Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: The Gs Man on October 26, 2016, 11:29:30 AM

Title: Vatican - No more scattering of ashes
Post by: The Gs Man on October 26, 2016, 11:29:30 AM
So the Vatican have released new guidelines telling catholics they aren't allowed to scatter or hold ashes on anything other than Church approved holy ground?

Money making scheme in my opinion....
Title: Re: Vatican - No more scattering of ashes
Post by: MoChara on October 26, 2016, 12:33:08 PM
It's for your own good, because come the end of times and all our mortal remains are resurrected to be one with our spirit, god wouldn't know where to find ye.
Post by: Thy Kingdom Come on October 26, 2016, 12:39:16 PM
Do they still have a rule on Sex before Marriage?

How is that one fairing out?

Who is going to enforce this law?

We have not had a Parish Priest in the last 12 months!

Post by: seafoid on October 26, 2016, 01:45:32 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NPDxdsnnZnU
Post by: guy crouchback on October 26, 2016, 02:01:56 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u44D3qKKGPU
Post by: T Fearon on October 26, 2016, 05:52:51 PM
Quite right.One's mortal remains are the property of the Divine Creator and should not be disposed of in a disrespectful manner
Post by: Oraisteach on October 26, 2016, 06:38:49 PM
Just curious about cremation, then.  I know the church favors burial, but it doesn't outlaw cremation, so what should families do who opt for cremation. Should they vacuum the incinerator to guarantee that every last bit of dusty ash is saved? Or what if someone sneezes over the ashes, or there's a draft, and a few grains of the departed waft into the air? 
Post by: seafoid on October 26, 2016, 06:51:19 PM
It must be something to do with the main congregation in the developing world. Maybe to deter ancestor worship or something
Post by: armaghniac on October 26, 2016, 07:20:38 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on October 26, 2016, 06:38:49 PM
Just curious about cremation, then.  I know the church favors burial, but it doesn't outlaw cremation, so what should families do who opt for cremation. Should they vacuum the incinerator to guarantee that every last bit of dusty ash is saved? Or what if someone sneezes over the ashes, or there's a draft, and a few grains of the departed waft into the air?

There is always an idiotic post!
No doubt if you die in hospital while in surgery, they have to hoover up all the blood too.
Post by: Oraisteach on October 26, 2016, 07:33:44 PM
You pick mine, armaghniac, amid the torrent of Tonyisms! Wow, what an honor.  It's so hard to distinguish the serious from the satirical these days.
Post by: Orior on October 26, 2016, 07:36:47 PM
While my father was still alive, I asked him if he wanted buried or cremated. He said "surprise me"

This business of spreading ashes over your local football field or a fairway at your golf club. Do you like the idea of falling on your face and getting a lick of ashes?
Post by: armaghniac on October 26, 2016, 08:04:11 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on October 26, 2016, 07:33:44 PM
You pick mine, armaghniac, amid the torrent of Tonyisms! Wow, what an honor.  It's so hard to distinguish the serious from the satirical these days.

I can't be pointing out all the Tonyism's, I haven't time!
Post by: The Iceman on October 26, 2016, 09:02:55 PM
Try to think of it this way..would you take the dead body of your late mother and leave her in the back field? the new croke park (pardon the pun) It's all about treating the remains the way you would if it was the whole body.  We're slowly losing the old ways in Ireland. Regardless of your faith there was always utmost respect and support shown at wakes and funerals. Now there are viewing parlours and nobody shows up to the graveyard - changed times.
Here's what a quick google will show up for the lazy ones on cremation:

QuoteThus, while "cremation is now permitted, it does not enjoy the same value as burial of the body...The Church clearly prefers and urges that the body of the deceased be present for the funeral rites, since the presence of the human body better expresses the values which the Church affirms in its rites." (OCF 413) However, "when extraordinary circumstances make the cremation of a body the only feasible choice, pastoral sensitivity must be exercised by all who minister to the family of the deceased." (OCF 414)

The rites for burial of the cremated remains of a body may be found in the appendix to the Order of Christian Funerals. This appendix recommends that when cremation is chosen, the body be cremated after the Funeral, thus allowing for the presence of the body at the Funeral Mass. When pastoral circumstances require it, however, cremation and committal may take place even before the Funeral liturgy.

Any catechesis on the subject of cremation should emphasize that "the cremated remains of a body should be treated with the same respect given to the corporeal remains of a human body. This includes the use of a worthy vessel to contain the ashes, the manner in which they are carried, the care and attention to appropriate placement and transport, and the final disposition." (OCF 416)

While cremated remains may be buried in a grave, entombed in a mausoleum or columbarium or even buried at sea, "the practice of scattering cremated remains on the sea, from the air, or on the ground, or keeping cremated remains in the home of a relative or friend of the deceased are not the reverent disposition that the Church requires." (OCF 416) The cremated remains of the body may be properly buried at sea in the urn, coffin or other container in which they have been carried to the place of committal.
Post by: ONeill on October 26, 2016, 09:15:18 PM
Up to me balls in Bibi Baskin.
Post by: screenexile on October 26, 2016, 09:59:40 PM
Quote from: The Iceman on October 26, 2016, 09:02:55 PM
Try to think of it this way..would you take the dead body of your late mother and leave her in the back field? the new croke park (pardon the pun) It's all about treating the remains the way you would if it was the whole body.  We're slowly losing the old ways in Ireland. Regardless of your faith there was always utmost respect and support shown at wakes and funerals. Now there are viewing parlours and nobody shows up to the graveyard - changed times.

QuoteThus, while "cremation is now permitted, it does not enjoy the same value as burial of the body...The Church clearly prefers and urges that the body of the deceased be present for the funeral rites, since the presence of the human body better expresses the values which the Church affirms in its rites." (OCF 413) However, "when extraordinary circumstances make the cremation of a body the only feasible choice, pastoral sensitivity must be exercised by all who minister to the family of the deceased." (OCF 414)

The rites for burial of the cremated remains of a body may be found in the appendix to the Order of Christian Funerals. This appendix recommends that when cremation is chosen, the body be cremated after the Funeral, thus allowing for the presence of the body at the Funeral Mass. When pastoral circumstances require it, however, cremation and committal may take place even before the Funeral liturgy.

Any catechesis on the subject of cremation should emphasize that "the cremated remains of a body should be treated with the same respect given to the corporeal remains of a human body. This includes the use of a worthy vessel to contain the ashes, the manner in which they are carried, the care and attention to appropriate placement and transport, and the final disposition." (OCF 416)

While cremated remains may be buried in a grave, entombed in a mausoleum or columbarium or even buried at sea, "the practice of scattering cremated remains on the sea, from the air, or on the ground, or keeping cremated remains in the home of a relative or friend of the deceased are not the reverent disposition that the Church requires." (OCF 416) The cremated remains of the body may be properly buried at sea in the urn, coffin or other container in which they have been carried to the place of committal.

Is that such a terrible thing???
Post by: The Iceman on October 26, 2016, 10:44:06 PM
Moving away from wakes and respect and support at a difficult time? I would say so...
It's the difference between real relationships and facebook friends.. if that's preferable to you then good luck to you but it's not for me
Post by: ONeill on October 26, 2016, 10:48:44 PM
Wakes to me always felt like Facebook friends. Never set foot in the house....just nosiness.
Post by: seafoid on October 26, 2016, 11:03:17 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 26, 2016, 10:48:44 PM
Wakes to me always felt like Facebook friends. Never set foot in the house....just nosiness.
Wakes are ancient
Post by: seafoid on October 26, 2016, 11:05:03 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 26, 2016, 07:20:38 PM
Quote from: Oraisteach on October 26, 2016, 06:38:49 PM

There is always an idiotic post!
No doubt if you die in hospital while in surgery, they have to hoover up all the blood too.
In the Jewish religion there are teams who go to disasters and tragedies and collect all the body parts before sundown
Very thorough. Almost Protestant
Post by: seafoid on October 27, 2016, 08:15:48 AM
Quote from: ONeill on October 26, 2016, 09:15:18 PM
Up to me balls in Bibi Baskin.
up to me bollocks I think it was
Post by: haveaharp on October 27, 2016, 08:28:20 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 26, 2016, 09:59:40 PM

Is that such a terrible thing???

The old way was cremation on a pyre was it not ? I'm talking pre church
Post by: outinfront on October 27, 2016, 10:33:21 AM
Wasn't there something recently in the news regarding embalming, burial and severe environmental risk or something?

Post by: An Gaeilgoir on October 27, 2016, 11:26:07 AM

Ah the good old times, when the local priest and Guard ran the show...always for the good of the people  ::), never for control, power and wealth, let the church keep their noses out of people's business, such arrogance from the church to say, that scattering people's ashes, where they or their families want to is disrespectful. I though God was supposed to be everywhere, not just in the graveyard.

As for the traditions of burial, it is now very common in my part of the world, West Mayo, that the wake is held in the house and the body removed to the church the morning of the burial, which is a return to the old way of doing things.
Post by: muppet on October 27, 2016, 02:28:41 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 26, 2016, 07:36:47 PM
While my father was still alive, I asked him if he wanted buried or cremated. He said "surprise me"

This business of spreading ashes over your local football field or a fairway at your golf club. Do you like the idea of falling on your face and getting a lick of ashes?

;D ;D
Post by: stew on October 27, 2016, 03:44:24 PM
I don't give a shite about what they think, I am getting cremated and thats that.
Post by: The Iceman on October 27, 2016, 03:48:40 PM
Quote from: An Gaeilgoir on October 27, 2016, 11:26:07 AM

Ah the good old times, when the local priest and Guard ran the show...always for the good of the people  ::), never for control, power and wealth, let the church keep their noses out of people's business, such arrogance from the church to say, that scattering people's ashes, where they or their families want to is disrespectful. I though God was supposed to be everywhere, not just in the graveyard.

As for the traditions of burial, it is now very common in my part of the world, West Mayo, that the wake is held in the house and the body removed to the church the morning of the burial, which is a return to the old way of doing things.
you're reaching a bit there - I never mentioned priests or guards...I was simply commenting on the decline in recent years of wakes at home and funerals where people go to the graveyard afterwards.  I have certainly found it very comforting and I'm sure many have on here when many old friends and relations show up at both when a family member has passed on.

@stew nobody is saying you can't be cremated you just shouldnt be scattered around the place - but sure you're a prod now anyway what difference does it make to you :P
Post by: Shamrock Shore on October 27, 2016, 11:42:29 PM
When I die I want my remains scattered over the fine fields of Longford but buck the hate am I being cremated.
Post by: armaghniac on October 27, 2016, 11:56:43 PM
Quote from: stew on October 27, 2016, 03:44:24 PM
I don't give a shite about what they think, I am getting cremated and thats that.

Anyone who votes for Trump will certainly feel the flame after their passing.
Post by: Billys Boots on October 28, 2016, 12:14:20 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 27, 2016, 11:42:29 PM
When I die I want my remains scattered over the fine fields of Longford but buck the hate am I being cremated.

That can be organised ...
Post by: Hardy on October 28, 2016, 01:51:06 PM
There's bits of me scatttered over several football pitches in Meath already.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on October 28, 2016, 02:18:46 PM
I'd say you've scattered a few other fellas parts around various fields as well