GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: thejuice on July 02, 2016, 10:32:26 AM

Title: Meath vs Derry, Owenbeg. It's on today at half two. Bring tae & a few ceapairí
Post by: thejuice on July 02, 2016, 10:32:26 AM
Looking forward to this. When did we last meet in the championship? Must have been in the 80's but I honestly can't recall a time.

Oisín was on second captains and he reckons Meath will win but that we are also good enough to reach a semi-final which I think is entirely plausible so long s we don't suffer any psychological damage from the Dublin game which I don't think we should.
Title: Re: Meath vs Derry, Owenbeg. Not sure what day it's on.
Post by: Jinxy on July 02, 2016, 12:46:55 PM
A semi-final of what?
Post by: Tara Na Rí on July 02, 2016, 01:01:21 PM
If we can get over this game first and then get a favourable third round draw, Oisín may be right. The loser of Tyrone/Cavan game is on our side of the draw lest we forget.
Post by: Rossfan on July 02, 2016, 01:40:30 PM
Ye have to win FOUR games to get to an AI Semi Final ;)
Post by: seafoid on July 02, 2016, 02:00:12 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 02, 2016, 10:32:26 AM
Looking forward to this. When did we last meet in the championship? Must have been in the 80's but I honestly can't recall a time.

Oisín was on second captains and he reckons Meath will win but that we are also good enough to reach a semi-final which I think is entirely plausible so long s we don't suffer any psychological damage from the Dublin game which I don't think we should.
Meath are psychologically fragile despite the therapy and could be bullied by the likes of Sligo 
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 02, 2016, 02:20:10 PM

Olsin he always was the funny one.
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2016, 03:11:05 PM
If Meath beat a provincial champion it won't be one from 2016.
Post by: Jinxy on July 02, 2016, 03:36:32 PM
So you're saying the only provincial champions we might beat won't actually be provincial champions?
Post by: Syferus on July 02, 2016, 03:41:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 02, 2016, 03:36:32 PM
So you're saying the only provincial champions we might beat won't actually be provincial champions?

That would depend on if you had Marty McFly or Sam Beckett playing.
Post by: southderryman on July 05, 2016, 10:47:52 PM
The game is on Saturday at 2:30pm

Meath by 3 or 4....Probably
Post by: Tara Na Rí on July 05, 2016, 11:08:26 PM
On paper we should have enough but Meath haven't won a qualifier since 2011. Should be a good game
Post by: rrhf on July 05, 2016, 11:17:10 PM
Can they both be bate?
Post by: theticklemister on July 06, 2016, 12:02:10 AM
Quote from: rrhf on July 05, 2016, 11:17:10 PM
Can they both be bate?

Whose reffing?
Post by: Jinxy on July 06, 2016, 12:13:10 AM
The fella that hates us.
Post by: barking mad on July 06, 2016, 12:16:11 AM
Oisin was never much good at the tipping
It's in his book :P
Post by: imtommygunn on July 06, 2016, 08:14:13 AM

Probably 87.

Tough one to call this. I expect if Meath have recovered sufficiently they will win but that depends on them having recovered.

Maybe Derry will react to Brolly's criticism and play football mind...
Post by: barking mad on July 06, 2016, 04:19:33 PM
Meath took a hockeying off Longford at weekend now I don't bother with challenges but why on earth would u let ur team take a beating off a division 3 team when they were lucky not to get a 20 point beating off dubs
Ild have to question there mental well being to rise to the occasion Saturday.
Post by: Tara Na Rí on July 06, 2016, 04:26:38 PM
Have you any more info on this challenge match like players, scorers etc? All I've heard is that we were beaten and the spirit doesn't seem to be great in the camp
Post by: Jinxy on July 07, 2016, 11:06:11 AM
I'm just happy we don't have to play Longford again.
Post by: Owenmoresider on July 07, 2016, 01:43:10 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on July 07, 2016, 11:06:11 AM
I'm just happy we don't have to play Longford again.
So too I suspect are Derry.  ;D
Post by: OakleafCounty on July 07, 2016, 02:07:02 PM
Can't understand why it's in Owenbeg! Meath to win.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 07, 2016, 02:07:50 PM
Quote from: OakleafCounty on July 07, 2016, 02:07:02 PM

Where would you have it?
Post by: southderryman on July 07, 2016, 09:22:47 PM

Why not? It's a home venue and the crowd will be small so no need to take it to Celtic Park.
Post by: Estimator on July 07, 2016, 09:24:35 PM
1. Thomas Mallon (An Lúb)
2. Gareth McKinless (Baile an Doire)
3. Chrissy McKaigue (Sleacht Néill) (C)
4. Karl McKaigue (Sleacht Néill)
5. Ciarán McFaul (Gleann)
6. Brendan Rogers (Sleacht Néill)
7. Ciarán Mullan (Eoghan Rua)
8. Conor McAtamney (Suaitreach)
9. Niall Holly (Eoghan Rua)
10. Daniel Heavron (Machaire Fíolta)
11. Christopher Bradley (Sleacht Néill)
12. Eoghan Brown (Baile Eachaidh)
13. James Kielt (Cill Ria)
14. Emmett McGuckin (Machaire Fíolta)
15. Mark Lynch (Beannchar)
16. Michael Conlon (Baile an Doire)
17. Neil Forester (Baile Stíl)
18. Liam McGoldrick (Eoghan Rua)
19. Michael McEvoy (Machaire Fíolta)
20. Niall Keenan (Seanmhullach)
21. Oisín Duffy (Forghleann)
22. Niall Toner (Leamhaigh)
23. Niall Loughlin (Grianloch)
24. Emmett Bradley (Gleann)
25. Enda Lynn (Grianloch)
26. Gerard O'Kane (Gleann an Iolair)
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 08, 2016, 07:05:13 PM
Quote from: southderryman on July 07, 2016, 09:22:47 PM

Why not? It's a home venue and the crowd will be small so no need to take it to Celtic Park.

How come Derry don't bring many supporters to games?
Post by: theticklemister on July 08, 2016, 08:57:57 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 08, 2016, 07:05:13 PM
Quote from: southderryman on July 07, 2016, 09:22:47 PM

How come Derry don't bring many supporters to games?

How long have you got....................................
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 09:08:16 AM
No team Meath named as yet. Not sure who played against longford, I do know some of the lads were with their clubs too. Don't know why you'd have a challenge match at this stage.

It would be pretty disappointing if the lads have thrown in the towel after the Dublin game. They have it in them to have a good run in the qualifiers I think anyway. O'Sullivan has been great since his return to the squad. It's about the only positive this year. Newmans free taking is pretty good though not Trevor Giles or Stafford good. Rooney is a solid midfielder and could become a great one in time. We need to find a dependable sidekick for him or some way of supporting him with half forwards and backs.

Title: Re: Meath vs Derry, Owenbeg. It's on today at half two. Bring tae & a few ceapairí
Post by: Estimator on July 09, 2016, 02:35:34 PM
3pts to no score already in favour of Meath!
Title: Re: Meath vs Derry, Owenbeg. It's on today at half two. Bring tae & a few ceapairí
Post by: Estimator on July 09, 2016, 02:36:22 PM
4 - Zip after 7mins!
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 02:41:17 PM
good start for us, though kicking too many wides though. too hasty with the shooting
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 02:44:34 PM
4-1

Lenihan missed a great goal chance
Post by: Estimator on July 09, 2016, 02:46:55 PM
Meath with the breeze in the first half!
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 02:51:24 PM
Meath 0-07
Derry 0-03

25mins gone
Post by: Estimator on July 09, 2016, 02:54:50 PM
1-07
0-03
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 03:01:15 PM
Meath 1-07
Derry 0-04

J Kielt with the point for derry

newman missed another goal chance

33 mins
Post by: Estimator on July 09, 2016, 03:08:22 PM
Half Time
Meath 1-08
Derry 0-04

Sounds horrendous on the radio coverage.
Post by: Hardy on July 09, 2016, 03:09:25 PM
Quote from: Estimator on July 09, 2016, 03:08:22 PM
Half Time
Meath 1-08
Derry 0-04

Oh God.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 03:12:38 PM
Any lead is a dangerous lead for us.

But Derry aren't up to much to be honest. Maybe they are saving it for the second half.
Post by: Hardy on July 09, 2016, 03:23:51 PM
Lead down to four points after a minute and a half. Seems familiar.

Edit: Three points now.

Emm ... six minutes gone, lead down to two.

You knew what was coming - one point now.
Post by: Hardy on July 09, 2016, 03:37:09 PM
Ship slightly steadied 1-10 to 0-10.
Post by: Hardy on July 09, 2016, 03:49:51 PM
Five minutes to go 1-11 to 0-12.

1-11 to 0-13. Still five to go he says!
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 03:50:33 PM
Meath 1-11
Derry 0-12

feck sake
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 03:51:48 PM
1 in it now

Keoghan off
Post by: Hardy on July 09, 2016, 03:54:22 PM
Derry two up now. Why am I not surprised?
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 03:54:22 PM
Goal Derry

1-13
1-11
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 03:55:52 PM
5 mins added
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 04:02:54 PM
Mick O'Dowd good bye and good luck.

Shame we cant get those four years back.

Post by: Hardy on July 09, 2016, 04:04:24 PM
Abject, by the sound of it. What have we become?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 09, 2016, 04:04:40 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 09, 2016, 03:54:22 PM
Derry two up now. Why am I not surprised?

Maybe your lads should have hand passed the ball a bit more when ahead to retain possession to prevent the Derry lads from scoring. :D
Post by: Estimator on July 09, 2016, 04:05:32 PM
Unbelievable turnaround.
Didn't seem likely at half time. There was only one team in it during the first half.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 04:06:47 PM
If you've constantly seen a team collapse after half time, surely you have to make some attempt to resolve that. Nothing was done it seems. Or at least nothing has worked.

Meath is a bit like a hollywood movie franchise these days. Time again for another reboot, but never up to the standard of the original.
Post by: Hardy on July 09, 2016, 04:15:14 PM
The whole thing is pointless anyway. I didn't really give a toss whether we won today or not. I'm not interested in "a good run in the qualifiers", which was the very best we could have hoped for.
Post by: omaghjoe on July 09, 2016, 04:16:01 PM
This was a great game a real win win...Derry gettin hammered on their home ground at half time...followed by a Meath 2nd half capitulation
Sweet!
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 09, 2016, 04:16:53 PM
Well done Derry.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 04:18:35 PM
Quote from: Hardy on July 09, 2016, 04:15:14 PM
The whole thing is pointless anyway. I didn't really give a toss whether we won today or not. I'm not interested in "a good run in the qualifiers", which was the very best we could have hoped for.

Well we wont get anywhere getting dumped out so early every year. Fine we wont win Sam or Leinster for a good while yet but christ it would do us no harm to actually beat a few teams a few times a year.

Has MOD quit yet? Whats he waiting for?
Post by: oakleafgael on July 09, 2016, 04:20:22 PM

Pretty much sums up my feelings on it. Derry are treading water and the first good team they play will beat them handily. A truly awful first half by Derry and serious questions need to be asked of what exactly they where trying to do. A bit better in the second but a case of two bald men fighting over a comb.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 04:22:54 PM
I'd say Derry as does pretty much everyone knows at this stage if you save yourself for the second half against Meath you'll be in with a good shout.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on July 09, 2016, 04:27:21 PM
Oisin McConville put the hex on Meath on Second Captains saying they were going to get to the quarter-finals. Even had me convinced.
Post by: skeog on July 09, 2016, 04:28:19 PM
great result for damien barton and his derry team leinster bar dublin very much on the way down
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2016, 04:35:07 PM
Well done Derry but that result surprised me. Maybe not a few Meath lads who seem very down about the whole thing.

Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 04:42:05 PM
Meath to put forward a motion next year for GAA matches to the be 35 mins long
Post by: Jinxy on July 09, 2016, 05:01:14 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 09, 2016, 04:35:07 PM
Well done Derry but that result surprised me. Maybe not a few Meath lads who seem very down about the whole thing.

The last couple of years have seen numerous 2nd half collapses.
We're not fit enough and we are mentally very brittle.
This all pre-dates the Westmeath game by the way, that just happened to be the most high-profile example.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 05:02:58 PM
MO'D has apparently resigned.

So Andy McEntee has first refusal
Post by: Jinxy on July 09, 2016, 05:05:48 PM
If he has any sense he will refuse.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 05:13:09 PM
I think I'll gave it a go. Where do I send my CV?

I'm not as down on our prospects as you are Jinxy, I'd like to think someone can make a team out of us.
Post by: Jinxy on July 09, 2016, 05:16:47 PM
(http://media.balls.ie/uploads/2012/07/banty2.jpg)
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 05:19:26 PM
Please don't post that photo ever again. It used to be funny. It's just hauntingly depressing now.
Post by: Jinxy on July 09, 2016, 05:21:24 PM
It all went wrong when we got rid of him.
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 05:33:31 PM
Yeah, MO'D was our solution to our Banty problem. Thats why its so depressing
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 05:42:05 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 05:13:09 PM

I've come up with a slogan for my candidacy

Make Meath Great Again7

My first act will be to deport all Dubs out of Navan, Ashbourne, Rathoath, Dunseaghlin and Dunboyne. Its all their fault anyway.

Post by: twohands!!! on July 09, 2016, 05:48:28 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 05:42:05 PM

Make Meath Great Again7

My first act will be to deport all Dubs out of Navan, Ashbourne, Rathoath, Dunseaghlin and Dunboyne. Its all their fault anyway.

Be careful - with that slogan and that policy you might end up in the Dail before you know it.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 09, 2016, 06:24:07 PM
Expected Derry to win but poor in the first half like Meath were in the 2nd, truth is the wind was hurricane force and that was the real reason for such 1 sided halfs, NO.11 for Meath the stand out player on the field, a class act
Post by: redzone on July 09, 2016, 08:29:37 PM
No 11 harnan by any chance. Good player
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 08:33:17 PM
Championship records as manager after Boylan. It speaks for itself.

Colm Coyle           6 wins    1 draw    4 losses  2 years (2007 - 2008)
Eamonn O'Brien   9 wins,   1 draw,   3 losses  2 years (2009 - 2010)
Banty                   5 wins,   1 draw,   4 losses  2 years (2011 - 2012)
Mick O'Dowd        6 wins,                  8 losses  4 years (2013 - 2016)

I wish Coyle had stuck around a bit longer. I know 2008 was a disaster an it must have been frustrating for him but he was a good manager. That said it opened the door for O'Brien who should never have been pushed out and was as the records show our best manager after Sean retired. That said we had a second half collapse in the Leinster final in 2010 but we still won* that game.

Some people think Banty made us a better team but I don't think he did to be honest, and his record makes that clear. 
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 08:34:10 PM
Was Cillian O'Sullivan not no.11?  Long haired lad.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 09, 2016, 08:36:52 PM
yes O`Sullivan,  that lad going to be a good one
Post by: JoG2 on July 09, 2016, 08:41:03 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 08:34:10 PM
Was Cillian O'Sullivan not no.11?  Long haired lad.

Yes

One observation I took from the teams (I was sitting only a couple of rows back and close to the action),  Meath,  as a whole,  conditioning wise, look like a team from 10 years, ago ie very  muscular.  Footballers today would be more lean and able to cover the ground faster and more often.   Maybe this was a factor in the 2nd half (on top of the wind)  and against Dublin
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 08:43:37 PM
yeah he is, and to think he's missed the last two years of senior football due to an ACL injury. I'm hopeful that there is something there to build on in terms of talent. Our physical and mental fitness isn't up to the required level obviously.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on July 09, 2016, 08:46:28 PM
Meath have 3 good forwards, decent enough midfield but they have problems in defence, if they can rectify that, they could be fairly good
Post by: Maroon Manc on July 09, 2016, 08:58:32 PM
How did MOD managed to get a 4th year on the back of his first 3 years?
Post by: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 09:37:31 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on July 09, 2016, 08:58:32 PM
How did MOD managed to get a 4th year on the back of his first 3 years?

Only GOD, MOD and the county board know why.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 09, 2016, 10:06:50 PM
How many Derry players have left the panel since the Tyrone game?

Are Sean Leo McGoldrick, Kevin Johnston, Dermy McBride, O'Boyle still involved or are they injured. Derry really need to target an All Ireland quarter final this year.
Post by: rrhf on July 09, 2016, 10:18:58 PM
Why not Boylan?
Post by: seafoid on July 09, 2016, 10:21:52 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 09, 2016, 05:42:05 PM

Make Meath Great Again7

Take back control of the ball is a winning statement of intent

Down and Meath are cat 25 years on from the 91 all Ireland
Title: Re: Meath vs itself
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2016, 06:29:16 AM
Watching Meath execute another second half collapse in Round 2 the day before the Connacht Final after your own county  dumped Mayo out is like going back in good health to a hospital where you stayed for a long time and seeing one of the patients you knew well struggling.  There is no pleasure in it even though the hoors beat us with a jammy goal in 2007 and a cruel point in 2011. Something like a bogey team in purgatory. Meath haven't been doing much underage afaik either.
Woebegone.

Meath has a different illness to Mayo.   

Post by: Ard-Rí on July 10, 2016, 10:07:40 AM
O'Dowd resigning is very good news, but there are deeper problems in terms of county board and finance as well.
Whoever takes over from O'Dowd will probably find themselves having to do almost as much of a re-build as he did, considering they presumably won't follow his blueprint of a team "built for Croke Park", picked on speed alone.
Title: Re: Meath vs Derry, Owenbeg.
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2016, 10:11:21 AM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on July 10, 2016, 10:07:40 AM
O'Dowd resigning is very good news, but there are deeper problems in terms of county board and finance as well.
Whoever takes over from O'Dowd will probably find themselves having to do almost as much of a re-build as he did, considering they presumably won't follow his blueprint of a team "built for Croke Park", picked on speed alone.
Meath need a 5 year plan.
Incorporating underage

I was just looking at Galway there. We were in the same boat as Meath for a good while.
Since the loss to antrim in the qualifiers in 2012 there has been slow and steady progress.
Helped by u21 all Irelands.
It is going to take time to turn Meath around

Post by: From the Bunker on July 10, 2016, 10:12:51 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2016, 06:29:16 AM
Watching Meath execute another second half collapse in Round 2 the day before the Connacht Final after your own county  dumped Mayo out is like going back in good health to a hospital where you stayed for a long time and seeing one of the patients you knew well struggling.  There is no pleasure in it even though the hoors beat us with a jammy goal in 2007 and a cruel point in 2011. Something like a bogey team in purgatory. Meath haven't been doing much underage afaik either.
Woebegone.

You still taking them pills Seafoid?
Post by: Ard-Rí on July 10, 2016, 10:33:41 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2016, 10:11:21 AM
Quote from: Ard-Rí on July 10, 2016, 10:07:40 AM
Meath need a 5 year plan.
Incorporating underage

I was just looking at Galway there. We were in the same boat as Meath for a good while.
Since the loss to antrim in the qualifiers in 2012 there has been slow and steady progress.
Helped by u21 all Irelands.
It is going to take time to turn Meath around

Yes that's definitely the case. I think for quite a while, O'Dowd managed to get by because people gave him the benefit of the doubt that he was doing the behind the scenes work for long term gain. The problem with making steady progress is you have to leave a man with it for a relatively long time and more or less hope that he is putting the correct structures in place. But then again, it's not all the manager's fault either so you can only hold him to account to a limited degree. Underage, as you say, must be a key part of any plan to improve the county's senior performance. I doubt, unfortunately, that our county board has the organisation or ability to put that kind of plan in place. As an example of how badly things are being run at the minute (though this is not entirely the co. board's fault), earlier this year, club delegates passed motions changing the club championships and then appealed and overturned their own decisions because they realised it would result in more relegations. Farce.
Post by: thejuice on July 10, 2016, 11:30:56 AM
Well I think at underage things are slowly improving but we won't know what fruit it will bear in the long term.

However financially we need to think of new ways of coming up with funds as we aren't getting enough as it is through sponsors and the supporters club membership numbers is only about 250-300 per year.

The county board have had a few mishaps over the years with the restructuring and floodlights that it makes you wonder about whether they are up to the task. I'm not suggesting it's an easy job by any means but we need the right people in there if we are to make any progress.

I don't know what training our lads do but perhaps the balance between physical size/strength/stamina has gone askew. You can't have lads carrying any extra weight around the field but we can't sacrifice too much in strength either. We've had Sean Kelly(?) and Trevor Giles (I think) but looking after that department over the last few years, don't know about who after TG left. But we've never got that quite right from what I could see.

People were mooting James Horan as a potential outside candidate for the job which I don't think would be bad at all.

Most seem convinced Andy McEntee is the man but he has mend fences with the county board first so we'll see what comes out in the coming weeks.
Post by: seafoid on July 10, 2016, 12:32:12 PM
Quote from: thejuice on July 10, 2016, 11:30:56 AM
Well I think at underage things are slowly improving but we won't know what fruit it will bear in the long term.

However financially we need to think of new ways of coming up with funds as we aren't getting enough as it is through sponsors and the supporters club membership numbers is only about 250-300 per year.

The county board have had a few mishaps over the years with the restructuring and floodlights that it makes you wonder about whether they are up to the task. I'm not suggesting it's an easy job by any means but we need the right people in there if we are to make any progress.

I don't know what training our lads do but perhaps the balance between physical size/strength/stamina has gone askew. You can't have lads carrying any extra weight around the field but we can't sacrifice too much in strength either. We've had Sean Kelly(?) and Trevor Giles (I think) but looking after that department over the last few years, don't know about who after TG left. But we've never got that quite right from what I could see.

People were mooting James Horan as a potential outside candidate for the job which I don't think would be bad at all.

Most seem convinced Andy McEntee is the man but he has mend fences with the county board first so we'll see what comes out in the coming weeks.
Horan could be a very smart choice with all his experience. He took over after the Longford debacle
Post by: Jinxy on July 10, 2016, 01:29:56 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on July 10, 2016, 10:12:51 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 10, 2016, 06:29:16 AM
Woebegone.

You still taking them pills Seafoid?

Seafoid stopped taking his pills a long time ago.