GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 05:09:32 PM

Title: Fair play to Roscommon.
Post by: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 05:09:32 PM
Did not let petty local rivalry get in their way today.
Instead, they went all out to save their close neighbour's Division 1 status.
I salute them.
It was the manly thing to do.
Title: Re: Fair play to Roscommon.
Post by: Syferus on April 02, 2017, 05:12:19 PM
I only read the title, but yes. Fair play to us. We're mighty.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 02, 2017, 05:18:24 PM
Roscommon did what was good for Roscommon football today! Trying to beat Cavan was the only option for a team wanting to go into the Championship on some sort of a positive note. This was no surprise. Roscommon would have fancied winning this game.
Post by: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 05:30:46 PM
That's a bit mean-spirited.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 02, 2017, 05:33:49 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 05:30:46 PM
We're like that down here, a bit like yerselves, miserable f**kers

If the roles were reversed we would have played the U-12 team, with a few U-10s for experience
Post by: moysider on April 02, 2017, 05:34:45 PM
McStay and McHale showing where their true allegiance lies.
Post by: Crete Boom on April 02, 2017, 05:52:44 PM
Is Gay Sheerin giving another state of the nation address today I wonder??
The Rossies might have the last laugh in the summer though!
Post by: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 05:59:13 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 02, 2017, 05:33:49 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 05:30:46 PM
We're like that down here, a bit like yerselves, miserable f**kers

If the roles were reversed we would have played the U-12 team, with a few U-10s for experience

Also known as, 'The Kildare Option'.
Post by: macdanger2 on April 02, 2017, 08:33:46 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 05:09:32 PM
Did not let petty local rivalry get in their way today.
Instead, they went all out to save their close neighbour's Division 1 status.
I salute them.
It was the manly thing to do.

Can't see why any neighbour wouldn't do such a thing. Unless the neighbours were a shower of Dubs after moving down to the country or something
Post by: Avondhu star on April 02, 2017, 10:48:47 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 02, 2017, 05:34:45 PM
Rubbish. You obviously don't know either man.
Post by: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 10:53:35 PM
They were shafted by their own county so I doubt that was a factor.
Post by: Syferus on April 02, 2017, 11:08:37 PM
The two Mcs have at least shown they would never have cow-towed to the Breaffy-Ballintubber mafia like Rochford did last September.

Would Mayo have won than replay had Clarke started? Probably..
Post by: ballinaman on April 02, 2017, 11:21:19 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 02, 2017, 11:08:37 PM
The two Mcs have at least shown they would never have cow-towed to the Breaffy-Ballintubber mafia like Rochford did last September.

Would Mayo have won than replay had Clarke started? Probably..
Keep at it lad...

(https://media.giphy.com/media/J8w7qWiMYSqxa/giphy.gif)
Post by: moysider on April 02, 2017, 11:37:46 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on April 02, 2017, 10:48:47 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 02, 2017, 05:34:45 PM
Rubbish. You obviously don't know either man.

I know both and all belonging to them very well. I used to kick a bit of ball with them too back in the previous millennium.  I assumed my remark would be takin in the spirit of the original post and poster. Relax a stór.
Post by: Aaron Boone on April 03, 2017, 12:18:06 AM
Good resilience today and a very solid win.
Post by: sligoman2 on April 03, 2017, 03:52:35 AM
Another needless Roscommon related thread..
Post by: Syferus on April 03, 2017, 09:08:51 AM
Quote from: sligoman2 on April 03, 2017, 03:52:35 AM

If ye ever got out of D3 ye might get a few of your own.
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 03, 2017, 09:16:38 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 03, 2017, 09:08:51 AM

We might well pass each other by next year, you'd never know.
Post by: Syferus on April 03, 2017, 09:46:19 AM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on April 03, 2017, 09:16:38 AM
Quote from: Syferus on April 03, 2017, 09:08:51 AM

We might well pass each other by next year, you'd never know.

Maybe in the ladies.
Post by: Jinxy on April 03, 2017, 10:22:58 AM
You're not supposed to be in there.
Post by: sligoman2 on April 03, 2017, 11:00:34 AM
Sy

Ye are a shambles, infighting, inconsistent and overrated.  I'm tired of reading all these stupid threads about Roscommon.  I should never have looked at this thread because I should have known better.

Just wondering when the " we beat Cavan, Cavan beat Mayo = we must be better than Mayo.

Anyways, happy Monday to ye all.
Post by: Hound on April 03, 2017, 12:18:40 PM
It's actually a Kildare thread.

But half of them are too clever to react, and the other half too thick to notice.
Post by: Jinxy on April 03, 2017, 12:43:35 PM
They've probably been mucking out all morning to be fair to them.
Post by: Syferus on April 03, 2017, 12:44:10 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on April 03, 2017, 11:00:34 AM
Sy

Ye are a shambles, infighting, inconsistent and overrated.  I'm tired of reading all these stupid threads about Roscommon.  I should never have looked at this thread because I should have known better.

Just wondering when the " we beat Cavan, Cavan beat Mayo = we must be better than Mayo.

We still beat ye after spotting you eight points. Imagine how much it would have been had we decided to bother for the whole match..
Post by: Owenmoresider on April 03, 2017, 12:47:03 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 03, 2017, 12:44:10 PM
Sy

We still beat ye after spotting you eight points. Imagine how much it would have been had we decided to bother for the whole match..
Imagine if ye had decided to bother for the rest of that championship too.
Post by: Westside on April 03, 2017, 01:04:45 PM
Who did Roscommon want to face in Division 2 2018, Mayo who they never beat or Cavan who they always best?
Post by: sligoman2 on April 03, 2017, 01:21:32 PM
Sy

[/quote

The difference is we accept we are a mediocre div 3 team ye think ye are much better than ye really are.  Imagine what would have happened if we decided to play in the second half?

Over and out
Post by: weareros on April 03, 2017, 01:42:18 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on April 03, 2017, 01:21:32 PM
Sy

[/quote

The difference is we accept we are a mediocre div 3 team ye think ye are much better than ye really are.  Imagine what would have happened if we decided to play in the second half?

Over and out

I don't know any Roscommon person who thinks that. Struggling to overcome NY and getting trounced by Clare in the championship would have put to bed any such notions. The performance in the league only clarified our position. Hyde Park yesterday was a contest between the two worst teams, and both rightly went down. The win is only meaningful in that it will give the team a bit of breathing room. A good beating by Cavan as some were predicting would have confirmed the team had gone backwards, given that we usually had their measure in important games in the Evans era. It just confirmed we're neither better nor worse. I think we would be a bit better if the Dalys and Neil Collins were involved and I would like to think McStay will seek those lads out, spit on the hand, shake and sort it out. I would expect us to survive Div 2 next year. The thread was also set up by some other counties, giving us an ironical and proverbial pat on the head with all the sincerity of an old lady saying aren't your kids great to be so well behaved as mass. It will be gone soon enough, and nothing to get too excited about.
Post by: rosnarun on April 03, 2017, 04:12:44 PM
Wexford pulled the piuss aswell in the last 2 games make you wish them very little luck.
Its not as though wexford are inundated with big games they can afford to throw 2 of them.
If Ivan yeats still had a bookies id be checking gambling patterns
Post by: Syferus on April 03, 2017, 05:42:16 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on April 03, 2017, 01:21:32 PM
Sy

Over and out

Sickening arrogance from the county with 21 Connachts towards the one with just three, alright..
Post by: Rossfan on April 28, 2017, 02:21:50 PM
Donie Shine Snr has passed away.
R.I.P.
Been unwell for a while.
Post by: Syferus on April 28, 2017, 04:25:36 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 28, 2017, 02:21:50 PM
Donie Shine Snr has passed away.
R.I.P.
Been unwell for a while.

Manager of those great Clann teams of the 80s and 90s. Gave a lot to the cause throughout his life.
Post by: AZOffaly on April 28, 2017, 05:50:22 PM
He managed Clann in an All Ireland semi against Ferbane in 1986 when my Dad was managing Ferbane. A great Roscommon man. RIP.
Post by: Cunny Funt on April 28, 2017, 05:58:16 PM
Some nice tributes in here http://www.shannonside.ie/sport/roscommon-sport/tributes-paid-late-donie-shine/ a sample of the passion he had for game is probably heard in that last audio piece.

RIP
Post by: Avondhu star on April 28, 2017, 06:38:16 PM
Very sorry to hear that news. A great Ross man.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 28, 2017, 08:07:32 PM
Sorry to hear about his passing. He was a fine footballer, well respected by his opponents as well as his colleagues. Ross had a fine team when Donie was in his prime, including the Feeley twins, Aidan Brady and Gerry O'Malley. Any one of them would find a place on any team in the land. Dunno much about his managerial career but he frightened the hell outa me many a time when he had the ball in his hands and was heading towards the Mayo goal.
Ar Dheis Dé go raibh a h-anam.
Post by: Tatler Jack on April 28, 2017, 10:54:30 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 28, 2017, 08:07:32 PM
Sorry to hear about his passing. He was a fine footballer, well respected by his opponents as well as his colleagues. Ross had a fine team when Donie was in his prime, including the Feeley twins, Aidan Brady and Gerry O'Malley. Any one of them would find a place on any team in the land. Dunno much about his managerial career but he frightened the hell outa me many a time when he had the ball in his hands and was heading towards the Mayo goal.
Ar Dheis Dé go raibh a h-anam.

I think you are mixing Donie up with PJ Lar. Donie played county in early 70's - think I played U21 against Clan in 1972 and he was playing.  Anyway condolences to his family and Clan. He was a passionate Clan man and a salt of the earth Rossie.
Post by: Rossfan on April 29, 2017, 12:35:16 AM
Donie wouldn't have been old enough to play with O'Malley or Brady.
I'd say he's in the mid 60s so playing early 70s would be about right.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 29, 2017, 04:29:48 AM
Condolences to our neighbours.
Post by: seafoid on April 29, 2017, 07:08:47 AM
That Clann team was very unlucky. It was great to see Brigids do the business.
Ceol na n-aingil go gcloisfidh sé. 
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on April 29, 2017, 08:46:38 AM
Ar deis De go raibh a anam dilis
Post by: seafoid on April 29, 2017, 08:57:51 AM
1988 all Ireland club final

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XCzkESJTRuE

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6cpwkN-gut4

The old scoreboard could only show county names .

I think that people who keep things going when the county isn't doing well are especially important. They are the ones who build the foundations of the success of the future.