with the ball the extra steps just so he can ride the tackle.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 25, 2017, 10:06:06 PM
Their cover of Tragedy would probably my favourite song of theirs.
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 10:25:31 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 25, 2017, 10:00:17 PM

At times when the tackle is only robust, refs tend to allow a player with the ball the extra steps just so he can ride the tackle.

I don't think there's any doubt that refs allow players get away with extra steps if they think they are being fouled. It's not correct as ulsterman has pointed out but it happens. Have you ever seen a ref penalise a player for a technical foul while he has the advantage? I never have.
Post by: Smokin Joe on July 26, 2017, 07:14:51 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 25, 2017, 10:25:31 PM

I don't think there's any doubt that refs allow players get away with extra steps if they think they are being fouled. It's not correct as ulsterman has pointed out but it happens. Have you ever seen a ref penalise a player for a technical foul while he has the advantage? I never have.

I have AZ, and I posed the question here afterwards as I couldn't believe it.

I think it was a home Armagh league game this season.  Armagh had the advantage and then the player that was playing the advantage made an illegal handpass and the ref awarded a free against him.

EDIT: I searched my posts and I see it occurred in the Armagh club final last season, not the League.  My post is here: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=27413.msg1636067#msg1636067
Post by: vallankumous on July 26, 2017, 08:04:36 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on July 25, 2017, 02:32:53 PM

I understand your point. But that applies to many areas of the game. It shouldn't stop the changing of the rule if it's seen as beneficial.

The time taken to take four steps is much more open to interpretation than a three second rule.

Yes it does and this is the grey area we are discussing.

My point is - there is no benefit from changing the rule from 'the time it takes' to '3 seconds' as it will not address the grey area. It's just rewording.

If it becomes an enforced 3 seconds the Sunday Game will make hay with timing it in the studio ignoring the reality on the pitch in real time.
The time it takes to take four steps is to allow for referees to make the judgement which is fair. The introduction of one size fits all rule usually ends up unworkable as no two cases are the same.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 26, 2017, 09:05:34 AM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on July 26, 2017, 07:14:51 AM

I have AZ, and I posed the question here afterwards as I couldn't believe it.

I think it was a home Armagh league game this season.  Armagh had the advantage and then the player that was playing the advantage made an illegal handpass and the ref awarded a free against him.

EDIT: I searched my posts and I see it occurred in the Armagh club final last season, not the League.  My post is here: http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=27413.msg1636067#msg1636067

I think I saw it in a Sligo NFL game this year and lambasted the ref for it. I didn't know the rule.
Post by: Esmarelda on July 26, 2017, 09:38:23 AM
Quote from: vallankumous on July 26, 2017, 08:04:36 AM
Quote from: Esmarelda on July 25, 2017, 02:32:53 PM

Yes it does and this is the grey area we are discussing.

My point is - there is no benefit from changing the rule from 'the time it takes' to '3 seconds' as it will not address the grey area. It's just rewording.

If it becomes an enforced 3 seconds the Sunday Game will make hay with timing it in the studio ignoring the reality on the pitch in real time.
The time it takes to take four steps is to allow for referees to make the judgement which is fair. The introduction of one size fits all rule usually ends up unworkable as no two cases are the same.
I disagree. A ref might miscount three seconds but that's an error on his part. He knows that it's three seconds which is an exact time. On the contrary, all cases are the same. So whether you're surrounded by players or standing on your own, you have three seconds to play the ball.

Let's agree that anything the Sunday Game have to say about it will only complicate matters. :)
Post by: Main Street on July 26, 2017, 12:05:29 PM

My point was more that even when the tackle is robust but legal, not a foul, the ref allows the player with the ball the extra steps to ride the legal tackle.
Post by: rosnarun on July 26, 2017, 12:27:55 PM
Quote from: Main Street on July 26, 2017, 12:05:29 PM

My point was more that even when the tackle is robust but legal, not a foul, the ref allows the player with the ball the extra steps to ride the legal tackle.
Exactly and then they are fouled and Dean Rock Puts over the free
Post by: gaaman2016 on July 26, 2017, 12:59:49 PM
I've seen it were a player is fouled 45 yards out and ref indicates advantage. Player knows free iswithin range for the free taker and stops playing electing to take the free and ref has blown him up for overcarring and awarded a free out
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 29, 2017, 06:22:07 PM
Maurice Deegan likes his steps
Post by: mrdeeds on July 31, 2017, 03:29:37 PM
Andy Moran liked his steps.
Post by: Esmarelda on July 31, 2017, 03:31:55 PM
Colm Boyle takes very quick, and many, steps.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 15, 2018, 08:16:15 AM
Ger Aylward
Brian Howard
Post by: manfromdelmonte on July 15, 2018, 10:02:51 AM
Every Dublin and Tyrone player yesterday

put the ball in one hand and away you go
Post by: Gael85 on July 15, 2018, 01:12:18 PM
Stephen O'Brien and Darren O'Sullivan from Kerry never get pulled for steps.
Post by: Rossfan on July 15, 2018, 01:56:08 PM
Once you runveryveryfast. ..
Post by: Jayop on July 15, 2018, 02:38:43 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 15, 2018, 10:02:51 AM

Every player from all 4 teams yesterday and will be the same today. The steps rule isn't enforces and if you do that exaggerated movement with the ball in the hand out infront of you as if you're trying to bounce it you get an extra 3 or more steps.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 23, 2019, 10:58:12 AM
It's getting worse you know......
Post by: AZOffaly on July 23, 2019, 11:33:59 AM
The highlighted pieces on the Sunday game were ridiculous. That score after 16 steps!
Post by: J70 on July 23, 2019, 11:34:58 AM
Quote from: Jayop on July 15, 2018, 02:38:43 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on July 15, 2018, 10:02:51 AM

Every player from all 4 teams yesterday and will be the same today. The steps rule isn't enforces and if you do that exaggerated movement with the ball in the hand out infront of you as if you're trying to bounce it you get an extra 3 or more steps.

Perfected by John Gildea for Donegal 20 years ago.  :) Think Alan Brogan picked up on it then.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 23, 2019, 11:55:10 AM
One area where it pays to be a small fella. The players with little scuttling legs seem to get away with multiples of steps.

The other area is taking steps into a tackle, riding the tackle while taking more steps and then you seem to be allowed a fresh bunch of steps coming out of the tackle.
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 23, 2019, 12:02:01 PM
My pet hate, Stephen O'Brien not as culpable as he used to be but still getting away with it consistently. Ciaran Kilkenny another huge offender. Mattie Donnelly must have took 11-12 steps for Tyrone's first goal last Saturday but no mention of it anywhere unless it was flagged on the TSG on sunday night.

Post by: RedHand88 on July 23, 2019, 01:19:55 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 23, 2019, 12:02:01 PM
My pet hate, Stephen O'Brien not as culpable as he used to be but still getting away with it consistently. Ciaran Kilkenny another huge offender. Mattie Donnelly must have took 11-12 steps for Tyrone's first goal last Saturday but no mention of it anywhere unless it was flagged on the TSG on sunday night.

You can take as many steps as you like, so long as you score a goal at the end of it. Double bounces also allowed in this case.
Post by: Angelo on July 23, 2019, 01:24:13 PM
To be honest it is nearly impossible for the modern day player to play the ball in under 5 step running at full pelt now given the speed they move at.

They should increase it to 8 steps and enforce it.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 23, 2019, 01:25:05 PM
The problem is the speed with which the game is played now. Its impossible to solo/bounce every 4 steps and run as fast as the modern game.
This is what congress should be focusing on. They'd be better off making the rule 6 steps and enforcing it.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 23, 2019, 01:26:20 PM
Quote from: Angelo on July 23, 2019, 01:24:13 PM
To be honest it is nearly impossible for the modern day player to play the ball in under 5 step running at full pelt now given the speed they move at.

They should increase it to 8 steps and enforce it.

Jaysus our posts are eerily similar.  :o
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 23, 2019, 01:58:28 PM
But is this speed a great thing that we want to protect? A man sprinting past his opposite number, ball tucked away so the defender can't get at it isn't attractive football for me to watch. I'd much rather a watch a tricky corner forward a la Canavan jink his way through than watch any number of flat track forwards just outrun their counterparts. When I talk about wanting a fast game, it's a game where the ball is moving faster that the players, rather than just getting carried by fast players.
I'll preempt this by saying that this isn't a dig at the Dubs, but one of the biggest benefits they have in their conditioning is the absolute speed of most of their players. They are all at peak conditioning and it's actually so noticeable how much quicker as a group they are over other teams. Making players take their bounce/ solo might slow down the players but hopefully the knock on effect would be that teams move the ball quicker and will allow skill to play a bigger part in the equation as well.

Post by: Blue and White on July 23, 2019, 02:55:38 PM
It's important when discussing the issue of 'steps' to also consider the lack of turnovers in the modern game from one on one tackling.  With this overcarrying not being punished by the tackler or the referee, I think it's only going to get worse.  Compare with Australian rules football, clearly defined tackle, which can be made successfully in a one verse one scenario therefore the player on the ball will aim to move it before contact even though he can run the ball 20 metres before playing it if he chooses.  The likelihood of losing the ball in the tackle means he moves the ball.  It's now all but impossible to turnover the ball one v one in modern Gaelic football resulting in mass defences. 
Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2019, 11:19:42 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 23, 2019, 01:25:05 PM
The problem is the speed with which the game is played now. Its impossible to solo/bounce every 4 steps and run as fast as the modern game.
This is what congress should be focusing on. They'd be better off making the rule 6 steps and enforcing it.

That's simply untrue. If you comply with the rule you're giving your opponent a chance to make an effective tackle so they run as fast as they can and when they feel safe they play the ball. Defenders have an impossible job. See Gavin White's black card the last day. He was all over Ryan McHugh but after 6/7 steps felt he had to hold on and then fell himself (he was stupid to maintain hold of the jersey and pull him down, granted). If McHugh had played the ball in 4/5 stpes White would have had a chance to dispossess. Everyone says - definite black card but in truth is was a free for overcarrying.

I've been on about this for ages and it has gotten way, way worse.
Post by: StephenC on July 25, 2019, 11:29:02 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 25, 2019, 11:19:42 AM

That's simply untrue. If you comply with the rule you're giving your opponent a chance to make an effective tackle so they run as fast as they can and when they feel safe they play the ball. Defenders have an impossible job. See Gavin White's black card the last day. He was all over Ryan McHugh but after fouling McHugh for 6/7 steps felt he had to continue to foul him hold on and then dragged McHugh to the ground fell himself (he was stupid to maintain hold of the jersey and pull him down, granted). If McHugh had played the ball in 4/5 stpes White would have had a chance to dispossess. Everyone says - definite black card but in truth is was a free for overcarrying.

FYP

There are many examples in every game where it should be a free for over-carrying and I'm sure Ryan has been a culprit on many occasions. This was such a clear black-card that I don't think you are helping your case by trying to use it though.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 25, 2019, 11:46:57 AM
Quote from: StephenC on July 25, 2019, 11:29:02 AM

That's simply untrue. If you comply with the rule you're giving your opponent a chance to make an effective tackle so they run as fast as they can and when they feel safe they play the ball. Defenders have an impossible job. See Gavin White's black card the last day. He was all over Ryan McHugh but after fouling McHugh for 6/7 steps felt he had to continue to foul him hold on and then dragged McHugh to the ground fell himself (he was stupid to maintain hold of the jersey and pull him down, granted). If McHugh had played the ball in 4/5 stpes White would have had a chance to dispossess. Everyone says - definite black card but in truth is was a free for overcarrying.

FYP

There are many examples in every game where it should be a free for over-carrying and I'm sure Ryan has been a culprit on many occasions. This was such a clear black-card that I don't think you are helping your case by trying to use it though.

But had the ref blew for the first 'foul' (overcarrying, then there would have been no black card). I battle with the 4 steps rule as a ref. We'd be blowing every 20 seconds and the cries for over carrying from all involved would be unreal! 

Ref's still apply the 'player being held slightly' and allowing more steps to break free from the challenge, rather than sticking the arm up right away for a pull/drag back (advantage rule), which normally happenes when a quick player tries to get past an defender.

And yes, Ive applied it before, the 4 steps rule during a few games and they were the most stop start games ever. I believe the key is to make sure that both teams get application of the 'rules' during the game, then there are no complaints
Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2019, 04:17:55 PM

FYP

Ah, a sensitive Donegal man. It ended up being a black card after overcarrying and a mere foul (the order of which is debatable but both occurred). Ryan is a serial offender in this regard but while it's working for him he might as well.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2019, 04:19:17 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 25, 2019, 11:46:57 AM

FYP

But had the ref blew for the first 'foul' (overcarrying, then there would have been no black card). I battle with the 4 steps rule as a ref. We'd be blowing every 20 seconds and the cries for over carrying from all involved would be unreal! 

Ref's still apply the 'player being held slightly' and allowing more steps to break free from the challenge, rather than sticking the arm up right away for a pull/drag back (advantage rule), which normally happenes when a quick player tries to get past an defender.

And yes, Ive applied it before, the 4 steps rule during a few games and they were the most stop start games ever. I believe the key is to make sure that both teams get application of the 'rules' during the game, then there are no complaints

Can understand that being the case but if it was stuck to by all referees it would tighten up quickly.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 25, 2019, 06:29:00 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 25, 2019, 04:19:17 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 25, 2019, 11:46:57 AM

FYP

Can understand that being the case but if it was stuck to by all referees it would tighten up quickly.

If it's not being adhered to, it's purely the refs fault, I get that.

Certain directives come from HQ's each year on rules and during counties courses for refereeing at the start of the year they are discussed and highlighted as a major part of the rules to be enforced. In my many years of refereeing it's never been a bone of contention. This years one was on strikes to the head and the hurling hand pass rule, was other things brought up but these two were more so highlighted.

I'd personally like it to be 4/5 seconds rather than steps.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 25, 2019, 11:33:58 PM
4/5 seconds? Intercounty players could run 30-40 metres in that time.
Post by: Rossfan on July 26, 2019, 12:01:48 AM
Simple way out -let them carry as long as they like but allow man to be tackled who must then play the ball with his foot :P
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2019, 12:22:01 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 25, 2019, 11:33:58 PM

Well the rule is four steps or the time it takes you to take four steps.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 26, 2019, 12:29:10 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2019, 12:22:01 AM

Exactly, the whistle's blown (or should be) on the 5th (count/second), nach ea?
Post by: laceer on July 26, 2019, 12:48:32 AM
Tyrone posters might remember Clithero refereeing. In underage matches, if someone was soloing the ball near a tackler or was in danger of overcarrying he used to count 1,2,3,4.. out loud. Actually worked well enough.
Post by: t_mac on July 26, 2019, 08:24:22 AM
Quote from: laceer on July 26, 2019, 12:48:32 AM
Tyrone posters might remember Clithero refereeing. In underage matches, if someone was soloing the ball near a tackler or was in danger of overcarrying he used to count 1,2,3,4.. out loud. Actually worked well enough.

Did he also do a ten count when they dived.  :)
Post by: magpie seanie on July 26, 2019, 08:30:22 AM

I know that. You suggested allowing "4/5 seconds rather than steps" which I pointed out would be madness.
Post by: haranguerer on July 26, 2019, 10:02:18 AM

Complete rubbish. It is the game for chrissakes.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 26, 2019, 10:11:48 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on July 26, 2019, 10:02:18 AM

Are you telling me it's possible to solo/bounce every 4 steps running at the speed that McCaffrey run at?
Post by: trueblue1234 on July 26, 2019, 10:37:44 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on July 26, 2019, 10:11:48 AM
Quote from: haranguerer on July 26, 2019, 10:02:18 AM

Are you telling me it's possible to solo/bounce every 4 steps running at the speed that McCaffrey run at?

But the point is that it's not a sprinting competition. I don't care how fast McCaffrey can run. I do care about how well he can pass a man while legally soloing/ bouncing the ball. If he's not doing that, he's not playing football. It's more akin to rugby.
Post by: Keyser soze on July 26, 2019, 11:04:21 AM
F**k me there are some silly c***ts on this board, players run too fast to play the ball every 4 steps, I have heard it all now, talk about empty vessels....
Post by: toby47 on July 26, 2019, 11:17:14 AM
close this thread
Post by: Milltown Row2 on July 26, 2019, 01:51:10 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on July 26, 2019, 08:30:22 AM

I know that. You suggested allowing "4/5 seconds rather than steps" which I pointed out would be madness.

At least with the 4 seconds everyone gets the same time frame to get out of a tackle or for a defender to make that challenge on the 4 second mark, turn over ball for overcarrying and a way we go!