GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2017, 05:44:50 PM

Title: Mayo v Donegal - Sunday 2nd April 2pm MacHale Park
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2017, 05:44:50 PM
Hopefully my 'funny feeling' will be proven correct for 2 weeks in succession.
Title: Re: Mayo v Donegal - Sunday 2nd March 2pm MacHale Park
Post by: moysider on March 27, 2017, 08:36:36 PM

You're heaping awful pressure on the team with your rampant optimism Farr!
Title: Re: Mayo v Donegal - Sunday 2nd March 2pm MacHale Park
Post by: mayo.mick on March 27, 2017, 08:48:44 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2017, 05:44:50 PM
Hopefully my 'funny feeling' will be proven correct for 2 weeks in succession.

I fecking hope so!
Title: Re: Mayo v Donegal - Sunday 2nd April 2pm MacHale Park
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2017, 09:38:11 PM
CORMAC REILLY IS REFFING...  >:(
Post by: Tubberman on March 27, 2017, 10:03:54 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2017, 09:38:11 PM

Are you serious!? I'm definitely going so. There would want to be a few extra gardaí on duty!
Post by: ballinaman on March 27, 2017, 10:05:35 PM
(https://media.balls.ie/uploads/2014/10/mickbarrett.jpg)
Post by: From the Bunker on March 27, 2017, 10:06:49 PM

How is that fool still a Referee? Was taken off the Championship panel two years ago.

Will just have to set Agent Mick Barrett after him. The local stewarts will be helping him onto the pitch! :P

Post by: Tubberman on March 27, 2017, 10:16:27 PM
(http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_PvaC8eRNFWc/THmIg18NFyI/AAAAAAAAA88/R6uCYU4ifQ8/s1600/Simpsons+Movie+Angry+Mob.jpg)
Post by: Jinxy on March 27, 2017, 10:31:51 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2017, 09:25:39 AM
I've a funny feeling we'll get something from the Donegal game.

(http://i0.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/newsfeed/000/495/314/e2b.png)
Post by: moysider on March 28, 2017, 12:51:32 AM

His rehabilitation is complete!! Doesn't surprise me. They really like sowing it in.  Remember Pat 'f**king'  McEneaney was sent out to ref. the 2004 final and showed how brave he was after shafting us in '96 by giving Kerry easy frees early and often.
Reilly will do us as well again. I know I am paranoid but they are obviously out to get us.
Mick Barrett will have cover fire this time. Lol.  I cant imagine Lofty or the other stewards saving Reilly's bacon. Only messing. I'm sure he'll have a great game.
Post by: joemamas on March 28, 2017, 01:22:18 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 28, 2017, 12:51:32 AM

His rehabilitation is complete!! Doesn't surprise me. They really like sowing it in.  Remember Pat 'f**king'  McEneaney was sent out to ref. the 2004 final and showed how brave he was after shafting us in '96 by giving Kerry easy frees early and often.
Reilly will do us as well again. I know I am paranoid but they are obviously out to get us.
Mick Barrett will have cover fire this time. Lol.  I cant imagine Lofty or the other stewards saving Reilly's bacon. Only messing. I'm sure he'll have a great game.

He just might call in sick. Make that a hammy on Friday.
It will add at least 2000 to the attendance. 1500 guards 400 stewards and 100 photographers.
Jinxy will you be attending.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 28, 2017, 06:58:53 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 27, 2017, 10:31:51 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 27, 2017, 09:25:39 AM
I've a funny feeling we'll get something from the Donegal game.

(http://i0.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/newsfeed/000/495/314/e2b.png)
Ha. Might be Cormac's head on a plate if he's lucky.
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 09:12:27 AM
Honestly lads, ye are blowing this whole thing all out of proportion.
Let it go.
I doubt Cormac even remembers reffing that game.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on March 28, 2017, 10:15:35 AM
Will the daughter let Mayo Mick go I wonder?

Just looked back at him losing it in Limerick. Christ, it's the funniest thing I have seen in a long time and it's how we all feel at one time or another.
Post by: Maroon Manc on March 28, 2017, 10:18:58 AM
I think the level of hatred they hold for Reilly in Mayo has been greatly underestimated.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 28, 2017, 10:31:59 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 09:12:27 AM
Let it go.

That's probably because he didn't ref it correctly.
Post by: Crete Boom on March 28, 2017, 10:33:00 AM
Let it go.

Okay it's been a while since this was brought up but it feels like a natural reaction whenever a Meath man utters the words let it go ,
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpFFmlAPCek  ;D ;D

(Only thoughtful analysis Spillane ever offered all these years in my opinion ;))
Post by: Beffs on March 28, 2017, 10:39:59 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on March 28, 2017, 10:18:58 AM
I think the level of hatred they hold for Reilly in Mayo has been greatly underestimated.

On a scale of 1-10, how bad is the hatred, compared to Kerry and "Dublin" Joe McQuillan?  8)
Post by: Crete Boom on March 28, 2017, 10:43:42 AM
Quote from: Beffs on March 28, 2017, 10:39:59 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on March 28, 2017, 10:18:58 AM

On a scale of 1-10, how bad is the hatred, compared to Kerry and "Dublin" Joe McQuillan?  8)

Good question Beffs!! I would say a 7 which might seem low but I think Kerry's hatred of McQuillan is very underrated and underestimated  Gaa ref hatred!! ;D
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 12:07:21 PM
I can see the Mayo media mafia making a big song and dance about this in order to try and 'get at' Cormac in advance of the game.
Not going to happen folks.
He will be as fair & balanced as always.
Post by: rosnarun on March 28, 2017, 12:13:27 PM
Let it go.
its gone beyond a joke at this stage .
sure he's not mayo favorite ref but its disgusting the way every one feel free to build up a hatred of a volunteer ref.
he and his family will be well aware of this and it has turned very nasty .
Time to cop on
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 12:59:34 PM
The funny thing is, that was a hugely enjoyable game for the neutrals watching on telly.
I can't even remember why Mayo fans were so mad at him afterwards.
Was it something to do with black cards?
The reality is that Aidan O'Shea and Cillian O'Connor had to sit out a good chunk of the game with head injuries and that was probably the difference in the end.
Post by: ballinaman on March 28, 2017, 01:06:44 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 12:59:34 PM
The funny thing is, that was a hugely enjoyable game for the neutrals watching on telly.
The reality is that Aidan O'Shea and Cillian O'Connor had to sit out a good chunk of the game with head injuries and that was probably the difference in the end.
Enjoy!

https://youtu.be/CknIVCsoVYs
Post by: whitey on March 28, 2017, 01:20:27 PM

Biggest one for me was his failure to send off the Kerry corner back in the first 15 minutes when he had 2 indisputable opportunities to do so.  Kerry were given 2 extremely soft penalties and a plethora of tap over frees at vital stage ages of the game to pull them back into contention. Kerry also took several frees quite a distance from where they were initially awarded, making the hem much more scorae
Post by: From the Bunker on March 28, 2017, 01:25:06 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 12:07:21 PM
I can see the Mayo media mafia making a big song and dance about this in order to try and 'get at' Cormac in advance of the game.
Not going to happen folks.
He will be as fair & balanced as always.

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: From the Bunker on March 28, 2017, 01:31:13 PM
God help the poor incompetent man but it is going to be a long day for him in Castlebar!
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 01:34:07 PM
I dunno.
Bad decisions usually balance out over a game anyway.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 28, 2017, 01:36:28 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on March 28, 2017, 01:06:44 PM
Enjoy!

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/reillys-officiating-lacked-consistency-284360.html (http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/reillys-officiating-lacked-consistency-284360.html)
Post by: From the Bunker on March 28, 2017, 01:40:07 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 01:34:07 PM
I dunno.

Really?

How did Joe Sheridans rugby goal balance itself out for Louth?
Post by: joemamas on March 28, 2017, 02:04:18 PM
I dunno.

Are you taking the piss.

I met people from neutral counties months after that game and their comment
"It was just wrong"

Do I think he set out from Meath that day to shaft Mayo, no I don't.
But he absolutely had a huge bearing in determining the result, without a doubt.
Lets start with Kerry should have played three quarters of the game with a man down, and then the pissy frees, etc.

Why did the GAA need to appoint him to ref a Mayo game. They knew what the reaction would be. He is not even a championship referee.
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 28, 2017, 02:27:02 PM
That All-Ireland semi final replay in the appropriate venue for it that is the Gaelic Grounds remains one of my favourite GAA games of all time. Football was the real winner in the end.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 28, 2017, 02:40:27 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on March 28, 2017, 02:27:02 PM
That All-Ireland semi final replay in the appropriate venue for it that is the Gaelic Grounds remains one of my favourite GAA games of all time. Football was the real winner in the end.

Kerry was the real winner in the end and forget your hogwash. You are not Eugene McGee by any chance?
Post by: From the Bunker on March 28, 2017, 02:42:36 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on March 28, 2017, 01:06:44 PM
Enjoy!

You can hear Plámás O'Se sneering in the background.
Post by: ardtole on March 28, 2017, 02:55:33 PM
As a neutral, I thought Reilly robbed mayo blind that day. If it was one big decision he got wrong you could understand but it was probably closer to 10/12 more than dubious calls.
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 03:03:04 PM
We've been robbed blind by Paudie Hughes on several occasions.
Life goes on.
Michael Collins from Cork used to hate us as well.
It was only one game lads.
Post by: Crete Boom on March 28, 2017, 03:04:29 PM
I dunno.

Unfortunately Jinxy with Cormac they don't. He is a very poor ref, as in he stands out a mile as a poor ref in a non vintage intercounty crop of refs we have at the moment.

Does he have some personal vendetta against Mayo , I highly doubt it. Does he deserve all the personal abuse he will most likely get on Sunday , No , but to argue he is anything but a very poor referee is a nigh on impossible case to make.

I have watched him cause mayhem at club level in Meath as he a has a very bad habit of reffing one side to the rules and letting the other side get away with murder then just letting everything go on both sides when he loses control of the game which funny enough seem to end in brawls frequently enough with him on the whistle!!Also he seems to have no idea how to ref the tackle area at all!!

People forget that in the quarter final that year between Mayo and Cork he absolutely rode Cork in that game with the famous row over how long he told Colm O' Neill was left when he took that last free!!

Still though bad and all that he was handing over about 1-3 to Kerry for nothing and the fact the game might as well have been in Killarney to save the west Kerry lads even more diesel money , we still should have one that game and it was factors in Mayo's control not really any of the above nonsense/incompetence that lost the game for us. That for me (not Cormac Reilly  /the Gaelic Grounds/or big Supermacs Mayo Mick Barrett fiasco) is what really hurt after that loss!!

(P.S. Az I still like the Gaelic Grounds even after all that! ;D)
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 28, 2017, 03:06:38 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 03:03:04 PM
We've been robbed blind by Paudie Hughes on several occasions.
Life goes on.
Michael Collins from Cork used to hate us as well.
It was only one game lads.
And ironically the Mayo county secretary in his refereeing days in quite recent times rarely gave any Sligo team he reffed a fair shake.
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 03:22:02 PM
In fairness to Cormac, he makes a far better linesman.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 28, 2017, 04:05:51 PM
Will the great man be welcoming Mr Reilly to Castlebar?

(http://c0.thejournal.ie/media/2014/10/a-mayo-supported-is-removed-from-the-pitch-late-in-the-game-3-752x501.jpg)
Post by: greatpoint on March 28, 2017, 04:18:00 PM
In fairness now, Mayo would have won the All-Ireland in 2014 if it wasn't for Cormac Reilly.
Post by: Hound on March 28, 2017, 04:22:33 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on March 28, 2017, 04:18:00 PM
In fairness now, Mayo would have won the All-Ireland in 2014 if it wasn't for Cormac Reilly.
That's debatable. Who's to say what a different ref would have done and what different mistakes he'd have made. Plus there was a final to negotiate.

What is clear is that if Aidan and Cillian hadn't crashed into each other, very unfortunately, Mayo would have reached the final
Post by: greatpoint on March 28, 2017, 04:23:15 PM
Quote from: Hound on March 28, 2017, 04:22:33 PM
That's debatable. Who's to say what a different ref would have done and what different mistakes he'd have made. Plus there was a final to negotiate.

What is clear is that if Aidan and Cillian hadn't crashed into each other, very unfortunately, Mayo would have reached the final

Ah no come on now Hound, Mayo were definitely going to win it that year.
Post by: whitey on March 28, 2017, 04:26:40 PM
If that cvnt Reilly had an ounce of self awareness or introspection he would have hung up the whistle after Limerick.

It shows what an arrogant pr1ck he is the hat he has the balls to come down to Castlebar for a vital league match.....this could end very badly

Post by: J70 on March 28, 2017, 04:48:16 PM
What are youse going to do to him whitey?
Post by: J70 on March 28, 2017, 04:50:39 PM

Remarkable faith in a team with an AI final record like Mayo.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 28, 2017, 04:50:47 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on March 28, 2017, 02:27:02 PM
Sligo man happy when Mayo lose shocker.
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 04:59:14 PM
Quote from: whitey on March 28, 2017, 04:26:40 PM
If that cvnt Reilly had an ounce of self awareness or introspection he would have hung up the whistle after Limerick.

It shows what an arrogant pr1ck he is the hat he has the balls to come down to Castlebar for a vital league match.....this could end very badly

It usually does when you're playing Kerry.  ;D
Post by: Crete Boom on March 28, 2017, 05:02:33 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 03:22:02 PM
In fairness to Cormac, he makes a far better linesman.

Ah come on Jinxy are you trying to get your county man killed!! ;D ;D
Post by: Crete Boom on March 28, 2017, 05:03:48 PM
Quote from: ardtole on March 28, 2017, 02:55:33 PM
As a neutral, I thought Reilly robbed mayo blind that day. If it was one big decision he got wrong you could understand but it was probably closer to 10/12 more than dubious calls.

Yeah he probably did but we still had the chances to beat Kerry both days and didn't take them!!
Post by: Maroon Manc on March 28, 2017, 05:09:34 PM
Reilly should never have been let ref at this level again after that performance, letting Enright off for both those challenges was a disgrace. I seem to recall Kerry benefitting from a lot of soft frees that day. This Mayo team were at their peak in 13 & 14 and given how many finals they've been in and no AI since 1951 you can't blame them for their attitude towards Reilly.
Post by: whitey on March 28, 2017, 05:18:31 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 04:59:14 PM
Quote from: whitey on March 28, 2017, 04:26:40 PM

It usually does when you're playing Kerry.  ;D

Haha....you're right....and the one time we had the beating of them this fvcking wank3r decided to make up the rules as he went along.
Post by: BluestackBoy on March 28, 2017, 05:26:31 PM
In what will probably be a forlorn attempt at getting this thread back on track, I think Mayo will win this because their need is greater than Donegal's.

I don't think Donegal want to face the Dubs without Ryan McHugh & would prefer the unbeaten record to keep climbing till AI semi time & then when it is a proper mill stone round their necks & the media are going into overdrive,  cream the feckers.
Post by: greatpoint on March 28, 2017, 06:33:54 PM
Quote from: J70 on March 28, 2017, 04:50:39 PM

How could one not have remarkable faith with supporters this impassioned?

(http://c0.thejournal.ie/media/2014/10/a-mayo-supported-is-removed-from-the-pitch-late-in-the-game-3-752x501.jpg)
Post by: PW Nally on March 28, 2017, 07:30:57 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on March 28, 2017, 06:33:54 PM

The reactions of the crowd to the left of the beasht is priceless.
Post by: joemamas on March 28, 2017, 07:55:33 PM
The county board should have him do the coin toss or sing Amhran na bhfiann.
Post by: Jinxy on March 28, 2017, 07:56:57 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on March 28, 2017, 06:33:54 PM

(http://trucksmag.co.za/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/tranquilised-rhino.jpg)
Post by: whitey on March 28, 2017, 08:19:26 PM
How do you put up pictures?
Post by: greatpoint on March 28, 2017, 08:27:03 PM
Come on now Whitey, no photoshopped pictures of Reilly in compromising situations.
Post by: moysider on March 28, 2017, 10:13:21 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on March 28, 2017, 05:03:48 PM
Quote from: ardtole on March 28, 2017, 02:55:33 PM

Yeah he probably did but we still had the chances to beat Kerry both days and didn't take them!!

Winning teams miss chances all the time as well.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on March 28, 2017, 10:39:26 PM
What is the major gripes Mayo fans have with Reilly's refereeing performance that day?

Obviously Enright should certainly have gone after about 20 minutes when he gave the penalty away and Donaghy got a few very soft frees but were there more major incidents he got wrong?

Obviously there are genuine grievances there but it wasn't the biggest shafting by a ref I've seen. Reilly also wouldn't be the first referee Kerry have played like a fiddle down the year, there's nothing even subtle in it but we're not allowed talk about it.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 28, 2017, 10:58:49 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on March 28, 2017, 10:39:26 PM
What is the major gripes Mayo fans have with Reilly's refereeing performance that day?

Obviously Enright should certainly have gone after about 20 minutes when he gave the penalty away and Donaghy got a few very soft frees but were there more major incidents he got wrong?

Obviously there are genuine grievances there but it wasn't the biggest shafting by a ref I've seen. Reilly also wouldn't be the first referee Kerry have played like a fiddle down the year, there's nothing even subtle in it but we're not allowed talk about it.

He gave a plethora of Soft scoreable frees to Kerry. Donaghy was a protected species that day - any contact and it was a free. It was incredible really. Kerry got one if not two penalties that were not penalties. He made us use up a sub for one of our Blood subs (either Cillian or Aido). On the opposite side we could not buy a free. To hand a side like Kerry in any match something in the region of 1-3 to 2-5 is hard to imagine. And to think we brought the game to extra time in spite of all of this.

I don't think it was a given we'd have beaten Donegal in the final, it would have been a 50/50 game. But the scalp of Kerry along the way had it rewards.

I had great respect for the players after the game. To have suffered such biased decisions in such an important game and not one said anything to the media. Not a line! I'm sure Martin Brehony et all tried to coax it out. But not a word.
Post by: moysider on March 28, 2017, 11:16:18 PM

You ve pretty much answered it there your self Bomber.
The biggest shafting is in the eye of the beholder of course but I think we've been on the end of a couple of big ones. Then again maybe that's just me.
A referee should not be pla.yed like a fiddle by anybody but Kerry do seem to get away with stuff. Dick Clerkin kicked or Nicholas Murphy assaulted - no problem.
Even this Spring Tom Parsons was red carded while Kerry lads were whaling away in same ruck without reproach.
That day in Limerick, Donnacha Walsh systematically fouled all the time and it was obviously premeditated and tactical. Checking runs, late hits and cheap shots.
Post by: mayo.mick on March 28, 2017, 11:45:52 PM
Are we going to get a walkover on Sunday....  ;D

https://twitter.com/KathViner/status/846833515949907973

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C8COf6MWsAAd1Av.jpg)
Post by: moysider on March 29, 2017, 12:04:43 AM
Quote from: mayo.mick on March 28, 2017, 11:45:52 PM
Are we going to get a walkover on Sunday....  ;D

https://twitter.com/KathViner/status/846833515949907973

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C8COf6MWsAAd1Av.jpg)

Excellent! Looks like we're just playing Carndonagh and Malin Head.
Post by: J70 on March 29, 2017, 02:02:11 AM
Nah, I think the Gaoth Dobhair men are what's left there... You're lucky Eamon McGee has retired and MacNiallais is on sabbatical! :P

Still leaves Neil McGee and then Carroll, Gillespie and Mulligan from the U-21s.

They might be worth a punt for a county title in the next year or two.

Post by: mayoaremagic on March 29, 2017, 09:13:07 AM
Quote from: moysider on March 28, 2017, 11:16:18 PM

You ve pretty much answered it there your self Bomber.
The biggest shafting is in the eye of the beholder of course but I think we've been on the end of a couple of big ones. Then again maybe that's just me.
A referee should not be pla.yed like a fiddle by anybody but Kerry do seem to get away with stuff. Dick Clerkin kicked or Nicholas Murphy assaulted - no problem.
Even this Spring Tom Parsons was red carded while Kerry lads were whaling away in same ruck without reproach.
That day in Limerick, Donnacha Walsh systematically fouled all the time and it was obviously premeditated and tactical. Checking runs, late hits and cheap shots.

Kerry are  not cynical. This is cute Kerry hoorism.
Post by: J70 on March 29, 2017, 10:33:53 PM
Ryan McHugh confirmed out injured for the next month or so.

Will be back for the Antrim game though.
Post by: moysider on March 30, 2017, 12:01:57 AM

That's good, and he wont have to be pushed to be back for Antrim match.
Post by: joemamas on March 30, 2017, 08:17:11 PM
Is this game by chance being broadcast on the web, like some club games were ?
Post by: Mayo Club 51 on March 31, 2017, 09:11:33 PM
Mayo team for Sunday has just been announced

1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)

3. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

4. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)

5. Colm Boyle (Davitts)

6. Lee Keegan (Westport)

7. Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels)

8. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)

9. Danny Kirby (Castlebar Mitchels)

10. Shane Nally (Garrymore)

11. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, Capt)

12. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)

13. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)

14. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)

15. Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 09:51:21 PM

Maybe 2/3 shy of championship starting team?
Post by: Lar Naparka on March 31, 2017, 10:58:36 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2017, 09:51:21 PM

That's how I see it too. There won't / can't be many changes when the championship comes around. I think the backs are as good as we are going to get and Seamie will have his work cut out if he gets in in place of Kirby. Right now, I' bet on KIrby holding on.
I suppose a place will have to be found for Aido but both Shane Nally and Fergal are playing well and improving with every game. I can't see any of the remaining four being dropped.
BTW, I expect one helluva performance from Mayo next day as it's could be the last chance for some to impress Rochford this side of the first round of the championship.
Post by: macdanger2 on March 31, 2017, 11:07:43 PM
DOC hasn't played well yet this year, you'd wonder if he's fully fit
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 11:25:11 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on March 31, 2017, 10:58:36 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2017, 09:51:21 PM

That's how I see it too. There won't / can't be many changes when the championship comes around. I think the backs are as good as we are going to get and Seamie will have his work cut out if he gets in in place of Kirby. Right now, I' bet on KIrby holding on.
I suppose a place will have to be found for Aido but both Shane Nally and Fergal are playing well and improving with every game. I can't see any of the remaining four being dropped.
BTW, I expect one helluva performance from Mayo next day as it's could be the last chance for some to impress Rochford this side of the first round of the championship.

I expect Seamie will be one to come back in myself.
As regards performance I dunno. I couldn't find fault with the players so far. I'm expecting a close run thing again on Sunday. 50/50 at best because we are creating so few scoring chances we will probably struggle to get enough to win. We've actually scored some unlikely brilliant points in this league that has kept us alive. Parson's goal was brilliant as well. We are not getting/creating many chances in and around the D where most scores happen and where the easy frees are won. Teams have found that if you defend narrow against us, we struggle to break things down. Nally selection at  probably because he will give us a bit of shape and scoring threat. I don't think the old guard have to impress Rochford that much because really they are pretty secure. There's not many behind them knocking down doors.
Post by: bucko on March 31, 2017, 11:36:42 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on March 31, 2017, 11:07:43 PM
Before the Tyrone game I'm certain there was a piece in the Mayo News that he was to miss the remainder of the league with a hamstring injury, so I was surprised to see him appear against Tyrone. He hasn't been 100% fit since after the U21 final last year IMO.
Post by: mayo.mick on March 31, 2017, 11:40:05 PM
Any word on the squad being cut again? Did someone have a list after the last cull, 34 left was it?
Post by: moysider on March 31, 2017, 11:45:22 PM
Quote from: bucko on March 31, 2017, 11:36:42 PM
Before the Tyrone game I'm certain there was a piece in the Mayo News that he was to miss the remainder of the league with a hamstring injury, so I was surprised to see him appear against Tyrone. He hasn't been 100% fit since after the U21 final last year IMO.

It was that nasty petulant kick from Emmett Bolton after he scored that goal v Kildare that did him.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 31, 2017, 11:53:19 PM
Quote from: moysider on March 31, 2017, 11:45:22 PM

It was that nasty petulant kick from Emmett Bolton after he scored that goal v Kildare that did him.

Post by: bucko on April 01, 2017, 12:03:18 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 31, 2017, 11:53:19 PM

Sorry I remember that one now, was out of the country for that game and only caught the highlights. I'd just be worried that he's not moving as well he was in 2015, that he's not posing as much as a threat in open play. Watching him last year in situations where you'd back him to open his shoulders and take on his man, he was more inclined to cut back infield and lay the ball off. I just hope he isn't going to have a promising inter county career stunted by injury, to my mind he has the potential to be for us what Paul Flynn was to Dublin in his prime.
Post by: moysider on April 01, 2017, 12:08:49 AM
Quote from: bucko on April 01, 2017, 12:03:18 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 31, 2017, 11:53:19 PM

Sorry I remember that one now, was out of the country for that game and only caught the highlights. I'd just be worried that he's not moving as well he was in 2015, that he's not posing as much as a threat in open play. Watching him last year in situations where you'd back him to open his shoulders and take on his man, he was more inclined to cut back infield and lay the ball off. I just hope he isn't going to have a promising inter county career stunted by injury, to my mind he has the potential to be for us what Paul Flynn was to Dublin in his prime.

As well as injury he possibly needs a damn good rest. Probably has had a lot of College's stuff done already and for a young fella has had 2/3 intensive years between club, U21, colleges and senior.
Post by: Itchy on April 01, 2017, 09:40:19 AM
Cillian o Connor concussed last week and starting this week? My local club wouldn't allow a player to do that.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 01, 2017, 09:56:17 AM
Quote from: Itchy on April 01, 2017, 09:40:19 AM
Cillian o Connor concussed last week and starting this week? My local club wouldn't allow a player to do that.

Concussed! How did that happen? Not a word from the CCCC in relation to it all week. Same with the media. You must be imagining things.
Post by: bucko on April 01, 2017, 10:33:50 AM
From the Mayo News;
Injury update
THE chances of Ger Cafferkey or Seamie O'Shea being part of Mayo's match-day squad next Sunday have improved after both lined out for their clubs last weekend.
O'Shea played his second successive full match for Breaffy in the space of a week in the Michael Walsh League semi-final on Sunday while Cafferkey is understood to have featured for approximately 25 minutes for Ballina in a challenge game.
All 21 players who featured for Mayo during last Sunday's victory in Tyrone are expected to be available for selection again next weekend.
A Mayo GAA statement yesterday (Monday) confirmed that Donie Vaughan and Cillian O'Connor had passed head injury assessment tests after both receiving blows to the head in separate incidents in the closing stages of the game.
'Both players passed SCAT 3 head injury assessment (HIA) and did not exhibit any delayed concussion symptoms on subsequent reviews," read the statement.
Post by: Itchy on April 01, 2017, 11:29:34 AM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 01, 2017, 09:56:17 AM
Quote from: Itchy on April 01, 2017, 09:40:19 AM

Concussed! How did that happen? Not a word from the CCCC in relation to it all week. Same with the media. You must be imagining things.

That's hardly a defence for putting a players welfare at risk.
Post by: rodney trotter on April 01, 2017, 11:35:35 AM
They let Lee Keegan play on last year in a league game when he clearly concussed.  The Mayo physios mustn't be up to much
Post by: Tubberman on April 01, 2017, 11:41:50 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 01, 2017, 11:35:35 AM
They let Lee Keegan play on last year in a league game when he clearly concussed.  The Mayo physios mustn't be up to much

Don't know what decision would have to do with the physio
Post by: rodney trotter on April 01, 2017, 11:51:33 AM
Team doctor, or so called.
Post by: stew on April 01, 2017, 12:39:13 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 01, 2017, 11:51:33 AM

He should work for Chelsea, they dont give a toss about their players either!

Post by: Crete Boom on April 01, 2017, 01:09:54 PM
Quote from: stew on April 01, 2017, 12:39:13 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 01, 2017, 11:51:33 AM

He should work for Chelsea, they dont give a toss about their players either!

It's the same team doctor who got blasted online by all the virtual doctors for keeping O'Shea & O'Connor off for 10 mins going through concussion tests in the semi V Kerry in Limerick.
Lack of Concussion protocol is a big problem these days. Rory O'Carroll was left on the field for a lot longer than O'Connor or Keegan in 2013. Some of the stuff I have seen in club matches recently would shock you. Lads are getting bigger, stronger and faster so the Gaa really needs rules and standards to protect the players from themselves as much as anyone else!!
Post by: bucko on April 01, 2017, 02:41:13 PM
A bit of stone throwing in glasshouses going on here, I doubt if any county is completely innocent from keeping a concussed player on the pitch.
Post by: twohands!!! on April 01, 2017, 02:48:27 PM
Quote from: bucko on April 01, 2017, 02:41:13 PM
A bit of stone throwing in glasshouses going on here, I doubt if any county is completely innocent from keeping a concussed player on the pitch.

So far in the league the following have all sat out games after going off with concusion in games
Mattie Donnelly v Dublin
Shane Enright v Mayo
Darren Hughes v Kerry

There might even be a couple more I missed.

Stands in stark contrast to Mayo's behaviour.
Post by: macdanger2 on April 01, 2017, 02:51:55 PM
I think we definitely should be letting COC and Vaughan rest for this one, a poxy league game isn't worth a potential risk to their health.

Things like this should be out of the hands of the county management team though.
Post by: bucko on April 01, 2017, 03:06:17 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on April 01, 2017, 02:48:27 PM

So far in the league the following have all sat out games after going off with concusion in games
Mattie Donnelly v Dublin
Shane Enright v Mayo
Darren Hughes v Kerry

According to injury update COC and Vaughan both passed SCAT3 head injury assessment protocols, the same ones adopted by World Rugby, so a recognised sports medicine protocol was used. I don't know if anything similar was used for the players mentioned above or if they just decided they're concussed, sit them out for this round. Ill agree that our management of concussed players has been below par, the Lee Keegan incident last year was particularly badly managed, that was an in match situation. Vaughan was removed after his injury last Sunday and COC's happened pretty much at full time and while the medical staff were dealing with Vaughan over the far side. As regards them being fit for this weekend if they've passed set down assessments then anything we think is s matter of opinion. I'm not condoning it, but until the GAA come out with defined policy of dealing with concussions it will continue as is.
Post by: Crete Boom on April 01, 2017, 03:50:31 PM
Quote from: bucko on April 01, 2017, 03:06:17 PM

Mattie Donnelly v Dublin
Shane Enright v Mayo
Darren Hughes v Kerry

According to injury update COC and Vaughan both passed SCAT3 head injury assessment protocols, the same ones adopted by World Rugby, so a recognised sports medicine protocol was used. I don't know if anything similar was used for the players mentioned above or if they just decided they're concussed, sit them out for this round. Ill agree that our management of concussed players has been below par, the Lee Keegan incident last year was particularly badly managed, that was an in match situation. Vaughan was removed after his injury last Sunday and COC's happened pretty much at full time and while the medical staff were dealing with Vaughan over the far side. As regards them being fit for this weekend if they've passed set down assessments then anything we think is s matter of opinion. I'm not condoning it, but until the GAA come out with defined policy of dealing with concussions it will continue as is.

Personally I would like to see them both get the weekend off.
Post by: Crete Boom on April 01, 2017, 04:04:53 PM

Mattie Donnelly v Dublin
Shane Enright v Mayo
Darren Hughes v Kerry

Alan Brogan was out for the count at the end of the drawn game against Mayo in 2015 and then played in the replay the following weekend. ( Not trying to pick on the Dubs by the way they are the best run team in all areas at the moment).
I think only a rule will stop counties taking chances with players health when there is something on the line.
Post by: blast05 on April 01, 2017, 04:37:12 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 01, 2017, 04:04:53 PM

Mattie Donnelly v Dublin
Shane Enright v Mayo
Darren Hughes v Kerry

Alan Brogan was out for the count at the end of the drawn game against Mayo in 2015 and then played in the replay the following weekend. ( Not trying to pick on the Dubs by the way they are the best run team in all areas at the moment).
I think only a rule will stop counties taking chances with players health when there is something on the line.

By using language like "taking chances with players health" .... you are questioning the professionalism of the Mayo medical team. Yes, for sure they got the Lee Keegan one wrong (over 12 months ago) but immediately put up their hands and said as much. Since then, there is nothing to suggest they are taking chances with players health - the opposite is the case.
Post by: Jinxy on April 01, 2017, 04:52:15 PM
Unfortunately, the Mayo medical team have been involved in multiple high-profile incidents in recent years where players were left on the field after a head injury, when they should have been removed immediately (and not let back) for their own safety.
1. Aidan O'Shea & Cillian O'Connor against Kerry in Limerick (2014).
2. Lee Keegan against Cork in the NFL (2016).
3. Cillian O'Connor against Tyrone (2017).
Maybe they're a bit unlucky in that all 3 games were televised and got a lot of attention, but regardless of that, it would seem that the penny has not dropped that you HAVE to get players off the field when they sustain an obvious head injury.
It doesn't matter who the player is, whether you're chasing the game or whether you're hanging on with 2 mins to go in an All-Ireland final.
If that player sustains another knock after the initial injury, it could have grave consequences for their health.
It's only a game, lads.
Post by: Crete Boom on April 01, 2017, 06:11:39 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 01, 2017, 04:52:15 PM
Unfortunately, the Mayo medical team have been involved in multiple high-profile incidents in recent years where players were left on the field after a head injury, when they should have been removed immediately (and not let back) for their own safety.
Maybe they're a bit unlucky in that all 3 games were televised and got a lot of attention, but regardless of that, it would seem that the penny has not dropped that you HAVE to get players off the field when they sustain an obvious head injury.
It doesn't matter who the player is, whether you're chasing the game or whether you're hanging on with 2 mins to go in an All-Ireland final.
If that player sustains another knock after the initial injury, it could have grave consequences for their health.
It's only a game, lads.

It was the medical team that insisted they keep them off the field in Limerick against Kerry to go thorough concussion protocols though! A bit like a Mayo forward, damned if you do and damned if you don't when it comes to the doctors/ hurlers on the ditch.
The fact is all counties should be held to a medical standard set by the Gaa e.g. minium 10 ten day period of rest if you suffer a concussion in a match.
Post by: moysider on April 01, 2017, 11:32:32 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 01, 2017, 06:11:39 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 01, 2017, 04:52:15 PM
It's only a game, lads.

It was the medical team that insisted they keep them off the field in Limerick against Kerry to go thorough concussion protocols though! A bit like a Mayo forward, damned if you do and damned if you don't when it comes to the doctors/ hurlers on the ditch.
The fact is all counties should be held to a medical standard set by the Gaa e.g. minium 10 ten day period of rest if you suffer a concussion in a match.

Of course. However both O Connor and Vaughan were given the all clear.
Post by: MayoBuck on April 01, 2017, 11:52:29 PM
Are Donegal naming a team for tomorrow?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 02, 2017, 12:23:35 AM
Anyone else think we'll see a draw tomorrow?
Post by: maigheo on April 02, 2017, 02:42:17 PM
Mayo in big trouble.Down by 2 points playing with the strong breeze.Looks like we will be relying on our neighbors to help us out
Post by: J70 on April 02, 2017, 02:46:42 PM
Mayo went 20 minutes without a score with the breeze.

0-11 to 1-5 coming up to the half.
Post by: maigheo on April 02, 2017, 03:20:45 PM
Its up to Roscommon to save us from the drop as Donegal in total control in Castlebar
Post by: J70 on April 02, 2017, 03:33:45 PM
Sounds like Aidan O'Shea has changed the game.
Post by: J70 on April 02, 2017, 03:35:37 PM
Donegal have totally lost their composure here.

Mayo by one.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 02, 2017, 03:38:54 PM
Cormac Reilly getting bullied by Mayo!
Post by: maigheo on April 02, 2017, 03:39:36 PM
Mayo safe as Ros have beaten Cavan
Post by: J70 on April 02, 2017, 03:48:13 PM
Disappointing second half. Donegal lost their discipline and composure and kept turning it over.

Good lesson for these young players I suppose.

Looks like Kerry draw the short straw! :P
Post by: maigheo on April 02, 2017, 03:51:12 PM
Good win in the end with OShea,Higgins ,Parsons and Keegan driving us on to victory
Post by: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 04:05:41 PM
How did Cormac get on?
Post by: From the Bunker on April 02, 2017, 04:21:33 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 04:05:41 PM
How did Cormac get on?

He was like an extra man for us in the second half. Gave us everything. All is not forgiven!
Post by: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 04:48:48 PM
At least the healing process has begun.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 02, 2017, 04:58:27 PM
Donegal should have had three lads sent off rather than the one they did.

Odd game, we were completely outplayed in the first half, fouled the Donegal lads every time they came near us, looked like it could get out of hand on the score board. Second half we bring AOS on and Donegal go flat out to bust him, lifts the crowd and our players, we destroy them.

Excellent from AOS when he came on and kept his cool when he really was targeted. Nally was v good, KMcL, Parsons, Coen all had good games.

Great to see some spirit because they didn't know Roscommon would win, so this mattered not that you would have thought it in the first half

Edit: looked like a criminal decision for the penalty
Post by: From the Bunker on April 02, 2017, 05:03:26 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 04:48:48 PM
At least the healing process has begun.

Lost control of the second half! He was all over the place. If I was a Donegal supporter I'd not be too happy (if the game mattered to win). A game like today shows you the power in influencing a (weak) referee by a large partisan crowd in a home game. An incident occurred in front of the main stand and from then on Cormac was only going to swing one way! And boy did he swing!

Post by: Crete Boom on April 02, 2017, 05:20:12 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 04:05:41 PM
How did Cormac get on?

As we have always said here in Mayo he is the best in the business!  ;D ;D
Good comeback but seriously Donegal got absolutely rode by Reilly in the second half!! Worth at least 4 points to us probably more!!
O'Shea made a huge difference in the middle when he came on and turned the tide for us.
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 02, 2017, 06:11:49 PM
Just as well this game didn't count for anything important or Cormac Reilly could add Donegal to Mayo as counties he might be well advised to steer clear of ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D In all seriousness though, how a man with no balls of any description gets to referee big county games is beyond me.

Having said that Donegal got a big lesson today & when push literally came to shove they were found wanting. Rory Gallagher has plenty to work on in the coming weeks.
Post by: Beffs on April 02, 2017, 06:23:05 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 02, 2017, 06:11:49 PM
Just as well this game didn't count for anything important or Cormac Reilly could add Donegal to Mayo as counties he might be well advised to steer clear of ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D In all seriousness though, how a man with no balls of any description gets to referee big county games is beyond me.

Having said that Donegal got a big lesson today & when push literally came to shove they were found wanting. Rory Gallagher has plenty to work on in the coming weeks.

That is a bit much, considering Donegal came into today as a decent bet to make the final & Mayo were staring relegation in the face. Mayo have been found wanting, when push has come to shove in this years league too.
Post by: criostlinn on April 02, 2017, 06:34:56 PM
Cormac Reilly did not lose the game for Donegal today. It was their complete lack of discipline for the last 20 mins. What was it with the sight of Aiden O'Shea coming onto the field that had them going from playing decent football and controlling the game to this all out targeting of a player who is not even remotely fit and if they just got on with the game probably wouldn't have had much effect on it. Like the Tymoanies the week before the young Donegal bucks got all excited with the sight of the big man. You could put it down to lack of experience but the worst offender was Murphy who went totally out of the game for the last 20 and became obsessed with having a go with O'Shea

Post by: larryin89 on April 02, 2017, 08:16:09 PM
Wow, for a board I used to respect that's twice now in as many weeks the comments following a game have have beeen totally off . Wtf like seriously, what on earth were Ye watching, Mayo and esp AOS were fooking brilliant , Ye question discipline but they couldn't cope with him he was a mountain .

Bunch of fookin tossers in here , not a clue . Just because you're capable of stringing a coherent rational balance to your posts does not equate to knowledge , yer pussies man , not a clue.

Up Mayo hahaha
Post by: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 08:18:55 PM
Well said, Larry.
Post by: greatpoint on April 02, 2017, 08:20:09 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on April 02, 2017, 08:16:09 PM
Wow, for a board I used to respect that's twice now in as many weeks the comments following a game have have beeen totally off . Wtf like seriously, what on earth were Ye watching, Mayo and esp AOS were fooking brilliant , Ye question discipline but they couldn't cope with him he was a mountain .

Bunch of fookin t**sers in here , not a clue . Just because you're capable of stringing a coherent rational balance to your posts does not equate to knowledge , yer pussies man , not a clue.

Up Mayo hahaha

Is everything OK Larry?
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 02, 2017, 08:58:13 PM

Bunch of fookin t**sers in here , not a clue . Just because you're capable of stringing a coherent rational balance to your posts does not equate to knowledge , yer pussies man , not a clue.

Up Mayo hahaha

Who are you directing that at Larryin?
Post by: Crete Boom on April 02, 2017, 09:39:01 PM

Up Mayo hahaha

(https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/7/77/AnBealBocht.jpg)

Are you one of them fíor Gaels Joe Brolly is always on about?? ;D ;D
Post by: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 09:45:51 PM
Cormac Reilly was only delighted to give that penalty.  :D
Post by: SouthDublinBro on April 02, 2017, 09:57:47 PM
Aidan O'Shea diving again? This time to get a man sent off instead of a penalty. Not a nice man. Donegal have been guilty of it before too though.
Post by: dublin7 on April 02, 2017, 10:05:10 PM
Quote from: SouthDublinBro on April 02, 2017, 09:57:47 PM
Aidan O'Shea diving again? This time to get a man sent off instead of a penalty. Not a nice man. Donegal have been guilty of it before too though.

That dive by O'Shea was one Sean Cavanagh would have been proud of.  Mayo fans can't bitch about that ref anymore
Post by: Tubberman on April 02, 2017, 10:05:33 PM

He was kicked in the stomach or balls. It's not like he broke someone's eye socket in an unprovoked attack in a pub.
Post by: Lar Naparka on April 02, 2017, 10:09:14 PM
Wow, for a board I used to respect that's twice now in as many weeks the comments following a game have have beeen totally off . Wtf like seriously, what on earth were Ye watching, Mayo and esp AOS were fooking brilliant , Ye question discipline http://gaaboard.com/board/Smileys/default/grin.gifbut they couldn't cope with him he was a mountain .

Up Mayo hahaha
Were you in Mick Byrne's by any chance when you wrote this? ;D
Post by: dublin7 on April 02, 2017, 10:13:25 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 02, 2017, 10:05:33 PM

He was kicked in the stomach or balls. It's not like he broke someone's eye socket in an unprovoked attack in a pub.

More likely scenario was a sniper in the crowd took him out. It certainly wasn't a kick by Magee the way he went down, I mean Aidan would never take a dive...........

Not the most convincing defence offered by Billie Joe Padden either
Post by: Tubberman on April 02, 2017, 10:15:25 PM
Quote from: dublin7 on April 02, 2017, 10:13:25 PM

More likely scenario was a sniper in the crowd took him out. It certainly wasn't a kick by Magee the way he went down, I mean Aidan would never take a dive...........

It was a kick,you can see it on camera. And not alone that, but the incompetent clown Reilly spoke to two umpires and linesman before giving the red. So it wasn't for nothing.
Post by: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 10:18:18 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 02, 2017, 10:15:25 PM

It was a kick,you can see it on camera. And not alone that, but the incompetent clown Reilly spoke to two umpires and linesman before giving the red. So it wasn't for nothing.

There's no pleasing you Mayo folk.
You give out if the ref rides your team, and you give out if the ref rides the other team.
Make up your minds!
Post by: From the Bunker on April 02, 2017, 10:19:56 PM

It's true. Can we borrow your personal mentor for Diarmuid Connolly to help him?
Post by: highorlow on April 02, 2017, 10:20:55 PM
Well well it didn't take long for our empire fighting Jackeen friends to pop in for a swipe.

We haven't gone away laddeens, ye know it too.

Now off to the league final thread with ye and take yer bitterness with ye!
Post by: Tubberman on April 02, 2017, 10:24:58 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 02, 2017, 10:18:18 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on April 02, 2017, 10:15:25 PM

There's no pleasing you Mayo folk.
You give out if the ref rides your team, and you give out if the ref rides the other team.
Make up your minds!

He's just plain awful. I thought he was purposely f**king us over in Limerick, and maybe he was. But the more I see of him, the more I think he's just so bad that he has no idea what he's at and couldn't influence a match in any particular way no matter how he tried. He should never ref an intercounty game again though.
Post by: moysider on April 02, 2017, 10:40:04 PM

It wasn't a kick by Magee or even McGee. It was Eamon Doherty that kicked him and deservedly got sent off. Doherty was having a fine game but when O Shea came on he went out of his way to have a go and lost his discipline long before that incident. He should learn from it but Rory Kavanagh lost a lot of credibility trying to defend him and spin it as O Shea getting him sent off.
Post by: criostlinn on April 02, 2017, 10:53:17 PM
The dub bots are back. Jim Gavins has unleashed his army of internet throlls to tell us that Aiden O'Shea has dived and is not a nice man. Its amazing the interest the city slickers have in Aiden. Probably some pleb from hill16 going through the footage to find a still that show him diving. Set things up nicely for The head butts and eye gouging he may have to endure later in the year. Next up its the turn of the former playets to point out all this pulling and dragging that poor auld Connolly has to endure. And as for Keegan ........
Post by: moysider on April 02, 2017, 11:18:54 PM
Quote from: Beffs on April 02, 2017, 06:23:05 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 02, 2017, 06:11:49 PM

That is a bit much, considering Donegal came into today as a decent bet to make the final & Mayo were staring relegation in the face. Mayo have been found wanting, when push has come to shove in this years league too.

Agree. Donegal played pretty much the perfect game in the first half today. Their ability to keep possession, run good probing support runs and create scoring chances into a big wind was very impressive. On the other hand Mayo continues to piss possession away and that second half surge does not cure everything. If anything I believe Rochford may have more to work to do.
Donegal's game management is far better but they lost all focus and discipline today when O Shea came in. You could put it down to a lot of newer inexperienced players but Murphy should know better. The fracas should have suited the team in control but today Mayo thrived on it.
At least today's second half shows that Mayo still have the appetite for a battle. This win was mostly about temper and the energy it fed in last quarter.
Post by: bucko on April 02, 2017, 11:23:13 PM
Quote from: criostlinn on April 02, 2017, 10:53:17 PM
The dub bots are back. Jim Gavins has unleashed his army of internet throlls to tell us that Aiden O'Shea has dived and is not a nice man. Its amazing the interest the city slickers have in Aiden. Probably some pleb from hill16 going through the footage to find a still that show him diving. Set things up nicely for The head butts and eye gouging he may have to endure later in the year. Next up its the turn of the former playets to point out all this pulling and dragging that poor auld Connolly has to endure. And as for Keegan ........
It's the charge of the blue wave crusaders, shining the blue light of Dub purity on the foul play and simulation of others. Pity they wouldn't turn it on their own saints Diarmuid, Philly, and Michael Daragh before preaching on the actions of others.
Post by: moysider on April 02, 2017, 11:30:32 PM
Quote from: bucko on April 02, 2017, 11:23:13 PM
It's the charge of the blue wave crusaders, shining the blue light of Dub purity on the foul play and simulation of others. Pity they wouldn't turn it on their own saints Diarmuid, Philly, and Michael Daragh before preaching on the actions of others.

Not be heeding them.
Post by: bucko on April 02, 2017, 11:39:50 PM
Quote from: moysider on April 02, 2017, 11:30:32 PM
Quote from: bucko on April 02, 2017, 11:23:13 PM

Not be heeding them.
Another pint or two and I won't be. :o
Post by: moysider on April 03, 2017, 12:11:36 AM

Now you're talkin'.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 03, 2017, 12:48:34 AM
Just saw league sunday. So it definitely was a penalty, no need from the goalie, u see that let go time after time so nice to see it pulled up

As for the red, FFS, yer man had three go's at him, what was AOS meant to do, other than stamp on the p***k he has to go down to show he's just been kicked (for the third time). Thought BJP could have given him more of a defence, the narrative will be now that he goes down easily, this stuff is important later in the year, like we saw with Keegans black card last year
Post by: moysider on April 03, 2017, 01:03:52 AM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on April 03, 2017, 12:48:34 AM
Just saw league sunday. So it definitely was a penalty, no need from the goalie, u see that let go time after time so nice to see it pulled up

As for the red, FFS, yer man had three go's at him, what was AOS meant to do, other than stamp on the p***k he has to go down to show he's just been kicked (for the third time). Thought BJP could have given him more of a defence, the narrative will be now that he goes down easily, this stuff is important later in the year, like we saw with Keegans black card last year

There will always be spin. O Shea stays on his feet sometimes when he is carrying men on his back but nobody will ever give him kudos for that.
The penalty was stone-wall. Keeper even turned in challenge and hit O Connor with hip and back. No heed on the ball.
BJP was just being diplomatic and sympathetic I think, after Kavanagh made a bit of a tit of himself. BJP has more experience and more savvy with the media stuff. Kavanagh said Doherty wasn't that type of player. Earlier he went out of his way to have a cut at O Shea like he was made out of ham and should have got yellow.
Post by: bucko on April 03, 2017, 01:04:01 AM
''Twas a penalty, keeper made contact with him inside the large parallelogram, momentum carried them both outside it. As for the red card it was straightforward, to kick or to attempt to kick at another player is a stonewall red card. As for the accusation against O'Shea, anyone who has actually played the game and gotten a shot in the stones knows that a light slap or flick down there can hurt more than a full on belt. Anyone who claims they've gotten a swipe to the nuts and didn't buckle in some way is talking shite.
Post by: mayo.mick on April 03, 2017, 08:27:09 PM
Got some video of the match yesterday uploaded

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GF3YoA8P4Ro

Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 03, 2017, 08:51:04 PM
Quote from: mayo.mick on April 03, 2017, 08:27:09 PM

You can really see what Murphy in particular got away with
Post by: moysider on April 03, 2017, 11:36:13 PM
Quote from: mayo.mick on April 03, 2017, 08:27:09 PM

Such a bit a flakin! I was on the far side so did not get a good view of a lot of that. Murphy's shot on Diarmuid O Connor after the throw up ball was cheap.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 04, 2017, 12:02:21 AM
Yeah Murphy was out for blood. Cheap shot on Diarmuid.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 04, 2017, 12:05:12 AM
Mayo gave as good as they got there, quite the one eyed commentary here.

Diarmuid O'Connor becoming every bit as unlikable as his brother of late, lots of nasty tackles and antics from him. You'd swear Mayo are as white as pure snow at times on here.

Not surprising to see O'Shea's gamesmanship getting swept under the rug again.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 04, 2017, 12:31:17 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 04, 2017, 12:05:12 AM

Diarmuid O'Connor becoming every bit as unlikable as his brother of late, lots of nasty tackles and antics from him. You'd swear Mayo are as white as pure snow at times on here.

Your own lads showed great Gamesmanship at the end of last week's game. Glass houses come to mind.  ;)
Post by: moysider on April 04, 2017, 12:36:35 AM

I think at this stage we all can agree that nobody likes anybody much. If a neutral likes a Mayo player - and I was the manager -  I would drop him. I don't like any Kerry, Dublin, Monaghan, Donegal or Tyrone players. Emyln Mulligan is a player I like but maybe because he is never going to be a threat, is he?
Post by: Syferus on April 04, 2017, 02:09:22 AM
Quote from: moysider on April 04, 2017, 12:36:35 AM

I think at this stage we all can agree that nobody likes anybody much. If a neutral likes a Mayo player - and I was the manager -  I would drop him. I don't like any Kerry, Dublin, Monaghan, Donegal or Tyrone players. Emyln Mulligan is a player I like but maybe because he is never going to be a threat, is he?

Hard not to like Rob Hennelly here anyways.
Post by: J70 on April 04, 2017, 02:16:33 AM

Its a game FFS.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on April 04, 2017, 08:33:01 AM

Bit of a bizarre reason to drop a player. Anyone got Jim Gavin's number? I want to tell him I like Diarmuid Connolly and Brian Fenton
Post by: Maroon Manc on April 04, 2017, 01:26:17 PM
Maybe I'm just imagining it but COC appears to be not as accurate as he used to be with the frees?
Post by: blast05 on April 04, 2017, 01:44:51 PM

I've watched the 'schmozzle' section of the video multiple times (from ~9:00 on) ..... i can see 3 clean head punches ... 2 of them were by Michael Murphy - one on Diarmuid O'C and 1 on Aidan O'Shea. The 3rd punch was by a Donegal guy on Aidan (he showed remarkable restraint not to react to that one).
Please highlight where Mayo gave as good as they got in that incident in terms of cheap-shot head punches.

If there was a CCCC for referees then 3 boys on charge on Sunday should have been charged for their handling of that scrap
Post by: From the Bunker on April 04, 2017, 02:29:49 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on April 04, 2017, 01:26:17 PM
Maybe I'm just imagining it but COC appears to be not as accurate as he used to be with the frees?

It's not your imagination! He's been off the boil. that said, Sunday was a difficult day for taking frees. Even Michael Murphy turned down a decent opportunity at one stage and did a short pass backwards.

Have to say I am really looking forward to meeting Galway this year in Salthill.
Post by: Maroon Manc on April 04, 2017, 03:53:31 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 04, 2017, 02:29:49 PM

It's not your imagination! He's been off the boil. that said, Sunday was a difficult day for taking frees. Even Michael Murphy turned down a decent opportunity at one stage and did a short pass backwards.

Have to say I am really looking forward to meeting Galway this year in Salthill.

You more than me bunker.

Post by: Mayo4Sam on April 04, 2017, 03:54:36 PM

Sickening arrogance
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 04, 2017, 04:30:58 PM

Hopefully the lads won't be complacent against Sligo. Ya know, the way they were supposed to be last year against Galway.
Post by: criostlinn on April 04, 2017, 04:35:24 PM

Ok. We get it. You don't like Mayo. You don't like Aiden O'Shea or Cillian O'Connor.
But someone has gone to the bother of posting up a video. Did you even look at it.

What kinda gobshites are left posting on this board
Post by: whitey on April 04, 2017, 04:59:20 PM
Quote from: blast05 on April 04, 2017, 01:44:51 PM

I've watched the 'schmozzle' section of the video multiple times (from ~9:00 on) ..... i can see 3 clean head punches ... 2 of them were by Michael Murphy - one on Diarmuid O'C and 1 on Aidan O'Shea. The 3rd punch was by a Donegal guy on Aidan (he showed remarkable restraint not to react to that one).
Please highlight where Mayo gave as good as they got in that incident in terms of cheap-shot head punches.

If there was a CCCC for referees then 3 boys on charge on Sunday should have been charged for their handling of that scrap

Also blatant kick by the Donegal eight right in front of Deegan

So instead of questioning why Reilly failed to issue 2 red cards during that sequence of play, the media are questioning whether O Shea made a meal out of the contact with the guy who got sent off
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 04, 2017, 06:06:16 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 04, 2017, 12:31:17 AM

Your own lads showed great Gamesmanship at the end of last week's game. Glass houses come to mind.  ;)

I won't deny or pretend it doesn't happen with us.

But it's not all one way and it's pinned to our log when we are out of line the way it's excused or brushed under the carpet when other counties are involved.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on April 04, 2017, 06:08:13 PM

Any chance of looking at the actions of some of your own players?
Post by: Maroon Manc on April 04, 2017, 06:32:16 PM
Quote from: whitey on April 04, 2017, 04:59:20 PM

Also blatant kick by the Donegal eight right in front of Deegan

So instead of questioning why Reilly failed to issue 2 red cards during that sequence of play, the media are questioning whether O Shea made a meal out of the contact with the guy who got sent off

There's a couple of Mayo men in the media who should have commented on it when they had the chance.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 04, 2017, 07:26:41 PM
In fairness here in Mayo we don't really care! This is just an idle debate about a game soon to be forgotten. Murphy and a few others were acting the maggot, Referee and Linesmen ignored it and CCCCC ignores it. There will be no comment in the Media from Mayo. Why? Because it's an almost nothing League game in April. What's to be gained? Getting in the bad books with the officials. The officials have memories and they will single you out later on. Anyway, t'was nice to win on Sunday. The schmozzle added to the temporarily made it more pleasing. From a Donegal perspective it's hard to see them being disappointed in missing out on a League final playing Dublin away.
Post by: Crete Boom on April 04, 2017, 07:35:27 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on April 04, 2017, 06:08:13 PM

Any chance of looking at the actions of some of your own players?

Okay so what actions did you see by Mayo players apart from the alleged dive by Aiden , he definitely got a shot to the groin , it was right in front of me where I was sitting in the stand. Didn't look like the worst strike I have ever seen but a kick out to the groin area not the thigh all the same.
Now if you can come up with a camera angle that proves my eye site wrong I will hold my hands up but unfortunately there only seems to be the 1980's RTE home video camera used for the highlights ;D ;D.
Look Bomber your are pissed off that we bullied Tyrone in the quarter final last year and we got a pat on the back from the RTE boys, and you are right if Tyrone had played as tough, hard, dogged, defensive as we did that day they would have screamed the end of Gaelic football is nigh and had O'Rourke doing a Sunday Game special on the evil smell of Tyrone etc...
You have no time for O'Shea, Keegan Mayo etc.. so it is duly noted by myself and all the other Mayo posters but please try to keep to a minimum your alternative facts Mayo Gaa news.
If anything take it as a mark of respect that we in Mayo watched how those great Tyrone teams never backed down and found new ways to dig out wins and took great lessons from that to improve our play!! Ignore Brolly and all the other sound bite gobshites!!
Post by: greatpoint on April 05, 2017, 02:03:26 AM
It seems unlikely to me that a team 4 points up and dominating the game would want to start a fracas, especially with it being that Mayo were under far more pressure to get a result.
Post by: Jinxy on April 05, 2017, 09:19:39 AM
Why always Mayo?
Post by: Crete Boom on April 05, 2017, 09:48:16 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on April 05, 2017, 09:19:39 AM
Why always Mayo?

Why always Tyrone?
Post by: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2017, 03:55:39 PM
Quote from: Crete Boom on April 05, 2017, 09:48:16 AM
Why always Mayo?

Why always Tyrone?

Why not?
Post by: Syferus on April 05, 2017, 04:25:28 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2017, 03:55:39 PM
Why always Mayo?

Why always Tyrone?

Why not?

Why Joe Sheridan?
Post by: From the Bunker on April 05, 2017, 07:20:49 PM
Quote from: Syferus on April 05, 2017, 04:25:28 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on April 05, 2017, 03:55:39 PM
Why always Mayo?

Why always Tyrone?

Why not?

Why Joe Sheridan?

(http://c2.thejournal.ie/media/2013/05/whyme-2-390x285.jpg)
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 05, 2017, 10:55:56 PM
Come on Bomber, over 48 hours since Crete Boom asked for you to show us that Mayo gave as good as they got...