GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: AN other on May 08, 2007, 09:42:12 PM

Title: Leinster SFC Westmeath V Longford
Post by: AN other on May 08, 2007, 09:42:12 PM
Having aquired my ticket for this championsip opener I feel it is time to start this one, starting with asking any of the Longford posters do they know where section P is in the ground???

Nationally, this isn't a high profile game, but I don't think anybody from Westmeath or Longford is expecting anything but a fast and furious, high tempo game.
If Westmeath can produce some of their earlier league form I expect us to win this one, but also feel it is equally as likely that we will see a game of similar nature to the Louth one in Dundalk in March.
O'Flaherta's team could make for interesting reading. For me, if both fully fit, it should be Flanagan and O'Shaughnessey in the middle, with Healy playing in the half back line. The other 5 defenders virtually pick themselves, i.e. Keane, Ennis, Boyle, Heavin and O'Donoghue. Connaughton in goals, of course...
It's a bit of a cliche, but.... this game is likely to be won and lost on the performance of Dolan if fit. From my recollection (I'm open to correction) Pearse Park is tight enough and won't suit the likes of Glennon, Connellon, Mangan and Wilson, who are all likely to feature in attact at some stage. Although Dempsey's teams do have a habit of being a bit pourous... I imagine I will be happy enough with O'Flaherta's team as long as I don't see John Smyth on the starting 15...
Title: Re: Leinster SFC Longford v Westmeath
Post by: The Real Laoislad on May 08, 2007, 10:22:21 PM
I have a big interest in the outcome of this match as the winners play Laois
Longford had a great championship last year and Westmeath getting to the All Ireland 1/4 will always remain a mystery to me
This Westmeath started on fire but went out of the League campaign tame enough in the end
It's hard to call it too be honest but sticking my neck on the line im gonna go with  Longford to win
Post by: LaurelEye on May 08, 2007, 10:34:07 PM
Quote from: AN other
Having aquired my ticket for this championsip opener I feel it is time to start this one, starting with asking any of the Longford posters do they know where section P is in the ground???

If it's a €20 ticket, then it's somewhere in the stand. It's not that big so I wouldn't worry about getting lost  ;D
Post by: Billys Boots on May 09, 2007, 10:03:41 AM
The P-section used to be in the bushes at the back of the stand, but we have full WC facilities now.  :)
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 09, 2007, 10:20:58 AM
this game is on the telly
should be good
Think Longford have the edge - though heard they were not going so well in challenges recently

Looking forward to this.
Post by: Hardy on May 09, 2007, 10:23:16 AM
Excuse the laziness, but can anyone find the RTÉ schedule of televised games that was posted here a while ago?
Post by: turk on May 09, 2007, 10:41:08 AM
This could potentially be an excellent kick off to the championship! I am looking forward to it
Post by: gerrykeegan on May 09, 2007, 11:43:11 AM
Very worried about this one. I think Luke has a point to prove and will have The Slashers really fired up.I will have the Sky plus set to record any controversial incidents. Any word on Dessie's injury. Billy how long door to door Dublin to Longford?
Post by: Billys Boots on May 09, 2007, 11:52:15 AM
QuoteBilly how long door to door Dublin to Longford?

On a 'normal day' if you go through the toll-bridge, you should make Longford in 70-80 mins from then.  Last year, the Jackeen experience meant that there were significant delays from Edgerstown, and throw-in was delayed by 15 mins (I think).  I don't know how ticket sales are going (Laureleye???), but I'd imagine there won't be a 15,000 attendance on Sunday.

Short answer, give yerself 2 hours from the toll-bridge, but don't blame me if you're late.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on May 09, 2007, 12:42:43 PM
Come on Dessie Dolan. Give me another Leinster before I am 40.

This is for you Dessie http://dessie%20dolan.youaremighty.com/ (http://dessie%20dolan.youaremighty.com/)

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 09, 2007, 12:52:29 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on May 08, 2007, 10:22:21 PMLongford had a great championship last year and Westmeath getting to the All Ireland 1/4 will always remain a mystery to me

How so?

From Hoganstand:

Longford v Westmeath

They meet for the first time in the Leinster championship since 1999 in what will be their 24th meeting overall. Longford lead 12-8 with three draws. Westmeath finished fifth in Division 1B of this year's NFL, winning three and losing four of seven games. Longford finished third in Division 2B winning three, losing three and drawing one of their seven games. The winners will play Laois on June 2.

Last 10 SFC Clashes - Longford 6 Westmeath 4

1999  Westmeath         3-17        Longford         2-9
1998  Westmeath        3-14        Longford         1-13
1990  Longford         0-15        Westmeath         0-7
1988  Longford        1-11        Westmeath        0-7
1981  Westmeath         3-10         Longford         1-10
1964  Westmeath        0-12        Longford         0-8
1963  Longford         3-8         Westmeath         1-6
1961  Longford         3-10         Westmeath         0-8
1959  Longford         4-3        Westmeath         0-10
1957  Longford         1-10         Westmeath         0-6 (replay)

Last years matches
Longford - Played 5, Won 3 Lost 2.

Dublin         1-12         Longford         0-13 (Leinster quarter-final)
Longford         1-16         Waterford         1-9   (Round 1 qualifier)
Longford         1-23         Waterford         1-10 (Round 2 qualifier)
Longford         1-16         Derry                 2-12 (Round 3 qualifier)
Kerry                 4-11         Longford         1-11 (Round 4 qualifier)

Westmeath - Played 6, Won 4, Lost 2.

Offaly                 0-15         Westmeath         0-11 (Leinster 1st round)
Westmeath         0-20         London         0-8 (Round 1 qualifier)
Westmeath         0-13         Limerick         1-9 (Round 2 qualifier)
Westmeath         1-12         Sligo                 0-14 (Round 3 qualifier)
Westmeath         1-8         Galway         0-10 (Round 4 qualifier)
Dublin         1-12         Westmeath         0-5 (All-Ireland quarter-final)

Shocking record against the Slashers, will have to put that right on Sunday. Hopefully our 1 to 9 outlined by AN above are fit and well along with Desmond. If so I'd have JK on Kavanagh and Nachie on Barden. It's good that the other Barden is available to play, correct decision made IMHO. I'd throw Gary Dolan and Bannon into the forwards to act as workhorses although Bannon would want to vastly improve on his last outing at wing forward.

I hope O'Flaherta has an impact sub waiting in the wings as I've a feeling we might need one...
Post by: Longfordian on May 09, 2007, 01:22:31 PM
the Slashers ????...... I presume thats a tongue in cheek remark ....as I take great offence being referred to as a townie !!!  :D
Post by: LaurelEye on May 09, 2007, 01:25:52 PM
Quote from: Billys BootsI don't know how ticket sales are going (Laureleye???), but I'd imagine there won't be a 15,000 attendance on Sunday.

According to ShannonShite, the stand is already sold out.

But that may be in case of rain being forecast.

Probable team now that The Clonguish One has been reprieved:

Sheridan; Brady, Masterson, DC Reilly; S Mulligan, Hannify, Dowd; Keenan, McElvaney; Smullen, P Barden, Berry; D Barden, K Mulligan, Kavanagh.
Post by: LaurelEye on May 09, 2007, 01:27:39 PM
Quote from: Longfordianthe Slashers ????...... I presume thats a tongue in cheek remark ....as I take great offence being referred to as a townie !!!  :D

Yis are now officially the second-biggest town in Longford, having passed out Granard.

Townies is what yis are :P
Post by: Billys Boots on May 09, 2007, 02:20:12 PM
I'm loathe to predict, as neither team has a run of form behind them, though there have been some enthralling contests in the recent past.  Recent meetings, to my eye, have been either: (a) easy wins for the neighbours, or (b) close fought affairs with Longford wins.  Sunday could be either.  Or something else entirely.  Who the f**k knows?

The Mini-metropolitans have traditionally been very good from 2-7, and Longford have traditionally been better from 10-15.  WH have won easily on days when the Longford backs have been poor, Longford have won when the WH midfield haven't been up to scratch.  For me, questions still remain in relation to Longford's ability to defend, and WH's ability to take their scores.  Midfield is more even than it ever was, with O'Connell's departure, Flanagan's aging, Keenan's maturity and McElvaney's emergence.

Prediction: One of them, by a point.  Hopefully, Longford.  :-\
Post by: Longfordian on May 09, 2007, 02:55:16 PM
I agree Billy its our ability to defend v a FF line of Dolan and Two Glennons ...... Brady while quick and speedy and been caught out with a taller / stronger man ...... Masterson has done well enough as a makeshift FB ....while we havent been able to replace Conefery and are looking at Farrell or Reilly as a makeshift corner back ...........

Mulligan and Hanniffy have been solid enough at WHB and CHB ....... then who do you pick the other wing ....Reilly ...or play Ledwidth and Reilly as a corner back ...... or perhaps go with Dowd as a HB (if fit !) .

Midfield will be an interesting battle .....Flanagan came be brilliant , as a FF or CHF ....but not at midfield ...... Id expect the game to pass him by from there ......Keenan can aswell be brilliant when he wants to be ....he needs to concentrate on playing football ....... would rather see P Barden at midfield with Sheridan kickouts he can pick and choose players and Barden run from there

No question on the quality of our FF line ...... if they get the right ball they will do damage ......

Hopefully we'll get through it ...playing at home is a major advantage though !!!
Post by: shark on May 09, 2007, 03:49:19 PM
Quote from: Longfordian on May 09, 2007, 02:55:16 PM
I agree Billy its our ability to defend v a FF line of Dolan and Two Glennons

David Glennon hasn't been on the Westmeath panel for quite a while.  Alan Mangan will be one of the corner forwards I would imagine.  I see it is being reported that Derek Heavins place at wing-back is under threat as he disobeyed managements orders by playing a club game on Sunday.  O'Fleartherta is ruthless when it comes to indicipline so I wouldn't be suprised if Heavin is left out.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 09, 2007, 04:30:22 PM
I have been assigned the armchair role for this one so I will relay to the lads in Pearse Park the views of the panel on the telly.

Shannonside will, no doubt, be coming live from a Roscommon training session in Dr. Hyde Park  :-\
Post by: tayto on May 09, 2007, 04:34:07 PM
Should be a cracker this one, the winners will rightly fancy their chances against Laois, Leinster is going to be very competitive this year.
Post by: Hardy on May 09, 2007, 04:49:09 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 09, 2007, 04:30:22 PM
Shannonside will, no doubt, be coming live from a Roscommon training session in Dr. Hyde Park

For lack of any alternative, I found myself listening to Shannonside on the web for a short while of the Meath-Roscommon Div. 2 final. In the name of the leppin divine funk, who is that commentator? This fella takes the whole packet of Marietta. Within two minutes I was taking back everything I ever said about Brian Carthy, Marty Morrissey, Ger Canning and even Mick Dunne. He managed to be breathless, enthusiastic, high-pitched, opinionated and incoherent all at once, without ever approaching intelligible. And that was before the throw in. Once the game started he might as well have been reciting the Koran in Portuguese and Urdu at the same time, at speed,  for all I could make out he was saying.

After a few minutes I found out TG4 was showing a delayed viewing (which turned out to be a partial delayed viewing) so I switched off and waited. But forfecksake who let yer man out?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 09, 2007, 05:04:35 PM

That would be Willie Hegarty. He is as mad as a box of brushes. His cummints on the radio on the day Longford played Clare, Leitrim played Monaghan and Roscommon played Offaly were so funny I almost forgot the tension I was experiencing. He is a cross between Andy Gray hyping some auld shite Premiership match and every mad bollox you've ever met.

From The Western People from a while back:

Shannonside radio commentator Willie Hegarty has established a very loyal 'fan' base for his commentaries on football matches around the region. While people are often quoting Micheal O Muircheartaigh and other well known broadcasters, there is no doubt that Roscommon's own Willie comes up with some remarkable humourous gems when in full flight.
He brings excitement and entertainment to his match commentaries and it is the entertainment 'factor' that has won him a sizeable audience, especially among female listeners, who enjoy the off-beat comparisons that light up his match coverage.
If Willie ever gets a chance on RTE, he will be an instant 'hit' because he is original, passionate, and highly entertaining. A winning combination any day.

On another matter I see Blessed Luke Dempsey has gone in with the elbows on the Mayo/Offaly/Dublin windbag Tommy Lyons.

Lyons claimed recently that Dublin had an easy run in Leinster last year and also slammed Longford for the 'Offaly-ken Casey-dropped point' saga. Lyons claimed it was the lowpoint of the league and blamed Longford. Even though Longford were told by the GAC (or whatever they go by now the ZZZ or the ABC or the CCC) that they HAD to lodge a formal appeal or else they would be setting a precedent.

Lyons also said that the opening live TV game should not be Longford v Westmeath which, more or less means, unless you are in the top 12 go along to be fucked.

Clown  >:(

Post by: turk on May 09, 2007, 05:24:22 PM
Tommy Lyons set back Offaly football by about 15 years
Post by: Billys Boots on May 09, 2007, 05:27:05 PM
Maybe it was because WH ended his tenure as a supposed authority.  Gives morons a bad name.

Hardy, Willie is a staple component of life (sadly) in the life of a GAA fan in the midlands.  And you haven't even been introduced to Crayonman (and his trusty sidekick preCrayonman) yet!!
Post by: AN other on May 09, 2007, 06:21:54 PM
Luke should save his breath, I think most people realise that Tommy Lyons is a clueless gobshite...
If Heavin is having a bit of a falling out with O'Flaherta Kieran Gavin could well get a start in defence on Sunday.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 09, 2007, 10:02:06 PM
Does anyone have a good word for Tommy Lyons?

(http://www.flexbeta.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/tumbleweed.gif)
Post by: AZOffaly on May 09, 2007, 10:43:04 PM
QuoteTommy Lyons set back Offaly football by about 15 years

Turk, if Tommy Lyons set us back 15 years, and he took over in 1997, would that not be 1982?  :P
Post by: turk on May 10, 2007, 11:49:26 AM
No AZ - cos you have to factor in when he finished with Offaly - in reality we are at about 1991 levels now, and that is due to Lyons
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 10, 2007, 02:01:46 PM
Ironically the Clonguish 1 has been dropped for Sunday's game after all the appeals (deja vue there) meant that he was free to play. Perhaps a lesson in humility being dished out to Mrs. Barden's youngest son by Dempsey and Rowley.

Post by: Billys Boots on May 10, 2007, 02:10:09 PM
QuotePerhaps a lesson in humility being dished out to Mrs. Barden's youngest son by Dempsey and Rowley.

I wish them luck.  ;)
Post by: Longfordian on May 10, 2007, 02:43:55 PM
 :D :D :D
Post by: LaurelEye on May 10, 2007, 02:56:50 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on May 10, 2007, 02:10:09 PM
QuotePerhaps a lesson in humility being dished out to Mrs. Barden's youngest son by Dempsey and Rowley.

I wish them luck.  ;)

Probably a little bit harsh, Billy, although his league performances wouldn't have guaranteed selection anyway.

However, this is a team announced on Wednesday night for the following Sunday. There's no guarantees that there may not be changes due to injuries, etc. So the youngest Barden might yet start.

Having said that, I was talking to someone on Tuesday evening who was talking to someone who is on the team and the 15 named last night were the 15 who were named to me in the event that the appeal was lost. So it's probably a genuine enough team barring unexpected injuries between now and Sunday 2pm.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 10, 2007, 03:14:00 PM
Does that mean Podgie is starting top-of-right?
Post by: LaurelEye on May 10, 2007, 05:26:57 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots
Does that mean Podgie is starting top-of-right?

Where did you get that from?

Full -forward line is Dowd, our boy and Kavanagh.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 11, 2007, 09:04:10 AM
I had assumed we'd have a third midfielder in the mix alright, but wasn't sure if it'd be Dowd or Smullen.  Tension building now, with Michéal making the neighbours favourites!
Post by: LaurelEye on May 11, 2007, 09:26:12 AM
Quote from: Billys BootsI had assumed we'd have a third midfielder in the mix alright, but wasn't sure if it'd be Dowd or Smullen.  Tension building now, with Michéal making the neighbours favourites!

Good....
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 11, 2007, 11:25:56 AM
Dolan returns for Westmeath

Dessie Dolan has recovered from a shoulder injury in time to lead Westmeath against Longford in Sunday's Leinster SFC first round clash at Pearse Park.

The former All-Star has carried the injury for the past three weeks, but has been declared fit to take his place in the team at centre forward.

Last year's minor Kieran Gavin is the only championship debutant and has been named at left half back after an impressive National League campaign. The Mullingar Shamrocks youngster was given the nod ahead of Derek Heavin, who is rumoured to have had a falling out with the management.

David O'Shaughnessy has also recovered from a knee injury and the 2004 Leinster championship captain will partner Martin Flanagan at midfield. Flanagan will be starting his first championship since 2003 when, ironically, the current Longford manager Luke Dempsey was in charge.

Overall, it's an experienced Westmeath team with the likes of Gary Connaughton, John Keane, Damien Healy, Michael Ennis, Fergal Wilson and Denis Glennon all expected to figure prominently.

Westmeath (SF v Longford): G Connaughton; F Boyle, D O'Donoghue, J Keane; D Healy, M Ennis, K Gavin; M Flanagan, D O'Shaughnessy; F Wilson, D Dolan, J Smyth; A Mangan, P Bannon, D Glennon.

Jaysus I don't know who to be more angry with, Heavin for playing a club game a week before the championship when everyone was under orders not to or O'Flaherta for imposing with an iron fist. Actually O'Flaherta just shades it by including Smyth in the half forwards. A gobshite once said that "Tyrone will never win an AI with Brian Dooher", well we will win fcuk all this year with Smyth starting. Nothing against the lad, tries hard in patches but he's not intercounty material. He knows he's gonna end up being the first person substituted and that is hardly gonna help the confidence. In his last outing in Cusack Park he was too afraid to go for a score when it was on, a quality in a forward that borders on criminal imho. Jaysus, I was hoping for an impact sub from the bench, I wasn't counting on having three of them on there. Rant over.

Not overly excited at Bannon at full forward either, maybe he will be a third midfielder. No idea how the forwards will actually line out apart from Willo and Smyth who will probably stay on the wings. Relief that Dessie and Shaugho are back anyway. Can't wait to see Heals back in his best position, should run the legs off his man.

C'mon The West!!!
Post by: turk on May 11, 2007, 12:14:16 PM
Hey Croí - Smyth was Westmeath's most effective forward in their last championship outing. He scored from play and got booked where as Dessie was the only other lad to score from play but didn't get booked!!
Post by: Iarmhí Abú on May 11, 2007, 01:00:39 PM
Tension building now!!  Not impressed with the Heavin thing.  I expect a tight game but hope Dessie can make the difference.  I'm worried about the Luke factor.  There is no doubt that '04 was 80% attributable to Dempsey and his ability to motivate a team that is behind him is second to none.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 11, 2007, 01:16:54 PM
Quote from: turk on May 11, 2007, 12:14:16 PM
Hey Croí - Smyth was Westmeath's most effective forward in their last championship outing. He scored from play and got booked where as Dessie was the only other lad to score from play but didn't get booked!!

Was away for that game (fortunately as it turned out). I believe he's doing well in challenge games at the moment but during the league he was less than abysmal. I hope O'Flaherta is proved right with his team selection.

QuoteThere is no doubt that '04 was 80% attributable to Dempsey and his ability to motivate a team that is behind him is second to none.

80% is a bit high there IA, groundwork 100% yes.
Post by: AN other on May 11, 2007, 02:04:11 PM
I can't believe O'Flaherta has included Smyth. Perhaps he has been doing well in challenge matches, and hopefully he'll prove people wrong, but he didn't do it once during the league, where he had too many chances to impress. I wonder what odds one would get on him being the first player to be substituted on Sunday....
As for the Heavin debacle, if it weren't for O'Flaherta's reputation as a bit of a stubborn/thick sort, I would probably be alot angrier with Heavin than I am, assuming the rumours of him throwing jerseys are ture. Throwing a jersey is nothing but a pettulant, attention seeking exercise. Heavin may be a good solid player, but he's not what one would call a "star", and is not in a position to ignore managerial orders.
I do however think that players should be allowed play in league and championship games for their clubs and it is the county boards responsibility to make this happen. If a manager had the best interests of the countys football at heart, he would try to ensure this happens.
Even before a ball is kicked in this years championship, I predict that O'Flaherta will be gone next year and I don't think I'll be overly disappointed to see his tenure come to an end.
As for the rest of the team....
Alot will depend on Flanagan and O'Shaughnessey in the middle and how they will last the pace. Flanagan is ageing and didn't appear to have the stamina during the league, while O'Shaughnessey can't be fully fit having been out for some time. Winning this area is likely to be vital as the forwards on show are possibly the weakest we've had in quite some time, the inclusion of Smyth says it all in my view...
In contrast though, I think our defence is the strongest it's been in quite some time, and Kieran Gavin isn't a bad replacement for Heavin. He has added a bit more to our defensive options, as Francis Boyle started to do last year, and continued this. In time, Boyle may turn out as valuable to Westmeath as Keane has been the last few years.
It's not an ideal way to approach the championship, with rifts going on between squad members and management, and with rain forecast for Sunday it's not going to help either team...
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 11, 2007, 10:36:47 PM
I always dream the Friday night before a big game about the match and usually I get the actual winner correct.

I'll post my dream results tomorrow morning.

(http://www.flexbeta.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/horse.gif)
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 13, 2007, 12:06:40 PM
Amazingly I dreamt about a narrow win over Dublin in the Leinster final!

(http://www.flexbeta.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/beerchug.gif)

Squeaky bum time with under 2 hours to go.
Post by: Maroon Heaven on May 13, 2007, 03:44:44 PM
Well f**king done Westmeath.

f**king joke. A disgrace.
an 8 point lead for f**k sake
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 13, 2007, 03:49:30 PM
(http://www.flexbeta.net/forums/style_emoticons/default/groupwave.gif)
Post by: armaghniac on May 13, 2007, 03:56:55 PM
QuoteI always dream the Friday night before a big game about the match and usually I get the actual winner correct.

(http://intepid.com/res/417.gif)
Post by: thejuice on May 13, 2007, 05:46:57 PM
Well done Longford, heard it on the radio, best of luck against Laoisin a few weeks time
Post by: magickingdom on May 13, 2007, 06:13:29 PM
anyone know when a team last turned around an eight point deficit at half time in a football championship game? that was some going
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2007, 06:30:55 PM
Well done Longford - one of our  nicer neighbours :P
Post by: Billys Boots on May 13, 2007, 06:35:28 PM
I don't know how it looked on the telly, but the game was all about the wind (strangely Brian Carthy didn't mention it on the radio report).  It was clear from early on (to me anyway) that it would be a game of two halves.

I began to relax a little when Declan Reilly was put on Dolan, and the stream of points against Longford was stemmed a bit.  Barden's (Junior) introduction was good for Longford - he provided a better attacking threat on the 14, and it took Keane's influence out of WH's building attacks.  I felt we were pulling away at the final whistle, and WH couldn't cope effectively with the wind in their faces at all.

MOTM, Paddy Dowd I guess, with honourable mentions for Reilly, Barden Senior and Kavanagh.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 13, 2007, 06:39:31 PM
Some turnaround to be sure. I thought the Longford 5th point before ht gave a wee glimmer of hope but really I was mega depressed at half time.

Kavanagh's goals obviously were the turning point. The blow of Keenan going off at half time was compensated by Mrs. Barden's youngest who was industrious. Paddt Dowd and Paul Barden were class in 2nd half. And isn't it great to be able to being on the likes of Poggie Davis to calm the waters and get some vital scores.

Game v Laois in Longford as Tullamore is not yet ready for serious competition. There was a revised draw in Leinster the other night re venues and Longford won the toss for home venue had they won (for the record WH lost their toss so had they won today they'd be off to Portlaoise)

As it is we are there on June 2 with a game under the belt and home advantage. If we can tighten the full back line (Beano and Ross  :o ) we can pull off a famous victory.

And Hardy, I'm glad the bet came good. Looked shite at half-time!

Congrats to Luke et al.
Post by: Onlooker on May 13, 2007, 06:47:40 PM
A very good win for Longford, although it did not look likely at half time.   I saw Longford playing Tipperary last year and was most impressed with their forward line and I had a fancy for them to win to-day.   If they have home advantage against Laois it should be a very interesting game.
Post by: Hardy on May 13, 2007, 07:19:36 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 13, 2007, 06:39:31 PM
And Hardy, I'm glad the bet came good. Looked shite at half-time!

The bet came good OK but in a fit of madness I lumped the winnings on Down at 7/4. Looked like great value until Mickey McFumble did his thing. Thanks Mickey.

Great stuff from Longford. It was like supporting Meath of old. It was very encouraging how they sorted out their defence to completely neutralise Dessie and Glennon, though I thought the switches were a long time coming. To hold the swamp lads to 3 second half points was excellent, even allowing for the wind. And Brian Kavanagh's haul of 2-6 was outstanding.
Post by: thejuice on May 13, 2007, 07:58:14 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on May 13, 2007, 06:13:29 PM
anyone know when a team last turned around an eight point deficit at half time in a football championship game? that was some going

Werent Meath down by 9 points at have time in the Leinster quater final in 2001, who was that against..........???? ;D
Post by: Tatler Jack on May 13, 2007, 08:20:31 PM
Well done to my neighbours across Lough Ree. Did a doouble - Longford to win and Cavan/Down a draw. Got 93.75 for my 5 euro.
Post by: North Longford on May 14, 2007, 09:46:40 AM
Delighted with the win. Thought the sloppy goal might have killed us as with the wind a 4 or 5 point deficit seemed manageable.
A few lads really stepped up in the second half. Thought Reilly was immense on Dolan, Dowd must have ran a marathon and the lads up front did the business.
A mention to masterson as well who did very well on glennon in the second half and recovered well from his error.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 14, 2007, 09:50:09 AM
Has internet access been cut in Westmeath?

No comments, views, analysis or, God forbid, even an auld bit of congratulations?
Post by: Billys Boots on May 14, 2007, 09:53:20 AM
Just in case they don't get the Indo either.!!  :P

Kavanagh goals spark amazing revival by Longford

Monday May 14th 2007

Longford 2-13

Westmeath 1-13

Leinster SFC

A FIRST win in the Leinster championship for six years, a recovery which will take some beating for the comeback of the season award and a defiant statement of intent about their growing ambitions left Longford wondering if cloud nine is actually the highest state of euphoria in the sporting firmament.

Luke Dempsey's crew had galloped for the Pearse Park dressing-rooms in a bewildered procession at half-time, with the fires of a hellishly inept performance scorching their heels but somehow, somewhere they located a heavenly sense of inspiration that transformed them in the second half.

They out-scored Westmeath by 2-8 to 0-3 in the second half to not only wipe out the eight-point interval deficit but to leave themselves with three to spare in a highly entertaining game which, if replicated over the coming weeks, augurs well for the Leinster championship.

A small but loyal band of Westmeath supporters hung around outside the dressing-rooms afterwards to cheer the players onto the team bus but they - no more than the team and management - were numbed by what had unfolded.

Longford lined up for the second half with a strong wind behind them, but on the evidence of the first half the odds on it creating an environment where they would haul back the 1-10 to 0-5 deficit were long and forbidding.

Apart from a productive burst between the sixth and 13th minutes, Longford were playing very much like a second division side struggling to survive against higher-class opponents.

Denis Glennon, who whipped over the lead point for Westmeath after 20 seconds, and Dessie Dolan scored 0-7 between them from play in a double-act that was reminiscent of the excellence they imposed on Westmeath's successful Leinster campaign in 2004.

The wind helped Westmeath to further raise the momentum, but there was also a crispness to their play which Longford found difficult to fathom.

Luck flowed Westmeath's way too in the 23rd minute when Dolan's under-hit '45' looked unlikely to cause any problem to Longford full-back Diarmuid Masterson, but he knocked the ball to ground, allowing Martin Flanagan to exploit his poaching instincts by flicking to the net. It was a bad error by Masterson but to his great credit he allowed neither that setback nor Dolan's constant menace to unhinge him and he dug his way back with a solid performance in the second half.

Westmeath were 0-4 to 0-0 ahead after four minutes before Longford, giving a hint of what was to come in the second half, kicked four points to draw level by the 13th minute. However, Liam Keenan's leveller was their last score for 24 minutes as rampant Westmeath added another 1-6 without reply.

Effective

With Dolan and Glennon so effective and Flanagan and David O'Shaughnessy winning lots of primary possession at midfield, Westmeath were controlling the game so easily that the lack of thrust among the four other forwards looked like a handicap that wouldn't cause them many problems on this occasion.

However, it was all so different in the second half. With the possession stream drying up, Glennon and Dolan had far fewer opportunities, while their four attacking colleagues drifted further down the efficiency stable. All four - Bannon, Smyth, Wilson and Mangan - were taken off, having failed to land a single point between them from play, which offers a significant clue as to why Westmeath tied up so badly once Longford settled into a powerful rhythm.

That process was helped enormously by Westmeath goalkeeper Gary Connaughton, who attempted to fetch a point effort by David Barden two minutes into the second half. Connaughton is normally an excellent fielder, but on this occasion he knocked the ball into the direction of Brian Kavanagh who flicked it to the net.

Kavanagh's possession lines were cut up so badly against the wind in the first half that he got little opportunity to display his excellence, but he wasted no time after the break, adding a second goal in the 40th minute.

Two points by Paul Barden brought Longford level and set them up for a triumphant march into a quarter-final clash with Laois.

It didn't prove that easy, however. Westmeath heads may have been whirring in confusion but they settled in for a real battle and led twice before Trevor Smullen pointed Longford level again in the 56th minute. And this time they took it as a signal to press on and win the game, a process which accelerated after centre-back David Hanify, back after a two-year championship absence, hoisted them into the lead for the first time in the 58th minute.

Pádraig Davis, cunningly effective in his super-sub role, kicked an excellent point while Kavanagh added two more to which Westmeath's only response was a point from sub John Connellan. They needed a late goal to rescue a desperate situation but by now Longford, for whom Paddy Dowd, named at full-forward but operating energetically all over the field, were strong, united and very definitely not going to squander the riches they had created in that memorable second half.

SCORERS - Longford: B Kavanagh 2-6 (4f), P Barden 0-2 (1f), B McElvaney, T Smullen, L Keenan, D Hanniffy, P Davis 0-1 each. Westmeath: D Dolan 0-5 (1f), D Glennon 0-4, M Flanagan 1-0, F Wilson 0-2 (2f), D O'Shaughnessy, J Connellan 0-1 each.

TEAMS AND PLAYER RATINGS

LONGFORD - D Sheridan 6; D Brady 7, D Masterson 6, DG Reilly 8; S Mulligan 7, D Hanniffy 7, N Farrell 6; B McElvaney 6, L Keenan 7; T Smullen 7, P Barden 7, P Berry 5; K Mulligan 5, P Dowd 8, B Kavanagh 9. Subs: D Barden 7 for Keenan (ht), K Smith 6 for Berry (48), P Davis 7 for K Mulligan (55), E Ledwith 6 for Hanify (60).

WESTMEATH - G Connaughton 5; F Boyle 6, D O'Donoghue 6, J Keane 6; D Healy 7, M Ennis 7, K Gavin 6; M Flanagan 7, D O'Shaughnessy 7; F Wilson 5, J Smyth 5, D Glennon 8; A Mangan 5, D Dolan 8, P Bannon 5. Subs: J Connellan 7 for Bannon (31), G Heavin 5 for Smyth (53), G Glennon 5 for O'Donoghue (62), D Duffy 5 for Wilson (64), G Dolan for Mangan (70).

REF - P McEnaney (Monaghan).
Post by: AZOffaly on May 14, 2007, 10:06:04 AM
Fair play to ye lads. I thought at half time the goal was going to be the difference between the teams, such a sickener it was. The early goal for yourselves in the 2nd half completely wiped that from the memory banks though, especially coming as it did with Connaughton trying to save points. I thought ye showed good character, and when ye moved the ball fast into Kavanagh, Barden the younger and Davis ye looked very dangerous.

Well done again.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 14, 2007, 10:11:04 AM
By the way, I thought Marty Morrissey made a show of himself today. He was making out that this was some sort of Shock result. I certainly wouldn't have classed it as anything other than a 50-50 game with Longford having home advantage tipping it their way. Sometimes I really feel Marty hasn't a clue at all at all.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 14, 2007, 10:14:03 AM
QuoteI thought ye showed good character, and when ye moved the ball fast into Kavanagh, Barden the younger and Davis ye looked very dangerous.

The supply routes were slick alright, when we had the wind.  Against the wind, we had nothing at all to offer, which is a bit scary.  Then again, very windy conditions is not usual championship fare?
Post by: Billys Boots on May 14, 2007, 10:15:52 AM
QuoteI certainly wouldn't have classed it as anything other than a 50-50 game with Longford having home advantage tipping it their way.

Yeah, and only McStay mentioned it on the Sunday Game.  I think they all underestimated the wind too.
Post by: AZOffaly on May 14, 2007, 10:21:38 AM
And ye didn't even have to rely on a 10 minute Cameo from the Longford 'Bomber'. I thought he might make an appearance if things were not going well with the wind behind ye.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 14, 2007, 10:24:02 AM
Ara I didn't mind Marty at all. He could have been reading out The Passion of Our Lord and I wouldn't have even heard the difference I was so focussed on the small screen (couldn't travel for a number of reasons)

Papers today give good coverage. Lots of pics. Sundays were a wee bit too focussed on Luke and his shoeing from Westmeath. I spose it was an angle to build it up on. Personal grudge etc. Imagine Luke could not get into the celebrations in the Greville Arms Hotel or wherever it was in Mullingar in 2004. That hurt him badly that he was treated so appallingly by WH County Board.

I am glad for Luke that he had yesterday. I am even more delighted for us to have a wee bit of time in the sun. It's days like yesterday that keep the momentum going and to keep the interest with young lads who may have drifted off to other codes or stop them getting fat playing shagging Playtendo or whatever the f**k it's called.

I beleive some Westmeath man had a heart attack and died after the game so my thoughts now are with his family.
Post by: gerrykeegan on May 14, 2007, 10:30:12 AM
Congratulations Luke (and Longford)
Up at 7 Sunday morning Gerry Keegan Junior (11 weeks old and born in Dublin!) sensed his daddy was nervous about something and made sure his daddy didn't sleep it out. Set off and picked brother in Leixlip before picking another brother sister and nephew in Mullingar. Proceeded to Longford and was in the ground after 1.20. Fine job on the stand I would have to say. All in good spirits. First half could not have gone any better, wind a major factor but we had played very well. 35 minutes later and it's Meath all over again. I thought McAnaney  gave us very little in the second half, a few Longford lads behind us commented on why they had gotten some of their frees. With our backs to the wall we put Martin in at FF and then didn't bother playing any ball into him. Longford deserved the win, and from a personal point of view always thought Luke got a raw deal with us. He is a gentleman. Best of Luke to the Slashers.
The disappointment of the game was banished as we drove past a man receiving CPR on the ground after the game. The guards were on the blower trying to get the Ambulance in. We think the ambulance had to come from Mullingar. We met one out the road about 15 minutes later. It puts it all in to prospective. Edit I hadnt heard that man had died, thats very sad.

Post by: turk on May 14, 2007, 10:41:40 AM
Reading Luke in the Tribune yesterday he is quite bitter at his treatment by the Westmeath county board!

I think on telly we underestimated the wind and neither team coped well playing against it. I thought Longford were loose in the first half and behind their men. Their big full forward probably could have withdrawn further.

Westmeath didn't do their homework at half time - 2-2 was leaked in quickly and they didn't seem to expect this. It was time for hard graft then - Flanagan was getting dominated at midfield and not responding. The switches then didn't work - Smyth and Wilson who were working hard were predictably taken off and big Duffy brought in. I didn't see Mangan contributing much at all throughout the game and it was graft and ballwinning and breaking needed.

Well done to Longford - remember Leinster is very winnable although Leix will be a big test.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 14, 2007, 10:50:04 AM
Still sick and it promises to be a long week. We should have been out of sight at half time and if the right team was selected we would have been. It's been clearly obvious from the league that Bannon is not a forward never mind a full forward, yet he was left in there for most of the first half. He should have either been brought out the field to mark Paddy Dowd (my motm by the way, didn't even get a mention on de Sunday Game) or replaced earlier. The WH backs were generally on top in that first half without ever looking comfortable. Heals didn't look at the races from the word go but Boyle and Nachie had Kavanagh and Barden in their pockets. I'd love to know what the linesman on the far side of the pitch thought he saw to have Boyle booked. He was just standing up to Kavanagh who was getting frustrated. Really affected his performance in the second half as he had to hold back that little bit. Agree with SS that the point just before ht gave them a glimmer and was raging about this and the very dubious free that it came from.

Said at ht that if we could weather the first 10 mins we'd be through to face Laois, but didn't even contemplate being only a point up five minutes in. What the fcuk was Gary doing trying to catch that, he has to be one million percent sure he can reach it before he even contemplates catching it. First look at it on the box afterwards was sure it was a square ball but on the second, third and fourth viewing it looks fairly borderline and advantage should be given to the attacker I suppose. Got tore apart for the second goal (well taken by the way), Boyle slipped again at another crucial moment in a big match and we were more or less fcuked. Dessie was tiring and having him out on the forty wasn't helping him. What did O'Flaherta do to rectify things? Bring off Smyth when he actually wasn't playing that bad and left on Budda for near the 70 mins. Criminal. If Budda hasn't got into the game by the 45th minute you can forget about him and true enough he had a chance for a point late on, hesitated, and got blocked down. When we went 2 points down and when it was clear we needed a goal why didn't he put Flan in to the edge of the square and let a couple of high balls in to him? Instead he put in Gary Dolan who wouldn't catch a cold and was too busy anyway trying to ruffle a few feathers.

Anyways well done to Longford, takes balls to come back from 8 points down, wind or no wind. Saw the interview with your goalie afterwards and he came across very well, his kickouts weren't too bad either.

Eight weeks till the qualifiers, need an easy enough draw to get us moving again as we never seem to react well to defeat, must go review the new divisions for next year...

Edit: Just after reading some new posts there and thoughts are with that mans family too. Met that ambulance as well on the way home, is there not usually a crew at championship games???
Post by: Longfordian on May 14, 2007, 11:34:17 AM
A fantastic win ...... a comeback from 8 points down to win by 3 ....pretty impressive stuff .

However , Longford have to ask themselves the questions why they got into that position?

The main culprit for our downfall in the first half was Paddy Dowd ...... while he got lots of ball ...he turned over an amazing amount of possession carrying the ball into contact and some attricious footpassing. He also didnt seem to know whether he was meant to be playing FF or roaming MF ...... he could have got so much possession in the first if he made diagional runs for Sheridans kickouts( however he had a fantastic 2nd half ....hats off to him for that) this resulted in about 5 points for Westmeath. We also missed a couple of kickable frees which turned into scores the other end.

When Keenan went off a half time I thought the writing was on the wall , but McElvaney , Hanniffy and Dowd pulled some serious ball from that area and really dominated ....Deccie Reilly (who could well have been MOTM) went on Dolan stuck tight which strangeled the Westmeath attack ...for the last 20 mins they resorted to putting Flanagan in FF and trying to pump ball into him .

D Barden made an immediate impact , albeit with the advantage of the win ....it made the CF job easier ....but he really added another dimension to our attack .......
K Mulligan will lose out the next day , but in fairness to him his first 15mins of the 2nd half turned the game in our favour won vital ball and was the instigated the move for our 2nd goal . He was a victim of the wind .....playing CF against that win is tough as the ball isnt coming in as easy as it was in the 2nd half .........
Was impressed with Smullen in the 2nd after a bad fist half .....got down to what he does best linking with the defence and midfield and setting up attacks ........
Hats off to Kavanagh who was being mauled by the WH corner back most of the game ...2-2 from play and four frees is some return ....one point from play was amazing .....

Fantastic win ........ roll on Laois .....
Post by: AN other on May 14, 2007, 02:23:52 PM
I never liked the way Dempsey was treated by a handful of egotistical players and effectively ran out of the county by the board prior to 2004, and it eased the pain a (very) little to see him getting a bit of vengence yesterday (even if he wasn't interested in it). So congratulations to Dempsey, and Longford too I suppose, just for Shamrock Shore...
I'm still a little unsure of what to make of it all, but ultimately feel it could have been a lack of fitness in the middle and poor defence which scuppered our chances. Naturally enough two early goals didn't help but they shouldn't have killed us off as they did.
For me, the most disappointing aspect yesterday was the performance in defence. I had anticipated that our defence would be our trump card, stronger than last year, and on paper it was. Fair enough, Dolan, Glennon and maybe Wilson aside, the attack was pretty absent, especially in the second half, but unfortunately, this is somewhat to be expected at this stage, and fair enough, the midfield faded in the second half, but I don't think the defence has been found wanting as much as it was yesterday in quite some time. John Keane had a fair game at best, as did Healy, with O'Donoghue very disappointing. Neither Healy or O'Donoghue seemed fully fit and all three mentioned seemed somewhat complacent and disinterested at stages, especially in the first half. Ennis and Boyle are the only two defenders who turned in decent performances and Boyle was unfortunate to slip (almost identically to the crucial slip against Dublin last year) for the second Longford goal, which stemmed from a sluggish O'Donoghue letting his man past him far to bloody easily.
Without blaming McEneaney for the loss of the game there were quite a few decisions that I'd love to quiz him about if I got the chance.
Positive points are unfortunately all too few, Glennon's good first half performance was negated by his poor decision making in the second, and his increasingly frustrating inability to score goals. I can't understand why he has never been taken aside and told to hit the ball LOW and hard.
Connellan is a future star if his head is kept right and he works hard at this game, he should be one of the first on the teamsheet everytime, simply because you can depend on him to put the ball over the bar when a chance presents itself. His second half score off his left, into the wind, a significant distance out was possibly score of the game. He needs football at a high level and he'll learn to cope with the increase in physicality he's not yet used to and bulk up in the process.
Post by: LaurelEye on May 14, 2007, 05:20:23 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on May 14, 2007, 10:11:04 AM
By the way, I thought Marty Morrissey made a show of himself today. He was making out that this was some sort of Shock result. I certainly wouldn't have classed it as anything other than a 50-50 game with Longford having home advantage tipping it their way. Sometimes I really feel Marty hasn't a clue at all at all.

To be fair to Marty, he did nearly manage to pronounce "Mullinalaghta" correctly.

Nearly.
Post by: LaurelEye on May 14, 2007, 05:40:23 PM
Quote from: Longfordian on May 14, 2007, 11:34:17 AM
A fantastic win ...... a comeback from 8 points down to win by 3 ....pretty impressive stuff .

However , Longford have to ask themselves the questions why they got into that position?

The main culprit for our downfall in the first half was Paddy Dowd ...... while he got lots of ball ...he turned over an amazing amount of possession carrying the ball into contact and some attricious footpassing. He also didnt seem to know whether he was meant to be playing FF or roaming MF ...... he could have got so much possession in the first if he made diagional runs for Sheridans kickouts( however he had a fantastic 2nd half ....hats off to him for that) this resulted in about 5 points for Westmeath. We also missed a couple of kickable frees which turned into scores the other end.

When Keenan went off a half time I thought the writing was on the wall , but McElvaney , Hanniffy and Dowd pulled some serious ball from that area and really dominated ....Deccie Reilly (who could well have been MOTM) went on Dolan stuck tight which strangeled the Westmeath attack ...for the last 20 mins they resorted to putting Flanagan in FF and trying to pump ball into him .

D Barden made an immediate impact , albeit with the advantage of the win ....it made the CF job easier ....but he really added another dimension to our attack .......

Barden had an excellent game - best I've seen him play this year by far - though he still was a bit wasteful occassionally. Hopefully he'll keep it up.

QuoteK Mulligan will lose out the next day , but in fairness to him his first 15mins of the 2nd half turned the game in our favour won vital ball and was the instigated the move for our 2nd goal . He was a victim of the wind .....playing CF against that win is tough as the ball isnt coming in as easy as it was in the 2nd half .........

He looked a lot more impressive on the television than I thought he was at the time, although I was sitting at the far end of the ground and didn't have the best of views in the second half. He was unfortunate with the lack of chances in the first half, but improved greatly in the second, and was at the beginning of both moves that led to the goals. I think he was probably taken off for fear of doing damage to the ankle, though he seemed to think it was OK. Even if he doesn't start the next day, I'd expect him to come on. We're fortunate to have a lot of good forwards on the panel and it's unlikely that any - except Paul Barden and Kavanagh - are guaranteed 70 minutes.

Shane also tried hard and improved a lot in the second half, like all the defence.

QuoteWas impressed with Smullen in the 2nd after a bad fist half .....got down to what he does best linking with the defence and midfield and setting up attacks ........
Hats off to Kavanagh who was being mauled by the WH corner back most of the game ...2-2 from play and four frees is some return ....one point from play was amazing .....

Fantastic win ........ roll on Laois .....
Post by: Billys Boots on May 15, 2007, 09:09:34 AM
The Eugene McGee column yesterday.

Longford exploit peculiar traits of home turf, Monday May 14th 2007

LAST week in this column, we wrote about how few teams are capable of winning the All-Ireland championship and some people took that as a note of despair which, of course, it was not.

There is much more to the championship every summer than producing Sam Maguire Cup winners and yesterday at Pearse Park in Longford, we got a perfect example of that.

A typical local derby between Longford and Westmeath, over 10,000 people in attendance on a warm summer Sunday . . . what more could a real GAA fan want?

Certainly no Longford follower could ask for more, having journeyed from the depths of despair at half-time to unbridled joy later on as they watched their heroes stage a Lazarus like comeback and grab a dramatic victory - their first win in the Leinster championship for six long years.

What we got yesterday in Pearse Park was the heart and soul of Gaelic games as opposed to all the cosmetic stuff that now attaches itself to big games at a higher level than this.

The players put aside all thoughts of personal safety as they battled for the honour and glory of their county and there was hardly a dirty stroke in the 75 minutes played.

In the end, Longford were very deserving winners because of the manner in which they clawed their way back just after half-time and then ran themselves into the ground to prevent Westmeath building up any useful attacks.

The second-half score of 2-8 to 0-3 in favour of Longford shows just how much effort the players put in to secure a meeting with Laois back in Pearse Park again in three weeks' time.

Like many other GAA grounds, Pearse Park has its own little oddities that visiting teams are not often aware of and one of these is that there is a 'scoring goals'. Traditionally, at Pearse Park, this is at the town end of the ground. When there is a strong wind blowing into those goals, that peculiarity becomes very important indeed . . . and so it proved to Longford yesterday.

Westmeath had those advantages in the first half and Dessie Dolan and Denis Glennon lofted over no less than seven points from play from all angles and distances.

That was the basis for the total demolition job the maroons inflicted on the home team in the opening period. The Longford defence virtually collapsed, with Westmeath scoring four unanswered point at the start of the game and near the end of the half scoring another 1-6 without reply. And it could have been even more as they missed two open goal chances from inside 10 yards as well.

It was a barrage of destruction that would have finished many teams, but Longford were saved by Pat McEneaney's half-time whistle which gave them time to get their bearings.

They knew that the wind and the 'scoring goals' factor would certainly help after the break, but they could never have imagined that within just eight minutes of the restart they would have wiped out the eight-point deficit with two goals from Brian Kavanagh and two points from Paul Barden.

This barrage of scores overwhelmed Westmeath and one could see their earlier confidence and bravado disappearing before our eyes.

Longford were never going to lose after that and even their previously awful defence tightened up enough to restrict Westmeath to just three points in the concluding 38 minutes.

The introduction of David Barden at corner-forward at half-time was the psychological time bomb that destroyed Westmeath. He was sore about being left off the team after having his recent suspension halved and he ran like hell at the opposing defence, giving his marker John Keane a total roasting.

Kavanagh's goals in the second and fifth minutes sparked panic in the Westmeath backline and the gaps appeared which allowed Kavanagh and a host of other Longford players loft over the scores at regular intervals.

Westmeath also lost control at midfield, ironically in view of the fact that Longford's main man there, Liam Keenan, was unable to start the second half due to injury.

Paddy Dowd, who had been a third midfielder in the first half to little effect, played a stormer when allocated a regular role there alongside Bernard McElvanney.

The most amazing aspect about the second half was the total failure of the Westmeath attacking set-up. Just as Longford had done in the opening half, their forwards tried to walk the ball into the scoring area with an orgy of short passes, but time after time they ended up in a heap of bodies and got nowhere.

Why Westmeath were not able to isolate Dolan and Glennon and send long balls into them was a mystery. Dolan got no score from play in the second half, while Glennon got one point.

The 'game of two halves' cliché was apt yesterday. Westmeath scored 1-8 from play in the first half and only 0-2 in the second. Longford got 0-2 from play in the first half and 2-6 in the second.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 15, 2007, 09:30:17 AM
Auld Sourpuss was on Newstalk as well last night. Praised Colmcille's finest, Deccie Reilly, for his marking skills on Dessie Dolan. Said he looked like a schoolboy out there!

He is certain next game is in Pearse Park and can see no reason why LOngford can't beat Laois and, if I'm correct, he more or less said that the winner in Pearse Park will be in the Leinster final cos the semi wil be agin the winners of Louth and Micko's Mercenaries (my words, not his)

So Billy, is a Leinster final a possibility??????

Oh, and cheers AN Other.
Post by: Billys Boots on May 15, 2007, 09:33:18 AM
Oh I've no doubt we could beat Laois in Longford, if we can play for 70 mins.  It's playing 'on the road' that I'd be worried about.
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 15, 2007, 10:06:07 AM
well done Longford.
I have to admit that I backed them to lose the game in both 2007 championship prediction competitions I entered.
Shows that form can go out the window once the Championship comes around (well I thought Longfords poor enough league form would be very difficult to break away from). I havent the nerve to tell my longford club mates that I backed against them !
It was a case of over ruling my preference and selecting WH.

Looks like the man has already earned his €100k this year by beating derby rivals !

If Westmeath can learn from this they could get a bit of  run going in the qualifiers!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 15, 2007, 10:24:37 AM
Quote€100k this year

Ah c'mon Lynchboy. That's way off the mark. That's Micko Money.......not Luke's Loot
Post by: Billys Boots on May 15, 2007, 10:46:37 AM
You're not still going on about this Lynchbhoy?  :P
Post by: turk on May 15, 2007, 12:24:31 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 15, 2007, 10:24:37 AM
Quote€100k this year

Ah c'mon Lynchboy. That's way off the mark. That's Micko Money.......not Luke's Loot

Luke don't come cheap lads!!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on May 15, 2007, 12:47:16 PM
I know Turk and but I know for sure that the management package (i.e. Luke and R2D2) are on way less than €100k. Shur what 'expenses' could mount to that amount?
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 15, 2007, 12:54:56 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on May 15, 2007, 12:47:16 PM
I know Turk and but I know for sure that the management package (i.e. Luke and R2D2) are on way less than €100k. Shur what 'expenses' could mount to that amount?
I couldnt swear on the bible lads - only Dempsey and those that pay know for defo, but I know he doesnt come cheap
and I had heard it from two very different sources that quoted the same amount.

Plus I know the night he was recruited (as witnessed by my brother) - I know the two builders that fronted the money to pay Dempsey and were discussing all of this that night.
He left a decent and handy job with a club side paying 35k to take control of longford at the drop of a hat.

All circumstantial I suppose, but its somewhere between  35k and 100k - and my bets woudl be that its closer to 100 - esp with the main builder involved (though he isnt quite so good at paying his builders  :P)

Post by: Longfordian on May 15, 2007, 01:10:36 PM
I know for a fact Dempsey isnt approaching half the figure you suggested Lynchbhoy......as Shamrock has stated Dempsey/Rowley/McCormack package doesnt even come close to 100k ......

We dont have those resources at our disposal to throw at a manager  ;)
Post by: lynchbhoy on May 15, 2007, 01:23:47 PM
Quote from: Longfordian on May 15, 2007, 01:10:36 PM
I know for a fact Dempsey isnt approaching half the figure you suggested Lynchbhoy......as Shamrock has stated Dempsey/Rowley/McCormack package doesnt even come close to 100k ......
We dont have those resources at our disposal to throw at a manager  ;)

I cant dispute or prove feck all.
But I still dont agree with what you lads say/think

plus as for resources- well Irelands rich list would beg to differ  ;)
Title: Leinster SFC Longford v Westmeath
Post by: Iarmhí Abú on May 23, 2007, 10:29:45 AM
I know it's a bit late but want to add my name to the list congratulating Longford.  I was abroad with another sporting group but saw the match on satellite.  I was sickened but have to give massive credit to Longford.  It was a personal triumph for Luke also and anyone who knows WH football will only wish that man well.

Longford deserved it and I hope you guys make an even bigger impact this year.  Maybe Luke will get the Leinster title he deserves to add to his list of underage All Irelands, Div 2 and Interprovincial titles.  Anything is possible in Leinster ... keep her lit!!
Title: Leinster SFC Westmeath V Longford
Post by: AN other on July 03, 2007, 02:02:13 PM
Rather than giving out about throw in times and the likes I thought it no harm to talk a little about the game....
It's only half time, all to play for! I had a feeling this draw might rear its head once I heard there was a possibility.
I don't think O'Flaherta will field a team all that different to the first but it'll be interesting to see how the team copes after an 8 week layoff.
Title: Re: Leinster SFC Westmeath V Longford
Post by: Mentalman on July 03, 2007, 04:32:21 PM
Quote from: AN other on July 03, 2007, 02:02:13 PM
Rather than giving out about throw in times and the likes I thought it no harm to talk a little about the game....
It's only half time, all to play for! I had a feeling this draw might rear its head once I heard there was a possibility.
I don't think O'Flaherta will field a team all that different to the first but it'll be interesting to see how the team copes after an 8 week layoff.

Wouldn't expect too much, turnouts were pathetic in the weeks following the defeat, and a good bit of dissent in the ranks, only the newcomers or those hoping to get a break were putting in the effort really. Reminds me of any club team, better players not putting in the effort, but will still get picked on the day. That's champo football for you.
Post by: LaurelEye on July 03, 2007, 04:55:08 PM
Quote from: Mentalman on July 03, 2007, 04:32:21 PM

Wouldn't expect too much, turnouts were pathetic in the weeks following the defeat, and a good bit of dissent in the ranks, only the newcomers or those hoping to get a break were putting in the effort really. Reminds me of any club team, better players not putting in the effort, but will still get picked on the day. That's champo football for you.

Lads, yis are just hoping to lull us into a false sense of security here :)

We're just trying to figure out whether it'll be better to start queueing at the gates at 2 o'clock or 3.
Post by: Mentalman on July 03, 2007, 05:17:09 PM
Quote from: LaurelEye on July 03, 2007, 04:55:08 PM

Lads, yis are just hoping to lull us into a false sense of security here :)

We're just trying to figure out whether it'll be better to start queueing at the gates at 2 o'clock or 3.

I wish, I'm being serious. Sure two new guys only hit the panel in the last couple of weeks, that can't be a good sign, it's not like they had long term injuries or something.

Try 1 o'clock :)

Serious advice to the Longford heads though, I wouldn't try Dunnes or Super Valu car park. What are they thinking having this game in the middle of town @ 5 on a Saturday? Still don't believe the 5 thing, surely the Gardai would/should object? Anyway, come in via the Delvin interchange, past St. Lomans, park up and go to the ground via the tunnel under the canal as suggested on the other thread...although car safety could be an issue. Or come in the normal route and park up near Lifestyle and walk across the foot bridge down to the ground. Alternatively you could leave the car the far side of the town park, and walk through it to the ground. At least in Longford we could park out along the bypass. Must have been a shock for anyone using it, not knowing about the match, to see all those cars there!
Post by: AN other on July 03, 2007, 05:41:59 PM

There was a two or three week break in the weeks following the defeat so one would have expected pathetic turnouts would they not?....

I heard the guards actually asked the game to be moved to Sunday to avoid traffic chaos in the town so one might suspect the 5 o'clock time is some sort of compromise...
Post by: Mentalman on July 03, 2007, 06:23:53 PM
Quote from: AN other on July 03, 2007, 05:41:59 PM

There was a two or three week break in the weeks following the defeat so one would have expected pathetic turnouts would they not?....

Yep, but this was after the break to allow the senior championship to start. Maybe they are talking it down themselves after the disappointment of the first day. But when I compare that to the reported full turn out from Mayo after their humiliation by Galway...says something about the psychology of the two groups of players.
Post by: AN other on July 06, 2007, 11:55:38 AM
Any word on either of the teams?
Post by: Mentalman on July 06, 2007, 12:54:06 PM
Quote from: AN other on July 06, 2007, 11:55:38 AM
Any word on either of the teams?

Haven't heard a dickybird yet.

Oh just to let folks know, the minor game between Westmeath and Armagh is on before hand, so the park should be open at a reasonable hour, for those early birds.
Post by: Mentalman on July 06, 2007, 01:11:44 PM
Here we go, from Hoganstand:

Dolan boost for Westmeath
06 July 2007

Gary Dolan has returned to the Westmeath starting line-up for Saturday's All-Ireland SFC qualifier with Longford at Cusack Park after recovering from an eye operation.

Dolan, who previously left the panel, has been selected at full-forward while brother Dessie will fill the corner-forward slot.

The Westmeath team to face Longford is as follows – G. Connaughton; F. Boyle, D. Donoghue, J. Keane; D. Healy, M. Ennis, G. Glennon; P. Bannon, M. Flanagan; D. Glennon, J. Smith, F. Wilson; A. Mangan, G. Dolan, D. Dolan.
Post by: Mentalman on July 06, 2007, 01:20:49 PM
Gary Dolan's return will hardly strike fear into the heart of Longford. I expect to see the usual insipid display, jawing and pushing anyone who looks at Dessie. If he does score it will be a goal, as he is not known with his point taking.

Gary Glennon back in again, game lad, and as Heavin is gonzo, probably the best option in the panel to replace him.

No sign of any the panel "newcomers" yet.
Post by: AN other on July 06, 2007, 01:37:37 PM
On his day G Dolan can be valuable.
Connellon should be getting more games, every game, he has more ability than any of the other forwards, Dessie aside. If any of the forwards (Dessie aside again...) aren't producing it early in the match he should be brought on to replace them straight away.
I'm not as furious about the inclusion of Smith this time following his reasonable outing the last time, lets just hope he can build on it or produce the same again.
I don't see us winning, or sharing the winning of midfield, alot is going to depend on the defence and they really need to perform this time. Healy, Keane and O'Donoghue had alot to answer for the last day out.
I expected us to win the last day out, this time, I'm not sure if I'm even hopeful...
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2007, 01:43:56 PM
No Shaugho, big loss, hopefully he'll come on and put in a performance like he did against Galway last year. A lot of pressure on Flanagan now, hopefully he has the legs. I suppose he can swap with Gary if he needs a breather. Bannon back in the only position he's suitable for, must perform.

Hopefully they leave Dessie in de corner where he can do most damage. Big games needed from Budda and Willo who didn't perform the last day and if Smyth plays like the last day he better not be taken off this time. If Dennis is inside we need points and lots of them, else strong running with the head up and early ball if lads inside are free.

Goalie and defence picks itself really, don't expect Heals to have as poor a game again. I'd put JK on Kavanagh from the off and trust there won't be any dropped balls or slipping this time...

QuoteOh just to let folks know, the minor game between Westmeath and Armagh is on before hand, so the park should be open at a reasonable hour, for those early birds.

According to GAA.ie this game is off???
Post by: AN other on July 06, 2007, 01:48:50 PM
25-1 Martin Flanagan to score the first goal on Paddy Power, worth a punt!
Post by: Mentalman on July 06, 2007, 02:06:45 PM
Quote from: AN other on July 06, 2007, 01:48:50 PM
25-1 Martin Flanagan to score the first goal on Paddy Power, worth a punt!

We all know he'll be trying for it anyway, probably from the first ball he gets into his hands!
Post by: Mentalman on July 06, 2007, 02:07:37 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on July 06, 2007, 01:43:56 PM

QuoteOh just to let folks know, the minor game between Westmeath and Armagh is on before hand, so the park should be open at a reasonable hour, for those early birds.

According to GAA.ie this game is off???

Well there ya go! Thought it was still on, up until last night anyway.
Post by: Mentalman on July 06, 2007, 03:18:18 PM
Quote from: AN other on July 06, 2007, 01:37:37 PM
On his day G Dolan can be valuable.
Connellon should be getting more games, every game, he has more ability than any of the other forwards, Dessie aside. If any of the forwards (Dessie aside again...) aren't producing it early in the match he should be brought on to replace them straight away.
I'm not as furious about the inclusion of Smith this time following his reasonable outing the last time, lets just hope he can build on it or produce the same again.
I don't see us winning, or sharing the winning of midfield, alot is going to depend on the defence and they really need to perform this time. Healy, Keane and O'Donoghue had alot to answer for the last day out.
I expected us to win the last day out, this time, I'm not sure if I'm even hopeful...

As you can gather I'm not a Gary Dolan devotee, it's my belief there is at least one other player on the current panel that is twice the player he is, in any position.

I honestly haven't seen enough of Connellon, but according to all and sundry he's a real prospect. Like you said needs more games, but is a bit light still, might not be doing him a huge favour starting him in a game of this intensity, bring him in when legs are a bit more tired maybe?

Smith is a trier, even iif all he tries is your patience :) Pity about the end product, but effort could not be faulted, I'd say he's a great trainer somehow.

Midfield? Flan has had some great games in patches from midfleld for his club, but then again what is he up against in the situation? Depands on which Martin shows up on the day. The one who dragged us to two division 2 titles, or the guy he more or less let the game pass him by the last day, other than his goal. I hope it's the former.

Would have to agree wrt to the defence.

Not hopeful for tomorrow.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 07, 2007, 02:07:02 PM
Dempsey delighted to have avoided 'big three'

Longford football boss Luke Dempsey has admitted that although it is not ideal to be facing Westmeath for a second time in the championship, it could have been worse and they could have been paired with one of the three big sides, Armagh, Donegal or Mayo.

Longford edged out Westmeath already in the Leinster championship but home advantage has reversed and Dempsey and his troops will be entering a hostile environment in Mullingar.

''It's not ideal and I suppose from a general point of view we would have preferred a more novel pairing, but the reality of it is we can't be complaining too much, because I'm certainly glad that we avoided three of the bigger teams left in there, Donegal, Mayo and Armagh,'' Dempsey said.

''We are just looking forward to another championship game, and going back to Mullingar, where I have some very fond memories. So we are only seeing the positive in all this,'' he added.

Pin it up on the dressing room door there Tomas, hopefully Lukies prematch words have the same outcome as his last day out... Traffic is gonna be bad around the town apparently, get down there early...
Post by: navaniarmhi on July 07, 2007, 10:45:50 PM
Lots of positives for Westmeath today with O'Donoghue, Flanagan and Keane all excelling. Flanagan's one-handed catch was a real gem in a good display of fielding by him. The backs smothered Longford well. Difficult to see why Wilson was sent off - two yellows I hope. His free taking from the right side in the first half was deadly accurate and a pleasure to watch.

Will Denis Glennon ever get that goal...someone needs to teach him to be more subtle directly in front of the goalkeeper.Otherwise he played well turning his man regularly and scoring a couple of lovely points. Goal chances were ever present with Gary Dolan being ignored on the edge of the square on more than one occasion. Flanagan was carrying a yellow card for much of the match but the referee bottled it when he fouled badly with ten minutes to go. I was sure he was gone but two Westmeath men off in a relatively clean match that they dominated would have been an oddity and I think the referee knew it.

This sort of made up for the loss to Longford in Leinster but it remains a fact that Westmeath haven't won a Leinster championship match since they won it out three years ago.

Arrived at the ground at twenty to five with my six-year old son. Still missed the first ten minutes and at one stage it was dodgy enough for small children at the town end stiles. At another point a Garda was actually sneering at us from behind the wall. People didn't see any humour in his vacuous remarks and they were greeted by a stunned silence by those outside who were listening to the crowds reaction to the opening scores. A pleasant female Garda outside redirected people to the Stand turnstiles telling us that they had been 'reopened' but this turned out not to be the case and we had to rejoin our original queue. Elsewhere, exasperated people scaled the wall to gain entry, always a frightening development at sports grounds.
Post by: shark on July 08, 2007, 01:52:44 PM
Yeah it was too yellows for Wilson, and quite harsh I might add, nothing cynical in either foul.
Glennon seems to have no problem burying the goals in the club championship but playing for Westmeath he seems to want to rip the net out of it, other than that it was his best display for Westmeath since 2004.
Longford really were terrible, slower to every ball and aside from Kavanagh never looked like getting the scores.
Weatmeath will be fairly confident of repeating last years run.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 08, 2007, 06:54:46 PM
Jesus - we absolutely stunk the joint. Westmeath went easy on us at the end. Absolutely embarrassed by our challenge as I thought we had left those days behind.

Only positive was the performance of Michael Kelly who came on as a sub. Former Mostrim underage now playing with the Slashers.

Westmeath beat us in every sector - with Flanagan absolutely majestic in the centre. Our full back line struggled but most would as they had no cover in front of them. The sending off was perhaps unmerited but it made little difference.

No complaints on Cusack Park - got in and out with no bother, under the canal tunnell - paid €5 (in error) to the Westmeath Supporters GAA halftime draw. Came within 6 tickets of winning it - which was won by someone from Longford - which led to a few merited half time comments from the Longford wags around me.

Good luck to Westmeath - I hope Donegal give ye a better game.
Post by: navaniarmhi on July 08, 2007, 11:59:52 PM
Any info on the Athlone player listed at 29 ... Michael Greene. People from Athlone didn't seem to know much about him save that he was an 'Underdog'. Has he any form at club level?
Post by: Mentalman on July 09, 2007, 12:35:50 PM
Game well digested at this stage. Not trying to take the wind out our sails but Longford didn't really turn up did they? I'd like to say thanks to whoever the Longford player was that clipped Flan after about 8-9 minutes, because just about that time it looked like our midfleld might fade out again, as they did the last day, but that didn't half get him going. Great fielding from the big man, even if his distribution was a bit dodge, hard to offload the ball cleanly when you are being swarmed though. Couldn't believe he got a black card, after a deserved yellow,  for what looked to me to be a perfectly executed dispossession, all before half time. Thought he might see the line too given that. Wilson's sending off was fairly pathetic, given the first card was for reacting to a bit of a head. From a Westmeath point of view it would be easier to pick out players who didn't really perform. Thought Buddha had another shocker. Not wanting to go on about it but I really don't see what Gary Dolan brings to the party? He flinched on his goal chance, and in the second half the best thing he did was keep his marker down the other end of the pitch. Not convinced by Ennis at number 6. Very easily turned on a number of occasions. For the positives there was our dependable - Dessie. He got through some work, particularly after Wilson's sending off, obviously very fired up for the game. Denis had one of his best games in ages, worked back a lot in the first half, as well as taking scores, and provided the threat in the 2nd, with Longford kind of were forced to play into our hands, having to push the spare man up they left Denis isolated, so we always had an out ball. Smith - yes he's a trier, but that bloody nose made him try even harder, got a score too, delighted for him, did serious work between half back and half forward. Wilson took some vital scores, and not the easiest to kick either, his best game in a long while also. Flan? It's all being said. Davie Duffy still reminds me of bambi on ice by times, if he fielded better he could clean up, but is a more mobile option than say Shaugho is right now, but without the presence and experience. Gary Glennon showed well, both defensively and going forward, you can't do much better than seeing off your marker, and at half time too. Heals was quiet by his standards, with a few vital interventions, but it's obvious, given his injury too, that he's nursing his way through the games. Donal O'D has rarely seen so much uncontested ball in one game, and used it quite well, Luke's patented 2 man forward line didn't work out on the day. Keane started slow but came into his own. Was very impressed with Boyle, a very game lad and fits in well. Connaughton gave us a few scares, not sure if they were real or imagined because of the last day, pulled off a brilliant save, and his distribution was better by his standards.

As for the park, very strange atmosphere, no? A bit tense. Everyone on the terraces where I was anyway seemed to be holding their own counsel after the events of the last day. So much so at the beginning, when the teams ran out, it sounded like there were more Longford heads than Westmeath. Even at the end it was more relief than jubilation, and good portion of the travelling support had already departed the scene.

Donegal should be interesting, a real yardstick of just where this team is at.
Post by: AN other on July 09, 2007, 01:59:40 PM
Martin Flanagan was the big difference between Saturday and May 13.
Mentleman, you're spot on about Flanagan getting clipped. You could instantly see him upping it a bit and really getting into the game. A class performance, man of the match without a doubt. He'd be some player, capable of matching any midfielder in the country, if he could produce half that level of performance consistenly.
Glennon was probably the second best performer on the day, seems to have recaptured some of his 2004 form.
Connellan should be on the team ahead of Mangan and should have been replaced alot earlier. I thought that Mangan might have played well following his opening point but he faded into oblivion. O'Flaherta's always been a fan of Mangan though, so he'll probably start against Donegal.
The defence were efficient without actually performing to the full of their ability. There's plenty more in Keane, Healy, Ennis and O'Donoghue, but then again, they did little wrong.
I really don't know what to make of our chances of progressing to a reasonable stage of the championship this year with performances being so erratic since the start of the league.
Post by: Mentalman on July 09, 2007, 02:53:00 PM
Quote from: AN other on July 09, 2007, 01:59:40 PM
Martin Flanagan was the big difference between Saturday and May 13.
Mentleman, you're spot on about Flanagan getting clipped. You could instantly see him upping it a bit and really getting into the game. A class performance, man of the match without a doubt. He'd be some player, capable of matching any midfielder in the country, if he could produce half that level of performance consistenly.
Glennon was probably the second best performer on the day, seems to have recaptured some of his 2004 form.
Connellan should be on the team ahead of Mangan and should have been replaced alot earlier. I thought that Mangan might have played well following his opening point but he faded into oblivion. O'Flaherta's always been a fan of Mangan though, so he'll probably start against Donegal.
The defence were efficient without actually performing to the full of their ability. There's plenty more in Keane, Healy, Ennis and O'Donoghue, but then again, they did little wrong.
I really don't know what to make of our chances of progressing to a reasonable stage of the championship this year with performances being so erratic since the start of the league.

That little dig got Flan moving alright, unlike the last day out when he disappeared after he was caught. Some lad it has to be said, don't think he's the all action razzle dazzle merchant of a few years back, but can more the hold his own when motivated. And only one person can motivate him - himself.

Right there with ya, think Mangan will start the next day. I mean if O'Flaherta could watch him all the way through two insipid championship performances like that, well he's not going to try to change course midstream is he? Maybe he's waiting for that piece of magic Buddha is capable of? We've all seen it at club level, and occasionally for the county in patches.

Definitely hard to predict what could happen next week. In the context of the draw, Donegal definitely would be seen as one of the teams a lot was expected from this year, and would be unlikely to give a performance like Longfords, and Westmeath definitely do have lots of room to improve. Still, I think you'd have to be honest and say, while Westmeath would respect Donegal, they wouldn't have the same hangups about them as they do Meath for instance. We've had some tight league games in recent times, so they might feel with home advantage they can give them a game.
Post by: AN other on July 10, 2007, 10:00:06 AM
Forgot to give John Smith a bit of credit. I haven't been an admirer of his, but his last two championship performances have been very effective, he seen some amount of ball on Saturday evening.
Billy's very quiet this week, he must be feeling a bit humiliated at the "natural order of things being restored" so comprehensively!!!
Post by: Mentalman on July 10, 2007, 10:22:15 AM
Quote from: AN other on July 10, 2007, 10:00:06 AM
Forgot to give John Smith a bit of credit. I haven't been an admirer of his, but his last two championship performances have been very effective, he seen some amount of ball on Saturday evening.
Billy's very quiet this week, he must be feeling a bit humiliated at the "natural order of things being restored" so comprehensively!!!

Ah, being magnanimous, it's honours even for the year, one a piece :)
Post by: Billys Boots on July 10, 2007, 10:36:15 AM
I'm still here!  ;)

And the natural order is restored - Longford accept that they're not good enough this year, and are content to regroup and finish their club championship; the plebs continue to root around in the mire of a secondary competition, unable to accept their place in the world until they get another drubbing.   :P
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 10, 2007, 12:46:40 PM
Would echo most of the earlier comments on here, Flan rolled back the years in the center, hasn't played like that since the 2nd half of the Eastmeath game in 03, hopefully he maintains that controlled agression for the visit of Donegal on Saturday. Duffy did well beside him and is another option at midfield along with Flan, Shaugho, Bannon and Gary Dolan. Whilst Flan is a hell of a forward on his day none of the other four can play anywhere else, which is frustrating to say the least.

Delighted to reaffirm our position with our neighbours, void of a wind tunnel, slipping or dropping balls. Cusack Park certainly helped us as well and whilst I haven't played on it in years it used to be like a carpet and still looks in great nick, credit to the groundsmen.

Glennon had a good game too and along with his first half the previous day it looks like he's capturing a bit of form, he'll need it for Saturday. Took his points well, took the right option most times, needs to keep the ball low when through on goal, never mind the power, keep er low and accurate. Dessie destroyed the corner backs to such an extent that they were booked and ticked soon after moving on him, and rightly so. He may not have scored from play but was more or less flawless elsewhere. Budda was brutal again, would like to think that if it was a close game he would have been taken off earlier, needs a good kick up the hole a la Marooned before Saturday. Gary Dolan is not suited to full forward, although he can pop up with a goal now and again, I'd move him out to half forward. Willo kicked some fine frees in the first half and was sent off for nothing. First half incident was the far side of the pitch but second booking was a joke, television confirms this. Well done John Smyth, you put your body on the line (something we've been lacking), that bit of agression and workrate in the forwards could be just what we're missing, well able to take a point too. Connellan looked good when he came on, will get better with the years. Duffy complemented Flan well in the middle, did the simple things well, will have to up it physically if he starts against Donegal the next day.

Of the backs, I though Heals was superb, did a great job on Kavanagh, will be a massive loss the next day if he's gone. JK showed glimpses of the JK of old and the rest of the defenders held possession well. Nachie looked a bit weary at times which is unusual for him. Some save by Connaughton at the end, great to see him out the field stoking up the forwards fire again  :D

All in all it was an encouraging performance but more will be needed for Donegal, the biggest championship game in Cusack Park for years...
Post by: Billys Boots on July 10, 2007, 01:25:04 PM
Quotevoid of a wind tunnel

Jaysus, is that now the official excuse from the bottom of the genetic pile?  ::)
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on July 10, 2007, 04:08:09 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 10, 2007, 01:25:04 PM
Quotevoid of a wind tunnel

Jaysus, is that now the official excuse from the bottom of the genetic pile?  ::)

Jaysus, that's some bite there Billy, make sure you chew thoroughly before swallowing  ;D