GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: theskull1 on June 02, 2016, 08:21:04 AM

Title: DUP halts £180k Glens community funding over '1922 IRA names on gates'
Post by: theskull1 on June 02, 2016, 08:21:04 AM
Glenariff: DUP halts £180k Glens community funding over 'IRA names on gates'

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-36427426   (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-36427426)

The DUP has pointed to the names of IRA men that appear on gates near the site.
Charlie McAllister and Pat McVeigh were killed in 1922 and their names are on gates that lead into the Glenariff GAA grounds, where the community centre is planned.
Fourteen members of the DUP have "called-in" the decision.

Jesus fecking Christ
This is the sh1te we have to work with. Talk about going out of your way to be offended. I've been going to that ground all my life and never spotted gates never mind what was written on them never mind who the people were. Any excuse to polarize with the DUP  >:(

Title: Re: DUP halts £180k Glens community funding over '1922 IRA names on gates'
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 02, 2016, 08:24:08 AM
Quote from: theskull1 on June 02, 2016, 08:21:04 AM
Glenariff: DUP halts £180k Glens community funding over 'IRA names on gates'

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-36427426   (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-36427426)

The DUP has pointed to the names of IRA men that appear on gates near the site.
Charlie McAllister and Pat McVeigh were killed in 1922 and their names are on gates that lead into the Glenariff GAA grounds, where the community centre is planned.
Fourteen members of the DUP have "called-in" the decision.

Jesus fecking Christ
This is the sh1te we have to work with. Talk about going out of your way to be offended. I've been going to that ground all my life and never spotted gates never mind what was written on them never mind who the people were. Any excuse to polarize with the DUP  >:(

Do we expect anything less from these dinosaurs??
Title: Re: DUP halts £180k Glens community funding over '1922 IRA names on gates'
Post by: johnneycool on June 02, 2016, 08:51:12 AM

Take the gates down and when alls done and dusted put them back up again!!

Play the hoors at their own game.

Post by: illdecide on June 02, 2016, 09:02:57 AM
Join the club, we are now on our third process having the last 2 declined. Apparently the first refusal was "there are far too many GAA clubs getting these grants" (Nelson McCausland 4-5 years ago). Like Johnney says take the gates down get the grant and put them back up again bigger and bolder than before...Bigoted Bastards.
Post by: T Fearon on June 02, 2016, 11:12:22 AM
Unionists object to funding IRA related initiatives.In other shock news a bear defecated in the woods today.Political suicide in Allister country for any other unionist to fund anything connected with.IRA.Couldn't see SF and SDLP supporting any UVF initiative either.
Post by: Minder on June 02, 2016, 11:47:18 AM
Shower of c***ts, our club has been busting their balls for years fundraising for this, as other clubs do. It would be a great facility for Glenariffe if it sees the light of day.
Post by: lenny on June 02, 2016, 12:16:12 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 02, 2016, 11:12:22 AM
Unionists object to funding IRA related initiatives.In other shock news a bear defecated in the woods today.Political suicide in Allister country for any other unionist to fund anything connected with.IRA.Couldn't see SF and SDLP supporting any UVF initiative either.

Loyalist groups and unionists got lots of funding a couple of years ago for commemorating the start of world war one. One of the things they got funding for was flags including lots of uvf flags. They said it was ok because it wasn't the modern day uvf but the old uvf. That's why I think it's a bit hypocritical of them now to not see that the men being remembered on the club gates weren't members of the provos or involved in the modern day troubles from 1969 onwards.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on June 02, 2016, 02:22:47 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 02, 2016, 09:02:57 AM
Join the club, we are now on our third process having the last 2 declined. Apparently the first refusal was "there are far too many GAA clubs getting these grants" (Nelson McCausland 4-5 years ago). Like Johnney says take the gates down get the grant and put them back up again bigger and bolder than before...Bigoted b**tards.

I was involved in an grant application when Nelly was in charge in 2011, we were shortlisted but ultimately unsuccessful. Two successful applicants for 3G pitches were Burnside Ulster-Scots Society and Kilcluney LOL 132.
Post by: Jinxy on June 02, 2016, 09:14:17 PM
Just have no gates then.
Compromise.
Post by: Orior on June 02, 2016, 10:17:15 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on June 02, 2016, 09:14:17 PM
Just have no gates then.
Compromise.

Compromise or bend the knee to thy master? Don't be offended by Orange parades. Don't listen when GSTQ is played at Windsor Park. Don't wish of parity. Etcetera etcetera etcetera
Post by: skeog on June 02, 2016, 10:21:35 PM
marlene need to step in and show a bit of leadership
Post by: seafoid on June 03, 2016, 03:05:07 AM
Dreary steeples
Post by: manfromdelmonte on June 03, 2016, 07:15:56 AM
We need to break down these barriers and gates between the two communities
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 03, 2016, 07:51:59 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 03, 2016, 07:15:56 AM
The higher you build your barriers, the taller I become.
Post by: ziggysego on June 03, 2016, 07:29:59 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 03, 2016, 07:51:59 AM
Quote from: manfromdelmonte on June 03, 2016, 07:15:56 AM
The higher you build your barriers, the taller I become.

The further you take my rights away, the faster I will run.
Post by: Jinxy on June 03, 2016, 10:28:53 PM
Give Pete a chance.
Post by: Minder on August 23, 2016, 01:18:25 PM
I see this is in the news again, our club held a vote last week and voted to remove/relocate the gates and our chairman resigned on the spot at the meeting.
Post by: johnneycool on August 23, 2016, 01:29:58 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 23, 2016, 01:18:25 PM
I see this is in the news again, our club held a vote last week and voted to remove/relocate the gates and our chairman resigned on the spot at the meeting.

As I said before, take them down, build the community centre and then put them back up, but hopefully it won't cause too much friction within the club and community as that is the last thing you'd need.

Best of luck with the development.
Post by: illdecide on August 23, 2016, 02:06:57 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 23, 2016, 01:18:25 PM

IN stated today that 2 football managers resigned too over the vote...
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on August 23, 2016, 03:33:46 PM
Good to see some people still hold onto their principles.
Post by: JimStynes on August 23, 2016, 04:08:45 PM
I wouldn't be happy if the pitch down the road from was called Billy Wright Park or something similar. Well all know this is the equivalent but this is what it looks like to the other side of the fence. Hard enough to get grants and it certainly doesn't help a club to be named after IRA men and the local council dominated by DUP members.
Post by: T Fearon on August 23, 2016, 06:02:57 PM
There seems to be a misconception in the nationalist community that unionists should view the IRA as a benign freedom fighting non sectarian force.Not commenting on the morality or otherwise,but if you try to put yourselves in unionist shoes they see a force that killed their sons and daughters in the RUC,or innocents in Enniskillen etc.

I again don't see why politics and sport should mix.The outgoing Ulster GAA Chief Danny Murphy has emphasised the continuing need for outreach by the GAA particularly in the North and pointed out a number of initiatives he was involved in.This outreach will not be facilitated unless the GAA divests itself from all political linkages
Post by: Minder on August 23, 2016, 06:16:38 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on August 23, 2016, 04:08:45 PM
I wouldn't be happy if the pitch down the road from was called Billy Wright Park or something similar. Well all know this is the equivalent but this is what it looks like to the other side of the fence. Hard enough to get grants and it certainly doesn't help a club to be named after IRA men and the local council dominated by DUP members.

Th club isn't named after them Jim, the pitch is. And I don't think anyone outside of our club would have known who McAllister & McVeigh were. The building that the funding is being sought for will not be owned or run by the hurling club, but will be on our grounds.

Sarah Clarke just said on UTV that the club is trying to build this facility to turn the club into a cross community club  :o

The "split" in the club is also being overplayed, there where three voted against it. People have come out now, people that couldn't be bothered their hole going to the meeting to cast their vote complaining that their voice isn't being heard !
Post by: T Fearon on August 23, 2016, 06:30:23 PM
How can cross community events be held and everyone expected to attend if they have to walk through gates to access the building bearing the names of paramilitaries from either side?
Post by: foxcommander on August 23, 2016, 06:31:51 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 23, 2016, 06:02:57 PM
There seems to be a misconception in the nationalist community that unionists should view the IRA as a benign freedom fighting non sectarian force.Not commenting on the morality or otherwise,but if you try to put yourselves in unionist shoes they see a force that killed their sons and daughters in the RUC,or innocents in Enniskillen etc.

I again don't see why politics and sport should mix.The outgoing Ulster GAA Chief Danny Murphy has emphasised the continuing need for outreach by the GAA particularly in the North and pointed out a number of initiatives he was involved in.This outreach will not be facilitated unless the GAA divests itself from all political linkages

Can we not rename the Sam Maguire and Liam MacCarthy trophies? They cause offence.
I for one refuse to sit anywhere other than the Davin stand due to the paramilitary naming of the other areas at Croke Park.
Post by: T Fearon on August 23, 2016, 06:58:45 PM
Yes but Croke Park is not applying for a grant to develop a cross community facility
Post by: rrhf on August 23, 2016, 07:05:14 PM
Its time to talk about Cromwell Road...
Post by: Over the Bar on August 23, 2016, 08:13:22 PM
Put the gates up for auction.  A US club would pay a fortune for them.  Win-win.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 23, 2016, 09:33:31 PM
Thinking about cromwell myself when this came up again
Post by: Two Hands FFS on August 23, 2016, 10:12:08 PM
Funding approved by the council tonight
Post by: T Fearon on August 23, 2016, 10:21:48 PM
In all seriousness I assume there is a set of statutory criteria to be met to qualify for cross community funding,so it would not have been possible to award funding until the gates were removed.Fair play to the club for removing this impediment and avail of the funding.
Post by: armaghniac on August 23, 2016, 10:43:45 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 23, 2016, 10:21:48 PM
In all seriousness I assume there is a set of statutory criteria to be met to qualify for cross community funding,so it would not have been possible to award funding until the gates were removed.Fair play to the club for removing this impediment and avail of the funding.

The criteria may be statutory, but I doubt they are cross community, if the gate was named after a B special then I imagine the funding would have been provided.
Post by: Two Hands FFS on August 23, 2016, 10:45:52 PM
Think the gates are being moved to another part of the club grounds..not removed at all
Post by: T Fearon on August 23, 2016, 11:07:17 PM
Councils operate on largely cross party consent these days.If a group of members decide to ignore criteria and award or deny funding,they leave themselves open to legal action.So they can't be discriminatory even if they wanted to.Good decision by the council and the club to remove the gates.
Post by: ned on August 24, 2016, 12:27:35 AM
IRA from the 20's is a completely different entity from that which emerged in the 60's as we are all aware.

You just have to travel round the coast to Larne to see a UVF memorial to the gun running of the 20's. Who funded and maintains this?
Hypocrites if they denied this due to the gates. Whatever, some may think these names are very important for some to remember. My grandads names could just have easily been the ones to be honoured and I would have found it difficult to fathom not commerating how they died for a cause that a majority on here would agree with.
Also cross community in Glenariff? Very much a nationalist area last time I was aware. Has it changed that much in tbe past few years or are they bussing them in from Larne or Clough?
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 24, 2016, 12:37:11 AM
Quote from: ned on August 24, 2016, 12:27:35 AM
IRA from the 20's is a completely different entity from that which emerged in the 60's as we are all aware.

You just have to travel round the coast to Larne to see a UVF memorial to the gun running of the 20's. Who funded and maintains this?
Hypocrites if they denied this due to the gates. Whatever, some may think these names are very important for some to remember. My grandads names could just have easily been the ones to be honoured and I would have found it difficult to fathom not commerating how they died for a cause that a majority on here would agree with.
Also cross community in Glenariff? Very much a nationalist area last time I was aware. Has it changed that much in tbe past few years or are they bussing them in from Larne or Clough?
:-X When there is funding they'll be found.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on August 24, 2016, 09:32:31 AM

I don't like this line.

The IRA in the 20s used pretty much the exact same tactics as those from the 60s onwards. They murder more state police, were involved in sectarian murders and the killings of informants but the mainstream media like to sweep these factors under the rug. If anything the IRA had more of a reason to exist during the troubles.
Post by: johnneycool on August 24, 2016, 11:21:09 AM
Quote from: Minder on August 23, 2016, 06:16:38 PM
Quote from: JimStynes on August 23, 2016, 04:08:45 PM

Th club isn't named after them Jim, the pitch is. And I don't think anyone outside of our club would have known who McAllister & McVeigh were. The building that the funding is being sought for will not be owned or run by the hurling club, but will be on our grounds.

Sarah Clarke just said on UTV that the club is trying to build this facility to turn the club into a cross community club  :o

The "split" in the club is also being overplayed, there where three voted against it. People have come out now, people that couldn't be bothered their hole going to the meeting to cast their vote complaining that their voice isn't being heard !

I know a lot of clubs are going down the route of "The friends of 'insert townland name here'" to differentiate between the GAA owned property and a community based development on the GAA's grounds, but do the deeds not reside in Croke Park for these irrespective of what name its given and one of your trustees will be either from Antrim CB or the Ulster council IIRC?

Post by: OakLeaf on August 24, 2016, 03:17:00 PM
It's worth pointing out that the DUP still voted against this even after the compromise over the gates! It only passed 18-17. The DUP are always looking for reasons not to give funding to GAA clubs.
Post by: ned on August 24, 2016, 04:26:32 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on August 24, 2016, 09:32:31 AM

I don't like this line.

The IRA in the 20s used pretty much the exact same tactics as those from the 60s onwards. They murder more state police, were involved in sectarian murders and the killings of informants but the mainstream media like to sweep these factors under the rug. If anything the IRA had more of a reason to exist during the troubles.

Not bothered whether you like that statement or not.  It is true whatever form the fight took. Both my grandads would have been compatriots of the men commemorated. I for one would hate if their memory was tarnished for DUP political gain.
Post by: trueblue1234 on August 24, 2016, 04:44:51 PM
Quote from: ned on August 24, 2016, 04:26:32 PM

I don't like this line.

Not bothered whether you like that statement or not.  It is true whatever form the fight took. Both my grandads would have been compatriots of the men commemorated. I for one would hate if their memory was tarnished for DUP political gain.

How is it true if you don't mind me asking?
Post by: StephenC on August 24, 2016, 05:45:01 PM
Are they writing the names very small, or is it a very big gate?
Post by: oisinog on August 24, 2016, 06:06:37 PM
It's my club and in the end no compromise was required funding passed , gates remaining where they are
Post by: ned on August 24, 2016, 10:29:32 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on August 24, 2016, 04:44:51 PM

I don't like this line.

Completely was the wrong word to use. I'm sure lots on here will have better historical knowledge of the period. My understanding is the IRA that emerged following 1916 was a reaction to the treaty they saw as a sell out and the continued wish for a united Ireland . Their quarrel was with the new Irish government as well as with the British remaining in the north. This is where my grandads would have been active (at the same time as the men commerated by Glenariff Oisins) and indeed one of them was interred. He was a quiet, mild mannered man by all accounts and I don't think he would have taken up arms on a whim.
The IRA that came to prominence in the late 60's was as much a reaction to british and unionist oppression in the north as it was a wish for a united Ireland. So different entities, if not completely.
I stand to be corrected and will accept any reply which can enlighten me further.
Post by: reddgnhand on August 24, 2016, 10:54:06 PM
Quote from: ned on August 24, 2016, 10:29:32 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on August 24, 2016, 04:44:51 PM

I don't like this line.

Completely was the wrong word to use. I'm sure lots on here will have better historical knowledge of the period. My understanding is the IRA that emerged following 1916 was a reaction to the treaty they saw as a sell out and the continued wish for a united Ireland . Their quarrel was with the new Irish government as well as with the British remaining in the north. This is where my grandads would have been active (at the same time as the men commerated by Glenariff Oisins) and indeed one of them was interred. He was a quiet, mild mannered man by all accounts and I don't think he would have taken up arms on a whim.
The IRA that came to prominence in the late 60's was as much a reaction to british and unionist oppression in the north as it was a wish for a united Ireland. So different entities, if not completely.
I stand to be corrected and will accept any reply which can enlighten me further.

They were not different entities.  It was the same IRA that had fought against the treaty and then split in 1969.   
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on August 25, 2016, 07:00:00 AM
LAD on the issue

https://www.facebook.com/BELFASTLAD/?fref=nf
Post by: Applesisapples on August 25, 2016, 12:20:58 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on August 23, 2016, 06:02:57 PM

Tony from this answer we can see clearly your Unionist credentials in their untarnished glory. Of course we all know that the UVF is an honourable outfit, the North was not created at the point of orange guns, and Carson was not a terrorist but a hero to be lauded by one and all. You like your fellow unionists can not accept that nationalists have a story to tell as well, you can't accept that parity of esteem means accepting the stories, tradition and icons of the other community. Hence we have the procession of sectarian decisions by unionist controlled councils. This is your Northern Irish Identity Tony in a nutshell. All nationalists are terrorists all unionists are freedom fighters GTSQ.
Post by: Applesisapples on August 25, 2016, 12:22:14 PM

I don't like this line.

Exactly, so if that was wrong then so was Pearse, Carson, Craig Connolly etc...
Post by: Wildweasel74 on August 26, 2016, 07:29:57 PM
DUP still voted against it, what was the crying c***ts excuse now. I see funding has been given to  paint over loyalist murals again, sort remember this happening before and them been repainted over after it with another loyalist mural.  Just take the some approach with the gates, take them off and revisit the issue again after the centre has been build