GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Smurfy123 on June 19, 2016, 06:29:09 PM

Title: Down v Longford
Post by: Smurfy123 on June 19, 2016, 06:29:09 PM
This is a must win game for us
I expect us to pick up our first win in 14 months
Down to win by 6+
Title: Re: Down v Longford
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 19, 2016, 10:12:08 PM
Looking forward to the day out in Newry.

I won't be putting on any wagers. But if there is a 'shock' to be had next weekend it will be here, methinks!
Post by: Smurfy123 on June 19, 2016, 10:19:11 PM
What's the word about Longford shamrock?

We have brought in a few new players but may not start

I think our lads will be hurting from the Monaghan game and hopefully take it out on Longford
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 19, 2016, 10:26:37 PM
Haven't heard any news from the camp, good, bad nor indifferent.

Not aware of any injuries or defections so I would expect more or less the same side that lost to Offaly.

Down may be too strong around the middle for us but if our forwards click (and if Brian Kavanagh gets his sense of direction back) then we are in with a wee shout!
Post by: SHEEDY on June 19, 2016, 10:45:17 PM
Defeat to longford signalled the end of Pete McGrath's reign, hopefully we can win with a couple of points to spare but I wouldn't be overly confident. Longford a definite banana skin for a Down side lacking in confidence.
Post by: Rossfan on June 19, 2016, 11:53:56 PM
Longford camp said to be going ho and raring to go.
Down to join Armagh in the mighty fallen in June brigade.
Post by: wobbller on June 20, 2016, 11:02:46 PM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on June 19, 2016, 06:29:09 PM
This is a must win game for us
I expect us to pick up our first win in 14 months
Down to win by 6+
See it now.You probably have 11 right.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 22, 2016, 12:19:00 PM

An Dún v Longford
This Saturday 2pm

A Chara

Admission Prices for the Qualifier on Saturday are as follows :

Adults €20.00/ £16.00

STUDENTS /OAP ( on production of valid ID) €10.00 / £8.00

Under 16s €5.00/£4.00

Please Share this with your members.

Is Mise

Seán Óg Mac an tSaoir
Post by: snoopdog on June 22, 2016, 12:51:15 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 22, 2016, 12:19:00 PM

An Dún v Longford
This Saturday 2pm

A Chara

Adults €20.00/ £16.00

Under 16s €5.00/£4.00

Is Mise

Seán Óg Mac an tSaoir
[/quoteI
suppose it's same price for terrace as it is for stand? 
F##king rip off merchants.
Can you buy qualifier tickets in supervalu cheaper?
Post by: 5 Sams on June 22, 2016, 02:12:58 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 22, 2016, 12:51:15 PM

An Dún v Longford
This Saturday 2pm

A Chara

Adults €20.00/ £16.00

Under 16s €5.00/£4.00

Is Mise

Seán Óg Mac an tSaoir
[/quoteI

Yep as far as I know. I thought a tenner would have been plenty for a game like this.
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on June 22, 2016, 02:29:59 PM
And sure if things aren't going well towards the final whistle for either party stick on more than the legal entitlement of subs and get a rematch.. :o
Post by: The Down Way on June 22, 2016, 07:47:19 PM
€20 for a qualifier is an absolute joke, especially when you take into account that we had to pay €35 and make two trips to Clones for the minor and senior game, admittedly we did get a free programme at the minor game.

Speaking of the minor game, Monaghan offered to play the game in Inniskeen, which would have been a lot handier than Clones for all concerned, except our county secretary. He thought the team needed the experience of playing in Clones. That worked out well, didn't it Sean.

Sure it's The Down Way  ;D
Post by: SHEEDY on June 22, 2016, 09:01:54 PM

An Dún v Longford
This Saturday 2pm

A Chara

Adults €20.00/ £16.00

Under 16s €5.00/£4.00

Is Mise

Seán Óg Mac an tSaoir

that is a complete rip off.
Post by: snoopdog on June 22, 2016, 11:25:39 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 22, 2016, 09:01:54 PM

An Dún v Longford
This Saturday 2pm

A Chara

Adults €20.00/ £16.00

Under 16s €5.00/£4.00

Is Mise

Seán Óg Mac an tSaoir

that is a complete rip off.

Maybe we should vote with our feet.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 22, 2016, 11:31:51 PM
In fairness lads this isn't a Down decision re the tickets prices..its across the board....far too expensive. The GAA needs to get a reality check. A tenner would have been loads for this game. Wise up HQ.
Post by: The Down Way on June 24, 2016, 10:45:30 AM
All things considered that isn't a bad exchange rate.
Post by: wobbller on June 24, 2016, 10:59:39 AM
Quote from: The Down Way on June 22, 2016, 07:47:19 PM
€20 for a qualifier is an absolute joke, especially when you take into account that we had to pay €35 and make two trips to Clones for the minor and senior game, admittedly we did get a free programme at the minor game.

Speaking of the minor game, Monaghan offered to play the game in Inniskeen, which would have been a lot handier than Clones for all concerned, except our county secretary. He thought the team needed the experience of playing in Clones. That worked out well, didn't it Sean.

Sure it's The Down Way  ;D
Oh ye of this great new moniker,I don't believe that about the Minor game.
Post by: snoopdog on June 24, 2016, 12:31:27 PM
Should longford bring their passports after this mornings news >:(
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 24, 2016, 12:43:54 PM
Quote from: snoopdog on June 24, 2016, 12:31:27 PM
Should longford bring their passports after this mornings news >:(

Jesus - be quiet about that. When I put something similar on Twitter when the draw was made as a joke I got pulled up on it from some Shinnerbot.

By the time of thrown in the starving and impoverished people of Newry will gaze on us with our pockets full of euro.......euuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuro.

Post by: Smurfy123 on June 24, 2016, 01:07:35 PM
Shamrock Shore do u give Longford any hope?

From what I hear it will be a big ask if use come within 5 points

Offaly beat use by 8
WMeath beat Offally by 1
We hammered WMeath by 12
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 24, 2016, 01:19:54 PM
Quote from: Smurfy123 on June 24, 2016, 01:07:35 PM
Shamrock Shore do u give Longford any hope?

Honestly?

Not really.

But then again I went to Derry 2 years ago with less hope and look what happened.

But Down are less 'windy' than Derry and should have enough talent and class to get over this.
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 24, 2016, 02:05:55 PM
Smurfy's confidence appear to be based on a friendly result rather than the hard evidence of the National League when we lost every game, admittedly in D1, and most Down fans are fearful of another relegation to D3 in the spring. Longford only missed out on promotion to D2 by scoring difference, so, when our championship display against Monaghan is also taken into account, there is unlikely to be any huge gulf in Newry tomorrow.

The team we have named reflects the lack of depth in our squad, as McKibben, Carr, Murphy and Barry O'Hagan are all starting again after struggling in Clones. Perhaps they will benefit from a second chance, and Mallon was overdue his opportunity as well.
Reid's debut was largely inevitable in the circumstances, so there will at least be a different approach to the kick-outs and we can only hope that the wider game plan functions much more effectively than the last day.
Post by: Leftmidfield on June 24, 2016, 02:21:35 PM
The team we have named reflects the lack of depth in our squad, as McKibben, Carr, Murphy and Barry O'Hagan are all starting again

Is the team named ? What is it ?
Post by: wobbller on June 24, 2016, 05:40:14 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on June 24, 2016, 02:05:55 PM
Smurfy's confidence appear to be based on a friendly result rather than the hard evidence of the National League when we lost every game, admittedly in D1, and most Down fans are fearful of another relegation to D3 in the spring. Longford only missed out on promotion to D2 by scoring difference, so, when our championship display against Monaghan is also taken into account, there is unlikely to be any huge gulf in Newry tomorrow.

The team we have named reflects the lack of depth in our squad, as McKibben, Carr, Murphy and Barry O'Hagan are all starting again after struggling in Clones. Perhaps they will benefit from a second chance, and Mallon was overdue his opportunity as well.
Reid's debut was largely inevitable in the circumstances, so there will at least be a different approach to the kick-outs and we can only hope that the wider game plan functions much more effectively than the last day.
MR,can you list the team and subs?
Post by: 5 Sams on June 24, 2016, 10:42:20 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 22, 2016, 02:12:58 PM

An Dún v Longford
This Saturday 2pm

A Chara

Adults €20.00/ £16.00

Under 16s €5.00/£4.00

Is Mise

Seán Óg Mac an tSaoir
[/quoteI

Yep as far as I know. I thought a tenner would have been plenty for a game like this.

No discount in Supervalue lads...the GAA really are taking the piss here....£16 is too much for this game.
Post by: snoopdog on June 24, 2016, 10:44:16 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 24, 2016, 10:42:20 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on June 22, 2016, 02:12:58 PM

An Dún v Longford
This Saturday 2pm

A Chara

Adults €20.00/ £16.00

Under 16s €5.00/£4.00

Is Mise

Seán Óg Mac an tSaoir
[/quoteI

No discount in Supervalue lads...the GAA really are taking the piss here....£16 is too much for this game.

A total piss take alright.
Post by: Leftmidfield on June 24, 2016, 11:17:40 PM
Quote from: wobbller on June 24, 2016, 05:40:14 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on June 24, 2016, 02:05:55 PM

MR,can you list the team and subs?

So what is the team and subs for tomorrow ?
Post by: The Down Way on June 24, 2016, 11:37:32 PM
Down (SFC v Longford): Marc Reid; Conaill McGovern, Gerard McGovern, Darren O'Hagan; David McKibbin, Aidan Carr, Darragh O'Hanlon; Peter Turley, Kevin McKernan; Ryan Mallon, Mark Poland, Joe Murphy; Conor Maginn, Donal O'Hare, Barry O'Hagan.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 25, 2016, 03:22:07 PM
63 mins gone Down 3-9 Longford 0-18
Post by: Blowitupref on June 25, 2016, 03:31:16 PM
Down 3-11 longford 0-20 one minute of normal time to play.
Post by: Blowitupref on June 25, 2016, 03:35:18 PM
FT Down 3-12 Longford 0-21. Extra time to be played.
Post by: Qwerty28 on June 25, 2016, 03:35:33 PM
extra time....
Post by: Rossfan on June 25, 2016, 03:36:06 PM
Late late equaliser.
Extra time.
Post by: thebuzz on June 25, 2016, 03:36:18 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 25, 2016, 03:35:18 PM

Sounds like a great game for the neutral.
Post by: BennyCake on June 25, 2016, 03:41:01 PM
ET in Newry (Special appearance).
Post by: Hound on June 25, 2016, 03:42:52 PM
Gotta love the qualifiers. Fantastic system.
According to the reports, tremendous character show by both sides given the ebbs and flows of the game, both looked down and out at different stages and clawed their way back.
Post by: Rossfan on June 25, 2016, 04:03:18 PM
1-23 to 3-16 at ET half time.
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2016, 04:09:23 PM
Quote from: Hound on June 25, 2016, 03:42:52 PM
Gotta love the qualifiers. Fantastic system.
According to the reports, tremendous character show by both sides given the ebbs and flows of the game, both looked down and out at different stages and clawed their way back.

The Qualifiers are a fùcking joke show. Not that anyone in Dublin will ever learn that..
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 25, 2016, 04:16:09 PM
Lomgford stronger.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2016, 04:26:33 PM
Hooray.

Standing on the sacred soil of Pairc Esler typing this a very happy Larry

Tremendous game. More anon  ;D
Post by: sligoman2 on June 25, 2016, 04:30:38 PM
Well done to longford.
Post by: giveballaghback on June 25, 2016, 04:31:53 PM
How are the qualifiers a joke show syf, that win is huge for Longford and is a sign of progress for them. It is also confirmation for Down [if they needed it] that things have to change and change fast or they will end up in div 4.
Those lessons cannot be learned sitting at home waiting for next springs nfl to start.
Post by: skeog on June 25, 2016, 04:46:09 PM
qualifiers need results like today well done longford  on your victory
Post by: armaghniac on June 25, 2016, 04:48:52 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2016, 04:26:33 PM
Hooray.

I hope you are in the Armagh half.

Once again Down out before Armagh.
Post by: Syferus on June 25, 2016, 04:54:29 PM
The season of woe for Down is complete now. Zero wins. Zero draws.
Post by: BennyCake on June 25, 2016, 04:56:01 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2016, 04:26:33 PM
Hooray.

So you're a very happy Larry? Doesn't have the same ring to it.
Post by: Cunny Funt on June 25, 2016, 04:56:39 PM
Well done to Longford they really love the qualifiers. As for Down 4-46 conceded in two championship games shocking stuff from a once great team.
Post by: seafoid on June 25, 2016, 05:05:22 PM
Bad championship so far for D1 with Down out and Mayo and Cork bet.
Post by: Jinxy on June 25, 2016, 05:10:14 PM
A great victory for Leinster football.
Post by: Qwerty28 on June 25, 2016, 05:27:52 PM
Maybe a home game in Mullingar to look forward to  >:(   

Delighted for the lads and management, thought they'd Longforded it by conceding very  late equaliser but fair play for them pushing on again in extra time and great to see ex London captain Seamus Hannon get an important goal  ;D
Post by: seafoid on June 25, 2016, 05:47:17 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 25, 2016, 05:10:14 PM
A great victory for Leinster football.
Leinster football is official shadow boxer to Dublin and Indiana's thousand year gah reich.
Post by: 5 Sams on June 25, 2016, 05:48:23 PM
Well done Longford. Best team won. We simply weren't good enough.
Post by: Fuzzman on June 25, 2016, 07:52:31 PM
Met two Longford lads out in Lille and they said they hadn't much hope against Down. I said Down are at an all time low like Armagh and Derry and don't be too surprised should they win. They thought I was mad.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2016, 08:14:55 PM
It was a great win. We got tonnes of possession in the first half but had some poor wides. We gifted Down 2 of their goals as well.

Should have won it in nor,al time, cud have lost it as well.

Highly entertaining game with some good cavalier football played by both sides.

Two sour notes. One was the strong smell of slurry wafting over us. The second was an aul Down rip behind me who dissed us constantly "cmon it's only fuggin Longford" to criticising a nice Down man who shook my hand at the end with "whadda fug ya shaking his hand for".

Some bitch
Post by: Minus15 on June 25, 2016, 08:56:34 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 25, 2016, 08:14:55 PM
It was a great win. We got tonnes of possession in the first half but had some poor wides. We gifted Down 2 of their goals as well.

Two sour notes. One was the strong smell of slurry wafting over us. The second was an aul Down rip behind me who dissed us constantly "cmon it's only fuggin Longford" to criticising a nice Down man who shook my hand at the end with "whadda fug ya shaking his hand for".

Some bitch

One of the worst things about attending Down home games. Always some c*** sitting in the vicinity who knows it all and you would never see them anywhere else. I wonder why these people attend matches when all they do is abuse the players.
Post by: Champion The Wonder Horse on June 25, 2016, 09:13:10 PM
Quote from: thebuzz on June 25, 2016, 03:36:18 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on June 25, 2016, 03:35:18 PM

Sounds like a great game for the neutral.

It certainly was.

Longford were excellent in the first half and a ten point lead wouldn't have flattered them. Down hit two goals early in the second half and could have had another two. When they went three points up,  you felt they would push on and win, but credit to Longford in coming to back to lead. Late, but obvious free to equalise, and with Longford losing Michael Brady, again Down had the momentum to close out the game. But in reality, they never looked like winning in extra time and Longford deserved their win.
Mickey Quinn is some footballer and he had a great game today. He got excellent support from the other Brady, McEllgot, Masterson, McGivney and Robbie Smyth. I was very impressed with Donal O'Hare, frees were excellent and he was better in open play than I've seen him in the past. Turley, as always, put in some shift, Mallon and Maginn also v good. Longford were very economical with their knockouts, I don't think they lost one in the first half.
Some other general observations. SS is right about the slurry smell. The Longford accent isn't bad for an ROI one. They weren't charging children in today; I went expecting to pay for my wee lad, but they let him in free. I didn't know whether to pay in sterling or euro - I didn't want to delve into my holiday stash so eventually went the sterling. Lastly, Mayo sent a representative from their management team to the game.
Post by: laoislad on June 25, 2016, 09:25:58 PM

Some bitch
You're living in South Dublin too long!!
Post by: Over the Bar on June 25, 2016, 09:28:10 PM
Down are an embarrassment to their province at present.  Along with Armagh, describing both as dung would be an insult to organic fertilizer.
Post by: grounded on June 25, 2016, 09:42:50 PM

Some bitch

There is always one arsehole, at least you knew where the smell of shite was coming from!  Best team won and good luck in the qualifiers. 
        P.s. The smell was from the meat factory opposite the ground!
Post by: Orior on June 25, 2016, 10:01:16 PM
Quote from: Minus15 on June 25, 2016, 08:56:34 PM

Some bitch

One of the worst things about attending Down home games. Always some c*** sitting in the vicinity who knows it all and you would never see them anywhere else. I wonder why these people attend matches when all they do is abuse the players.

Did he look like be could be a GAA Board poster?
Post by: The Down Way on June 26, 2016, 10:26:24 AM
Well done Longford, best team won. Of that there is no doubt. Best of luck in the next round.
Post by: The Insider on June 26, 2016, 01:23:46 PM
Hopefully we can get Cork in the draw in the morning. Pearse Park could host a Cork crowd as only their die hard supporters will travel as even thought their about as low in confidence as Down at the minute we'll be still the underdog . Will have to travel to all the other potential counties .
Post by: TheClutch on June 27, 2016, 11:25:25 AM
Does any one have any links to video higlights of the game?
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 27, 2016, 11:57:27 AM
The Sunday Game does not go on the RTE Player, so getting to see the brief coverage of the game in Newry may prove difficult. However, you will at least be spared having to listen to Pat Spillane's contribution. He ignored all the valid points which could be made about the state of Down football and instead said we should be doing better because, like Antrim, we are in the top four counties in Ireland in terms of overall population. The basic facts of life in a divided society did not seem to occur to him, but perhaps one day he will take a trip around some of our main urban centres in east Belfast, Dundonald, Comber, Newtownards and Bangor and assess the position of the GAA there at first hand.
Post by: vallankumous on June 27, 2016, 12:17:36 PM
Quote from: Mourne Rover on June 27, 2016, 11:57:27 AM
The Sunday Game does not go on the RTE Player, so getting to see the brief coverage of the game in Newry may prove difficult. However, you will at least be spared having to listen to Pat Spillane's contribution. He ignored all the valid points which could be made about the state of Down football and instead said we should be doing better because, like Antrim, we are in the top four counties in Ireland in terms of overall population. The basic facts of life in a divided society did not seem to occur to him, but perhaps one day he will take a trip around some of our main urban centres in east Belfast, Dundonald, Comber, Newtownards and Bangor and assess the position of the GAA there at first hand.

It does, i'm watching it now. Don and Mon first now WM and Kildare. I'm sure the other games are coming up.
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 27, 2016, 12:45:26 PM
The RTE  Player website lists the Sunday Game Extras but not the main programme. There could be an issue about all Ireland availability but it should be available through a GAAGO subscription.
Post by: vallankumous on June 27, 2016, 12:46:05 PM
Highlights 45 mins in