GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on November 01, 2016, 02:24:25 PM

Title: Colm Keys top 50 fuballers
Post by: seafoid on November 01, 2016, 02:24:25 PM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/here-are-the-top-50-footballers-of-2016-who-is-number-one-35172093.html
Title: Re: Colm Keys top 50 fuballers
Post by: Take Your Points on November 01, 2016, 04:05:22 PM
Surprising how few counties competed in 2016.
Post by: Lone Shark on November 01, 2016, 04:35:38 PM
Another way of putting it is that it's entirely unsurprising how few counties Colm Keys/The Indo is interested in watching.

Aside from the fact that a list like this is schyte at the best of times, anyone who could try their hand at it and ignore Brendan Murphy, who realistically should be in the top ten at the very least, doesn't know what they're at. I can't remember the last time I watched Carlow play and he wasn't ridiculously impressive.
Post by: Take Your Points on November 01, 2016, 05:48:51 PM
Only those whose matches were televised.
Post by: Cunny Funt on November 01, 2016, 06:14:42 PM
Less than a vintage year with view stand outs. Must have been a struggle for Mr Keys to finish that article.
Post by: seafoid on November 01, 2016, 06:16:37 PM
Quote from: Take Your Points on November 01, 2016, 04:05:22 PM
Down, Derry, Monaghan , Ros, Meath, Kildare were all missing in action
Post by: JoG2 on November 01, 2016, 06:25:43 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 01, 2016, 06:16:37 PM
Down, Derry, Monaghan , Ros, Meath, Kildare were all missing in action

It's a list of footballers,  not counties.
Post by: Rossfan on November 01, 2016, 06:38:11 PM
Wait till the "Super 8" comes in.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on November 01, 2016, 08:39:16 PM
Danny Heavron should definitely be in there.
Post by: lenny on November 01, 2016, 09:53:26 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on November 01, 2016, 08:39:16 PM

Totally agree. He was brilliant all season and was the best player on the pitch as Derry led tipp in inj time. Tipp get 2 or 3 players in the top 50 and we get none. But it's a bit like alan brogan picking his top 15 from the season. Mayo were arguably the better team over the 2 games v dublin and but for 2 freak own goals and other bits of bad luck lost. Brogan only had 2 mayo players in his team of the year with 7 or 8 dubs. Crazy given how even it was between the 2 teams.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on November 01, 2016, 10:13:33 PM
Quote from: lenny on November 01, 2016, 09:53:26 PM

Totally agree. He was brilliant all season and was the best player on the pitch as Derry led tipp in inj time. Tipp get 2 or 3 players in the top 50 and we get none. But it's a bit like alan brogan picking his top 15 from the season. Mayo were arguably the better team over the 2 games v dublin and but for 2 freak own goals and other bits of bad luck lost. Brogan only had 2 mayo players in his team of the year with 7 or 8 dubs. Crazy given how even it was between the 2 teams.

I would say he plays an almost indentical role for Derry as Peter Harte does for Tyrone. He just always seems to have so much time on the ball and has that really classy finishing and composure. Why's he not committing for Derry next year? He's very much a late bloomer as he wouldn't have been one of Derry's most talked about player in the past 5/6 years but he's definitely head and shoulders their best and would make any county side in the country for me.
Post by: Syferus on November 01, 2016, 10:40:18 PM
Declan Kyne. McCarron in the 30s. Jesus. Keys must have been pouring over old match reports to find some of those names. 50 is a mad number for a competition with 32 real teams. Would have made more sense to chose the best on each team if he needed a countdown article to fill the column inches.
Post by: Captain Obvious on November 02, 2016, 12:46:56 AM

In fairness Brogans article was probably based on the season and not just two games. Prior to the All Ireland finals how many Mayo players stood out in the league or championship?
Post by: Syferus on November 02, 2016, 01:01:39 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on November 02, 2016, 12:46:56 AM

In fairness Brogans article was probably based on the season and not just two games. Prior to the All Ireland finals how many Mayo players stood out in the league or championship?

Not many did pre or post-AI.
Post by: les Antiques on November 02, 2016, 09:17:32 AM
Aside from the fact that a list like this is schyte at the best of times, anyone who could try their hand at it and ignore Brendan Murphy, who realistically should be in the top ten at the very least, doesn't know what they're at. I can't remember the last time I watched Carlow play and he wasn't ridiculously impressive.

Brendan Murphy is certainly not the player he was a couple of years ago when he was a huge talent .  His interest seems to have waned considerably .
Post by: Farrandeelin on November 02, 2016, 09:22:17 AM
It never ceases to amaze me the amount of people who get worked up about these lists by lazy journalists who fees the general non-knowing public with this stuff.
Post by: Rossfan on November 02, 2016, 11:09:16 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on November 02, 2016, 09:22:17 AM
It never ceases to amaze me the amount of people who get worked up about these lists by lazy journalists who fees the general non-knowing public with this stuff.
+1.
Space filling nonsense.
Post by: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 11:17:49 AM
Is it just me or is every second online/print media GAA piece a list of some description?
'The top 20 hurlers with red hair' etc.
Post by: muppet on November 02, 2016, 11:23:07 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 11:17:49 AM
Is it just me or is every second online/print media GAA piece a list of some description?
'The top 20 hurlers with red hair' etc.

Great idea!

This lad would be there somewhere:

(http://cdn-03.independent.ie/migration_catalog/article28801675.ece/73c0c/AUTOCROP/h342/henry-shefflin)
Post by: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 11:33:00 AM
'Top 20 hurlers named Mickey'.

20. Mickey Burke (Meath)

(http://cdn1.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/AB4C7047-copy.jpg)
Post by: seafoid on November 02, 2016, 11:48:32 AM
Meath need a few new Mickeys
Post by: seafoid on November 02, 2016, 11:52:45 AM
On sports journalism I think Eugene McGee said it well.

EMcG: A lot of the matches are shite, but the worst of all is having to write the column in wintertime. I sit down every Saturday night and say, 'What am I going to write here?'. I'm 30 years writing columns now, for God's sake! And some of the stuff I write on Monday is pure shite.

PK: It can't be gold every week.

EMcG: No, and people still remember you for some of the columns and that's a nice treat to get, but I don't envy the guys who have to work full-time GAA reporting on the dailies, it's a fate worse than death.

People will read shite all the time.

"One way of looking at the history of the human group is that it has been a continuing struggle against the veneration of 'crap'." Neil Postman

Most sports journalism is shite.
But you wouldn't miss it.
Post by: moysider on November 02, 2016, 02:11:28 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 11:33:00 AM
'Top 20 hurlers named Mickey'.

20. Mickey Burke (Meath)

(http://cdn1.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/AB4C7047-copy.jpg)

f**k! Does Mickey try to play hurley as well!!
Post by: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 02:26:29 PM
Typical Mayo man.
Wouldn't know one end of a hurl from the other.
For your information, Mickey Burke is on the national team, that's how good he is.
Here he is playing against the old enemy, Scotland.

(http://cdn1.hoganstand.com/Common/NewGallery/inpho_00993135.jpg)
Post by: muppet on November 02, 2016, 02:32:05 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 02:26:29 PM
Typical Mayo man.
For your information, Mickey Burke is on the national team, that's how good he is.

Imagine facing a helmeted Mickey, without a helmet!
Post by: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 02:57:03 PM
Incredible bravery.
God rest him.
Post by: muppet on November 02, 2016, 03:00:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 02:57:03 PM
Incredible bravery.
God rest him.

I propose we all wear a thistle for a month to commemorate him.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on November 02, 2016, 05:04:12 PM
Typical Mayo man.

Scottish fella on the far left looks like he's borrowed his son's bicycle helmet.
Post by: Lamh Dhearg Alba on November 03, 2016, 01:16:25 AM
Quote from: muppet on November 02, 2016, 03:00:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on November 02, 2016, 02:57:03 PM
Incredible bravery.
God rest him.

I propose we all wear a thistle for a month to commemorate him.

Mickey should have gone through him, he pretty much defeated Ireland himself in the latest international the other week.
Post by: moysider on November 03, 2016, 01:16:42 AM
Typical Mayo man.

His right arm looks black and blue already from the belts he took. Needed him back in the day against John Jeffries and Finlay Caulder. He's have opened those lads.