GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: AZOffaly on December 12, 2016, 04:23:37 PM

Title: Westmeath Hurlers - Fair Play
Post by: AZOffaly on December 12, 2016, 04:23:37 PM
Don't know if this was mentioned before, but fair play to the Westmeath Senior and Under 21 Hurlers, who are trying to draw attention to the plight of the homeless in Ireland, and Dublin in particular, this Christmas. They're giving up a post match meal from 2017 to donate 100 dinners to the homeless around Grafton Street at 8.30pm tonight. Fair play to them, and I think it would be great if other counties followed suit.

The GAA is all about friends and family, and looking after each other, so maybe this could become a 'thing'.

Well done Adrian Moran and all involved.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/westmeath-hurlers-are-making-a-stunning-gesture-that-will-restore-your-faith-in-humanity-35283738.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/westmeath-hurlers-are-making-a-stunning-gesture-that-will-restore-your-faith-in-humanity-35283738.html)
Title: Re: Westmeath Hurlers - Fair Play
Post by: muppet on December 12, 2016, 04:32:49 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 12, 2016, 04:23:37 PM
Don't know if this was mentioned before, but fair play to the Westmeath Senior and Under 21 Hurlers, who are trying to draw attention to the plight of the homeless in Ireland, and Dublin in particular, this Christmas. They're giving up a post match meal from 2017 to donate 100 dinners to the homeless around Grafton Street at 8.30pm tonight. Fair play to them, and I think it would be great if other counties followed suit.

The GAA is all about friends and family, and looking after each other, so maybe this could become a 'thing'.

Well done Adrian Moran and all involved.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/westmeath-hurlers-are-making-a-stunning-gesture-that-will-restore-your-faith-in-humanity-35283738.html (http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/westmeath-hurlers-are-making-a-stunning-gesture-that-will-restore-your-faith-in-humanity-35283738.html)

Great idea! Fair play.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 12, 2016, 04:46:40 PM
All came about from Adrian Moran seeing a fellow outside the Jervis centre recently staring into oblivion. It got him thinking, felt they had to do something and came up with the idea. Restores your faith in the GAA alright, wonderful idea.
Post by: macdanger2 on December 12, 2016, 10:12:27 PM
Fair play, pity it's not getting more media coverage which might encourage others to do something similar
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 13, 2016, 11:00:04 PM
Well done Westmeath. Class act.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 14, 2016, 09:54:13 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on December 13, 2016, 11:00:04 PM

:o *faints
Post by: five points on December 14, 2016, 10:03:12 AM
If the Westmeath hurlers don't need a post-match meal, they shouldn't be asking their county board and their own clubs to foot an unnecessary bill.  Charity donations are much more impressive when you spend your own money, not someone else's.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 14, 2016, 10:05:51 AM
Quote from: five points on December 14, 2016, 10:03:12 AM
If the Westmeath hurlers don't need a post-match meal, they shouldn't be asking their county board and their own clubs to foot an unnecessary bill.  Charity donations are much more impressive when you spend your own money, not someone else's.

FFS talk about sour. Could you not just be happy that an inter county team are doing something to try and help people who are in trouble. And how do you know some of these players don't donate their own money as well. The symbolism of this gesture, given the GAA's position in Ireland, is as important as the lads giving up one mean. Some people give me ire.
Post by: five points on December 14, 2016, 10:26:14 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 14, 2016, 10:05:51 AM

FFS talk about sour. Could you not just be happy that an inter county team are doing something to try and help people who are in trouble. And how do you know some of these players don't donate their own money as well. The symbolism of this gesture, given the GAA's position in Ireland, is as important as the lads giving up one mean. Some people give me ire.

Symbolism my nelly. There is a certain symbolism alright in getting someone else to pay for your own charity gesture. They haven't mentioned that they are donating any of their own money so I don't know how you can use that as a defence.
Post by: DuffleKing on December 14, 2016, 10:56:05 AM

Go away you little man
Post by: five points on December 14, 2016, 11:28:05 AM
Quote from: DuffleKing on December 14, 2016, 10:56:05 AM

Go away you little man

No. I'll say what I like, thanks.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 14, 2016, 11:28:26 AM
Quote from: five points on December 14, 2016, 10:26:14 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 14, 2016, 10:05:51 AM

Symbolism my nelly. There is a certain symbolism alright in getting someone else to pay for your own charity gesture. They haven't mentioned that they are donating any of their own money so I don't know how you can use that as a defence.

Are you for real? Or is that a silly question. Do you expect them to say, 'We're giving this dinner, and by the way, we're all great lads and donate our own money as well'?

Whether they donate or don't is immaterial in the context of this gesture, except to someone like yourself.

Also, just to humour you, if they are giving up one of their meals, and therefore they then have to feed themselves the equivalent of that meal at some stage, then they are, in effect, giving up their own money. It does not say that they are forcing the County Board to pay for an EXTRA meal for the homeless.

You're a mile off base on this.
Post by: five points on December 14, 2016, 11:35:35 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 14, 2016, 11:28:26 AM
Are you for real? Or is that a silly question. Do you expect them to say, 'We're giving this dinner, and by the way, we're all great lads and donate our own money as well'?

Whether they donate or don't is immaterial in the context of this gesture, except to someone like yourself.

It was you, not me, who mentioned the red herring that they may be donating some of their own money. So you're attacking yourself.
Post by: AZOffaly on December 14, 2016, 11:37:31 AM
Quote from: five points on December 14, 2016, 11:35:35 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on December 14, 2016, 11:28:26 AM

It was you, not me, who mentioned the red herring that they may be donating some of their own money. So you're attacking yourself.

You said it would be more impressive if they gave their own money, rather than getting their county board and clubs to pay for their gesture.

I just pointed out that you don't know whether they do that as well, or not, so why raise the point in that context. I see now you are just playing semantics, so fire ahead.

Well done though, you've managed to get me to help you turn a thread about a genuinely nice gesture into another thread full of snide one upmanship disguised as intelligent debate. Fair play.
Post by: five points on December 14, 2016, 11:39:38 AM
Shorter AZOffaly: "How dare you disagree with me!"  ::)
Post by: AZOffaly on December 14, 2016, 11:41:25 AM
No. Shorter AZ "f**k off you miserable hoor" :)
Post by: rrhf on December 14, 2016, 01:38:32 PM
Great gesture from Westmeath.  The spotlight now moves to the Dubs and their alleged breakfast allowances. 

No seriously though all counties should follow this lead.  Class act.
Post by: Jinxy on December 14, 2016, 01:57:28 PM
Yeah, it'll be interesting to see if the Dubs give up a meal.
Although I wouldn't be that keen on a feed of broccoli and boiled chicken myself.
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on December 14, 2016, 02:56:26 PM
where does it say they don't need a post-match meal?  They are giving one up you clown.  They will still need to eat which they will fund themselves rather than take the free meal they would have got funded by the county board.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on December 14, 2016, 03:56:46 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on December 14, 2016, 09:54:13 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on December 13, 2016, 11:00:04 PM

:o *faints

LOL - I knew you'd be astonished!

Still we can park the slagging, like Christmas 1914 (well that was more than slagging in fairness), once in a while for a noble cause!
Post by: Buttofthehill on December 14, 2016, 04:39:11 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on December 14, 2016, 01:57:28 PM
Yeah, it'll be interesting to see if the Dubs give up a meal.
Although I wouldn't be that keen on a feed of broccoli and boiled chicken myself.

Sure it'll be pre packed and all. The Dubs could physically hand it out themselves seen as they have no jobs!

Well done Westmeath btw :)
Post by: Jinxy on December 14, 2016, 04:45:43 PM
Just heard Mickey Burke has volunteered to give up half of one of his meals to feed a homeless family.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 15, 2016, 09:51:50 AM

Much more impressive than spending any amount of money is giving your time.
Post by: Jinxy on December 15, 2016, 10:00:11 AM
That's true, particularly in this day and age where 'support' often consists of a re-tweet from the comfort of an armchair.
Post by: muppet on December 15, 2016, 03:39:54 PM

Can I just ask, are you from Cavan?
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on December 15, 2016, 05:08:35 PM
Quote from: muppet on December 15, 2016, 03:39:54 PM

Can I just ask, are you from Cavan?

Even Cavan people aren't that miserable. I think it's a blobfish.
Post by: seafoid on December 15, 2016, 06:39:32 PM
outside of the football there is a lot of creativity in the GAA
Post by: Never beat the deeler on December 15, 2016, 10:17:03 PM
Nice gesture from Westmeath hurlers. You will always get people that use it as a stick to beat them - why aren't they donating money, why aren't they donating their time.

They may well be doing that also, the two actions aren't mutually exclusive, but a meal is a very good symbol as a donation to homeless people.

What's more, this may make other people think about donating to a homeless charity or shelter. Any or all donations on the back of their example would be welcomed.