Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: sligoman2 on June 30, 2016, 10:18:46 PM

Poll
Question: Which sport is more enjoyable
Option 1: Soccer votes: 20
Option 2: Rugby votes: 14
Title: Is it just me or has soccer become almost unwatchable
Post by: sligoman2 on June 30, 2016, 10:18:46 PM
I was really looking forward to the Euros but most of the games have been rubbish.  Most of the goals have been in the last few minutes.  Ireland had a good showing but only scored 3 goals in four games which is one goal every two hours.  I'm watching Poland and Portugal at the moment and I'm falling asleep with boredom.  I used to be a big Arsenal fan but honestly find it hard to watch live soccer any more due to diving and lack of goals and lack of enjoyment.

Time to change the offside rule or abandon it.  Most of the action seems to be coming from the fans in the stands.  Never thought I would say this but I would much prefer to watch rugby.
Title: Re: Is it just me or has soccer become almost unwatchable
Post by: sligoman2 on June 30, 2016, 10:23:19 PM
I take it back there was some action - some clown just ran onto the pitch.
Post by: mrdeeds on June 30, 2016, 10:27:45 PM
Lots of goals doesn't always mean quality. I've enjoyed it so far. Three goals is more than Ireland usually scores at an international tournament.
Post by: lenny on June 30, 2016, 10:36:09 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on June 30, 2016, 10:18:46 PM
I was really looking forward to the Euros but most of the games have been rubbish.  Most of the goals have been in the last few minutes.  Ireland had a good showing but only scored 3 goals in four games which is one goal every two hours.  I'm watching Poland and Portugal at the moment and I'm falling asleep with boredom.  I used to be a big Arsenal fan but honestly find it hard to watch live soccer any more due to diving and lack of goals and lack of enjoyment.

Time to change the offside rule or abandon it.  Most of the action seems to be coming from the fans in the stands.  Never thought I would say this but I would much prefer to watch rugby.

Totally agree. I can hardly watch a live game now. I tend to record the highlights programs and watch those. Teams are generally well organised defensively but are afraid to commit men forward. Also I've yet to see any player show a bit of skill to dribble past a ouple of opponents. There's just no flair or excitement.
Post by: An Watcher on June 30, 2016, 10:57:45 PM
I concur, I think the lack of physicality in the game now has made it almost unwatchable.   Rugby is definitely a better watch and that is from someone who never played rugby in their life
Post by: rrhf on June 30, 2016, 11:03:21 PM
Soccor needs to learn from GAA.  A square ball instead of offside would improve this monstrous muck of a sport.  Also the big problem is that in 12 years time the top players won't play at national level.
Post by: Gold on June 30, 2016, 11:07:14 PM
Quote from: lenny on June 30, 2016, 10:36:09 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on June 30, 2016, 10:18:46 PM

Totally agree. I can hardly watch a live game now. I tend to record the highlights programs and watch those. Teams are generally well organised defensively but are afraid to commit men forward. Also I've yet to see any player show a bit of skill to dribble past a ouple of opponents. There's just no flair or excitement.

I agree. Wales v Russia game was great as Bale took boys on like he was playing in the playground

Very few players like that or Georgia Best anymore. 

That was boring as f**k tonight but then so is the GAA at present
Post by: Mikhail Prokhorov on June 30, 2016, 11:18:08 PM
only way to improve it is less players. 9 a side would be fine.
Post by: Tony Baloney on July 01, 2016, 12:01:51 AM
Can't compare group matches to knockout stages where the fear of losing overtakes the will to win and inevitably makes teams take fewer risks.
Post by: GJL on July 01, 2016, 12:05:20 AM
Highlights is the way to watch football now a days. Full 90 minutes can be hard work.
Post by: screenexile on July 01, 2016, 02:47:51 AM
Quote from: rrhf on June 30, 2016, 11:03:21 PM
Soccor needs to learn from GAA.  A square ball instead of offside would improve this monstrous muck of a sport.  Also the big problem is that in 12 years time the top players won't play at national level.

GAA is just as unwatchable in its present form!!
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2016, 06:18:03 AM
Quote from: An Watcher on June 30, 2016, 10:57:45 PM
I concur, I think the lack of physicality in the game now has made it almost unwatchable.   Rugby is definitely a better watch and that is from someone who never played rugby in their life
Soccer needs more concussion then
90 minutes is too long when it is nil nil. You will never get that time back
The game is highly technical and only gets interesting a lot of the time when the players get tired.   
Post by: laoislad on July 01, 2016, 06:38:13 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 01, 2016, 02:47:51 AM

I've lost a lot of interest in Gaelic Football in particular. Would very rarely watch a full game anymore and have only been to a handful of games in the last few years and find myself caring less and less who wins. If Laois win great, if they don't then I don't really get bothered like I did before.
Hard to bate a good hurling match and it tops any sport imo but even that hasn't had the same top quality games lately, though it's still streets ahead of Gaelic Football IMO
There are soccer games that can be boring as hell alright,but there can still be some fantastic games.
I think some maybe posting here only watch the bigger games expecting every game to be exciting because there are bigger names playing.
I've watched some fantastic games last season involving less fashionable teams from la liga and the championship and the other European leagues.
I wouldn't watch a Rugby game to save my life. Now that's a boring game to watch.
Post by: bennydorano on July 01, 2016, 08:40:34 AM
I've really fell out of love with GAA myself, haven't travelled at all this year, watching games on tv while reading the paper mostly because they've been that shit. Euros have been enjoyable enough imo.
Post by: No wides on July 01, 2016, 08:45:02 AM
It has always been unwatchable - nothing much has changed, except folk of late pay a fortune to watch shite matches week in week out.
Post by: Redhand Santa on July 01, 2016, 09:02:49 AM
Not sure its fair to compare gaelic football to a 2 hour soccer game with hardly any chances or tackles. There is still plenty of decent matches in gaelic football but its a mixed bag. There was a lot of cracking games in last years club championships and this years u21 championship was excellent as well. There was plenty of decent games in the national leagues between evenly matched teams. The start of the championship though was very poor this year with too many one sided games and some teams trying a damage limitation exercise. It has started to improve in recent weeks though with decent ulster semis and the Galway/Tipp shocks. As the year goes on and the top 5 or 6 sides meet each should be some good games ahead.
Post by: johnneycool on July 01, 2016, 09:09:54 AM
Quote from: laoislad on July 01, 2016, 06:38:13 AM

I've lost a lot of interest in Gaelic Football in particular. Would very rarely watch a full game anymore and have only been to a handful of games in the last few years and find myself caring less and less who wins. If Laois win great, if they don't then I don't really get bothered like I did before.
Hard to bate a good hurling match and it tops any sport imo but even that hasn't had the same top quality games lately, though it's still streets ahead of Gaelic Football IMO
There are soccer games that can be boring as hell alright,but there can still be some fantastic games.
I think some maybe posting here only watch the bigger games expecting every game to be exciting because there are bigger names playing.
I've watched some fantastic games last season involving less fashionable teams from la liga and the championship and the other European leagues.
I wouldn't watch a Rugby game to save my life. Now that's a boring game to watch.

Hurling is going the same way I'm afraid to say, packed defences, one or two left up front and keep er tight.

When Ken McGrath says he'd hate to have to hurl in this era that tells you all you need to know. There was an unpredictable brilliance about Waterford hurling in their pomp, they didn't win an AI, but were by and far one of the best teams to watch, just like Brazil in the 1982 World cup.
Post by: Canalman on July 01, 2016, 09:19:26 AM
Big problem in all field sports imo is the fact that pitch sizes remain the same while the fitness and speed of the players has increased.

Way less of the one on one battles now with the lack of space and time. Spectacle much poorer as a result.
Post by: Esmarelda on July 01, 2016, 09:27:34 AM
I agree that it's harder to watch due to the diving and all that but I don't subscribe to it being boring due to the lack of goals and chances.

I find plenty to admire in the defensive and tactical side of the game. If you don't then I guess you only want to see the goals and don't really have any interest in the game itself. If so, highlights is the way to go.
Post by: ONeill on July 01, 2016, 09:31:52 AM
Emerdale has been shite recently too. And young'uns talk too loudly. Mobile phones are taking over the world. Hardly any crisps in the packets as well. Manners.
Post by: imtommygunn on July 01, 2016, 09:34:10 AM
JC still a lot of good hurling about though defenses are getting a bit packed.

Gaelic football at county level is becoming more and more unwatchable. I love football but the game now is so different from how it was even 10 years ago and not in a good way. It can't continue in that way. those 2 games on live last sunday were horrendous. I had to turn them off I got that bored watching them.

I like soccer but always found it that bit slower and harder to watch being from a gaelic football / hurling background. The way that football has become these days the soccer almost seems more watchable. Still hard to beat a munster championship hurling match (though limerick tip was garbage).
Post by: JoG2 on July 01, 2016, 09:35:30 AM
if they'd stop handing out yellow cards like confetti (the game has practically gone non contact) and started handing out retrospective bans for diving / cheating like confetti, it would go along way to making the game a bit more watchable. I've only watched the Ireland matches in their entirety and bits 'n bobs of other matches.

It's absolutely imperative that the GAA stamp down on any and all examples of diving and feigning injury, of which there's been a few notable examples of late. There's a sense of pride being involved in a manly / physical game. Change the rules and handing the offending hooers a lengthy ban will erode this nonsense. In the world of soccer,  this is something the authorities don't seem interested in doing, even though it is turning many many people off the sport
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2016, 09:43:34 AM
Intensively tactical sports such as rugby and increasingly soccer are harder for casual fans to follow. You shouldn't need a PhD to watch a bit of telly. I have no idea what is going on during at least 80% of rugby matches.
Post by: thebigfella on July 01, 2016, 09:53:05 AM
GAA Football is sh1te outside the few dominant teams. It always has been the case but people are blinded by their insecurities about the popularity of other teams games.

International football and has always been more ponderous and cagey; especially at tournament finals. I think people reminisce about past tournaments being better a bit like brexit leave voters thinking Britain was better in the past ;) 
Post by: Esmarelda on July 01, 2016, 09:56:06 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 01, 2016, 09:43:34 AM
Intensively tactical sports such as rugby and increasingly soccer are harder for casual fans to follow. You shouldn't need a PhD to watch a bit of telly. I have no idea what is going on during at least 80% of rugby matches.
There's loads on telly that you don't need close to a PhD to understand. Surely there's space for something from the other end of the spectrum?
Post by: BennyCake on July 01, 2016, 10:15:23 AM
Increase in the amount of live matches in recent years taints your perspective. Gaelic matches are hard to watch these days. I think it's because there's too many games and we see everything, warts and all. Highlights packages hide so much shite.

Soccer hasn't changed much. Gaelic has to an extent but we also see too much of it.
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2016, 10:28:21 AM
Quote from: Canalman on July 01, 2016, 09:19:26 AM
Big problem in all field sports imo is the fact that pitch sizes remain the same while the fitness and speed of the players has increased.

Way less of the one on one battles now with the lack of space and time. Spectacle much poorer as a result.
Also power of the players.Compare the conditioning of the Ireland players this year to that of Platini's France in 82.
The ould lad told me a while ago that BOD was something like 5 stone heavier than Mike Gibson was playing in the same role in the 70s
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 01, 2016, 10:35:53 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 01, 2016, 10:28:21 AM

Also power of the players.Compare the conditioning of the Ireland players this year to that of Platini's France in 82.
The ould lad told me a while ago that BOD was something like 5 stone heavier than Mike Gibson was playing in the same role in the 70s

I don't think Mike Gibson was 9 stone now Seafoid!
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2016, 10:55:39 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on July 01, 2016, 10:35:53 AM
Quote from: seafoid on July 01, 2016, 10:28:21 AM

I don't think Mike Gibson was 9 stone now Seafoid!
Fair enough walter. Maybe it was 3 stone. But it's a huge difference

I saw a picture of one of the scrum wallas and his size 8 girlfriend and felt sorry for her
Post by: sligoman2 on July 01, 2016, 12:05:21 PM
I didn't intend this to be a gaa v soccer thread.  I have played both games and enjoyed playing both codes.  I agree that gaa has become less enjoyable also.  I'm sure crochet is technical and so is polo but that doesn't make them enjoyable to the casual audience.

I got so f....n bored watching the last few games I wanted to see if others felt the same or am I getting crankier as I age.

I would suggest the following changes which the purists will rubbish

1) Change the offside rule, either abolish it or make it either the penalty box, or a line across the field equal to the penalty box
2) when the ball is one half of the field, both teams must keep at least 3 players in the other half so that it becomes a 7 a side.  I would give teams 5 seconds after the ball crosses the midway line to get players back.
3) bring in a tv official and review all dodgy penalties and free kicks, this could be done very quickly.  Anyone found diving gets a red card and misses one or two games.
4) make the goals a foot wider and six inches higher so more shots are encouraged.

As I said before, most of the fun is generated by the fans not the players.

I also feel that gaa should change the following
1). Similar to above have 3 or 4 from each team in the other half of the pitch
2). Introduce a clock that stops for injuries and stops in the last 3 minutes of both halves for all stoppages, frees, kick outs, injuries, line balls Etc
3). Introduce a mark only for kickouts and require kickouts to go bast the 50 yard line - this is coming in next year I believe
4) have 2 refs, one man can't possibly so this and linesmen and umpires are not the answer.  Game is too fast and physical foe one man to ref.
Post by: lenny on July 01, 2016, 12:50:15 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on July 01, 2016, 09:09:54 AM
Quote from: laoislad on July 01, 2016, 06:38:13 AM

Hurling is going the same way I'm afraid to say, packed defences, one or two left up front and keep er tight.

When Ken McGrath says he'd hate to have to hurl in this era that tells you all you need to know. There was an unpredictable brilliance about Waterford hurling in their pomp, they didn't win an AI, but were by and far one of the best teams to watch, just like Brazil in the 1982 World cup.

Absolutely agree with this. Hurling has really gone down the tubes for me also. I'm not from a hurling background but I used to enjoy watching it on tv and would even have gone to a few games. Last year I think I watched one game live and this year I've only watched one also. Somebody earlier said soccer has become too technical but that's the wrong word. It's become too tactical and it's much easier to train a team tactically to prevent the other team scoring. That's the way both football and hurling are going also. Soccer teams used to have a 2-3-5 formation for the first 60 or 70 years. Then every team went 4-4-2 and now most teams play with one forward. Football and hurling have moved the same way reducing the number of forward players to strengthen the defence.
Post by: seafoid on July 01, 2016, 01:50:29 PM
Soccer is vulnerable because it is low scoring already without having defensive tactics reduce the goals even further.

The only way you can make it exciting is when 2 mismatched teams in terms of quality play each other
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VoJR7GbJptg
Post by: The Stallion on July 01, 2016, 02:04:45 PM
I agree this tournament has been poor to watch. These things tend to go in cycles so I wouldn't necessarily agree it is likely to be the future of the game going forward.

On another note, i've always thought doing away with the offside rule would make games more interesting to watch, which seems to go against prevailing opinion. I think It would make it more difficult to put ten men behind the ball and defend for 90 minutes.
Post by: longballin on July 01, 2016, 02:10:33 PM
Knockout stages of these competitions tend to be rubbish, last World Cup the group games were great and the knockout brutal
Post by: Esmarelda on July 01, 2016, 03:40:23 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on July 01, 2016, 02:04:45 PM
I agree this tournament has been poor to watch. These things tend to go in cycles so I wouldn't necessarily agree it is likely to be the future of the game going forward.

On another note, i've always thought doing away with the offside rule would make games more interesting to watch, which seems to go against prevailing opinion. I think It would make it more difficult to put ten men behind the ball and defend for 90 minutes.
Would it not result in more men behind the ball in deeper positions so as not to leave anyone one on one or in space to score?
Post by: bennydorano on July 01, 2016, 03:43:36 PM
Club Rugby must be close to incomprehensible for the casual spectator who has no TV commentary to explain what is going on.
Post by: Walter Cronc on July 01, 2016, 03:47:47 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 01, 2016, 03:43:36 PM
Club Rugby must be close to incomprehensible for the casual spectator who has no TV commentary to explain what is going on.

Rugby fans are either very knowledgeable or those who just go for the beer and the craic! I'd like to consider myself as 'in the know' but at times it is difficult to interpret a refs decision.
Post by: ballinaman on July 01, 2016, 08:19:53 PM
Turn on your TV sligoman. What a game tonight.
Post by: vertigonights on July 01, 2016, 08:39:21 PM
I have enjoyed the tournament. Do you not think its a case of soccer never being off the TV. The more of it there is the greater chance of boredom with the sport. OK it can be tedious to watch at times but that is the case with all sport I find. When a good match is on its hard to beat and the same can be said for most sports. I think greater reward (champions league places) for winning the fa cup or carling cup would bring more to those competitions and bring better quality football, and reduce the champions league to a straight knock out competition instead of all the tables and then 2 leg knockouts. The same with euro and world cup qualifiers, far to many stupid matches just start the comp with the teams in a knockout type style and progress from there, instead of playing the same team twice and then maybe meeting them again when you actually qualify for the competition. I don't know I think I've gone off the point here, I don't care, too much footie on I think lol
Post by: Captain Obvious on July 01, 2016, 09:53:42 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 01, 2016, 08:19:53 PM
Turn on your TV sligoman. What a game tonight.
Games like tonight is what makes the sport beautiful.
Post by: longballin on July 01, 2016, 10:06:09 PM
yeah that was something else!
Post by: sligoman2 on July 02, 2016, 02:45:41 AM
No doubt that was an enjoyable game but unfortunately good games are  the exception Rather than the rule. 
Well done to Wales, great result against a world class team.  I hope we see more games like this. 
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 02, 2016, 07:16:33 AM
This has been one of the best major international tournaments in years.

While club football has become sterile and predictable, international football still holds the lustre and glamour. Watching a small country like Iceland progress to the last 8 and Wales to the last four is great to see, the games have all been close and competitive matches with plenty of shocks along the way. And of course, my beloved Italy, playing total football and doing it for the country, let's hope they can take one step further tonight.

On another note, I think the officials have been terrific this tournament, very little mistakes and they've really allowed the games to flow and not fallen for any diving or time wasting tactics.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 02, 2016, 07:36:30 AM

;D ;D ;D ;D

You cannot be serious.

Let me break down to you the basics of rugby.

- ]Played by overgrown freaks out of their mind on steroids
- They are not allowed pass the ball forward
- Kicking possession away is a tactical aspect of the game
- Pushing, lifting and smashing into each other are the key skill attributes of the game
- Nobody understands the rules of the game, including the referee
- The master-slave relationship that exists between a pompous, belittling referee and the players
- The scrum, easily the most ridiculous restart method in any sport ever. It really is preposterous, hard to take any 'sport' with that - seriously.
- They run with the ball in their hands, usually in straight lines with an opposition meathead looking straight at them
- The fact that rugby draws most of it's fanbase from private schools and is really only anyway popular in colonial or former colonial countries
- Multiple concussions and widespread steroid abuse - have you ever looked at some of those lads in the scrum and wondered what kind of experiments mad scientists have been conducting on them in the lab
- The fact their fans are all bandwagon jumpers who couldn't give a monkeys about rugby until a little over 10 years ago and the majority of them have never thrown an egg in an organised game
- You'll find there is a huge % of women who follow rugby for the simple reason that nobody really has a clue what is going on and there is a social climbing feature to being into rugby which feeds their hubris
- The contrived day out atmosphere where nobody really cares about the result

If you really think rugby is a more interesting spectacle than soccer then you are truly fucked. If you are into the physical aspect of it then maybe try watching Olympic Weightlifting - it has about the same skill level as rugby.

Post by: laoislad on July 02, 2016, 08:49:02 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 02, 2016, 07:36:30 AM

;D ;D ;D ;D

You cannot be serious.

- Pushing, lifting and smashing into each other are the key skill attributes of the game
- The master-slave relationship that exists between a pompous, belittling referee and the players
- The scrum, easily the most ridiculous restart method in any sport ever. It really is preposterous, hard to take any 'sport' with that - seriously.
- They run with the ball in their hands, usually in straight lines with an opposition meathead looking straight at them
- The fact that rugby draws most of it's fanbase from private schools and is really only anyway popular in colonial or former colonial countries
- Multiple concussions and widespread steroid abuse - have you ever looked at some of those lads in the scrum and wondered what kind of experiments mad scientists have been conducting on them in the lab
- The fact their fans are all bandwagon jumpers who couldn't give a monkeys about rugby until a little over 10 years ago and the majority of them have never thrown an egg in an organised game
- You'll find there is a huge % of women who follow rugby for the simple reason that nobody really has a clue what is going on and there is a social climbing feature to being into rugby which feeds their hubris

If you really think rugby is a more interesting spectacle than soccer then you are truly fucked. If you are into the physical aspect of it then maybe try watching Olympic Weightlifting - it has about the same skill level as rugby.
This post deserves an award.
Post by: lenny on July 02, 2016, 08:59:31 AM

;D ;D ;D ;D

You cannot be serious.

It's not really to do with class, it's to do with intelligence. That is one of the main reasons England struggle to make an impact at major tournaments in spite if having a huge number of players to pick from. Compare rugby players interviews with soccer players and compare the ex players who are pundits for each sport. The level of detailed articulate analysis in rugby is light years beyond what you get in soccer and that is because the rugby lads have a good education behind them. That is one of the things that for me makes rugby more enjoyable to watch because I enjoy being informed by the analysis. Other countries like Italy, Germany and Spain don't have the same issues with good schools playing rugby and the less academic schools playing soccer, hence their soccer players have a much higher intelligence than their english counterparts.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 02, 2016, 09:53:32 AM
Quote from: lenny on July 02, 2016, 08:59:31 AM

;D ;D ;D ;D

You cannot be serious.

It's not really to do with class, it's to do with intelligence. That is one of the main reasons England struggle to make an impact at major tournaments in spite if having a huge number of players to pick from. Compare rugby players interviews with soccer players and compare the ex players who are pundits for each sport. The level of detailed articulate analysis in rugby is light years beyond what you get in soccer and that is because the rugby lads have a good education behind them. That is one of the things that for me makes rugby more enjoyable to watch because I enjoy being informed by the analysis. Other countries like Italy, Germany and Spain don't have the same issues with good schools playing rugby and the less academic schools playing soccer, hence their soccer players have a much higher intelligence than their english counterparts.

That is some load of hogwash and reflects pretty badly on your intelligence and naivety.

Rugby is at the forefront of spoofers and buzzwords, nobody, not even the referee, really knows what is going on in matches and you are putting it on a pedestal for informed analysis? I really hope you are wumming here or the men in white coats should be sent for you. The amount of people who follow the game enthusiastically despite never playing an organised game of rugby in their life, the sudden spurt of a rugby following in Ireland during the Celtic Tiger years.

The Irish rugby team are perennial failures, they are on a par with the English football team, hyped up beyond belief before going and blowing up at the earliest possible stage in relative terms given the small playing pool of rugby nations. They constantly finish between 5th and 8th in a 'sport' where 8 countries (at most - and that's being generous - take it seriously) play. Rugby players are bland, dull, PR bots who talk the usual war like cliches. Rugby has no characters or personalities, they do not have guys like Chiellini, De Rossi, Buffon and Conte - humble yet serious. There are no geniuses on a rugby pitch, just blown up battering rams - they run in straight lines with the ball in their hands.

In contrast the Irish football generally punch above their weight, being one of the top 16 European teams at football is a far better achievement than being in the top 8 worldwide in rugby. You can sense something genuine and warm about the likes of Robbie Brady, Paul McGrath and Robbie Keane when you compare them to the media trained, privately educated, dull as dishwater, promotional whores like Brian O'Driscoll.

I think there is no more damning indictment on Irish society than Brian O'Driscoll being regarded as a greater sportsman than Robbie Keane by the general public. It is wrong on so many levels.
Post by: theskull1 on July 02, 2016, 10:31:29 AM
A lot of armchair fans griping here

Why not get off your holes and follow you're local team rather than remain enslaved by the TV
Post by: Farrandeelin on July 02, 2016, 10:55:34 AM
Quote from: laoislad on July 02, 2016, 08:49:02 AM

;D ;D ;D ;D

You cannot be serious.

+1. It's a disgrace it's called rugby football IMO.
Post by: lenny on July 02, 2016, 05:23:35 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 02, 2016, 10:55:34 AM

;D ;D ;D ;D

You cannot be serious.

Why? They kick the ball just as often as in gaelic football.
Post by: JoG2 on July 02, 2016, 06:01:34 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 02, 2016, 10:55:34 AM

;D ;D ;D ;D

You cannot be serious.

Back in the day,  the only points scored in rugby were from  kicks at goal,  ie using your foot hence rugby football. You had to touch the ball down to have a 'try'  at scoring.  Quite a diagrace alright!
Post by: longballin on July 02, 2016, 08:50:19 PM
Gaelic football, soccer and rugby are all capable of throwing up a thriller but hurling is different gravy.
Post by: ballinaman on July 02, 2016, 08:54:55 PM
Quote from: longballin on July 02, 2016, 08:50:19 PM
Gaelic football, soccer and rugby are all capable of throwing up a thriller but hurling is different gravy.
Clare Laois was a cracker tonight aye...
Post by: sligoman2 on July 02, 2016, 09:17:57 PM
Like I said earlier I do think rugby is more enjoyable than modern day soccer.  More action, more scoring, no faking.  Irish rugby team have achieved a lot more than the soccer team.  and for the rcord I would say Brian o Driscoll s a better athlete than Robbie Keane.  Keane was never considered the best player (or one of the best) player in the world.
Post by: laoislad on July 02, 2016, 09:19:52 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on July 02, 2016, 09:17:57 PM
Like I said earlier I do think rugby is more enjoyable than modern day soccer.  More action, more scoring, no faking.  Irish rugby team have achieved a lot more than the soccer team.  and for the rcord I would say brian orris ill is a better athlete than Robbie Keane.  Keane was never considered the best player (or one of the best) player in the world.
He probably would have been if only 8 countries played soccer.
Post by: Boycey on July 02, 2016, 09:30:14 PM
No he wouldn't  ;D
Post by: sligoman2 on July 02, 2016, 09:47:55 PM
I just added a poll. Expecting soccer to win but it's rugby for me
Post by: longballin on July 02, 2016, 10:01:29 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 02, 2016, 08:54:55 PM
Quote from: longballin on July 02, 2016, 08:50:19 PM
Clare Laois was a cracker tonight aye...

you can always dig out a bad game in any sport but hurling is away head of the rest...
Post by: Rossfan on July 02, 2016, 10:35:14 PM
Quote from: sligoman2 on July 02, 2016, 09:47:55 PM
I just added a poll. Expecting soccer to win but it's rugby for me
Can you add a third option " They are both sh1te"? :D
Post by: lenny on July 02, 2016, 10:56:16 PM
Like I said earlier I do think rugby is more enjoyable than modern day soccer.  More action, more scoring, no faking.  Irish rugby team have achieved a lot more than the soccer team.  and for the rcord I would say Brian o Driscoll s a better athlete than Robbie Keane.  Keane was never considered the best player (or one of the best) player in the world.

When Celtic won the european cup in 1967 they had 42 goal attempts with 24 shots on target. The full game is available on youtube and I would recommend anyone to watch it. Afetr 10 minutes watching you'll be thinking this must be a highlights show because there is relentless attacking. Nowadays teams could go 10 matches without having 42 goal attempts or 24 shots on target. Soccer is dire to watch at the moment especially that completely overrated, overhyped, overpaid english premier league.
Post by: smelmoth on July 02, 2016, 11:00:26 PM
Soccer is not alone with its problems. Anyone in portloaise today could tell you that.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 02, 2016, 11:19:52 PM

There are more professional soccer players in the USA alone than there are professional rugby players in the entire world.

Ken Earley had a great article on the ridiculous standing of rugby in this country.

Robbie Brady is already a great Irish sportsman than any rugby footballer that has played for Ireland.

Similarly someone like Bernard Dunne or Paddy Barnes is in relativity a greater sportsperson than Katie Taylor. It's not that difficult to be one of the best in something that not that many people partake in.

As for the game itself, which part of rugby do you like best the players smashing into each other until they are concussed, the lads kicking the ball to the opposition as a tactic or the scrum? As for faking, I don't of any soccer players who burst fake blood capsules in their mouth, most of the faking in soccer is impulsive and gut instinct, in rugby it seems to be calculated and premeditated.

Ireland won the 4 nations Cup a few years ago in football which is on a par with the 6 nations the rugby team player. Ireland have also made the last 8 of World Cup which is on a part with the rugby team. The difference is the soccer team actually have to qualify for tournaments, they actually play a sport which the world world plays as their number 1 games - not playing a minority sport that 8 teams take in anyway seriously and only one has it as their no.1 sport - unsurprisingly they are the top dog at it right now.

Post by: clarshack on July 02, 2016, 11:43:47 PM
i'd agree with everything the bomber says.

i was brought to a couple of ulster rugby games last year by a friend and it's pretty much a social occasion first and foremost.
Post by: trileacman on July 03, 2016, 12:53:32 AM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 02, 2016, 11:19:52 PM

There are more professional soccer players in the USA alone than there are professional rugby players in the entire world.

Ken Earley had a great article on the ridiculous standing of rugby in this country.

Robbie Brady is already a great Irish sportsman than any rugby footballer that has played for Ireland.

Similarly someone like Bernard Dunne or Paddy Barnes is in relativity a greater sportsperson than Katie Taylor. It's not that difficult to be one of the best in something that not that many people partake in.

As for the game itself, which part of rugby do you like best the players smashing into each other until they are concussed, the lads kicking the ball to the opposition as a tactic or the scrum? As for faking, I don't of any soccer players who burst fake blood capsules in their mouth, most of the faking in soccer is impulsive and gut instinct, in rugby it seems to be calculated and premeditated.

Ireland won the 4 nations Cup a few years ago in football which is on a par with the 6 nations the rugby team player. Ireland have also made the last 8 of World Cup which is on a part with the rugby team. The difference is the soccer team actually have to qualify for tournaments, they actually play a sport which the world world plays as their number 1 games - not playing a minority sport that 8 teams take in anyway seriously and only one has it as their no.1 sport - unsurprisingly they are the top dog at it right now.

You're such a f**king bollix.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 03, 2016, 10:37:50 AM
Quote from: trileacman on July 03, 2016, 12:53:32 AM

You're such a f**king bollix.

What do you contend there?
Post by: The Stallion on July 03, 2016, 10:59:17 AM
Another borefest last night, Germany were really disappointing
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 03, 2016, 11:12:10 AM
Quote from: The Stallion on July 03, 2016, 10:59:17 AM
Another borefest last night, Germany were really disappointing

Fascinating game, Germany set up to specifically counteract and negate Italy which didn't lead for the most open game but the defending from Italy was of the highest level.

BBC are one of the greatest defensive partnerships the world has ever seen.
Post by: From the Bunker on July 03, 2016, 11:31:06 AM

Very good post Bomber!
Post by: The Stallion on July 03, 2016, 01:45:23 PM
Fascinating?  It was two poor enough sides not good enough to create chances. But because Italy were involved we are told it's a defensive masterclass and tactical genius, which is horseshit.

Post by: Il Bomber Destro on July 03, 2016, 01:57:45 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on July 03, 2016, 01:45:23 PM
Fascinating?  It was two poor enough sides not good enough to create chances. But because Italy were involved we are told it's a defensive masterclass and tactical genius, which is horseshit.

You sound like a lad who has never played in an organised game of football in your life so you probably wouldn't appreciate what it took for Italy to survive that last night. They went out on their shields last night and the rest of the tournament will be poorer without them.

Post by: ciaraa on July 03, 2016, 02:04:06 PM
Quote from: theskull1 on July 02, 2016, 10:31:29 AM
A lot of armchair fans griping here

Why not get off your holes and follow you're local team rather than remain enslaved by the TV

thats pretty much what irish 'sports fans' are. was over for the swedish match in paris and met some malmo lads who knew more about the local game here than any off the arsenal/man utd/liverpool etc boys in green. its actually embarrassing.
Post by: The Stallion on July 03, 2016, 10:46:53 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on July 03, 2016, 01:57:45 PM
Quote from: The Stallion on July 03, 2016, 01:45:23 PM

You sound like a lad who has never played in an organised game of football in your life so you probably wouldn't appreciate what it took for Italy to survive that last night. They went out on their shields last night and the rest of the tournament will be poorer without them.

I'd be very confident I've played soccer to a higher level than you, not that it's in any way relevant to the point I made.
Post by: seafoid on July 04, 2016, 07:18:47 AM

Brady ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckE5_t0uu9I
Post by: Billys Boots on July 04, 2016, 09:17:07 AM
Well there were loads of goals, shots and chances in France v Iceland, but the Italy-Germany game was much better, in my opinion. 
Post by: sligoman2 on July 04, 2016, 07:11:52 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on July 04, 2016, 09:17:07 AM
Well there were loads of goals, shots and chances in France v Iceland, but the Italy-Germany game was much better, in my opinion.

Yeah a one all bore fest was better than a 7 goal entertaining game?  You just can't be serious
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on July 04, 2016, 07:55:56 PM
Yesterday's game was over after twenty minutes..only thing entertaining thereafter was the hottiecam
Post by: From the Bunker on July 04, 2016, 08:11:57 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on July 04, 2016, 07:55:56 PM
Yesterday's game was over after twenty minutes..only thing entertaining thereafter was the hottiecam

Yeah the game in Killarney was not entertaining!  :P