GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: SamFever on June 07, 2016, 10:18:57 AM

Title: Down Football-where to now.....?
Post by: SamFever on June 07, 2016, 10:18:57 AM
  Doesn't seem to be any sign of a halt in the free-fall that is occurring in Down Football.Any thoughts from the broader
Gaa Board community?
Title: Re: Down Football-where to now.....?
Post by: rrhf on June 07, 2016, 10:20:33 AM
Get Pete Mc Grath back in and listen to him. Raise more money and do the painstaking work others are doing. 
Post by: FermGael on June 07, 2016, 10:22:17 AM
Quote from: rrhf on June 07, 2016, 10:20:33 AM
Get Pete Mc Grath back in and listen to him. Raise more money and do the painstaking work others are doing. 

Sure he was run.
He's yesterdays man.
Wouldn't have a notion now with all this modern stuff
Post by: general_lee on June 07, 2016, 10:27:22 AM
Quote from: SamFever on June 07, 2016, 10:18:57 AM
  Doesn't seem to be any sign of a halt in the free-fall that is occurring in Down Football.Any thoughts from the broader
Gaa Board community?
Similar story to Armagh. Club scene isnt what it once was, schools aren't as strong, best players don't want to play for the county team... similar over-reaction from fans who fail to realise the level at which their team currently is at
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 07, 2016, 10:32:44 AM
Gaa Board community?

What the hell are you doin man?
Get this pulled from the main forum and back to the local one.
Its bad enough being shite but we don't need to be opening it up for the rest to discuss.
There was a distinctive 'Orange' flavour in here this last 10days and hnow youre gonna swith the focus onto us!!???
Are you wise in the head.
Post by: yellowcard on June 07, 2016, 10:36:11 AM
McCorrys biggest fault was getting promoted to division one. Was then sacked after one poor result and they haven't won a match since. They had a decent manager and got rid of him, they seem to have big problems at county board level and how they treat their managers. If they shafted Pete McGrath before they are capable of shafting anybody.
Post by: SamFever on June 07, 2016, 11:02:13 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on June 07, 2016, 10:32:44 AM
Gaa Board community?

What the hell are you doin man?
Get this pulled from the main forum and back to the local one.
Its bad enough being shite but we don't need to be opening it up for the rest to discuss.
There was a distinctive 'Orange' flavour in here this last 10days and hnow youre gonna swith the focus onto us!!???
Are you wise in the head.
If the Main Board has Joe Brolly,Oisin McConville.Emotional Moments in the GAA and other such topics,surely the problems in Down should be free for all to talk about.It's not as if us Down people are immune from debate.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 07, 2016, 11:09:23 AM
Debate yes but keep it in-house perhaps?
You think every other county in Ireland going through a rough patch should have a thread dedicated to their woes on the main forum?
I despair.
Post by: T Fearon on June 07, 2016, 11:11:08 AM
You missed your big chance.George Osborne was in Warrenpoint yesterday.He said in the event of a Brexit Down GAA teams won't be able to travel to Clones.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on June 07, 2016, 11:20:42 AM
Did he?

Right.

George Osborne you say?
In Warrenpoint?

Amazing.
Post by: Samforever on June 07, 2016, 11:43:52 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 07, 2016, 11:11:08 AM
You missed your big chance.George Osborne was in Warrenpoint yesterday.He said in the event of a Brexit Down GAA teams won't be able to travel to Clones.
Don't concern yourself with a Brexit. You seemed to have caused enough furore with Jsmies CREXIT
Post by: T Fearon on June 07, 2016, 11:47:22 AM
I see Down had a Trioexit last week!.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on June 07, 2016, 12:05:29 PM
Just for the Down lads.

Last time ye played us in the AIQs in Newry ye got to the All Ireland final.

Just saying, like.
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 07, 2016, 12:19:25 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on June 07, 2016, 12:05:29 PM
Just for the Down lads.

Last time ye played us in the AIQs in Newry ye got to the All Ireland final.

Just saying, like.

It must be your turn this year then.
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 07, 2016, 12:38:50 PM
No county can come from nowhere quicker, been proved a few times now.

Post by: seafoid on June 07, 2016, 01:02:59 PM
It is hard to know what to suggest for teams that find themselves a long way from their historic peak . Munster rugby is in a similar situation, as are Meath and Galway. Say the top six are the Dubs, Kerry, tyrone, Mayo, Monaghan, Donegal. The last 4 have a sum total of 5 all Irelands in the last 40 years.  If they can get close to the top surely Down can again

For me the bigger question is whether or not Tyrone take over as Ulster kingpins.
Post by: SamFever on June 28, 2016, 09:18:49 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on June 07, 2016, 12:38:50 PM
No county can come from nowhere quicker, been proved a few times now.
Well,here we are still in June and no more County games for Down until January.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 28, 2016, 10:44:46 AM
without good U16, minor and U21 teams then a county is going nowhere, for a reasonable length of time
Post by: illdecide on June 28, 2016, 12:37:20 PM
The captain(s) sailing the sinking ship seems to be the problem and until them ********* (insert your own phrase) are removed from your County nothing will change. Down had a good man (Armagh man too) running the team and half of your County voted to have him removed (and i include your clubs in that vote), i bet it would be a different vote now if it was cast.

Down are not very good at present but if they had all the players available to them togged out for the County i'd say they'd hold their own against any other team out of the top 6 in Ireland.

As an Armagh man i can't criticise too much as we're going through a lean spell too and doesn't look like improving any time soon the only difference is our County Board are backing the manager and the players want to play for him (no matter what else you hear out there) there will always be a few who don't want to commit to levels required for County Football...sh*t happens. Get over it.
Post by: Farrandeelin on June 28, 2016, 01:58:41 PM
What I cannot understand is how far Down have fallen since 2010. I was of the opinion that that team was young and had time on its side. Might have been wrong though.
Post by: babarino on June 28, 2016, 04:15:34 PM
There's no quick fix for Down football even if the style of footballer is very good and the clubs of a high standard. A few things strike me about them from observing them over the years:
Post by: ck on June 28, 2016, 05:28:07 PM
Quote from: babarino on June 28, 2016, 04:15:34 PM
There's no quick fix for Down football even if the style of footballer is very good and the clubs of a high standard. A few things strike me about them from observing them over the years:

• Expectations are very high because of a very proud history. Morale plummets with a run of bad results.
  • Consequently the turnover of managers and players is high. Some of Down's best players don't want to play - Conor Laverty being the obvious example.
  • There isn't a centre of excellence - this is a given for any county with aspirations to be in the top tier. The county board needs to get its act together.

Not at all. This "no centre of excellence" line is thrown out there as a reason for lack of success. It's nonsense. Most counties have average facilities at best. I don't know much about Down football but I do know they have tradition and pedigree therefore should have good club structures in place. Sometimes this can breed arrogance and contempt.
I have no doubt the good people of Down will turn it around but it'll take time and hard graft.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 28, 2016, 05:53:30 PM
I noticed a down paper in at work and seen Downpatrick are paling in division 2 against loughlinisland? How the hell a place the size of downpatrick is playing in div 2, is that not half the problem, the big club teams are not what they were
Post by: east down gael on June 28, 2016, 06:22:56 PM
It's a big part of the problem.The large population bases in the county arn't pulling their weight in terms of providing county standard players.Its not just downpatrick but also south belfast(Carryduff and Bredagh),but most alarmingly newry.
Post by: babarino on June 28, 2016, 07:18:27 PM
Quote from: east down gael on June 28, 2016, 06:22:56 PM
It's a big part of the problem.The large population bases in the county arn't pulling their weight in terms of providing county standard players.Its not just downpatrick but also south belfast(Carryduff and Bredagh),but most alarmingly newry.

Is Downpatrick considered a big club in Down? It's the rural clubs that have provided the most talent; same as in most of Ulster.

Newry's funny in that it's divided between Down and Armagh. Bosco seem to produce good teams at underage but lose them at 18-21.

Don't know much about Bredagh and Carryduff - have these 2 clubs not gained big spike in players / members in the last few years and haven't hit senior yet?
Post by: babarino on June 28, 2016, 07:22:53 PM
Quote from: ck on June 28, 2016, 05:28:07 PM
Most counties have average facilities at best. I don't know much about Down football but I do know they have tradition and pedigree therefore should have good club structures in place. Sometimes this can breed arrogance and contempt.
I have no doubt the good people of Down will turn it around but it'll take time and hard graft.

Most counties are average at best. Tradition, pedigree, hard graft - dream on...
Post by: yellowcard on June 28, 2016, 07:26:21 PM
McCorry done a very good job last year and had one bad result away to Wexford then was effectively hounded out. Burns has failed to win a match all season and there is nowhere near the same level of outcry. Hypocrisy at its finest, Down have major problems. It doesn't help matters  prominent ex players are hyper critical in the press pushing their own personal agendas.
Post by: Blue Island on June 28, 2016, 08:28:39 PM
Quote from: babarino on June 28, 2016, 07:18:27 PM
Quote from: east down gael on June 28, 2016, 06:22:56 PM

Is Downpatrick considered a big club in Down? It's the rural clubs that have provided the most talent; same as in most of Ulster.

Newry's funny in that it's divided between Down and Armagh. Bosco seem to produce good teams at underage but lose them at 18-21.

Don't know much about Bredagh and Carryduff - have these 2 clubs not gained big spike in players / members in the last few years and haven't hit senior yet?

Downpatrick is a strange club in that regard. When they do come to the fore they usually come very strong and then revert back to bottom of division one or division two almost as quickly. In the seventies they won a few championships then reverted back to division two for most of the eighties. In the early nineties they had a great team and should probably have won an Ulster. Since then they have spent a good deal of time in division two.

What I would say is that when Down was doing well in the early nineties they had the usual compliment from South Down, but had quite a number from Carryduff and Downpatrick. Of the starting fifteen in 91, five came from these two clubs and four in 94. We are not getting the stars from these clubs that we once were and whilst that is far from being the only problem in Down, it doesn't help.
Post by: A man from Down on June 29, 2016, 10:44:49 AM
Just a reminder that there were at least 4 Downpatrick men on the panel on Saturday.

At present there are about 7 soccer teams in Downpatrick? That's nearly impossible for one Gaa club to compete with. A point was made that people in "Downpatrick were not pulling their weight" which is bollocks. I'm not in anyway associated with the RGU but I do know like most clubs in the county that there is much work going on at underage (an All Ireland was won last weekend) but whilst in the likes of Kilcoo, Clonduff or Burren for talksake there are young men sitting in the dugout as subs on a Friday night chomping at the bit to come on and play a part in Downpatrick a young sub may be thinking that its a better idea to play soccer on a Saturday instead were getting a full 90 minutes of playing and enjoyment is highly likely.

As someone from a neighbouring club that is only my opinion btw as we have had a similar problem and I honestly don't know what numbers the RGU are getting turning out at senior level but one thing for sure is that the soccer saturation in and around the town does have an effect. I imagine its similar in Newry too, the overlap in soccer and GAA seasons too is getting bigger now due to how all sports are becoming more organised. The soccer season runs until the end of May and Pre-season seems to start again in late July.

Post by: illdecide on June 29, 2016, 11:07:06 AM
We all have that problem, Lurgan is actually worse in that we have 4 GAA clubs in the town and another 3 on the outskirts of the town. Factor in about 7-8 soccer teams too and Sean Tracy's hurling club (take that), it's no secret the GAA clubs in Lurgan are not doing great and this may well be a factor but it's been happening around the town for 30 years...
Post by: Dire Ear on June 29, 2016, 11:41:04 AM
Tradition ,  pedigree... doesn't wash any more.  Hard work from youth up, does.
Post by: Mourne Rover on June 29, 2016, 12:31:09 PM
There can be no doubt that the present Down squad is the most limited for decades but attempting to put the blame on `clubs not pulling their weight' entirely misses the point. While Downpatrick were suggested as an offender by a couple of posters, they actually had three representatives playing at different stages on Saturday (including Dee Turley, now based in Meath), which was more than anyone other than Burren.

The contributor who pointed the finger at Bredagh and Carryduff might also look at the list of unused subs for the Longford game. Davidson of Bredagh, the leading scorer in Down club football over the last couple of season, and McKeever of Carryduff, a promising young player who crucially has great pace, were both left sitting on the bench even throughout extra time when Down were falling apart.

While there are obviously problems in Newry, which may well require special attention, the GAA is not exactly thriving in many other large towns across Ireland. If we spend our time blaming individual clubs for the state of our county team, we are looking in the wrong direction.

Post by: east down gael on June 29, 2016, 01:28:16 PM
Think I may have been picked up wrong on my poor choice of words regarding downpatrick,Bredagh,Carryduff and newry in general.When I said not pulling their weight I didn't mean the clubs weren't doing good work at all.What I meant was in terms of large population bases there are few county players coming through from those areas.The reasons for this is what needs looked into.If Down as a county wish to be competing at the top level then these areas need to have their potential maximised.One problem is that outside of the newry clubs,none of the youngsters in downpatrick or south belfast are being exposed to mcrory football,therefore at a disadvantage when it comes to county minor selection,which leads on to under 21 and senior.Maybe the county board could do something to bridge this gap?
Post by: Blue Island on June 29, 2016, 03:30:39 PM
Quote from: A man from Down on June 29, 2016, 10:44:49 AM
Just a reminder that there were at least 4 Downpatrick men on the panel on Saturday.

That fact did not escape me, but I had referred to 'stars'. That is probably a little harsh on the present panel members but Downpatrick produced Conor and Gerard Deegan and Breen back in the nineties.  It is a quite a while since Downpatrick or Carryduff (Blaney etc) produced somewhat of that ilk.

I accept that other clubs are not producing player of top quality throughout the county, but we in East Down as a whole have been woefully inadequate in producing the players we once did. The 2010 team only had three East Down starters. I don't directly blame RGU at all and I have a high regard for the men running the club and the problems they have with soccer. Rather, I would would lament the general decline of standard in East Down.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 29, 2016, 03:42:26 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 29, 2016, 11:07:06 AM
We all have that problem, Lurgan is actually worse in that we have 4 GAA clubs in the town and another 3 on the outskirts of the town. Factor in about 7-8 soccer teams too and Sean Tracy's hurling club (take that), it's no secret the GAA clubs in Lurgan are not doing great and this may well be a factor but it's been happening around the town for 30 years...

Lurgan must have the most clubs per head for anywhere in Ulster! Could you ever see a situation where some of the Lurgan clubs merge? Even for the senior championship? I know Clan Eireann are doing big work and have big numbers but do other clubs in the town struggle in this regard?

*Sorry to hijack the thread lads*

In terms of successful clubs I think its wrong to assume towns should be constantly be supplying players to the county sides. In Derry we have struggled for years to get the larger towns supplying senior county players. The big rural clubs like Lavey, Bellaghy and Ballinderry dominated for years. Now you have the likes of Slaughtneil, Marafelt and Glen on the rise. Swings and roundabouts surely.
Post by: Lazer on June 29, 2016, 03:42:28 PM
I think part of the problem is the commitment required.

Training 4 nights a week in Newry, isn't feasible for many players outside of the immediate Newry area.

From 25 onwards people have other commitments such as work and relationships, and for someone from say Downpatrick to have to travel to Newry 3 nights a week to train, just isn't going to happen unless they are guaranteed a place.

Home from work at 6 - have to leave immediately to get to Newry for 7, train for 2 hours and then not home to 10pm, and then come match day, you spend 70 minutes on the bench - where is the motivation to stay with the County?
Post by: east down gael on June 29, 2016, 04:31:18 PM
All valid points Laser,and I'd say 75% of counties are struggling with the same issues. Is the time and effort worth it even if you are starting? If you have a good set up with the county team these things don't seem so bad. Boys in certain parts of Donegal would be glad of only having to drive the distance from downpatrick to newry.
    Walter, Derry would be a whole lot stronger if the largest population base was producing county players,i.e derry city. Coleraine have provided four players in recent years?surely the city could only help in this regard. It would take huge amounts of work,in Down,Derry and many other counties. But I think it's the only way to get back competing.
Post by: Walter Cronc on June 29, 2016, 04:46:54 PM
Soccer is still the king in Derry City EDG and always will be.

Steelstown are making great strides at underage - producing county minors but just need that conveyor belt to translate to seniors. I've no doubt it will but may take a few years. If we could tap into Derry City and Limavady it would be fantastic but not easily done. With McIver now director of football he is making this a real goal to get back competing. Coleraine (Portstewart) are a superb club in all codes. They have a real country ethos about them and some great people running the club.

What is this Burrenbridge carry on I read about?? Is that a centre of excellence that has gone wrong?
Post by: Mickey Linden on June 29, 2016, 05:04:12 PM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on June 29, 2016, 03:42:26 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 29, 2016, 11:07:06 AM

Lurgan must have the most clubs per head for anywhere in Ulster! Could you ever see a situation where some of the Lurgan clubs merge? Even for the senior championship? I know Clan Eireann are doing big work and have big numbers but do other clubs in the town struggle in this regard?

*Sorry to hijack the thread lads*

In terms of successful clubs I think its wrong to assume towns should be constantly be supplying players to the county sides. In Derry we have struggled for years to get the larger towns supplying senior county players. The big rural clubs like Lavey, Bellaghy and Ballinderry dominated for years. Now you have the likes of Slaughtneil, Marafelt and Glen on the rise. Swings and roundabouts surely.

From what I can see none of the clubs in Lurgan seem to struggle for numbers. I know the quality isnt what it was 20 years ago but most of the clubs seem to be making good strides at underage level. Your right it seems to be quite unique for a town in comparison to others in Ulster
Post by: SamFever on February 15, 2017, 05:27:24 PM
  Time to open this up again.
   Can we apply for help from Brussels as technically us Nordies are still in the EU?
Post by: seafoid on February 15, 2017, 05:43:59 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on June 29, 2016, 11:41:04 AM
When Down get motoring again pedigree will matter. Monaghan couldn't turn a good team into All Ireland medals . Down can.
Post by: rosnarun on February 15, 2017, 06:19:39 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 15, 2017, 05:43:59 PM
When Down get motoring again pedigree will matter. Monaghan couldn't turn a good team into All Ireland medals . Down can.
just like Galway I suppose
Post by: SamFever on February 15, 2017, 06:29:48 PM
A trip to the Vet may be required to establish where this pedigree has gone?
Post by: T Fearon on February 15, 2017, 06:41:55 PM
Sadly Down V Armagh in this summer's championship has as much appeal as a Fermanagh V Antrim clash ten years ago.
Post by: mcklatchee on February 15, 2017, 07:32:21 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 15, 2017, 06:41:55 PM
Sadly Down V Armagh in this summer's championship has as much appeal as a Fermanagh V Antrim clash ten years ago.

Nonsense. It may not have the quality but it has the appeal
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 15, 2017, 07:35:30 PM
It seems that Down have to find the keys to the motor first.
Post by: Orior on February 15, 2017, 08:22:58 PM

This will be a full house with each team thinking it could kick-start a summer.
Post by: OgraAnDun on February 15, 2017, 08:29:05 PM
Quote from: Orior on February 15, 2017, 08:22:58 PM

Won't be a cow milked in half the country for a fortnight if we win our first game since the league in 2015.
Post by: imagine on February 16, 2017, 08:03:55 AM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on February 15, 2017, 08:29:05 PM

Won't be a cow milked in half the country for a fortnight if we win our first game since the league in 2015.
You're probably right in this statement as the other half or 3/4's are urban towns with not much in the way of GAA.We're at a low ebb in Down and if we get to Div 3 the google maps will have to be used for a visits to unfamiliar venues.
Post by: OgraAnDun on February 16, 2017, 09:49:22 AM
Quote from: imagine on February 16, 2017, 08:03:55 AM

You're probably right in this statement as the other half or 3/4's are urban towns with not much in the way of GAA.We're at a low ebb in Down and if we get to Div 3 the google maps will have to be used for a visits to unfamiliar venues.

I meant that the only thing the other half of the county has in common with the GAA is that a pre-match parade is a bit of a march. But you're right, it's more like 25% of the county (or less) that care.
Post by: illdecide on February 16, 2017, 10:53:39 AM
Looking in from the outside there is clearly a problem at County Board level in Down, Jim McCorry was shafted and was probably the best manager u men had for a while (i know the clubs voted poorly for him) and now it seems Burns is walking the plank and is on a hiding to nothing.
Don't know what the rift is with Kilkoo (if any) but in Armagh the Crossmaglen topic was always getting cast up on why there were not more players representing the County. Maybe this is a common thing with successful club teams in their own Counties (I dunno TBH), but Kilkoo aside there are clearly a lot of good players available in Down who don't want to play inter county and only they can answer why?

As for the appeal of the game in the summer...can't wait for it. Both teams won't win anything this year but the feeling of walking out of Newry having slayed your enemy is priceless and the losing fans walking past you calling the Ref a cheating hoor and calling their own players useless bastids...Class :)
Post by: Captain Obvious on February 16, 2017, 02:01:55 PM
Quote from: imagine on February 16, 2017, 08:03:55 AM

Down were in division three in 2009 and reached the All Ireland final in 2010. They will hardly repeat the same trick in 2019?
Post by: Targetman on February 16, 2017, 09:53:16 PM
It's the only thing we have to look forward to,giving Armagh a hiding come championship!!
Post by: RedHandTom on February 21, 2017, 10:37:00 PM
How does Kieran McGeeney dodge the same level of criticism as that directed at Eamon Burns when the fact is that Armagh are performing even worse than Down over the past few years.
Post by: Targetman on February 21, 2017, 11:05:41 PM
Well McGeeney has had his critics maybe not to the same extent as Burns but the facts are both teams are so far of the top tier its unreal, Burns was a great player in a very successful team in the early 90's but that doesn't guarantee he's capable of managing at inter county level and unfortunately this seems to be the case, strange team selection added to an obvious lack of a game plan leaves a lot of Down supporters wondering how or when are things going to change?
Post by: JimStynes on February 22, 2017, 07:19:13 AM
What has happened the Down schools football? It's still decent but no where near the level it used to be.
Post by: naka on February 22, 2017, 07:57:20 AM
Quote from: Targetman on February 16, 2017, 09:53:16 PM
It's the only thing we have to look forward to,giving Armagh a hiding come championship!!
Tbf you might be right
Because Armagh are crap as well
Post by: Brick Tamlin on February 22, 2017, 09:25:15 AM
Armagh are nowhere near as crap as Down presently.
Post by: Walter Cronc on February 22, 2017, 11:28:39 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 22, 2017, 07:19:13 AM
What has happened the Down schools football? It's still decent but no where near the level it used to be.

Did Colmans/Abbey not always heavily rely on Armagh men?? Coming from as far away as Lurgan back in the day. Think more lads now at St Ronans Lurgan and St Pauls Bessbrook. Think Colmans can win it this year but if you look at their record bar the 2 in a row Hogans, at all levels its been pretty poor by their standards.
Post by: snoopdog on February 22, 2017, 11:44:53 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on February 22, 2017, 11:28:39 AM
Quote from: JimStynes on February 22, 2017, 07:19:13 AM

Did Colmans/Abbey not always heavily rely on Armagh men?? Coming from as far away as Lurgan back in the day. Think more lads now at St Ronans Lurgan and St Pauls Bessbrook. Think Colmans can win it this year but if you look at their record bar the 2 in a row Hogans, at all levels its been pretty poor by their standards.
I wouldnt say relied on them but they did make up a good % of the teams with Newrys proximity there will always be Armagh people there. I think st Pauls Bessbrook have a few Down lads on their team also. Hopefully both make the final. Make for a good local derby and with any sense will be played in Newry.
Post by: Walter Cronc on February 22, 2017, 11:51:50 AM
Colmans main man seems to be O'Neill from Crossmaglen. Be nice to see Bessbrook or Lurgan win it!
Post by: Targetman on February 22, 2017, 12:35:35 PM
Would like to see Magherafelt win it, constantly in the shadows of Maghera,they could beat Bessbrook who i thought were lucky to beat the Abbey who kicked themselves out of it!!
Post by: naka on February 22, 2017, 01:54:02 PM
Quote from: Targetman on February 22, 2017, 12:35:35 PM
Would like to see Magherafelt win it, constantly in the shadows of Maghera,they could beat Bessbrook who i thought were lucky to beat the Abbey who kicked themselves out of it!!
Abbey did definitely Kick themselves out of it
But St. Paul's will be too strong I think for magherafelt

The winner is coming from the other semi final which will be a good tussle
Post by: Targetman on February 22, 2017, 05:45:50 PM
Yea have to agree with that should be a close one tomorrow night with Colmans shading it :o
Post by: rosskarr on February 24, 2017, 08:34:40 AM
  May as well share the horror story that is the Down county Board with all of you.Just why these people saw the need to do this after our two defeats in Div2 is beyond me.
http://gaeliclife.com/2017/02/release-statement-blasting-media-coverage/
Post by: Taylor on February 24, 2017, 08:42:47 AM
Quote from: rosskarr on February 24, 2017, 08:34:40 AM
  May as well share the horror story that is the Down county Board with all of you.Just why these people saw the need to do this after our two defeats in Div2 is beyond me.

The gift that keep on giving.

The lunatics run the asylum over there
Post by: passedit on February 24, 2017, 11:21:18 AM
Quote from: rosskarr on February 24, 2017, 08:34:40 AM

Anyone who thinks this statement will make things worse leave now.

(http://www.unsungfilms.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/downfall_01.jpg)
Post by: Maroon Manc on June 27, 2017, 10:53:32 AM
Some turnaround in such a short space of time.
Post by: armaghniac on June 27, 2017, 03:24:37 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on June 27, 2017, 10:53:32 AM
Some turnaround in such a short space of time.

(http://images.rarenewspapers.com/ebayimgs/1.50.2012/image041.jpg)