GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: seafoid on May 24, 2016, 02:16:20 PM

Title: Thuggery in the GAA
Post by: seafoid on May 24, 2016, 02:16:20 PM
Good article by Brian O Connor

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/welcome-to-championship-and-a-new-summer-of-naked-blackguarding-1.2657484

"It's there to varying degrees in every match. But it's always there. That constant shaping and shouldering mixed in with pulling, picking, pawing, the accidental-on-purpose knee to the back or sly step on the Achilles, a provocative word in the ear or an elbow to the ribs, invariably accompanied by feigned incredulity at any offence taken, and all of it part of an incessant niggle that's as cheap as a Kilkenny county football final ticket.

The remarkable thing is that it doesn't register anymore. It's become par for the GAA course. It is the exception rather than the rule if a sub doesn't run on and automatically bullock into his marker, roaring in their ear, presumably about their mother's well-being, and generally shaping to let everyone know they're "there"."

Players do privately outline stories about abuse and physical assault which makes one wonder why they bother to play at all, never mind sacrificing the best years of their lives to voluntarily put up with thuggery at its lowest.

Claims of racism over the years grab headlines but physical and verbal abuse of all kinds are still routinely categorised under "one of those things", a ridiculous state of affairs made even more stupid by being part of an even greater bullshit culture which dresses this stuff up in cod-psychological, self-regarding garbage that the GAA specialises in.

Kilkenny are the masters
Title: Re: Thuggery in the GAA
Post by: johnneycool on May 24, 2016, 02:23:34 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 24, 2016, 02:16:20 PM

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/welcome-to-championship-and-a-new-summer-of-naked-blackguarding-1.2657484

"It's there to varying degrees in every match. But it's always there. That constant shaping and shouldering mixed in with pulling, picking, pawing, the accidental-on-purpose knee to the back or sly step on the Achilles, a provocative word in the ear or an elbow to the ribs, invariably accompanied by feigned incredulity at any offence taken, and all of it part of an incessant niggle that's as cheap as a Kilkenny county football final ticket.

The remarkable thing is that it doesn't register anymore. It's become par for the GAA course. It is the exception rather than the rule if a sub doesn't run on and automatically bullock into his marker, roaring in their ear, presumably about their mother's well-being, and generally shaping to let everyone know they're "there"."

Players do privately outline stories about abuse and physical assault which makes one wonder why they bother to play at all, never mind sacrificing the best years of their lives to voluntarily put up with thuggery at its lowest.

Claims of racism over the years grab headlines but physical and verbal abuse of all kinds are still routinely categorised under "one of those things", a ridiculous state of affairs made even more stupid by being part of an even greater bullshit culture which dresses this stuff up in cod-psychological, self-regarding garbage that the GAA specialises in.

Kilkenny are the masters

Is that your own poetic license there?
Post by: NAG1 on May 24, 2016, 02:26:14 PM
Is he actually paid to write that or is that a readers letter page?
Post by: Jinxy on May 24, 2016, 03:06:33 PM
The only time I ever become aware of this O'Connor chaps existence is when he has his annual GAA rant.
I believe he's actually the racing correspondent for the Times.
Post by: general_lee on May 24, 2016, 03:12:59 PM
There already is a Cavan/Armagh thread
Post by: seafoid on May 24, 2016, 07:28:56 PM
He writes about other sports other than racing .
I think he's on the ball on this issue  . Refs have very little smacht over violence on the pitch
Post by: r3 on May 24, 2016, 07:43:22 PM
Quote from: seafoid on May 24, 2016, 02:16:20 PM

Kilkenny are the masters

Gaelic games is still blighted by this alright (especially compared to other field sports).serious bitchiness at club level.  As Pat Spillane and Colm O'Rourke would say; its 'Tuggery!'
Post by: Kuwabatake Sanjuro on May 24, 2016, 09:14:28 PM
I'd say he was thinking of the abuse Cathal McCarron was surely taking on Sunday. Poor enough journalist though, covers probably the most corrupt sport in the world and never has the balls or conviction to call it out properly. The occasional article where he is disappointed at the turf club ruling in favour of the big lads is about as far as he goes.
Post by: ballinaman on September 07, 2016, 10:27:37 AM
Off-duty Garda beaten unconscious at GAA match
http://jrnl.ie/2968089
Post by: AZOffaly on September 07, 2016, 10:29:12 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on September 07, 2016, 10:27:37 AM
Off-duty Garda beaten unconscious at GAA match
http://jrnl.ie/2968089

Brutal. Life bans all round and jail hopefully.
Post by: Dinny Breen on September 07, 2016, 10:51:09 AM
What the f*ck is wrong with people?
Post by: AZOffaly on September 07, 2016, 10:56:00 AM
And they won the match! Imagine if they lost?
Post by: Jinxy on September 07, 2016, 11:24:05 AM
The worst violence is always at underage games.
During a challenge match at minor level one of our players was kicked full force in the head as he lay on the ground in the middle of a row.
I never saw anything within an asses roar of that at senior level as there are usually far more people trying to stop the fight than there are trying to keep it going.
Young lads still have the 'one in, all in' mentality.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 07, 2016, 11:27:16 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 07, 2016, 11:24:05 AM
The worst violence is always at underage games.
During a challenge match at minor level one of our players was kicked full force in the head as he lay on the ground in the middle of a row.
I never saw anything within an asses roar of that at senior level as there are usually far more people trying to stop the fight than there are trying to keep it going.
Young lads still have the 'one in, all in' mentality.
One in all in shouldn't apply to supporters though!
Post by: Jinxy on September 07, 2016, 11:31:46 AM
At underage level you have a volatile mixture of players' parents and players' friends on the sideline.
If they think 'their Johnny' is after getting a slap, they're quite likely to come piling in, whereas at senior level it generally doesn't happen as lads are able to take care of themselves.
I remember after another minor game our full-forward's Mam went after the opposition full-back!
The poor lad didn't know what to do.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 07, 2016, 11:34:35 AM
Quote from: Jinxy on September 07, 2016, 11:31:46 AM
At underage level you have a volatile mixture of players' parents and players' friends on the sideline.
If they think 'their Johnny' is after getting a slap, they're quite likely to come piling in, whereas at senior level it generally doesn't happen as lads are able to take care of themselves.
I remember after another minor game our full-forward's Mam went after the opposition full-back!

True. We had an instance of a mad father trying to take the head off an opposition player who hit his son. Our manager nearly killed him himself.
Post by: JoG2 on September 07, 2016, 11:40:54 AM

Is there any other sport in the world that would view a mixture of mammies, daddies and teenagers watching a game as 'volatile'?
Post by: Buckass on September 07, 2016, 12:07:22 PM
Firstly, those involved in the Sligo incident should get life bans (from all sporting events) and court appearances. There is no excuse for that behaviour anywhere. Their actions are not reflective of the GAA or people who attend the games.
Playing 8 minutes of injury time in a game free from any injury to give an established club time to draw with a club who've not seen the colour of an 'A' final is a common GAA theme however. Quoting the number of subs used is bs.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 07, 2016, 12:09:32 PM
Refs seem to be adding 30 seconds per substitution these days. 3 to 4 minutes in the second half is normal for inter county. If all 12 substitutions happened in the second half, then 6 minutes wouldn't be mad.
Post by: Jinxy on September 07, 2016, 12:14:04 PM
I think the players largely take their lead from the adults present at games.
If mentors and supporters are giving the ref and opposing team dogs abuse, in a tense atmosphere (I can imagine the amount of roaring about all the injury time), you're basically giving the young lads a green light to kick off.
Post by: Jinxy on September 07, 2016, 12:41:36 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on September 07, 2016, 11:40:54 AM

Is there any other sport in the world that would view a mixture of mammies, daddies and teenagers watching a game as 'volatile'?

I blame the mammies.
Post by: Zulu on September 07, 2016, 01:08:27 PM
Do people not know the new directives re adding on time? The Sunday game lads seem bemused by the 6 minutes on at the end of games now whereas it's entirely appropriate and correct. Seems this was the case here too.
Post by: muppet on September 07, 2016, 01:15:27 PM
Quote from: Buckass on September 07, 2016, 12:07:22 PM
Firstly, those involved in the Sligo incident should get life bans (from all sporting events) and court appearances. There is no excuse for that behaviour anywhere. Their actions are not reflective of the GAA or people who attend the games.
Playing 8 minutes of injury time in a game free from any injury to give an established club time to draw with a club who've not seen the colour of an 'A' final is a common GAA theme however. Quoting the number of subs used is bs.

So is trying to justify violence.
Post by: Owenmoresider on September 07, 2016, 01:27:45 PM
Further statement in relation to Fridays Minor Match

The club feel the need to comment on the story that is being broadcast around the country by the national and local media.
We re-iterate our condemnation of the events that unfolded.
However the reporting of how the situation developed is generally one-sided and not a true reflection of events in our opinion.
We cannot comment further at this time as we do not want to compromise the investigation by Sligo GAA and An Garda Siochana.
Cóiste Gaeil na hAbhainn Móire
Post by: muppet on September 07, 2016, 01:29:32 PM

Pass the parcel in the Hickey's house?
Post by: JoG2 on September 07, 2016, 01:50:19 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 07, 2016, 01:29:32 PM

Pass the parcel in the Hickey's house?

;D . You can picture them all sat, 4 sherries deep, kitted out like ice hockey goalkeepers
Post by: cuconnacht on September 07, 2016, 02:24:43 PM
Can I ask what the hell did you do when you saw that incident start to unfold?
Post by: magpie seanie on September 07, 2016, 02:46:18 PM
Quote from: Owenmoresider on September 07, 2016, 01:27:45 PM

The club feel the need to comment on the story that is being broadcast around the country by the national and local media.
However the reporting of how the situation developed is generally one-sided and not a true reflection of events in our opinion.
We cannot comment further at this time as we do not want to compromise the investigation by Sligo GAA and An Garda Siochana.

The incident should be dealt with by the proper authorities and the appropriate penalties administered without fear or favour. One sided newspaper reports and county secretaries doing tours of radio stations are not helpful. Especially when said county secretary wouldn't know a rulebook if it hit him in the face.
Post by: JoG2 on September 07, 2016, 03:47:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 07, 2016, 02:46:18 PM

The incident should be dealt with by the proper authorities and the appropriate penalties administered without fear or favour. One sided newspaper reports and county secretaries doing tours of radio stations are not helpful. Especially when said county secretary wouldn't know a rulebook if it hit him in the face.

what's the punishment for spectators kicking a man unconscious as per the rulebook?
Post by: Buckass on September 07, 2016, 03:48:08 PM
Hi Muppet,
Apologies if you didn't understand my post...I was under the illusion that your username was an ironic one.
There is no excuse for violence in any situation, and an assault such as this needs to be dealt with by the authorities (ie the gardai/courts etc as well as GAA).
I shouldn't have integrated a personal observation on a GAA tradition of officiating with the thuggery afterwards. If the shoe was on the other foot (not for assault purposes, you'll understand) and Shamrock Gaels held a slender lead then there is no way 8 minutes would have been played. Separating my points into paragraphs was obviously not enough in highlighting my disgust at the incident, nor was the line that 'there is no excuse for this behaviour anywhere'.
Deepest apologies Muppet.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 07, 2016, 05:24:39 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on September 07, 2016, 03:47:17 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on September 07, 2016, 02:46:18 PM

what's the punishment for spectators kicking a man unconscious as per the rulebook?

What is the suspension for hitting a county secretary in the face with a rule book?
Post by: muppet on September 07, 2016, 06:08:07 PM
Quote from: Buckass on September 07, 2016, 03:48:08 PM
Hi Muppet,
Apologies if you didn't understand my post...I was under the illusion that your username was an ironic one.
There is no excuse for violence in any situation, and an assault such as this needs to be dealt with by the authorities (ie the gardai/courts etc as well as GAA).
I shouldn't have integrated a personal observation on a GAA tradition of officiating with the thuggery afterwards. If the shoe was on the other foot (not for assault purposes, you'll understand) and Shamrock Gaels held a slender lead then there is no way 8 minutes would have been played. Separating my points into paragraphs was obviously not enough in highlighting my disgust at the incident, nor was the line that 'there is no excuse for this behaviour anywhere'.
Deepest apologies Muppet.

Your post was crystal clear.

"Playing 8 minutes of injury time in a game free from any injury to give an established club time to draw with a club who've not seen the colour of an 'A' final is a common GAA theme however. Quoting the number of subs used is bs."

It was all part of an outrageous conspiracy against your minors. We get it.

Your concern at the violence against the ref and those defending him seems very shallow when you explain their motives.
Post by: Buckass on September 07, 2016, 08:58:20 PM
Neither side are my club muppet, and I wasn't present, but I hold my hand up..shouldn't have mentioned underdog treatment in message when some people could confuse it to be justifying assault.
In a separate paragraph and totally unrelated, I read about a troll to the kids in the billy goats gruff.
Post by: muppet on September 07, 2016, 09:54:00 PM
Quote from: Buckass on September 07, 2016, 08:58:20 PM
Neither side are my club muppet, and I wasn't present, but I hold my hand up..shouldn't have mentioned underdog treatment in message when some people could confuse it to be justifying assault.
In a separate paragraph and totally unrelated, I read about a troll to the kids in the billy goats gruff.

Underdog treatment?

By the referee???

You did it again.

Post by: Buckass on September 07, 2016, 10:11:33 PM
 ;D muppet, you are one of a kind ..thankfully.
Post by: muppet on September 07, 2016, 10:39:40 PM
Maybe, but on this thread you are the only one attacking the referee. So you are also one of a kind.
Post by: omaghjoe on September 08, 2016, 06:06:21 AM
Quote from: Buckass on September 07, 2016, 08:58:20 PM

Tis a great story
Post by: magpie seanie on September 08, 2016, 01:06:06 PM
Quote from: muppet on September 07, 2016, 10:39:40 PM
Maybe, but on this thread you are the only one attacking the referee. So you are also one of a kind.

From what I've heard there was more than one side attacking the referee (though I heard no reports of this being physical) and several other unsavoury incidents that went unreported, bottles thrown at players etc.

Clearly no-one is condoning the violence that is alleged to have occurred. As stated before and by many others I hope that the proper authorities deal correctly and fairly with any transgressions that took place.

I also think it is ok to comment on other aspects of the game/situation without it being construed as condoning violence, is it not? Buckass' observation about the 8 minutes and if it was the other way around is correct. As someone whose club has suffered due to an referee playing ridiculous and unjustified amounts of injury time I could understand anger and a tense situation especially with other reported incidents having taken place. The blame here is being pointed in one direction and my understanding is that this is not accurate.

Also - again not condoning anything - but there was no need for this to hit the newspapers and national radio. A competent county board would have issued a statement saying the investigation was taking place and would deal with the incident appropriately.
Post by: muppet on September 08, 2016, 01:16:51 PM
I agree with most of that Seanie.

However two points.

1) A detective being assaulted and knocked out at an underage match will most likely be national news, whether it is Rugby, Soccer or GAA. I am not sure anyone could have kept it out of the news once there were local journalists there, never mind social media.

2) The is a difference between pointing out that the ref played 8 minutes extra time (and any other reasonable observation), and alleging an organised conspiracy against a team, obviously conducted through the referee. Plenty of us get hot under the collar at matches, but we don't go attacking refs and I think most of us are past the organised conspiracy phase by now. The conspiracy/corrupt referee  claim is particularly damaging as it, in the eyes of some, would be such a huge injustice that it would justify almost any action.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on September 08, 2016, 09:12:33 PM
The Ulster Council should come down very heavily on the parties involved particularly those Derrytresk lads.

Oh wait.
Post by: Declan on September 16, 2016, 03:35:59 PM
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/garda-open-probe-after-boy-13-hospitalised-in-assault-at-underage-hurling-match-35054434.html (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/garda-open-probe-after-boy-13-hospitalised-in-assault-at-underage-hurling-match-35054434.html)
Post by: JoG2 on September 16, 2016, 04:23:20 PM
and on and on it goes...
Post by: muppet on September 16, 2016, 04:25:33 PM
Quote from: Declan on September 16, 2016, 03:35:59 PM
http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/garda-open-probe-after-boy-13-hospitalised-in-assault-at-underage-hurling-match-35054434.html (http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/garda-open-probe-after-boy-13-hospitalised-in-assault-at-underage-hurling-match-35054434.html)

'No arrests have been made'.

Broad daylight, lots of witnesses. No arrests.

http://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/home/216217/kilkenny-gardai-investigating-alleged-assault-on-juvenile-hurler.html (http://www.kilkennypeople.ie/news/home/216217/kilkenny-gardai-investigating-alleged-assault-on-juvenile-hurler.html)

This says the match was 'Last week'.

Still no arrests.
Post by: iorras on September 16, 2016, 04:56:55 PM
"Ah he's a lovely lad"
"Totally out of character"
"Sure he was provoked"

The wheel of "I couldn't possible take responsibility for my actions" will be well spun on this one, as it always is in every similar situation in irish life
Post by: Beffs on September 16, 2016, 05:00:24 PM
Quote from: iorras on September 16, 2016, 04:56:55 PM
"Ah he's a lovely lad"
"Sure he was provoked"

The wheel of "I couldn't possible take responsibility for my actions" will be well spun on this one, as it always is in every similar situation in irish life

You forgot about "he comes from a good GAA family"  ::)
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on September 16, 2016, 05:57:47 PM
Quote from: Beffs on September 16, 2016, 05:00:24 PM
Quote from: iorras on September 16, 2016, 04:56:55 PM
"Ah he's a lovely lad"
"Sure he was provoked"

You forgot about "he comes from a good GAA family"  ::)

True Gael!
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 16, 2016, 07:28:06 PM
It's a man's game in Kilkenny even when you're not yet a man.
Post by: laoislad on September 21, 2016, 08:15:04 PM
http://theliberal.ie/gardai-in-co-meath-begin-investigation-after-juvenile-gaa-player-has-leg-broken-in-places-after-match/
Post by: Asal Mor on September 21, 2016, 09:15:58 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 21, 2016, 08:15:04 PM
http://theliberal.ie/gardai-in-co-meath-begin-investigation-after-juvenile-gaa-player-has-leg-broken-in-places-after-match/
This was horrific and the consequences for the injured lad are terrible. Assaults on a GAA pitch should be treated the same way legally as assaults that happen anywhere else. We also need a justice system that criminals aren't sniggering at and actually fear, while we're at it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 21, 2016, 09:19:36 PM
Quote from: Asal Mor on September 21, 2016, 09:15:58 PM
Quote from: laoislad on September 21, 2016, 08:15:04 PM
This was horrific and the consequences for the injured lad are terrible. Assaults on a GAA pitch should be treated the same way legally as assaults that happen anywhere else. We also need a justice system that criminals aren't sniggering at and actually fear, while we're at it.
100%. GBH on or off the field
Post by: Fuzzman on September 28, 2016, 05:23:20 PM
This was posted on here a week ago today. There has been 2 replies in that week and this thread was falling off the 2nd page.

Amazing how an incident this serious gets so little coverage yet how many pages and phone calls to Joe Duffy over incidents in club football in Tyrone a few years back.
Post by: seafoid on September 28, 2016, 06:07:40 PM
There is a conspiracy against Tyrone. 
There seems to be a fair amount of GAA thuggery in the papers.
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on September 28, 2016, 06:34:33 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on September 28, 2016, 05:23:20 PM
This was posted on here a week ago today. There has been 2 replies in that week and this thread was falling off the 2nd page.

Amazing how an incident this serious gets so little coverage yet how many pages and phone calls to Joe Duffy over incidents in club football in Tyrone a few years back.

Derrytresk lads are are responsible for all the ills in GAA.