Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on July 25, 2016, 10:05:54 PM

Title: Things you should experience in Ireland while you're alive?
Post by: BennyCake on July 25, 2016, 10:05:54 PM
Ok, trying to get into holiday mode and thought I'd see if there's anything in Ireland I could/need/should do or experience.

I've done a few things on my list in recent years (climbed Croagh Patrick, visited Dun Aonghusa on Inishmore, seen Fungi in Dingle etc).

What would you recommend seeing/experiencing in Ireland at least once in your life?
Title: Re: Things you should experience in Ireland while you're alive?
Post by: AZOffaly on July 25, 2016, 10:08:08 PM
Skelligs? Aran Islands?
Post by: laoislad on July 25, 2016, 10:37:11 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 25, 2016, 10:31:04 PM
Can this include chippies and stuff?
Beshoffs in Howth is hard to bate.
Post by: BennyCake on July 25, 2016, 10:37:45 PM
Quote from: hardstation on July 25, 2016, 10:31:04 PM
Can this include chippies and stuff?

Aye, can do.
Post by: Aaron Boone on July 25, 2016, 10:40:17 PM
The North-West 200.
Post by: An Watcher on July 25, 2016, 10:42:10 PM
Never been to Slieve Leage (apologies for the spelling) in donegal but meant to be very impressive.  Much more than the cliffs of moher
Post by: omaghjoe on July 25, 2016, 10:43:48 PM
Sphinx...wan an chep
Post by: Rois on July 25, 2016, 10:46:12 PM
Surfing in the Atlantic - Rossnowlagh/Bundoran/strandhill.

Spend a night or two in the Gaeltacht.

Canoe or boat along Shannon/Erne Waterway.
Post by: T Fearon on July 25, 2016, 10:51:21 PM
The Healy -Raes?
Post by: seafoid on July 25, 2016, 11:30:36 PM
De Munster hurling final
An Ulster final in Clones
A Comhaltas session
Galway races
the Gaeltacht
Watch a Man Utd match in a pub in Dublin
a rugby international
A night in Co Longford
Cuil Aodha
a gloaming concert
Clonmacnoise and a pint afterwards in that pub in Shannon bridge
Read Woodbrook in Carrick on Shannon
Get Mairtin O Direain on MP3
Autumn journal by Louis Mac Neice
Portadown
A weekend in Down football country
Ballymaloe House
Haunted Ireland
The Carolan album by Derek Bell
Glendalough
Go to a catholic mass and listen to the words

Post by: Rossfan on July 25, 2016, 11:35:41 PM
Trying to leave a Roscommon pub at official closing time
Post by: trileacman on July 25, 2016, 11:37:06 PM
A Potato famine
Collapse of the banking sector
A league of Ireland match
Post by: 02 on July 25, 2016, 11:51:23 PM
In the same vein:
20 years of shite talk by Tony Fearon
Post by: No wides on July 26, 2016, 08:32:50 AM
Is there a separate thread for things to do when you are dead?
Post by: ballinaman on July 26, 2016, 08:40:45 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 25, 2016, 11:35:41 PM
Trying to leave Roscommon pub at official closing time
Post by: Gold on July 26, 2016, 09:09:22 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 25, 2016, 11:30:36 PM
De Munster hurling final
A Comhaltas session
Galway races
the Gaeltacht
a rugby international
A night in Co Longford
Cuil Aodha
a gloaming concert
Portadown
Ballymaloe House
Haunted Ireland
Glendalough

See 2009 (before the match started)...heaven.
Clones absolutely packed, the Sun beating down. Atmosphere electric. More Antrim supporters than Tyrone. Noise unreal
Unfortunately we were about 10 points down in 10 minutes!
So many potential supporters in our county who will follow with a bit of success (and sadly disappear just a quick). But the atmosphere that day was electric
Enough people to nearly even rival the Dubs supporters if we ever fcekin got it right.
So yes I'd recommend the Ulster Final in Clones in 20 years when Antrim next get there!

Ring of Kerry is a sight to behold as is the Antrim Coast Road to be fair
Post by: AZOffaly on July 26, 2016, 09:19:09 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 25, 2016, 11:30:36 PM
De Munster hurling final
A Comhaltas session
Galway races
the Gaeltacht
a rugby international
A night in Co Longford
Cuil Aodha
a gloaming concert
Portadown
Ballymaloe House
Haunted Ireland
Glendalough

Killeens? The pub with the shop?
Post by: The Subbie on July 26, 2016, 10:19:58 AM
Grafton Street on a sunny day. ;)

Arran Mhor for a weekend on the piss.

Post by: ziggy90 on July 26, 2016, 10:24:01 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on July 25, 2016, 11:35:41 PM
Trying to leave a Roscommon pub at official closing time

Post by: MoChara on July 26, 2016, 10:26:44 AM
Father Ted Fest is high up on my list currently, I've missed this year but hopefully next.
Post by: ONeill on July 26, 2016, 10:31:08 AM
Inhaling midges on a bicycle along the Lough Neagh shore.

The midges aren't on the bicycle. You are.
Post by: FL/MAYO on July 26, 2016, 11:41:11 AM
I climbed Diamond Hill in Connemara (Letterfrack) last Monday. I highly recommend it. My 5 year even got to the top. The views were spectacular.
Post by: Sean3 on July 26, 2016, 11:49:17 AM
Take the coast road back along the cliffs from Kilkee to Knocknagarhoon. Then on to Loop Head past the Bridges of Ross. Stop off to see the Little Ark in Kilbaha before heading to Carrigaholt for a quiet pint in Keane's pub while enjoying the view across the Shannon estuary to the hills of Kerry.
Post by: mouview on July 26, 2016, 02:38:51 PM
Spend a while of a day bringing in square bales of hay. Getting all too rare now.
See Joe Canning play live, in the flesh (club or county) - I'm biased but he really is the Mecca of GAA.
Post by: armaghniac on July 26, 2016, 02:57:53 PM
Quote from: mouview on July 26, 2016, 02:38:51 PM
Spend a while of a day bringing in square bales of hay. Getting all too rare now.

Square bales, indeed. You want to build a proper haystack from cocks of hay.
Post by: ashman on July 26, 2016, 09:30:09 PM
Walk round Howth Head and then a feed in Beshoffs

Ballyhoura mountain bike trail .

A feed in the Moorings Pub in Portmagee

The Fair in Ballycastle , Puck & Spancil Hill

McHughs pub in Liscannor

A hike in Slieve Bloom

Ryan's pub in Killoscully in Tipp

Post by: red hander on July 27, 2016, 11:07:45 PM
Reunification of the country
Post by: ONeill on July 27, 2016, 11:19:04 PM
Up Cavehill on a good day with HS's ma.
Post by: T Fearon on July 27, 2016, 11:25:16 PM
A Donegal club game,though you might devote the remainder of your life waiting to see a score
Post by: BennyCake on July 28, 2016, 12:10:29 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on July 25, 2016, 10:08:08 PM
Skelligs? Aran Islands?

Skellig Michael is on my to-do list.
Always wanted to visit Tory Island as well. Has anyone been to Tory?
Post by: seafoid on July 28, 2016, 07:23:18 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 28, 2016, 12:10:29 AM
Skelligs? Aran Islands?

Tory is a very special place. I would recommend it
Post by: seafoid on July 28, 2016, 07:25:29 AM
Watch an all Ireland football final in a pub in Mayo. It could be el gordo. You will never experience anything like it again. 
Post by: BennyCake on July 28, 2016, 11:35:36 PM
I think I'll check out Coney Island in Sligo when I'm down that way soon. Only accessible at low tide via the causeway apparently. Anyone been?
Post by: The Subbie on July 29, 2016, 06:54:45 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 28, 2016, 07:23:18 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on July 28, 2016, 12:10:29 AM
Skelligs? Aran Islands?

Tory is a very special place. I would recommend it

Special? Shower of money grabbers there, Arran Mhor is where it's at.

We used to go to Tory regularly on a fishing trip for a few years, went to Aaran Mhor and thought it was much more welcoming and an altogether more friendly spot.
Post by: Antrim Coaster on July 29, 2016, 07:36:10 AM
Ah now Subbie, I seem to recall you had a grand time on Tory. Even the King Of Tory came to the pier to meet and greet.
Post by: charlieTully on July 29, 2016, 08:59:24 AM
drive along the coast from Rathmullan to Portsalon in Donegal.
Post by: oakleaflad on July 29, 2016, 01:01:05 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on July 29, 2016, 08:59:24 AM
drive along the coast from Rathmullan to Portsalon in Donegal.
Post by: The Subbie on July 29, 2016, 10:07:13 PM
Quote from: Antrim Coaster on July 29, 2016, 07:36:10 AM
Ah now Subbie, I seem to recall you had a grand time on Tory. Even the King Of Tory came to the pier to meet and greet.

That's right , my one and only encounter with royalty 😂
His highness was also on the pier when we were leaving trying to charge somebody for a bag of Tory soil that is guaranteed to keep rats away because some monk in 500AD lit a candle there once or something.