Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: DrinkingHarp on June 13, 2017, 07:36:29 PM

Title: US Open 2017
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 13, 2017, 07:36:29 PM
The weather will play a factor this weekend as they are calling for storms on Friday and Sunday throughout those days.

Top three should be Hideki, Rory and Henrik with Hideki winning by 3-4. 25 ea to win.

Looking at the odds throughout the field I am throwing 10 each on the following to win for best ROI.

Koepka         40-1
Duffner         50-1
Horschel       65-1
Snedeker      80-1
Niebrugge   275-1

Title: Re: US Open 2017
Post by: stew on June 13, 2017, 11:58:21 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on June 13, 2017, 07:36:29 PM
The weather will play a factor this weekend as they are calling for storms on Friday and Sunday throughout those days.

Top three should be Hideki, Rory and Henrik with Hideki winning by 3-4. 25 ea to win.

Looking at the odds throughout the field I am throwing 10 each on the following to win for best ROI.

Koepka         40-1
Duffner         50-1
Horschel       65-1
Snedeker      80-1
Niebrugge   275-1

I will pick my tenner bets the morra. Hitting it straight and long is a premium however putting is king at tge us open so my money will not be anywhere Rory.

Post by: Boycey on June 14, 2017, 03:09:39 PM
Quote from: stew on June 13, 2017, 11:58:21 PM

Koepka         40-1
Duffner         50-1
Horschel       65-1
Snedeker      80-1
Niebrugge   275-1

I will pick my tenner bets the morra. Hitting it straight and long is a premium however putting is king at tge us open so my money will not be anywhere Rory.

This is the same Rory that has won the US Open before like?
Post by: Minder on June 14, 2017, 03:11:21 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 14, 2017, 03:09:39 PM

Koepka         40-1
Duffner         50-1
Horschel       65-1
Snedeker      80-1
Niebrugge   275-1

In fairness those conditions where not normal US Open conditions, Congressional was wet and like a dartboard that week.
Post by: Boycey on June 14, 2017, 03:16:07 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 14, 2017, 03:11:21 PM

Koepka         40-1
Duffner         50-1
Horschel       65-1
Snedeker      80-1
Niebrugge   275-1

In fairness those conditions where not normal US Open conditions, Congressional was wet and like a dartboard that week.

Ah I was being flippant, the notion that he can't putt is a load of bollix mind..

He did win that week by a cricket score so nobody else noticed it was dartboard like
Post by: Keyser soze on June 14, 2017, 03:18:01 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 14, 2017, 03:16:07 PM

Koepka         40-1
Duffner         50-1
Horschel       65-1
Snedeker      80-1
Niebrugge   275-1

Ah I was being flippant, the notion that he can't putt is a load of bollix mind..

He did win that week by a cricket score so nobody else noticed it was dartboard like

Jeez how many sports can this guy play  ;)
Post by: screenexile on June 14, 2017, 03:33:02 PM

Koepka         40-1
Duffner         50-1
Horschel       65-1
Snedeker      80-1
Niebrugge   275-1

In fairness his putting stats are well down the pecking order among the top players. A lack of competitive golf and his changing putter AGAIN is making me stay away from him. Hard to look past DJ but John Rahm definitely worth a shout!
Post by: Boycey on June 14, 2017, 03:39:09 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 14, 2017, 03:33:02 PM

Koepka         40-1
Duffner         50-1
Horschel       65-1
Snedeker      80-1
Niebrugge   275-1

In fairness his putting stats are well down the pecking order among the top players. A lack of competitive golf and his changing putter AGAIN is making me stay away from him. Hard to look past DJ but John Rahm definitely worth a shout!

His winning stats ain't too bad...

He's a streaky putter but if you drive like he does and play iron shots like he does you will give yourself plenty of chances to win. I won't be backing him this week as he's got to be undercooked with so little golf this year.
Post by: Puckoon on June 14, 2017, 05:14:05 PM
That's the best way to describe him - his putting is streaky. Hard to bet on a putter that's so up and down. Remember - guys don't change putters when they are putting well...
Post by: stiffler on June 14, 2017, 05:50:17 PM
Sticking with fowler until he wins a major 20-1.
Post by: thewobbler on June 14, 2017, 06:01:59 PM
DJ just had wain and only arrived at the course last night.

He might have become an in the zone machine the past year or two, but I doubt his head will be in the right place.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 14, 2017, 10:56:09 PM
Went for Johnston Rahman Lowry and Scott
Post by: laoislad on June 15, 2017, 06:49:45 AM
Quote from: stiffler on June 14, 2017, 05:50:17 PM
Sticking with fowler until he wins a major 20-1.
Hope you aren't waiting as long as I was for Garcia !
Post by: Gmac on June 15, 2017, 07:59:06 AM
Thomas pieters or  stenson for someone outside the favs
Post by: stew on June 15, 2017, 09:15:02 AM

Koepka         40-1
Duffner         50-1
Horschel       65-1
Snedeker      80-1
Niebrugge   275-1

Not the same Rory, that Rory was up among the best putters in the world at the time he won his US Open, so no, to answer your question, this is not the same Rory!

I hope he wins it but no money will be going on him from my pocket.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 15, 2017, 03:23:19 PM
Horschel starts of with 9 on his first hole.

Paul Dunne -1 through 6.

Gooch leading so far at -2,  that is Talor Gooch from Oklahoma.

It will be a windy day later.
Post by: Boycey on June 15, 2017, 03:24:19 PM
Quote from: stew on June 15, 2017, 09:15:02 AM

Koepka         40-1
Duffner         50-1
Horschel       65-1
Snedeker      80-1
Niebrugge   275-1

Not the same Rory, that Rory was up among the best putters in the world at the time he won his US Open, so no, to answer your question, this is not the same Rory!

Ok then you think the current world no 2 can't putt??
Post by: screenexile on June 15, 2017, 03:28:37 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 15, 2017, 03:24:19 PM
Quote from: stew on June 15, 2017, 09:15:02 AM

Koepka         40-1
Duffner         50-1
Horschel       65-1
Snedeker      80-1
Niebrugge   275-1

Ok then you think the current world no 2 can't putt??

The current Masters Champion can't putt and either can Lee Westwood. If these lads win they generally have an OK day with the putter compared to a Spieth or a Jason Day!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 16, 2017, 09:08:06 AM
Rickie Bobby looked good yesterday but can he stay out of the rough the next three rounds?

After watching the highlights last night I think it will come down to Snedeker, Koepka, Fleetwood, Sergio and Westwood.
Post by: Orior on June 16, 2017, 09:44:30 AM
Rory's balance upset his swing yesterday. Possibly caused by extra weight down his left side. Actually his left arm. Specifically, his left hand.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on June 16, 2017, 10:31:27 AM
I think Rory needs to just shut up as his foot in mouth syndrome kicks in again. He was slagging off the USGA for cutting the rough

Wednesday - "if you cant land the ball in 60yards of fairway you shouldn't be out here"

Thursday - He was in that rough 5 times! (The rough that has been cut back making the fairways and light rough even wider)!!!!!!!
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on June 16, 2017, 10:46:23 AM
You would wonder what input JP is permitted with Rory - there were a number of times last night when he should have hit 3 wood off the tee and worked to keep himself in the tournament when he was struggling so much with the new driver.

Also, you just cant rock up to a major and expect to perform when you have as little golf played YTD as Rory - its a different game when you have a card in your arse pocket!
Post by: screenexile on June 16, 2017, 11:01:50 AM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on June 16, 2017, 10:46:23 AM
You would wonder what input JP is permitted with Rory - there were a number of times last night when he should have hit 3 wood off the tee and worked to keep himself in the tournament when he was struggling so much with the new driver.

Also, you just cant rock up to a major and expect to perform when you have as little golf played YTD as Rory - its a different game when you have a card in your arse pocket!

In that case I wouldn't think it's the caddy has much of an influence Rory hits his driver when he can and I don't think JP has much of  a say in that. Also I think tee shots for par 4s and 5s would have been decided beforehand unless significant wind would change their decision.

Not a good start from Rory as most expected but he's still capable of going out today and getting himself above the cut line and then anything can happen over a weekend. Daniel Berger as well won last week and has the same score as Rory.

Ricky in control of his driver is a formidable prospect especially the way he putts!
Post by: Orior on June 16, 2017, 11:33:12 AM
Quote from: GaillimhIarthair on June 16, 2017, 10:46:23 AM

Rory was driving so badly that on the shortish 15th hole he decided to take a 3-wood for safety. He put it in the rough.

JP is a yes man.
Post by: screenexile on June 16, 2017, 12:21:54 PM
Pin positions for today . . . Ricky would seem to have angered the USGA!!

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DCcCj4WWsAAceYx.jpg)
Post by: laoislad on June 16, 2017, 02:16:32 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on June 16, 2017, 10:31:27 AM
I think Rory needs to just shut up as his foot in mouth syndrome kicks in again. He was slagging off the USGA for cutting the rough

Wednesday - "if you cant land the ball in 60yards of fairway you shouldn't be out here"

Thursday - He was in that rough 5 times! (The rough that has been cut back making the fairways and light rough even wider)!!!!!!!

Lolz  ;D
Post by: lurganblue on June 16, 2017, 04:24:23 PM
Quote from: laoislad on June 16, 2017, 02:16:32 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on June 16, 2017, 10:31:27 AM

Lolz  ;D

Cert. Most likely wont even make the cut now
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 16, 2017, 07:55:23 PM
Himself and Day both gone
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on June 17, 2017, 10:25:28 AM
Rory handbags with Ellington on twitter. Ellington a bit of a dick but Rory then comes across as an even bigger dick. Like I said he just needs to shut up but he can't help himself the twit.
Post by: Boycey on June 17, 2017, 11:38:10 AM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on June 17, 2017, 10:25:28 AM
Rory handbags with Ellington on twitter. Ellington a bit of a dick but Rory then comes across as an even bigger dick. Like I said he just needs to shut up but he can't help himself the twit.

Why should he shut up, good to see a guy standing up for himself
Post by: Rois on June 17, 2017, 11:50:48 AM
Quote from: Boycey on June 17, 2017, 11:38:10 AM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on June 17, 2017, 10:25:28 AM

Why should he shut up, good to see a guy standing up for himself
Agreed, Elkington had three different tweets about Rory in quick succession. Rory's only human!
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on June 17, 2017, 12:34:26 PM
Sorry but the 200 million remark didn't come across at all well also when he starts slagging the guys spelling then you know he has lost the argument.
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on June 17, 2017, 12:36:23 PM
Should have handled it better - seems to be running theme with our Rory
Post by: Boycey on June 17, 2017, 01:02:08 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on June 17, 2017, 12:34:26 PM
Sorry but the 200 million remark didn't come across at all well also when he starts slagging the guys spelling then you know he has lost the argument.

Rory'Wikipedia page wins any argument for me  ;D

Social media has given everybody an opinion, people like Rory should have the same right of reply as me or you. You can guarantee that Elk wouldn't have said it to him face to face
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on June 17, 2017, 01:26:10 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 17, 2017, 01:02:08 PM

Social media has given everybody an opinion, people like Rory should have the same right of reply as me or you. You can guarantee that Elk wouldn't have said it to him face to face

Of course he can defend himself unfortunately he seems to be do it the wrong way. His record is awesome but it probably should be a lot better considering his raw talent and I think that's why he gets a lot of stick which he should almost take as a compliment in a weird way because others are disappointed he isn't living up to the next Tiger. Elkington although not in McIlroys league wasn't too shabby himself
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 17, 2017, 06:59:35 PM
Elkington is better off ignored. Mentioning money makes Rory look like a bigger bellend than he already is. 
Post by: Minder on June 17, 2017, 08:58:41 PM
Quote from: JPGJOHNNYG on June 17, 2017, 01:26:10 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 17, 2017, 01:02:08 PM

Of course he can defend himself unfortunately he seems to be do it the wrong way. His record is awesome but it probably should be a lot better considering his raw talent and I think that's why he gets a lot of stick which he should almost take as a compliment in a weird way because others are disappointed he isn't living up to the next Tiger. Elkington although not in McIlroys league wasn't too shabby himself

Saw some ridiculous stat earlier that Tiger went 8 years without missing a cut.
Post by: laoislad on June 17, 2017, 09:08:44 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 17, 2017, 06:59:35 PM
Elkington is better off ignored. Mentioning money makes Rory look like a bigger bellend than he already is.
Careful now. You aren't allowed to say mean things about our Rors..
Post by: The Raven on June 17, 2017, 10:58:34 PM
Is it just me or is Sarah looking well tonight. Looks like a bit of a makeover
Post by: Orior on June 17, 2017, 11:06:59 PM
Quote from: The Raven on June 17, 2017, 10:58:34 PM
Is it just me or is Sarah looking well tonight. Looks like a bit of a makeover

Plenty of hair on top - always looks well.
Post by: Puckoon on June 18, 2017, 04:25:13 AM

Sorry, but you're wrong. He's got every right to fight fire with fire.
Post by: Orior on June 18, 2017, 09:18:17 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 18, 2017, 04:25:13 AM

Sorry, but you're wrong. He's got every right to fight fire with fire.

He has every right, but he needs to learn diplomacy, and just not reply to such taunts. Achieving a twitter slam dunk won't win any more majors.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 19, 2017, 01:40:35 AM
Nice payout tonight backing Brooks at 40-1 ;)

Post by: stew on June 19, 2017, 07:49:00 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on June 19, 2017, 01:40:35 AM

The man hit a three wood at 18 over three hundred and fifty yards, amazing.

That course was neutered, McIlroy was 100 percent correct to complain, ten under would have won any other us Open bar the one in 2011 when Rory won at 16 under, they neutered this course to accommodate the egos of the players and they detracted from the tournament somewhat as a result.

Brilliant win for Koepka, he is one cool customer, I think the yanks are going to own us for a while in the Ryder Cup, they are scary good.
Post by: Orior on June 19, 2017, 09:46:32 AM
Quote from: stew on June 19, 2017, 07:49:00 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on June 19, 2017, 01:40:35 AM

The man hit a three wood at 18 over three hundred and fifty yards, amazing.

That course was neutered, McIlroy was 100 percent correct to complain, ten under would have won any other us Open bar the one in 2011 when Rory won at 16 under, they neutered this course to accommodate the egos of the players and they detracted from the tournament somewhat as a result.

Brilliant win for Koepka, he is one cool customer, I think the yanks are going to own us for a while in the Ryder Cup, they are scary good.

Plus, he had an Irishman Ricky Elliott caddying for him.
Post by: Minder on June 19, 2017, 12:31:47 PM
You would think Koepka won't be a one hit wonder
Post by: Puckoon on June 19, 2017, 04:35:06 PM
Fair play to him, I went on record with a friend on Wednesday saying that I didn't think he had a major in him. Boy was I wrong!
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 19, 2017, 11:29:13 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 19, 2017, 12:31:47 PM
You would think Koepka won't be a one hit wonder

A Danny Willet special?