Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Milltown Row2 on November 21, 2016, 08:44:32 PM

Title: Trolls/trolling
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 21, 2016, 08:44:32 PM
What motivates a troll?
Title: Re: Trolls/trolling
Post by: gawa316 on November 21, 2016, 08:51:22 PM
Riddles and bridges
Post by: Main Street on November 21, 2016, 08:51:34 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 21, 2016, 08:44:32 PM
What motivates a troll?
Posters like yourself, replying to them.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on November 21, 2016, 08:54:29 PM
Quote from: Main Street on November 21, 2016, 08:51:34 PM
What motivates a troll?

In the main I don't, I use the ignore function
Post by: seafoid on November 21, 2016, 08:58:23 PM
attention, power
Post by: Zulu on November 21, 2016, 09:03:43 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVhxcpItk_M
Post by: Orior on November 21, 2016, 09:18:08 PM
My guess would be:

1. Boredom
2. Personal entertainment
3. Sadism
4. Loneliness
5. Something else
Post by: imtommygunn on November 21, 2016, 09:28:50 PM
Kids you can understand but a ~50 year old grown man doing the amount of trolling that is done here has serious issues.
Post by: redzone on November 21, 2016, 09:31:22 PM
Looks like a few trolls don't realise they are one
Post by: The Stallion on November 21, 2016, 09:46:05 PM
Some people on here seem to have a bizarre obsession with the concept of trolling.
Post by: imtommygunn on November 21, 2016, 09:52:34 PM
Also some people who are perceived as trolls may just be idiots...
Post by: ziggysego on November 21, 2016, 10:28:19 PM
Quote from: Zulu on November 21, 2016, 09:03:43 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YVhxcpItk_M

Would have been funnier if the gag wasn't spoilt in the YouTube title. Well maybe funnier wasn't the right word.
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on November 21, 2016, 10:46:04 PM
What motivates a troll?

I would be guilty of biting to some posts but there are certain posts which it is very hard to just ignore.  I wrote a quick javascript function which removes posts from a certain user...would need to update it though as it still picks up there messages if another poster quotes them... :)
Post by: muppet on November 21, 2016, 10:50:06 PM
Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on November 21, 2016, 10:46:04 PM
What motivates a troll?

I would be guilty of biting to some posts but there are certain posts which it is very hard to just ignore.  I wrote a quick javascript function which removes posts from a certain user...would need to update it though as it still picks up there messages if another poster quotes them... :)

Cool! I compiled a string of characters that equated precisely to their usernames and put them on the ignore list. It took me less time than it did to write this sentence. How long did your javascript function take?
Post by: Frank_The_Tank on November 21, 2016, 10:52:51 PM
Quote from: muppet on November 21, 2016, 10:50:06 PM
Quote from: Frank_The_Tank on November 21, 2016, 10:46:04 PM
What motivates a troll?

Cool! I compiled a string of characters that equated precisely to their usernames and put them on the ignore list. It took me less time than it did to write this sentence. How long did your javascript function take?

Took me approx 2 mins to write the js function
Post by: seafoid on November 21, 2016, 10:54:07 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2012/sep/26/day-confronted-troll
Post by: muppet on November 21, 2016, 10:55:14 PM
Sorry Frank, I don't know what you wrote as I was testing how long it took to ignore you. It took 10 seconds.

I'll see how long it takes to undo that now.
Post by: muppet on November 21, 2016, 10:56:12 PM
Oh I see.
Post by: JoG2 on November 22, 2016, 09:38:36 AM
Quote from: Orior on November 21, 2016, 09:18:08 PM
My guess would be:

1. Boredom
2. Personal entertainment
3. Sadism
4. Loneliness
5. Something else

agreed, and to that end, my mild annoyance towards trolls / trolling has turned to pity. There has to be something going on in the real world for a man / woman to take to forums for their kicks. This forum is now littered with them unfortunately, poor bastids (us and them!)
Post by: ludermor on November 22, 2016, 11:11:02 AM
Surely it time the mods took some action action against the serial compulsive trolls though.
Post by: No wides on November 22, 2016, 11:50:56 AM
Maybe you should compile a list and report them to the mods.  Milltown knows all the lazy people on the dole, or doing the double, he lets that annoy him also instead of doing something about it.
Post by: OgraAnDun on November 22, 2016, 12:34:41 PM
What motivates a troll?

Threads being started about them.
Post by: Keyser soze on November 22, 2016, 12:51:53 PM
The implacable No Wides strikes again.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 22, 2016, 10:35:22 PM
Sure we could get bomber to come in and tells us what Motivates him saying he plaguing the rugby thread and practically any given Tyrone thread
Post by: Main Street on November 23, 2016, 12:08:14 PM
There's a  recurring difficulty on this board  to be aware of the nature of a troll, to recognise a troll's methods of provocation and lastly with observing the effects of feeding a troll with replies.
Anybody who tried to engage with tony the troll in the child abuse thread, could see the evidence of seamless movement around an infinite loop of absolute devious stubbornness, combined with a total absence of rationality, a pathological condition.

A troll exists because posters get provoked into a reply. 
We have the childish fantasy names, stallion, the tyrone mad eéjit destroyer  and then tony the narcissist troll,  all 3 have a different approach but have the same performance effect as the clown who comes into the kindergarten and shíts in the corner of the room.

If you want the troll to go away,  don't reply, if you have taken the decision to stop replying then you have to go cold turkey and don't return to reply.
To give up nicotine you have to go cold turkey, you can't just stroll back after a few days, enjoy the one fag and still hope to stay off nicotine, so this coming back and engaging the troll with some retort, some proof that they were wrong,  some joke about something stupid they wrote, just doesn't have any effect. It's  not in the profile of a troll to have embarrassment or accept any point of correction,  they  just move along to some other issue.

A mod can impose labels onto the signature of troll
a troll alert  of sorts, 'certified troll', 'unrepentant troll'.
and to those who continually  reply to trolls,  a 'troll addict', a 'troll groupie'.
I could think of worse labels of course :)

Post by: The Stallion on November 23, 2016, 12:33:16 PM
Thanks for your thoughts on my username Main Street. I respectfully disagree with your thoughts. Would love to hear the story behind your username by the way.
Post by: T Fearon on November 23, 2016, 02:45:49 PM
I feel sad for those who get upset by the different views of others.I never do.
Post by: No wides on November 23, 2016, 03:20:40 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 23, 2016, 02:45:49 PM
I feel sad for those who get upset by the different views of others.I never do.

Sociopath's never do.
Post by: T Fearon on November 23, 2016, 03:46:32 PM
You must have a serious issue if someone's views annoy you.
Post by: OgraAnDun on November 23, 2016, 03:56:47 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 23, 2016, 03:46:32 PM

You would have been grand with Hitler's, would you?
Post by: No wides on November 23, 2016, 03:59:53 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 23, 2016, 03:46:32 PM

You don't annoy me, anyone so warped by Catholicism that they would blame abused children and abused children's parents for them being raped, sexually degraded and having their childhood stolen and lives destroyed for the gratification off catholic clergy invokes nothing but pity from me.
Post by: T Fearon on November 23, 2016, 04:03:04 PM
Yes totally distort what I said🙄
Post by: No wides on November 23, 2016, 04:06:36 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 23, 2016, 04:03:04 PM
Yes totally distort what I said🙄

You are a parasite on this board, you crave attention and say the most heinous things to get a rise, I am sure you get the biggest rise whacking away at your keyboard, you constantly blamed abused children and abused children's parents for catholic clergy raping them, sexually abusing them and robbing them of a normal life - as I said I just feel pity for you.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 23, 2016, 04:16:21 PM
have we got a phrase for whenever a troll trolls a troll?
Post by: The Stallion on November 23, 2016, 04:18:25 PM
Is there any chance you and others who obsess about trolling  could feel that pity without prattling on endlessly about people who are merely expressing their opinion?
Post by: No wides on November 23, 2016, 04:19:42 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 23, 2016, 04:16:21 PM
have we got a phrase for whenever a troll trolls a troll?

Probably but anyone who thinks replying to a post is a troll in my opinion is a tosser - just my opinion.
Post by: No wides on November 23, 2016, 04:21:26 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on November 23, 2016, 04:18:25 PM
Is there any chance you and others who obsess about trolling  could feel that pity without prattling on endlessly about people who are merely expressing their opinion?

There is a difference between opinion and pure bile to get a rise.
Post by: The Stallion on November 23, 2016, 04:35:09 PM
That's an entirely subjective matter.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on November 23, 2016, 04:50:21 PM
have we got a phrase for whenever a troll starts bickering with another troll?
Post by: bennydorano on November 23, 2016, 05:10:25 PM
What do you call someone who analyses a troll being trolled by a troll??
Post by: T Fearon on November 23, 2016, 06:00:11 PM
I don't recognise trolls or trolling.I do not get even mildly irritated by those who express views out of the ordinary,it's all subjective anyway.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 23, 2016, 07:04:43 PM
A  Trollhunter??
Post by: seafoid on November 23, 2016, 08:31:44 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on November 23, 2016, 04:50:21 PM
have we got a phrase for whenever a troll starts bickering with another troll?
Off their trolley
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 23, 2016, 08:50:06 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 23, 2016, 06:00:11 PM
I don't recognise trolls or trolling.
No mirrors in your home so  ;D
Post by: grounded on November 23, 2016, 09:07:24 PM
100+ troll types!   Can you identify them?

https://darkpsychology.co/troll/

Post by: ONeill on November 23, 2016, 10:08:31 PM
Trolling balls.

It's called winding people up. Been happening on this board since its inception and probably a lot less prevalent now. Wise up lads.
Post by: BarryBreensBandage on November 24, 2016, 12:00:32 AM
As a constant observer and sometimes poster on this board I don't know. The recent Rugby and Celtic threads have been great crack to read, and in a way, while there is an awful lot of side-tracking, I would ask, is this troll posting not what keeps discussion boards going? I know that the two threads I have mentioned would be a lot less humorous and interesting if it was the same opinion every time, or went back to normal operating conditions.

Someone mentioned the running thread being the only thread where there s meaningful discussion. A great thread to see what runs are coming up and people who are achieving well, but boring if you ask me.
Same talk I get from people I know who want to tell me what their PB's are, how many times they are running per week etc. (Although cycling has taken on a demention [sic] of its own in this respect).

Gauntlet thrown down to the trolls with the goals, side track the running thread!
Post by: foxcommander on November 24, 2016, 01:12:02 AM
(http://southparkstudios.mtvnimages.com/images/shows/south-park/clip-thumbnails/season-19/1909/south-park-s19e09c15-everyone-is-entitled-to-a-safe-space_16x9.jpg)
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 24, 2016, 09:29:07 AM
Quote from: ONeill on November 23, 2016, 10:08:31 PM
Trolling balls.

It's called winding people up. Been happening on this board since its inception and probably a lot less prevalent now. Wise up lads.

+1.
Post by: T Fearon on November 24, 2016, 09:48:06 AM
Of far greater concern is the personal abuse meted out here.
Post by: The Stallion on November 24, 2016, 11:15:01 AM
Just in the last few days I was subjected to the following tirade from Walter completely out of the blue:

"Slide you on ye bo**ix, masquerading on here as a Glen man. Prat!"

Quite apart from the factual inaccuracy, this is an example of how there seems to be deep seated anger issues among some posters. I hope they find the help they clearly need.
Post by: HiMucker on November 24, 2016, 11:17:01 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on November 24, 2016, 09:48:06 AM
Of far greater concern is the personal abuse meted out here.
Sure why would that concern you? "I do not get even mildly irritated by those who express views out of the ordinary,it's all subjective anyway"
Post by: HiMucker on November 24, 2016, 11:18:46 AM
I actually find people complaining about people responding to trolls more annoying :D
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on November 24, 2016, 11:29:50 AM
Trolling balls. It's called winding people up. Been happening on this board since its inception and probably a lot less prevalent now. Wise up lads.

It has been going on over all the time I have been here - fourteen years or more - but I reckon it is now a lot more prevalent.

Quote from: BarryBreensBandage on November 24, 2016, 12:00:32 AM
As a constant observer and sometimes poster on this board I don't know. The recent Rugby and Celtic threads have been great crack to read, and in a way, while there is an awful lot of side-tracking, I would ask, is this troll posting not what keeps discussion boards going? I know that the two threads I have mentioned would be a lot less humorous and interesting if it was the same opinion every time, or went back to normal operating conditions.

Someone mentioned the running thread being the only thread where there s meaningful discussion. A great thread to see what runs are coming up and people who are achieving well, but boring if you ask me.
Same talk I get from people I know who want to tell me what their PB's are, how many times they are running per week etc. (Although cycling has taken on a demention [sic] of its own in this respect).

Gauntlet thrown down to the trolls with the goals, side track the running thread!

A valid opinion, but one I'd disagree with.

I'm like yourself - regular observer but rarely feel the urge to post nowadays. Something like the rugby thread was for me a classic example of what puts me off - a thread I could really have enjoyed on the back of our great performances against the ABs but the way it was derailed through trolling put me off. I see the same regularly on the Football side of the Forum.

I'm not that bothered complaining - just end up voting with my feet (in a manner of speaking).   
Post by: magpie seanie on November 24, 2016, 02:00:36 PM
Trolling balls.

I think there's a difference between trolling and wind ups. Usually there is an element of cleverness involved in a wind up (almost non-existent nowadays) whereas trolling is usually accompanied by ignorance and lack of subtlety.
Post by: Boycey on November 24, 2016, 02:40:45 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on November 24, 2016, 02:00:36 PM
Trolling balls.

I think there's a difference between trolling and wind ups. Usually there is an element of cleverness involved in a wind up (almost non-existent nowadays) whereas trolling is usually accompanied by ignorance and lack of subtlety.

I wholeheartedly agree with that, there are a couple of good wind-up merchants on here (I won't give them the satisfaction of knowing who they are ;) )  but there are more eejits trolling who would discourage me from adding a comment to a given thread.

Post by: JoG2 on November 25, 2016, 03:04:33 PM
one thing too that is very apparent with trolls is how negative they are. Rarely do they say anything positive about anything or anyone. Mostly 'the world owes me a living' sorts. 
Post by: Wildweasel74 on November 26, 2016, 04:16:56 PM
Come on without Tony we have nothing to laugh about, even now booking a hotel on the wrong date for the all-Ireland all those years ago was a classic for the ages and maybe the funniest thing ever happened on this board
Post by: TabClear on November 26, 2016, 07:48:12 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on November 26, 2016, 04:16:56 PM
Come on without Tony we have nothing to laugh about, even now booking a hotel on the wrong date for the all-Ireland all those years ago was a classic for the ages and maybe the funniest thing ever happened on this board

The conversation with the receptionist someone put up was one of the funniest things ever on this board.
Post by: muppet on November 26, 2016, 08:19:49 PM
Quote from: TabClear on November 26, 2016, 07:48:12 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on November 26, 2016, 04:16:56 PM

The conversation with the receptionist someone put up was one of the funniest things ever on this board.

Who was that? easytiger? Or Hardy maybe?
Post by: Hardy on November 27, 2016, 06:37:09 PM
'Twas the tiger. I have it somewhere. Later.
Post by: 5 Sams on November 27, 2016, 07:30:23 PM
Quote from: Hardy on November 27, 2016, 06:37:09 PM
'Twas the tiger. I have it somewhere. Later.

Dean deifir...that was funny!!