Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Minder on October 02, 2016, 10:36:29 PM

Title: Ryder Cup thread ???
Post by: Minder on October 02, 2016, 10:36:29 PM
????
Title: Re: Ryder Cup thread ???
Post by: laoislad on October 02, 2016, 10:37:16 PM
I started it but I didn't delete it.
Post by: Orior on October 02, 2016, 10:37:29 PM
Quote from: Minder on October 02, 2016, 10:36:29 PM
????

Accident perhaps.
Post by: Asal Mor on October 02, 2016, 10:40:52 PM
The 7 British players all lost. The 5 non-British players all got something from their matches.
Post by: screenexile on October 02, 2016, 10:44:03 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on October 02, 2016, 10:40:52 PM
The 7 British players all lost. The 5 non-British players all got something from their matches.

McIlroy is Irish though???
Post by: Asal Mor on October 02, 2016, 10:50:38 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 02, 2016, 10:44:03 PM

I suppose he is but that doesn't really suit the point I was making.
Post by: lenny on October 02, 2016, 10:51:59 PM

Europe will have a better chance in the next one then without the brits. ;) Made for great tv today. Garcia and mickleson had some match, unbelievable finish. Reed and Mcilroy was a great game also. Clarke made a big mistake only giving sullivan, wood and fitzpatrick one game each before today. It's no surprise they lost today, the captain had indicated he had no confidence in them.
Post by: thewobbler on October 03, 2016, 08:58:08 AM
If you reckon Europe lost because of Clarke - instead of because the American team drained every putt they had to, and at least a dozen they had no right to - then you should take your copy of the Sun and go back to the toilet.

I'm no fan of Clarke, but 12 of the best players in the word just put on a show for the USA. The world rankings were very very right this time. Captaincy was irrelevant.
Post by: Asal Mor on October 03, 2016, 09:22:49 AM
It was a very high standard and the talent gap was always going to be too big if the Americans played to their potential.

Danny Willett's tweet a couple of hours ago.........

Very strange week here at the Ryder cup.. Tried my best but played poorly.. Unfortunately some american fans showed that @P_J_Willett was in fact correct.. Nothing to blame my bad play on.. But still shows that sometimes fans don't know when to call it a day.. Shame really!!
Post by: Bord na Mona man on October 03, 2016, 10:17:00 AM
Willett has just made himself the permanent successor to Monty with the American galleries.
He looked a beaten man from the very start of the tournament.

You can only blame Clarke so much. Bad decisions aside, the qualification left him with a few more light weights than he would have hoped.
Picking 12 Euros to take on the Americans and you'd still have Shane Lowry, Luke Donald and Russell Knox on it. I'll take the point on Lowry's recent form, but he can actually play and win on American courses.

Any hope of a comeback died when Westwood missed a gimme at the end of Saturday. 9-7 down would have been Oak Hill 1995 comeback territory. 9.5 to 6.5 required a near repeat of the 'Miracle of Medinah'. I'd imagine it killed the belief of the team.
Post by: screenexile on October 03, 2016, 10:52:34 AM
Jaysus it doesn't make good reading this morning... Rory and Rose giving out about the course being too easy when it was the same for both teams... Willett saying his brother was right, Rory giving out about fans drinking beer at 7.35am as if the Irish fans over there weren't the ones propping up the bar!!

All they have to say is "Americans were better than us... we'll be better in Paris" why do they need to keep complaining??
Post by: Walter Cronc on October 03, 2016, 10:55:48 AM
Thought the exact same! Quit complaining and move on.

I cant envisage the French golf public being overly hostile however in 2 years time.
Post by: Applesisapples on October 03, 2016, 04:47:21 PM
There is a culture amongst American sports fans that is an anathema to this side of the Atlantic, but you would here worse at any soccer match on a Saturday. McIlroy made a dick out of himself my confronting that other dick shouting abuse. His own behaviour in roaring and shouting, his bowing Rose's bowing were all fuel on the fire. Suck it up, the yanks had better players, Phil had a point to prove and the best team won. I'm not overly convinced that Clarke and Willet did not have a hand in the brothers tweets.
Post by: screenexile on October 03, 2016, 05:17:20 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on October 03, 2016, 04:47:21 PM
There is a culture amongst American sports fans that is an anathema to this side of the Atlantic, but you would here worse at any soccer match on a Saturday. McIlroy made a dick out of himself my confronting that other dick shouting abuse. His own behaviour in roaring and shouting, his bowing Rose's bowing were all fuel on the fire. Suck it up, the yanks had better players, Phil had a point to prove and the best team won. I'm not overly convinced that Clarke and Willet did not have a hand in the brothers tweets.

Nah there's no way they had a hand in that... what was there possibly to gain from it??
Post by: muppet on October 03, 2016, 07:17:01 PM

I blame Brexit.
Post by: laoislad on October 03, 2016, 08:29:18 PM
Quote from: screenexile on October 02, 2016, 10:44:03 PM

(http://m.quickmeme.com/img/ba/ba6587f1512986269e283b198778995aec39199e423f5b2ec053c83cdb402e29.jpg)
Post by: Applesisapples on October 04, 2016, 09:20:06 AM
Quote from: screenexile on October 03, 2016, 05:17:20 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on October 03, 2016, 04:47:21 PM

Nah there's no way they had a hand in that... what was there possibly to gain from it??
Wind up the fans even more
Post by: Applesisapples on October 04, 2016, 10:08:57 AM
The putting is interesting, I heard Harman say that Yanks struggle with the slower greens in Europe, maybe that was the reverse here?
Post by: No wides on October 04, 2016, 11:31:00 AM
I can see how the yanks could get passionate about their country but how can anyone get passionate about golf a continent!
Post by: laoislad on October 04, 2016, 11:42:47 AM
Quote from: Applesisapples on October 04, 2016, 10:08:57 AM
The putting is interesting, I heard Harman say that Yanks struggle with the slower greens in Europe, maybe that was the reverse here?
Harman is a knob though. He'll say any auld shite and contradict himself more times than T Fearon does.
Post by: Megaman on October 04, 2016, 11:50:25 AM
Quote from: No wides on October 04, 2016, 11:31:00 AM
I can see how the yanks could get passionate about their country but how can anyone get passionate about golf a continent!

cant understand it myself, i like more of the American players than europeans so always find myself wanting the americans to win, but in reality couldnt care less who wins
Post by: yellowcard on October 04, 2016, 11:55:37 AM

It's a bit like the Lions tour, you want to see the Irish players do well but other than that in all reality you couldn't really care less who wins it.
Post by: Orior on October 04, 2016, 12:24:46 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on October 04, 2016, 11:55:37 AM

It's a bit like the Lions tour, you want to see the Irish players do well but other than that in all reality you couldn't really care less who wins it.

The Lions tour is much worse. I want to see Ireland beat the New Zealand, but couldnt give two fiddlers about the Lions.

Having said that, the Ryder Cup pits a country against a continent, which does not sound fair, but is fair when you consider the World Rankings.
Post by: No wides on October 04, 2016, 12:41:18 PM
Quote from: Orior on October 04, 2016, 12:24:46 PM

The Lions tour is much worse. I want to see Ireland beat the New Zealand, but couldnt give two fiddlers about the Lions.

Having said that, the Ryder Cup pits a country against a continent, which does not sound fair, but is fair when you consider the World Rankings.

Why not just get the top 24 players in the world, alternate them into two teams and call them the invincible's and the majestic ones!  The competition would probably mean as much as this bag of shite.
Post by: Hardy on October 04, 2016, 02:00:53 PM
Quote from: Megaman on October 04, 2016, 11:50:25 AM

cant understand it myself, i like more of the American players than europeans so always find myself wanting the americans to win, but in reality couldnt care less who wins

You chose a side for your own reasons. It's all about our very strong innate inclination to tribalism. Swift lampooned it in Gulliver's Travels with his Big-endians and Little-endians.

Studies have been done where people were arbitrarily divided, for instance by giving one group, say a red flag and the other group a blue flag. Other than the flag colour, the group members had nothing obvious in common. They were then set in competition over some trivial subject under their newly assigned colours. In no time you had the groups at each others' throats.

Every two years I say I don't care about the Ryder Cup and it won't make an atom of difference to my life whoever wins. Then I find myself watching it and fist-pumping when a European millionaire sinks a putt to beat an American millionaire. It's irrational by definition - just pure instinct that's hard wired in us.

This year I didn't bother watching it. Heard the result. Didn't give a damn.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 04, 2016, 02:03:59 PM
Quote from: Hardy on October 04, 2016, 02:00:53 PM
Quote from: Megaman on October 04, 2016, 11:50:25 AM

You chose a side for your own reasons. It's all about our very strong innate inclination to tribalism. Swift lampooned it in Gulliver's Travels with his Big-endians and Little-endians.

Studies have been done where people were arbitrarily divided, for instance by giving one group, say a red flag and the other group a blue flag. Other than the flag colour, the group members had nothing obvious in common. They were then set in competition over some trivial subject under their newly assigned colours. In no time you had the groups at each others' throats.

Every two years I say I don't care about the Ryder Cup and it won't make an atom of difference to my life whoever wins. Then I find myself watching it and fist-pumping when a European millionaire sinks a putt to beat an American millionaire. It's irrational by definition - just pure instinct that's hard wired in us.

This year I didn't bother watching it. Heard the result. Didn't give a damn.
Agree with all of that. It's "us" v "them" and that's enough for me. The American fans make it easy.
Post by: Megaman on October 04, 2016, 02:10:11 PM
although i didnt really care who won, it was great viewing, the golf on show was incredible and i wouldn't miss it.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 04, 2016, 03:19:44 PM
was good viewing, regardless of whether you're into golf or not!! As for who wins well, as long as its a tight game I'm not bother... Hopefully I'll take some tips into my annual golf weekend (once a year i play) to Knightsbrook in Trim this weekend... Good course?
Post by: laoislad on October 04, 2016, 04:14:02 PM
Quote from: Megaman on October 04, 2016, 02:10:11 PM
although i didnt really care who won, it was great viewing, the golf on show was incredible and i wouldn't miss it.
It's brilliant entertainment. I wanted Europe to win but didn't lose any sleep over them losing.  Hard to beat Golf for sporting drama imo.
Post by: lurganblue on October 04, 2016, 04:14:26 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 04, 2016, 03:19:44 PM
was good viewing, regardless of whether you're into golf or not!! As for who wins well, as long as its a tight game I'm not bother... Hopefully I'll take some tips into my annual golf weekend (once a year i play) to Knightsbrook in Trim this weekend... Good course?

just played two rounds of it two weekends ago on my annual weekend away (i play a similar amount to yourself and mainly go for the porter).  That was my 1st time playing that course and i was well impressed. great course, but i found it very long and therefore difficult.
Post by: No wides on October 04, 2016, 04:29:54 PM
Quote from: laoislad on October 04, 2016, 04:14:02 PM
Quote from: Megaman on October 04, 2016, 02:10:11 PM
It's brilliant entertainment. I wanted Europe to win but didn't lose any sleep over them losing.  Hard to beat Golf for sporting drama imo.

Even better than your home club Liverpool.  ;)
Post by: Applesisapples on October 04, 2016, 04:45:15 PM
As someone else said I find it hard to support a European team, the fact that there were no Irish Golfers just made it easier to support the yanks as I like the way Phil, Reed and Speith play.
Post by: dec on October 04, 2016, 04:51:15 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on October 04, 2016, 04:45:15 PM
As someone else said I find it hard to support a European team, the fact that there were no Irish Golfers just made it easier to support the yanks as I like the way Phil, Reed and Speith play.

Top trolling.
Post by: stew on October 05, 2016, 06:13:33 PM
Quote from: No wides on October 04, 2016, 12:41:18 PM

Why not just get the top 24 players in the world, alternate them into two teams and call them the invincible's and the majestic ones!  The competition would probably mean as much as this bag of shite.

What planet are you living on?

The yanks put on a masterclass on Sunday on the art of putting, Garcia v Michelson was incredible,theatre and one of the best singles matches of all time, the players live it, the fans love,,it, the sponsors love it but you think of the Ryder Cup is a load of shite!

You must hate golf if you watched this tournament and were not in awe of the incredible play on offer
Post by: No wides on October 05, 2016, 07:00:32 PM
Who said I watched it. I would rather watch piss trickle down a hill
Post by: Orior on October 05, 2016, 08:00:24 PM
Quote from: stew on October 05, 2016, 06:13:33 PM
Quote from: No wides on October 04, 2016, 12:41:18 PM

What planet are you living on?

The yanks put on a masterclass on Sunday on the art of putting, Garcia v Michelson was incredible,theatre and one of the best singles matches of all time, the players live it, the fans love,,it, the sponsors love it but you think of the Ryder Cup is a load of shite!

You must hate golf if you watched this tournament and were not in awe of the incredible play on offer

I watched it end to end. The USA had some very lucky long putts.

By the way, who were the Ryder Cup sponsors?
Post by: Applesisapples on October 06, 2016, 08:20:45 AM
Quote from: dec on October 04, 2016, 04:51:15 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on October 04, 2016, 04:45:15 PM

Top trolling.
Not trolling, McIlroy has said as much and choose to use that Ulster rag beloved of all our loyal British subjects in the North.
Post by: Mikhailov on October 06, 2016, 08:35:31 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on October 04, 2016, 04:14:26 PM

just played two rounds of it two weekends ago on my annual weekend away (i play a similar amount to yourself and mainly go for the porter).  That was my 1st time playing that course and i was well impressed. great course, but i found it very long and therefore difficult.

very decent course but will play very long in this weather. Last time I played it 6 months ago it was in great condition, fairways and greens very good. Overall a good test of golf with many enjoyable holes. Holes 2, 5, 8, 13, 14, 17 stand out but it is all about your own opinion as to what testifies as a good hole. enjoy it
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2016, 12:26:25 PM
Quote from: Mikhailov on October 06, 2016, 08:35:31 AM

very decent course but will play very long in this weather. Last time I played it 6 months ago it was in great condition, fairways and greens very good. Overall a good test of golf with many enjoyable holes. Holes 2, 5, 8, 13, 14, 17 stand out but it is all about your own opinion as to what testifies as a good hole. enjoy it

Was a cracking day of golf ! Course was superb I managed to one put the first 6 holes and the last 8!! The ball just went in and our team came in one under par to get second place! But Christ my other parts of the game is crap, golf is a difficult sport to be consistent, I wouldn't mind giving it a go but flip it takes up a lot of time!
Post by: Two Hands FFS on October 08, 2016, 01:32:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2016, 12:26:25 PM

Was a cracking day of golf ! Course was superb I managed to one put the first 6 holes and the last 8!! The ball just went in and our team came in one under par to get second place! But Christ my other parts of the game is crap, golf is a difficult sport to be consistent, I wouldn't mind giving it a go but flip it takes up a lot of time!
Lee Westwood could do with giving you a shout
Post by: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2016, 04:35:08 PM
Quote from: Two Hands FFS on October 08, 2016, 01:32:32 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on October 08, 2016, 12:26:25 PM

Lee Westwood could do with giving you a shout

Approach play was embarrassing!! Main reason I don't play