GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: tintin25 on June 25, 2017, 12:43:23 AM

Title: U14 Feile
Post by: tintin25 on June 25, 2017, 12:43:23 AM
Noticed that Burren won the U14 All-Ireland Premier competition in Sligo.  Is this some sorta separate competition to the Feile currently being held in Monaghan, Cavan, and Fermanagh?  I thought this was the competition which included all the various county champions as well the hosts.  Apologies, didn't see a thread anywhere else.
Title: Re: U14 Feile
Post by: bennydorano on June 25, 2017, 09:30:20 AM
Was down watching our boys in Gowna yesterday,  beaten in their QF by a strong Portlaoise side. New York were in the same group and gave every team a right hiding, they are a County rather than club side, heard a few grumbles as to why they weren't in the Elite competition  (that I didn't know existed til yesterday either). 10 divisions of Feile plus the Elite now I think.
Post by: Gold on June 25, 2017, 09:46:04 AM
Quote from: tintin25 on June 25, 2017, 12:43:23 AM
Noticed that Burren won the U14 All-Ireland Premier competition in Sligo.  Is this some sorta separate competition to the Feile currently being held in Monaghan, Cavan, and Fermanagh?  I thought this was the competition which included all the various county champions as well the hosts.  Apologies, didn't see a thread anywhere else.

I saw they won the final 6.6 to 0.8. If thats in a full all ireland final 6 goals is seriously inpressive

Ive friends who have kids playing  for various Down clubs underage teams and all i ever hear is how good Burren are at every age...and complaints that kids who should be playing for other clubs closer to them travel to play for Burren?

Any truth in that ? And what is the difference with regional and other feile?

Post by: tintin25 on June 25, 2017, 10:49:36 AM
They must have changed the format in recent years.  When I played (long time ago) you had maybe 5 /6 divisions with all the county champs and a number of host clubs.  I think it's been expanded to include 'B' winners, and given the huge gulf in class between some teams I'm assuming the Premier competition as been introduced to cater for the traditionally strong counties at this level.  Anyone confirm?

Looking through the results there was (as expected) plenty of mismatches between visiting teams and host clubs.  I would have thought the likes of New York and London would be well fit to hold their own in the Premier competition.  Is it by invite only?
Post by: omagh_gael on June 25, 2017, 11:14:25 AM
How does the grading system work? I see Errigal Ciaran (grade 2 in Tyrone) are playing in division 6. That seems a bit low for them looking at some of the other clubs playing above them.
Post by: bennydorano on June 25, 2017, 11:23:45 AM
I think we (Armagh Harps) were Division 1, I watched a bit of Ardboe v New York QF  so they were Division 1 as well. Is there like a Senior, Intermediate & Junior concept in operation?
Post by: omagh_gael on June 25, 2017, 11:32:22 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 25, 2017, 11:23:45 AM
I think we (Armagh Harps) were Division 1, I watched a bit of Ardboe v New York QF  so they were Division 1 as well. Is there like a Senior, Intermediate & Junior concept in operation?

You would assume that but in Tyrone we have 4 grades at u14 and our grade 2 winners (Errigal) were playing in Division 6 which doesn't tally up.
Post by: Kilkevan on June 25, 2017, 12:42:43 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on June 25, 2017, 11:32:22 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 25, 2017, 11:23:45 AM

You would assume that but in Tyrone we have 4 grades at u14 and our grade 2 winners (Errigal) were playing in Division 6 which doesn't tally up.

I know there were camogie teams who are a roinn higher than Gowran in Kilkenny but who were playing in divisions lower in the Feile. The draw seems to have been poorly coordinated. That said, I think it was a very successful weekend and the main focus should be on the kids having a good time.
Post by: Targetman on June 25, 2017, 01:17:25 PM
Quote from: Gold on June 25, 2017, 09:46:04 AM
c

I saw they won the final 6.6 to 0.8. If thats in a full all ireland final 6 goals is seriously inpressive

Ive friends who have kids playing  for various Down clubs underage teams and all i ever hear is how good Burren are at every age...and complaints that kids who should be playing for other clubs closer to them travel to play for Burren?

Any truth in that ? And what is the difference with regional and other feile?
Yea they're be an element of truth in that, not all Burren's juvenile players would live in Burren, at u14 level this year they have 2 teams playing in the same division and they just happen to be the 2 best teams in the league, not as strong at u16 or minors this year

Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2017, 02:59:35 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 25, 2017, 12:51:17 AM
There are also regional Feile competitions taking place. Not sure how Burren ended up in Sligo.
Our boys were beaten today in the quarter final in Monaghan.
Some good teams on show. In particular, Naomh Colmcille from Meath. Great team. One thing though, they appeared to be Dubs.

Lost by a point to Portlaoise in the semi-final.
A lot of Dubs moved to the Meath Riviera in recent years for a taste of the good life.
Unfortunately, they brought their accents with them.
Post by: Helix on June 25, 2017, 05:32:44 PM
New York win division 1 title. Some going.
Post by: bennydorano on June 25, 2017, 05:48:37 PM
New York hammered Portlaoise, not surprising after what I watched yesterday, as posted above they could've been in the Elite section. They'd beat quite a few local U16 & possibly Minor teams. Big lads.
Post by: clonadmad on June 25, 2017, 05:52:43 PM
Portlaoise won the A feile and Graigcullen won the B feile competition in Laois,there were regional feiles played yesterday,but I believe they were invitation and not elite competitions

Nice bit of controversy to finish

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/offaly-367843
Post by: stew on June 25, 2017, 08:23:23 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 25, 2017, 05:48:37 PM
New York hammered Portlaoise, not surprising after what I watched yesterday, as posted above they could've been in the Elite section. They'd beat quite a few local U16 & possibly Minor teams. Big lads.

Talking to two diehard Harps heads on the way to the Armagh match the night, they reckoned there was funny football going on with that U14 team (Pardon the pun)

Our U14 lads are very good, I never thought any team would be capable of beating them down like that!
Post by: DuffleKing on June 26, 2017, 12:08:11 AM

So how many feile all irelands are there? How many divisions, how many regions and who goes into which?
Post by: whitey on June 26, 2017, 12:57:34 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 25, 2017, 09:30:20 AM
Was down watching our boys in Gowna yesterday,  beaten in their QF by a strong Portlaoise side. New York were in the same group and gave every team a right hiding, they are a County rather than club side, heard a few grumbles as to why they weren't in the Elite competition  (that I didn't know existed til yesterday either). 10 divisions of Feile plus the Elite now I think.

Lol....the New York team gave out some awful hammerings alright
Post by: DownFanatic on June 26, 2017, 01:00:42 PM
So who won the Division 1 Elite comp then?
Post by: Link on June 26, 2017, 01:49:44 PM
From what i gather New York won the proper Feile Na Nóg 2017.

Not sure what the competition in Sligo was but Derry sent their B and C champions to the feile in cavan/monaghan and their A champions (rossa magherafelt) went to Sligo and got beat by Burren in the final.

Did clubs have a choice on which competition they could attend?
Who are the dublin champs and how did they get on?
Post by: screenexile on June 26, 2017, 02:24:52 PM
Yeah there seems to be a "Regional" Feile competition which was held in Sligo that included the big teams from around the country Dublin/Cork/Kerry/Derry/Galway etc.
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DC87AlqXcAE4QLH.jpg)
Post by: clonadmad on June 26, 2017, 03:01:37 PM
There was a regional feile also held in Tullamore on Saturday

These tend to be invitational and don't include those who won the feile competition in their respective counties

Stradbally Parish Gaels went from Laois,while the seniors are county champions and might be considered a "big" name,their u14s are a mid table B team.
Post by: Ty4Sam on June 26, 2017, 03:19:46 PM
Regional Feile also held in Owenbeg, Derry. Our lads came third in it. It was invitation only, Ardboe (Tyrone Grade 1 Feile Champions) went to the main Feile...Strabane, Killeeshil and Carrickmore (who were the other Tyrone Grade 1 semi finalists) were invited to the regional Feiles. Think Killeeshil went to Meath, not sure about Carrickmore.
Post by: DownFanatic on June 26, 2017, 03:57:31 PM
So are Burren the proper All Ireland Feile Division 1/Elite/Premier champions?
Post by: Ty4Sam on June 26, 2017, 04:06:46 PM
No, New York are. Burren won an invitation only Regional Feile, which is for teams who didn't qualify for the AI Feile.
Post by: Link on June 26, 2017, 04:07:34 PM
Burren possibly are the best u14 team in the country but their name isn't on the Division 1 Feile Na Nóg trophy as they won a regional comp.
Post by: Ty4Sam on June 26, 2017, 04:09:44 PM
I take it Burren didn't win the Down Feile?
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 26, 2017, 04:12:36 PM
Quote from: Ty4Sam on June 26, 2017, 04:09:44 PM
I take it Burren didn't win the Down Feile?

I'm pretty sure they beat Bredagh 1-4 to 0-01 in the Down feile final.
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 26, 2017, 04:20:49 PM
Fairly sure Corofin beat Salthill in the Galway final too and they were both at this regional finals.
Post by: bennydorano on June 26, 2017, 04:22:17 PM
Some of the Elite competitors were County Feile Champions, no idea how people knew they were superior to the mainstream competition & got invited?? If they'd done their homework New York would've been there.

GPA version  ???
Post by: Too many steps on June 26, 2017, 04:32:37 PM
So the story I heard was that someone (or a committee) in feile/gaa  officialdom decided that the Feile was being dominated by a few counties. So the winners of the feile in several counties were not permitted to enter the main feile. So there was a feile in Sligo for these teams and a few invited others.

The winners of the Derry down Dublin Kildare Galway cork and Kerry feile were there. Plus Dublin and Galway feile runners up. And 2 teams from Donegal along with a combined Sligo team as they were hosts.

Draw your own conclusions as to which was the elite feile.
Post by: Zulu on June 26, 2017, 04:35:47 PM
The feile was changed a few years ago as teams were taking it too seriously. The main feile no longer includes the best teams in the country so the regional one in Sligo appears to be the top level. Not sure how they decide who goes where but it looks like Sligo had the county champions.
Post by: Too many steps on June 26, 2017, 05:20:05 PM
This is the first year I have heard of any County Feile champions being excluded - last year Div 1 Feile was won by Castleknock - who were the Dublin Feile winners.
Post by: whitey on June 26, 2017, 05:26:03 PM
That would probably explain why NY were beating everyone by 20-30 points.

Mayo Champions, Castlebar ran them to within 6 points, but they themselves had hammered everyone in the group stages
Post by: Too many steps on June 26, 2017, 05:37:19 PM
Mission accomplished then - new winner - I just hope they weren't taking it more seriously that the teams in Sligo  :P
Post by: saffronandblue on June 26, 2017, 06:07:48 PM
The D1 Feile as won by New York had 16 teams. 8 local teams and 8 invited teams such as Portlaoise, Castlebar, New York etc. The invited teams probably won their local Feile. As only 8 counties were invited into D1, then the other counties not included had teams invited to participate in D2, D3.....D10 etc. Next year Mayo reps might be in D2 or D3.  There are a number of regional Feiles for clubs that missed out or were not invited. It's not an all-Ireland title, but in a child's head the main Feile is Number 1, even if it doesn't have all of the best teams competing.
Post by: Zulu on June 26, 2017, 06:09:06 PM
That's right, Castleknock won it last year but it's definitely not like it was, i.e. the 32 feile champions in the main tournament. As far as I know there are regional feile competitions to cater for the best teams but it's a mystery how they decide who goes where and what division you get in the main feile. Still a great competition though.
Post by: Too many steps on June 26, 2017, 06:33:48 PM
Quote from: saffronandblue on June 26, 2017, 06:07:48 PM
It's not an all-Ireland title, but in a child's head the main Feile is Number 1, even if it doesn't have all of the best teams competing.

True which is why my son wasn't happy to be told that if they won they county feile (which they did) that they wouldn't be going to the main feile.

This is sport after all, and sport is the ultimate meritocracy- if you're the best you should qualify for the main competition no matter what some committe says.

This argument about some teams taking it too seriously doesn't hold water. Most of the teams take it seriously no matter what division they're in.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 26, 2017, 06:35:48 PM
there's no problem with kids taking it seriously

it's the adults that go completely overboard
Post by: Too many steps on June 27, 2017, 08:35:31 AM
To be fair to everyone in Sligo (the adults that is - mentors and fans/parents) their behaviour was excellent given that there were quite a few teams there with high ambitions and expectations. I didn't see one official have to speak to anyone who was outside the field of play.

Still don't agree with not sending the County feile winners to the main event - was trying to check back (is there a list of previous winners anywhere online?) and I think Down last won Div 1 in 2006 - couldn't find a recent Derry winner. Hardly dominant counties and that was the final in Sligo. Its also tough on the kids. Our boys have watched their older club mates, brothers, cousins, neighbouring parishes and school friends qualify by winning the county feile for years. They always knew that the had a fair chance of winning the county and when it came to it, the opportunity was taken away from them. They missed the craic and getting away for a whole weekend as much as the football itself.

Lastly on the comparison between the Sligo teams and NY in the main feile. I believe Ardboe played Burren recently in a friendly - they would probably also be familiar with Magherafelt seeing they are so close. Ardboe also played NY in the QF of Div1.

So is there anyone from Ardboe willing to give a comparison between Burren/Magherafelt and NY?
Post by: johnneycool on June 27, 2017, 09:11:24 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 26, 2017, 06:35:48 PM
there's no problem with kids taking it seriously

it's the adults that go completely overboard

Bang on the money.
Post by: whitey on June 28, 2017, 02:56:55 AM
Saw a great sight this morning off the highway on the way into Boston.....a gang of kids playing GAA in the Pope John Paul II park....looked like some sort of camp was going on
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 28, 2017, 08:44:43 AM
Quote from: Too many steps on June 27, 2017, 08:35:31 AM
To be fair to everyone in Sligo (the adults that is - mentors and fans/parents) their behaviour was excellent given that there were quite a few teams there with high ambitions and expectations. I didn't see one official have to speak to anyone who was outside the field of play.

Still don't agree with not sending the County feile winners to the main event - was trying to check back (is there a list of previous winners anywhere online?) and I think Down last won Div 1 in 2006 - couldn't find a recent Derry winner. Hardly dominant counties and that was the final in Sligo. Its also tough on the kids. Our boys have watched their older club mates, brothers, cousins, neighbouring parishes and school friends qualify by winning the county feile for years. They always knew that the had a fair chance of winning the county and when it came to it, the opportunity was taken away from them. They missed the craic and getting away for a whole weekend as much as the football itself.

Lastly on the comparison between the Sligo teams and NY in the main feile. I believe Ardboe played Burren recently in a friendly - they would probably also be familiar with Magherafelt seeing they are so close. Ardboe also played NY in the QF of Div1.

So is there anyone from Ardboe willing to give a comparison between Burren/Magherafelt and NY?
the same few clubs win the county Feile all the time so it was the same clubs going to Feile.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 28, 2017, 09:17:59 AM
Quote from: Too many steps on June 27, 2017, 08:35:31 AM

Lastly on the comparison between the Sligo teams and NY in the main feile. I believe Ardboe played Burren recently in a friendly - they would probably also be familiar with Magherafelt seeing they are so close. Ardboe also played NY in the QF of Div1. I'd be very surprised if Ardboe had a stronger side than Magherafelt.

Derry clubs have a pretty decent record in the Feile Div1 - possibly the top Ulster county? Ballinderry won back to back in the 90's. Magherafelt won it in 2007 and Glen and Slaughtneil have performed well more recently. I think the Dublin clubs may have won it 5-6 years in a row there prior to Burren winning it.
Post by: rosnarun on June 28, 2017, 10:41:07 AM
I heard one the reasons for the changes was some of the AIG-Dublin teams used to stay in training camps rather than host families . the aim is the competition is meant to be fun rather than all all-ireland u-14 championship
Post by: johnneycool on June 28, 2017, 10:45:52 AM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 28, 2017, 10:41:07 AM
I heard one the reasons for the changes was some of the AIG-Dublin teams used to stay in training camps rather than host families . the aim is the competition is meant to be fun rather than all all-ireland u-14 championship

Dublin teams aren't the only ones who've been at that nonsense.

FFS back years ago, some of the Cork hurling teams were accused of bringing 20 odd other youngsters up on the Sunday morning to take part in the parade rather than their real team who would have been playing in the final later on that day and that was back in the 80's.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 28, 2017, 11:04:14 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 28, 2017, 10:45:52 AM

FFS back years ago, some of the Cork hurling teams were accused of bringing 20 odd other youngsters up on the Sunday morning to take part in the parade rather than their real team who would have been playing in the final later on that day and that was back in the 80's.

Is the parade usually not before? Like the Friday?
Post by: johnneycool on June 28, 2017, 11:28:09 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 28, 2017, 11:04:14 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 28, 2017, 10:45:52 AM

Is the parade usually not before? Like the Friday?
It used to be on the Sunday morning before the finals with a bit of mass thrown in.

I'm talking way back and the hurling Feile.
Post by: you take er! on June 28, 2017, 12:54:39 PM
To be honest i've lost faith in the Feile. We have a hurling club in our town who go to the Feile EVERY year whether they win the county Feile or not (in fact 3 clubs from the county went this year) I assume this is in order to 'promote' hurling in weaker counties. As a football club we have our training and games disrupted EVERY year in order to facilitate the hurlers going to the Feile, despite on occasion not having won the county Feile. This year however our club made it to the final of the county football Feile - this has only happened on a handful of occasions over the years. We lost out narrowly to the winners and as you would expect everyone in the club was very disappointed. This disappointment was compounded when we discovered that a neighbouring club were to enter the Feile as a 'host club' given there were not enough clubs to host in Monaghan. The club in question (and fair play to them by the way) were beaten in the first round of the Shield comp in the county yet got to go to the All-Ireland competition due to their Geographical location. I would have thought the county runners up (situated 3 miles away would have been next in line to enter as a host.
I am cross due to the effort that was put in by the lads and the opportunity missed for our lads- it seems that the powers that be hand pick who they want at times which is disappointing on those who are perhaps more deserving. In short I dont believe its a level playing field which would have you question why have young lads out training in all conditions from January to try to qualify?
Post by: bennydorano on June 28, 2017, 01:07:07 PM
http://www.gaa.ie/features/feature/exiles-excel-2017-john-west-feile-peil-nog/
Post by: Too many steps on June 28, 2017, 01:53:50 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 28, 2017, 01:07:07 PM
http://www.gaa.ie/features/feature/exiles-excel-2017-john-west-feile-peil-nog/

Interesting article - makes no mention of the fact that they engineered the feile to try and get a new winner.

So the opening paragraphs predicting the rise of NY as a club power may be a bit skewed - like the competition.
Post by: Hound on June 28, 2017, 02:19:47 PM
From a Dublin perspective, last year Castleknock won Dublin Div 1 and played National Div 1 Feile and won.

This year, Skerries Harps won Dublin Division 1, and they (along with runners-up Na Fianna) played in the Premier Regional Feile in Sligo, rather than the National Division 1. Apparently the 10 teams in this "Premier" competition were from counties that competed in the Div 1 National Feile last year. So looks like they are rotating it.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 28, 2017, 02:25:24 PM
Quote from: you take er! on June 28, 2017, 12:54:39 PM
To be honest i've lost faith in the Feile. We have a hurling club in our town who go to the Feile EVERY year whether they win the county Feile or not (in fact 3 clubs from the county went this year) I assume this is in order to 'promote' hurling in weaker counties. As a football club we have our training and games disrupted EVERY year in order to facilitate the hurlers going to the Feile, despite on occasion not having won the county Feile. This year however our club made it to the final of the county football Feile - this has only happened on a handful of occasions over the years. We lost out narrowly to the winners and as you would expect everyone in the club was very disappointed. This disappointment was compounded when we discovered that a neighbouring club were to enter the Feile as a 'host club' given there were not enough clubs to host in Monaghan. The club in question (and fair play to them by the way) were beaten in the first round of the Shield comp in the county yet got to go to the All-Ireland competition due to their Geographical location. I would have thought the county runners up (situated 3 miles away would have been next in line to enter as a host.
I am cross due to the effort that was put in by the lads and the opportunity missed for our lads- it seems that the powers that be hand pick who they want at times which is disappointing on those who are perhaps more deserving. In short I dont believe its a level playing field which would have you question why have young lads out training in all conditions from January to try to qualify?

You are absolutely correct in your assertion that your club, as Féile runners up, should have been next in line for a place. But, if I'm right in my assumption the club you refer to were entered into Division 10 and the team that beat you in the county final were entered into Division 1 so your club would be at least Division 2 standard at a minimum? Perhaps the only vacancy as a host club was at Division 10 thus ruling you out, and them in due to their geographical location?
Post by: you take er! on June 28, 2017, 02:39:49 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on June 28, 2017, 02:25:24 PM

You are absolutely correct in your assertion that your club, as Féile runners up, should have been next in line for a place. But, if I'm right in my assumption the club you refer to were entered into Division 10 and the team that beat you in the county final were entered into Division 1 so your club would be at least Division 2 standard at a minimum? Perhaps the only vacancy as a host club was at Division 10 thus ruling you out, and them in due to their geographical location?

Yes I did hear that this was the case, but the authorities don't seem to have a problem with putting a  teams in divisions for which they are too strong a la New York. There could have been re-jigging here and there i feel to have us in an appropriate division had they wanted to be fair and/or representative but it appears this is not a priority and anyone can be shoehorned in. Still not taking away from any of the young lads who took part im sure its something they enjoyed and will always remember.
Post by: johnneycool on June 28, 2017, 02:44:05 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on June 28, 2017, 02:25:24 PM

There may be a bit of that alright, but I know that in the hurling depending on the number of host clubs each county is allocated a number of slots. How those slots are filled is normally up to your own county board on how thats to be done presumably before the county feiles take place.

I know in Down hurling we'd three places to fill at the national Feile and for the fourth year in a row our lads got beat in the final only to see teams below them get a place in the national feile. That's the rules and we know them before we enter. I know there were allegations of teams deliberately throwing games to ensure they were going in a lesser division but you'd hope that's not the case.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 28, 2017, 03:16:37 PM
You take er! If it makes you feel any better, the same team lost out on a place in the Féile two years ago on a coin toss! Of course I was taking them at the time!
Post by: Too many steps on June 28, 2017, 04:36:49 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 28, 2017, 02:19:47 PM
From a Dublin perspective, last year Castleknock won Dublin Div 1 and played National Div 1 Feile and won.

This year, Skerries Harps won Dublin Division 1, and they (along with runners-up Na Fianna) played in the Premier Regional Feile in Sligo, rather than the National Division 1. Apparently the 10 teams in this "Premier" competition were from counties that competed in the Div 1 National Feile last year. So looks like they are rotating it.

Down Feile winners went to Div 3 last year (I think) - and lost every match (I think - definitely did't come back with a trophy).

So why were Burren excluded?
Post by: Too many steps on June 28, 2017, 04:45:31 PM
Quote from: you take er! on June 28, 2017, 02:39:49 PM

Yes I did hear that this was the case, but the authorities don't seem to have a problem with putting a  teams in divisions for which they are too strong a la New York.

It's not that NY were too strong. They just removed all the teams that would have provided them competition and put them in Sligo. Maybe they knew NY would be too strong for the rest and are trying to give GAA a boost across the pond.
Post by: Too many steps on June 28, 2017, 06:16:28 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 28, 2017, 05:25:13 PM
How can they know?

To be fair I don't think they Knew NY would be too strong, but they definitely wanted a different winner and engineered it that way.

I mean going on the Down form book in recent Feile you would say that Burren shouldn't have been on their radar, but they seemed to know enough about u14 teams in Ireland to clear a path for a new winner - whether they intended that to be NY we'll never know - but it's not beyond the realms of possibility.

It is after all a great boost for underage football over there to bring back the Div1 feile trophy. I am sure the NY contingent are blissfully unaware that the winners from the biggest counties were moved from their path.
Post by: Zulu on June 28, 2017, 09:30:37 PM
That's not true. I think everyone is aware of the situation and NY, in particular, have been very competitive in the higher divisions for some years now. I'm not sure of the general strength of NY clubs but there is probably an argument that NY should be represented by their club champions rather than an amalgamated team at this stage.
Post by: Too many steps on June 28, 2017, 10:15:25 PM
Quote from: Zulu on June 28, 2017, 09:30:37 PM
That's not true.

What isn't true?

All the winners of the top counties were moved to Sligo - that is an undeniable fact.

Now that you are saying that NY have been knocking on the door for years and haven't quite been able to make the breakthrough makes me even more suspicious.
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2017, 09:39:46 AM
Everyone knows the top teams have been removed from the main feile. That didn't just happen this year.
Post by: Too many steps on June 29, 2017, 10:58:57 AM
Quote from: Zulu on June 29, 2017, 09:39:46 AM
Everyone knows the top teams have been removed from the main feile. That didn't just happen this year.

When did it happen before?

Didn't happen last year - Dublin county Feile winner won Div 1.

Has never happened in Down to my knowledge (that winners of the county Feile were entered to a regional Feile instead of the main tournament).

I bet if I go back and research I'll find Dublin/Kerry/Kildare/Donegal teams contesting the final for the past 10 years at least - all of whom would have won their respective county Feile competitions.

There have been plenty of regional Feile competitions before, but these tended to be for runners up or beaten semi finalists of county competitions.
Post by: screenexile on June 29, 2017, 11:09:15 AM
Quote from: Too many steps on June 28, 2017, 04:45:31 PM
Quote from: you take er! on June 28, 2017, 02:39:49 PM

Yes I did hear that this was the case, but the authorities don't seem to have a problem with putting a  teams in divisions for which they are too strong a la New York.

It's not that NY were too strong. They just removed all the teams that would have provided them competition and put them in Sligo. Maybe they knew NY would be too strong for the rest and are trying to give GAA a boost across the pond.

Who are 'they'????

(https://media.giphy.com/media/7iNOMPvd3nG12/giphy.gif)
Post by: Hound on June 29, 2017, 11:56:02 AM
Quote from: Too many steps on June 28, 2017, 04:36:49 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 28, 2017, 02:19:47 PM

Down Feile winners went to Div 3 last year (I think) - and lost every match (I think - definitely did't come back with a trophy).

So why were Burren excluded?

I believe your wrong about Down being in Division 3 last year.

Ballyholland Harps represented Down at Divison 1 Feile last year. I presume they won the Down Feile?

The counties who were in Division 1 Feile 2016 were: Kerry, Dublin, Cork, Down, Derry, Donegal, Kildare and New York.

This year when Skerries Harps won Dublin and asked why they were going to the Premier rather than Division 1, they were told that teams from counties who competed in Division 1 in 2016 have to compete in the Premier competition in 2017. (New York must be an exception to that rule, which is probably reasonable enough, but still I presume the 2017 Division 1 was made up of Division 1 county champions in various other counties).

I presume they'll switch it again next year.
Note, 2016 was the first year they have implemented this new regime - as Zulu said, for a good few years they deliberately didnt have the top teams in it, but that's changed now.
Post by: you take er! on June 29, 2017, 12:08:38 PM
Quote from: Harold Disgracey on June 28, 2017, 03:16:37 PM
You take er! If it makes you feel any better, the same team lost out on a place in the Féile two years ago on a coin toss! Of course I was taking them at the time!
Certainly doesn't make me feel any better, That would be almost as hard to take! Tossing a coin to decide anything in sport is a disgrace. (bar what end you are playing from)
Post by: johnneycool on June 29, 2017, 12:19:58 PM

It happened in the Hurling Feile when Ulster hosted it and was the right decision IMO.

The feile winners from the top hurling counties (and Dublin  ;) ) played out a day blitz in thurles whilst various other teams who were hosted by clubs in Ulster for the weekend.

The hurling reverted back this year in Kilkenny/Wexford/Carlow with the big teams back in.
Post by: rosnarun on June 29, 2017, 12:33:47 PM
i think posters have to remember you talking about  U-14 and the feile is not meant to be all about winning , I cant see anything wrong with shaking things up every few years to stop a super 8 situation arising at such a young age
Post by: clonadmad on June 29, 2017, 12:46:04 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on June 29, 2017, 12:19:58 PM

It happened in the Hurling Feile when Ulster hosted it and was the right decision IMO.

The feile winners from the top hurling counties (and Dublin  ;) ) played out a day blitz in thurles whilst various other teams who were hosted by clubs in Ulster for the weekend.

The hurling reverted back this year in Kilkenny/Wexford/Carlow with the big teams back in.

And rightly so

Either it's a feile taking in all counties and all teams which is the correct thing to do or the GAA is upfront about and clear about it and has a 2 tier feile,which goes against the ethos of feile in the first place

Post by: Too many steps on June 29, 2017, 01:09:24 PM
Quote from: rosnarun on June 29, 2017, 12:33:47 PM
i think posters have to remember you talking about  U-14 and the feile is not meant to be all about winning , I cant see anything wrong with shaking things up every few years to stop a super 8 situation arising at such a young age

I'm not worried about winning the thing. As I said in an earlier post my son was more disappointed about missing the experience and getting away for a weekend with his mates than anything else.

Been At 3 county feile watched everyone else who won get to the main event. This is his last year and it gets taken away. Not very fair.
Post by: you take er! on June 29, 2017, 02:42:50 PM
Quote from: Too many steps on June 29, 2017, 01:09:24 PM

I'm not worried about winning the thing. As I said in an earlier post my son was more disappointed about missing the experience and getting away for a weekend with his mates than anything else.

Been At 3 county feile watched everyone else who won get to the main event. This is his last year and it gets taken away. Not very fair.
I absolutely concur 100% with this& it was my point as well
Post by: nrico2006 on June 29, 2017, 07:42:38 PM
Can someone summarise the situation in one post then? By the sounds of it, the feile has just became another competition in the GAA where teams are treated unfairly. I went to two feiles in a row as we were county championship and it was only the 32 teams plus hosts and UK sides. Simplest and fairest way to run it.
Post by: Zulu on June 29, 2017, 11:54:47 PM
How is it unfair? Too many teams were starting to treat feile like a club All Ireland title. It's a wonderful tournament now with far more teams able to experience the weekend than was the case years ago. You can't please everyone all the time.
Post by: Too many steps on June 30, 2017, 08:26:19 AM
Quote from: Zulu on June 29, 2017, 11:54:47 PM
How is it unfair? Too many teams were starting to treat feile like a club All Ireland title. It's a wonderful tournament now with far more teams able to experience the weekend than was the case years ago. You can't please everyone all the time.

If you're going to give out a trophy at the end and have a team stand behind a big banner proclaiming them All Ireland Div 1 Feile winners, then it will be taken seriously.

If you want it to be a festival of football - remove the trophy have every team in each division play each other once - have a group photo at the end and go home. (Like go games)

The boys will know who 'won' in their own heads - boys being boys will build their own mental league table.

It is sport after all and if there's a competition and a trophy there has to be a winner. If there has to be a winner teams will train for it.

And by the sound of some of the sit down protests etc. reported last weekend in Cavan - things were taken way more seriously at the main Feile than at the so called 'elite' feile in Sligo.

The unfairness comes from the sudden change of entry rules - as I said my son has been aware of Feile and what an event it is (outside of the football element) for several years and knew that his team had a good chance of qualifying (under the rules that existed in our county for the past several years). Then when they did they were told that they were not being entered.

Put yourself in his position and tell me that you would not perceive that situation to be unfair.
Post by: Zulu on June 30, 2017, 01:48:14 PM
Your son got to go to the regional feile didn't he? By all means make that a weekend event with host families too but the current feile is a wonderful experience and many many more kids get to experience it than happened years ago.
Post by: rosnarun on June 30, 2017, 04:07:10 PM
Quote from: you take er! on June 29, 2017, 02:42:50 PM
Quote from: Too many steps on June 29, 2017, 01:09:24 PM

I absolutely concur 100% with this& it was my point as well
its a feile (Festival) not a championship its aim is not to find the best u-14s in the country this was lost for a few years but they are trying to reclaim it .
from GAA.ie
A core aim of Féile is to promote a philosophy whereby every player has the opportunity to participate and play in their respective Féile tournament at a level commensurate to their age, skills and strengths.

Teams participating at the National Finals of John West Féile na nGael and John West Féile Peil na nÓg will be nominated by their County Bord na nÓg to represent their respective Counties.  Both Féile na nGael and Féile Peil na nÓg offer every team at the Under 14 age group an opportunity to participate in these festivals of Gaelic Games whether at County, Provincial, Regional or National level.