Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: stew on December 23, 2016, 04:31:05 PM

Title: Merry Christmas one and all.
Post by: stew on December 23, 2016, 04:31:05 PM
To all of you boys and girls on our forum I just wanted to wish you all a happy Christmas and a happy New year, I enjoy this forum and I drive some of you to drink with my vows that appear in conflict with most of you, none of that matters, I am going to be vanilla until the new year and I sincerely hope everyone plus the tyronies to have a great Christmas season.
Title: Re: Merry Christmas one and all.
Post by: gallsman on December 23, 2016, 04:56:08 PM
Oh I'm sure we'll manage to get a rise out of you before then ;)

Happy Christmas!
Post by: foxcommander on December 23, 2016, 06:15:11 PM
Make Christmas great again!

Have a good one Stew and all my liberal friends.
Post by: seafoid on December 23, 2016, 06:39:04 PM
Have a great Christmas cos 2017 will be nuts between president Trump and Article 50.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 23, 2016, 07:02:09 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 23, 2016, 06:39:04 PM
Have a great Christmas cos 2017 will be nuts between president Trump and Article 50.

Never miss a trick to get in Trump or Brexit lol!!

You have a good xmas and a prosperous New year in Euro land
Post by: armaghniac on December 23, 2016, 07:19:30 PM
I'd like to echo Stew's sentiments that good men and women of Gaaboard, plus the Tyronies, have a great Christmas.
Post by: stew on December 23, 2016, 11:47:01 PM
Quote from: gallsman on December 23, 2016, 04:56:08 PM
Oh I'm sure we'll manage to get a rise out of you before then ;)

Happy Christmas!

You won't gallsman but Again merry Christmas. )
Post by: Take Your Points on December 24, 2016, 01:02:26 AM
Quote from: stew on December 23, 2016, 04:31:05 PM
To all of you boys and girls on our forum I just wanted to wish you all a happy Christmas and a happy New year, I enjoy this forum and I drive some of you to drink with my vows that appear in conflict with most of you, none of that matters, I am going to be vanilla until the new year and I sincerely hope everyone plus the tyronies to have a great Christmas season.

Happy Christmas Stew! You've lost none of your edge.
Post by: Ball Hopper on December 24, 2016, 01:38:56 AM
Merry Christmas to all.  Hope 2017 will treat us all well.
Post by: muppet on December 24, 2016, 03:58:21 AM
Anyone I've ever met from this forum has always been extremely civil, a true Gaa fan and wayyy more friendly than their GaaBoard persona. Even Stephenite!

For some reason, posting on a forum such as this can make us appear more aggressive and less reasonable even if that is not the intention. Maybe it is because most of us aren't authors and think we are masters of expressing our opinions with perfect clarity.

Obviously I have that ability, but if the rest of you practice, you may make it to Roscelona level.

To Stew, I don't get where you are coming from most of the time, but I know you have had a difficult 2016. I would like to wish you and your family, and extended friends, a happy Christmas and Happy New year.
Post by: Syferus on December 24, 2016, 04:00:00 AM
Got enough beer into me till Stephens Day. Full speed ahead to the turkey. Merry Christmas. Even to the smellies to the west of Ballagh.
Post by: Orior on December 24, 2016, 08:23:41 AM
Merry Christmas ye filthy animals
Post by: Applesisapples on December 24, 2016, 10:20:40 AM
Happy Christmas one and all. Roll on 2017 can't be as fcuked up as 2016, can it? :)
Post by: Lar Naparka on December 24, 2016, 11:26:55 AM
Nollaig Shona & Best Wishes for 2017 Daoibh go Léir.
Since it's the season to be magnanimous, I'm even including all those poor gobhawks who believe everything Martin Breheny  has to say without reservation  or question of any sort.
All the misguided souls who think that Breheny is really Santa in disguise may be comforted to know that all of Mayo and the rest of the civilised world have a special wish for you.

Go jump in the nearest lake!  ;D
Post by: muppet on December 24, 2016, 03:58:42 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C0c7fCQXAAErnZd.jpg:small)
Post by: leenie on December 24, 2016, 04:49:22 PM
Merry Christmas everyone.. wishing you all ( including those obsessed with Tyrone) a peaceful and happy new year..

Leenie
Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2016, 06:31:25 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on December 24, 2016, 10:20:40 AM
Happy Christmas one and all. Roll on 2017 can't be as fcuked up as 2016, can it? :)
If Carlsberg made fucked up years 2017 woukd be up there with the best. The system is falling apart
Post by: Syferus on December 24, 2016, 07:07:40 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 24, 2016, 06:31:25 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on December 24, 2016, 10:20:40 AM
If Carlsberg made fucked up years 2017 woukd be up there with the best. The system is falling apart

I reckon it's going be mad craic. At least we have Enda.
Post by: ziggysego on December 24, 2016, 08:02:11 PM
Merry Christmas to all the regulars and irregulars here at the gaaboard. I even extend the good wishes to all the lurkers too.

Hope your Christmases are merry and filled with happiness and great memories.
Post by: laoislad on December 24, 2016, 11:03:43 PM
Happy Christmas ye shower of pricks.
Post by: Olly on December 24, 2016, 11:09:37 PM
Nothing merry about it for the tee-totallers
Post by: T Fearon on December 25, 2016, 12:57:23 AM
Is the title of this thread not merely a paraphrase of a Shakin Stevens song?
Post by: Oraisteach on December 25, 2016, 02:14:57 AM
Merry Christmas Board Failte
Post by: Puckoon on December 25, 2016, 02:56:00 AM
Merry Christmas to all
Post by: give her dixie on December 25, 2016, 03:11:25 AM
Happy Christmas one and all wherever you are. (including armagh ones)
For anyone at home, TG4 are showing an Irish music special that would rival Jools Holland.....

Eat drink and be merry, as we don't know how lucky we are
Post by: AZOffaly on December 25, 2016, 07:43:23 AM
Merry Christmas to ye all. Hope he and yer families are safe, happy and have a peaceful time.
Post by: omochain on December 25, 2016, 05:11:50 PM
Happy Christmas to ye all and wishing you and your families a very joyful, healthy and interesting 2017. Thank you for all your great conversations/craic this past year.. from an avid listener (mostly)
Thank you Stew, you are the only one who can get this old man energized to post😇
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 25, 2016, 05:33:43 PM
Merry Christmas from California. Let the 24-hour GAAboard ceasefire commence. Hence this even includes best wishes to Foxcommander, Stew and the Iceman!
Post by: Gmac on December 25, 2016, 07:57:42 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 25, 2016, 05:33:43 PM
Merry Christmas from California. Let the 24-hour GAAboard ceasefire commence. Hence this even includes best wishes to Foxcommander, Stew and the Iceman!
I can see Ye all kicking an imaginary football around cyberspace no mans land
Post by: Boycey on December 25, 2016, 10:46:02 PM
Thanks be to fcuk that's nearly over, I hate Christmas Day.. always have strangely enough. Bought into it a bit when young fella was the age for it but now he's a hormonal stroppy teenager I've reverted to type.. Almost looking forward to work at 10AM in the morning :o
Post by: J70 on December 26, 2016, 08:38:54 PM
A belated happy holidays ( :P) to you all!

One thing that pisses me off about the US is that its a six week build up to Christmas, then the whole thing stops in an instant on the 26th! I do miss the week or so it continues on for at home.

Hope youse all had and are having a good one!
Post by: seafoid on December 26, 2016, 08:41:37 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 26, 2016, 08:38:54 PM

One thing that pisses me off about the US is that its a six week build up to Christmas, then the whole thing stops in an instant on the 26th! I do miss the week or so it continues on for at home.

Holidays are better in Europe. General labour Conditions are
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2016, 11:59:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 26, 2016, 08:41:37 PM

Not too bad, but that could change I'm sure with leaving Europe and stuff
Post by: Syferus on December 27, 2016, 01:56:27 AM

I can't imagine not having the week to kick back. The year is long enough as it is. You can fit in three or four proper nights out in the week or so around Christmas..

Merry Christmas lad.
Post by: seafoid on December 27, 2016, 10:37:52 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 26, 2016, 11:59:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 26, 2016, 08:41:37 PM

Not too bad, but that could change I'm sure with leaving Europe and stuff
I think it is a cultural thing. Americans have a bogeyman called socialism who gives things like days off and sick pay. 5 weeks holidays would be rare in the US.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 27, 2016, 05:42:01 PM
Right. That's Christmas and Boxing Day over. Let hostilities resume, yiz oul bollixes!
Post by: Syferus on December 27, 2016, 06:06:59 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 27, 2016, 05:42:01 PM
Right. That's Christmas and Boxing Day over. Let hostilities resume, yiz oul bollixes!

There's no Christmas peace in Ballagh anyways. Just more people to be arguing with.
Post by: Captain Obvious on December 27, 2016, 06:18:06 PM

The Americans don't say happy or merry Christmas anymore. Happy holidays term to keep the many different religions happy?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2016, 06:36:42 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on December 27, 2016, 06:18:06 PM

The Americans don't say happy or merry Christmas anymore. Happy holidays term to keep the many different religions happy?

No problem saying happy thanksgiving.. Christian holiday?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 29, 2016, 07:13:14 PM
The Americans don't say happy or merry Christmas anymore. Happy holidays term to keep the many different religions happy?

They do say Merry Christmas, they just sometimes say Happy Holidays as a catch-all for Thanksgiving, Hanukah, Christmas and all the other stuff that goes on at this tim of year.
Post by: foxcommander on December 29, 2016, 09:58:48 PM

I'm surprised a sensitive chap like yourself didn't say "the holidays". How very un-PC of you!

How's that ?  ;)
Post by: Tony Baloney on December 29, 2016, 10:33:57 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 29, 2016, 07:13:14 PM

They do say Merry Christmas, they just sometimes say Happy Holidays as a catch-all for Thanksgiving, Hanukah, Christmas and all the other stuff that goes on at this tim of year.
Don't forget Kwanzaa!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on December 29, 2016, 11:40:32 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on December 29, 2016, 09:58:48 PM

I'm surprised a sensitive chap like yourself didn't say "the holidays". How very un-PC of you!

How's that ?  ;)

I did it to screw with your mind. Did I succeed?
Post by: foxcommander on December 30, 2016, 02:19:40 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on December 29, 2016, 11:40:32 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on December 29, 2016, 09:58:48 PM

How's that ?  ;)

I did it to screw with your mind. Did I succeed?

Only in letting yourself and your PC principles down. At least you are paying attention to the new president

(https://z1035.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/Trmp-Merry-Christmas.jpg)

Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on December 30, 2016, 03:16:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2016, 06:36:42 PM

Despite the origins, it's more of a secular (or maybe "all-religion") holiday.  Everyone celebrates it, except the Native Americans.
Post by: J70 on December 30, 2016, 04:09:14 PM
The Romans had Saturnalia. And sure our own Celts had the whole winter solstice thing.

As for the happy holidays/merry xmas thing, which I use depends on the person being addressed.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 30, 2016, 04:19:12 PM
Quote from: J70 on December 30, 2016, 04:09:14 PM
The Romans had Saturnalia. And sure our own Celts had the whole winter solstice thing.

As for the happy holidays/merry xmas thing, which I use depends on the person being addressed.

Wha? Do you ask them their religion first? :)
Post by: omaghjoe on January 02, 2017, 06:17:09 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on December 30, 2016, 03:16:46 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on December 27, 2016, 06:36:42 PM

Despite the origins, it's more of a secular (or maybe "all-religion") holiday.  Everyone celebrates it, except the Native Americans.

If its secular who are they giving thanks to? the state?

Tho it is a much more inclusive holiday than Christmas, to many people from a non European background is certainly less of a big deal or completely insignificant altogether
Post by: laoislad on January 02, 2017, 06:39:53 PM
Lights and tree all taken down today. Glad to see the back of them.
Post by: Boycey on January 02, 2017, 06:48:54 PM
Same in this house, it's like Christmas never happened. Although I did find a box of Quality Street at the back of the Christmas tree that everyone had forgotten about, I might tackle them during the darts  :)
Post by: never kickt a ball on December 24, 2017, 09:36:31 PM
Jump
Post by: Orior on December 23, 2018, 09:05:48 PM
Merry Christmas ya filthy animals
Post by: armaghniac on December 24, 2018, 01:43:01 AM
Quote from: Orior on December 23, 2018, 09:05:48 PM
Merry Christmas ya filthy animals

What about the people not from Kerry.
Post by: omochain on December 24, 2018, 03:48:31 AM
Happy Christmas to one and all. Hope 2019 proves to bring a little more sanity into all our lives.
Aris, Nollaig Shona Daoibh.
Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2018, 05:27:35 AM
Quote from: omochain on December 24, 2018, 03:48:31 AM
Happy Christmas to one and all. Hope 2019 proves to bring a little more sanity into all our lives.
Aris, Nollaig Shona Daoibh.
There will definitely be a bit of santy this evening but sanity is a while away

« No matter how well written or delivered a speech cannot divert whole whole societies from a well established course of action. Policies in motion tend to stay in motion ; to change the trajectory of a deeply set of initiatives requires the application of political forces of equal motion »

Steve Walt

Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 24, 2018, 09:37:47 AM
Happy holidays if you're one of those... and Merry Xmas for the rest!
Post by: seafoid on December 24, 2018, 12:12:24 PM
Seamus Heaney

@HeaneyDaily
·
2h

On Christmas Eve my father would tell us, 'He's on his way now, coming round Slieve Gallon, if you listen hard maybe you'll hear the sleigh bells.' I remember climbing the beech tree at the end of our lane, listening through the frosty air.
Post by: Substandard on December 24, 2018, 12:20:48 PM
Happy Christmas to all posters here.
Ye have taken over from newspapers for me for getting different perspectives on things going on in the world and in our part of it.
Peace and goodwill to all- although that might make for a bland board: keep up the good work instead!!
Post by: ziggysego on December 24, 2018, 12:43:03 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 24, 2016, 08:02:11 PM
Merry Christmas to all the regulars and irregulars here at the gaaboard. I even extend the good wishes to all the lurkers too.

Hope your Christmases are merry and filled with happiness and great memories.

Ditto
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 24, 2018, 01:03:38 PM
Here's till ye all. Have a merry Christmas and keep safe!
Post by: InSeine on December 24, 2018, 01:10:26 PM
Cherry Mistmas to all and to all a Nappy Hew Year Hic!