GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: ck on June 20, 2017, 01:33:21 PM

Title: Meath v Sligo, Sat July 1st - Pairc Tailteann, Navan, 6pm
Post by: ck on June 20, 2017, 01:33:21 PM
This is an intriguing battle. Meath will be favs for no other reason that they are Meath but I think they may get a surprise here. Sligo struggled over Antrim (7 subs and all!) but will be in better shape next time out IMO. I'm not happy with our Manager in Sligo and feel he's a bluffer of the highest order but he is a Kildare man and that will be no harm when it comes to preparing for our trip to Navan. Sligo by 2
Title: Re: Meath v Sligo, Sat July 1st - Pairc Tailteann, Navan, 6pm
Post by: thejuice on June 21, 2017, 12:18:44 PM
We have it in us to win though it depends a lot on the mood in the camp and also how Sligo approach the game. If Sligo pull men back or crowd the space between midfield and the half forwards we could be in for dogged time.
Post by: sligoman2 on June 22, 2017, 01:38:50 PM
Hopefully we will pick our best team to start this game.

A lot depends our our backs, very disappointed to concede 3 goals to Antrim but also delighted that we were able to score lots of good points.

Our midfield pairing seems to be coming along nicely but we need to stop conceding penalties and easy frees.  Meath would be big favorites but we always play better when underdogs. 

I would see McDonnell replacing the injured mchugh and Kyle cawley starting instead of Breheny.  Could be an interesting game.  Meath will be riled up after the drubbing they received last week.
Post by: Jinxy on June 22, 2017, 06:26:15 PM
Haven't seen too much of Sligo recently to be honest.
We'll need to put our best man-marker on Dessie Sloyan.
Post by: sligoman2 on June 22, 2017, 10:56:14 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 22, 2017, 06:26:15 PM
Would that be mick Lyons?
Post by: magpie seanie on June 23, 2017, 12:48:15 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on June 22, 2017, 10:56:14 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 22, 2017, 06:26:15 PM
Would that be mick Lyons?

Nah, Red Collier.
Post by: ck on June 23, 2017, 11:26:56 AM
Quote from: thejuice on June 21, 2017, 12:18:44 PM
We have it in us to win though it depends a lot on the mood in the camp and also how Sligo approach the game. If Sligo pull men back or crowd the space between midfield and the half forwards we could be in for dogged time.

I would expect Sligo to set up defensively. What's the mood in Meath? Surely the hammering yous took to Meath will have set players back?
Post by: Blowitupref on June 23, 2017, 11:41:32 AM
First ever championship meeting between the two? last league meeting was in 2013 in Div 3 where Meath came from 8 points down to beat Sligo 1-17 to 2-12

Teams that day.

MEATH: P O'Rourke; D Keogan, B Menton, C Young; B Lenehan, E Harrington, D Dalton; K Reilly, B Meade; D Larkin, C Ward, P Byrne; E Wallace, S Bray, M Newman.

Subs: G Reilly for Ward (31), C Gillespie for Harrington, P Gilsenan for Byrne (both h-t), B Farrell for Bray (46), J Sheridan for Wallace ((61).

SLIGO: P Greene; C Harrison, J Martyn, R Donovan; K Cawley, A McIntyre, B Curran; S Gilmartin, J Kilcullen; B Egan, F Quinn, S McManus; M Breheny, P Hughes, A Marren

Subs: J Clarke for Brehony (31), J Kelly for McManus (53), N Murphy for Quinn (66).

Meath haven't won a game in the qualifiers since their 0-11 to 0-10 win over Galway in 2011.
Since then Meath have lost to Kildare, Laois, Armagh, Derry and twice to Tyrone.
Post by: Jinxy on June 24, 2017, 12:13:53 PM
Will be watching our FB & HF lines with interest to see if we've learned anything from the Kildare game.
Keoghan can't be everywhere.
He's needed at centre-back, but we need someone else to drop back to cover the FB line as he is one of the few players we have that can get us up the field from a defensive position.
Mickey Burke did well enough on Kelly the last day but he hasn't enough football for centre back.
Reilly, O'Sullivan & O'Coileain should be the starting HF line.
Move Wallace into the FF line with McMahon & Lenihan to see if he can contribute there.
I'd imagine at a minimum Andy will expect everyone to work like dogs.
If that happens, we should come out on top by 5/6 points.
Post by: seafoid on June 24, 2017, 01:22:34 PM
Those Meath qualifier stats are shocking
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on June 24, 2017, 02:31:43 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 24, 2017, 12:13:53 PM
Will be watching our FB & HF lines with interest to see if we've learned anything from the Kildare game.
Keoghan can't be everywhere.
He's needed at centre-back, but we need someone else to drop back to cover the FB line as he is one of the few players we have that can get us up the field from a defensive position.
Mickey Burke did well enough on Kelly the last day but he hasn't enough football for centre back.
Reilly, O'Sullivan & O'Coileain should be the starting HF line.
Move Wallace into the FF line with McMahon & Lenihan to see if he can contribute there.
I'd imagine at a minimum Andy will expect everyone to work like dogs.
If that happens, we should come out on top by 5/6 points.

I think Wallace is finished as a footballer, he isn't even quick anymore.
Post by: thejuice on June 30, 2017, 08:26:08 AM
Meath (SFC v Sligo):

1 Paddy O'Rourke (Skryne)

2 Mickey Burke (Longwood)
3 Conor McGill (Ratoath)
4 Donnacha Tobin (Blackhall Gaels)

5 Padraic Harnan (Moynalvey)
6 Donal Keogan (Rathkenny)
7 Shane McEntee (St Peter's Dunboyne)

8 Bryan Menton (Donaghmore/Ashbourne)
9 Ronan Jones (St Peter's Dunboyne)

10 James Toher (Trim)
11 Cillian O'Sullivan (Moynalvey)
12 Ruairí Ó Coileáin (Navan O'Mahonys)

13 Graham Reilly (St Colmcille's) captain
14 Sean Tobin (Simonstown Gaels)
15 Donal Lenihan (St Peter's Dunboyne)

Two changes from the last day, Tobin and Ó Coileáin in for Wallace and McMahon. Glad that Jones is getting another start even though he didn't have a great game. Wondering what the thinking is behind having Menton, Jones and Toher on the field though. They struggled against Kildare and didn't get enough support on the breaks. We need another breaking ball winner and scrapper in there more than another rangy midfielder. Maybe if Paddy can get his kick outs sorted we will get a lot of marks but we certainly didn't  the last day.
Post by: sligoman2 on June 30, 2017, 12:27:50 PM
Sligo Team Devaney Donavan McDonnell Harrison Keelan Cawley Egan J Kelly McIntyre O'Connor Ewing Kyle Cawley Murphy Coen Hughes Marren

I think this is the correct team - lots of scoring forwards there, important that they are willing to defend as well as attack.

A lot on the shoulders of young O'connor in midfield- this is the best midfield we have had in a long time imo.
Should be an interesting game, I think we can give Meath a good challenge.
Post by: Hound on June 30, 2017, 12:31:08 PM
I think I remember Seanie saying that one of the Cawleys is good for popping up and getting a goal. Which one of them it is?
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 30, 2017, 01:31:21 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 30, 2017, 12:31:08 PM
I think I remember Seanie saying that one of the Cawleys is good for popping up and getting a goal. Which one of them it is?
Kyle who's listed at CHF, though Murphy should probably start there. He made a telling difference when coming on against Antrim but this obviously is a step up on that. At least McDonnell is back in even if has been enforced on Carew to do so.
Post by: Crete Boom on June 30, 2017, 02:22:17 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 30, 2017, 01:31:21 PM
Kyle who's listed at CHF, though Murphy should probably start there. He made a telling difference when coming on against Antrim but this obviously is a step up on that. At least McDonnell is back in even if has been enforced on Carew to do so.

Couldn't understand why McDonnell wasn't starting so far in the championship cause he is quality and showed this when he came on against us in Castlebar!!
Post by: Owenmoresider on June 30, 2017, 02:35:36 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on June 30, 2017, 02:22:17 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on June 30, 2017, 01:31:21 PM

Couldn't understand why McDonnell wasn't starting so far in the championship cause he is quality and showed this when he came on against us in Castlebar!!
You, me and the rest of Sligo probably. Missed out on the NY game due to exams but Carew sticking with that team thereafter was mind boggling, though entirely in keeping with his tenure to date.
Post by: Jinxy on June 30, 2017, 06:05:08 PM
Will many Sligonians head east tomorrow?
Post by: Syferus on June 30, 2017, 08:05:14 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 30, 2017, 06:05:08 PM

Depends on when Rovers are playing.
Post by: sligoman2 on July 01, 2017, 05:05:48 AM
Quote from: Syferus on June 30, 2017, 08:05:14 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 30, 2017, 06:05:08 PM

Depends on when Rovers are playing.
Hey syf
I don't think the question was directed at Roscommon headers but I suppose that never stoppped you before.
For me I won't be going because  I'm in New York - expecting a close game
Post by: Itchy on July 01, 2017, 10:40:23 AM
If Sligo had a more astute manager I'd put a few pound on them. Meath are totally over rated by the media which thinks that because they are Meath they should be favourites for games. I don't see a lot between these teams at all but I also think Carew is one of the GAAs greatest bluffers do home advantage may be enough for a narrow Meath win.
Post by: Jinxy on July 01, 2017, 02:21:51 PM
Should be a perfect evening for championship football.
Dry and cool.
Hoping for a 'backlash' from the Kildare game.
Post by: Cunny Funt on July 01, 2017, 02:41:49 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 01, 2017, 10:40:23 AM
If Sligo had a more astute manager I'd put a few pound on them. Meath are totally over rated by the media which thinks that because they are Meath they should be favourites for games. I don't see a lot between these teams at all but I also think Carew is one of the GAAs greatest bluffers do home advantage may be enough for a narrow Meath win.
Yes on paper Sligo have the team to win this game but with Carew on the line they will probably find a way to lose the game.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2017, 03:09:24 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on July 01, 2017, 02:41:49 PM
Yes on paper Sligo have the team to win this game but with Carew on the line they will probably find a way to lose the game.

Ye must be looking at different teams to the rest of us.
Post by: Itchy on July 01, 2017, 03:44:02 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 01, 2017, 03:09:24 PM

Could you not just feck off somewhere.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2017, 03:45:31 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 01, 2017, 03:44:02 PM

I'm curtious enough not to ask you the same.
Post by: Itchy on July 01, 2017, 03:51:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 01, 2017, 03:45:31 PM

Look Syphilis, your predictions of results in football is atrocious. I am not sure why you are always picking on Sligo but I am fairly sure its people like you who have everyones arse sickened about Roscommon. You are not courteous, you are cunteous.
Post by: Syferus on July 01, 2017, 04:28:48 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 01, 2017, 03:51:46 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 01, 2017, 03:45:31 PM

Look Syphilis, your predictions of results in football is atrocious. I am not sure why you are always picking on Sligo but I am fairly sure its people like you who have everyones arse sickened about Roscommon. You are not courteous, you are cunteous.

Playing the man rather than the ball means you lost all credibility before you hit Post. It's sad so many don't realise that. Learn to be a better person.
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2017, 04:39:54 PM
Meath at the moment are not "Meath".
"Meath" used to mean never beaten until the last kick of the ball.
The last qualifier Meath won was in 2011.
Sligo could beat them.

Post by: thejuice on July 01, 2017, 04:57:10 PM
I don't know why this thing persists of Meath playing to the end and never beaten. It's a cliche that has been perpetuated by lazy analysts and pundits both professional and amateur. That Meath team haven't been in existence since probably 2002-2003. We've changed as has the game itself much over the years since then too but nobody seems to judge us on our current merits.

If the mood in the camp is right I suspect we'll win it much like the Louth game this year. Well put up a good score but still be a shaky at the back. But it could easily go the other way too.
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2017, 05:14:15 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 01, 2017, 04:57:10 PM
I don't know why this thing persists of Meath playing to the end and never beaten. It's a cliche that has been perpetuated by lazy analysts and pundits both professional and amateur. That Meath team haven't been in existence since probably 2002-2003. We've changed as has the game itself much over the years since then too but nobody seems to judge us on our current merits.

If the mood in the camp is right I suspect we'll win it much like the Louth game this year. Well put up a good score but still be a shaky at the back. But it could easily go the other way too.
I don't think people pay attention to teams who lose more often than they win. Teams fall out of fashion. Fans drift away. Confidence levels hit the floor. It is only if they start winning again that things change 
Post by: Jinxy on July 01, 2017, 10:33:12 PM
Comfortably one of the most dispiriting games of football I have had the misfortune of attending.
I was in full agreement with the Sligo lads beside me who felt the worst possible outcome would be extra-time.
This was, in some ways, worse than the Kildare performance.
Against Kildare, it felt like they stopped us doing what we wanted to do.
This evening it felt like we either didn't know what we wanted to do, or we did, but we didn't know how to do it.
The atmosphere was that of a dead rubber league game as the crowd tried to figure out what exactly the point of all this lateral meandering was, as we went backwards to go sideways, sideways to go backwards and then eventually if we were lucky, sideways to go forward.
If Mickey Newman hadn't come on (why has he fallen so far out of favour again?) and steadied the ship with two vital frees, we could quite easily have lost this game.

Sligo were energetic and hard-working and kicked some nice scores, but the sight of every outfield player bar one jogging over and back (or just walking) in our half as we 'defended' a Sligo attack was thoroughly depressing.
I could not for the life of me understand why we pulled so many players back in the second half leaving one man up front on his own.
Then, when we tried to attack, for some reason that one man full-forward line would go charging out to the wing leaving us with no target inside.
At one stage I suggested we bring on Big Joe and stick him on the edge of the square, and the chap beside me inclined his head as if to say, 'I know you're joking, but that's actually not a bad idea'.

What's it all for, at the end of the day?
All the training, all the nutrition, all the 'sacrifices'?
What I saw this evening was a group of young men who were utterly confused and unable to figure out a way around the most basic defensive resistance.
They didn't look like they were enjoying themselves.
They didn't look like they relished the challenge.
To be honest, they looked like they would rather be somewhere else, with some exceptions.
Maybe that's a bit harsh as I know they put in a big effort all year round, but if this is the end result, is it actually worth it?
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2017, 10:51:23 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 01, 2017, 10:33:12 PM
Comfortably one of the most dispiriting games of football I have had the misfortune of attending.
I was in full agreement with the Sligo lads beside me who felt the worst possible outcome would be extra-time.
This evening it felt like we either didn't know what we wanted to do, or we did, but we didn't know how to do it.
The atmosphere was that of a dead rubber league game as the crowd tried to figure out what exactly the point of all this lateral meandering was, as we went backwards to go sideways, sideways to go backwards and then eventually if we were lucky, sideways to go forward.
If Mickey Newman hadn't come on (why has he fallen so far out of favour again?) and steadied the ship with two vital frees, we could quite easily have lost this game.

Sligo were energetic and hard-working and kicked some nice scores, but the sight of every outfield player bar one jogging over and back (or just walking) in our half as we 'defended' a Sligo attack was thoroughly depressing.
I could not for the life of me understand why we pulled so many players back in the second half leaving one man up front on his own.
Then, when we tried to attack, for some reason that one man full-forward line would go charging out to the wing leaving us with no target inside.
At one stage I suggested we bring on Big Joe and stick him on the edge of the square, and the chap beside me inclined his head as if to say, 'I know you're joking, but that's actually not a bad idea'.

What I saw this evening was a group of young men who were utterly confused and unable to figure out a way around the most basic defensive resistance.
To be honest, they looked like they would rather be somewhere else, with some exceptions.
Maybe that's a bit harsh as I know they put in a big effort all year round, but if this is the end result, is it actually worth it?

Sounds like Kildare v Westmeath/Wexford last year. McEntee like O'Neill is struggling with giving his team an identity too loose against Kildare too tight against Sligo, it will come but it won't be this year.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 01, 2017, 10:52:57 PM
A home game against Mayo would be the best thing possible for Meath. You would be guaranteed a big crowd and a proper championship atmosphere.
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 01, 2017, 10:55:25 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on July 01, 2017, 10:51:23 PM

Sounds like Kildare v Westmeath/Wexford last year. McEntee like O'Neill is struggling with giving his team an identity too loose against Kildare too tight against Sligo, it will come but it won't be this year.

The Offaly game in Newbridge was a big turning point last year, on paper there was nothing too impressive about it but Offaly were seriously fired up that day, there was a great atmosphere in Newbridge and the players enjoyed it and produced a good performance.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 02, 2017, 02:57:08 AM
Quote from: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on July 01, 2017, 10:52:57 PM
A home game against Mayo would be the best thing possible for Meath. You would be guaranteed a big crowd and a proper championship atmosphere.

Think you're right to be honest. Would be televised as well.
Post by: Hardy on July 02, 2017, 08:42:58 AM

Great post, Jinxy. Captures the mood.

Maybe there's a master plan. I don't know. Maybe even with a master plan we don't have the talent (though I don't believe that). Maybe I expect too much too soon. But this doesn't feel like progress.

One thing that I think is more than a maybe is that we don't have any leaders. Matty made a reference in the commentary to the senior players on the team - Reilly, Harnan, Keogan, etc. The thought occurred - are any of these men that other players would run through walls for, be it out of fear or respect? Where is the Gerry McEntee, the Mick Lyons, the Joe Cassells? We had three (feckit, six or seven) of those types on one team. I don't think we have one in the county now.
Post by: sligoman on July 02, 2017, 09:08:07 AM
That was a game we really left behind yesterday. Can't fault the commitment of the players who gave it their all but the game plan we had yesterday was just clueless.

I could understand Carew maybe wanting to show faith in the side that beat New York for the Mayo game but I can't for the life of me understand how McDonnell was then left on the bench for the next two matches.

Devaney being the no. 1 keeper throughout his tenure is gone past a joke at the minute.

Yesterday was there for the taking for us as Meath were really that bad and we should have got that goal right at the end.

I would imagine that's the end of the road for Carew. Who are the likeliest candidates?

An ex player like O'Hara or Taylor?
Tommy Breheny back?
Or another outside manager?

If Pete McGrath was available I'd be happy for him to come in. We have some very promising players coming in now, O'Kelly Lynch had a brilliant game yesterday and with the likes of Cawley, O'Connor, Cummins, Breheny, McDonnell, Murphy etc there are some reasons to be a bit more optimistic in the future.
Post by: seafoid on July 02, 2017, 10:10:03 AM
Quote from: Hardy on July 02, 2017, 08:42:58 AM

Great post, Jinxy. Captures the mood.

Maybe there's a master plan. I don't know. Maybe even with a master plan we don't have the talent (though I don't believe that). Maybe I expect too much too soon. But this doesn't feel like progress.

One thing that I think is more than a maybe is that we don't have any leaders. Matty made a reference in the commentary to the senior players on the team - Reilly, Harnan, Keogan, etc. The thought occurred - are any of these men that other players would run through walls for, be it out of fear or respect? Where is the Gerry McEntee, the Mick Lyons, the Joe Cassells? We had three (feckit, six or seven) of those types on one team. I don't think we have one in the county now.

Hardy, Galway were in similar positions in hurling and football a few years ago. No leaders. No conviction. Experienced hurlers who wouldn't catch a ball. They kept on losing. Wexford and Antrim beat the footballers. You can't be a leader if you never win anything  At some stage you have to drop a lot of them and build a new team around young players who don't have the psychological baggage. And it takes time.
Post by: Mano on July 02, 2017, 11:15:00 AM
Quote from: sligoman on July 02, 2017, 09:08:07 AM
That was a game we really left behind yesterday. Can't fault the commitment of the players who gave it their all but the game plan we had yesterday was just clueless.

I could understand Carew maybe wanting to show faith in the side that beat New York for the Mayo game but I can't for the life of me understand how McDonnell was then left on the bench for the next two matches.

Devaney being the no. 1 keeper throughout his tenure is gone past a joke at the minute.

Yesterday was there for the taking for us as Meath were really that bad and we should have got that goal right at the end.

I would imagine that's the end of the road for Carew. Who are the likeliest candidates?

Tommy Breheny back?

If Pete McGrath was available I'd be happy for him to come in. We have some very promising players coming in now, O'Kelly Lynch had a brilliant game yesterday and with the likes of Cawley, O'Connor, Cummins, Breheny, McDonnell, Murphy etc there are some reasons to be a bit more optimistic in the future.
Agree on your comments with regard to McDonnell. It's a disgrace if he has sidelined him due to doing his final exams instead of travelling to New York  He should be one of the first names on the team sheet. Remember Cares also dropped him for the Tyrone game after the Connacht final disaster in 2015. It's time to get someone new in who picks on merit and not reputation.
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 03, 2017, 11:59:36 AM
Quote from: Mano on July 02, 2017, 11:15:00 AM

Tommy Breheny back?

Agree on your comments with regard to McDonnell. It's a disgrace if he has sidelined him due to doing his final exams instead of travelling to New York  He should be one of the first names on the team sheet. Remember Cares also dropped him for the Tyrone game after the Connacht final disaster in 2015. It's time to get someone new in who picks on merit and not reputation.
Would agree with all of that. A hugely frustrating game, especially as Meath were dire and were there for the taking if we had properly went for it. Not sure who would be the right man or more importantly who'd be interested, but Carew's had three years now and there's absolutely nothing to show for it, time to go before he does any more damage, his dropping of McDonnell and Cawley, having named them in the starting 15, again was bizarre, and then persisting with bringing in subs who it's been clear for some time are not up to IC standard, when the tide was against us and we needed someone to make a difference. There's a decent group of players there to work with, and hopefully a few more coming through from the U21's, if they were coached and managed properly, so all the more vital that the right man is in charge to make the most out of what's there. On a similar note, we might well have seen the last of Harrison, Donovan and Mark Breheny, fine servants over many years and they will be missed.
Post by: seafoid on July 03, 2017, 01:31:26 PM
I dont understand Sligo
They turned on Kevin Walsh in the name of excellence ,including a rant for the ages by Eamon O Hara. And replaced him withCarew. Who is mediocre at best. Would O'Hara take over now for the excellence?
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 03, 2017, 02:07:14 PM
Quote from: seafoid on July 03, 2017, 01:31:26 PM
I dont understand Sligo
They turned on Kevin Walsh in the name of excellence ,including a rant for the ages by Eamon O Hara. And replaced him withCarew. Who is mediocre at best. Would O'Hara take over now for the excellence?
Pat Flanagan did a year inbetween the two in 2014, which was so-so. O'Hara does have a county title claimed with Tourlestrane and ought to add another this year, which would be historic in Sligo terms, hard to judge how he would go if he went for it but there's surely worse options out there.

His rant against Walsh might have had a certain hint of sour grapes but anyone who observed our 2013 season up to that embarrassment in Ruislip would have thought he wasn't far wrong.
Post by: Syferus on July 03, 2017, 02:17:47 PM
The moment Walsh started sniffing after the Ros job while still in the job in Sligo his goose was cooked. We'll see about how good Walsh really is in Galway soon enough. Flattering to deceive would be the best way to describe his time in Sligo.
Post by: Declan on July 03, 2017, 03:24:13 PM
QuoteMaybe there's a master plan. I don't know. Maybe even with a master plan we don't have the talent (though I don't believe that). Maybe I expect too much too soon. But this doesn't feel like progress.

From watching lots of league and championship club games within the county I have to say there is a severe lack of talent available to McEntee at the moment
Post by: Jinxy on July 03, 2017, 06:24:16 PM
We could make up for a lack of talent to some extent if we had enough players with the necessary athletic ability, but we're still physically miles off the top teams.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 03, 2017, 10:37:27 PM

Tommy Breheny back?

I'm glad you've finally seen what lots of us have seen for a long, long time now. Good for you.

You whole post was excellent. It has just got so depressing and predictable. Meath were awful and we should have been able to beat them which would be something for us to build on. Hopefully Carew is jettisoned but I've said that at this time the last few years and he has been retained. He's not the only problem but I dare say he's the easiest and most cost effective to fix. The annoyance is in that like all the other Sligo voters I think we're getting the makings of a decent side together and underperforming.

I'd be awful tempted to put in O'Hara or Taylor. Don't think either would be worried about making the hard decisions required and could mix the hard disciplinarian with the oft required hand around the shoulder. They're not managing long but I really think we need a Sligo man back at the helm, taking responsibility.
Post by: Itchy on July 03, 2017, 10:41:17 PM
I dont understand Sligo

Do ye think Walsh is the messiah down there in Galway. I wouldn't be so sure. After all he was at the helm when Tipp blasted ye last year. I've a suspicion Ros will win at the weekend.
Post by: magpie seanie on July 03, 2017, 10:45:23 PM
Quote from: Itchy on July 03, 2017, 10:41:17 PM
I dont understand Sligo

Do ye think Walsh is the messiah down there in Galway. I wouldn't be so sure. After all he was at the helm when Tipp blasted ye last year. I've a suspicion Ros will win at the weekend.

Yeah. Mayo were woeful and Galway struggled to get by them. Walsh is not a good manager. I was proud of O'Hara for calling out the shite that was going on.

Seafoid - should we not aspire to great things because we haven't won lots in the past? Walsh was a great, great player but he was not doing a good job at that time in Sligo.....in fact for most of his time.