Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 09:29:18 AM

Title: Sober for October!
Post by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 09:29:18 AM
Anyone else doing it, a great way of helping yourself as well as raising money for a great cause.

https://www.gosober.org.uk/ (https://www.gosober.org.uk/)
Title: Re: Sober for October!
Post by: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 09:34:23 AM
Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 09:29:18 AM
Anyone else doing it, a great way of helping yourself as well as raising money for a great cause.

Not unless you translate it into a long term change of lifestyle.

Anyone who thinks not drinking for a month is an achievement needs a boot up the hole and to seriously re-evaluate their relationship with alcohol.
Post by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 09:43:24 AM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 09:34:23 AM

Anyone who thinks not drinking for a month is an achievement needs a boot up the hole and to seriously re-evaluate their relationship with alcohol.

If one drank 7 nights a week, I would agree but I am sure like a lot on here I have a few bevvies at the weekend, surely to go without for 4 or 5 weeks is a good thing, but don't let your sanctimonious attitude distract from a good campaign to raise money and give one's body a month of alcohol.   

I'd say your comments say more about your own experiences with alcohol.
Post by: maddog on September 27, 2016, 09:49:15 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4EjX_bywCU
Post by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 09:52:04 AM
Quote from: maddog on September 27, 2016, 09:49:15 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o4EjX_bywCU

Classic.   ;D ;D
Post by: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 09:58:19 AM
Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 09:43:24 AM

If one drank 7 nights a week, I would agree but I am sure like a lot on here I have a few bevvies at the weekend, surely to go without for 4 or 5 weeks is a good thing, but don't let your sanctimonious attitude distract from a good campaign to raise money and give one's body a month of alcohol.   

No. In the long run, it will literally do you no good whatsoever. Nothing sanctimonious about my attitude whatsoever. If not drinking for a few weeks is a challenge or a struggle, then you have a drinking problem.
Post by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 10:09:10 AM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 09:58:19 AM
Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 09:43:24 AM

No. In the long run, it will literally do you no good whatsoever. Nothing sanctimonious about my attitude whatsoever. If not drinking for a few weeks is a challenge or a struggle, then you have a drinking problem.

No one said it would be - it is a marketing campaign to raise funds for a good cause and to incentivize people to quit alcohol for a month, your attitude suggests that you have deeper problems with alcohol either directly or indirectly, I would also disagree and suggest that anyone who drinks in whatever moderation would benefit from quitting for a month, it is no different than going off drink for lent, I suppose all those people have a drinking problem as well?
Post by: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 10:13:34 AM
You're now contradicting yourself.

I never said everyone who does sober October or goes off it for Lent has a drinking problem. I said anyone who thinks this an achievement or finds it a challenge does.
Post by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 10:18:02 AM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 10:13:34 AM

I never said everyone who does sober October or goes off it for Lent has a drinking problem. I said anyone who thinks this an achievement or finds it a challenge does.

I think you will find you are winding your neck in now, who said it would be an achievement?  You jumped up on your sanctimonious high horse form your first post, you obviously only know the reasons why.
Post by: maddog on September 27, 2016, 11:07:21 AM

I have a drink problem then. I go off it every November and usually in January again. I find it hard sitting in the house on a Saturday night with the feckin X factor on when i could be off down the local having the craic with the lads. Does anyone else think the further north you go in Ireland the more puritanical folk are when it comes to drink ?
Post by: armaghniac on September 27, 2016, 11:12:52 AM
Quote from: maddog on September 27, 2016, 11:07:21 AM
I find it hard sitting in the house on a Saturday night with the feckin X factor on when i could be off down the local having the craic with the lads. Does anyone else think the further north you go in Ireland the more puritanical folk are when it comes to drink ?

Arguably if you cannot go out and socialise and have the craic without alcohol then perhaps Gallsman has a point.
Post by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 11:19:31 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 27, 2016, 11:12:52 AM
I find it hard sitting in the house on a Saturday night with the feckin X factor on when i could be off down the local having the craic with the lads. Does anyone else think the further north you go in Ireland the more puritanical folk are when it comes to drink ?

Arguably if you cannot go out and socialise and have the craic without alcohol then perhaps Gallsman has a point.

I doubt that is what maddog said, he specifically mentioned going to the local for the craic, that implies he is going to the pub for a pint, I am sure when he is socialising on the bike or in other life situations he isn't pinting, I think though you have just proved maddogs point!
Post by: maddog on September 27, 2016, 11:19:39 AM

who says i couldn't ? The reality is you would be laughed out of the place.
Post by: Rossfan on September 27, 2016, 11:22:59 AM
anyone else think the further north you go in Ireland the more puritanical folk are  ?

Yes, if you exclude Donegal. :D
Post by: stephenite on September 27, 2016, 11:23:58 AM

That Whiskey thread you started is up to 7 pages
Post by: general_lee on September 27, 2016, 11:29:38 AM
The "I don't need alcohol to enjoy myself" brigade are in fine voice. Going a month without alcohol is a doddle. Going months on end is as well (for me anyway) going out socialising and being the only sponge not drinking is not always that enjoyable and if you've an active social life and are a bit of a man about town then yes I would say sober October is an achievement.

If someone truly has an alcohol problem, going one day, never mind a month, without a drink is an achievement. Some prats on here
Post by: muppet on September 27, 2016, 11:30:20 AM
All-Ireland Final Replay is on the 1st Oct.

Can you pick another month?
Post by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 11:31:48 AM
Quote from: stephenite on September 27, 2016, 11:23:58 AM

Brillant http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=25329.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=25329.0) sounds like gallsmans only problem is two hands one mouth.  ;)
Post by: JoG2 on September 27, 2016, 11:32:39 AM
Quote from: muppet on September 27, 2016, 11:30:20 AM
All-Ireland Final Replay is on the 1st Oct.

Can you pick another month?

was thinking the very same !

goingsoberonthe2ndofoctober.com

Post by: maddog on September 27, 2016, 11:35:24 AM
November looks handy enough. The 1st is a tuesday so get the last gallon with the Monday club and the 30th is a Wednesday so can break out on the thursday night. ;) sorted
Post by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 11:35:46 AM
Quote from: general_lee on September 27, 2016, 11:29:38 AM
The "I don't need alcohol to enjoy myself" brigade are in fine voice. Going a month without alcohol is a doddle. Going months on end is as well (for me anyway) going out socialising and being the only sponge not drinking is not always that enjoyable and if you've an active social life and are a bit of a man about town then yes I would say sober October is an achievement.

If someone truly has an alcohol problem, going one day, never mind a month, without a drink is an achievement. Some prats on here

As much as I started this in a jovial way and to mention the great cause it is supporting, that is a very valid and real point.
Post by: laoislad on September 27, 2016, 11:41:10 AM
Quote from: maddog on September 27, 2016, 11:19:39 AM

who says i couldn't ? The reality is you would be laughed out of the place.
They sound like a lovely bunch of people.
Post by: general_lee on September 27, 2016, 11:43:19 AM
Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 11:35:46 AM
Quote from: general_lee on September 27, 2016, 11:29:38 AM

As much as I started this in a jovial way and to mention the great cause it is supporting, that is a very valid and real point.
Wasn't aimed at you. Few boys getting high and mighty over what is quite a good cause
Post by: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 11:57:51 AM
Quote from: general_lee on September 27, 2016, 11:43:19 AM
Wasn't aimed at you. Few boys getting high and mighty over what is quite a good cause

Who is getting high and mighty? Nobody has disputed that it isn't in aid of a good cause. Nobody has even specifically addressed the "Sober October" campaign since the first post. What instead is being discussed is people's relationship with alcohol. Try to keep up and understand what's going on before you accuse people of things. Few boys getting worked up because they apparently can't read.

Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 11:31:48 AM

Brillant http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=25329.0 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=25329.0) sounds like gallsmans only problem is two hands one mouth.  ;)

I'm delighted that it went seven pages. Some great recommendations for whiskey off the back of it. However I fail to see the relevance of the fact that I occasionally drink and enjoy whiskey to my ability to assert that anyone who can't go a few weeks off the drink without suffering has an issue with alcohol. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm not sure I ever claimed to be teetotal. Even if I did (I didn't), I certainly wouldn't claim that this in any way made me better or superior.
Post by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 12:08:36 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 11:57:51 AM
Quote from: general_lee on September 27, 2016, 11:43:19 AM

Who is getting high and mighty? Nobody has disputed that it isn't in aid of a good cause. Nobody has even specifically addressed the "Sober October" campaign since the first post. What instead is being discussed is people's relationship with alcohol. Try to keep up and understand what's going on before you accuse people of things. Few boys getting worked up because they apparently can't read.

Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 11:31:48 AM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 09:34:23 AMThat Whiskey thread you started is up to 7 pages

I'm delighted that it went seven pages. Some great recommendations for whiskey off the back of it. However I fail to see the relevance of the fact that I occasionally drink and enjoy whiskey to my ability to assert that anyone who can't go a few weeks off the drink without suffering has an issue with alcohol. Correct me if I'm wrong, but I'm not sure I ever claimed to be teetotal. Even if I did (I didn't), I certainly wouldn't claim that this in any way made me better or superior.

Your first post made that assertion when you make all sorts of conclusions in your head and climbed on your moral high horse to berate anyone who might try to give up alcohol for a period of time to raise money for a good cause.  And it most certainly was a sanctimonious statement you were making.

Post by: Rois on September 27, 2016, 12:09:44 PM

That might be me then - I would actually find it a challenge as I generally reward myself with a glass or two of wine on a Friday or Saturday night (sometimes both - eek!), and it would be like going off chocolate or crisps to go off wine.  My body doesn't need it and I don't sit and get sloshed in the house, but I do see it as a treat and to deny myself will be challenging.
Plus if I don't drink when I'm out socially, everyone will ask if I'm pregnant.
Post by: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 12:10:45 PM
Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 12:08:36 PMYour first post made that assertion when you make all sorts of conclusions in your head and climbed on your moral high horse to berate anyone who might try to give up alcohol for a period of time to raise money for a good cause.

No, it didn't. It merely made a comment about whether giving up alcohol for four weeks is in any way an achievement. It didn't mention "the good cause" at all.
Post by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 12:19:39 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 12:10:45 PM
Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 12:08:36 PMYour first post made that assertion when you make all sorts of conclusions in your head and climbed on your moral high horse to berate anyone who might try to give up alcohol for a period of time to raise money for a good cause.

No, it didn't. It merely made a comment about whether giving up alcohol for four weeks is in any way an achievement. It didn't mention "the good cause" at all.

It was the second post on this thread - who said it was an achievement at that stage, you obviously just thought your were being a wise guy coming out with sanctimonious drivel, as I mentioned you obviously have an issue with your relationship with alcohol, I doubt if it was give up sugar for a month or cake, or do 10 minutes exercise a day you would have come out with such putrid drivel.
Post by: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 12:22:55 PM
Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 12:19:39 PM

It was the second post on this thread - who said it was an achievement at that stage, you obviously just thought your were being a wise guy coming out with sanctimonious drivel, as I mentioned you obviously have an issue with your relationship with alcohol, I doubt if it was give up sugar for a month or cake, or do 10 minutes exercise a day you would have come out with such putrid drivel.

Now you're just spouting utter gibberish.

Sanctimonious? I'd look up the meaning of the word before I level that accusation if I were you.
Post by: No wides on September 27, 2016, 01:01:59 PM
You were called out for trying to be a dick end off.
Post by: Franko on September 27, 2016, 01:38:36 PM
Some lads stupidly confuse 'need' with 'like', especially where booze is concerned.  Some people like a beer or on a Saturday/Friday/Tuesday... night.  It just might be difficult to give it up for 4 weeks in a row.  Nothing to do with a 'need' for alcohol, just because that's what they like to do.  Some people like going to the gym on a Saturday morning.  Have they got a problem if they found that difficult to give up for a month?  I'm sorry gallsman, but your post is a load of shoite.
Post by: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 02:24:29 PM
Yes, some people do confuse "need" with "like", hence I specifically referred to people who struggle to do it or find it a challenge. So no, my post isn't a load of "shoite". Ironically, your post attempting to draw an equivalence with going to the gym is.
Post by: stew on September 27, 2016, 02:33:20 PM
Quote from: No wides on September 27, 2016, 12:19:39 PM

The man loves himself and is an arrogant human being, if you took the time to read his posts on here there is a thread of sanctimonious superiority to them, don't bother to read them,they are not worth reading generally.

I love stout, I am not going to drink during October, if I do it will be my last because if I can't do without for a month I have an issue with alcohol and I do not need that.
Post by: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 02:35:53 PM
Quote from: stew on September 27, 2016, 02:33:20 PM
I love stout

Claimed to me you didn't drink at all.
Post by: thebuzz on September 27, 2016, 02:50:33 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 02:24:29 PM
Yes, some people do confuse "need" with "like", hence I specifically referred to people who struggle to do it or find it a challenge. So no, my post isn't a load of "shoite". Ironically, your post attempting to draw an equivalence with going to the gym is.

I don't get involved much in these things gallsman but it would appear that you tend to court controversy. How come everyone in these three pages has issue with your stance?
Post by: The Iceman on September 27, 2016, 02:59:40 PM
just reading back over the thread and it speaks to a culture that revolves around alcohol.... It's an Irish and UK think - the soaps revolve around a pub, the craic with the lads can only be had in the pub and you have to be drinking or you're a sponge or pregnant and we can't be having that...
I would imagine gallsman you were moving away from this kind of lifestyle when you lived at home and now even more so since you moved away?

I'll agree that the cause is a good one if you raise awareness and take money away from the pubs and off licenses and get it to someone who needs it.  But I'll agree with gallsman if its a struggle to go without then there is the beginnings of a problem
Post by: ONeill on September 27, 2016, 03:03:01 PM
Few boys here need to drink more.
Post by: maddog on September 27, 2016, 03:09:08 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 02:35:53 PM
I love stout

Thats maybe after Diz carried him out of the harps club. These things happen.
Post by: trueblue1234 on September 27, 2016, 03:10:38 PM
I don't think anyone actually considers it a real "Struggle" in the true sense of the word. It's just a gimmicky way to raise awareness and to raise some money, not much different from the Ice bucket challenge (Or what was that other one that you had to pledge money to??). I don't think anyone that does it is actually sitting there thinking how hard it is? Because the reality is that there's nothing wrong with going to the pub every Saturday for a couple of drinks, so cutting it out is no big deal.   
Post by: Franko on September 27, 2016, 03:18:05 PM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 02:24:29 PM

Some people might find it a challenge to give up things they like doing for a month.  That's the equivalence and that's the end of it.  Anything else relating to alcoholism is hyperbole.
Post by: Nigel White on September 27, 2016, 06:39:45 PM

Nice one. A few months ago you got on your sanctimonious high horse over the tone of a comment I made on the Euro rate thread, now you post this!
Post by: STREET FIGHTER on September 27, 2016, 06:53:44 PM
Quote from: ONeill on September 27, 2016, 03:03:01 PM

This man is right.....can we not settle this over a drink?
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 27, 2016, 09:35:44 PM
Some of us can't.
Post by: cuconnacht on September 27, 2016, 09:49:43 PM
Quote from: STREET FIGHTER on September 27, 2016, 06:53:44 PM

This man is right.....can we not settle this over a drink?
Theres only one place to settle this
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11174.msg1598341#msg1598341 (http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11174.msg1598341#msg1598341)
Post by: Asal Mor on September 27, 2016, 10:10:13 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 27, 2016, 09:35:44 PM
Some of us can't.
Pregnant?
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 27, 2016, 10:13:09 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on September 27, 2016, 10:10:13 PM
Some of us can't.
Pregnant?
Ha! Nope, not for me. I have epilepsy. Sometimes I do miss drinking. However, I am getting on rightly without it. And it does annoy me having to tell everyone my condition, when anyone asks me why.
Post by: Asal Mor on September 27, 2016, 10:15:53 PM
It is unhealthy that people feel(maybe rightly) that they'll be gossiped about or laughed at if they go to their local without drinking.
Post by: Asal Mor on September 27, 2016, 10:20:48 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 27, 2016, 10:13:09 PM
Some of us can't.
Pregnant?
Ha! Nope, not for me. I have epilepsy. Sometimes I do miss drinking. However, I am getting on rightly without it. And it does annoy me having to tell everyone my condition, when anyone asks me why.
I guess that would mean zero alcohol then Farr. I often miss it when I'm off it(which is most of the time), then I go back for a few and find I was missing nothing really.
Had a few at the weekend and definitely felt dumber at work yesterday. If it had been busy I'd have been in trouble.
Post by: Nigel White on September 27, 2016, 10:25:33 PM
The bottom line is that for the vast majority of us, giving up drink is no big deal. The problem is that when you give it up, and your drinking partners don't, you start to become conscious of how loud they become and how daft they get, as the night goes on and that's what the barrier to giving up alcohol really is
Post by: Farrandeelin on September 27, 2016, 10:27:48 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on September 27, 2016, 10:20:48 PM
Some of us can't.
Pregnant?
I guess that would mean zero alcohol then Farr. I often miss it when I'm off it(which is most of the time), then I go back for a few and find I was missing nothing really.
Had a few at the weekend and definitely felt dumber at work yesterday. If it had been busy I'd have been in trouble.
Zero alcohol is right. I know I'm not missing out on anything but seldom enough when I do go out, being surrounded by drunks kinda makes me wish I could join in the 'fun'. If you all know what I mean.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 27, 2016, 10:41:36 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 27, 2016, 10:27:48 PM
Some of us can't.
Pregnant?
Zero alcohol is right. I know I'm not missing out on anything but seldom enough when I do go out, being surrounded by drunks kinda makes me wish I could join in the 'fun'. If you all know what I mean.
If I'm driving I enjoy the night more if I take non-alcoholic beer. If you get a decent one like Erdinger blue you still feel like you're having a few and not missing out.
Post by: Hotrocks on September 27, 2016, 11:16:32 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 27, 2016, 10:41:36 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on September 27, 2016, 10:27:48 PM
Some of us can't.
Pregnant?
If I'm driving I enjoy the night more if I take non-alcoholic beer. If you get a decent one like Erdinger blue you still feel like you're having a few and not missing out.

Is that gear any good for horsing the big heavy one out the back?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 28, 2016, 11:43:21 AM
Why not give money to the charity and drink responsibly ? I'll do neither
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on October 01, 2016, 12:26:03 AM
I tried slober in October, but I think I didn't achieve it. Never mind, their is allways next year.
Post by: armaghniac on October 01, 2016, 12:51:29 AM
Quote from: Champion The Wonder Horse on October 01, 2016, 12:26:03 AM
I tried slober in October, but I think I didn't achieve it. Never mind, their is allways next year.

If you go to the US it isn't October yet.
Post by: Nigel White on October 01, 2016, 07:52:53 PM
This is easy, no bother at all.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on October 01, 2016, 08:42:35 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on October 01, 2016, 07:52:53 PM
This is easy, no bother at all.

Not for me, it isn't. Pished again.
Post by: Nigel White on October 01, 2016, 09:22:23 PM
I think it's starting to kick in now Ted
Post by: stew on October 02, 2016, 10:56:34 AM
Quote from: gallsman on September 27, 2016, 02:35:53 PM
I love stout

I never took a drink for nearly five years and am thinking about going off it again for good, three thirty for a pint is a good reason to do so in my opinion!

I am trying to get for, I was speaking to bennydorano last week and he is 100 percent right in what he said, ' the drink and the bike don't mix stew'

For me it is simple, I want to be healthier, I want to go on foreign holidays with my mates, I can easily afford that if I quit drinking beer.

You are a sanctimonious git talisman, you really, really are.

Post by: Nigel White on October 08, 2016, 11:54:55 AM
Wife has suggested going to cinema as I'm off the drink. Strongly thinking of going back on it. The thoughts of watching a film whilst listening to dozens of others eating popcorn and rustling plastic crisp and sweet bags would drive me to drink
Post by: Asal Mor on October 08, 2016, 02:21:39 PM
Heard this one is hilarious...
(http://womensvoicesforchange.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Bridget-Jones-online-image1.jpg)
Post by: Nigel White on October 08, 2016, 06:50:59 PM
Hoping to catch The Passion of St Tibulus
Post by: Nigel White on October 08, 2016, 08:41:16 PM
There's a greedy cnut just after walking into cinema with a gallon carton of coke a hundredweight of popcorn and a 3 pint carton of ice cream. The film is 2 hours long But he'll still have his work cut out to get that guzzled before it's over
Post by: Mickey Linden on October 08, 2016, 09:06:27 PM
Quote from: Nigel White on October 08, 2016, 08:41:16 PM
There's a greedy cnut just after walking into cinema with a gallon carton of coke a hundredweight of popcorn and a 3 pint carton of ice cream. The film is 2 hours long But he'll still have his work cut out to get that guzzled before it's over
[/quote
What is it ur watching? Must be a thriller?
Post by: Nigel White on October 08, 2016, 10:46:14 PM
Anthropoid. It was very good actually. Where Eagles Dare with reality
Post by: ziggy90 on October 09, 2016, 09:39:42 AM
Quote from: Nigel White on October 08, 2016, 10:46:14 PM
Anthropoid. It was very good actually. Where Eagles Dare with reality

Great story. I read Hhh by Laurent Binet and have also seen Operation Daybreak a previous dramatisation of Heydrich's assassination.
I very seldom go to the pictures and was wondering if this is a film worth going to see or shall I wait for the dvd?
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 09, 2016, 09:57:17 AM
How did Movie Recommendations get into Sober for October?!

Ziggy as a rule I try to get to the cinema for "spectacular" films where you need the big screen to appreciate it. I would presume something like this would be fine at home.
Post by: ziggy90 on October 10, 2016, 10:28:01 AM
That's what I was thinking Tony, cheers.
Post by: No wides on October 10, 2016, 03:54:41 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 09, 2016, 09:57:17 AM
How did Movie Recommendations get into Sober for October?!

Ziggy as a rule I try to get to the cinema for "spectacular" films where you need the big screen to appreciate it. I would presume something like this would be fine at home.

Not much else to do lol - we are heading to see the girl on the train.