Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on February 07, 2017, 02:51:56 PM

Title: Dogs and House Rules
Post by: BennyCake on February 07, 2017, 02:51:56 PM
A few short years ago, I never knew of a dog that got over the back door. Now they never leave the house. Call to someone's house these days and if there's not a half dozen Jack Russells jumping over you on the sofa, a Labrador is eating your ham sandwich off your plate or a Rottweiler is eyeing you up because you're sitting in his armchair. Seriously, what the feck is going on? When did all this become the norm?

Do you have a dog, and what rules do you insist on?

Do they live indoors or do they never get over the door?

Does it cause arguments in the family?
Title: Re: Dogs and House Rules
Post by: Hardy on February 07, 2017, 03:18:49 PM
Animals in the house? Unhygienic unless they've been taught to use toilet paper. As for catshit in the living room in a so-called "litter tray" - unbelievable.
Post by: armaghniac on February 07, 2017, 03:30:28 PM
I might have a dog in the house, but I'd never give them the wifi password.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 07, 2017, 03:32:13 PM
I suppose some dogs would struggle outside. Those little toy dogs like Maltese etc. Cats. Urrgh.
Post by: general_lee on February 07, 2017, 03:33:38 PM
Well I don't see the point in paying hundreds/thousands on a lapdog only to leave it chained up outside in the yard
Post by: lurganblue on February 07, 2017, 03:41:57 PM
I've a house dog.  We got her when she was 4 and already house trained. Hard work was done. It gets put into the utility room to sleep at night and in general doesnt be allowed upstairs near any of the bedrooms etc.

Gets over the door rightly. a right few walks per week and a decent garden to run around in (all well and good till it digs up shite and rolls in it ffs)
Post by: BennyCake on February 07, 2017, 04:30:18 PM
Re: big garden. I would've thought it was cruel keeping a dog in the house all the time is nearly as bad as chaining it in yard. Surely a dog needs stimulating, doing doggy things (digging, running, sniffing, chasing etc) rather than cooped up in a house.

I know a few people have dogs in small houses, and a back yard 2 feet long. That to me is cruel. If you don't have the space (garden/yard), why get a dog?
Post by: laoislad on February 07, 2017, 04:41:19 PM
Animals should not be let in a house IMO.
When we moved into our house the wife (then girlfriend) had a cat. I refused to let it live with us so she had to give it to her parents ;D
Post by: laoislad on February 07, 2017, 04:43:31 PM
Quote from: general_lee on February 07, 2017, 03:33:38 PM
Well I don't see the point in paying hundreds/thousands on a lapdog only to leave it chained up outside in the yard
I don't see the point in paying hundreds/thousands on any dog!
Post by: seafoid on February 07, 2017, 05:21:47 PM
Quote from: general_lee on February 07, 2017, 03:33:38 PM
Theresa May doesn't mind as long as she gets a deal for Brexit
Post by: screenexile on February 07, 2017, 05:23:53 PM
Hate animals... dogs/cats get tae f**k!!!
Post by: bennydorano on February 07, 2017, 05:49:35 PM
Cat in our house, rules the roost and is our de facto youngest child. Sleeping in the hotpress on the towels as I type.
Post by: GJL on February 07, 2017, 06:50:32 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on February 07, 2017, 05:49:35 PM
Cat in our house, rules the roost and is our de facto youngest child. Sleeping in the hotpress on the towels as I type.

That is disgusting.
Post by: ONeill on February 07, 2017, 07:00:32 PM
Was like you all once. Hated the thought of a dog inside or even cats about atall. About 6 years ago a wild(ish) cat would sit on my boiler. Now and again I'd leave it out something. After a few months it'd make its way to our door until one day I toul it to come in, in cat talk. The thing has no voice and cowers from any contact. 6 years later she's still strolling around the house, still no voice, still timid. She'll stand in front of you and stare you out when she needs outside to use the lavatory. Just sleeps and strolls around. Causes no bother. No real companionship as she doesn't like humans. Looks at me like as if she'll kill me some night. Stands in front of the fireplace the odd time and looks at me to light her.

Strange oul relationship. Six years of lookin at each other now and again. Get the impression she was mistreated. When she dies there'll be no more but I'd like to think I've made her life a bit easier. She probably doesn't give a fook.
Post by: Ball Hopper on February 07, 2017, 07:10:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 07, 2017, 07:00:32 PM
Was like you all once. Hated the thought of a dog inside or even cats about atall. About 6 years ago a wild(ish) cat would sit on my boiler. Now and again I'd leave it out something. After a few months it'd make its way to our door until one day I toul it to come in, in cat talk. The thing has no voice and cowers from any contact. 6 years later she's still strolling around the house, still no voice, still timid. She'll stand in front of you and stare you out when she needs outside to use the lavatory. Just sleeps and strolls around. Causes no bother. No real companionship as she doesn't like humans. Looks at me like as if she'll kill me some night. Stands in front of the fireplace the odd time and looks at me to light her.

Strange oul relationship. Six years of lookin at each other now and again. Get the impression she was mistreated. When she dies there'll be no more but I'd like to think I've made her life a bit easier. She probably doesn't give a fook.

Sounds like marriage...
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 07, 2017, 07:20:05 PM
I have cats. They use a fairly deep litterbox and are good at burying their waste, and they mostly only do it at night because they know I'm going to clean it out in the morning. I've a short-haired tuxedo who doesn't shed much. Chatty, friendly little yoke. I have a pair of Himalayans. They're a bit shy, longer haired, shed quite a bit in summer and I have to clean the carpets every couple of days to stay on top of it, so in a way it forces me to keep the place clean. The tuxedo goes out for a few minutes once or twice a week but the other two don't have much interest.  They're good company and no bother.
Post by: Puckoon on February 07, 2017, 07:26:49 PM
Space, and "dog stuff" is no longer a consideration so the argument "if you don't have the space, why get a dog" no longer carries any water. Perhaps "if you don't have the space, why get a big dog that needs space"? - carries a little more water

We've a house dog, a breed that has hair in place of fur and that sheds very very little if at all. My wife is incredibly allergic to all animals but we've had this guy since he was tiny and selected him for the qualities he has for allergic people and for being an indoor dog. He gets plenty of time in the fenced off back yard, gets his walks and time at the park - but he's part of the family and will always be in the house. We have another consideration in that the coyotes would make short short work of him, and so he's never outside without us being home. Spends his days at my feet in the office, only getting up to bark at the postman or when we go for a walk, and he sleeps in our bed unless my daughter is with us and he sleeps with her then.

They are sociable creatures, they don't think they're a dog - they think they're part of a pack and knowing that - why would you not let them be inside with their pack?

I'd counter - if you don't want a dog to be part of your family, why get one?
Post by: Main Street on February 07, 2017, 07:28:33 PM
We live rural, just could not think to live without a cat. The cat understands his priceless predatory utility value to the house and just assumes his elevated place in the order. He comes and goes at will through a flap. Only uses the closed litter box in the storage room in times of inclement weather.
I was thinking to change his name to The General.
The dog has restricted access to areas of the house, by some fluke of the universe she came already trained to accept house rules or just had the sense to respect them.
Post by: BennyCake on February 07, 2017, 07:45:27 PM
Puckoon, but surely a dog indoors isn't in it's appropriate environment? Outside, within nature, where it uses it's canine instincts is more appropriate, not lying in an armchair watching tv.
Post by: Main Street on February 07, 2017, 08:40:59 PM
Puck gives his dogs plenty of "out time".
Many dogs don't bother with tv  but If your dog  does like to watch tv, then have one with a good resolution, dogs appreciate clarity.
Post by: OgraAnDun on February 07, 2017, 09:02:41 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 07, 2017, 08:40:59 PM
Many dogs don't bother with tv  but If your dog  does like to watch tv, then have one with a good resolution, dogs appreciate clarity.

Would you say that a plasma or LCD TV is better for the dog?
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 07, 2017, 10:05:03 PM
Quote from: GJL on February 07, 2017, 06:50:32 PM

That is disgusting.
Is the cat ok with your immersion timetable?
Post by: Main Street on February 07, 2017, 10:24:00 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on February 07, 2017, 09:02:41 PM
Quote from: Main Street on February 07, 2017, 08:40:59 PM

Would you say that a plasma or LCD TV is better for the dog?
You mean which one would the dog appreciate more?   That might have been a decent question about 8 years ago and I would have said plasma, not just for the natural looking clarity but also the viewing position with a plasma  is more flexible than with the lcd. So a dog lying on the floor, possibly hiding under some chair, trying to watch a LCD on the sly from an acute angle, would have a compromised viewing experience.
But these days, 4k LED UHD is the common high standard, leaves both plasma and LCD in the lurch.
These days it's a dogs world when it comes to a quality tv experience, but forget about 3d.

Post by: Hereiam on February 07, 2017, 10:27:51 PM
Have a dog and it never sees the inside of the house.
Post by: Puckoon on February 07, 2017, 10:33:00 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 07, 2017, 07:45:27 PM
Puckoon, but surely a dog indoors isn't in it's appropriate environment? Outside, within nature, where it uses it's canine instincts is more appropriate, not lying in an armchair watching tv.

He's not necessarily bred for that. Many dogs were bred for hunting, herding, fighting, protection. Some breeds of dogs were bred for companionship. We can't even argue that this is a recent softening of stance. Dogs were bred for companionship in many of the ancient dynasties. That's my pup.

He doesn't like TV but he doesn't mind soccer. I think he's a libtard Chelsea fan.
Post by: bennydorano on February 07, 2017, 10:38:31 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on February 07, 2017, 10:05:03 PM
Quote from: GJL on February 07, 2017, 06:50:32 PM

That is disgusting.
Is the cat ok with your immersion timetable?
He shifted an hour after the heat came on; went to the floor of the hotpress, next saw him on my daughter's bed, then he slipped downstairs to the living room, currently getting fed & will spend the night on an old dressing gown in the utility room.
Post by: ONeill on February 08, 2017, 11:32:46 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on February 07, 2017, 07:45:27 PM

A bit like humans?
Post by: moysider on February 09, 2017, 01:02:40 AM
It's pretty simple really. If you are concerned about dogs and house rules and stuff, forget about keeping a dog as a pet. Of course farm dogs, packs of foxhounds and guard dogs are different. If somebody is not comfortable with a pet dog in a house then they should not keep a dog. That's all she wrote. Like people, dogs are sociable, and like people they can also adapt to a miserable existence. Keeping them outside alone most of the time, feeding them well, and taking them for a walk and messing with children for a fraction of their day is just not on. However dogs being dogs they will still wag their tails as they have been bred to do. Dogs are not a distraction or a toy. Dogs that are end up rescued are probably luckier than those who spend their lives in a back garden with only a couple of hours' interaction with owners each day.
It's simple. If you are not comfortable with a dog in your house, then don't get a dog. They ll be better off for it.
Post by: TabClear on February 09, 2017, 03:15:56 AM
This is very simple from my perspective. If you don't want a pet don't get one. If you do get one train it and look after it. And I don't mean train it to meet somebody else's opinion of what a pet should do. Train it so it works for the environment its in. If that's a working dog who lives outside or a house dog who lies at the door whatever.

I have a house dog who stays outside during the day and comes inside of we're home  and the bottom line is he makes  me, the missus and the kids happier. After a bad day at work having  the dog lying beside you on the sofa helps you chill out.

If people have a problem with that then don't call over. I have friends who don't like dogs and that's fine.  The dog goes outside and that's okay but don't tell me where my dog should be otherwise. 

Post by: No wides on February 09, 2017, 07:20:12 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 07, 2017, 07:20:05 PM
I have cats. They use a fairly deep litterbox and are good at burying their waste, and they mostly only do it at night because they know I'm going to clean it out in the morning. I've a short-haired tuxedo who doesn't shed much. Chatty, friendly little yoke. I have a pair of Himalayans. They're a bit shy, longer haired, shed quite a bit in summer and I have to clean the carpets every couple of days to stay on top of it, so in a way it forces me to keep the place clean. The tuxedo goes out for a few minutes once or twice a week but the other two don't have much interest.  They're good company and no bother.

So cats can shit all over your house but kids are spoilt little bastards for playing with their own toys in their own house!!!!
Post by: Harold Disgracey on February 09, 2017, 09:49:27 AM
Quote from: TabClear on February 09, 2017, 03:15:56 AM
This is very simple from my perspective. If you don't want a pet don't get one. If you do get one train it and look after it. And I don't mean train it to meet somebody else's opinion of what a pet should do. Train it so it works for the environment its in. If that's a working dog who lives outside or a house dog who lies at the door whatever.

I have a house dog who stays outside during the day and comes inside of we're home  and the bottom line is he makes  me, the missus and the kids happier. After a bad day at work having  the dog lying beside you on the sofa helps you chill out.

If people have a problem with that then don't call over. I have friends who don't like dogs and that's fine.  The dog goes outside and that's okay but don't tell me where my dog should be otherwise.

I'm the same, the dog stays outside during the day and comes in when we're at home.
Post by: johnneycool on February 09, 2017, 10:39:29 AM
My wife in her infinite wisdom decided she wanted a cat as we'd got a few mice in the house (I'd left the door open, it was to stay in the garage, so off we headed to Assisi the animal sanctuary between Ards and Bangor. We'd a 4 page questionnaire to complete, where the cat was to be housed, family vet, pet insurance details and all that shite, but the straw that broke the camels back was who'd be at home to attend to the cat whilst we were both at work.
I was about to say to the well intentioned girl, "its a fuckin cat, they love being outside doing their thing". I thanked the young girl for her help and jumped back in the car.
I'd say adopting a child is easier..
Post by: BennyCake on February 09, 2017, 11:11:55 AM
Quote from: No wides on February 09, 2017, 07:20:12 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 07, 2017, 07:20:05 PM

So cats can shit all over your house but kids are spoilt little b**tards for playing with their own toys in their own house!!!!

Looks that way!
Post by: BennyCake on February 09, 2017, 11:17:38 AM
Quote from: johnneycool on February 09, 2017, 10:39:29 AM
My wife in her infinite wisdom decided she wanted a cat as we'd got a few mice in the house (I'd left the door open, it was to stay in the garage, so off we headed to Assisi the animal sanctuary between Ards and Bangor. We'd a 4 page questionnaire to complete, where the cat was to be housed, family vet, pet insurance details and all that shite, but the straw that broke the camels back was who'd be at home to attend to the cat whilst we were both at work.
I was about to say to the well intentioned girl, "its a fuckin cat, they love being outside doing their thing". I thanked the young girl for her help and jumped back in the car.
I'd say adopting a child is easier..

That's mental.

I've seen it more where people call to the house to drop something off or whatever. I'd ask them if they're dropping in for a mug of tae or whatever. Nah I can't, I got the dog in the car is usually the answer. Some have a dental appt and arrange a minder days in advance for the mutt. Others rush home to pick up the dog from granny or auntie Mary. The stuff you should hear when people have kids, but now dogs seem to have replaced kids.
Post by: Donagh on February 09, 2017, 12:05:21 PM
Rented a house to two clowns who had a cat without permission. Only did one inspection after 6 months which they did well to mask signs of the cat. When they were moving out total damage from 'Basil' amounted to:

All from one little f**ker of a cat. One of the occupants runs his own (quite reputable) craft food business, so you'd think he was up to 'scratch' on animals and hygiene. Sold the house shortly after. Heartbreaking having to deal with that shite.     
Post by: lurganblue on February 09, 2017, 12:28:34 PM
I have a relative who has a cat.  When i go and visit all you can notice is cat hair rubbed all over the sides of the living room chairs.  The thing is constantly bringing home dead birds etc.  Also, I've noticed it up round the sink licking taps etc.  Needless to say i turn down a wee cup of coffee when offered.
Post by: BennyCake on February 09, 2017, 06:32:39 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 09, 2017, 12:28:34 PM
I have a relative who has a cat.  When i go and visit all you can notice is cat hair rubbed all over the sides of the living room chairs.  The thing is constantly bringing home dead birds etc.  Also, I've noticed it up round the sink licking taps etc.  Needless to say i turn down a wee cup of coffee when offered.

Ah Jaysus. That's disgusting. Some people really do live like er, animals.
Post by: snoopdog on February 09, 2017, 08:43:44 PM
I used to work with a lad who put his dog in doggy creche whil he was in work. Wtf is that about.