Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Iceman on October 28, 2016, 08:50:22 PM

Title: Personal Trainers
Post by: The Iceman on October 28, 2016, 08:50:22 PM
I follow a few gyms around home and the amount of PTs out there is shocking. What's also shocking is that half of them have barely any experience.
One gym offering body transformations has 4 PTs on the books 2 of whom went through the body transformation in 2016 and all of a sudden are now PTs
There's also 2 gyms in Armagh showing the same girl as their success story and one gym showing the owner of the other gym as his success story.

Who is paying for these people to train them?

Any PT's on here or anyone use a PT?
Title: Re: Personal Trainers
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 28, 2016, 08:54:30 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 28, 2016, 08:50:22 PM
I follow a few gyms around home and the amount of PTs out there is shocking. What's also shocking is that half of them have barely any experience.
One gym offering body transformations has 4 PTs on the books 2 of whom went through the body transformation in 2016 and all of a sudden are now PTs
There's also 2 gyms in Armagh showing the same girl as their success story and one gym showing the owner of the other gym as his success story.

Who is paying for these people to train them?

Any PT's on here or anyone use a PT?
I would say it is in more than just Armagh but I know of 2 people who only started going to the gym less than 2 years ago and are now PTs in the Armagh area. It seems any woman or man in reasonable shape in Armagh is a PT.
Post by: The Iceman on October 28, 2016, 09:05:13 PM
Dont get me wrong I think there are some very qualified and capable PTs in Armagh - Barry Gordon, Tom Gribben, Mousey Dougan but I see a lot of ones with some online course for 6 months and now they're asking for crazy money for sessions and people are paying them!
Post by: Puckoon on October 28, 2016, 09:11:58 PM
It's a big issue all over Iceman - I see it here, infact was asked to consider training a program I "graduated" from 18 months ago with little in the way of official training. I feel that I could have performed the training at a decent level (training the unconditioned to become more conditioned), but didn't want the responsibility should something go wrong.

As part of a group class I think it is relatively easy to fake it til you make it in the role of a training understudy. If you've learned enough in your own training you should know the correct form, corrective exercises and modifications to help folks. I couldn't imagine paying a newbie trainer big money though, that is pretty daft if you ask me.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 28, 2016, 10:14:49 PM
Any person that has played for club and done all the relevant training would never need a PT!! Certainly there are people out there that require motivation of sorts but you can complete a PT course and train people within six weeks...

The best is having no training experience but manage to take your senior team!!
Post by: foxcommander on October 28, 2016, 10:33:57 PM
They're still marginally better than life coaches!
Just ask your friends/family to tell you to cop on. That should do it.
Post by: MoChara on October 28, 2016, 10:41:04 PM
I've a mate that's a qualified pt after doing a 3 day course, ots scary that these people are telling others about certain exercises that they barely know anything about.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 28, 2016, 11:11:10 PM
Quote from: MoChara on October 28, 2016, 10:41:04 PM
I've a mate that's a qualified pt after doing a 3 day course, ots scary that these people are telling others about certain exercises that they barely know anything about.

But to be fair they know more than you and have passed the regulation exam for it!
Post by: MoChara on October 28, 2016, 11:16:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 28, 2016, 11:11:10 PM

But to be fair they know more than you and have passed the regulation exam for it!

I've a gcse in PE I'll have you know
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 28, 2016, 11:20:00 PM
Quote from: MoChara on October 28, 2016, 11:16:07 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 28, 2016, 11:11:10 PM

I've a gcse in PE I'll have you know

Pe lol!! A Every year until they said let's fo an exam!!
Post by: Eire90 on January 09, 2024, 06:32:00 PM
Has the gaa been infiltrated by david goggin types i see some gaa clubs now doing hell weeks.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on January 09, 2024, 06:52:18 PM
interesting, more details.  Always love hearing how clubs are trying to get an edge
Post by: tonto1888 on January 09, 2024, 08:07:21 PM
Lurgan is coming down with personal trainers. Make up artists also to be fair. All these PTs walking round with their iPads telling people what to do and what to eat. It has gotten ridiculous. Don't get me wrong, some are very good and knowledgable. The guys in focus for example. But others...
Post by: Eire90 on January 09, 2024, 08:13:28 PM
Do they come  out with motivational genetic motavational quotes
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2024, 08:14:01 PM
There must be bigger mugs who'll hand over their dosh or follow them on insta!!
Post by: imtommygunn on January 09, 2024, 08:26:10 PM
There are some good ones out there. Many bluffers too unfortunately!
Post by: LC on January 09, 2024, 08:29:43 PM
Some of the before and afters are ridiculous.

Of course someone is going to look different with their back to you standing on the ground compared to being covered in fake tan their back still to you but hanging off a squat rack.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2024, 08:31:44 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 09, 2024, 08:26:10 PMThere are some good ones out there. Many bluffers too unfortunately!

But how did we live before social media and PT's? Proper soap box stuff
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 09, 2024, 08:45:43 PM
Everyone wants the quick fix
Post by: LC on January 09, 2024, 08:59:35 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 09, 2024, 08:45:43 PMEveryone wants the quick fix

There is a PT around our way and he posts a lot of his before and afters.  Yes a noticeable difference at the time but you see  the same people less than 6 months later they look the same as before.  Motivation will get you through the short term blast but you need discipline for it to be of benefit in the long term.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 09, 2024, 09:45:25 PM
It's like anything I suppose; theres ones at it who are knowledgable and worth every penny who genuinely transform peoples lives. They are earning serious money so theres always copycat bluffers trying the same thing.

LC is right, no use living like a monk for a few months and getting in serious shape then because it's too restrictive a diet throwing it all away and piling the weight back on. Only way to go is a diet/workout plan you actually enjoy and will stick to. Need to fit your chocolate/sweets/crisps or whatever your vice is in moderation. 
Post by: square_ball on January 09, 2024, 09:49:08 PM
Is it a prerequisite to be a PT now that you have to sit in an ice bath for a few minutes every morning and tell the world about it?
Post by: Armagh18 on January 09, 2024, 09:51:49 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 09, 2024, 09:49:08 PMIs it a prerequisite to be a PT now that you have to sit in an ice bath for a few minutes every morning and tell the world about it?
All seem to be at it. Genuinely wouldn't be a bad thing for you for a variety of reasons.
Post by: ONeill on January 09, 2024, 09:53:54 PM
Rory's Stories swears by it.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 09, 2024, 09:55:27 PM
It would cure the sleepy head on ya these mornings anyway!
Post by: square_ball on January 09, 2024, 09:57:34 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 09, 2024, 09:53:54 PMRory's Stories swears by it.

If he swears by them I think I'll give it a swerve.
Post by: square_ball on January 09, 2024, 10:08:32 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on January 09, 2024, 09:51:49 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 09, 2024, 09:49:08 PMIs it a prerequisite to be a PT now that you have to sit in an ice bath for a few minutes every morning and tell the world about it?
All seem to be at it. Genuinely wouldn't be a bad thing for you for a variety of reasons.

I'm sceptical to be honest. Seems to be the latest fad.
Post by: Eire90 on January 09, 2024, 10:19:49 PM
were talking david goggin wannabes that are putting people through hell weeks and shouting at people
Post by: Eire90 on January 09, 2024, 10:22:33 PM
talking about ice baths i am not a fan of tate but he says all these ice bath guys are jsut trying to comepensate because they wont get into a ring or cage and fight,
Post by: smort on January 09, 2024, 10:26:04 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on January 09, 2024, 10:22:33 PMtalking about ice baths i am not a fan of tate but he says all these ice bath guys are jsut trying to comepensate because they wont get into a ring or cage and fight,

You listen to a word that man says?
Post by: bennydorano on January 09, 2024, 10:40:06 PM
There's tiktok doctors saying ice baths are of no good for u whatsoever, only increase the chances of cardiac arrest. I went through a cryotherapy phase years ago for an injury, nothing but a placebo for the mind, but that has value in itself.
Post by: Eire90 on January 09, 2024, 11:34:13 PM
Is the pt community toxic a pt commited suicide a few weeks ago dont know if its anything to do with his job tho.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2024, 11:52:49 PM
Quote from: Eire90 on January 09, 2024, 11:34:13 PMIs the pt community toxic a pt commited suicide a few weeks ago dont know if its anything to do with his job tho.

Probably suffering from depression rather than being a pt
Post by: Armagh18 on January 10, 2024, 07:02:00 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on January 09, 2024, 11:34:13 PMIs the pt community toxic a pt commited suicide a few weeks ago dont know if its anything to do with his job tho.
Is GAA toxic there's been plenty of GAA players do it unfortunately? Daft question that.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 10, 2024, 08:23:25 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 09, 2024, 10:40:06 PMThere's tiktok doctors saying ice baths are of no good for u whatsoever, only increase the chances of cardiac arrest. I went through a cryotherapy phase years ago for an injury, nothing but a placebo for the mind, but that has value in itself.
20 mins standing in a lake is free
Post by: johnnycool on January 10, 2024, 08:34:26 AM
We run a "fitness" camp every January and February, Ballygalgets biggest loser it's called.

At it's peak we'd over 200 people paying £5 a week to be put into groups of 10 or 12, assigned "motivators" who'd take them on walks, runs, boxercise etc etc with weekly weigh ins and at the end of the 10 weeks the winners, male and female were those that lost the most weight. There was also a team prize for the overall best team who won the most Sunday morning challenges..

Our neighbouring clubs got in on the act and they run similar schemes at various times of the year and make a few bob from them as well.

But out of that has sprung up a cottage industry of personal trainers doing well for themselves off the back of it. One of our camogs runs boot camps where she's takes 20 people for 6 week blocks, does the before and after stuff and the last time I was talking to her she's thinking of packing in the day job.
Another of our lads got into the spin, kettle bell HIIT stuff as well as a bit of massaging and he's doing well, so well he hasn't the time to be our medical man the bollox..

Middle aged women in particular have money to spend and they go for this stuff in a big way.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2024, 08:44:53 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 10, 2024, 08:34:26 AMWe run a "fitness" camp every January and February, Ballygalgets biggest loser it's called.

At it's peak we'd over 200 people paying £5 a week to be put into groups of 10 or 12, assigned "motivators" who'd take them on walks, runs, boxercise etc etc with weekly weigh ins and at the end of the 10 weeks the winners, male and female were those that lost the most weight. There was also a team prize for the overall best team who won the most Sunday morning challenges..

Our neighbouring clubs got in on the act and they run similar schemes at various times of the year and make a few bob from them as well.

But out of that has sprung up a cottage industry of personal trainers doing well for themselves off the back of it. One of our camogs runs boot camps where she's takes 20 people for 6 week blocks, does the before and after stuff and the last time I was talking to her she's thinking of packing in the day job.
Another of our lads got into the spin, kettle bell HIIT stuff as well as a bit of massaging and he's doing well, so well he hasn't the time to be our medical man the bollox..

Middle aged women in particular have money to spend and they go for this stuff in a big way.

Cost of living crisis my arse!!!!

Nails
Weekly hair appointments
Boot camps
Pilate classes
Pampering weekends

I could go on
Post by: tintin25 on January 10, 2024, 08:52:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2024, 08:44:53 AM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 10, 2024, 08:34:26 AMWe run a "fitness" camp every January and February, Ballygalgets biggest loser it's called.

Nails
Weekly hair appointments
Boot camps
Pilate classes
Pampering weekends

I could go on

Don't forget the botox! Seeing plenty of women now with the joker smile.

Plenty of fitness videos on youtube that you can get for free - if you've a couple of kettlebells you're sorted and doesn't need to be more than a 20/25 min workout.

The small group training has really taken off at the minute, realistically if you're joining a gym like this then it's a min £100 for 3 sessions a week.
Post by: trailer on January 10, 2024, 09:51:43 AM
You can't out train a bad diet, and let me tell you, I know.
Post by: JimStynes on January 10, 2024, 10:50:37 AM

I was saying this a while ago. They'd sicken you.

Ice baths aren't a new thing though. The rugby ones were at it 30 years ago and then it slipped into the GAA clubs not long after. I remember mortar tubs landing up to training and filled with ice cold water. A fella in Lurgan had the ice bath and a membership thing for years and I loved it. But of course PTs come and sicken your hole about it and put you off it altogether.
Post by: JimStynes on January 10, 2024, 10:52:01 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 09, 2024, 10:40:06 PMThere's tiktok doctors saying ice baths are of no good for u whatsoever, only increase the chances of cardiac arrest. I went through a cryotherapy phase years ago for an injury, nothing but a placebo for the mind, but that has value in itself.

It's like anything though, you can search for all these studies online that say they're good and as many that say they're bad. Anyone with cardiac issues should be staying away in my opinion though.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 10, 2024, 11:01:19 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on January 10, 2024, 10:50:37 AM

Ice baths aren't a new thing though. The rugby ones were at it 30 years ago and then it slipped into the GAA clubs not long after. I remember mortar tubs landing up to training and filled with ice cold water. A fella in Lurgan had the ice bath and a membership thing for years and I loved it. But of course PTs come and sicken your hole about it and put you off it altogether.

We had 2 old bath tubs in the showers in 1997/98 filled every night after training with ice. Not sure it ever helped everyone but it was always a bit of craic. We have an ice pod now,  small one,  that we fill with really cold water and sometimes ice and it does help from what I can tell.

As for the PTs some good, some bad, you can get everything the do on YouTube but are you motivated enough?
Post by: 5times5times on January 10, 2024, 11:10:38 AM
even more sickening now is these clowns paying a fortune to go spend time with that wim hof fella.

close to €3400 to "find yourself"..

every instagram clown in down + newry now a life coach, with their sea dipping and cold tubs.
Post by: trueblue1234 on January 10, 2024, 11:12:54 AM
The problem is wading through the crap to get the right information. It used to be that only experts and proper researched sources posted online. Now Tommy from Facebook who found out about callisthenics last week is as likely to pop up in searches.
Post by: johnnycool on January 10, 2024, 11:13:57 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on January 10, 2024, 11:01:19 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on January 10, 2024, 10:50:37 AM

We had 2 old bath tubs in the showers in 1997/98 filled every night after training with ice. Not sure it ever helped everyone but it was always a bit of craic. We have an ice pod now,  small one,  that we fill with really cold water and sometimes ice and it does help from what I can tell.

As for the PTs some good, some bad, you can get everything the do on YouTube but are you motivated enough?

Being a bit more agricultural down our way we'd a big fúckin cattle water trough full of ice and lots of other shit back in the day and as I nearing the end of my days I think it did me a lot of good in keeping the aches and pains at bay.

We now have our own cryospa and it gets a fair bit of use between ACL ops (another two lads had the op in October last year) and hip ops which are a thing at the minute for us and cost a bloody fortune.

Post by: tonto1888 on January 10, 2024, 11:56:59 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 09, 2024, 08:14:01 PMThere must be bigger mugs who'll hand over their dosh or follow them on insta!!

Ive followed - and unfollowed - a lot of PTs on instagram. Some good - they still get followed - some not so good
Post by: clarshack on January 10, 2024, 12:20:00 PM
£31.67 p/m for a family membership at the local leisure centre is the best money you will ever spend. why would you pay a PT?
Post by: clarshack on January 10, 2024, 12:23:22 PM
Quote from: trailer on January 10, 2024, 09:51:43 AMYou can't out train a bad diet, and let me tell you, I know.

Exactly this.
Post by: square_ball on January 10, 2024, 12:23:49 PM
Quote from: clarshack on January 10, 2024, 12:20:00 PM£31.67 p/m for a family membership at the local leisure centre is the best money you will ever spend. why would you pay a PT?

We have the same - choice of 3 leisure centres and includes the gym, pool, classes, health suite, soft play for the children. Its great value.
Post by: Estimator on January 10, 2024, 12:25:47 PM
Quote from: square_ball on January 10, 2024, 12:23:49 PM
Quote from: clarshack on January 10, 2024, 12:20:00 PM£31.67 p/m for a family membership at the local leisure centre is the best money you will ever spend. why would you pay a PT?

We have the same - choice of 3 leisure centres and includes the gym, pool, classes, health suite, soft play for the children. Its great value.
Yeah, same in mid-ulster:
£380 for the annual family membership
Post by: clarshack on January 10, 2024, 12:27:01 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 10, 2024, 11:13:57 AMBeing a bit more agricultural down our way we'd a big fúckin cattle water trough full of ice and lots of other shit back in the day and as I nearing the end of my days I think it did me a lot of good in keeping the aches and pains at bay.

We now have our own cryospa and it gets a fair bit of use between ACL ops (another two lads had the op in October last year) and hip ops which are a thing at the minute for us and cost a bloody fortune.

I think they will continue to be a thing too. £13k approx to get a hip done atm.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2024, 12:48:06 PM
Quote from: clarshack on January 10, 2024, 12:27:01 PM
Quote from: johnnycool on January 10, 2024, 11:13:57 AMBeing a bit more agricultural down our way we'd a big fúckin cattle water trough full of ice and lots of other shit back in the day and as I nearing the end of my days I think it did me a lot of good in keeping the aches and pains at bay.

I think they will continue to be a thing too. £13k approx to get a hip done atm.

People are getting hip operations at a younger age nowadays, work colleague waited 2 and half years and couldn't wait any longer as she was on two crutches and in pain, at night even worse, plus no sleep too.. spent 11 grand (5 years ago) she's a new person altogether

With the influx of HITT classes and the like, are we creating more bad than good, and if everyone ate properly and exercised (long walks) daily would we need some PT with slick hair and an IPad telling you what to do? 

Get your kids into working on replacement hips!! Fortune to be made!

I work in private medical care and we are so busy with various things (not hip related lol) that the NHS either don't do anymore or have very long waiting lists that people are not prepared to wait or deal with the poor aftercare that they provide.

Staffing is one of the main reasons for the particular area that I deal in, and its not exactly attracting NHS staff for the money they are offering. The cost of things will keep rising
Post by: RedHand88 on January 10, 2024, 12:48:37 PM
Spoofers one and all.
Post by: NAG1 on January 10, 2024, 01:01:47 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2024, 12:48:06 PM
Quote from: clarshack on January 10, 2024, 12:27:01 PM

People are getting hip operations at a younger age nowadays, work colleague waited 2 and half years and couldn't wait any longer as she was on two crutches and in pain, at night even worse, plus no sleep too.. spent 11 grand (5 years ago) she's a new person altogether

With the influx of HITT classes and the like, are we creating more bad than good, and if everyone ate properly and exercised (long walks) daily would we need some PT with slick hair and an IPad telling you what to do? 

Get your kids into working on replacement hips!! Fortune to be made!

I work in private medical care and we are so busy with various things (not hip related lol) that the NHS either don't do anymore or have very long waiting lists that people are not prepared to wait or deal with the poor aftercare that they provide.

Staffing is one of the main reasons for the particular area that I deal in, and its not exactly attracting NHS staff for the money they are offering. The cost of things will keep rising

Exactly what the Tories want  :-X
Post by: imtommygunn on January 10, 2024, 01:03:47 PM
The whole thing is f**ked. Can barely get near a GP never mind anything more serious.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2024, 01:26:06 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 10, 2024, 01:03:47 PMThe whole thing is f**ked. Can barely get near a GP never mind anything more serious.

Even when you do get there and have an appointment its leaving most people thinking, I'm not sure they have covered everything.

Wife has had a (don't know how to describe it) uncomfortable feeling under ribcage area at the side (over a year now), very active, eats very well and drinks a lot less than me! had appointment and referred for a scan, just a ultra sound one, all good nothing from that and doctor says nothing from that scan showed anything to worry about.

But still this 'discomfort' is there, so will go for a second opinion and just to settle her anxiety I suppose, but you just come away from appointments thinking, hmmmm..

Will probaly ask the local PT if he has any ideas or head of to Fermanagh and bury lay her down in the soil!
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 10, 2024, 02:07:30 PM
Young lad hurt his knee before Xmas. Went through private healthcare and seen consultant yesterday and MRI scheduled for this evening. I see some GPs are now going to offer private clinics.

There was a Rolls Royce outside the clinic yesterday and not sure if it was owned by a patient or a Consultant! Plenty of money in it but what about the people who have to wait years to be seen. Something needs to change massively and soon!
Post by: NAG1 on January 10, 2024, 03:14:09 PM
Unfortunately it is going to be a two tier system, if in fact it isnt already.

Those who can afford to pay will get to the front of the queue those that can't will be at the back and get it when it comes around to their turn.
Post by: gallsman on January 10, 2024, 04:34:20 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 10, 2024, 01:03:47 PMThe whole thing is f**ked. Can barely get near a GP never mind anything more serious.

I don't mean to sound like the smug fella abroad who shits on everything at home but I gave this example to a few lads at home (both North and South) and they genuinely didn't believe me. Spain is hardly a world leader in healthcare but the contrast with home shocked me.

Anyway, around the middle of August I slipped quite badly on the stairs down into my basement. They're concrete steps with a faux marble tile and a slipped quite neat the top. Managed to land the small of my back at a near perfect 45° angle onto the 90° cut of the step and then slid the whole way down to the bottom, about another 17/18 steps, bouncing the back off each one.

I was crocked for a couple of days. Getting up and sitting down was painful. Couldn't sit for more than 45 mins or so without needing to stretch out and lie down. A huge bruise on my back from my kidneys on round and the down the top of my arse cheeks developed. Being the idiot I am, I found myself getting a little bit better and a few weeks later I went on a stag. Was sore, but ok. Another few weeks later was feeling a bit of pain, about a month or 5 weeks after the fall. Decided I'd go to the doctor, for reassurance if nothing else.

Now I live in a back of beyond town in the arse end of nowhere about an hour outside Barcelona. Population a couple of thousand, max. We have our own little mini health centre with about 1.5 doctors and some nursing staff. It's a branch of a bigger centre in the nearest "big" town, population about 35,000. I decided I was going to go to doc late on a Tuesday night, so I used the public healthcare app to leave a note for reception to ask for an appointment. I got a call about 8.20 on the Wednesday morning asking what the story was and after telling her, had an appointment with the GP around 11.15. He did a few checks and figured I was largely fine and that pain and discomfort were all just deep tissue bruising and inflammation, but would need an x-ray to make sure no fracture in the coccyx. Booked me an x-ray that afternoon at the health centre (specifically not a hospital, like a massive GP but also has gynae care etc) in the equivalent of, I guess, a county town, population about 70-75,000 and a follow up for late on the Thursday morning to go over the results. Maybe a 20-25 minute drive from the house. Turned up on time, x-ray done, back home barely over an hour later. In for the results with the GP the next day, got the all clear, he prescribed some anti inflammatories and home I went.

So in the space of about 40 hours of having decided I wanted to see doctor, I'd seen my GP, had an x-ray, gone over the results, got my tablets and was back home with my feet up.

I have private health insurance through work, and pay for the rest of the family to be added to it. We almost never use it. Pregnancy and maternity care all through the public system.
Post by: johnnycool on January 10, 2024, 04:42:09 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2024, 04:34:20 PM

I don't mean to sound like the smug fella abroad who shits on everything at home but I gave this example to a few lads at home (both North and South) and they genuinely didn't believe me. Spain is hardly a world leader in healthcare but the contrast with home shocked me.

Anyway, around the middle of August I slipped quite badly on the stairs down into my basement. They're concrete steps with a faux marble tile and a slipped quite neat the top. Managed to land the small of my back at a near perfect 45° angle onto the 90° cut of the step and then slid the whole way down to the bottom, about another 17/18 steps, bouncing the back off each one.

I was crocked for a couple of days. Getting up and sitting down was painful. Couldn't sit for more than 45 mins or so without needing to stretch out and lie down. A huge bruise on my back from my kidneys on round and the down the top of my arse cheeks developed. Being the idiot I am, I found myself getting a little bit better and a few weeks later I went on a stag. Was sore, but ok. Another few weeks later was feeling a bit of pain, about a month or 5 weeks after the fall. Decided I'd go to the doctor, for reassurance if nothing else.

Now I live in a back of beyond town in the arse end of nowhere about an hour outside Barcelona. Population a couple of thousand, max. We have our own little mini health centre with about 1.5 doctors and some nursing staff. It's a branch of a bigger centre in the nearest "big" town, population about 35,000. I decided I was going to go to doc late on a Tuesday night, so I used the public healthcare app to leave a note for reception to ask for an appointment. I got a call about 8.20 on the Wednesday morning asking what the story was and after telling her, had an appointment with the GP around 11.15. He did a few checks and figured I was largely fine and that pain and discomfort were all just deep tissue bruising and inflammation, but would need an x-ray to make sure no fracture in the coccyx. Booked me an x-ray that afternoon at the health centre (specifically not a hospital, like a massive GP but also has gynae care etc) in the equivalent of, I guess, a county town, population about 70-75,000 and a follow up for late on the Thursday morning to go over the results. Maybe a 20-25 minute drive from the house. Turned up on time, x-ray done, back home barely over an hour later. In for the results with the GP the next day, got the all clear, he prescribed some anti inflammatories and home I went.

So in the space of about 40 hours of having decided I wanted to see doctor, I'd seen my GP, had an x-ray, gone over the results, got my tablets and was back home with my feet up.

I have private health insurance through work, and pay for the rest of the family to be added to it. We almost never use it. Pregnancy and maternity care all through the public system.

Did you not have to pay €50 to the GP?   ;)
Post by: gallsman on January 10, 2024, 04:49:23 PM
Christ, I didn't even think about the costs in the south ffs.

Nah, the tablets on prescription set me back about €1.17 though. Bastards.
Post by: clarshack on January 10, 2024, 04:53:09 PM

It's 3 weeks to get the results of an x-ray in the North.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 10, 2024, 05:00:44 PM
It's not working at all. The thing that worries me more is things like having elderly parents and how it will impact them if something happens them. The after care etc is brutal.
Post by: trailer on January 10, 2024, 05:09:21 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 10, 2024, 05:00:44 PMIt's not working at all. The thing that worries me more is things like having elderly parents and how it will impact them if something happens them. The after care etc is brutal.

Massive problem getting people out of hospital. Lots of families won't look after their elderly relatives and unless there is a domiciliary care package in place health trusts can't get them out of hospital beds. That just backs the system up.
Lots of other issues as well but this is a key one.
Although my friend insists GPs are lazy bastards and are constantly moaning looking more money. He says he they are far too well paid. He works in the silly service with them.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 10, 2024, 05:12:15 PM
So that you actually go? So that you're doing the right stuff when you do go, you're lifting with correct form etc not going to wreck your back or something, also so you're improving week on week and noticing a positive change.

A PT isn't for everyone but if you can find someone who can get results in the area you want and they are reasonably priced then they are great investment. Agree though there are plenty of bluffers at it too.
Post by: bennydorano on January 10, 2024, 05:18:00 PM
Bureaucracy kills the NHS. Unless you work in the public sector you cannot understand some of the nonsense that goes on. Too many people protecting their own turf.

It'll be interesting to see if Sue Gray (ex senior civil service mandarin & now in the higher echelons of the UK Labour Party) will sort it out if Labour get in. The public sector does need reforming - but also properly financed.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 10, 2024, 06:35:14 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on January 10, 2024, 05:18:00 PMBureaucracy kills the NHS. Unless you work in the public sector you cannot understand some of the nonsense that goes on. Too many people protecting their own turf.

It'll be interesting to see if Sue Gray (ex senior civil service mandarin & now in the higher echelons of the UK Labour Party) will sort it out if Labour get in. The public sector does need reforming - but also properly financed.
The filling in of forms does my head in. Had the youngest in Craigavon a few months ago and I'd say we answered the same questions and had a form filled in by someone about 5 times in over the course of 24 hrs. Surely to goodness all this stuff could be filled in once and doctors have it all at their fingertips through a mobile device including their full medical history. The Unions play a large part in this - they'd rather paper is shuffled around and perpetuate inefficiency than modernise and potentially put admin jobs at risk. And nobody will ever sort it out and instead government after government will pour money into the leaky bucket.
Post by: JoG2 on January 10, 2024, 06:47:01 PM
Here's a goodin... Pack of paracetamol is about £1 if not less. These, along with dozens of other cheap medications are available for free on the NHS.
By the time it goes through a health centre, admin staff, GP, script printed, collected and gets sent out to the pharmacy of choice, that £1 costs the NHS (us) £58.
The system is broken beyond belief.
Great for acute issues, anything else, a disaster
Post by: LC on January 10, 2024, 06:47:42 PM
Quote from: tintin25 on January 10, 2024, 08:52:33 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 10, 2024, 08:44:53 AM

Nails
Weekly hair appointments
Boot camps
Pilate classes
Pampering weekends

I could go on

Don't forget the botox! Seeing plenty of women now with the joker smile.

Plenty of fitness videos on youtube that you can get for free - if you've a couple of kettlebells you're sorted and doesn't need to be more than a 20/25 min workout.

The small group training has really taken off at the minute, realistically if you're joining a gym like this then it's a min £100 for 3 sessions a week.

Years ago you might have only found clinics doing this on the Lisburn Road and such places, now a lot more common.
There is a clinic in the small town nearest me, the missus showed me the price list....wtf. 
Post by: Eire90 on January 10, 2024, 06:51:25 PM
probably better to go for a walk with just a t shirt on but people too scared to do that because someone might look of there window.
Post by: JoG2 on January 10, 2024, 06:53:01 PM
Getting arrested would prob be the bigger issue
Post by: manfromdelmonte on January 10, 2024, 07:06:22 PM
Currently paying €52 for the club yearly membership which includes access to a top class gym which is open once no teams are using it.
Post by: square_ball on January 10, 2024, 08:15:30 PM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on January 10, 2024, 07:06:22 PMCurrently paying €52 for the club yearly membership which includes access to a top class gym which is open once no teams are using it.

Some of the gym set ups that clubs have nowadays are superb.
Post by: tonto1888 on January 11, 2024, 06:58:53 AM
Quote from: clarshack on January 10, 2024, 04:53:09 PM

bust my knee in the summer. Went to A&E in craigavon. They sent me to minor injuries. Got an xray done there and they had the result in less than a half hour
Post by: general_lee on January 11, 2024, 08:25:33 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 11, 2024, 06:58:53 AM

bust my knee in the summer. Went to A&E in craigavon. They sent me to minor injuries. Got an xray done there and they had the result in less than a half hour
Just like the lottery, sometimes you get lucky!
Post by: clarshack on January 11, 2024, 08:36:10 AM

3 weeks for a possible bigger issue and if it is then an MRI scan is required which will be a year wait unless you can get on the emergency list.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 11, 2024, 09:14:29 AM
Took my daughter to A&E few years ago fell off her bike, waited a good bit x-ray done and the doctor told her a sprained wrist!

Which I said at the time all it was and we'd be wasting their and mine time going but hey ho..

The difference though is, if you are sent by your doctor for a scan and the like, it will be a while before that scan is fixed and then another while before you get contact from your GP on it...

People are not willing to wait that long anymore
Post by: tonto1888 on January 11, 2024, 09:26:39 AM
Quote from: general_lee on January 11, 2024, 08:25:33 AM

seems to be pretty standard with MIU
Post by: general_lee on January 11, 2024, 09:32:24 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on January 11, 2024, 09:26:39 AM
Quote from: general_lee on January 11, 2024, 08:25:33 AM

seems to be pretty standard with MIU
Was always told to go to south Tyrone to avoid a long wait
Post by: Keyser soze on January 11, 2024, 09:35:16 AM
Spain has a first class medical system, as have most countries in the developed world.

The UK has of course the "world leading" NHS.

The amount of shit we have been fed, and took at face value, listening to the BBC [and others] when we were growing up is mind boggling.
Post by: johnnycool on January 11, 2024, 03:17:26 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on January 10, 2024, 06:47:01 PMHere's a goodin... Pack of paracetamol is about £1 if not less. These, along with dozens of other cheap medications are available for free on the NHS.
By the time it goes through a health centre, admin staff, GP, script printed, collected and gets sent out to the pharmacy of choice, that £1 costs the NHS (us) £58.
The system is broken beyond belief.
Great for acute issues, anything else, a disaster

My Dad was put on paracetamol by the GP, but every once in a while we'd forget to drop in the repeat prescription for the clinic to process through the chemist, so I'd bought a box of the very same paracetamol over the counter, but get this, his carers weren't allowed to give him that paracetamol as it wasn't prescribed by the GP.
I shít you not.

If anyone thinks GP's are overpaid, why is there a shortage of them and the younger ones are taking off to the South and over to GB FFS.

You'd pay a plumber more than a Junior Doctor at the minute.

Post by: imtommygunn on January 11, 2024, 03:20:19 PM
They're not overpaid at all. How much public liability do they have to pay a year for example? They have a decent salary but a ton of expenses and a high pressure job.
Post by: Armagh18 on January 11, 2024, 03:25:51 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on January 11, 2024, 09:35:16 AMSpain has a first class medical system, as have most countries in the developed world.

The UK has of course the "world leading" NHS.

The amount of shit we have been fed, and took at face value, listening to the BBC [and others] when we were growing up is mind boggling.
I remember it being good years ago. Near a decade and a half of the fecking Tories will wreck anything.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 11, 2024, 08:18:17 PM

*ALWAYS* go to Dungannon Minor Injuries if it's within striking distance of you. You'll be out in 30 mins. But don't tell everyone in case it fills up.  ;)
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 11, 2024, 09:12:10 PM
Was out walking the dogs earlier there and bumped into friends, doing the same!

Anyways asking about the kids and so on, their daughter (and her boyfriend) both qualified doctors working in Brisbane, probably over 2 or 3 years now, so looking to come back for the summer, both have applied for various jobs, thinking that the possibility of getting back will be so much easier, but they've been told that the positions are over prescribed and they'll more than likely not get a job back in the UK..

I thought we couldn't get doctors? It's a strange one, considering what the media and governments have been saying